(2008/07) July 2008

busy at work and with the two kids sick for a week.. so tiring..

i cant rem but can we give anythin for cough to babies less than 1yr??

Napisan
Erm, what is that as well??

PB
u didnt see the twins when u were in orientation??
i was there helping to pin their badges and got confused.. Tot i pinned the girl again.. I just assume all girls look similar..hahaha..

SY
we stay at novotel langkawi.. think i refer a beach resort.. but ya, not cheap..

Cakes
im not sure where to get kasper and kayden brithday cakes from..
haiz.. Patissier is a waste on them..
will go for the more traditional one..

Bowling
count us in.. never tried that before!!

Hi back Jo and Mich!!

Mich
Yeah you got me there... am quite a big foodie. Hb and I used to (pre-kids!) thumb through our Makansutra to go everywhere that is suggested. And I've recently started learning how to cook, and cooked Ipoh hor fun yesterday for dinner - and guess who had the most servings? ME!!! I had to be my biggest fan, no choice. Heh

No wonder I don't find my waistline going down after 2 kids!

But would love to join your makan sessions!!

Oh realised everyone here has acronyms or nicks for their kids. Ok a bit of self intro here then (do I reveal their names?).. My eldest son is A, second son is N, and the running joke is that if I have a third kid, I should name him or her G - because that spells out their surname! And I can shout to them, ANG children, come!!!

LOL agape, we used to folow makansutra book recommendation too. every weekend will follow the recommendation, then me and hubby will give our own verdict and draw the no. of chopsticks on bowl in the book... hee hee...

we know the kids names, just dun want to spell it out here.. next time we meet, you intro more!

new school
eboy starting Pats on Mar lah....

anyone keen to buy preloved Karcher vacuum and sharp plasmacluster air purifier/humidifyer? me itchy backside again sooooo tempted to get delphin lah! hahahahaha....

thanks for the suggestions!!

will check out lombok as well!

hb going for his fren's wedding next week. din realise it's next week. felt a bit sad....

mich

which branch is he going to?

haha i m also very tempted by delphin but hb refused to let me buy.

agapebb
how do u do the ipoh hor fun? how to get the wok hei??

smiggle
i usually get the cakes from either swensens or bengawan solo. i like swensens cake!

napisan is the powder for washing nappies

jo
dun think will throng natas fair. too difficult with the kids

yesterdai i told hb we must decide before he goes HK next week. he looked a bit shocked..haha

PB
the twins thing is so funny!! me and my sis shd just stand in front of poppy to confuse her.

bowling
i wan i wan!!

Cakes:
Dont' ask me, I have trouble deciding my own! I used to love Bengawan Solo's Pandan Cheese Roll, then recently realised that their cheese has become non-existent. Now I think I shall stick to Yummi Chiffon.

SY,
Are you referring to Swensen's ice-cream cake? I don't like

dusteeeeeee! You're back!

Mich
Lol on the drawing chopsticks part! Somehow after having kids we are not so adventurous anymore - just end up with the restaurants which are kid-friendly!

SY
Nooo... amateur chef-wannabe me didnt do any wok hei! I only followed recipe in Simply Her which featured the Ipoh Hor Fun recipe from some famous stall called Wing Kee Ipoh Hor Fun and it surprisingly turned out quite good.

smiggle
actually i had my eyes glued on poppy mostly, during orientation :D

bowling
girls, how about 15 march, thurs? can someone suggest venue please? but not downtown east pleeeeeease

makansutra
sigh last time i also used to be very adventerous, bring bluebunny all around to sample all kinds of food. i took it as my duty as a singaporean to intro him to all kinds of tastes. now we just go to the usual kid friendly places

mich
haha i'm still happy with my karcher! and bluebunny is still upholding his part of the bargain, still vacuuming every time i nag him to. if i recall properly, youpi, it is also mr youpi who is in charge of the vacuuming cos it's his toy?

agape
cool, that would be ANG ANG buey hai lang!!!

SY
haha if you and your sis stand in front of poppy, she might wonder if she's had too much beer and was seeing double vision!

we stayed here at lombok for babymoon, just before poppy: http://www.quncivillas.com/# nice nice but not much to do. or maybe it was cos i was preggie so alot of things couldn't do. just relak jack

hi hi hi dustee! how is it going? have you made plenty of friends at the new place yet? guards not counted :p

bbp
i don't want a twin. i want a clone!!

auntie auntie
aiyah mich and smiggle, you're not auntie enough to know napisan la
it's used to wash nappies.

today's weather is good for laundry too! i was going to self proclaim myself as queen of aunties then i look on my floor and see my faint footprint in dust and thought ok better diam diam.

another crazy preggie moment: we were on bus and we saw a publicity for roxette concert. bluebunny said "what about naming baby 'roxette'?" of course i gave him a super big glare. but then suddenly, without consulting my brain, my mouth responded with the lyrics of "she's got the look". poppy and bluebunny simultaneously gave me 'the look' of 'hey, we're in public now, cannot just start singing like a crazy woman...'. haha

smiggle
actually i had my eyes glued on poppy mostly, during orientation :D

bowling
girls, how about 15 march, thurs? can someone suggest venue please? but not downtown east pleeeeeease

makansutra
sigh last time i also used to be very adventerous, bring bluebunny all around to sample all kinds of food. i took it as my duty as a singaporean to intro him to all kinds of tastes. now we just go to the usual kid friendly places

mich
haha i'm still happy with my karcher! and bluebunny is still upholding his part of the bargain, still vacuuming every time i nag him to. if i recall properly, youpi, it is also mr youpi who is in charge of the vacuuming cos it's his toy?

agape
cool, that would be ANG ANG buey hai lang!!!

SY
haha if you and your sis stand in front of poppy, she might wonder if she's had too much beer and was seeing double vision!

we stayed here at lombok for babymoon, just before poppy: http://www.quncivillas.com/# nice nice but not much to do. or maybe it was cos i was preggie so alot of things couldn't do. just relak jack

hi hi hi dustee! how is it going? have you made plenty of friends at the new place yet? guards not counted :p

bbp
i don't want a twin. i want a clone!!

auntie auntie
aiyah mich and smiggle, you're not auntie enough to know napisan la
it's used to wash nappies.

today's weather is good for laundry too! i was going to self proclaim myself as queen of aunties then i look on my floor and see my faint footprint in dust and thought ok better diam diam.

another crazy preggie moment: we were on bus and we saw a publicity for roxette concert. bluebunny said "what about naming baby 'roxette'?" of course i gave him a super big glare. but then suddenly, without consulting my brain, my mouth responded with the lyrics of "she's got the look". poppy and bluebunny simultaneously gave me 'the look' of 'hey, we're in public now, cannot just start singing like a crazy woman...'. haha

mich
good idea re photography for kids! and super good idea about engaging cin bunny's mr bunny! hehe

cin
you better come in and save yourself!!

Auntie question
Anyone knows where to buy those drawer dividers that are not "fixed"? I.e you can join them up to whatever size you want. They're sold piece by piece (or in a pack) then you just join up to fix??

PB
15th mar is out for me..

i m on leave on 13 and 14 so 15 is prob difficult...unless my boss is kind enough to let me work from home!! speaking of which there is chance cos big boss not ard....

i tot ikea has dividers? or just go gmarket and find. sure got cheap ones.

Drawer dividers
I bought them at Daiso, $2 each. it's a little flimsy but it works for me. Just google the images for daiso drawer dividers and you'll be able to see how it look like.

Thursday for bowling is out for me too since I'll be at work.

Hey girls shall we just list the days that we can do bowling? Then we can find one that can accomodate all. Let's do morning so we avoid everyone's nap/cranky times ok?

BOWLING BABIES!!
1. PB - 12,13,14,15 March can

Drawer dividers
Thanks SDchick! I'll check out daiso. Had a naggy feeling they carried them (what doesn't Daiso not sell?!). Agape: hehe it's for the kids' drawers so no need for howards! SY: nah ikea only sells the fixed box kind. Onward to Daiso!

SY
To your comment of "unless my boss is kind enough to let me work from home", you mean "kind enough to let you work from bowling alley", right? Hehe

Dustee! You're back! Hello!

Photo of kids
Why not just take one when we do the joint bday party for all July08 babies?

PB
Yup, the Mr is in charge of the Delphin.

Smiggle
Bengawan Solo and Smiling Orchid are good for the traditional types and not too ex.

BOWLING BABIES!!
2. bbp - 12, 13, 14, 15 March can
3. youpi - 15, 16 March

Smiggle: what about pine garden? At least they have flavors that are tasty. They deliver too.

BOWLING BABIES!!
3. youpi - 15, 16 March
4. Jo - 12, 13, 14 march pm can

BOWLING BABIES!!
3. youpi - 15, 16 March
5. SD - 16, 17 March morning

BOWLING BABIES!!
3. youpi - 15, 16 March
6. SY - 12, 16 can

hope i din add on to the confusion!

today is a lousy day. think my big boss PMS mode...

SD
lucky u never join man. while my boss is ok but we are struggling with the temperament of the big one!! argghh

Updating for PB:

BOWLING BABIES!!
1. PB - 13,14,15 March can
3. youpi - 15, 16 March
6. SY - 12, 16 can

I'm cool for lunch next week at city hall if you girls want
jace, better tie the nappies around your waist so you want forget!

Random question
Do you remember those coloured paper we used to use in pri sch? Now like don't have anymore hor? I don't see it anywhere!

PB ... stress! But if I am definitely meeting you at city hall next week, then i will bring the nappies to office, put it there and WUN BRING HOME!

PB,
Eh preggie woman, why are you still conducting classes?
Anyway, what coloured paper are you referring to? Origami ones or construction paper ones?

Coloured paper
Popular? Or those neighbourhood stationery shops? I remember them, they had that *smell* and came in the most amazingly garish colours!

doggiebb and jacelyn
haha no stress, no stress. i'm cool for thursday lunch (1 mar) at city hall.

bbp
no choice, i said yes to this a long time ago!

coloured paper
youpi, yes that 'smelly' one!!! no leh, popular no have? yeah i think you might be right, neighbourhood shops are a good bet. i love that paper. used them so much in school. now it's construction paper and that's just not the same.

bbp
um neither. now even got special prints on oragami ones hor? i'm referring to the really flimsy and thin kind that come in squares and are such bad quality that the colour often runs on your fingers if they are sweaty. like 50 cents per pack from the school bookshops.

aha! i will ask my neighbour who has kids in pri school to check for me!

july babies birthday party
preggie brain at work: have we talked about this? are we doing one this year?

oh girls.... i was just looking at old photos, of the kids at the 1st birthday party, at the swim trial we took at central, the gymboree trial, our RP lunches with kids... sheesh, these little fellas and fellarettes sure have sprouted!!!

Bbp
Can't remember specifically! I remember cutting but not pasting and where I pasted! Haha. Wah and I suddenly got a flash back: when got one gold and textured sheet, velly velly happy!!!

Oh girls I must share this! Yesterday poppy brought home some chinese cards and book from school. I thought "oh dear, how to read and revise with her?". Then she picked out some cards and identified gege (older brother), baba (father), ku (cry) and xiao (laugh). I nearly choked. Then she wanted to read the book before nap. I said ok, I started to read, then SHE said "no, I read to you, mama" and proceeded to read me a chinese book!!!

I mean, with eng books she points out sentences to me, but essentially I'm still the primary reader, but with this chinese book, she was totally in control.

Woohoo!!!

Haha! I tried reading G's books today and he said: mummy you better read it correctly ah, or you will kena piak by me eh!

Shock no 1: reversal of roles cos it was mandarin words in his berries book

Shock no 2: his grasp of singlish! Those were his exact words!

Hooray for Poppy and BbG and all the other beginner readers (and Declan who is probably reading Enid Blyton, yes?)
They're starting on a wonderful journey

PB
You mean Poppy has to do homework and revision already? Wow!

Cellow
Are the books at home too difficult?

DD
Does BbG enjoy Berries classes? Do you know what goes on in there? Any homework? Do they have holidays during school holidays or lessons as usual?

PB,
Good job Poppy! Now Poppy can teach her Mama and Papa Chinese :p

dd,
I find it really scary when they start mimicking us so perfectly, down to the Singlish!

youpi,
Haha funny. Dec's mom, not Dec, wants to read Faraway Tree books.

Cellow,
Yup, I agree with youpi. They're probably too difficult cos the books at my home are way too difficult too. I think their max now is 2 sentences per page.

Youpi
No no! Goodness no! No homework/revision. Though I think that starts at K1. Gulp. At her school we pay for a set of books that they use (1 set eng, 1 set chi) in class. And every week they bring back some things they do in class, like tracers and colouring activities. And last week she brought back one of her chinese readers, and apparently word-cards that they've used in class. She's been talking about a little dog who ate a biscuit and it only made sense to me when I saw the book.

I know it's prob just mostly memorisation at this point but wow wee am I amazed!

Bbp
Yes, bluebunny did say "wow she can read more than me!" When she read the book haha.

Ahem but folks, having said that, my chinese has improved tremendously since reading to poppy in mandarin! I can read short stories to her (like tortoise and hare in mandarin) without referring to the pinyin!! This is seriously the most chinese ive read. Even more than school days!

G can't read in english yet as he can't even sit through 1a of Peter and Jane (books my mom kept from our time!)

But he's picked up mandarin from school and berries real fast as they are working on the same syllabus I think. But I can't tell what happens during berries classes as we can't sit in, can only go through his books

Youpi, berries has the same holidays as schools...

Their brains sure are spOnges now, I'm trying so hard but can't keep up with memorizing the Chinese characters tat G has aced effortlessly and he's already move on to 'my family' while I'm still trying to remember body parts haha!

DD, yeah! Eboy can read some very basic words but for Chinese, Berries really did wonders. Last weekend was family he came home reading ba ba and ma ma. Ye Ye and nai nai need some prompting but I'm already very pleased! However, he can only read, cannot construct.

Youpi, in berries, the teacher uses pictures, cards and stories to teach them words. They also let them watch a video, and sing songs around the theme. Last semester was body parts, this semester was family. The teachers are very animated and fun when teaching. Then the children sit down side by side to do work books, coloring and they bring home a craft at the end of 1 hr 45 min lesson. Each lesson costs less than $30 all materials provided, I think it's very good!

Any advise on how to start eboy on new school to prevent meltdown, anxiety and basically I don't want to repeat what we did when he first started school, but both patents want to share his first day in school with him. How?

talking about enid blyton and the faraway tree..

i found a set of 6 hardcover books of the faraway tree and wishing chair in a box set in Popular for.................OMG! $$17...yes all of S$17. remember i was still thinking of buying from the book people? hehe!

cellow

talking about reading. I also wanna share about this class called icreative learner that talia is currently attending.

She started last Jan when she was 4. and she couldn't read at all, i think icl has an unique way of teaching and the engagement with the parents is very high. every night after class, there is a debrief at the door on what the children learnt, what the parents are supposed to do this week with the kids etc.

at last year's PTC, talia's teacher told me, talia started the year barely able to read, and she ended the year as one of the best readers in class. i think its all icr's credit.

its not easy getting into icr. i waitlisted quite a long time too.

but still i don't think you should do the headless chicken flap yet as ours are still just 3.5 yo. do that when they are 4 maybe? muahaha!

I can't do 12 March liao.

BOWLING BABIES!!
1. PB - 13,14,15 March can
2. bbp - 13, 14, 15 March can
3. youpi - 15, 16 March
6. SY - 12, 16 can

doggiebb,
How about just Faraway Tree? I don't really like The Wishing Chair series. If don't have, I'm SO going to Popular soon!

bbp

its 6 books bundled together. 3 faraway trees and 3 wishing chairs in this box set. but i saw individual faraway trees on its own too.