(2008/07) July 2008

Dustee
Ohh ohh Mel started sch yah. Great start!!
Hope it goes smoothly for u and her. Try not to be bothered by your mil lah cos I think it will get worse. Now only move a few things she do this, when u start shifting bigger items...........just be mentally prepared for more mental tortures from her bah.
Oh n remember once u move "WOOOO HOOOOOO" that's it....haha

btw when we moved to our flat just upstairs. Well.....nobody helped at all. Me and hubby jus went up down up down ourselves while my inlaws were......playing majiong in the living room n not even offering a "need help?"
Oh yes and their neighbours whom I had never talked to offered to help us when they see us carrying the stuff.

We also use those aluminium poles cos its so much lighter and adjustable. Think my hubby bought them from those shop houses as well. Can try looking at bigger branches of ntuc bah.

Batgirl
There was a period where my #1 also dun wanna keep his toys. And threatening to throw them away did not get any result. Infact he helped me push the whole play kitchen to the door so that can throw away. I "threw" away some toys and kept them missing but he doesnt even want or ask for them. Can tell me matter of factly throw away already cos he didn't want to keep them.
Then I had to sit him down n explain in his terms why that kind of behaviour is not right. How it is not right to just throw everything so he don't have to keep them. Can I throw him away as well if I do not want to carry him? or if he is dirty? Do I throw him away as well?

dor dor,

Thanks for the tip.. we will try to explain to him again. It is really tough. Especially when the methods we use dun yield any results.

dustee,

New house is like dat one. It has to be cleaned and cleaned and cleaned. So I hate renovations and I hate moving house..give me shivers.

batgirl,
chin up! parenting is a matter of if A doesnt work, try B. then if exhaust all our own limited and tired (and by then frustrated) brains, ASK around. guess wuffy is also j-e-a-l-o-u-s of his little meimei gua.

dordor,
heh, i will try out your tip the next time C1 doesnt pick up his stuff.
lately, he has been saying - why does didi throw his toys (and not have to pick them up)? then i have to sit him down and explain for the Nth time that didi is young, there are a lot of things didi doesnt understand yet. and you (C1) are older, can go out w mama and papa, can eat a lot more things than didi... etc etc... lay out the privileges.... and ALSO can talk and think.

PB
Canon? I am using epson and it doesn't work when I used the refill cartridge. Have to be epson original ink cartridge. Hmm.

Smiggle
Jia you!! You need to replenish those energy/vitamin lost in during the whole pregnancy! Take care!

SY
Congratulations on passing your exam!

Dustee
Congrats on pomfret going to school!! I think she will enjoy her class more and more. Your mil hor.. haiz I've got nothing to say hehe. Just move out asap!!! I think deep down in her heart she doesn't want her son's family to move out, but she's probably too proud to say it. Do you think she might drop by your place unannounced?
Oh if she ask again about the sunday night dinner, you can say.. ooh if you invite us we will always come.

about the dust.. it will be there until you're done with renovation, and even after staying there for a couple of weeks, especially if you still have boxes around from moving. So you might want to clean at least 2 times a day.

What they teach in playschool
The school gave us a booklet on what they will be teaching (english/mandarin) each term. I know every week they will have different letter to teach and encourage the kids to bring things they like to school every monday for show and tell. I don't even think Emma is able to do show and tell in English or Chinese so I'll just let her be keke. She can do show and tell in bahasa cuz she's very fluent in it.
Emma sometimes ignore the teachers if she doesn't understand what they're saying lols.

batgirl
Tell me about it. When Emma is angry she will be like Wuffy as well. She will cry and cry but still adamant and never want to admit her mistakes. I'll just wait until she cool down cuz whatever I say or do when she is having her meltdown doesn't go into her head.

batgirl
actually 3 is worse! jh was also a good boy at 2 but after jx came along, 3 was a terrible age!!

dustee
hooray that promfret likes sch!! sounds likes it's a good step forward!

u know hor, no matter how many times u clean the house, it won't be clean, u need to do housewarming. :p it's funny but they say housewarming, pple will bring the dust away and it's true!!

PB
sch may have en bloc? better start looking for back up plan!

re chinese songs
u know what song jx is singing everyday? shi shang zhi you ma ma hao....melts my heart!!

after a while, the kids will jsut keep singing chinese songs. it's funny but it happens...

re RP lunch
can we have one next fri? next fri bosses out of office so i may be able to join!!

smiggle
yes it costs a lot to do a good confinement but lucky it's not CNY now. it costs even more!! but really do eat more and nourish yourself. really impt

chinese songs

tell me about it! during cny, it was gongxi gongxi gongxi ni!

now the boy sings ni wa wa all day! the other day was singing ke ren lai, kan pa pa!

in that accented mandarin, its really very funny and entertaining. I am enjoying it as much as I can now!

diaperless

since last month, the boy has been going to school diaperless! yeah! and we noticed that he doesn't really wet his diapers during his afternoon nap too!

leapfrog DVD

we let him watch the leapfrog dvd a few times and now he knows all the 26 phonic sounds and could read some simple words. i think that DVD is really quite good.

Cellow
When I was young, there was this young cousin who hit us and everyone would just say she is young nevermind. So I really hated it when adults tell me the kid is still young like young got priviledge to be naughty? So I never used that cos E is young so she can do this do that. D also asked me before like C1 abt why E is throwing her things. I think I used funny way of explaining. Ways that makes D happy instead. Like cos E wants to play with you. She knows u will help her pickup the toys cos u love her so much. And she is so happy when u pick the toy for her cos she's trying to learn to play with her big korkor and she knows u will protect her and her toys.

Ohh how I missed those young baby days. Been watching and transferring their baby videos to my phone n stuff and the kids keep watching them.

Doggiebb
I totally agree with you!!!
My kids love the leapfrog DVDs as well. E also learnt her letters n sounds from there. D learnt his from there too but sadly he still refuse to try to read.
N the maths 1 is good as well. For someone who finds it hard to count pass 20, he can go 2,4,6,8 n 3,6,9 after watching it for a few times.

Peanut butter
E had a taste of my peanut butter n now she's spreading it on her own bread n licking it from the spoon....hahaha

Dor
Poppy also loves peanut butter! I love the way you explain to D about "throwing him away" hehe.

Rp lunch
Sorry have last min errand to run for mum. And my morning thing ended later than it was supposed to!

Update
Triple one somerset has an Imperial Treasure that works like a fast food outlet. Order at counter and sit then they will serve. Cool

PB,
Triple One Somerset - that's the HK place I was telling you about previously. I love the Wanton Mee there. Reasonable prices in town too.

i want to eat wanton mee!!!!

eh no, hang on. all yellow noodles have egg in them. kua kua kua.

think abt smthing else rather than wanton mee.

hmm. maybe i shd drown my woes in ice cream. HAHAHA.

dordor,
i love the way your mind thinks. LOL!
can you come and explain to C1 too? keke

bbp
oh that's the place? nice wantan mee? argh. i took the shui jiao mian. not too bad but only 3 small shui jiaos.

cellow
somehow i dont know why but i thought you were ok with egg already. but ice cream is a good way to drown one's woes :p

dustee,
yippee to Pomfret enjoying school
and YIPPEE to finally moving out!! let me know if i can be of any help... but only restricted to the mornings ;)

was told by my contractor that the dust will take weeks to settle after a major renovation, if that's what you had... so you'll just have to keep on mopping and cleaning...

heard from my grandmother, she was bfing and got pregnant till she didn't know... that's how my uncles and aunties are mostly 1 year apart... hehehehe... baby dust to you

batgirl,
don't feel bad la.. coz if you feel like a lousy parent then i'm worse... the tempers in my house not exactly chilled type... we can scold and cane, and son can cry or throw his temper more than 3 times in a day!!

waiwai,
you sick on mc?! take care and speedy recovery...

Chinese song,
son has been singing 两只老鼠 but his pronounciation is liang ZHU lao shu... hahaha...

bbp
which place at 311? there's this imperial treasure steamboat place there. not bad but quite ex....

doggiebb
congrats that he's diaperless! mine still a long way off. when it comes to diapers, she says she's a small gal and needs them. when it's other things she will say she's a big gal!

SY,
It's just outside the steamboat place. It's called something Windows one. I only remember it has the word Windows in the shop name. Open concept in the middle of the first floor.

bbp
i know which one! i think it's part of imperial treasure. the noodles nice? must go and try.

dor
my hb also keeps playing those bb videos to them and they had a real good laugh.

ok finally got time to pause for breath a bit.

ni wa wa
what are the lyrics for this rhyme?
my kindy nursery rhymes all return to teacher already.

dustee,
great start to school for pomfret!
C1 totally ignored his chinese teacher until his chinese teacher changed from a young pretty one to a older more meaty one.... he likes the auntie type!!!! :p

SY,
YAY to passing exam!

waiwai,
that's so true lor....

Hi momzies.. How r u all doing? Things r simply crazily hectic for me lately..back frm worktriP n long drive home..back to clear backlog at work n bbg's getting his fevers again for no aPparent reason!

Cellow..have u tried simPly shiok's ice cream (there's a spree in one of the threads here) not bad..but does ice cream contain eggs too?

DD
oh dear, how come he's getting fevers for no reason? Jx used to be like that for a period. I did ask PD before and he told me sometimes it's not really fever. there were twice she came back from sch and when i measured her (cos she felt warm) she was having a slight fever. gave her med and next day alright without any recurrence. i mentioned to PD and he said it may not be a real fever. maybe just warm from coming out of car etc. so he told me not to give med but monitor after half an hour to see whether it's real or not.

one of my fren's kid also had fever sometime back without any symptoms. when she brought to doc, the doc said if fever dun go away, msut test for dengue even if no bite marks. first time i heard of this!

Cellow
so funny! he liked the auntie kind? but maybe aunty can teach better? last time when jh was young, his first chinese teacher was very young and pretty but he din really like chinese. then after that an older teacher came and he started loving chinese!

泥娃娃,泥娃娃,一个泥娃娃
也有那眉毛, 也有那眼睛,眼睛不会眨

泥娃娃,泥娃娃,一个泥娃娃
也有那鼻子,也有那嘴巴,嘴巴不说话

她是个假娃娃,不是个真娃娃
她没有情爱的妈妈,也没有爸爸

泥娃娃,泥娃娃,一个泥娃娃
我做她妈妈,也做她爸爸
永远爱着她。

Yah same as DD, ice-cream contains egg a not?
Cos I remember during preg someone said no ice-cream cos has raw egg. Think depends what kind of ice-cream too bah.

DD
I think the very unpredictable weather is to blame. D also had fever for no appearant reason n after that he had the fake measles all over his body even his palms, feet n soles where itchy.

Steph
So cute...haha

Cellow
I don't remember learning ni wa wa in kindy. Mine is not "return to teacher" kind, more like "never quite got into me" kind hehe. I only learnt how to sing ni wa wa and yi shan yi shan xiao xing xing recently to teach poppy. Youtube!

Sy
Congrats on passing exam! Yay!

Sorry about RP lunch mummies. Yesterday was a crazy day! Next week can

school
today supposed to drop pomfret off at school and leave her there alone. coz it's messy play day, so the teachers say it's the best day to distract her with lots of fun and forbidden activities.

but but but. sil came and dropped off her two toddlers. and left. what a bad day to do that. (the kids will be here whole day then). coz then pomfret will wanna play with them, and not wanna nap. and if she doesn't nap, she's not gonna do well in school later. sigh.

my sil didn't even remember that her older son will start K1 next year. and didn't bother to check when the registration of the kindy is. so she totally missed it. so very happily she agreed with my mil that i'm so kancheong to put pomfret in school, but she's still letting her kid 'enjoy' . but the fact is, she forgot to go register.

i mean, if you forgot, you forgot. you want to cover up for yourself it's one thing. but why drag me into it and again paint me as like some nasty dil who's out to separate my child from mil (coz that's what my mil thinks. that i'm doing it on purpose to separate her from her grandchild. duh.)

i'm antsy today about leaving pomfret in school today. and it definitely does not help to see her cousins.

(In front of MIL):

Aiyah SIL, at this age they must play with other kids their age so they can learn social skills you know. Like sharing. And she likes it soooooo much!

I certainly don't want her to grow up being a selfish spoilt brat who's babysat by the tv or dumped to the maid. Tsk that would be so terrible right?

Luckily Pomfret is only going for half day sessions and we'll still have a lot of time to spend with her.

What about you? Where is your son enrolled? Har? Not enrolled yet? *cue BIG dramatic shocked reaction* Kindy reg closed already you know. How liddat? How to register him? What will you do? School leh. Formal education leh.

N ever mind la, he's used to watching tv everyday right? He'll be fine la

*mumble to self as you walk away but still within MIL's hearing range*

What kind of mother misses school enrollment dates. Tsk.

dustee
does your MIL like your SIL? if yes, try imitating her behaviour. like when you move out, just drop pomfret there once in a while for your me time like she does.

btw i thought your BIL's family is still living there? moved out already ah?

pb,
you are a comic la, you are!

dd, dor,
some ice cream recipes contain eggs. most dun.

thank you for the lyrics dor. now i realise that i do not know the tune except for the first 2 lines. youtube to the rescue................

Quickie post:

Drama mama's who were talking abt files on iPhone.. How do we move the rmvb file from pc into iPhone using iTunes?

DD

you need avplayer

then when you sync, you click on your phone, and then click apps. avplayer will appear on the bottom. click on that. then you can delete and add files there.

need help, can call me. hehe!

pb
bil's family moved out just when we bought our new place. bil was telling my hb off about what an unfillial son he (my hb, that is) is, then solemnly announced that he's moving out coz he needs space for his family. so, it's like, it's okay for him to not stay with his parents coz his unfillial younger brother and his evil wife is staying there to ill-treat his parents. haha.

funny right? coz he should really just chase us out so HE can take care of his parents. but , oh well.

i actually did like my sil a lot when she first came here. until i found out that she's been telling my mil about what i said to her in confidence. then i realised that she's not very self-aware of what further harm she's doing to our relations. i hope it's a lack of tact vs a desire to cause strife.

today she says she didn't like marymount kindy (coz she lives next to it) coz it's not christian enough.

how more christian do you want a KINDY to be? you want the kid to be reciting psalms?

pomfret in school
it turned out she did very well! but, when i was picking her up, she cried when she saw me, and then announced 'thoomorow mama come inside skool okay?'

me : you go to school, and mama go buy mickey mouse for you okay?
pomfret : i come with mama go buy mickey mouse
me : how about we buy mickey mouse first and then you go to school after that okay?
pomfret : i want mama come with me inside
me : but mama cannot go to school with you
pomfret : why not? mama why not?

then i didn't know what to say. i'm hoping she's just parroting me and not really knowing the concept of 'why not?' there goes my attempt to bribe her.

every time my sil brings her kids over, i feel so depressed. it's just unfortunate that she and the kids now just remind me of
1) that my mil hates me
2) that she complains about me to sil and bil all the time
3) that sil and bil concur with her
4) that mil is extra nice to me when sil/bil are around
5) sil will say things like 'i'm trying to help you y'know. i tell her you just like things done your own way' that i feel is not helpful at all.

sigh. every time i look at those two kids, i pray to God that someday i'll look past the parents and love them too. it's not their fault they were born in such an emo family.

Dustee.. I tell bbG that kindy is for kiddos who must fit into tiny chairs n tables n learn abc's...n adults r not allowed in..

and all kiddos must go to school while all adults must go to work (nai nai Works at home n goes to the market haha) from mon to fri

Works with bbG..try n see?

Dd- haha, I tell bean that everyone has a job and hers is to go school, ours is to go office, mei mei's to drink milk and sleep :D

Dustee - lol on u bribing with Mickey. Somehow I get the sense that you get as much joy buying the cute Mickey
. Don't let clueless sill get to u. The key is to focus on yr moving out . Yay yay yay!

LOL, DD and cin, I tried that with wuffy -- did not work. hiaz.

Dustee, *pat pat*. I really cannot imagine being with such a family. Think i will morph into a monster and start picking fights.

Winter jackets,

As I am going to Aussie during winter, was wondering if anybody has a windbreaker or jacket to loan wuffy? :D

thanks doggiebb! Sis is asking.. will let her go figure out what all that means haha

batgirl, which part of roo-land r u headed for and when? I'm probably going again during winter and a couple more times before the year ends.. (groan..NOT an enjoyable holiday when I'm leaving my bb behind and suffering from separation anxiety) r u bringing the two kiddos along?

bbG's never been to cold countries yet so far so has no winter wear and outgrew those i bought when he was a baby.. so all that were given away brand new!

Dustee
I ask D 1st, does he see other kids mums in the class?? No becos all the mums are also waiting outside, only kids are allowed in the class. And I went in previously because I want to see how nice the classroom is and who are his classmates. So now I have seen and cannot go into his class anymore. I will wait outside like all the other parents. But but D was older lah.

Oh oh n bring in the cousins. Does so n so go to sch?? Does he bring his mummy to sch??

I think if she really is okie in class but only cries when u fetch her. Then jus leave her be even if she cries tomorrow. Hopefully the teachers will help to bring her into class even when she cries lah then u jus continue to smile at her and tell her you will stand right there until she comes out. And make sure she really sees you when she comes out hor......haha
D had almost 2 days of crying inside the class while I teared outside haha lucky I had E for company.

Last time when D ask me why I didn't wait at the sofa area like I told him I would, I will cook up excuse using E. hehe Like this meimei lor want to drink water then I forgot to bring so must go home and get water for her ma.
Or I went to buy sweet for u lor. U wanted sweet right?? If not then I dun buy lor, no sweet I jus sit here and wait for you. Then he will tell me to go buy instead....keke

If Mel still insist to go buy with you then strike a deal lah. She goes in herself, you wait outside. After sch ends then go and buy together. hehe

Tell u mums something funny.

There was this preg lady who self intro n talked to me when I took D to sch. Then she also intro her daughter to me and found out we stay at the same blk.
She was staying with her inlaws who cooks for them. And when she knew we were staying alone n without domestic help, she asked how I do hsework n cook. I give my standard reply of doing the impt things only and cooked only when I wanted and I'm used to it(cos she give me the disbelieve look).
Then she said "Yah huh stay at hm so long already you are used to it, cos U look so relax."

Then I'm thinking.....what should hsewives who do hsework diligently and cook all the time look like?? ALways very stressed and kan chiong??? Is there anyone who looks like that?? LOL

Dor
I think that lady just paid you a very nice compliment
I think in the beginning I was always stressed to keep the house in order, cook all meals, bring poppy out etc. But after a while I cut myself some slack and became so much more relaxed :D last time sweep and mop floor so often esp cos poppy was crawling and putting all sorts of things in her mouth. Now when floor dirty I just say to BB "very dirty hor?" And hint that he should take HIS vacuum cleaner out for a spin

Dustee
I say "I can't stay because I'm too big for the playground. I will break it if I climb on it. And if I land on any of your friends they will all be flattened like pancakes!"

But when she used to scream sometimes the teachers will help by leading her away using distraction tactics

DD
Ooooh I check the link later. Poppy's kebaya is from geylang serai. I think $30+ for the set.

Sewing mummies (or is it just dor?)
BB bought me a sewing machine for our wedding anniversary haha. Cos he saw me sewing everything by hand and sim tia
what's an easy project I can start with for poppy? Was thinking of a dress (like those sleeveless and shapeless ones) but mayve I shoult be less ambitious and start with shorts first la

Dustee
You have such a good heart, trying to look past evil SIL and BIL to still love the 2 boys. So I also try to look for some bigness in my heart (hello, no coffee days) to look past your MIL's meanness to you and think of something.

In an alternate dimension, she might be really nice, but you're my friend and my loyalty is to you. she's mean to you, so by default I feel angry for you and the way you are being treated.

So trying to look past that, I'm thinking: maybe she's reacting the way she is because she's lonely and is afraid of empty nest syndrome. She wants to and needs to know she's loved.maybe she feels left out and unwanted and unimportant cos she's not being consulted on for these big decisions. Cos she's the empress dowager type who always calls the shots right? She's just not used to being a bystander. So maybe you could invite her to pomfret's playgroup to have a peek.

Say "pomfret talks about granny all the time (white lies never hurt anybody) when I send her to school. You should see how proud she is to carry her own bag. And she plays so well with her friends. I'm so glad to see her fit in so beautifully. I'm so proud of her and know you would be too. Come with us one day!".

So you kinda involve her in the process.

And she's prob mean to you because you're sooooooooo darn nice. She needs someone to bully and knows you will not fight back because you give her the obligatory respect that people accord to their elders by default.

Kindness is often perceived as weakness and she has indeed taken advantage of yours. For what it is worth, I think you are amazing and have a fantastic tolerance threshold. Being in such a situation and yet still maintaining your cheerful personality and wonderful sense of humour, that's admirble

Big hug!!! Group hug for dustee!!!

dustee,
Dec used to cry when we leave too, but he would stop within 30 sec. Oh, but to leave when they are crying is indeed so hard on the heart. But according to the teacher, he would stop crying really quickly and start laughing again, while his cheeks are still wet with tears.

I'm all better now. Just waiting for the stitches to drop/dissolve. I just found out how dangerous the stitches are. They are kinda close to my teeth so just 2 days ago, I closed my teeth and smiled at Declan and yelped in pain. I had bitten down on the thread without realising and when I smiled, I basically tugged onto the stitches. *FAINTS* Now THAT is painful.

Cellow,
I think the accident was due to my bil's momentary lapse in concentration. Even though the taxi was stationary on an expressway, I think it was due to the vehicles in front. Even my bil felt it was his fault so nothing bad to say la.
Braces - not now please. You're thin enough with normal eating. Imagine if your teeth are in pain and you can't eat.
And the "unfair treatment" about why didi doesn't have to keep his toys but C1 has to - Dec asked about someone else before. I told him "Too bad, the world isn't fair." and it worked! Haha, that was then. Now I'm sure he will ask me "what is fair?" Argh!!!

youpi,
My pain tolerance is high? Hmm, never thought about that before. Well, I did survive childbirth without epi, so I guess I do have a certain level of tolerance.

smiggle,
Well, at least you didn't throw up while trying to BF for the first time. I think I breathed in too much laughing gas then, cos I threw up all my Keong Saik duck after giving birth to Declan. Luckily the nurse was fast enough to whisk him away, or Declan would have been covered with Keong Saik duck.

PB,
If we meet up, remind me to pass you the mags ok? Cos I'm pretty sure I will forget!
School - Dec's teacher said they don't do writing until second half of N2. So I'm sure they won't do ABCs until maybe start of next year?

dustee,
I guess the empty nest syndrome didn't hit her until she actually saw things happening? But you are too nice la.
School - I like the fact that they are doing lots of crafts and music in school cos I'm pretty weak in that section. Worksheets and books I'm good with, so that I can supplement at home. Ok, I sound like some crazy mother doing worksheets with a not-yet-3 year old.
Chinese - there will be a time when her chinese vocab will explode. cos that's what happened to declan and I put that down to more time exposure to the language. So it WILL happen

SY,
I like the noodles there cos it tastes like those kew kew HK noodles. And it's just noodles and wanton - no char siew. So I feel it's one of the closest thing to the wanton noodles I get in HK. But of cos the ones in HK are still the best.

DD
mb i'll try the 'mama cannot fit onto the chair' thing with her.

pb
if i'm really kind hearted, i would be able to look past their treatment of me and be nice to them all right? but i'm not lah, that's why i'm moving out. but it's like, they are just not letting go y'know. like how bil doesn't talk to me at all, nor acknowledge my presence. it's just so mean. so it becomes, even after i move out, i will dread coming back coz they persist in showing that they don't like me.

if i could, i really don't ever want to see any of them again. but mr dustee is the one prodding me on. he says i cannot treat them like they treat me. -_- i think it's just easier for him to say.

bbp
you definitely have high pain threshold. stitches y'know!

dor
i guess they expect us to look like very harassed, with messy hair and ugly clothes and look very auntie!

sewing machine
my sewing machine is a very nice paperweight at the moment.