(2008/07) July 2008

bbp,
so your makeup how? settled who will do already? usually brides will give priority to their own mum, their own sister, heck care the IL side la and you all go and settle yourselves. that's normal.

for my sister's wedding in nov, i m not even expecting her MUA to do for my mum. instead i will book myself, mum and my MIL for a makeup session. the bride already has a lot of things to worry abt......

smiggle,
good on your new found freedom!

mich,
i usually kiss them goodbye at home, then leave in taxi. rather than drama at the airport.
when i land, i m normally greeted with open arms and smiley faces... so that's something to look forward to.
eboy will be ok, he is in great hands rem.... there has been HFMD cases in C1's school too. and one in his class last Monday!!! just have to trust the school to do what they do to take care of the kids.

JB trip
ok i m making a trip into JB tmr and will be buying some home wear tee shirts and PJs for C1. if anyone wants to buy similar stuff, pls sms me. no time to check forum already.....
(this SAHM week is a lot more time consuming than going to work)

mich
oh dear I feel for you even as I read your post. It's always so hard to leave a crying child. But as much as it's a big step for you, it's also a big step for him (in terms of independence). Plus, like DD says, he's in good hands! I'm sure it'll not be too long before you fly home again to him!!

btw any teachers here? Realised students today are quite different from the time we were students. They will openly challenge the teacher, or blatantly lie down on their desks to sleep in class. I would never do that as a student, no matter how sleepy I was. Or maybe I was just a very timid student!

men
pardon me, i need to rant again.

the man in my house asked me last evening if i had time this afternoon to go into town to run an errand for him. he assumed that bcz i m on leave, and at home, i have a LOT of time. for the record, i hvnt gone ANYthing that i planned for these 3 days done. at all. i feel so inefficient. this is a different me from being at work.

i snapped like a crocodile. visualised biting his thick head off.

rant over. back to real life.

mich
at least u know eboy will be ok.....

i need to go on a company trip in oct and i have been prepping jx. she keeps saying no to me going overseas. do u do anything to prep eboy? problem is jx still wakes up at night and she looks for me and me only. if hb try to carry her she cries very loud. but once he carry her and put beside me, she will go sleep again...

how many days u in BKK? i can already feel myself feeling the same way!!

smiggle
so u got a new job? how long your SAHM days? congrats!!!

bbp
so MUA settled?

cellow
men are like that. i m usually the one who has to help my hb with all the stuff though he has a post office near his office, a SAM machine downstairs and lot of banks near his office!

take heart, it means they can never do without us....haha. i always tell my hb what will he do without me!! first he will get lost every where he goes..haha

Received news from home that eboy vomited several times since 5am, and down with stomach flu. No appetite and been sleeping a lot since morning..... I've rescheduled my flight to go home earlier tomorrow... I'm never to travel again. Never.

Mr mich was really cool in handling eboy and proudly told me eboy was such a good boy, din cry a bit even though hubby had to shower him at 5am as he threw up on himself...

Doubledee: four seasons durian. They have counters at most malls and the shop sells everything about durian. Saw the roll that you are looking for.

Mich: *hugs*.... I can imagine your situation. Me too will cry buckets if I have to leave without the kids.

Smiggle: Congrats and enjoy your newfound freedom!

BBP: no probs. Hope it'll be settled soon.

Mich
Sayang Eboy. Emma has been getting stomach flu for 2 times in a row, within 1 month. *snif* however, she didn't vomit, just loose stools. first time accompanied by high fever, second one accompanied by runny nose and hoarse voice. *headache* During term 3 in school she only went to school for like half the time. Took a long time to get better, and getting sick within a week after she went to school.

Cellow
I know right! Mr. Sd is the same. expect me to run so many errands. Call the aircon guy, deposit cheques, buy this and that.. haizzzz If the situation is reversed, he would probably accomplish one task only.

Errands:
Do u think it's cos you all drive? Cos hubby hardly gives me an errand. And if so, I'll tell him no guarantees cos it's dependent on Declan and the weather. Bwahahaha. Cos if it rains, I can't possibly drag Declan out just for his errand right?

MUA;
actually it never crossed my mind. It was my MIL who asked for it first, then later told me that she had requested my SIL for it. So I just sunbian add on to the number. It's actually not a big deal for me. Its my MIL whose super kancheong i think Even dress also she said the one that I had my Eye on was too plain. so anyway, if got MUA then have, if not then dun have lor. It ain't my wedding anyway so nobody's going to be looking at me la.

Mich,
Oh no. The stomach flu is so heart breaking. If it's anything like dec's, he's going to want to sleep alot and will keep saying he's so tired. Stay strong and remember to take care of yourself too cos stomach flu is contagious ya?

Errands
Hmm mine doesn't make me run his errands. But doesn't really bother about household errands either. Aircon, cleaner, broken lock, all me. Initially it was hard for me to adjust cos in my family it's my dad who takes care of these things and my mum knows ziltch about them. But I suppose it's groomed me to do them now haha.

The only 2 things that BB does automatically without me asking are: buying milk powder, and toilet paper.

Toys r us has a lego sale tomorrow for members. Anyone wants to go together? 11am at united sq. Not sure what time finish.

michelle
poor eboy. he caught some virus from school? hope he's better!

kudos to mr Mich for a good job done!

PB
i also saw the lego sale but hor...last year we went and it was an eye opening experience! but this year may be better cos they limit to 3 pcs per customer. last year was free for all and many pple just grab all the things. by the time i reach at 1+, the shelves were almost empty and the q super long. a lot of retailers go there to buy and then resell. so if u r really keen to go, go early. i heard some pple q up the night before...

re errands
i dun think it's cos we drive. cos some things dun involve that. it's more of a dependency. but anyway i m so pissed with my hb. now that i m working full time, can;t he be a bit more helpful? yesterday jx throwing tantrums and only wants him to bathe her. so of cos i refuse to bathe her and ask the father to bathe right. he also not happy. everyday i have to rush like mad to pick them, send them to sch and be late for work, leave in middle of meetings etc. i always tell him, i contribute 40% to household, he should contribute 40% to kids time! but it's never that way. come back only know how to tell me he's tired. then what about me? i have been sleeping close to 1am past few nights to finish up work. arrgh. anyways, if after all the complaints and it can't get through it won't get through now.

plus i do the marketing, buy all the household items, etc. i think my hb has a good life. ok....finish ranting. feel better....only u mummies can understand the frustrations....

SY
*5! You are not alone

And we are also the ones who do all the present buying, birthday planning, travel and holiday planning, activity and outing planning... decide on where to go, what to do, where to eat and what to eat, bring the kids to the doctor, take time off to nurse them when they are unwell (as if our jobs are not as important), replenish toiletries for everyone etc etc etc... so we do all the mental AND the physical work, and all that wears us down emotionally and psychologically. That's part of the reason why mothers are great.

PB
Got the email too I am v tempted to go but won't make it in time to pick up the boys from school so cannot! Sob!

Mich
Eboy better? Are you feeling better as well? Hugs to you both!

Hiaz...have been a tough 2 weeks. My boss just terminated a senior manager. The scene was ugly. I had to go to lawyers, draft oh-so-legal letters to protect my bosses' position. But the guy they terminated is my good friend who started with me in the company since I first joined. So difficult to be objective, but have to be objective. Oh soooo tired now.... havent read the posts for a long while... will do so after saga is over.... hiaz..

Wow batgirl, that's tough. Women find it harder to be objective in general I think

Youpi
Spot on re mummies' "duties"!

Wondering wondering wondering re lego sale...

batgirl - that's a tough position to be in
..hang in there. great bumping into you and thanks once again for yr OCBC

pinkB - we will be bk in KL on 28/8 so wont be joining in sso@the park..enjoy

mich - hope eboy gets well soon! safe flight back ya.

Wah it's so heartening To hear we are not the only manic mama's running around with 100 hands doing 200 things while the ding dong daddies take their time to brush their own teeth and decide what to wear....

Batgirl: People Mgt is always the toughest part of any job I feel... Hope the saga has ended..

Was thinking of chionging to Lego sale during lunch initially but decided to maybe wait for the next one since the megabloks can still keep bbG happy for now...

Thanks for ideas on where to get durian cake...will go look (for Aussie aunt who's craving for it)

Its the start of a gloomy sad weekend for us as we just got news that one of my sister's bunny has died..more tears to be shed at airPort on sun when I have to leave my babies behind for a week...This sucks man!

I'm home! I'm home! Very happy!

Eboy woke this morning and said "mummy I love you"!!! *heart melt* first time he said that and loud and clear! *sniff*

My turn to sayang DD for her impending trip. It's totally no joy at all! But the good thing to it all is they will scream at the top of their voice "mummy!!!!!" at airport when you run out! Ohhhhh.... So sweet. Hee.

tGIF!

2nd sep
Want to plan something? No school and I take leave, let's go somewhere!

michelle
onz! 2nd sep kids school close so i m thinking of bringing them out.

suggestions?

bbp
yup we went last year. it was really terrible......

quick one
all of you say 2 sep sch close... i went to call C1's school. indeed they are closed for teacher's day. sigh.
bad day for me to take leave leh.....

mich and sy, where do you intend to go?

mich,
how confident are you in the school to keep HFMD at bay?

eh, can lunch be on wed instead? i m enjoying my last day of working from home tmr. the ILs arrive tmr for 3 whole weeks to supervise my maid while aunt's maid goes home for raya.

God grant me patience during these 3 weeks.

i m sure i will come in here to let off the billowing pent-up steam!

Mich: I see lunch! Can I join? But like what cel asked, tomorrow can?
Btw, the HFMD case is in his class? Any idea if the teachers sanitized the classroom and toys? If yes, keeping them a day before sending them is ok I think. The last time Gwyn's class had 1 case also, I kept her home for a day.

Cel: I think now teacher's day and Children's day are set on first fri of sept and oct respectively, no longer 1st of the two
months.
Hang in there! Praying along with you!

I think I am a lousy mother ... I just saw my email last night, the school sent me an email on 12th Aug (!!) saying that they are closing the N1, K1 and K2 classes for 10 days because there were 16 cases of HFMD (!!!) but since Pre nursery (which xun girl is in) is considered a separate school compound, they are not closing it ... And goodness me, I have no idea at all! If I have known, I will have kept her at home last week. Cannot imagine HFMD esp with mini xun. Anyway its too late to do anything .. coz they are starting the classes tomorrow after the 10 days close. So lousy right? They close for 9 days liao then i know... ...Praying hard she will be clear!
And no wonder xun girl said: school bus only got 2 people - xxx and me! And when i asked her how come only 2 people, she said coz the rest are sick.

jace,
tis ok. i dun read emails fm school also. that doesnt make you or me a lousy mummy, just a very busy one.... the ding dong daddies are not even putting in 30% smtimes let alone 50%. think tis the nature of mummies to expect ourselves to do 100% but really we need to cut ourselves some slack. chin up gal!

xun gal and mini xun will be fine.... in time for mini xun's bday!

haha thanks Jo,
i need all the divine intervention i can get!

Cellow you are really good at making me feel good. Last night when I was looking at the email, I was knocking at my head and blaming myself. While the hubby was 'ah ok school close ah... nvm la gg to open tmr' ... ...

michelle
depends on how many pple in his class have it. that time when sch had HFMD and jx caught it, i continued to send JH to sch cos his class has no cases plus letting him stay at home to play with jx may be worse!

plus how separate are the classes? any of his close frens got it? if u have help at home, it may be better to keep him at home for one or 2 days.

Jace
dun feel bad. i think as long as the school is separate, that's fine. plus no one in her class right? but 16 is a lot! maybe just ask the sch what measures they are going to take from now on. i realise it's the season of HFMD again.

cellow
so your work from home days over or u will go back to work from home when IL go back?

sy,
i will work from home again when ILs go back.
with them in the house.... they take up a lot of mental space la.... i cannot conc on work when i m at home!

SY yah it is the season of HFMD again! arghhh xun gal's class had 1 case but that was more than 2weeks ago. So should be fine now. I hate HFMD. Its like chicken pox in the uncontrollable manner. At least got chicken pox vaccine... no HFMD vaccine.

Cellow I really envy you having the option of working from home daily ... but that requires alot of discipline too.

Now that it is the 2nd half of the year, I am beginning to slack away. Taking a break now haha ... but the next few months will be super busy with house moving etc. Targetting to shift in by end Nov. The buyer of our existing place wants the flat by mid dec. So really not much allowance .. no room for mistakes! haha

jace,
hail fellow slack away!

but seriously the first half is so busy, then now is the time to refocus and re prioritise. not just at work, but at home too.

yesterday was really ill disciplined in terms of working. klkk to my fridge and back a LOT of times. plus read papers fm cover to cover. 1st day back after one week's leave. today is slightly better.

side thot, delegate to the daddies the task of keeping up to date on school HFMD. i will do so tonight.... :D you just reminded me. HAHA.

batgirl, random thought of you! how are you holding up at work?

totally off topic. back to MUA
after bbp posted, i went to ask my sister if her MUA is doing her MIL, SIL and our mum. turns out that MUA atas, will only do the bride.

problem solved.

but that means i have to arrange makeup for myself, my mum and my MIL. possibly my other sisters (#2 and #4) too. #3 is the one getting married.

fwah bbp, i din think you open your mouth to ask for the MUA la. you wouldnt! indeed it was your MIL who asked first then you shunbian tag along. actually you are right in that with specs, all others see are the specs. doesnt matter if there is makeup anot. hmm. maybe i should wear contacts for my sister's wedding. but. i m not the bride, and i m not sitting at the main table (my dad did consider briefly, but with 2 toddlers.... goodness me, no way).

hey hey we took 10 days to generate 100 postings for the last archive. is it me, or is it really echo-ey in here?

Cellow,
Why the MUA so atas nowadays ah? Seems like the going rate for hair and makeup at a specified location is at least $120. Cheapskate me is quite buay gam wan to pay that much for a 3h dinner. Sigh...

HFMD:
Is there a season?

Hi cellow! Thanks for that thought of me!
the workload is heavy but ok la. Now I am waiting at the docs. My cough is very bad. Can't get good nite's sleep at all.

PB I finally bot the canon ixus. But I think i need to improve my skill. Hehe!

Cin, u r welcomed! Pleasant surprise to see u! I am really envious of hayley's thick stock of hair. Jing Xuan is turning one soon and she still has lalang as hair. Hiaz.

HFMD
Eboy class now got 3 case, neighbor class got 2!! We're keeping him at home till the case is controlled. Shiver! Hope eboy din get. Very worried!!