(2008/07) July 2008

Or hot pot?

Or kolo Mee?

Or big bowl porridge?

Or ramen?

Me having home cooked sharks fin soup tonight... Oops, any animal activists here? Dun see my last sentence...

As you can see, I can only think of food and MBS while waiting to knock off!!!! TGIF!!!!

michelle
tell me how is MBS stay..maybe will consider going there end of the year when my parents are back for hol

Boohoo I was stuck at tuas at client's place all day. Now in cab heading home and I am coming here again on tues! So I cant join lunch!!

Smiggle
You saw right house or not? My place 3rd floor no maid wan. No lar where got HDB take back? We'll sell on open market. Demolish? Well people are wondering at that possibility since all the other blocks behind my row are considered "conservation" and my row is not.

Batgirl
You are right, safety is number one, number one (now the song has just begun ... Any wiggles fans out there? Familiar?).

Now every time I hear loud conversations, I jump. Cannot live liddat la!

Becos we got no tpt, and have grown so used to the convenience of our area, we prob won't venture into outskirts :D

We will most prob rent. Cos that particular apartment I like, not for sale, only rent. Which suits us cos we are not really condo people (meaning that our wallets are not condo wallets), and the plan is to go back to bluebunny's jia xiang in a couple of years and though it's always good to have property, it'd be challenging to jaga it when we are out of the country

Sounds like a plan hor? Sounds like la, but mind still quite unsettled hehe

Michelle!
I want crab bee hoon!!!! But think I cannot la
hey enjoy MBS! You going this weekend issit? Can see YOG opening ceremony?

Recipe
Oh if anyone is interested: mac and cheese with fish and broc is a really yummy recipe for our kids. And it's freezable too! Just made a huge batch for poppy :D

hope you find a nice place to move to PB... so making plans to move before poppy starts primary school? give you time to prepare yourself for staying there long term? we will miss u n poppy! can we come visit? :D

lunch on tues.. MAYBE I can... check again closer to date..

mich the poor sharks!

cellow: interesting comparison of sapling vs big tree hehe..

PB: cooked brocolli can be frozen and will still stay fresh ah? what cheese have you been using?

mich.. you got the knight set for E-boy right?

doggiebbb.. what is yours?

as bbG is snoozing away... he has earned himself a hospital set! woohoo! so excited.. and to think a few days ago I was so nonchalent about playmobil (though I vaguely recall owning a set when young too haha)

hello nightbirds,

recipe:
cook pasta, set aside. cook broc/peas, fry fish (i used toman/sheng yu, but you can use any fillet, marinated with black pepper) and set aside

melt butter in pan, stir in some plain flour until butter thickens, then add milk on low fire. once milk boils, add cheese (i used cheddar). turn off fire and stir until cheese is dissolved.

add everything together, top with cheese, pop into pre heated oven (180 degrees) for 10 mins or until cheese melts and browns.

yum

yup i've been freezing dishes with broc for a long time.

re moving to bluebunny's jia xiang
i'm not a big fan of the local educational system, having been a victim of it myself. i'm not so academically spectacular you see, and because of that, i wasn't welcomed into many places. i would prefer for poppy to enjoy school without having to think about tuition or remedial

kids will learn how to read and write ultimately, be it at 3 or 7 years old. the system here just doesn't allow for that flexibility. at pri 1 they would already have to know how to read. i remember tracing letters when i was at pri 1, and only playing at kindergarten.

things are different now. does it make the kids more competitive? that's debatable. does it stress them up more? definitely.

am i opening a can of worms? O

DD
thickening effect. if not the dish will be very watery

i really should sleep. but i think my lunch had alot of MSG ( i hate MSG!!!! ) and now i am feeling the pain in my knees. grrrrr

alamak! u very sure? I've got such bad memory! but bbg'S an owner of a hospital set liao as of the stroke of midnite....

u get pain in knees? I get a numb face sometimes haha

ok my cheesy pasta today was more clumpy than creamy... but all wolved down nevertheless...

zoo tomorrow morning anyone?

I need to revamp my wardrobe!!! any good online boutique to recommend? it is mission impossible for me to go shopping centre to shop for clothes with 2 kids lol

i was looking at some overseas online fashion... saw pple organise BP and Spree for the same overseas store, BP one charge handling fee, while Spree one don't charge. I wonder why still have pple buy from the one that charge handling fee...

dor.. the pair of shoes you got ember previously which I was asking about.. is KILN issit?? looking around to see if there are any alternatives before I get the sandals from ON instead...

hi wai! have you tried online shopping for yourself before? if you can figure out how to find something that fits well.. then there are lots of these korean/jap/taiwan clothing sprees right? though quality was lousy to my opinion, and all my online purchase for myself were never right! so i gave up...

but some of our mummies here can find the right fit and have no problem shopping from the regular sites like ON or Gap... ;)

i reserve online shopping for bbG only now.. :D

ONline shopping, I am like dd, never quite get the right size. Always only manage to get 20 - 30% of the loot correct! So yes i am also reserving it for xun gal only and that kind of explains why she has more clothes than mummy!

GOod news: We have finally (FINALLY!) shifted xun gal to her own room - the ikea bed and wardrobe arrived today. But the room is still kind of bare .. will try to see how to make it nicer. And she loves the bed. Ok of coz daddy is now sleeping with xun gal, considering the fact that 1) she will definitely need time to settle in the new room; 2) daddy will be sleeping with her during my confinement anyway; 3) errm our baby monitor is spoilt and we have not sent it for repair yet.

PB, u know, u are good at creating new dishes for poppy. I suck at it. Should have seen ur post earlier. I was scratching my head what to cook for her today. And ended up - tomato with egg + pan fried fish, pumpkin with rice. The USUAL stuff that I cook every weekend. even i am bored of it. And no wonder she is not interested. Xun gal asked me to go and blend the food (into puree form!) and just swallow down the food. She is so good at giving instructions now.

Maid, I am kind of stuck now. dunno what to get. Got to spend more time thinking abt it.

Hmmm been ages since I last slept in a room alone! Kind of not used to it!! hahahhaa

Hey! Anybody want to get anything from diapers.com? I will be ordering some california baby stuff from there. As I am a first timer, i will have a 10% off.. so if anybody keen, just let me know okie?

I also ordering some stuff (DVDs and books) from Amazon. So let me know if you guys have anything to grab there too!

PB,

I also sama as Jacelyn, very boring in my menu. So maybe that explains why wuffy dun like his meals..:p

Tues lunch is confirmed? Crabby bee hoon?

DoubleDee:
actually i haven't tried shopping online for clothes for myself. But i can't really fit into my old clothes now, too loose. dunno happy or sad, happy coz i slim down, sad coz need to spend $$ to buy new clothes. But agree with u, think quite tough to get the right one if not trying on ourselves. sighz, no time to shop for myself with 2 kids...

Apologies for posting in your thread.. but am..

1. Urgently in search of many tins of Enfapro A+..

If you've any to sell, pls pm me.. Budget's ard $10+- for the 400g tins..

2. Haenim Play Yard 6 panels (usu'd have 2 activity panels, 1 door, 3 plains with connectors) and ok with 4 panels too..

Budget's ard $100+- for the 6 panels

3. Steriliser
Looking for Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser

Budget's ard $20 to $30.. hopefully no rust..

4. Safety Gate needed to fit doorway of at least 118 cm..

Budget's $30++

5. Twin Stroller, just need one tt works, so on v tight budget constraint..

Pls pm me if you've any of the above tt ya letting go..

Thanks v much in advance! =)

batgirl,
me me! for diapers.com
I want 3 tubs of 4oz california baby calendula cream please.

Lunch on tue
Cannot go.... boo hoo. Lunch meeting.
Haiya, SY this is the 3rd time that the cake missed you liao!

I need fish oil, any orders coming up????... SY, think I still haven transfer to you!!!! sooooo paiseh....

monday blues!!! its no fun going to work after an enjoyable weekend!!! MBS was fun fun fun! We enjoyed the fireworks, the skypark, the room was great... food was good... marina bay waas beautiful!!! we had massage, we had good dinner, we had a good stroll along marina bay.. wonderful...

oh, but not so good for eboy.. left him with my mom and sat whole day he din take any nap. played all the way till 830pm then he slept. woke up at 330am looking for mummy mummy mummy, pointing at the door.. but he din cry. then walked around the house, watched barney until 530 then he went back to sleep... next day saw me scream so loud. and never let me out of sight again! hahahaha....

oh, and and and, on sat, eboy learnt to call Mummy!!! *tears weld up in my eyes*... - FINALLY!!!!

Cellow,

Orders taken! 4oz california baby calendula cream coming up! Oh..hopefully we can meet once more for lunch before I pop!

Diapers.com,

anybody else? Will place order this Weds.

California baby diaper wash,

remembered some mummies here used it. how to use ah, just put in the water and wash bum bum after big business? Is it good?

Michelle, wow you really know how to enjoy "er ren si jie!"
so envious!
We probably have to wait till next year before we have enuff energy to do this. But wuffy is now more aware of us. Today refused to let me go to work (after I spent the whole week with him last week).

Michelle,

Congrats on eboy finally calling you!!
it will be non-stop "mummy mummy mummy" very soon..haha.. sometimes, wuffy just calls me for fun... machiam practise his vocals. :p

Congrats to eboy and michelle! Hehe he needed you to be away to call for you :D glad you enjoyed MBS. Yup, the fireworks were great indeed! Better than NDP I think.

Congrats to xun gal for moving out of mummy and daddy's room! Yup the IKEA little beds are really cute.

Jace, batgirl,
I'm not creative in my recipes la, I just enjoy flipping thru recipe books and sites. I also have my moments of cooking the same stuff over and over for poppy and wondering if she's tired of them

For kids who don't really eat veg, chop spinach up in small pieces then fry with egg. Works in our house :p oh and yesterday I itchy backside, saw crayfish at market so just bought without knowing how to cook it. In the end made assam curry crayfish and it was so yummy! Poppy also had some!

Speaking of food, wondering how youpi and the boys are enjoying scandi food right now

Haiz, Monday blues...

kayden sick again.. and i feeling the same too..
wish can lie in bed on a rainy morning.

Michelle
u saw the YOG fireworks??
did u get the breakfast as well?

Batgirl
i want the lift & flap book "Elmo's Favorite places" from Amazon.
let me know if my order is in.. kayden totally destroyed the book. its all taped together and really to fall apart.

Michelle,
I have 1 bottle of unopened fish oil. you want to take over? My gal don't want to take them. so tot of selling it off. If you interested, please PM me.

thank you batgirl!
you suddenly nesting ha? hehe.

on a separate note.
wah, 6 panels of haenim playyard going for $100 only now? is that the current market price? and to think i paid $202.50 for mine.....

my lunch meeting tmr is cancelled! YAY!

Lunch Tuesday (17th August) - Don Pie Crab beehoon
1) Jace
2) SY
3) Michelle
4) Smiggleprincess
5) Batgirl
6) JSP
7) Cellow (and cake??)

so you gals want cake? i will def bring one slice for SY

cellow
haha tmr rain or shine i must go!!!!

michelle
u wan to order? let me know i can do iherb spree anytime. i always have things to buy one...

or u need? i have 2 more bottles spare.

PB
got any easy mashed potato gravy recipe? i tried looking for it but can't find.

waiwai
Time flies so fast! your son is going to be 1 soon!
I only did online shopping for my kids. For myself I like to try the clothes on and to see the quality of the materials and workmanship. The only one I bought online for myself is GAP jeans, which I tried here first lols.I love the 1969 jeans cuz it's very comfy and fitting. Cheaper if buying from the online store.

Playmobil
It's so expensive! I'm tempted to buy one set but then I already have the little people set farm set from Fisher Price.
Anyone tried Playmais before? It looks like those foam packing peanuts but with some water you can mold and stick them to make things.

Food for our toddlers
Hmm Emma loves adult food but I still cook soft rice (from Japanese rice grain) for her and the dishes would be what we eat normally. She doesn't like western food, only chinese food keke. Her favorite is the mapo tofu (of course without the chili),stir fry potato and chicken with sweet soy sauce, steam egg and fried egg with ham and all sorts of veggie soups.

Helper
Aiya my helper is here but she failed her tests twice already. Today taking the third time. Hopefully she'll pass if not I had to find another one. Hmmph.

Batgirl
I use the CB baby diaper wash. no need to put water. after wiping everything I spray and wipe again.

Can I tompang order this from diaper.com:
1. http://www.diapers.com/product/productdetail.aspx?productid=9797 Hopefully not too heavy/big. If this gives problems for shipping, feel free to cancel it.
2. http://www.diapers.com/product/productdetail.aspx?productid=27820

Thank you!!

SD,

I have added your orders! eh..the cover thing looks interesting. It should be foldable...dun think it is very bulky. which stroller are you using?

SmiggleP,

just to confirm, is this the book?

http://www.amazon.com/Sesame-Street-Elmos-Favorite-Places/dp/0794413579/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1281927826&sr=8-1

Cellow,

I will skip the cake this time. Thanks hor! Ya..nesting nesting nesting... but the house in a mess... cos got halfway done nesting stuff. But the girl's hospital bag is ready! heehee

See you all at lunch tomorrow!

Just seen gynae. bb is now at 2.9kg at 37 weeks. Hmm slightly smaller than xun gal as she was 3kg then ... bb put on 500g in 2 weeks mummy put on 1.5kg! *cry*

Cellow! CAKE! of coz i want ... but got to control my sweet tooth been eating too much liaoz! but i still want! Anything that is nice hee hee hee

Michelle, wow congrats to ethan saying Mummy!! The long awaited one... and guess soon he will be saying mummy non stop as he realise that this captures your attention the easiest

PB wow u are quite a good cook! I can never imagine cooking curry! How to cook the base? So many spices to include wor ... and so poppy can take spicy food ah?

Batgirl, i thinking of ordering the diaper wash too but hor wondering if i will have chance to see u again before i pop?

Mummies, any recommendations for fish oil for me to take while breast feeding? the one which i am taking now is very expensive ... thinking of changing it to something cheaper :p

i m also pleased to report that my new helper (see, i m happy, so she is helper, not maid) is mature and positive.

we took her thro the house rules ystday, just so that we set expectations, and also told her briefly why we sacked the prev one bcz (1) in case she hears stories abt us as employers when she brings C1 to the playground, she needs to discern for herself wat is truth and wat is exaggerations fm prev maid (2) we want her to keep the prev maid away fm C1. we were kind (stupid?) enuf to allow the prev maid to transfer.

for (1), my new helper's response after hearing to me and Mr C's stories, is 'it has nothing to do w me, mdm/sir. i m only here to work'

GOOOOOD response!

Jac,
The fish oil I am taking is from diapers.com
It's from one-a-day.. It's good for preggy and bfing mummies.. Cheap and good.. My doc say it's good too..

Lunch
I got to see how coz my elder boy not well .. So both boys are at home..haiz 1 after another ... Sian

Hi from Prague and happy Monday mummies!

yay to eboy and michelle- must be preggy hormones but i also tear a bit on reading..lol
and and you really tempting me with MBS stayvacation..next mth is hubby and my 10th anniversary -maybe i shld splurge..hmm

jacelyn - wow, 37 weeks..3 more weeks..jia you!! i am at 27 weeks now and already feeling the bowling ball weight esp with all the walking here.

cellow - sob i keep missing all these outings and yr cake temptations. must do one when i m bk ok! eh, the haenim playyard the girl listed is her WTB price la..and double yay to gd helper!

SD - helper failed the english test?

esq - sayang u..shoo to all the germs!

hv a gd week all!

batgirl
Thank you! I've just bought a maclaren from Taka since I've to pass the aprica to my BIL who'll be having a baby soon. The maclaren cover costs 100+ so I thought better buy this one.

Jace
Last time my Gynae gave me Dhaxtra. Around 45 dollars for 1 month supply.

Cellow
So glad you have found a helper who's positive in working.

Cin
How's Prague?
Yar so far failed 2 times. Today will be the last chance. Hope she'll pass. If not another 2 weeks before finding a replacement. Hmmms.

re lunch
are we meeting at RP MRT? cos i sure get lost going to the place. unless i have good directions...

cin
envy that u r in prague! must enjoy yourself now. this is the best time. after no 2 comes along, no such relaxing moments....

jace
i take nordic naturals fish oil for mummies. think abt USD 20+ for 90 capsules.

michelle
so MBS was good huh.....i feel tempted.

E sq oic ok hee got the wrong thing :p

SD, yah i am taking Dhaxtra which i find expensive! :p

SY! The nordic naturals fish oil for mummies is order at iherb? u ordering anything? let me go and take a look

DD, u joining in lunch tomorrow? i need to get my sambucus from uuuuuuuuu hahaha

SY. Leena, if its the nordic natural children's DHA strawberry flavoured, then I will take!! PM me plse!!!

Yay to lunch tomorrow. Cellow, can help me buy one slice of meringue (or strawberry shortcake if dun have meringue) I bring home for MIL!! I pay you!

Smiggle, yes I took the skypark package, got a free photo experience at Skypark, 2 glasses of wine at Skypark (we were sitting 200m above ground, just under the stars, sipping on wine... ) two coffee mugs free, and 2 breakfast!!!

yes, should splurge for anniversary kind once a while lah... and hor, ppl, try to get a room coming weekend then you see fireworks from your room on YOG closing ceremony!!!!