(2008/07) July 2008

my cold decided to revisit this morning. maybe i m really allergic to mondays. i can just sit how that reason would sit with my boss though.... haha

pb,
C1 went to school in uniform this morng too but hey he has been MIA from school and I dun know any better ya. and he missed racial harmony day too as we were in kuching. doesnt make me or you a lousy mummy... just blur like bbp says.

and i never do any homework with him at all. supposed to do up a family tree once like maybe 6 months ago.... eh, i read it in the comm book, decided i m not doing any homework (for N1!! or any other level) and chucked it aside. C1 doesnt seem too bothered by his lack of class participation (or whatever they call it now), so i m not too.
think the teachers gave up on me liao :p

Youpi
She saw the other kids decked in red and white and immediately started to remove her dress! Like "oh I wanna be like them too, where's my gear mummy? Hello, lousy mummy that forgot?" Thankfully when I left she as distracted with the tricycles, shaking her head disappointedly at my forgetfulness

Racial harmony day: I already laid the kebaya nicely out for her... Then forgot the dates. *kok own head*

And today was her sports day too. I totally thought it was WED. And I was still feeling woozy so I didn't stay. Feel so so lousy and guilty cos my dad used to cheer me on for all my sports days when I was younger. Guilt trip!

pb, hug hug.....

i constantly have to remind myself that i m not super woman. this morning i brought sick me and sick maid to the doctor. did maybe abt 2h worth of work in 4h bcz i was feeling woozy.

part of the wooziness is bcz i was out nearly the whole of sat for a flag day. getting things in order for the counting of 500 tins. then actually counting 500 tins (tins only, not the money inside). by the time i was done, it was 9pm and still no dinner in me.

Mr C din help by asking me why so poorly organised? why din the organiser buy dinner? luckily for us, i was too tired to explode by then. sunday was spent in bed (supposedly) although i spent most of it again out of bed tending to the boys.

so i m feeling guilty over C1's non red and white outfit today and there is cotton wool in my head. cannot think straight. plus i hv to chair a meeting, several in fact this afternoon. *white flag*

U girls r thinking if going to Johor baru on wed?? Or does jb mean something else?

LOL to C2 prodding tiny babies haha. No grapes when coughing..should be ok with diarrhea though

Attempted to go kite festival once..couldn't get past crowd to any green field..vowed never to try again haha

Get well soon Cellow! Take some colOstrum powder too?

Doubledee: wahahahaha....when I first saw cin's msg, I thought its my post-preggy brain that is playing trick on me! I also thought she was referring to msia! After I saw BG then I realized that it's Jacob ballas that she was referring to! :p
jb is Jacob ballas the kiddy interactive garden next to BG. Wanna go?

Cin: yes, should be bringing bb g! Will be feeding him dinner as well. Shall I bring some for hailey as well?(hope I got her spelling right?) likely it'll be porridge or cous cous.

PB: *hugs*.... next time, can call me for SOS, I can bring it to you.
I notice poppy and Gwyn are about the same size, Gwyn is 16kg too!
I definitely have enough to share with you! :p qi pao also have! So next time we can check with each other first! Ha ha!!! Gwyn's school celebrated on last Friday. I almost forgot the dish she was assigned to bring also! Luckily there was 24 HR supermarkets!

Grapes:
White grape juice is great for healing and settling an upset stomach. But in general, all grapes are not advisable to be consumed when you have a cough because like citrus, it irritates the throat. So does water-melon.

BBP: I'm ok to meet anywhere. The fish pond is the one at the entrance facing gleneagles hospital?

Cin, PB, BBP: oh ya, I can bring fish baked rice for all the "terrific threes" also! How about that?
I can hide broccoli florets in the dish!
am glad to provide.

Cellow: hope you are feeling better now? Get well soon.

Oh! Jacob ballas haha! Sounds like great fun but I already took thurs off for some me-time (well deserved massage and facial!) so nExt time? ;)

Cellow
Take care. OMG I missed the flag day!

Jo
Your baked fish rice sounds yummy! Can share recipe please?

Happy National Day holiday everyone!

Jo, dd - lol on johor. Haha

Jo - sure, will let hayley try yr goodness..mb tt would transform her from being a fussy eater ya. And thks for bringing food for terrific three toddlers. I hope the weather will cooperate!

Me tucked into bed with a box of tissues all set to watch my sister's keeper...happy national day all!

Cin: happy watching! You may need more than one box!

Youpi: here it goes: (4 single-serving casseroles)

Ingredients:
1 slice dory/snapper
10g butter for mixing with rice(I always use unsalted butter)
10g butter for lining the casseroles.
50g broccoli florets
Cream of mushroom soup(use only a few tbsp)
Rice
Mozzarella cheese

Method:
1) cook 1 cup of rice. When done, mix it with butter then leave it to cool.
2) wash fish with lemon to any rid fishy smell.
3) slice mushroom and cut out broccoli florets.
4) assemble rice into 4 single-serving casserole dishes.
5) prepare cream mixture(4-5 tbsp cream+water: mix into a smooth paste)
6) spread onto the assembled dish then top up with lots of cheese!
7) bake in oven at 220 deg for 15 mins. Turn off heat and leave it for another 5 min.
8) ready to serve!

Jo my nua is lao-ing. That's one of my fav dishes so we often have it at home too! Can also try with chicken (fry it with garlic before mixing with rice - yum!)

Happy national day mummies! Ok honest moment: is it just me or are there any other mummies who don't know the pledge in chinese (I just never learnt it in sch!) Or don't know what the 5 stars stand for? Red part is brotherhood of men, white is purity, moon is young nation and stars are... Democracy? Prosperity? Progress? Happiness? Loyalty? Yikes

PB: didn't try with chic many times but will definitely try your method! Sounds yummy!
Chinese pledge... Hmmm... I can vaguely remember the first 2 lines and some words from 3rd line onwards! :p
5 stars: democracy, justice, peace, prosperity, Equality?

Jo,
OMG. Thanks for providing dinner. You're like Declan's food goddess :p

Jo, Cin,
So if weather goes well, we'll meet at the fish pond near the entrance facing Gleneagles ya?

nose still dripping but not continously. i hv the monday blues on a wed!
good news is next week i m on leave, bad news is gosh there are soooooo many things to clear b4 i go on leave. the only reason why i m posting now is bcz i m backing up my files b4 plunging into the work day.

youpi,
oh no you are up at weird hours again.... that's ok. there's always a next flag day IF we meet the criteria.

cin,
how many tissue boxes did you use?
i watched that movie on the plane to netherlands last jan. dunno if pregnancy hormones (C2) or the movie was really sad too, but i cried buckets. in biz class too. so sia suay. the biz pple surrounding me must be thinking 'who let this emo ah soh up the plane'

5 stars
democracy, peace, progress, equality and justice. google is a font of information! and this article contains much more info than i wanted to know abt the SG flag.
http://infopedia.nl.sg/articles/SIP_488_2004-12-18.html

cheated of my helicopter fly past
there is none this year! chey. and i specially went to my sister's apartment with C1 and C2 to catch it too. double chey.

Finally shifted in!!! Soooooo tired, been busy unpacking and house still very messy, renovation work on going!!

Sigh. Second night in the new house, eboy fell from bike and hit his head on the metal gate, blood ooze out, rushed to a&e, nose swollen, did xray, lucky no fracture or displacement. Forehead two cuts, deep but not long, he was too frightened could not stay still, in the end just put tissue glue.. Works like miracle, like super glue like that... Din go to school for few days, now everything ok! But I'm not. Closed my eyes can see the whole scene again. Cannot breathe... Cried and cried whole night din sleep...

poor mich and poor eboy!

do you and mr mich now have the presence of mind to analyse the accident? not to finger point at whomever was supposed to be watching him, but changing part of the environment in the house(restrict access to eboy mayb?) to reduce the risk of another occurence.

I was playing with him and he was cycling round and round the car at the car porch, I turned my back to take the scooter so I can go after him. there was a slope at the car porch, in split second, it happened. I wanted to scream when I saw the blood on his face and from his nose, but surprisingly, mother instinct told me to stay calm and I managed to calm him down quite quickly so we can press hard to stop the blood... While the father scrambled to find car key and zoom we went east shore. Oh, my mother said it's 7th month thats why.

So now we are following him very closely around the house as he is still new to the environment. Even climbing up and down the stairs, we're following him very closely... Plus every time we drive in the car porch, one of us will come down to check that eboy is not around else we can't see... Sigh, very stressful and very different lifestyle!! we're all still getting used to it!

Cellow
Yeeeah, I mean who knew what the stars meant without the able helo of google la

Eh got helicopter fly past what! I saw! But only 1 chinook (spelling?).

Was it just me or was this year's parade a little er... What's the word I'm looking for.... "A little bit of a let down"?

Oh sayang poor eboy!! But glad to know everything is better now. Poor thing

Btw jace yoohoo aare you here? Cos I've got news for you!

I dreamt you were.... PREGNANT!! Have you done a check lately? Hehe. Xun, mini xun and tiny xun? :D

We didn't get to see the copter fly past, only the planes. L thought that they were too loud, and covered his ears.

Jo
Yum! Thanks! Will try with both fish and chicken

Mich
Oh no! Hope Eboy is feeling better now. Good that you were calm and managed the situation well.

sayang eboy and mich..yes must make sure eboy is not around the car porch when you drive off.

bbp, jo - ok see you at fish pond...i might be 15 min late..will sms when i get there
bbp - trouble u to bring iherb stuff?

DD - boohoo, 10am bean has school and i hv work..enjoy!

youpi,
Sure will let you know if/when I organise another Kanten BP.

PB,
Let me know if you manage to find those repair patches. We've been trying to find them for ages too!
5 stars - I always manage 3 (direct from the pledge), always forget the other 2.

Mich,
The fall's not due to 7-month, but maybe the intensity of the fall. Yah, the slope is a killer cos Dec's banged his head against the metal gate before. He was running towards the gate and tripped just before reaching the gate. Think he has a permanent dent at the front of his skull liao.
A few tips from a house-dweller:
1) Train Eboy to stay in the house when he sees the car coming through the gate. Dec now knows that he can stand at the house doorway to watch the car coming in but he is not allowed to step out - or he will kena gao gao from me.
2) Watch out for the little step if you have one between the "car park" and just in front of the house door. If you remember my place, I have a step separating the bench area from the "car park". Dec has fallen countless times due to that step.
3) Make sure your metal gate is always locked. You never know when our curious boys will decide to open the latch and go venturing off on their own.
4) Prepare your heart for a fall down the stairs. I THINK it's inevitable and just a matter of time. Again, Declan's had his. Luckily it was just like 2 steps.
5) Yes, make sure you can see Eboy when you drive off or at least confirm that somebody is holding on to him.
Hope Eboy is feeling better and hope you are feeling better too.

Cin,
Yup, will bring the iherb stuff!

Yikes! Just read about eboy! Hope he's forgotten all about it, and so should the mama...hugs!

Me planning to skip school for the show! :D cos bbG may be sleepy the other timings

Someone totally refused his afternoon nap yesterday so he zonked out at 7pm before the jets and chinooks even started their engines haha

Also planning to hit the sam or national museum one of the late afternoons too before aug is over (been saying this since children's season started duh!) anyone?

dd,
i was thinking abt going to the elves and the shoemaker too, but would be a 11am sunday show. and standby tmr at 9am to chiong the internet sales for the family package of 4.

i want to go to SAM for children's season with C1 next week, but depends on my own level of fatigue.

PB,
so funny you dream Jace got tiny xun.

where got copter fly past? i missed it *cry*

house dwelling safety rules
good tips from bbp.... i only exert these rules (sort of) when i m in kuching at the ILs. luckily for me and C1, the car porch is totally flat, no slope, one less thing to worry abt.

pB, in my opinion, this year's parade was a total letdown.

Wow, thanks bbp for the house dweller's rules! I am definitely not prepared for him to fall from stairs and will not let it happen! No no no no no!!!!! The a&e staff at east shore were great, very comforting, very helpful, came forward to help bandage eboy immediately, and even told me in advance to be prepared for stitches etc... But but but, costed me $400!!!!!!

BBP: no sweat! Already on my menu today! In fact, easier for me! Ok, meet at fish pond.

Michelle: hope eboy is better now. Lots of Vit c and e for healing of the scar.

Jo
Just out of curiousity, how far in advance do you plan your meals? You sound so organised. Got any tips?

Wow girls, I've had my share of meltdowns with bluebunny re unfair weightage of household responsibilities but this morning I just very calmly said to him "you know, just cos you GO TO work and I work from home does not mean the other "home" responsibilities automatically become mine you know. You always ask me to just take the laptop out to work at some cafe becos it's more effective. Of cos it is and that's why you do it. But you don't subconsciously think about the laundry or the meals or the other things. And becos you don't, I have to. If I work at home, I can do it concurrently with laundry or while soup is on stove etc". Think he finally understands.

I didn't plan the speech, it just came. I usually plan and maybe that's why I often end up real angry and he ends up turning off. But this time he said "I know, I love you" and we hugged while poppy screamed for us haha

One small bunny step for pinkbunny, one giant step for mummies!

And, just becos I'm in a typing-on-small-keypad mood, here's a comparison of our days. Let's take today for instance:

Bluebunny:
Get up, get dresssed, ask for kisses, out of house for leisurely breakfast then work. Today he picks poppy up at about 430 becos I have a class. Then they'll go home, he prob works while she entertains herself and then he heats up dinner. To give him proper credit, he usually does the dishes after

Pinkbunny
Get up with poppy, in between giving her milk, fruit, cheerios, I wash my face and have my own brekkie. Start laundry so it's ready to hang when home. Then get her ready for school. Thankfully today she was fully cooperative. After I dropped her at sch, I went marketing.

Then got home, hung laundry, made a big batch of spag bog to freeze, cooked our dinner for bb to heat up later, researched and prepared for my class, sent out some completed work, made another round of laundry. Then have to remind him where poppy's dinner is and what to do with it etc.

Later tonight I'll shower with poppy then read to her and put her to bed. Phew!

Man, this being on your toes mentally all the time is seriously exhausting!

(Ok finished now)

PB
There was this email going round, about a SAHM who wrote every single minute of her day down for her hb who thought that she had nothing to do all day. Have you seen it? Hilarious! There's also a comic strip I think, of hb coming home to a mess, and the wife saying to him, "you know how you think that i just do nothing at home all day?" and he says, "yes". She says: "Well I did that today". Or something to that effect. I think they simply do not realise that things are happening all the time. Same with mine too. Sometimes when I'm running around in the early morning trying to get everyone ready for school, he's just lying down on the bed, watching reality TV go on around him.

What classes are you going for? It's nice though, that Bluebunny can get off work early to pick Poppy up and watch her while you do your class

PB - hurray for one small step for u
i think the more we voice out, the more understanding they become (hopefully la)..the other day rushing to meet u guys for bowling at 5pm, i left office at 4pm, pumped petrol on way home, came home, pumped milk (20 min), and rushed out to meet u guys at 5.05pm..and jin bunny said, i dont know how you did all that in an hour..but the way he said it..felt more like i am a crazy woman to hv done all that in an hour vs super woman..hahaha :p

Thanks girls

Youpi yes I think I've seen it! If you still have it, re-send to me? Lol on reality tv

He ends work at 345pm
my class - those I conduct for kids la, where got time to go for any classes? Gym membership also down the drain liao!

He said "I appreciate you and you know it what" but I told him he has to SHOW it. Or else it's like going for a concert and no one in audience clapping. The performer KNOWS his fans love him right? So they don't need to clap to SHOW it right? Haha

Anyway I'm treating myself to a scoop of butternut scotch ice cream now :D it's my i-love-me treat

I think any husband who lets his wife drive herself crazy like that and still dare to come home, kick off his shoes and say "wow what a rough day I had" should willingly offer his body as a target for his wife's knife throwing practice (blindfolded of course)

Haha. Thankfully BB is not at that stage

pb,
awww to your speech and bb's reaction.
i din have a meltdown but i did confront Mr C once. for once he stayed silent. then some days later at a prayer meet, he told everybody that he is very grateful he comes home to a clean and organised home with hot home cooked meals, and that he is very lucky to have me. now i feel more appreciated. AND he sings my praises on skype to his oh-so-competent-supersaint-of-a-mother. so i m starting to live up to her high-as-a-pie-in-the-sky standards... in his eyes at least. HAHA.

the men sometimes dun get that tis a few words that do the trick.

psst. i plan my meals one week in advance when i go grocery shopping. write down every single dinner for my maid, then she goes off and cooks them at my aunt's while C2 is napping.
when i m bored or tired or super occupied with work, we end up having the same type of meals a few weeks in a row. if Mr C is bored w the lack of variety, he now knows to either take us all out for dinner (which i usu veto due to C2's 8pm bedtime) or ask maid to cook something that HE likes.

Jo
Your dish sounds really yums! I'm terrible at cooking but I resolve to cook more when I move into my new house! The oven in my current house has not been used for AGES, the power could very well trip if I try to turn it on!

PB and youpi
Oooh I completely understand. I wonder why the man doesn't seem to think he should be more hands-on. A typical weekday morning for me can go something like this:

The husband: Wake up, shower, get dressed for work

Me: Wake up, feed the baby, change his diapers, prepare the older boy's milk, (and while he is drinking his milk --> i wash face, brush teeth, slather on some makeup, get dressed all in 3 mins flat), wash the bottle, dress the older boy in school uniform, brush his teeth. AND the three of us will be ready even before the husband is ready.

Agape,
LOL on "AND the three of us will be ready even before the husband is ready." Same here!!! ;D

Okay, we're off to the park again. It's been a great National Day holiday these three days, play-wise

By now Mr C realizes I work from home on either thu or fri so that I can get the grocery shopping done. One less thing to do during weekend so we can spend more time w the boys.

Oh Cin, I get the you are a mad woman, not you are a super woman vibe most times too. To him, schedule more time or just prop my feet up when I m sick or tired... Best. He tells me to let the maid do. Sometimes that is valid, most times, it is not! How to let maid latch C2, I wonder, or listen to C1's prattle about his day

PB
clap clap for u! at least the message got across to BB!! i hope mine will happen soon.

the problem is my hb is too busy with work and too tired to do anything else so he just sits in front of the tv. the only one who can ever make him do anything is actually JX. she has been funny cos she always insists on the father doing things for her. and he has to do it for her like feeding, changing etc and she's super persistent. now when we go out, she only wants papa to carry or hold hands or feed her! it's good for me haha but i still feel super tired and hope for better equality.

michelle
oh dear hope e boy is much better now. did u do those safety gates that the stairs? very impt. jx can actualyl open them now but she knows not to go down the steps etc without me. but she can go up by herself. in fact she runs up the steps very quickly and we cannot even catch her in time.

agape,
haha your schedule sounds like mine. my hb just needs to take care of himself whereas i have to get the 2 kids ready plus myself for work. there was once i only managed to leave the house at 8.30am!! so super pissed with the kids for being so slow.

Something that popped into my head last night when I couldn't sleep: "I said ok I'll take care of my child and everything else that has to do with her". I didn't realise that my husband stopped listening after the words "everything else"

Well girls, when we become mums, we automatically get bumped up to "super" status. Men, they just remain as mere mortals.

How else we can get everything and everyone presentable and ready in the time men take to open their eyelids? Haha.

Youpi
I can so imagine u zipping around with S and L in super fast speed and getting outta da house in the time mr youpi takes to sit upright in bed in super slow month

Agape
High five

Something that popped into my head last night when I couldn't sleep: "I said ok I'll take care of my child and everything else that has to do with her". I didn't realise that my husband stopped listening after the words "everything else"

Well girls, when we become mums, we automatically get bumped up to "super" status. Men, they just remain as mere mortals.

How else we can get everything and everyone presentable and ready in the time men take to open their eyelids? Haha.

Youpi
I can so imagine u zipping around with S and L in super fast speed and getting outta da house in the time mr youpi takes to sit upright in bed in super slow mo.

Agape
High five

PB: clap clap for the one good step!
that's encouraging!

Me ah? I plan one week in advance. Not all the time can work so I do make reasonable changes. Kids' food definitely have but adults' food impromptu.

Ha ha ha... Used to be organized, but ever since with kids, can't be always

Agape: No problem. My standard is eat at home only.

PB
that's such a funny thought!

yeah somehow we are expected to be able to manage but the men dun seem to realise that!

i find it so hard to even get my hb to spend 5 min reading with the kids. but to be fair to him, work has been busy lately for him cos he is taking on a new portfolio and the old one still hasn't been handed over yet. if only the salary is increased proportionately as well!