(2008/07) July 2008

which korean place is that? may take a train down

jo
what cupcakes? sounds tempting...

smiggle
oh dear hope both get well soon!

SY

i've got a very bad sense of direction and dunno how to describe. ask mich :p

i was thinking of maybe meeting you but i've got a feeling i will be late as I have a meeting at 11am. and dunno when it will end. will fly down as soon as the meeting ends.

*glupz* really can't rem the name.

Do you know that famous braised duck place which is along circular road? that stretch got killiney as well and one thai food place etc. this korean place is opp the duck rice.

my description is lousy lah. let mich describe. or meet her somewhere.

ok. the famous duck rice is 9 Lorong Telok.

google it in street directory pls.

The korean place is the stretch of shop house opp the stretch the duck rice is at which looks like 18-24 Lorong Telok.

The corner shop which is the junction of north canal road and lorong telok which is likely to be 18 Lorong Telok is the whitley road big prawn noodles.

whoa! all this will make sense if you look at the map! muahahah!

Korean lunch venue:

Miss Mich to the rescue!

Lets meet at the Macs outside UOB plaza, start of boat quay. then we walk over together... I met Jace there before, remember? 12 noon ok?

all korean lunchies clear where to meet? those who cant meet, its opp the UOB centre facing the boat quay, two lanes to the left, then you see the whitley road prawn noodles at the corner, that is the block, walk down the block you can see the korean food liao...

Hee.. I also cant remember the restaurant name, think its seoul something...

sat 18 Feb ECP
Looks like more ppl can make it on this day. shall we meet at the ECP big splash, at the seafood where there is a koi pond and a small bridge? 5pm?
bring Bike, bring kick scoooter, bring beach ball, beach toys, picnic mat, and what else what else??

where's the name roll for ECP again? cant seem to find it..

who can?

Sat 18 Feb 5pm:
1) Mich & Family

Cell/SY: twelve cupcakes. By Jamie Teo and Daniel ong? The first branch is at united sq now they have one at millennia walk an golden shoe car park.

Lunch: RP is republic plaza right?

Cell: you got mail.

Dd: will pm you tonight when kids sleep.

ok meet at that mac's at 12noon!

Sat 18 Feb 5pm:
1) Mich & Family
2) PB & family

have not been to that big splash place but will look for the koi pond and small bridge!

aiyoh doggiebb
now that you mention whitley road big prawn noodles..... *swallow saliva*

cellow
me too! i super used to force her to nap, no matter what. but now that she reaches home only at 240 (or 3 on some days), then by the time shower and milk and all that, then it's 4 or 4 plus. sometimes by 5, still rolling around, and not sleeping!

aww and i can't make it on sat coz of his berries lesson too!
have fun girls!

the cupcake place! must ask my colleagues if it's nice or not.. not cheap and it was sold out on V-day!

PB,
Oh man, that's a bad timing. Maybe can sleep earlier at bedtime?

Aww, can't make it for ECP. Got a family steamboat for dinner on the same day.

bbp
ya, she's in school 1130-230. hard to nap! in the beginning at least we could do 330-5pm, and then bedtime 830pm. worked out fine BUT she would always 'invite' me to lie with her. as opposed to before when she would fall asleep on her own at nap time.

so we have been trying no nap, and then to bed by 730 BUT then the crankiness will start around 630.

i've learnt/decided to be a bit more chill la. she will say she doesn't want to nap, so ok, no nap then. but she may just take cat naps (like seriously today it was 10 min in taxi!) and that keeps her spirits up till 730 bedtime. she's never been one for cat naps but it seems to be more logical to do things this way than me having to lie in bed with her ... i won't be able to do that with #2 la. and i don't want for the 2 things to coincide and make poppy think 'hey how come when meimei is here, suddenly mummy is not lying with me anymore?'

Strange..cos I've received pm's before. Let me go check.

But yes I've attended jmc many many years ago with my younger sis. The next step to his existing class Is a group keyboard one but I thought he'd learn more in a one-to-one

cin and dd,
what is your feedback on berries lessons? thinking of enrolling C1. the home environment doesnt support his chinese learning

DD i tried xun gal with the one to one trial class (cheapo groupon at 4 lessons for 28 bucks in Manderville) .. conclusion is half hr one to one session is too long for her. She can only focus 100% for 15 mins -_- after that she will start to drift away... talking abt other things and lose her interest in the lesson...
So now, I am actually considering to enroll her in group class instead. And hopefully it can make her more interested because there are other kids in the class too..
If G does not have any problems with focusing 100% then no issue!

Mich, OK! I know where is Macs .. Hmmm Jo I have not seen you before .. so we might be standing at Mac but do not know each other hahaha
And RP is actually raffles place ;)

re korean lunchie
okie! meet at mac. i hope i won't be late. 12 is a bit challenging.....i intend to take train down

re 12 cupcake
oh that one. i heard it's really good!! tempting me to buy some back..

re sat ECP outing
not sure whether i can make it. got to check with hb. cos after that usually go back to in laws place. let me see how it goes

PB
jx always does that. cat naps! nowadays she usually dun take naps on weekends but she goes to bed late. she doesn't get cranky even till 9 or 10!! amazing right...

last time i had that problem with jh. by the time he reaches home, it will be 3.30 so usually he dun take naps and i try to let him sleep early.

PB,
Sounds like you've got everything under control. I'm the one that needs to be more chill. I just went ballistic yesterday cos Declan didn't want to nap. Worse, he managed to get his hands on the Chest Rub and applied it all over his legs and hands while he was in the room alone, supposedly sleeping. Sigh sigh triple sigh.

Jace,
Jo is very tall too. So if you see someone as tall as you, then it's prob Jo

SY,
I sent you an email regarding iherb sometime back. I think you haven't replied me... can help me check pretty please? I will resend the email to you again. Thanks a million!
Oh, I sent it to your gmail.

lunch tmr (17 Feb)
amazingly i know which block it is now by googling based on mich's and doggiebb's descriptions. m coming from a 11am haircut so save a space for me....
whoever reaches first and is ready to order, pls order something soupy and noodle-y for me
call me when you are ordering la

Thanks bbp. I was just wondering yesterday if it's cos the kids are older now, or becos I'm with #2 qnd have very limited strength and energy and patience, but have really become more chill about a lot more things. Pregnancy has really slowed me down!

SY
Ya, JX is amazing! Really can tahan leh! Ya man, 330 reach home is super hard to nap. And not like they will recognise "ok I'm sleepy, should fall asleep right now" right? Poppy, even when she comes off the bus telling me she's sleepy, upon reaching home and seeing her toys, will immediately perk up and announce "I'm not sleepy anymore!".

Random thought
Public toilets are not big enough for preggie mama+kid! Always got to contort myself to prevent bump/poppy from getting hit by door/touchingtoilet bowl or sanitary bin! Yuck

Argh! Phone will always hang when I try to post all I've written!

Naps: thought G wasnt used tO new school hours n travelling cos he wakes too early or late in the mornings then falls asleep in car on way home, then misses afternoon nap..maybe our kiddos r outgrowing their naptime!

Haha dec made the room snow with baby powder once during 'naptime' right?

Korean lunch: I can make it (again!) haha. See u all at macs! And jace... Will let u know if I see u stdg beside Jo!

Lol on cctv in dec's room! Aiyoh that chest rub thing is not a toy, mr declan!

On on on for fri lunch!! Looking forward.

Jace
You mentioned before that xun + cousins used to take sch bus to st james and that it was a super long bus ride? 1hr? Did u simply get the bus contact fr sch or did u have to source specially for it? Does it mean the bus is only for them? Or they are simply the first to hop on, and last to get off? I ask cos we are considering moving house but want poppy to remain at the same sch. Distance won't be as much as your old place to st james, but still considerable. Thanks in advance!!

PB
st james is a big kindy so theirs is likely to be their own bus. for my kids current sch, they have a bus as well. but no space. so better ask early.

what happened with jh's previous sch was tat they din have a bus and when they managed to get one, the bus driver was so lousy that my hb wanted to pull jh out of sch instead of fretting over bus arrangements. refusing to give up, i called all the nearby schools to ask about their sch bus contact. i explained my situation that i am looking for a bus to take my kid and the sch is just nearby. i finally found one who could fit into the schedule.

so best to check early with the sch on sch bus. it usually belongs to the sch. but the distance may mean that the bus may not take poppy. jh was the first to get on and last to get off everyday but he was happy.

Jace: to add on to the descriptions, I should be easily identified plus I don't have to wear officewear like you guys. So casual outfit hanging around Mac, should be me lah. ;)

PB: why are you not using the handicap toilet or cubicle? Oh ya, I won't be driving tomorrow, shall I drop the breast pump at your place in the evening? Will be dropping
place in tanglin, can swing by before that? I can bring to lunch also.

Dd: I'll pass you the contacts and tell you more about the
teachers tomorrow then?

PB, its st james' own bus. Hmm surprisingly we were not the first to hop on! We are hmm the mid ones. So the first to hop on actually took 1.5 hrs to reach sch. And of coz eventually drop out due to the distance too ... too tiring for the kid. Yes u have to check early. The sch will usually give u a contact and the sch bus co usually have alot of bus drivers under the co and can see how to fit u into one of the buses. U found a place liao?

Jo LOL ok will tryyyy to keep a look out. But i will be in semi casual work wear too coz friday is dress down day!! Last dress down day for me before i more. coz new office no moreee dress down.

Jace: ok, will look out for you too! Can dress up is good, I like! Now always in casuals.

Dd: no kids tagging along tomorrow, me time!

hey mummies, need your advice re slings. i suddenly remember being extremely inefficient with my MIM sling. has anyone used a pupsik sling before? easy to use? or got any other kinds of slings around ah? i know i will go to my trusty ergo as soon as i can but for the first couple of weeks, it will be slinging for me. TIA!!!

thanks everyone for the school bus info!!! i'll check with her school. haven't even got our new place yet. so everything must do in parallel hehe.

DD
i think we are meeting at 12. if you arrive at 1230, caaaaaan. you just meet with other mums lor, not us kekekeke

hooray for jo getting ME TIME!!!

Haha other moms who happened to be working there and lunching there? :p

There are a few pupsik kinda brands. I hear it feels more secure cos not lopped thru ring but bad part is that it's not as flexi Lor n will be outgrown as bb grows? Mim can sling many ways if u learn how to... U had a bjorn too?

PB,
Tried pupsik sling for like 5min when Declan was 2 years old. Felt very comfortable but anything for 5min will feel very comfortable one la. I think can last quite long cos when they get bigger, you will be carrying them sitting up and not lying down. The only downside is the size depends on the person who is carrying the baby cos it's not adjustable.

DD
i had MIM (oh the memory i have of it is me fighting tears, poppy really crying, and us being so late for an appt cos we were both struggling - me trying to get her in, and she trying to get out), bjorn, ergo
ergo i was in love with.

bbp
ah, not adjustable? hmmm. you tried dec in it at age 2? wow!

may not be able to join. quite swamp with work currently and next week 2 days not in office....

catch u gals another time!

PB

I have both and I think MIM one is the best since it's adjustable. Till now I still struggle on how to use Pupsik one properly (I gave it to my sis in law and my attempt to demo how to use it fails miserably) hahaha.

For MIM I never untie it, so if need to use just put over and adjust.

The kimchi is making my baby either hiccup or launch into morse code tapping :D

Great to meet with you all today! And I realised that pregnancy brain is transferable hor, Jacelyn and Doggiebb? Re my nappies and breastpads? Hehe

I know that this is an EXTREMELY random question but does anyone happen to have 1 latex gloves to spare me? The kind that doctors use for examinations? They're only sold in big boxes and I only need 1 la!! It's for an activity with Poppy. Er it's a fun activity, and not at all medical!

SD..we were eating and thinking of you! Was good seeing everyone..too noisy and rushed though...

Waiting to dig into cupcake with a cuppa coffee soon!

Have a good weekend everyone! Will call if I can make it on sun!

Yes, it was a great meet-up. Everyone look so good!
Nice meeting you guys jace, Jamie and Celine.

PB: I finally recalled which is the mim sling! And I think I have one! Ok, will pass you both you and you see which one fits lah.
I have an idea for your latex glove. Go to your gynae office and ask them for one.

Have a great weekend!

Mummy lunches
One day I hope to be able to join you all for lunch! Probably when our kids are in P1. You'll all still be lunching then, right?

PB
I heart-ed my MIM sling. In the early days my two sticky ones were in it almost 24/7. I like its versatility: it was used as a nursing cover, a blanket, shelter from the sun, a stroller canopy, and as a restraint to hold baby on a chair. And as a sling too lah of course. It's also very portable as it is light, and can be folded up into a small square. Just practise with baby and you'll get the hang of it in no time. Can Youtube for vids on how to wear. Or bring baby to The Birth Shop to learn on the spot (thebirthshop.com.sg).

Awesome lunch!!! It's been so long since we last gathered sans kids and be so loud and chatty! Hahaha

Sunday ECP (no more sat!!), 5pm onwards, (I not joining dinner), meet at big splash koi pond area.
1) mich
2) PB
3) cellow
4) jace
5) DD (ponteng lah!!)

Who else? Join in for a fun filled beach escapade for the kids!!

So funny doggiebb and jace suppose to bring stuff for PB (thus the meet up at RP) and in the end both of them forgot their barang and PB remembered everything!!

Was the cupcake nice? Was wondering why Jo needed to buy 12 cupcakes, only to realize, oh, shop name is 12 cupcakes! Buy 1 also can! Hahaha stupid me...

Ya, every time talk, think, eat Korean, doggiebb and SD pops up!

Youpi sounds like a MIM versatile pro! I could only do one position but it was good enough for me n G was glued to me most times too! I loved all my slings!

Cupcake was heavenly but is it pricey at $3 for one?