(2008/07) July 2008

SY
actually it's just cos we have to spend such a long time staying in my MIL's house. i dont mind going if we stay on our own for half the trip. it's not about slower pace of life. i like that. it's a beautiful country but all my trips back have been ... how shall i put it politely..... ABSOLUTELY BORING because i've been couped up at her house, unable to go out!

hubby is happy to be back and nua at his mum's house, happy not to do anything. mil is happy to have her son back and smother him (which is a diff topic of complaint altogether). they love having family dinners at her place, which means couped in again...

our trips back are just visiting, visiting and more visiting. i don't want to sound like a brat (i know i'm not doing a good job in not sounding like a brat!) but if every trip is like that, then i will NEVER get to experience what it is like for me to have a life there with my family, a normal everyday life, and not just visting, visiting, visiting. if we move there, i don't want to live in ulu land. i need to live more central. and hubby agrees. so that's all i want to do, try living more central. just to try it out and do things like check out parks, schools, amenimities nearby, to see if we will enjoy LIVING there. not just existing in my mil's house.

i'm not used to being so dependant on people (we're stuck at home until she's back from work or my bil [who lives something like 2 hours away] and his gf can drive us around). but there, i'm stuck as long as we stay with my mil. it's a hike to the nearest bus stop, which is VERY unpleasant in minus 40 degrees. and then only ONE bus going into town. and i so don't want to drive on icy roads. so, really stuck. and really miserable. and winter really adds on to misery.

if i don't go, i'll miss them both tremendously. but it's either that or 3 weeks of misery.... i dunno. ideally, hubby can give in and we can stay somewhere else.

hello!

i used to love rainy days soooo much. but now with a toddler who has to be cooped up with me at home on a rainy day, i think i have switched allegiance to the sun.

art garden
it's ending tmr! quick quick go! i went today, and it was soooooooooooooooooo crowded. woke up and the hb said that he didn't have to work today (and why couldn't he say so yest?) so it was a mad scramble to get to SAM (you all know that pomfret just dawdles around in bed till 10am.....)

pb
you mean, bb would rather you didn't go with him for 3 weeks than rent a place in town? mb you rent a place for yourself and he can go and stay with mil for a few days with poppy at a stretch. how about that? mil gets to see poppy at a stretch of say, 3 days. then poppy comes out to town for 4 days.

all the while you get to breathe that freezing frigid air hahah albeit in town and get new ideas for your biz!

can't remember what i came online to post about.

Michelle,

oh dear... maid hunting is always painful. Good luck!

HK Disneyland,

WE ARE GOING IN DEC!! Tickets all booked. But not staying there. It is my company's year end trip so we gotta cater to the adults too. Staying in HK Island Excelsior Hotel. Looks like many mummies are keen too! We can have a Jul babies FIRST overseas trip!

PB,

*pat pat* I can feel for you. There is always webcam and you can see poppy. 3 weeks break -- you can do alot of "ME" things. with the kids around, it is practically impossible to do anything on my own.

Talking about Sick -- I have been sick for the longest time ever. since Feb. Once I get slightly better, I get plagued by another variant of flu/cough watever. This is so sickening. Coughing for 7 mths isnt fun at all.

Ooh thanks for the tips on Milan Youpi! Mich, what did u do/eat/go when there (non-newly-married-related haha)

Bike: my lazybones barely spend 5mins on his likeabike when we do go out on it..so he's not mastered it yet.

PB: aww..u need a hug *hug* maybe tell hubby to go in summer/spring instead so u can go for walks with poppy? Or rent a place for a week Or two, and spend a week at the MIL's?

Batgirl: poor u..coughing your lungs out sure is no fun...u've been going back to the same doc who's monitored your progress? Anything triggering it?

Thanks girls. Ya I think I do need a hug.

DD/dustee
Not that he would rather I not go than rent a place la. He's not that bad! But a part of him just thinks $$$$$, which is not wrong. I mean, it IS more practical on the wallet to stay with mil. But I'm pitching it such that if they want me to move over then I have to see if I can adjust to a "normal" life there, and not just live in my mil's basement

So he's open to the idea and agrees we should do it. So the trade off would be to go on a cheaper flight to save $3k on tickets. Anyone tried qatar before?

Wow batgirl
You are carrying your flu/cough to almost full term liao! That's an insanely long cough! Did u try TCM?

youpi
yup yup. that's what i'm hoping for too

octoburst
wow the word sounds familiar but that's about it. sounds like fun! poppy's really into ballet now for some reason

cameron highlands
anyone been recently? how long is the bus ride huh?

pb
oh no of coz i know bb is not like that, about preferring you don't go than to rent a place. that came out wrong.

i have heard that qatar air can be quite good.

michelle
oh no does your helper need to leave immed or can she wait till you find someone else? in your new place with the unpacking and reno still going on some more. pat pat.

batgirl
you need supplements! and rest. like ...erm, how are you going to get more rest right. you need another holiday without the kids lah.

boob war
still fighting pomfret over her comfort latching. i want my boobs back. i want to go back to wearing nice bras instead of these floppy nursing ones. when she was 1, i thought 'can bf till 2 lah'. when she turned 2, i thought 'surely she'll self wean before she turns 3' and now she's 3, i'm just '............... someone help me!!!!'

the other day, went along with her class excursion to watch some play. she got scared during the play (loud noises to simulate thunderstorm) and wanted to latch. the mother next to me couldn't have stared any other at us. i was quite tempted to turn around and ask her 'my boobs are very nice yeah?'

Quick one

Pb,
I fully understand. Esp the part abt the man regressing to being mummy's boy. You do have to do some half and half solution. Talk more tmr, time to zz

batgirl,
Alamak! Get well really really soon!

First I stay uP doing Mickey stuffs...now I'm up making a flowerpot for his teachers! will post pic tomorrow *grin*

Goodnight momma's and selamat hari Raya aidilfitri!

Can't sleep tonite ...

Love the notebook PB has made for teachers' day.

Din know about the Mr Maker's date ... missed it. Else my ZL will be excited.

ZL getting off his diaper soon ... ashamed to say ... actually trained by childcare not me.

Pb
For me, I will save on air tickets and stay a week in hotel something central..
3 weeks is too long to be away frm my child...
And I don't mind spending a week by myself to explore the places...

Erm, I don propose bus ride to Cameron unless u don have motion sickness. E roads could get winding.. Cos up the hills..

Hk Disneyland
Never been there.. But the scary stories of kids being abducted puts me off... But I love hk...

Michelle
Are u getting a ph or indo maid?
Mine is going back soon... I plan to get an indo this time round..

SmiggleP new maid right? Going back Liao?

Actually I no longer dare to take any coach into Malaysia now after all the many accidents...

PB
i heard qatar not too bad. if can save $$ on tickets and then rent a place somewhere to stay for half the trip, i think that would be a great idea! think you should go. 3 weeks is so long....

JX also super into ballet now! and i realised it's not that ex. so trying to get a slot for her to do trial...

youpi
i love to bring them for plays but jx is not very good with them. i realised jx and jh are so different. jh is quite daring to try things and dun mind getting dirty. jx is the complete extreme. she din used to be like this when young but now getting quite extreme!

jx seemed not to be well again. hoping she won't get fever again...sigh, i wish i can be SAHM again at times! esp when the kids are sick, or when i wan to brign them out or when i wan to bring them for classes and there are only weekday slots...sigh...

by the way, share something silly. this morning jh pushed jx and jx will complain to everyone that she sees. so she was telling the new maid that jh pushed her. u know what was the maid's reply? she told him to scold jh! i told her, cannot ask jx to scold jh back. she actually asked me if dun scold then how? i wan to faint. this is one major reason why maids cannot be primary caregivers! no matter how long they have been in singapore, they just have different views on values when it comes to teaching children! so despite being super duper tired from work, the maid seldom spend more than 15 min alone with the kids everyday.

Sy
I've realised that parenting can only be done by parents. By others, it's known as caregiving. And caregivers' roles are primarily to care for child's basic needs ie make sure they're not playing with fire or chainsaws. Many caregivers, either domestic help, school teachers, or even grandparents, only do that, and don't really bother teaching about values, morals, life lessons. And in a way we can't really blame them becos they are caregivers to OUR kids but are parents to their own. Just like when we help to jaga friends' kids for a few hours, we also won't treat them totally as our own.

Where are you bringing jx for ballet trial btw? Poppy keeps giving us ballet recitals! I think she's really into it

Smiggle
New maid? I thought recently changed. Ya I now remember the winding roads. But thought since it's at night then not so bad, can sleep thru. But the thought of the drivers navigating the windy roads in near darkness is quite nervewrecking.

I do want to visit the strawberry farms and tea plantations though

Airflights
Glad to hear some gd experiences with qatar. Before poppy, I totally wouldn't mind getting cheapest flights even if it meant more time in the air. But we tend to think differently once we have kids don't we? Their comfort is so important... And the thought of being airborne for more than 20 hours with a bored and cranky preschooler... Err...

sy,
yes. that's why i take over immediately once i go home.

congrats to bluey's ZL and mich's eboy being off diapers!

mich,
you want the number of my maid agency? tis a one man show, very experienced guy. personalised service. the downside is with the ss crunch of maids, may need to wait long time.
is helper going back imm?

smiggle,
if my youngest child were less than one year old, i would not want to be separated for 3 weeks too. primarily bcz of bfeedg.

SAM outing
youpi, C1 and I will def miss it! today being the last day.....

pb,
i totally get you. for this christmas, let BB handle poppy. yes you are absolutely spot on in that anyway the ILs are happy to see BB and poppy only, you dun really count. i get the same sense from my ILs too. when i m back in kuching. i m taking mini steps to being more independent....
1) learn the routes so that i can drive the kids out
2) relearn how to drive manual gear car, the alternative is to drive my BIL's toyota hilux, which i def do not know how to park.
at least the MY kampong has similar weather to SG.... one more thing to be happy abt. recognise completely the dependency on others to bring us around. i m always stuck IN THE HOUSE except to go out for meals (occasionally).
and no, you are far from being a brat. i too feel really redundant at the ILs other than being a pair of boobs to C2... sometimes.

think of these 3 weeks as an adventure for both you and BB. you to not miss them so much, and do ALL the things that you are time pressed for. BB to entertain poppy by HIMSELF (with help from MIL of course) 24/7, basically being the primary caregiver, and tadah, you are not around to ask for instructions or to do preparation work. [eg. he has to think ahead what to pack in the bag to entertain, clothe, feed poppy on the run] [i believe he ll be fine btw!]

i took off to the ILs in Jul with C1, C2 and maid without Mr C. try it once, see what happens. i survived :p
... and i m pretty sure that i will only EVER travel back to the ILs with Mr C again. why should i inconvenience myself while he gets to do what he likes when he likes....

go go go for it gal. do the 3 weeks. be happy, reframe it as learning time for everyone, you, bb and poppy.

re helper
mine said will stay till i find someone. definitely wont go for fili. so its either myanmese or indon. Going back to my tried and tested agency... hee...

batgirl
aiyo, cough so long! more than 100day cough. go get it checked out! are you still Bfeeding? if not, try taking some steriod (prednisolene), helps to recover quickly! take care

canada
3 wks away from poppy and BB? you sure? you sure? why always choose cold, bitter winter season to visit? cos winter season all not working there? if not, go like during summer, then you are confident to drive, then you can get around? no? anyway, hope something works out for you. you can join us for lunch everyday if you stay behind....

SY, of course can never, ever depend on helpers to teach the right values! no one can replace parents (and Mummies!).

My whole team is currently overseas, and sooooo today I am working from home! hey hey hey....

toilet training
help! eboy now always play play play until high tide also dun want to go toilet. then lun until the very last second, then say want to pee pee, so we have to dash! sometimes reach bathroom door only, pee come out liao! how to tell him that it is perfectly fine to get his toys to wait for him to pee? he will play refuse to pee even though can be soooooo high tide already! how how how?

PB
i have called up 2 schools to ask about rates. prob will bring her to the one at bukit timah plaza. my sis has a colleauge who sends her gal there. it's 160.50 for 10 lessons. they have weekday slots but i can't make it at the moment.

it's called attitude dance studio.

michelle
they go through phases. there was a period of a few weeks where jx always end up peeing in her pants cos she play until forgot...we just keep reminding her to tell us when she wan to pee. think just keep reminding and they will get the idea in time.

sure when are u opening your house to us??

only mummies can understand this thing about caregiver etc etc. if i try to explain to hb, he will find that there's nothing wrong in leaving the kids to the maid....

sy,
Mr C gets it too re caregiving vs parenting.

the latest thing i m trying to wean him off is iphone over meals. irritating. like we (i, C1 and C2 plus the ILs now) are all transparent. yesterday he pointed out to us (ILs and me) that the family of 5 (dad, mum and 3 children aged ~10-16) the next table at dinner were all engaged in their i-devices. so i took the opportunity to tell him in front of the ILs that yes he does the same too and wont that set such a bad example to C1 and C2. the ILs took over from there to nag/teach him.... bwahahhaaa.

\re toilet training
eboy is definitely not "play until forget". he will press his crouch, he will squeeze his legs together, i will ask him over and over again, he will reply no, and refuse for me to drag him to toilet. then a few minutes later, will pee out before we could reach toilet... he just doesnt understand the concept of "stop-for-a-while-to-do -important-thing-like-pee". Then he does it for a few times, and some other person in the house would say, aiya, wear diaper for him lah (u-turn!)... very frustrating lah...

Cellow
Haha good to know someone feels me. High five, sista

I'm absolutely sure BB can manage by himself. And I can use the time to get home renos done like putting up grills and changing furniture. And December is a busy month, work wise for me too.

But we'll see. Of cos I want to be with BB and poppy. But we're just being practical. Spending $ to be miserable just doesn't make sense

Mich
We visited once during summer and I really enjoyed that so much more. The prob is that xmas is generally more relaxed for the folks there bla bla. And I think xmas to them is like cny to us, an occasion to have whole family together

pb,
yes once you are there, tis def a miserable time. stay here and be happy instead!

at least i can still catch a few words of teochew here and there, and if i look really blur and lost in the conversation (plus nudge Mr C), he will sometimes deign to translate for me.

will someone teach me teochew pls? i offer authentic kolo mee the next time the ILs fly in. fresh fm a hawker in Kuching.

(good enough incentive anot?)

i bet my bottom dollor your french is similar std with my teochew, PB. HAHA.

Cellow
Can't see the link but is that noisy zoo? If so then you'll see poppy and declan there too! But didn't know it was deepavali! Hehe

I am sure your teochew is better than my french. I studied it for 8 years and was really confident in class too. But just being with my ILs makes me clam up somehow. Over the years I've learnt to plaster a smile on my face and tune out. Or ya, nudge BB when I want to be involved but don't understand

jx is confirmed sick..haiz. got to drop everything to pick her up to go doc....

hmmm i know bbp goes to Dr Ravin too. i find him a bit overly cautious. he saw that jx had a throat infection and sent us to Dr Gong at Gleneagles cos he couldn't decide to give her antibiotics..hmmm what do u mummies think of that...

so now all my plans for this weekend;s gone..sigh. at times like this i really wish that i can be SAHM. no need to worry about my work in office, my constant absence etc etc....sigh.

cellow
what show is that? sounds interesting. is it a PH? maybe i shall go too!

oooooh pb, bbp,
which show are you going for?
i was at the SRT sistic counter with my colleague. she was checking out Wicked the musical while i made a beeline for the children's shows brochures. then came across Noisy Zoo.

i picked the 11am deepavali show bcz
1) tis 11am, not naptime for C1 and C2.
2) i dun have to think of entertainment options for them for a public holiday!

Cellow,
Exact same timing! We are going to the Noisy Zoo 26 Oct 11am. Mr bbp will be bringing Declan in while I get to R&R for 45min

SY,
What was the alternative besides asking you to go see Dr Gong? True, he is cautious in the sense that he doesn't like to anyhow give antibiotics. But it works for me cos I don't like to anyhow feed antibiotics. It'll be worse in the long run if they develop an immunity to it and you have to give stronger and stronger antibiotics.
Talking about alternatives, he usually gives us 2 choices and lets us decide.

PB,
Haha, I didn't realise it was Deepavali too! Weird that there were still tickets left on a Public Holiday as opposed to a normal weekday....

Bbp
Ah since you have decided such, then I will too. Poppy will be accompanied by her papa for noisy zoo! :D

Cellow
Would u like to sell off ur ticket so you can enjoy a 45 min break with us? :D

ended a work call.

bbp, pb, cannot la!
Mr C will say "off with her head!" ala the Queen of Hearts for even thinking abt abandoning him to C1 and C2. hahahha.

chirp chirp. had a good night's sleep. what wonders that does to my mental well being.

PB,
no no no no no nooooooo. over my very dead body................. (i might just literally keel over from fatigue)

C3PO is funny!

Mr C
okok, since i always rant abt him, i shd also praise him. i have taken on new job resptys that involve confirmed weekly tue evening calls. just knew abt the evening calls this morning when i logged into email. so i asked Mr C if he is willing to tk care of the boys EVERY tue while i m on call. he said YES readily without hestitation. Hooray for on-board daddies!

bbp
hmmm other alternatives? not really. Dr Ravin couldn't decide so he just told me if i have time and dun mind, i can make a trip to Dr Gong. The thing about Dr Gong is no doubt he is quite good and popular but i always find him to be a bit heavy on dosage. and within seeing him in 5 min he decided to give her antibiotics. Dr Ravin wanted to get his opinion on it. so if he can't decide what do u do?

cellow,
wah ha ha ha?! Missed me? LOL!! I have decided to pop by today. n yeah, HELLOW TO THE FELLOW MUM OF 2 BOYS TOO! whahaha.

BbG seems to be sniffling and coughing too and we r flying off early tomorrow morning for a week! Quick dash to PD tonight?

Life's been real hectic for me lately!

Have a good weekend everyone!

Is it Monday already??? Yawn!!!

How was your weekend? Mine was tiring. Interviewed another maid and found one looks ok but she is only 25yo and she say she will go back in 2 yrs. So now still thinking.

I need a holiday!!!

This morning on the way to school, an accident occured right next to us on the road. A reckless taxi driver hit a motorcyclist 4 metres from where we were walking. Poppy's heart was pounding and the shock to me is only just sinking in. We were SO close.

Please, hold on to your kiddos' hands, and let them walk on the inner on the pavement. And always always look when crossing roads because there are always stupid reckless drivers that think they own the road.