(2008/07) July 2008

cellow,

*pat pat* hope you are feeling better now. TGIF! Get some shut eye this weekend! and long weekend is round the corner..hang on tight!!!!

"Mummification" -- wat an apt word! I am not sure if I lost myself in the "mummy" world... hmmm....but i think my parents are...they lost their freedom as they are the main caregivers while we work. :p

Side track a bit, any mummies here use dry shampoo for confinement? Can recommend me where to get them? I am trying to see if i can tahan not washing hair... :p

cellow
*sayang*... if my lil ms pui pui were to take on a milk strike i would also be worried lor...
so how long u gonna be away??

dor
LOL on ur talking fast lor...

PB
aiyo... admin asst also so mei da mei siao lor...

batgirl
i bought 2 bottles but in the end i oni used 1 bottle... u wanna take over the unopened bottle frm me?? i got from SGH pharmacy... brand is koray or something... if i can do it u sure can one... just dun let anyone go near ur head... heehee...

batgirl,

ya last time I bought one bottle n it act last thru a mth or more. I got it from the Guardian i think. quite good to use compared to not washing at all!! cos my mum will nag n nag if i wash hair la. this one she cant object

Wow u girls are so good! Really never wash/use dry shampoo? Pei fu! I washed alternate days already bueh tahan! Remember how hot july 08 was? Now weather more cool, lucky for you!

Jsp
Hehe Anya is little mis pui pui?

JSP,

I dun mind! I can take over from you.
I want to try if i can tahan, if cannot, then wash lor.. :p When can I get it from you?

And yes, how is lil Anya? also a miss pui pui?

Drugstore Spree,

Any people here doing the drugstore spree? I want to get some stuff.

cellow
dun worry too much. somehow the kids know how to manage hwen we are not ard. maybe slowly adjust him since there are still a few weeks before your trip? and kids do change pattern once in a while....

PB
how do u involve poppy in your baking hobby? i like to bake too but m always very scared they make a mess....teach me leh.

yeah i realise guys need more me time. even though my hb is not looking after kids full time, he needs his me time still!! so that leaves very little time for the kids....

JSP,

okie okie! Prawn noodles on! next week I am ok from Mon, Weds and Thurs. national day week i am on leave. :D ML will start proper on 20th Sep. but will be clearing AL here and there.

Anybody keen on prawn noodles?

Prawn noodles. Slurp.

SY
I put poppy in the high chair, the big bowl in front of her and let her stir lor. I also ask her to add ingredients like the choc chips.

Or can also do your own thing and give jx some unrelated things (water in cups and flour etc) to pour here, pour there on her own

sayang PB and sayang cellow

dun worry about C2.. he really got lots of reserves..

so drained from work and still have tonnes to plough through arrgh!

prawn noodles where? i want.....

PB
ok i will try to do that. hee, i got 2 kids to entertain so must make sure i give them ' tasks' that they can do.....

guess everyone's out during the weekend!

cin
oh dear whatever got into your helper. er, i cannot volunteer to babysit coz seeing that pomfret does bite her play pals sometimes, but if there is anything else at all.... let me know!

sesame st
those who bought tickets, do we need to buy one for our little ones too? or just for the adults? coz i thought i had to buy for pomfret too, then this guy at the counter said no need. so i'm doubtful. i don't want to bring pomfret there then find that we needed a ticket for her.

DD
is babyG going for the stanchart run too? i feel like going this year! but mr dustee is not so confident of handling pomfret from like 6am - 12pm. and something about picking me up after the run and i would be 'sweaty and wet and stinky?' hmph. hahahah.

mummies and credit card
if you're late in paying and the bank charges you late fees. then you ask them to waive, and they don't waive, do you just move on like normal, or do you show how displeased you are by cancelling the card? citibank did that to me, say they couldn't waive coz it's my second late time this year (first time i was in japan, forgot to pay before i left). just a small issue lah, but set me off thinking about consumer rights and how the banks are leading us by our noses, even after this recent financial mess.

morning everyone

jsp,
only away a week, but still worry. i hafta laugh and cry at myself smtimes...

pb,
this trip, i opened my big mouth to ask my boss to let me go one. initially he was a bit paiseh to ask me to go, but... my teammate is going, so if i dun go, then looks bad on me. i know i know... i asked for it.... go, i worry abt C; dun go, i worry abt my job.
bottomline - i dun know wat i want

prawn noodle meet up
me me for wed!

JSP,

Ok! me on for WEds. Later I walk over and ask Uncle if he will be open on Weds. keke.

Qing mei mei,

Can do Weds? Tues I cannot leh... got a lunch meeting..

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

Date: 4th Aug (Wed)
Time: 12noon ok for you gals?

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP
(3) Cellow

Anybody else?

you gals want the patissier cakes for wed lunch? my treat for C2's first month... ya like real, any reason to eat cake. LOL!

i can just pick them up on my way to lunch.

dustee,
come come for lunch. you know you want cake... hehe. just cancel the citibank card, seriously.

hiya mummies..

my body's aching all over from being a single mom over the weekend (hb on work trip AGAIN) managed to drive around with him alone.. no major fuss in carseat (which I was worried about) but he ended up vomitting all over himself and carseat when he stuffed his face silly with cornflakes! super messy!

prawn noodles.. wasn't tempted.. til i saw PATTISIER cakes! but i still can't make it.. u girls have fun ah!

biz trips: dread being away from the kiddo and dread sleeping in hotel rooms alone! my turn coming up soon too..

DD
Hehe so funny about cornflake boy! Hope he's ok. Where will you be off to? When when? I quite like traveling alone. But then again, wasn't a mum yet

Enjoy heh mee, girls!

DD,

HAH! I also dread sleeping alone in hotel rooms. Always cannot sleep. So really hate travelling. :p

I will be a single mom soon, hubby going on reservist for 3 whole weeks!! siong... especially when wuffy is starting to act up.... hiaz.

Heh Mee,

I already asked the uncle, he say he will be open on Weds!

Cellow,

Wow! Pattiser cakes! If it isnt too much of a hassle, THANKS!!

cellow
heehee... come join us even if u cant get the cakes hor... n TIA for the cakes!!!

batgirl
great... see ya on wed then... am tempted to just take half a day off n go taka bb fair lor... heehee...

Qing
wed u can??

dustee
i will just cancel my card to show them that i mean it. there are some banks that i forgot to pay a few times in a year and they are ok abt waiving it.

DD
hee, jx loves cornflakes too!

jsp
is there taka bb fair? hmm, maybe i shd just go and look look see see

esq
happy birthday in advance! so what is hb getting u??

cin
how was your housemoving? everthing went smoothly?

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy

can give me directions? will prob drive there if i can...

SY
ya... starts on wed... 4 Aug...
the food centre is opp great world... u might wanna park at great world coz very little parking lots there...

Haha, I'm going to eat the corner stall Malay rice... not prawn noodle.

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy
(5) bbp & declan

Sy,
Actually he wanted to get me a chanel that I fancy but some how he decided to get me a watch instead.. I ask him why sudden change.. He mention that my pregnancy this time is very tough so he decided to reward me more...
I was touch..coz I always thought that he didn't know that this pregnancy was toughest among the 3...

Thanks again for your birthday wish

bbp,

The malay rice stall is good! the one you referring to is cooked by chinese indonesians rite?

Rena,

your hubby so sweet. My hubby never reward me with anything leh. Never mind la, as long he helps with the care of the baby at night. heehee!
happy birthday in advance! :D

rena
hurry for wonderful husbands, and happy birthday girl! isn't it amazing you're just 21 and 2 kids and a baby on the way? hehe

heh mee
i love heh meeeeeeee. i don't take it much nowadays, but i should! brings back happy memories of my dad bringing me to heh mee when he was still alive. eh, but then what will i do if pomfret throws one of her diva fits there? sigh.

kiv heh mee first. coz hb work-wise, they are put on shifts now. like tonight he's working 6pm to 8am. boo hoo. so if tues night he has the night shift too, then wed i might have to stay home and get him lunch.

citibank
anyway i'm not a big spender on my card. i don't know why i got so ruffled up over this. heh.

batgirl
oh oh, is mr batman going to be around when your deliver little baby batangel? coz dor-dor hb's was off to reservist when she delivered...er, can't remember she said D or E, and the army gave him ang bao. right dor?

pb
hmm, y'know my previous big boss, also female. i'm not sure what it is about female bosses and power. like somehow once they climb up there, some feel the need to terrorise everyone below to remind them they're the boss. or maybe male subordinates don't show respect. who knows. but if they are determined to take the credit for your work, much as you love the job, you gotta see how upwardly mobile you want to be in the long term.

true about batgirl saying management isn't blind. but, sometimes they just don't look coz they don't think there's anything different to see.

well i guess on my hand i really regretted staying at my previous job for 8 years under that lady boss. coz i had appraisal ratings higher than her pet every single year, yet her pet got promoted 3 times over me. i stayed coz i liked the job scope, i loved my colleagues, but on 20/20 hindsight, it was silly.

prawn noodles - since i am on half days urgent leave this week, I shld def try to make this one
. but bean's school ends at 12 so I will aim to be there b4 1230pm!

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy
(5) bbp & declan
(6) cin_bunny & bean

SY - house move went smoothly despite only my hubby n i managing it..it's the unpacking that's a super chore

Esquare - happy belated bday..take care ya!

congrats to cin moving into new home! take your time to unpack lor.. juz open the important boxes for now hehe..

take beautiful pics of it when you have done it up ok? ;)

a new nursery for sophie & her new little sibling (can't recall.. do you know the gender already?)

dustee,

Mr batman is going to be around when i deliver my batangel. Just in time i think..heehee unless my little princess decides to say hello early which i hope not...

cin

WOW! well done.. and yes i agree unpacking is a horrible chore. I took 2 years to unpack the stuff I had packed away before my renovation. and guess what, the contents in those boxes that were not unpacked eventually gets thrown away. Shows how much junk i have. :p And see you soon at the heh mee gathering!

batgirl
so funny la all your names. batman, batangel... what is wuffy? batboy??

wow you took 2 years to unpack! phew!

dustee
you are so right. i agree - sometimes it's not that top mgmt doesn't see, but that some things are too small for them to raise an eyebrow about. i know for a fact that they see what kind of person she is. perhaps it just doesn't bother them.

for now, just putting on my short term lenses, it is a good place to be at, a good place to work. and since i enjoy the work, i am happy to hang around for a while. but who knows, when the opportunity presents itself, i may get a better offer?

ever since cellow recommended the book 'hardball for women', it has totally changed my perspective of things, on why certain women are always passed up for promotion etc.

happy birthday rena!

hey girls, wanna share something with you.

i had a huge day at work. incredibly busy because got an event tomorrow (and a little cheesed off cos some colleagues were happily chatting away for a long time cos boss wasn't around), came home with lots on my mind but had to rush back in a cab to cook dinner.

got home and the minute i did, i had to stop poppy from trying to walk her 'baby' in the toy stroller vertically on the closed window, and bluebunny was telling me things like milk was on sale today and so were raisins so he bought some. and i could feel this huge mountain of i-dunno-what building up inside me, like i really needed to burst out with i-dunno-what (frustration? irritation?).

like i am thrown from one extreme to another in terms of conversation topics, and my brain just cannot handle it. i took a deep breath and shared that with bluebunny and he asked 'well, what can i do about it?', and truthfully, i didn't know.

i can't tell him not to tell me these things, because that's how his day went. and goodness knows that when i was the stay home parent, i would bombard him with the same topics too because i was craving adult interaction so much.

i just felt at that very moment that i had so many roles to play (work professional, mother, wife, friend...) that i wanted to scream because i'm supposed to be good at all of them.

i wonder if it's just me who is feeling this crazy or does anyone else feel the same?

E Sq, Happy Birthday! Your hb really v v v sayang you!

Citibank
I cancelled my card. Did not like their (lack of) service.

Batgirl
So cute - Batangel! When Halloween comes the whole family can dress up together, hehe.

Cin
Congrats on moving into your own home! Take it easy on the unpacking yah?

PB
No lah, I think you are normal. On the way home you can do the mental switch-over so that you will be in mummy-mode by the time you get home. Bluebunny doesn't have a forum of likeminded daddies to share parenting stuff with, so he has to bombard you with them. And waitaminute, you cook dinner every evening?! Wow!

Youpi
You're right - I usually use the time home to unwind and leave work at work. But yesterday I really had so much to follow up on from home. That's why it was so tough.

No la I don't cook everyday. We take turns. So we each cook maybe 2 times a week, and the remaining days we'll either eat out or have leftovers

Yesterday was cos I was too geh kiang. Wanted to use weekend's leftover rice and soup to make mui fan hehe. At the end of the day, poppy went to bed early and happy, we all enjoyed the mui fan, bluebunny and I became friends again, and I got up in the middle of the night to finish my work.

Phew

Hang in there PB..I do get all irritable and snap snap snap at mr DD at times, too..take deep breaths n try not to do too much if not necessary lor..we r not wonderwoman after all n can't expect perfection in all we do.. Pop a chill pill..I can never have enough of those..being such a kancheong spider

So much that I've been getting regular headaches again n doc prescribed some vit B stress reliever supplements for me duh!

Deep breath now n brace the new day with renewed energy n enthusiasm!

esq
happy birthday in advance ya... join us next time lor...

dustee
come join us if u can... if ur diva decides to throw a tantrum, there r so many of us to help u so no worries... heehee...

cin bunny
congrats on the smooth moving... take ur time to unpack lor... remember dun carry heavy stuffs... n take breaks when needed ya...

PB
*sayang* i also snap at HB at times lor... like when i'm super tired due to lack of slp... n he actually dump the 2 kids on me n go slp... that is when i go super hot with anger... so u r normal... like wat DD said, we r definitely not wonderwoman lor... heehee...

esq,
happy birthday gal! you are so much loved, by all your boys at home

cin,
agree that unpacking is so much more troublesome than packing

pb,
at least you managed to control your temper.
ystday i also geh kiang, tell maid not to cook the simple pasta at aunt's place first. the pasta took a lot longer to cook than i expected. it was Mr C's first day at work and we were still testing out the eveg timing. usually i also use the eveg commute to switch fm work to home mode. but smthing came up at work too and i seriously doubt my own ability to handle it without my teammate and boss (both happily on leave). my blain like macam not working after C2's birth, think sleep deprived as well la.

so. last night we had a late dinner - hungry me, hungry Mr C and hungry C1, who was acting up. plus dracula C2 was sucking me dry bcz still on bottle strike, drink leeeeetle bit fm bottle thro the day, and clamp onto mummy in the evening.

i was not bathed, C2 had spit up on me, i was still in my work clothes, so cnnt lie down on my bed to latch lest i dirty the bed. there i was sitting on the bedroom floor w C2 on me, and listening to C1 outside occasionally getting a 'WHY ARE YOU SO ANGSTY?' from Mr C.... my poor elder boy.

it ws not a good evening.

but this morning Mr C and I are frens again after we had dropped off maid+C2 at aunt's and C1 at school. precious little time we have alone tog, so both of us are making the effort NOT to tk it out at each other.

every morning feels like an episode of the Amazing Race. the difference is that this race has NO prizes for completion, you have to do it all over again tmr, and penalties are in the form of frayed tempers.

.... hey i havent read the book 'hardball for women' that i recommended to you yet. perspective-changing ah? must go and borrow fm library then!

Thank you for all the birthday wishes.. Yap indeed I am blessed .. At least hb knows how much I have suffered .. Tho heart pain that he is buying the watch for me coz I already have 1 of the same brand but he insist so ok lor.. I am no watch lover so rather spend that 8-9k on a holiday plus shopping..
but how to go travel without the kids?? So have to forgo my holiday..

batgirl
erm... HB on MC for today and tomolo so i'll be taking half day leave to go gai gai with him... can we shift the lunch to thurs instead???

heh mee mummies
can we do it on thurs instead?? any objections??

PB, Youpi,

the cute little names were contributed by dustee.. heehee.. she really has a good sense of humour..

Cellow,

I think I will also get very angsty soon.. 2 kids seems to be a culture shock. oppsy... fear of the unknown is creeping back to me..

Cellow
Sayang sayang. I also wonder how I would manage amazing race with 2 kids. No, not preg, just wondering. How to manage with 2 kids...

Congrats to Mr C on starting work!

Yes it's a great book. Esp helpful cos I read it after 19 months of SAHMdom. It's by pat heim. I think only central library has it

Rena
Wow 8-9k on a watch! Gulp. Calculating how many tins of milk I can buy with that. Hehe. Me too, would rather go for a holiday!

dustee
citibank never fails to waive it off for me.
but my hubby dislike their service.

lunch
On la...
Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy
(5) bbp & declan
(6) cin_bunny & bean
(7) qing - thursday also can

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy
(5) bbp & declan - thur also can
(6) cin_bunny & bean

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

Date: 5th Aug (Thurs can??)

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP - Thurs on??
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy
(6) cin_bunny & bean

esq
your hb so sweet!! at least he appreciates u! very nice of him

PB
i guess this is something that happens when one party stays at home. sometimes hb will comment on the lack of topics that we have since i started staying at home. so easy to slip into this mode of telling him the mundane stuff but like what u say, that's how the day went. but great that u and bluebunny still try yoru best to communicate and be best frens again.

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

(1) Batgirl
(2) JSP - Thurs on??
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy - ok
(6) cin_bunny & bean

cin
your new helper here already?

jx keeps falling sick cos of sch/weather...i dunno what!!??!! how? now m thinking of switching her to half day but if i switch her to half day, jh may wan to come home also. and he does demand A LOT of attention at home. more than jx does. the games that he wants to play, only the 2 of us can play, the things that he wants to do, only the 2 of us can do together....so how?

re amazing race
i like that...it's really a race man....before jx came along, i kept asking if i work how to maange 2 kids. i dun ahve a hands on hb, no extended family help, dun really like kids to be with helper all the time....etc etc. so in the end stay at home to look after them. but i find that when i m at home, i am always trying to keep to a schedule so that they dun sleep too late...haha. very bad hor.

anyway just to share. yesterday saw an article in Today. tot it's great. it says that kids are not any worse off when mummies go back to work in the first year! i guess that sat my mind at ease abt working and leaving the kids after staying at home with them for 2 years. i do wonder whether the kind of care they receive will be worse but kids are really adaptable.

now i just need jx to stop falling sick. really heart pain.....

JSP,

I ok for thurs!

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

(1) Batgirl - Thurs ok!
(2) JSP - Thurs on??
(3) Cellow
(4) Sy - ok
(6) cin_bunny & bean

SY,

Wuffy is also sick. has been sick for the past mth!!
I know what you mean... heart pain... hiaz

Prawn noodle @ Zion Road

Date: 5th Aug (Thurs)

(1) Batgirl - Thurs ok!
(2) JSP - Thurs ok
(3) Cellow -Thurs okie with u???
(4) Sy - ok
(6) cin_bunny & bean