(2008/07) July 2008

sayang cellow... hope you find a way to "un-influence" Mr C from being influenced by Mr C-mom. maybe its just the maid thingy which, in everyone's eyes, deserves to be sent home mah...

jace, welcome to eboy's club loh.. everyday don;t drink milk one loh.. so its spoon feeding in the morning and afternoon. twice only. sigh sigh sigh.... nowadays lunch or dinner is cooked with milk also lah... no choice loh...

Digging out my old shakespeare

"The quality of mercy is not strain'd.
It droppeth as the gentle rain from heaven
Upon the place beneath. It is twice blest:
It blesseth him that gives, and him that takes."

I believe in what goes around comes around. Also not to push pple to the wall, lest they become desparate, and it breaks their minds.

WAH, I am so cheem literary! hehe.
Mr C was swayed to my way of thinking already ytd at the agent's. Pls pls pls dun sway back to the other side.
MIL is not a bad person. She just really kan bu shun yan this maid's bhvrs.

Mich, spoon feed does not work too. she keep saying wo bu yao and either push the spoon/bottle/cup away then use her hands to cover her mouth! -_-""

its just weird coz she suddenly became like this these few days. sigh yah lo got to find replacement for calcium ...

oh dear, sayang jace and mich on respective milk strike club!

do your todds 'dun yike' anything?
mine suddenly decided to 'dun yike' the flags fluttering in the wind. Mr C told him, if you dun like, dun see. so once C1 reaches the void deck, which is all peppered w flags for national day, his hands go up over his eyes.

such strange patterns my 2yo has.

cellow
congrats on new maid. actually my hb is like that also. he always agst maid transfer. he will send maid back. as he puts it, he dun wan anymore trouble. u never know what the maids will be up to.

dun let the maid suspect anything. only tell them abt any hour before u pack her off. is agent coming to pick her or u sending her off? for those who may make a scene, i usually get agent to pick. just pay extra for them to pick. with agents ard, they dun dare to be funny.

bbp
yes lunch lunch! but i can't make it tmr!

jacelyn
some kids go thru milk strike. maybe after a few days will be ok. meanwhile, load up on cheese, yogurt etc.....

Cellow,
If I get pissed off enough about pple poking their noses into what i deem as my territory, I will say in a end-of-discussion tone, "I will do what I deem fit."
Everything nowadays is contrary Dec. He says yes but whines, says no but does what I ask him to. He also says he's scared of the bus, car, moon, bus stop. So I say aye aye to very strange patterns these 2yr-olds have.

Jace,
Change cup? Change straw? Even better, try giving out of the strangest stuff you can think of. As I told Michelle, the weirdest stuff I did was to invert Dec's teat and bottle cap and let him drink out of a straw from there.

Poppy also went thru milk strike recently but I think that fluctuates. At one point she was drinking so much that it scared us. Just after birthday, like growth spurt liddat. Full dinner, 240 milk and still asked for more AND FINISHED IT! Wah.

Cheese, yoghurt, any form of dairy, just pile it on them!

Jace
Don't worry. If she can just sleep like that, she should be not hungry lor. Have u tried diff cup/ setting? Sometimes poppy will not want to drink from bottle on bed but will settle for cup, straw, tv

Funny things that toddler don't like
Lol at C1's flag flapping dislike. Poppy's pet peeve now is "no star!". Hmm.

wow lots of ideas here. ok i tried putting milk in her mag mag - no; nice looking strawberry short cake cup - no; nice looking barney cup - no; normal milk bottle - no; normal milk bottle + straw sticking through the teat - no; spoon feeding - no ... errrm what else? Lying down - no; sitting on bed with mickey mouse cartoon - no; sitting on chair with barney cartoon - no ...
ok these are ALL the ideas we came up with ... pretty impressive right? But we still get the 'wo bu yao' answer ... very faintz right?

I just called my mum .. the weird thing is she dun want milk but she take poriddge like hungry ghost ... so i really cannot tell if she is hungry or not. sianz!

Ok i will go stock up on yoghurt. Anything else? Cheese my mum's house got. Is yoghurt drink good?

Seriously hor, feel like a slave to little princess xun! And she very li hai one lo. She will bluff us. Put the straw/teat in her mouth, DUN SUCK! So in the end drink 10 ml after 10 mins of slave jace holding on to the cup/bottle. Damn chamz!

bbp,
heh, i m almost tempted to say that, but i m not THAT pissed off
this kind of response would only make my MIL put me in the same 'mei da mei xiao' category as the maid. so cannot.
i m the good DIL remember. i listen to my elders. oooooohhhmmmmmmm.
must work on Mr C.
ya scared scared scared of anything... even those things that to adult eyes are not scary.

jace,
hahaha! fellow slave cellow hi-5! my little prince says 'i dowan, i dowan' and yes put the drinking cup into his mouth, dun drink! throat not moving at all.

Haha yup I have also done that. Sit there until my arm ache, one hand hold bottle, one hand hold straw, mouth coaxing "drink your milk", eyes afixed on the lips/throat of the queen, whose eyes will be fixed on tv

Or sometimes she is jumping around and I am running after her with straw, she comes over and let's her lips brushh on straw then bounces off...

Wow jace, you really have tried so many drinking options! Hehe. I feel the yoghurt drink too sweet for them. I gave once to poppy by mistake. Slurped it all up then I realised. Yoghurt, the small yoplait cups are a big hit but so ex :S

If anyone wants to consider, I put milk in my muffin recipe and poppy does eat it

Cellow,
I already kinda give up being the good dil. I figured, if I'm making everybody else happy, who is making me happy? Aah, as you can see, much angst hidden below the happy bbp. So I'm only going to be as good as my limit allows me to be, which is a lot lower than yours as I can tell.

Jace,
Directly drinking from the cup? Potentially messy situation but better than not drinking right? Yup, I did that before too.

PB,
Yes! There was this instant where Dec drank double his milk intake before nighttime sleep. I happily give!

Banana choc chip muffin

* 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
* 1/2 cup white sugar (I used less)
* 1 tablespoon baking powder
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips (I used hersheys)
* 1 egg
* 1/4 cup vegetable oil
* 1/4 cup milk
* 1 cup mashed bananas

Directions

1. Measure flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and chocolate chips into a large bowl. Mix thoroughly, and make a well in the center.
2. Beat the egg in a small bowl until frothy. Mix in cooking oil, milk, and bananas. Pour mixture into the well. Stir only to moisten. Batter will be lumpy. Fill greased muffin cups 3/4 full.
3. Bake at 400 degrees F (205 degrees C) for 20 to 25 minutes.

haha! I think all our toddlers are exhibiting new behaviors! Mine is simply refusing to bathe. Have to bluff with him with so many gadgets in the bathroom before he lets you take off his shirt!! I have brought coins (he simply lurves his money), sand pail, shovel, sieve, his dinosaurs, his trucks, cars.. soon i think I will have to bring in pots and pans... hiaz. Was somebody suggesting a creativity award for mummies? I second that!! haha

ok going home now... my mother just said he is refusing to bathe again... hiaz.... have to start thinking wat to bluff him again...

Very happy 'cos just made a deadline, yay!!!

DD
LOL!!! That list made my day :D

Holly
L says thank you pretty aunty for the b'day wishes!

Worksheets
Wow on hardworking mummies and babies. This one here still hanging out only. Speaking of which... >>

Weekly playgroup
Anyone interested? Some of us tried before but it did not work out then. I am thinking of a proper structured one now, with storytelling, craft, phonics, maybe one word in Mandarin or Malay per session. Two hours, once a week. I am happy to host if you don't mind coming all the way to my place.

Maids
I am learning a lot about maids and maid problems here. Should I ever want to hire one - very unlikely - at least I will know what to look out for. Cellow all the best with maid #2. At the end of the day you are the employer and she is the employee. I guess if you keep the relationship strictly professional, it should be okay.

SY
Wow a car! I also thought that you already have one? Or now both you and hb each have one? Happy driving!

Bbp
Your ILs also good lah, give you iphone. I can wait till the cows come home.

Toddlers who 'chu pattern'
Isn't it wonderful? They're all becoming little individuals right before our eyes! It can be frustrating at times, but it's mostly hilarious right?

C1 & flags
I bought two cheapo S'pore flags for the boys and they have fun flapping it around. We also made our own. So L is okay with flags.

Drinking water
I let him hold the water bottle himself. And he will drink if he sees us drinking so we all drink together.

Mummy slaves
You are the bestest!!!

bbp,
i m older than you. (call me jiejie - haha)
the couple of yrs help to stretch the limit.

youpi,
hmmmmm.... tis funny, this maid employer relationship... cannot b strictly professional as she is dealing w my children, and my home. not comparable to offc.
hope you dun ever hv to hire one!
so true - "They're all becoming little individuals right before our eyes! It can be frustrating at times, but it's mostly hilarious right? "

mini rant on maids (since it's a "hot"topic this week. yesterday morn, i asked my maid what were some funny items in the freezer and she replied she did nt know..and i told her b4 tt the kitchen is her teritory (cos i dont cook) so how can she nt know what's the item..she got all upset and even raised her voice at me.

i went out to pick bean from school and when i came bk, she was all packed up and said want to go bk to myanmar..so i tried to talk some sense to her (asking her nt to be so emotional/irrational) but she still insisted, made me call up agent and travel agency to find flight back..and then she left me with bean and went off to peninsula plaza to get her ticket.

cut long story short, she left today..leaving me in a lurch. i am moving house this weekend and no help to watch bean. thankfully boss allowed me to take urgent leave so i am only working half days for the next 2 weeks till in laws come over to help.

sob sob sob. hubby thinks maid is heartless - i kinda agree. anyway, she arrived safely bk and called just now to say hi .

anyway, due to work , house move, being 5.5 mths preggy etc, am going to bite the bullet and get transfer maid..so cellow, am on the maid hunt as well.

cin,
WOW!.. ur maid.. really heartless. what's wrong with maids nowadays ah? tt's the reason why i really resist to get a maid even though my in laws n parents are asking me to do so.

cellow, JSP,
how's work?! so fast ML over already. n I am still.. 5.5mths preggy. seems like so long........

pb,
thanks for the recipe. will try out someday nx week. hurhurhur...

Bosco gave his didi a nickname!! he nicked bbC, Xiao Ding Dang. LOL!! Just coz I always hug this Doraemon pillow in the car to protect the tummy from the safety belt. LOL!!

I need help
Any babies here drinking Friso gold with p2 dual system?

I'm buying Barney show ticket. And I need 3 receipt for the 20% discount.

Present proof of receipt of any Friso Gold with P2 Dual System 900g tin* dated from 23 Jul 2010 onwards for discount on a single (1) Barney Space Adventures ticket.

Pm me... Thanks!!!

Cin! Wow your helper! Really no words to describe. I thought overall she's quite ok one? The fridge incident triggered this? Man, that's serious! Good luck with your hunt!

Gee all this domestic helper talk is scary. I hope I will never need one. I mean, never need to get one
all your experiences and my own 5 week experience enough liao. Not only was it awkward between helper and us, it was also awkward between husband and I. No point arguing over outsider.

Toddler chut pattern
I agree, hilarious! Sometimes so frustrated with the things she wants to do/not do but have to laugh also cos it's so funny. Sometimes, she insists must wear particular shoes, must sit on the steps halfway up to our house (and "mama sit!")

Youpi
Yay congrats on meeting deadline! Will we see your work soon?

Speaking of work
I recently handled a project that received quite high publicity. Apparently BOD like it and guess who claimed all the credit, and did not share a shred? Yup, my boss. And she happily agreed to BOD that we should do that project more often so technically, a part of my work has DOUBLED

Don't protect her team from firing squad is ok and expected. But to cross over to the other side and shove us to the dogs to get chewed upon? Wow. Just call me Dog Food. Dog Food Tan

No words can describe her. Oh wait, many words can describe her. Just that no one word is powerful enough

Eh, cin, she just packed and left???? I remembered you mentioned she had homesick in the beginning? Maybe she jus needed a little trigger to give excuse for her to go back!!! Tsk tsk, her pay how? And she dare to say she loves bean so much she will do everything for her!!! Tsk tsk tsk! Don't believe it!!!

Sayang pb. Hope you get your dream job one day!! Soon!!

Cin
Wow I'm speechless with your helper. Hope you can manage well with the pregnancy and house moving.

Holly
Bosco is so cute naming didi Xiao Din Dang. Lols

PB
I know exactly what you mean. My boss also claimed the credit with my recent project, and when the BOD complimented him, he did mentioned that it's all team work, crediting person A and B but didn't mentioned me. And I'm like the person who handled everything. Tsk tsk. After that I got sick of doing this thing and felt like quitting.

Emma locked herself in the room. My mom was panicking. lucky we have spare key. When we got in she got so scared cuz she couldn't open the door and vomitted all over the floor. Poor girl. After the incident we told her to lock the door again. I think she learned her lesson. She refused to even close the door and touch the lock nor the handle. keep saying No door, no door lols. Becareful mummies, cuz our precious kids are very curious at this stage. At least Emma is. She wants to try everything and want to explore a lot of places which she didn't even notice before.

Sd
lucky your mum has the spare key. jh ever did lock himself before but he was older then and we told him to just turn the knob. very scary the things kids do now!

holly
hee, if didi is named xiao din dang, jx will love him!!!

PB
oh really sian to meet such bosses. dun they understand that if their subordinates quit, they wd also be in trouble....

cin
oh dear, just left like that? so u looking for one now?

think nowadays helpers have more attitude. my mum's one attitude ok but then also cannot say too much one. and cos she so used to her good life of not doing much work, she has some problems handling now. of cos we giving her time to adjust but hope she won't black face at the work load increase!

afterall we did increase her pay by quite a fair bit....

youpi
yeah so hb driving one and i will drive one to ferry kids. parents are the best!

batgirl
oh dear, there was a period of time when jh also refused to bathe when he was younger. really trying time. cos every time must struggle with him or coax him.....

jx dun have this problem but she dun like to wash her hair still!

Cin,

WOW! your helper is really one kind!! I think she wants to "escape" from all the impending work. She probably would have paid off her loan already + a bit more, so she wants to run back home. Heartless. But then again, no point keeping a heartless maid with you. Good luck on your maid hunt, I also recently just got a transfer maid for my mum to care for my grandmother... no choice, puasa month is impending, very few maids will be coming out of indo.

LOL on PB on being "Dog Food"!! On the positive side, at least you enjoy your work.
I always believe management is not stupid. A incompetent person will soon show their true colours. Your efforts will be recognised in due course.. just have to bide your time...

Cellow,

good luck on your maid hunt too. on interfering MILs, unfortunately, from my experience, have to close both eyes. My MIL stayed with me for 7 years before she passed on, to live a long life, really have to shut eyes and shut ears. Your MIL is not going to stay with you long term right?

Holly,

LOL, lil bosco is so cute. My wuffy ah, sigh, talk to him about mei mei, he act blur and turn away.

batgirl,
is okie. wuffy is going to meet meimei very very very soon!

sy,
jx like doraemon too? bosco love doraemon tt's y he name didi xiao ding dang. LOL!

helper - yes. could nt believe she cld be soo heartless! i told her, u know how much bean loves u and how much we need you for the next few days (or until we get another helper) but yet u still insist to go home like the next day. she can even say to me : if i go home tomorrow, will you be angry? $^%&&^&*

and my poor bean..whole day repeat to herself : no mone aunty ko. aunty ko sit fei ji (plane) go back myanmar already. no come back. (heart shatters!)

actually i didnt know (cos 1st time employer ma) but we can actually insist tt she stay until we say she can go cos her 2 yr contract with us is not up..sigh, so silly!!

good news (or at least i hope it is) - signed a transfer helper over lunch
. spoke to her current employer who only had gd things to say about her (very rare right??) anyway, if all goes well..next week i will have help again..yippee!

one nice thing about this experience is that i actually get to spend soo much time with bean (cos i take every afternoon off work)..ánd it's really fun

favour - anyone has any part time helper contacts? PM me oki? gam sia!!

sayang Pink Doggy...woof ;)

cin
what's the reason for the transfer for the maid?

hope u have a good helper soon.

actually most of the agency will tell the maid to stay till u get replacement. did your agent ask the maid to stay?

holly
yes jx loves doraemon. i have lots of doraemon stuff at home....i have a 22 DVD set, a big stuff toy, doraemon small fan, doraemon pillow, anything doraemon, i will try to buy. i have the toothbrush and cup set too...haha

michelle
hmmm, what kind of problems? my hb sometimes also say he has staff problems...like staff not motivated, not efficient etc etc......yours something like that?

PB
thanks. will check later.

so funny, everyone changing your nick. soon u won't be PB but PD.... :p

CIN! OMG! idiot helper! leave you in the lurch. poor bean..... haiya offline ystday so din read this.

batgirl,
eh no, i dun think she will stay w us long term. she has her own frens and things to do in msia. heng arrh.

pink doggy,
hang in there. truth will eventually out. pple are not blind, or at least, they cannot be blinded for long.

holly
yes i heard abt the shop! but haven go there yet. there was once i brought jx to this shop at RP and they sell some doraemon stuff. she was holding on to the things and refuse to leave until i bought something. in the end, guess what i bought? a doraemon mouse pad! it was teh cheapest thing i cd find!

I just saw the news on the terror plot to bomb Orchard MRT station. OMG.

Hello and woof! to PB.

Cin_bunny
Good that you have found some fun - spending afternoons with Bean - in the midst of maid terror. Hang in there!

After 4.5 years of housewifing, I am feeling rather mummified. Literally. Sometimes it's as if the real me has been trapped in wrappings of mummyhood and I don't know who I am outside of this role... aiyoh gotta run and pick #1 up from school now!

don't know if I should worry.. but I've lost all interest to be myself or who I used to be.. all I think of is bbG and stuff for him/around him.. and I'm just his mummy now...

should i be sad or happy?

proper playgroup among ourselves.. actually I'm still keen leh.. but don't know what time I can make for it now that sat mornings are his JG classes.. which I find not very very fantastic (really depends on the teachers huh)

JG mummies... can I ask if you know whether we can switch classes for better teachers? or if we continue to sign up, we just follow the same group with the same teachers all the way?

DD, ask to join another class with teachers with good review. I joined make up class conducted by another group of teachers and helpers and its not as good. Its really very teacher dependent.

DD
it's pretty normal to feel that way. need a conscious effort to do things for our own self. maybe take up some hobby?

michelle
where u bring eboy for tennis?

forum was down last few days for our thread? how did u all manage to come in?

i also got elmo tkts from my elder cc... cheaper than getting from sistic.

cin,
If you need emergency baby sitting services, let me know... you can drop soph at my place. But I must warn you that there is major reno going on outside my house. PUB/NEA covering their drains plus house opposite undergoing reno too.

youpi,
Even after 2 years of SAHM, I feel the same way. That I am first and foremost a mother, and sometimes only a mother... not even a wife. But I've recently picked up a hobby... baking! My ILs bought an oven last week, but after 2 rounds of baking... my mixer died
So I'm not baking unless I feel like giving my right biceps some exercise.

hi bbp - thanks for the offer..cellow and esquare also offered..i am soo toucheeeddd
. will def let you kind mummies know if i need emergency bbsitting services!

youpi - yes, am pretty happy just hanging out with bean..she makes me laugh..hehe. today we did laundry and she held on to hubby's work shirt and said, spiderman mummy (dont know where she figured out about these costume characters) so i put on hubby's work shirt on her and she happily pranced around in her "spiderman" costume.

one more day of packing to go (and not looking fwd to the many days of unpacking :p)

SY - maid agency did nt tell or advise me anything
. reason for transfer..long story so tell u when we meet

Rainy day...
so nice to sleep in..

haven been able to post cos kayden been sick since mOnday..

haiz..

Poor cin bunny and bean..
she's very attached to your helper ah..
but least this period of time she would be close to you... enjoy... i wish i can work half day too..

Sigh. Just kena-ed by boss again. The way she wants me to work, I almost felt like saying "then you shd hv hired a fresh grad"

Thanks for ur support girls

garfield,
i bookmarked in internet explorer and added to my favourites. so that i can always come in

literal mummification (or cellow just = C1 and C2’s mum)
that my dear frens is sooooo true. I dun have time to think abt my own hobbies or interests anymore.

off topic (since it relates to C2 budden....)
i m sooooooo tired today. something at work came in on wed evening (so i saw it only ystday morning) that i absolutey have to finish ystday.

so i finished it and was drained by end of day.
and C2 picked last night to b angsty and wake up 3x to feed. i wanna kill myself already, so tired.

this morning only managed to pump 200ml, one third less than my usual *super sulk*
and boss tells me have to go to chennai in sep *more super sulk* and C2 is still doing the reverse cycling, everyday drink twice at most 3x in the day and wait for me to come home at night to latch. liddat how to fang xin when i go to chennai in sep
*graduates to WAIL*

hmm

but bbs change patterns like they change diapers rite. C2 ah C2, can you pls eat more (frequency as well as volume) during the day so that mummy doesnt have to worry abt you?

-logic tells me that i need not worry, C2 pui pui got plenty of reserves-

BUT I STILL WORRY!!!!

bwahahahaha. i m going mad.

Being Me
Yah hard to be yourself when you have alot of things to think of and ppl who need to be looked after.
I'm still trying to pursue my hobbies and interest. But of cos they come at a price. Either I sew or knit or crochet or use the come or cook or mop the floor or clear the toys or fold the clothes or bath the dog. The last few doesn't sound very interesting huh and I have to see the kids mood and my own mood n the condition of the hse at the moment.
And I always have too much on my plate cos I think faster then I work......hahaha
And then I have to feel guilty of spending time doing my stuff when I could have been doing something else with the kids, worse if they got hurt while I was not paying 100% attention on them.
But for my own sanity once in awhile have to indulge in doing something that makes me happy.....even if it only makes me happy for 2 days. Actually even mopping the floor makes me happy cos the floor looks soooooo white and clean....haha

Hack I've been told by my son n nephew that I talk VERY FAST. LOL
N it got me thinking..........that maybe I've been so deprived of adult sensible talking or I always get interrupted that I have learnt the skill of talking very fast jus to talk MORE???

Lol on dor's explanation of talking fast!

Cellow
Wow 600ml. My ex 2 days worth! Haha. Maybe even 3 days. Yikes - any chance of switching with colleagues and going for a later trip instead?

Girls, 7 and 8 aug got free activities at sentosa palawan beach 10am to 4pm. See www.cookoff.com.sg

Our admin asst just told me "I don't think you can last here very long". Oh great. I feel like I'm a hamburger patty. Boss is top bun, admin asst is bottom bun, both telling me what rubbish I am.

"Yippee"

BUT. The strange thing is that this is all not bothering me at all. People can say whatever I want but I know I am a responsible, independant, creative and hardworking adult.

I just hope the right people know it.

So, about losing identity... Like bbp, I like to bake too and recently got an oven. Becos time is so limited, I involve poppy in my hobby. So I can do what I enjoy doing, without sacrificing time with her.

But still, must try to go for a "me" thing once a month. Or once every 6 weeks. Like a facial or sth.

A bit hard cos now that its bluebunny looking after poppy, he kinda needs "me (he)" time more. So he gets to go out and do alone things more. For me, I count my traveling time to/from work as me time as well. Sad I know, but what to do. Only 24 hours in a day

After poppy sleeps, if we're not too tired, we try to watch a movie or tv show. We're still CSI fans so we enjoy an episode or two on most nights