(2008/07) July 2008

jacelyn,

if you looking for Indonesians, it is tough now cos it is the Hari Raya period. I had huge difficulty finding a helper for my parents 1 mths ago. So we just grabbed a transfer maid that was available. Heng she is good. I think only cellow, JSP and bbp heard abt the horrid one that my parents had before we sent her packing. hehehe... Not easy to find good helpers these days...

SD, congrats! Heng your helper passed this last time!

PB, LOL on the Hanes T shirt. heehee

woo hoo! 6pm! going home liao!

michelle...wah there are so many incidents...give you the classic ones..

(1) She was mopping the floor. My FIL was there, she told my FIL she is tired, ask him to mop the floor.

(2) She asked my mother to buy a new handphone and asked my mother to give her the old one to use.

(3) She asked my grandmother to give her her gold chain and bangle.

(4) She asked my brother to go out and buy her keropok to eat.

........ and there are other instances where she was plain rude, loud, and VERY VERY BOLD. We did not even bother asking her to pack her bag. We brought her to the agency direct. The agent gave her a good scolding, this maid still dared to raise her voice at the agent. And all the while, there was no tears. no emotions. just a very straight faced woman. After we dropped her off at the agency, then we went home to pack her stuff and bring to the agency.

I have never met this kind of person....dunno she is boss or we are boss... tsk tsk tsk

Gooooood morning gorgeous mummies!!!

Batgirl
If there were a "how to get fired 101" course, it must surely have been conducted by your ex helper

NATAS fair is coming up at end of year! From your experience, girls, is it worth the wait or no point jostling with the whole population to save a couple of bucks or to get a free toileteries set?

Oops I mean NATAS is coming up end of the month

SY & Batgirl...

PM-ed you my orders, thanks!!

cellow... any bb reaction to your milk last nite? you didn't take much so should be ok? thanks for the cakes again, as always!

LOL to PB's comment on batgirl's maid.. colleague's maid had porn in hp.. and been changing with doors open and laughing.. scary!!

so who's gone to see ernie and bert? wanna ask if must queue or anything of that sort....

PB

Yah..that maid was just asking for it. Kenna me and hubby, we take no nonsense. My parents were just too nice until she thinks they can be makan-ed.

For NATAS fair, it is going to be a mad squeeze but I must say the travel agents are all there, so you do not need to travel to different agents to sniff out the best deals. but it is best you know where you want to go, else you will be overwhelmed by the information.

DD,

Okie! I will check! Will order str away!

goooood morning gorgeous gals!
(i m reminded of declan's gorgeous aunties - haha)

C1 still refuses to kiss me or call me 'pretty mama'. He will turn away!

Hanes t-shirt ah.... hahah. There seem to be a few such pple in my workplace. Talk talk talk talk full of hot air, can seem to go on all day and the topic goes around the whole world, work leh, half past six only.

dd,
dunno ley. C2's ear kena red and swelling now. sian sian sian. anyway will determine wat he is allergic to later during the PD allergen test.

Jacelyn,

Yup! Got your orders last nite liao!

Cellow,

Wuffy kisses me when he is in a good mood. when he kiss me on the lips, he will go "eeeeeeeeeee" and then wipe his lips. haha!

Oh dear..poor C2. Hope the PD can find out the cause of the problem.

PB:
based on my experience with NATAS, it is a convenient platform to compare price. so what i did was to collect all the brochure, sit at one corner and discuss with hubby, then go to the agency that we want and do booking. But the queue is really long for some agencies, so if u are bring Poppy along, bring something to keep her entertained... last year we brought XP there, then she was happily playing with brochure haha

PB,
I've never been to the NATAS fair.. the crowd scares me plus there's an entrance fee so I can't just go there to look see look see.

Cellow,
Haha, Declan doesn't have a choice. If he doesn't kiss me, he will kena kisses from me. So I think maybe kissing me is the lesser evil.

Hi girls
Yeah I'm so put off by the crowds. Think that alone will make me so frustrated that I won't be able to think straight!

Anyone taken malaysian airlines before? Ok bo?

How did smiggle's appraisal go? Good? Plenty increment?

NATAS fair.. Hmmm I've been to one before, Chan brother's travel fair. similar I guess? The queue was so longgggggg. I started queuing at around 2 pm and by them time I'm done with all the bookings it was around 7 pm *OMG* but I did get a good deal.

Hey girls,
Yeah I MIA cos I REALLY REALLY have alot on my already overcrowded mind. Alot of things I gotta do but the kids 1 sick after another and now......great I am sick. Coughing my lungs out lah.

But the most sian n fustrating is.....Ember lor.
Cos she now kanna phobia of toilet bowl. N cos I really really really dunno what my hubby did or did not do to her when he brought her to toilet. He is the kind u ask 1 qns he ans u 10% ask again ans another 10%, and I am sick of asking him.

N her fear extended to our hse toilet. AND I am the ONLY 1 who is dealing with it. Very very fustrating when she needs to pee or poo but SHE DOESN"T. Starts crying n screaming if we try to bring her to toilet or make her sit. N she really really dun pee or poo the whole day though we know she needs to go.

Sunday I cannot take it I just lock the both of us in the toilet n let her cry. Force her to sit on the toilet seat n cry n cry n cry until she fell asleep. Cos its been days since she last pooed and she needs to poo and she will cry when she needs to but still refuse to go toilet...sigh
Know how fustrating it is right.

But I dunno if I really did something right cos nw.....on n off she will also say she dun wanna pee. Then I need to remind her that I will be angry. N she will be willing to go.
But but that is only at home lah.......taking baby steps now.....for me emotionally n physically.

And cannot sleep well....dunno why sleep at 3+am but still not tired. Will still keep waking in between....dunno what's wrong with me. Maybe too stressed.

DD
Which sandal from ON?? Cos ON shoes right some of the quality quite.......lousy.
So unless you dun mind getting the price u paid for lah like wear downstairs kind else buy other brands better. I'm currently still a fan for kids crocs....hehe

Jacelyn
hahha so cute she ask u to blend for her the food. LOL

BBP
Even though D takes his sambuccus willingly I also only give it to him when he has any onset of minor symtoms. I used to let him take when we are going to play gyms n places crowded with kids too.....hehehe

PB
Sambuccus is for upper respiratry tract. Same tract for nose n mouth ma......I think lah.....hehe

Yawn quite bored at work
having already handed over 99% of my stuff and totally no motivation to follow up on the remaining 1% ... so keep nuaing and waiting for time to pass! Cannot be too obvious too ... haha

Dor, wow i must say poor u and ember! What did your hubby do!! Feel like screaming at him for u!

Natas
I normally go to those Pre-fairs. LIke I like to travel with SA tours (lots of good experience with them) so I go for their travel fair, typically before Natas.

However, this time I missed it, so am intending to brave the crowd, catch the early bird discount and head straight to SA booth and book the beijing tour! Must be focused, and cheong type... with early bird, very good deal!! so do your research with all the agencies first and start the shortlisting...

dor, sayang sayang.. like what you said, take it one step at a time.. things will get better! take heart....

dordor,
hang in there.... oopsy, what did mr dor do to Ember to make her scared of the toilet this time ley....

i just came back fm the PD. the allergen test for C2 showed that .... tadah... he is allergic to chicken EGGS!!!!

omg, eggs are in everything... pie crusts (including don pie crusts), cakes, biscuits, tong shui, even breads.... i m resigned to a fate of eating only cereals for bfast liao. until C2 is a year old. O.M.G.

*crestfallen* bcz greedy cellow wants to eat cakes and cookies! this almost (but not quite there yet la) almost makes me want to give up breastfeeding. haiya, sooooo troublesome, feed formula la!

(mentally listing all the reasons for breastfeeding now)

Pb,
Natas always alot of pp and we hated crowd.. So we usually dun book thru natas .. Coz hb feels that not worth to squeeze with the crowd for just little discount.. We usually follow Asa for exotics tours and hong tai for japan and prime travel for Hokkaido only..

cellow,

OMG, yah..eggs are everywhere!! countdown to c2 turning one....

But you are one determined mummy. I am sure you can brave thru these inconveniences!

Jacelyn
All along when E start being toilet trained she had a fear of public toilet flush. Then finally now she has gotten over it.
My hubby told me the toilet flush was spoilt n kept flushing n according to him E did not react n jus say she dun wanna pee. But from wat I gather nw from E reaction, he must have left her sitting on the toilet bowl while it kept flushing. Hence the fear when she even sees the toilet bowl n crying n refuse to sit on it.
(see mummy also can be psychologist liao. Haha)
So nw must overcome her fear 1st. Sighhh

oh n.. poor u dor!

i was looking at this coz it's not easy to find nice sandals that are not thong-like between the toes: http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=56828&vid=0&pid=754248

recall a brand you mentioned previously which i thought was very nice.. is it KILN? can't find it now...

cellow: aiyo.. eggs? so now u can eat all the crab u want? :D

are tours n booking by agents cheaper than booking hotel n flight ourselves? we've only been to nata's once.. and didn't find it any cheaper..

Oh since we are on this topic hor.
Those going NATAS can help me check price for Tokyo only 4-6 days?? Hehe
I wanna go during CNY period so can start booking now huh or too early??

Dor
I think it's never too early to book! Poor E on her fear of toilet bowls now. So she really won't pee/poo all day? Wow.

Cellow
Eggs? Poor u!

Wow dor going japan..have only been to Tokyo but I love japan too!

Mummies..a few of u bought Paul frAnk pj's recently right..for $9..realized they r made in china, quality n workmanship much more inferior to my earlier pieces..but then I paid almost double previously..so I guess I can't say much huh

Arrgh! N I got a faulty bag but spreer now say I must pay for own postage to send back before they will give me a replacement? How unfair!

dor
envy envy!! would really love to go japan but so ex....

think shdn't be an issue to book early. better early than late!

so she dun pee at all? then how she pee if she dun wan to sit on toilet bowl?

DD
is the bag very ex? if yes, better to change right? is the postage very ex?

cellow
oh dear, but does it cos him to reach when u take things with eggs inside or only eggs?

dun give up breastfeeding! must perserve

batgirl
your parents helper is really the queen man. first time i hear something like that!

just sharing this interesting product that i just saw

Badger Company, SPF 30 Anti-Bug Sunscreen

sunscreen plus bug repellant in one...going to order from iherb

if i can find anti bug shower gel i will buy

Sy,
California bb oso got e anti bug sunscreen.it hv a vv strong lemongrass smell. I uses tat on Anya.

Dor,
it's better to book early.usually e later u book, e more ex it'll go. N if u planning to go during CNY, it's usually already a little more ex.

DoubleDee:
I almost wanted to buy that Paul Frank pj! lucky u tell us that the quality is not good... going to give it a miss

If the bag is ex, better get a replacement right? did the spree organiser state the exchange policy in terms & conditions?

Dor dor,
For japan .. Can book already .. Coz next month I am booking for my trip to easten Europe too.. Are you joining tour ? If you plan to join tour to japan.. Follow hong tai.. They are very good with japan tours especially during cny..

Dd,
If I were you I will make them pay for the postage..dun they check before sending to you?

waiwai

the paul frank pjs quality is ok, quite soft and the waist band isn't too tight and the pants doesn't ride up. i think just that compared to DD's original ones which cost almost double the price, there are some differences.

i was buying gaps pjs all the way also but the problem is the sizing of gap pjs is very small. the waist band of the gap pjs is also very good, won't leave marks, and the pants won't ride up and of cos the cloth is softer. so its 一分钱一分货 i guess. and for that price of $9, its a pretty good deal lah.

SY

i am using the california sunscreen. it is also sunscreen and bug repellant 2 in 1. you can check that out too.

cellow, oh dear! eggs are everywhere..

hey, dun you give up Bfeeding just cause you can't eat eggs! the benefits you bring to C2 for his lifetime is immeasurable! you must persevere! one day, i will bake a non-egg cake for you! (if i find a recipe)

DD, oops, Paul frank PJs, i ordered 3!!! this spreer was the different one from the last time you ordered??? hmm.. me going to get scolding from hubby liao..

SY, wait for me!! I have things to order!!!!!

DD

the last round i ordered 4 sets, i think i paid $9.50. Where did you buy that almost-double-the-price pjs? you paid $18 for a set then? @@

cellow: great news! pie crusts dun have eggs! its made of flour and butter!! at least i dun use eggs when i bake chicken pie...
but you cant take Don pie cos their ingredients in the pie has egg.. ok i make non-egg chicken pie for you k?

michelle
u have easy recipe for chicken pie? hb likes chicken pie and when i ask him what he wan me to make, he said chicken pie. all the recipes i found are very complicated.......

SY,
curious - why do you need anti bug shower gel?

DD,
was that the terms and conditions of the spree? that you must pay for own postage for faulty bag to be replaced.

quick help me think of eggless breakfasts.... i normally eat bread every morning.

C2's eczema on the face keeps coming back. despite my very-competent MIL's full attention to him, wiping and putting steriod creams and moisturisers.
and i was sick of restricting my own diet w/o any clue wat is causing his face to flare up again and again.

tue i ate 2 slices of don pie. and tadah, ystday morning, his ears turned red. EAR leh. face can still say tis him wiping the salivia from his mouth onto the face.

BUT.
I m very guilty that I inflicted the allergen test on him. Tested for peanut, soy, chicken eggs and dairy (cow's milk).

I din know that the process would be so painful and itchy for him. Thought that it is a mere matter of smearing the extracts onto his skin. Noooooooooooooooooo. Smear the pure extracts already, still gotta prick him w needle so that the doc can see if there is an allergic rxn. So 4 pricks for each of the allergens and 2 more pricks to show the positive and negative spread.

Poor C2. Gotta expose his back for 20mins for the allergens to take effect. The egg one was very obvious. Flared up very fast and left a big patch of redness. I cried, MIL cried... and so did C2... bcz of pain and itchiness.

PD warned that allergen tests can have false negatives, so peanut, soy and dairy got no rxn now doesnt mean i can go gorge myself on peanut butter (for eg).

BUT.
I also comfort myself that better I know than anyhow gasak and make myself sooooo miserable bcz this cannot take, that cannot take. Already cut off all shellfish and nuts. Luckily still can drink soya milk, eat tofu and drink cow's milk.

porridge... beehoon... CCF... soon kueh... cereal with milk... fruits... nasi lemak w/o egg...

cellow.. take heart.. at least you know what's causing it now...

PF PJ's .. ordered in feb.. from someone called elly.. those were like gymboree pj's thick n nice n soft.. but ya.. paid $17 for them... almost double the price so I can't say much la hor...

doggiebb: would you know how 'tall' is the hospital when you have assembled it.. need to go measure n see if it fits into my cupboard that I intend to keep it in....

cellow, for now, restrict to full home cooked meal? there are tonnes of breakfast that is non egg. eg

chee cheung fan
chwee kwue
fried bee hoon
can ask your helper to boil plain porridge every morning? you can eat with luncheon meat with porridge
bread
cereal,
yoghurt
kuey tiao soup

lunch, stick to clear soupy stuff, or white rice with stuff that is obvious no egg type, noodle got egg, dun eat. pasta also got egg. change to kuey tiao or bee hoon, or bee tai mak.

poor C2...
anyway, its beeter to find out so allergen tests no choice...

but remember, its not your fault cos ezcema is commmon in kids...

most important, DO NOT GIVE UP BFEEDING!! try to control your diet and see if situation improves...

mich

no no! i ordered the kids one and its fish oil not cod liver oil.

cellow

i know you will rise up and do everything you can to go on breastfeeding! i just know you can do it! Jiayou!

DD

let me think, after being fixed up, its about 2 levels so maybe about 40-45 cm tall? i am just estimating cos not home physically to measure it hehe!

Cellow, I can imagine the heart pain during the test! But glad that the cause is found. Imagine gg through the tests and all negative? Worst right?

Guess the rest have already given great inputs on non-egg food. checking with my vegan colli, yogurt also can. She take fresh fruits in the morning with a cup of milk! Ok that sounds like a very light breakfast to me. By the time i reach office, sure digested liaoz.

I was just thinking, for things like the don pie, can still eat right? just dun take the egg coz its not mixed into the filling? Not sure if that works? Can make pancake without egg? just milk and flour will it work? hmmm

Btw cedele sells non egg cakes i think so can check it out. My colli says so.

Ok i need some help here. Any one got tips or website/write up on
1) how to interview maid?
2) Sample of duties?

Gg to interview a potential candidate next monday but i haven quite figured out what i have to ask and to take note of.