(2008/07) July 2008

nutrition for toddlers
for pomfret, macdonalds, ramen, and indonesian fried rice from one particular indonesian restaurant, are her ONLY food groups. she doesn't really eat anything else. and i mean, she'd rather starve than try other food. and after she realizes she's starving, she starts crying to be latched.

so, i am really not too keen to continue bf-ding anymore.

so here is my dilemma : when she doesn't eat, at least she latches. it's prob just like a supplement, and not her entire dietary needs. so if i stop, what if she still doesn't take to other food? and she really just starves?

dustee,
Woo. I love your goldbar retort. I found it so funny that I just HAD to share it with Mr bbp. And also, I'm so keeping that in mind the next time someone gives me the "Wah, no need to work. Tai tai hor?". I should come back with a "Yah, my diamonds are in a small little black bag in my diaper bag now".

Nutrition dilemma:
I have no idea but IF you do decide to stop BF, remember to only do it when you shift out!

Ok quick lobangs to share before starting to work again.

Brandsfever Lobangs to share:
Allerhand up to 70% off.
Sigg waterbottles at flat 50% off.

Let me know if anybody needs an invite to Brandsfever.

Signing off!

Oh dustee you crack me up. I suppose ultimately if you become friends with the guards, they might possibly gossip less about you. In the meantime just buak bodoh I guess. Diffuse richy rich comments with "Rich! No la uncle, where got. No money to buy furniture even, you see?"

But of course your gold bar retort is the winner

And I really don't think they will starve. Like SY has ever let JH skip a whole dinner before right? I think our kids just know the right buttons to press and know how to bully us and that we will eventually give in. So ultimately, you know, it's our fault. As always!

PB,

Wuffy goes to Science Centre on a regular basis. In fact we are "Friends of Science Centre"! cos my parents live across it, and they bring him there to run, play with the exhibit. He will run around the exhibits pressing buttons and see what happens.
There is a water play area and also the outdoor garden where there is a tree house (which wuffy loves to climb). I will take it as an opportunity for wuffy to exhaust his energy and become a tamer boy at home.

I also agree about the "picking up bad habits in school" thing. Wuffy never used to throw tantrums before he went to school. Now he learns to scream and swim on the floor. hiaz. So gotta teach him not to follow some of the kids I see doing that in school.

picking up bad habits from school
Eboy has recently picked up the habit of spitting out his food on the floor. I am dead sure he got it from school cos in the first few days i accompanied him in class, all other children spits food out! so as punishment, the moment he did it, thomas books and trains confiscated until he could show he did not spit again. So far working.

colours
eboy answers blue for every colour asked, but then again, he only can say blue. have difficulty managing words starting with g or r so no green no red. However, he knows the colours cos he can point them out, and I will ask for a book in his thomas series, and he knows how to find them through the colours.
work
sigh. i am swamped at work. too many things to do, but our department is new and i am new and my boss is new, so we are like the blind leading the blind and so many things to do, dunno how to start... those who knows, are busy with their own things.. and so its again back to blind leading the blind...

you know reading all this abt bad bhvrs makes me feel much better. i m NOT the only mum who has a nearly 3yo tantrumy toddler who sulks AND has moods AND rolls on the floor.

guilt
last few months i have been focussing on C2 and getting him to sleep. that i kinda left C1 to Mr C. Mr C managed to scare the s*** out of C1 by bringing C1 to the swimming pool end Feb. the after effects of sulking, pushing mama and papa, rolling on the floor are still there a month later. i entirely blame Mr C for instilling fear into C1.

realise i havent actually seen C1 smile or laugh out loud since that stupid swimming pool day.

one is my son; the other is my husband.

it got soooooo bad after yet another bout of floor rolling after we told C1 we are going out that Mr C told me ystday - tis getting on my nerves, that i m starting to hate him.

everyday cry for no reason, roll on floor, throw things abt.

omg. he actually used the word 'hate'. in C1's presence.

i shushed Mr C quickly.

my child is out of control.
and i m so bloody tired of work stress, home stress

sayang, cellow
you are not the only one for sure. poppy can lie in the middle of pavements or tiong bahru plaze lift lobby if she really doesn't want to move. but i've found that having a good nap can affect this kind of behaviour. and i don't mean just me (haha).

from school poppy has learnt the joys of playing with saliva (if i let her, she'd probably spread it all over her face), nailbiting and saying things like 'go away! stop it now!'. it's probably what other parents are saying to their kids, then their kids say it to other kids, and other kids in turn say it to their parents. joy.

mich
the good thing about everything being new is that nothing is really set in stone yet, right? so take that opportunity to do everything in your favour! yay!

c1 and swimming pool day
i had a traumatic swimming pool experience when i was about 6 i think. and i REALLY do not like getting my face wet. i wash my hair bending over, eyes tightly shut. when BB accidently turns the water on and sprays on me in such a situation, i can get into states of panic.

what my parents did was to keep telling me "see? the pool is not scary, see?" and that actually made it worse. i remember thinking even as a child "err if they keep saying it's not scary, it means that it is but they're trying not to make me feel scared" so i ended up feeling scarder.

maybe you could just let C1 play more in the bathtub and with small cups just to enjoy water play without literally going in the deep end.

thanks PB for the sayang

i just re read my last post and realise that i sound depressed to the point of being suicidal. just to set the record straight, i m neither depressed nor suicidal.
see i added a smiley.

hi-5 between C1 and poppy abt lying on the floor. and playing w saliva. and saying nasty things like mama, go away! (accompanied by pushing too)

checking my work calendar - thu is a good time for ME time. just take leave and DO NOTHING.

i m wondering if i shd invite the other half to do nothing w me. i m still super angry at him for using the Hate word in front of C1. children internalise what they are told, esp by their parents.

parenting is hard bcz tis the first job that i cannot walk away from.

Oh I also get mama go away. And last night she had a nightmare I think, cried and cried and of course I went to sayang her. And she cried even louder. "I don't want mama! I want papa! Papa come here! No mama!". Hmmm. Even in her subconscious state, she knows she doesn't want me. How did it get to this state?

I THINK it started when I hurt my tailbone and have been telling her I can't carry her cos it hurts me. Boo hoo

Ok cellow, since got smiley we are less worried about having to read about your suicide in papers

Take leave and spend it alone. No other half that would potentially cause you stress.

just last night, Mr mich had an episode of blast. We normally would let eboy verbalise "i want to drive" before we allow him to take the driver's seat for a while before we go up the house. and normally I would start to prompt eboy to say it, when we enter the carpark. So, eboy started doing it, and he still has difficulty pronoucing "to" which he says as "bu". So, after I got him to say it, i released him from the child seat (which is a sign that he is ok to go over to papa driver seat). at that point, papa insisted, he must say the TO word correctly. naturally, eboy got frustrated and confused. he still said bu bu several times, but Mr mich was insistent he said TO correctly. so there eboy was, between the front and back seat, held by me, not allowed to go forward, yet could not listen to what we want. in the end, he cried and then used his hands to beat Mr Mich (this, again, he learnt from school). So mr mich got so angry, to say, that's it. NO DRIVING. proceed to walk out the car. Eboy was crying pitifully. I was shocked.

On the one hand, it was wrong for eboy to beat the father, on the other hand, it was our inconsistent action that led him to frustration (thus coping with frustration was beating). I felt awful, cos it was partly my fault for releasing eboy earlier, if i had known Mr Mich would want to make him say more words, i would keep him on the car seat. letting him go, is telling him, he CAN drive. so. I felt terrible.

On the way up, i consoled eboy. and then explained that we punished him, was due to him beating Pa Pa and that was not correct. It was not becuase he could not say the right word. Mr Mich then heard what I said, and when I got eboy to say sorry. Aiyo, both of them, hugged and no more crying, and hor the whole night, buddy until dunno like what...

i guess what i wanted to say, is that, our actions trigger our children's reaction. it is a fact, we are their mirror. they react in a certain way because we act in a certain way. Angry yes, hate NO!

I'm sure Mr C loves C1 dearly. I'm sure he doesn;t mean HATE the way it was meant to be. It was just unbearable at times, yes, BUT it is for the parent to find a formula that works. So, ya, there's no giving up, no walking away (permanently) and no HATE. It all span from LOVE. Hope Mr C finds his patience and peace soon... I really hope so...

perhaps you should leave C2 at your aunts house, and both of you, bring C1 out and give him your undivided attention. I believe that is all he is asking for, once in a while.

Hope you feel better, cellow. Hugs!

and cellow, remember the last time you brought C1 alone to the playground, and he was playing with the slides, and laughing at the littliest things that you share, I remember your post on that and it was awesome, remember??? .... I think its time to re-visit the playground tonight.... I believe spending more of such time will make C1 a better behaved toddler, and happiness stays with him, and it is infectious... ppl around will feel happier, and he will then in turn feel even happier. It does, really. trust us (think youpi would agree to that too!)!

*sayang cellow too*

1. you have an insecure toddler
2. and a hot-tempered papa

when T2 came along, T1 seeked solace with my helper (more) and her papa. and them being there for her, being patient, being loving helped tremendously for the transition.

try to tell Mr C that C1 is acting like that because he is insecure and by him shouting and screaming at him with very little patience is not going to help at all. try to see things from C1's perspective, his loving mama has suddenly been snatched from him, and his papa flares at every juncture. how traumatic can that be? and bad behaviours feed bad behaviours, a tantrum that was thrown due to insecurity and frustration could easily escalate to one that is now thrown due to habit.

is your helper reliable? can she be relied upon to take up more of the caring role for C1? or your aunt?

Like mich suggested, try to plan out a time where you can have 1 to 1 time with C1. I am also quite sure C1's behaviour will improve with more attention.

hang in there my dear!

wow! an angsty cellow on a blue monday! *pat pat* This is tough, Mr C using the "H" word on C1. tough on you and tough on C1. If he did not realise, more than half of kids here on this forum likes to roll on the floor, throw things around. Mine also likes to spit, hit and scratch people when he is upset -- bad habits from school again. our 3yo HAVE moods, especially when they are in need of sleep. My boy will tell me he don't want THE mummy, don't want THE papa and recently, he spoke his first mandarin sentence to me "bu yao ma ma". i dun know if talking to Mr C helps, let him know that C1's behavior is not abnormal. Cos most of us are experiencing the same behaviors. This is part of growing up. We all know growing up is no bed of roses. It is fun BUT tough journey. We have to be there to give them love and support and not hate as they grow up. The world is already a scary place to live in (with so many diseases, coping with work, family etc...), since we brought them to the world, we have to give them love, love and more love.

Dustee
I'm not against kpo security guards but I think they should jus talk among themselves if they want to n not let other ppl hear. The things they tell u abit the Ummmmmmm...guess u just try to stir clear of them and any kpo resident with a smile n "I'm busy"

U know huh when I was much younger n working, had a colleague who forgot to let customer sign the credit card slip and appearantly the then manager made her pay for the purchase cos he says the bank cannot deduct the money cos customer never sign. Which I tot was rediculas and now I still think it is. Becos if never sign or wrong signature I'm very sure our banks will still deduct the money.

Cellow
You dun sound suicidal lah. Jus very fustrated and stressed(guess cos u dun have enough time to handle it as u have to go work). Agree with the rest, take time off and have a date with C1.

Let him know u will always be there for him and if there is anything, he can always come to you.
But think must find a time to talk to your hubby as well, tell him the banned word cannot be uttered anytime. Feel like saying something?? walk away or only when alone with you. If he heard his parents saying they hate him, how would he feel??

Told you terrible 2s r actually not that bad. 3 yr tantrum is the 1 I am scared of.....haha

Big boys
Pissed with my hubby last night. He ate ice cream in the bedroom with the kids. I have been stopping the kids from anything cold cos D started cough at night 1 time per night kind of cough so I must stop all cold stuff then he will be fine. Had already told my hubby during the day when he let D drink his cold drink.
So I said out loud that if D cough at night, his dad will sleep with him on the floor cos his dad let him eat ice cream. (Its 1 of the rules I impliment at home cos the kids dun limit their own intake they will sleep on the play mat if they cough. N whoever(my hubby lah) gave them cold stuff will sleep with them.)

So D told his dad rudely "I cough u will sleep with me on the floor."
His dad shouted "NO, I will not sleep with you on the floor." very rudely to his face n went out with his icecream.
I told D he was rude n he had to speak nicely if he wants ppl to listen to him.

So when dad came back, D asked nicely "Papa you listen, I want to tell you something. If I cough you have to sleep with me on the floor."
N the big boy.....kaoz how many times I would have smacked him if he was my child. Can tell he was pissed cos I told him off on the ice cream n he let it off on the poor boy. Screaming at him that he's not going to listen jus becos he asked him to and jus walked into the bathroom. Ofcos D was so confused n hurt he told me his dad is naughty which ofcos I totally agree with but not admit infront of D so told D not to tell his dad anymore and continue playing his stuff or watch TV.

Sigh.....boys will be boys?? Arrrrghhhhhh

definitely when both parties have different styles of parenting, they are both bound to clash eventually. head on.

cellow, mb really just keep C1 away for a while. See if perhaps now that your ils have gone back home, whether Mr C becomes the adult again (y'know, mr dustee can become a sullen teenager whenever his parents are within proximity) . you know how they say, never approach the issue with the 'you always do this' but the 'how can i help you be less stressed and frustrated?'

sigh.

i will be the first one to admit too, that fights over parenting and discipline methods sure sometimes make me feel like loving mr dustee less. (esp since we married coz i got pregnant, sometimes, very honestly, there are thoughts of 'i should have raised her alone') and when i get those emotional abuse from my mil and bil, i also love the marriage a lot less.

cellow, only you know how to approach this issue with mr C. but best to give both parties some space and time. mb do nothing yourself, give yourself that boost to handle C1 alone for a few days. and mr c just might miss him and the loving patient father will come back.

Dustee
LOL on your posts, esp "sama sama majulah singapura"

Cellow
Dor's suggestion of pak-tor with C1 is great! And Mich is right, I do agree with what she said about spending more time with the boy
Maybe you could get Mr C to have playdates with C1? Like just going to an open field to kick a ball around. L likes that.

Bbp
Dec is very advanced leh. I saw the drawing he did of his daddy's face in FB.

Bad habits
L has also picked up some. His favourite is "Mine! Mine! Mine!" or he'll just yell his name over and over again if he wants to be the first to do something, or if he wants something.

Science Centre
We've only been there 2 or 3 times with the boys and they like it. L loves to push everything on the installations: the buttons, the levers, etc. Anything that can be moved will be moved. He is also fascinated by the section just inside the entrance called 'The Mind's Eye', which has displays on illusions. There is also a Discovery Zone for kids. Not that our 2.5 year olds will actually learn, but again, lots of buttons to push.

PB
did u ask for the syllabus that the sch is doing with the kids? that's something i always ask to see before i choose the sch. i do agree that a lot of schools have very simple syllabus and that's cos it follows MOE guidelines. I ever did question before and some sch will supplement the work. For eg MOE guidelines is learn 1-10 at age 4. i m sure by age 3 our kids alerady know 1-10 and jh was already into his thousands by then! so to us, the syllabus looks very simple.

For jx, i m a bit guilty cos i dun follow up on her stuf as much as jh's. but so far she has said things that surprise me so i guess it's still ok. and she's speaking a lot of chinese now!

and we can always supplement at home....

dustee
maybe not bfding her may be good. at this stage i dun think they get much nutrients from bf also. solids shd be the main source of nutrients. if she dun have milk as a source after a while, maybe she will realise and then eat more? it was also jx's unreasonable behavior that made me stop feeding her..haha

dor
i totally high 5 with u. when the kids are coughing i always tell my hb not to drink cold drinks in front of them but he always does and then they will pester for it....super irritating right!!

cellow
pat pat
it can get qutie tough but hang in there! things will get better. they are also going through a stage where they are testing boundaries. we need to be consistent and firm. jx also had a stage where it's tantrums tantrums all the time. in 2 hours, she can throw 4 tantrums....

michelle
jx used to say pink or red for everything. but recently i got her to do sticker books and she will name all the colors that i ask her. so actually they know but it's whether they wan to name properly...haha

Buttons at science centre
Poppy is already pushing all MY buttons at home hehe

Bbp
Wow dec is so funny la! You know, over the weekend we asked poppy to draw us and man, I really didn't expect that she could! I mean, I have all my features AND a smile even! They amaze me, these kids

*typed this yesterday and didnt post!*
Hello mummies! Had a hectic weekend because of all the housework that we had to do ... too pampered man! Anyway things look like they are working out.
Managed to spot a hopefully good maid and confirmed her but will only be here 1 month later.
My sis new maid will be coming by the end of this week or early next week.
My grandmother goes over to my sis place to help out my mum *yeah to a strong and healthy grandma!*
Best of all, my bosses allow me to go off at 3pm on the pretext of working from home so its not too bad.

yippee yay yay for jace and things working out!!

SY
silly me hor, i did not ask to see syllabus before signing up. but in the beginning i was very impressed (and still am) that the teachers (eng and chi) would email us weekly updates on the syllabus. what i don't get, and i know of other schools doing, is a photo update. some get it weekly.

dor
your post about happy hormones with regards to pregnancy and BFing. are you trying to tell us that you are stopping BFing E?

science centre
here's the thing - we're only going to see 2 exhibitions, some water one and some energy one. i suppose there'll be many buttons to press there too. i just don't think it's really age appropriate la, this outing.

funny, what they teach in school, i think can be a bit more advanced. but this excursion, i think it's too advanced. IS IT ME??!!!

cellow,
poor cellow and c1... he probably just wants your attention... be it good or bad attention, it's A T T E N T I O N he wants and he gets it... have you tried the time-out? like "go to your room?" we did that to our boy several times and nowadays, when he starts to throw his temper, we tell him "you wanna cry, go to your room and cry... come out only when you finish crying." and he will resist and immediately zip up... i suppose this is better than screaming, shouting or caning/hitting him...

why don't you take c1 out in the morning on your off day, while C1 naps, take the time for yourself and have a date night with Mr C in the evening?

you know, when i had the helper, hb tended to leave son to her care. he'd rather helper played with the boy while he himself enjoys his personal time at home. maybe Mr. C thinks like that, let the grandparents and helper take care of your 2 boys. why must bother him? he's tired from work, he just wants some peace and quiet in his own home. etc etc... you get what i mean? my hb was like that sometimes, so i'll bring my son and we play in the room and leave the daddy alone, even on weekends. of coz, i'd love it if hb can join us in our play but better to let him come on his own terms than force him and see his )#($&!()^% face... Men get the PMS too you know...

Re:picking up stuff
my boy here learnt the "go away" from his cousin when he's angry with the mom... i was quite fed up with this rude behaviour and once, i really walked away ignoring him. he is a clingy boy so after that episode, he stopped saying those 2 words...

spitting and playing with saliva from this Eurasian boy in class which i had witnessed... guess what, my hb piaked our son's cheek when he did that. the boy was caught off guard and was shocked and that's it! no more... keeping my fingers crossed and hope i don't jinx myself....

Dustee,
i too was thinking of just walking away from the marriage esp during those few months after i lost my second baby. up till i decided to quit my job, i still had those thoughts of single parenthood once in a while when hb really pissed me off... but now since i try not to expect anything from hb coz he's really the sole breadwinner now and he deserves his rest at home after work. and i guess not having any expectations helped minimise any conflicts that may arise from anything tiniest matter...

PB,
hahahah... maybe you should make buttons out of paper plates, paste on yourself and let poppy press c/w with funny effects... hahaha.. that'll be quite fun!! maybe later i'll try with son heheh...

i haven't brought son to the Science Centre and Jurong Bird Park coz i was working in Jurong and i don't want to go back to Jurong even on non working days hahaa... but now i guess i can bring him there. he'll love pressing all the buttons...

SY,
reallly? MOE's guidelines so erm simple? my boy is learning his 11-20 in English and 1-10 in Mandarin... do you know where to find the guidelines? it'd help gauge our kids' learning progress... thanks in advance

ok.. i better get back to my ironing b4 son comes back from school... 1 whole week of ironing... good workout for my arms hahaha...

my sil came over today. so as the kids are playing, she was mentioning about how she heard that pomfret is starting playgroup soon. and then she said that our mil was tearing, almost crying when she (mil) was telling her(sil) about it.

so what's wrong here?
1. mil shouldn't be crying about pomfret going to school, coz frankly, it's not like i'm sending pomfret to a concentration camp. and it's a playgroup! not a cram school! she's probably just gonna go there and roll around on the floor, trash the toys, tear the books..... so i'm more worried about the childcare centre than i'm worried about pomfret.

2. sil shouldn't be repeating such things to me either. the whole 'you two are so emotional' is not helped by her repeating things to both sides!

but, definitely, having fasted from bubble tea for a while (pb, hanging there? not having dreams about coffee beans i hope) i have reached a new understanding.

yes it would be so perfect if we have mils who approve of us and who lavish us with love. yes it was very attention-grabbing when i get to tell pple of the new horrid things that my mil says to me. but that's enough. too much negativity, and i've let it sink me. past few weeks, as i walk home, the physically nearer i get back to the ils' house, the more depressed i'd get until i would even cry. so silly right.

so, i will use my usual dustee technique. when my mil says like 'you're not feeding pomfret? then she's suffering from gastric' i'll say 'yes mb she's got gastric! do you have any gastric medicine?'

when pomfret cries and my mil says 'why are you so harsh to her?' then mb i'll say 'come ma, you come comfort her okay? i go for my afternoon tea break. thanks ma'

or the 'i'm only trying to teach you to be a better mother/wife/person/woman' i'll say 'thank you so much ma. you're such a wonderful mil'

this should be quite fun! ; D

youpi
i had it pencilled on my calendar but i still forgot anyway! already told my hb to try to get home before the shops close tonight, so that he can watch pomfret and i can quickly go out and buy it! woohoo!

just so distracted this week coz the silly man decided to get some new music ('for you' he says). lady antebellum. i think they won a grammy, or were nominated, but aren't they really country? and.... which part of me listens to country? maybe my toenails.

dustee
Lols on "sama sama majulah Singapura"
The guards really got nothing better to do. Can't complain to the management office? well even if we complain, it'll soon become another gossip. So and so from this unit complain about this and that. Hmmph. Just ignore.

saying nasty things
Emma will also say: mama bad! go away! stupid cece. I will hit her hand but she would hit me back repeatedly and cried. Put her in the corner. I discovered recently that she really really hates going to the corner. So sometimes if she went overboard, punishing her to the corner works like a charm.

Hi from pb's toenails to dustee's : I like hokkien pop, do you?

Speaking of silly hubbies, mine bluffed me, saying he was going to the gym, then sheepishly called me to say he forgot his wallet and could I pretty please bring it to him cos he needed it. For identification. For a present for me. For our wedding anniversary.

So here I am waiting by the back door of a bus to throw a wallet out the door to a man at the bus stop.

Dustee
Hmm I have a feeling this fake sarcasm toward ur mil won't work cos you're so nice. Sheryl crow sings "if it makes you happy, it can't be that baaaaad". Do what makes you happy. And no (hugs) it is not silly crying while getting close to a place that causes you immense misery.

Does your hubby know by the way? The extent of your misery?

I miss coffee. But I THINK it has made me less hot tempered.

dustee,
your posts make me LOL la. HUG!!! do things that make you feel better.
for me, tis easier to laugh abt wat makes us really really miserable than cry. make me feel better. i have been laughing like a hyena these days.

thanks to all for the advice. i stuck bits and pieces of it in an email to Mr C, coupled with specific examples of where the link between bad bhvr and the punishmt is missing.

so. i tell Mr C to stay out till 10pm this week. until C1 goes to bed.

i went pak tor w C1 this morning to the physiotherapist as he told me his left wrist pain pain, and cried pitifully ystday after waking up fm nap and after waking up this morning. BUT after i made the call to the physio this morning, i turned around and there was C1 throwing a ball happily w his left wrist. hmmm. hmmm. horrors, is my nearly 3yo learning to tell lies?

all my pile of work undone and me feeling a bit under the weather. not quite sick but clearing emails does give me a strange out-of-body experience

fasting
i hv been fasting from FB games. and i must say it does give me more time to sleep, and generally have a life

bbp,
LOL on dec teaching maid mandarin! wat has she picked up so far?

jace,
good that things have worked out re the maid.

Thks for e well wishes..
Just to share with you how my pregnancy went...

Admitted yesterday as 3cm dilated, schedule to deliver 7am today..
But water bag burst at 2am.. After pushin for close to three hours.. I gave up.. Scream for pain relief and was push to OT.. Had anesthetics and deliver baby by forceps..
Baby weigh 2.56kg at 34.5weeks.. Now in special care for observation.. So far doing well

Smiggle
Congrats on being a mum of two
Baby's weight is okay right? How are you? When can we visit?

Dustee
Lady antebellum??!! Yes that ONE song won or was nominated, and it is good, but I can't imagine listening to an entire album of that. Do you like Arcade Fire? They just won a heap of stuff.

morning mommies... *yawns* son has been waking me up between 3 to 5am for the past week... sometimes more than once in a night!!! aarrrggghhh.... what is HIS problem!? scaring him with the spiders crawling in the nights doesn't work anymore... and he's not afraid of the dark!! what else can i try?? and i don't have a habit of napping in the day time... i need more caffeine!

PB,
hahaha... ya ya... that's the song that gave me the buttons inspiration hahaha... cute right?!

does no coffee really made you less hot tempered? i'd really love to try that but don't think i can survive even 1 day without coffee leh....

Cellow,
you bet your last coin that YES our 32 month old kids are able to tell lies! do you remember i post on FB abt how my son lied to me abt finishing his bread when in fact he had threw the bread in the dustbin?!?!

You went cold turkey on FB games?!? good for you... i'm trying to stay away from my laptop at night now... coz my hb didn't start playing his game!! that's where i get my motivation to stay off the games. but day time after i finish my chores and waiting for son to get home, i'm bored enough to start playing again.... this is why i'm intending to start digital scrapbooking.... ;)

Smiggle,
Congrats congrats!!

Dustee,
i know it's not easy but giving the whole experience another treatment may just be the right antidote for the poisons your ils have been forcing down your throat. remember to finish off with the innocent batting of eyelids and most charming smile

smiggle,
CONGRATS! do rest well after your one-day labour. fill #2 with your breastmilk. will def gain wgt v fast

oh. then the brothers' birthdays are v close tog.... just 2 weeks apart??

steph,
digital scrapbooking is an excellent alternative to FB games. join me, dun play la.

pak tor w C1 (cont)
i spent most of the morning w him at the physio. after latching C2 and calling the maid in to pat C2 to sleep, i went out again w C1 last night to explore the neighbourhood. he wanted to watch his potty training elmo dvd, so i let him watch while i was latching C2. i came out of the bedroom, sat w him for a bit, and let him talk or come to me himself. then i asked if he would like to go downstairs w me. auto response was a tantrum (senseless crying), thankfully short, then i made as if i wanted to go out... C1 decided then to stop tantrum and follow me. short legs were v tired after a long walk to the beach, came back and went straight to sleep.

i m suffering the after effects now. i m so tired that i couldnt get up this morning.... but i cannot nap in the day either. low grade fever of 38 deg w tickly throat now.

however i must soldier on for the rest of the week. keeping C1 and Mr C apart is proving to be a good choice.

Science centre
I take it back. It was great! I am so going to bring poppy back again. It was tough with the school cos it was like those package tours "ok go here, see this, ok go there, look at that, ok your 5 mins for that is up...". It was exhausting particularly cos some guardians weren't exactly guarding their kids and I couldn't simply let the little ones fall off the railings right? Back to school and all the kids signed up for the Crying Chorus cos of the exhaustion haha.

But lots of fun and lots of things to see and explore. We just need more time for it.

Smiggle
Congrats!!! Baby's weight is alright! Rest well

Cellow
Nice date with C1! Hehe your date fell asleep on you. Must tell him about this date when he really starts dating.

quick one
does anyone know a good family physician for adults within marine parade? i go to raffles medical at siglap but their consultation fees recently went up to $31, excl GST. i wouldnt mind paying so much if i get good service.... but the doctors there seem to be just going thro the motions.

Cellow
Does C1 protest when you are bfg C2? S used to feel quite left out when L was being breastfed, during the early days. So every single time I bf L, I would do something with S at the same time. Mostly reading, sometimes drawing or singing. The main thing was to ensure that he did not feel neglected just because L was being fed. Even now, sometimes when L is latching, I'll be having a conversation with S. S also gets special hugs and kisses. And I ensure that I do the same things for both, for eg: bathing both of them even though S can bath himself. Think C1 really misses his me-time with mummy

Wisdom teeth
Need wisdom from mummies here! The dentist says that I need to remove all four wisdom teeth. There is no decay, no pain, no problem. But she says that food can easily get trapped in those areas and lead to decay, so I should get them out. Is this normal?

Congrats Smiggle!!!! Congrats!! pics pics pics!! 2.45kg is a good weight! when can you be discharged? then Kayden's birthday party how???

Youpi, the last time I extracted my wisdom tooth, i went through such agony that I vowed, never in my life to visit a dentist ever again. But i suppose to remove all four, you will be on GA? then not so bad, but ITS PAINFUL (after effects).. took me more than 1 week to heal (1 tooth only hor!) I only decided to extract cos somehow, my gums were exposed and food do get trapped. If they are not exposed, think it is ok to leave it....

*a moody doggie checks in*

by right, i should be in san francisco enjoying myself now...but i am still stuck in the office typing away at this tupid notebook!

cancelled my trip to the US a few days after the earthquake when the radiation crisis started surfacing. even though we were just transiting narita, didn't want to take any risks with the kids at all. and hubs was reluctant at first but just the other day, patted me on the shoulder and said GOOD JOB! *roll eyes*

it feels like there are a lot of things the jap govt is not saying and after 3 weeks, still battling the nuclear crisis with no wrap-up in sight. low level radiation has been detected in china, korea and even california, hawaii etc

with all these developments, i think i might just end up going down under, yet again! for the kids' benefit, think will go goldcoast/brisbane. been there many years ago but guess will be nice to revisit. but still, my heart yearns for the US...boohoo!

smiggle

CONGRATS! pls post pics of baby! and rest rest rest during confinement!

youpi,
yep i guess so too, that C1 misses his me-time with me very much.
it seems that ME time only exists in my dreams la.

tmr Mr C and I are taking the day off for WE time. cellow needs to stay bright and cheerful so that i have a happy day!

steph,
AAAARGH fb games are insanely addictive!! i just logged onto FB using the computer instead of the iphone and there i was playing games.
*piak* my own hand.

doggiebb,
their safety comes first.... next time ok!!

Cellow,
We used to see dr Michael Wong at siglap raffles medical. Esp with son coz his boy same age... Even my sil said he's good. Were you referring to him or they changed doc? Inflation!! Enfagrow inceased by $3... Maybe shd change to cheaper FM liao....

Shoo shoo go sleep early so that tmr will have energy for your rendezvous ;)

Doggiebb,
If you're going Brisbane can check out this resort http://noosaentrance.ubik.net/. It's owned and managed by a singaporean and her Ang moh hb. We love love love and miss miss miss Noosa.... It's my dream retirement destination!! Ya that's right... only in my dreams... Hahah...