(2008/07) July 2008

Received call from eboy's school that the little boy got "crushed" between two elder boys in school and his chin, somewhere right below his eye, is bruised.
No idea how serious but my heart is so painful!!
wish I could go home now!! Boo Hoo Hoo...

Lasik, me! did in 2004. but mine a bit more complex because i had very bad eyesight (>1000 degrees on each eye :p) so i did 2 times. The 2nd time its called enhancement. and because of the complexity, + my not so thick cornea, it cost me abt 5k that time ...

but its still the best time i have ever done!
think eye sight not quite perfect now but still almost there! haha

Michelle, i can understand how u feel!! hope ethan is fine!

Lasik! Me too. Same feeling as Michelle! haha

year: 2004
fee: $2800 for both eyes @ Singapore Eye CEntre
recovery: < 1 day
no pain! (although the process is quite gross but think of the perfect eyesight, all is worthwhile!)

Wow! So many going for lunch tomorrow, hiaz, I cannot make it again. Got meetings peppered throughout the day.

PB,

My boy would wail if we turned off the lights too. We have table lamps, he has learnt to turn them himselves when we turn off the main lights. I guess he is not alone in this "scared of dark" phase.

Lol batgirl, scarly in feb 2004 me and you were sitting side by side waiting for our turn to LASIK!! Hee...

Night light
Eboy sleeps with night light on. If they sleep alone, I think that prevents them from tripping over their toys at midnight.

Lasik
Wow so many people have done it. I wanted to for the longest time but never did! Jace, do you have astigmatism? My myopia is v bad, my astig is also v bad. So I don't know whether it can be done or not.

DD
Train table: try that toy shop at the basement of Tanglin Mall.

Scaredy cats
Oh yes I think there is a phase. #1 used to be all fine and dandy with thunderstorms when he was a baby, then when he turned two or so he became terrified of them. And then after a while it became no big deal again.

i'm now trying to find a place that would accept installments :p heard some paragon clinics do. seems all of you went to eye centre! my friend who used to work at eye centre also did it there. guess they are the most reputable.

michelle
did you ask the teacher how eboy got 'crushed' between the older kids? how is he? sayang sayang!

dustee
when are you moving out again? hope that it will be fast fast!

girls, i got something to share. this evening when we got home, i opened the mailbox. i have a habit of opening mail at the mailbox and hub doesn't like that cos i am then slow to climb the stairs and block his way. but that's what i did today. there was an envelope with my house's address, no recipient name. i opened it and there was a piece of textured paper in it. i thought it was a birthday invitation or what.

sh*t, it was a piece of h*ll money, with the words "O$P$ #_-___" scribbled on it. the unit number was my downstairs neighbour's.

i suspect all the other neighbours also got a note. we read about this in the papers, about how neighbours are often 'attacked' to pressure the person who borrowed money right? i never thought it would happen to me lor and hope and pray this is the last of it.

i was scared sh*tless and threw everything into the neighbour's mailbox

thank god #1 that i opened it outside my house and thank god #2 i did not pass the letters to poppy like i usually do when i open the mailbox with her.

*i'm re-getting the shivers just telling you girls*

i hope none of you have ever encountered this before but if it's happened to someone you know, could you share what they did? i've called the police and told them "sorry i don't know what you can do but i also don't know what i can do" and they said they will step up patrol in our area. what else can i do?

next house, must make sure there is more than one escape route and must make sure to check out neighbours. scared scared, esp for baby's safety.

i am not overly religious but tonight is the first time i taught poppy to pray.

re lunch
what time are we meeting?

jx fell sick after one week in sch!!! had fever over the weekend.
think it was viral and then she starting having rashes today. poor thing. hope can go back to school tmr cos she seems to be afraid of going to sch again. when i brought her along to pick up jh, she cried when she saw the teachers....haiz

PB
that sounds terrible...hope that your family will be safe and won't be affected. btw, have you transferred for iherb? let me know.

re afraid of dark
jh is very scared of dark but jx is not. i find that most #1 seems to be scared of most things. jh will be scared when there's thunder, loud sounds etc. whereas jx will say she is scared but more like for show only...and she is not scared to go off into the dark.

Youpi, yup i had astig as well. think it was pretty high too. thats how spoilt my eyes were and they were really half the size of what they are now because they were hidding behind thick glasses! Cannot buy over the counter contact lenses too, got to customise made. thats how bad.

Well i didnt do mine at eye centre. did mine with a doc at mount E but machine was using Asia medic's.

PB, recently my colleague's house got splashed with paint because her neighbour owed loanshark $... scary. ask bluebunny to keep a look out for suspicious characters loitering around!!

Youpi, yup i had astig as well. think it was pretty high too. thats how spoilt my eyes were and they were really half the size of what they are now because they were hidding behind thick glasses! Cannot buy over the counter contact lenses too, got to custom made. thats how bad.

Well i didnt do mine at eye centre. did mine with a doc at mount E but machine was using Asia medic's.

PB, recently my colleague's house got splashed with paint because her neighbour owed loanshark $... scary. ask bluebunny to keep a look out for suspicious characters loitering around!!

PB
Aiyeeee so scary!! I hope that's the end of it.

SY
My case is opp lor. D is not afraid of most things n I find it easy to make him not afraid of new things. I jus have to act like its really nothing to be afraid of and he will feel like that too. But then E is afraid of EVERYTHING. Anything new she will be afraid 1st then decide later. N this D like to learn from mei mei lor.
Until when we go to my inlaw hse E jus hide behind my legs while the vocal D will declare....I scared..........sighhhhhh

Night lights
We always have 1 on when we switch off the lights. Sort of our routine cos once my hubby leaves for work, I will switch on the nightlight n off the lights. N everybody gets into their bed and no more talking till they both sleep. And I do my stuff or read with the nightlight and will switch it off when we sleep.

I have something called the tykelight which I will use when D wakes while we are going to bed n will switch off the nightlight. Cos it has a 15mins timer and the light will gradually get dimmer n dimmer till it switches off after 15mins.

BbG's not afraid of the dark..when I turn off all lights n even draws the curtains to make it pitch dark, he goes on talking n playing on the bed til he konks out!

But someone mentioned tripping over toys..r they on toddler beds already? BbG still sleeping in bb cot! Dunno how to fit a bed in my room..

LASIK..got tempted again but after hearing the attempts that didn't work made me chicken out again..so got a new pair of hard lens n a pair of specs instead

thanks Youpi..will check out tanglin mall..love wooden toys!

Me n dustee joining (with our kiddo i helping her to add in coz she cant acess to the page)

Oh yeah wat time is the lunch ??
who meeting at mrt station i wannn meet there n walk together.............

kko kko nara
57 Tras Street

14 Jul
1. michelle
2. smiggle
3. doggiebb
4. Jacelyn - can i meet someone at the MRT???
5. cin_bunny
6. qing (don leave me out la.)
7. sy
8. JSP &amp; lil Anya
9. cellow n c2
10. Serene n K
11. dustee n M

woo hoo, today so big group, confirmed we going to "TEAR THE HOUSE DOWN! " hee hee... see you all later...

PB, yuks, so scary! glad you called the police. think they need to know about such things, TV also got show.. last time when i used to stay at your estate, everyday see ppl splash paint. in fact, i think i helped my neighbour's wife paint the red $$$ signs off when I was very young.. without knowing what it was all about.. haha..

oh, eboy's bruise is not serious lah. apparently, he was was just sitting down, and two boys were just running around, and both fell onto him. one of the boy's head hit his chin and it was a little red yesterday... poor thing, must have been such a fright for him....

woohooo

full untilllllllllllll! all the little babies so cuteee! ahh! that baby smell! Nearly baby-napped JSP's little sweetie just now! and C2 is really little michelin...so lurveee! Cellow's milk really power!!!

I was in the super crowded lift and I STINK! smell of fried chix and hotpot (as i was just seated right in front of the hotpot and the hot wind was just blowing into me).. imagine a living deep-fried+kimchi smelling black-dressed women standing in the crowded lift.

PUt tonnes of perfume and I STILL STINK!!!

but but but it was so worth it cos, the food is sooo goood! I like!!!!!!

going there with Mr Mich tomorrow!!

Seeing the babies remind me that i will see mine sooooonnnnnn... Anya is so ladylike! Clement is like a michelin, as what doggiebb described (pretty much different from C1)! And i havent seen Kacey, Ember and Melissa for a long time... and they are all so grown up already! Time flies ah!

wah such a big group.. did you girls n babies have loads of fun?? tore the tiny place down with your loud laughter and which baby got to sit on the one and only baby chair? hahaha

korean lunch
sorry pomfret was such a whiny and grouchy child. sigh

pb
gosh that is so scary! don't suppose you wanna install a security camera at your door? oh i didn't know they would harass the neighbours of the one who owes money. oh gosh. oh gosh.

and if lucky i might move out by christmas. if not... er, mb cny 2011.

michelle
i'm quite tempted by dor's suggestion and yours too. but but but. an eye for an eye, the world will go blind. a tear for a tear, will the house flood? trying to really really not let her affect me. but so tough.

lasik
the best use of $4K back in 2003. but but but, i was a rare case, and i had a bit of a complication (i had some genetic thing where the membrane covering my eyes are 'loose', so after the lasik i had to wear 'contacts' to flatten my flap. but it's like a 0.01% incidence lah) and yes SNEC did instalments at one stage, so you should call and check with them.

Oh wow, so many people did lasik.
Anyhow, I was talking to an optometrist the other day and he said it's not worth doing it unless your myopia is >1000... because apparently the short-sightedness comes back after a number of years (I can't remember how many) and it can come back to at least half your original.

Eh, did anyone understand what I just said? Cos I have difficultly expressing myself sometimes.

Bbp
I think I understand
but wow the feeling of waking up with perfect eyesight, no need for glasses, no need to buy contact lenses, solution... Shiok

But lol on mich's goggle wearing at night!

I see all the $$ u girls have spent on lasik and I can't help but think. Back then the salary was lower and the costs of lasik was higher. Now the salary is higher, costs of lasik is lower. BUT back then could just grab the opp to do and now got to think and re-think if the money can be put to other uses like new ____ for the tot.

Man I'm bushed. Bluebunny and I just spent half an hour doing a wiggles concert for poppy. All that jumping and dancing. Wonder how the real wiggles do it. For those of u who watch, jeff wiggle is 50 years old!

Morning mummies! What a lovely day

Hey I have 2 big IKEA mammut kids round tables (green) for sale, together with 10 stools of assorted colours. Cheap cheap for whoever is interested. PM me!

You don't have to take all but if you do, lagi best la. Self collect from my parents place at tanah merah (bedok area)

Michelle,

Yah! we got our perfect eyesight back in 2004. i cant remember which mth i did it though, so ya, we may well be sitting next to each other waiting to be lasiked! :p

BBP,

Yea, I understand what you mean. My shortsightedness isnt all that bad. only about 400 deg but with astig too. But batman did his, so I also want. LOL. Currently I think I have a bit of shortsightedness/astig (dunno which is the culprit) coming back but but but, I can still pretty much function very well without glasses. And it has been 6 good years. If want to do, better do earlier for maximum benefit. As the older you do, the other horrible problem sets in -- long sightedness. hiaz...

Jacelyn,

Ya. we are abt to see our lil girls soon! :D Excited on one hand, apprehensive on the other.. I think I am getting a bit confused. haha! Yah, I take earlier cos I got 20+ days of AL to clear too. but I going back to work in Dec. The balance ML have to carry forward. Got year end closing la.. cannot just leave my staff to vaporise under stress... :p

Lol on batgirl's "vapourise under stress" comment

Bbp
I think ultimately when we are 50 plus the long sightedness will even out the short. So it's for the coming 20 years that we get to enjoy la. I get headaches when I wear glasses, and think my skin around eyes is becoming slightly bruised and saggy due to daily tugging for contacts

Tonight bluebunny and I going for lasik talk!

Bargirl, opps i am the bad one. I will only be back next Jan 2nd week! I was just telling my staff that this is the only 1 time I get to escape year end partially :p

bbp,

ya, PB is right.
So the earlier we do it, the longer we enjoy. If we do get short sighted again as the years go by, we have gotten older, and hopefully the longsightedness can compensate the shortsightedness.

Jacelyn,

No lar...My dept is very small..only 4 of us. So it would be tough if I took the full 16 weeks. So will be taking 11 weeks ML nia and work 4 day work week up till May 2011, to clear the balance ML. Also...year end means bonus time ma, so also in everybody's interests that we can close and finalise the accounts ASAP. heehee!

Michelle,

How is Eboy's bruise? Hope they will be gone before his birthday!
I also hope Wuffy's flu and cough will be gone by his birthday. He is still vomitting every morning to throw up his phelgm. hiaz....

Batgirl
Oh no wuffy's cough sounds bad! Sambaccus?

Dustee
Actually I wouldn't mind installing a security camera (or employing a security guard for that matter). Anyone got kang taos for security cams?

And yes it is very fortunate that it is now bluebunny with poppy instead of me. I would be scared at home everyday, if it were me

Some of you have talked about what you would do in an emergency. For me of course first thought is poppy, but among top few of my list is "should I put on a bra before rushing out of house?" Haha

morning mummies - TGIF!!!

lol PinkB - me too!!

batgirl - hope wuffy gets well soon..is he attending playgroup?

maternity leave - all these talk on 16 weeks vs 12..sigh, i only get 8 weeks paid :p..oh well

have a wonderful happy weekend all!

TGIF on this wet wet wet morning!

PB
LOL!
Thanks for the blog invite again! On Wiggles: oh yes we were so impressed to see him doing acrobatic stunts onstage!

Perfect eyesight with Lasik
Is out for me then. I would have too few years to enjoy it before long-sightedness sets in

Today #2 surprised us all by calling out "Bye deedeee!!" over and over again and waving his arms as hb was going to work
It's no big deal to those whose babies are already talking like there's no tomorrow, but for us, this is amazing!

Oh youpi that is great! L with his sweet smile and waving arms must have been quite a sight. Did hub feel his heart pulling him back home? Hehe

Oh, what should one do whe one does not see eye to eye with one's boss? Mine seems to think that a big bulk of my work is simple copy and pasting from other places. I certainly do not think so because I need to do the research yes, but it has to be customised to our company.

Interesting days ahead, I can so tell

Oh dear, I think some parts of Singapore are gonna be flooded soon.

youpi,
I certainly still understand how you feel. I just came back from Tokyo and was offering biscuits to Declan when lo and behold, he went "Bing Gan". Credit goes to his grandparents and I'm sure they heard him say it a zillion times when I was away, but I was utterly amazed.

PB,
Hang in there! It helps if there are colleagues you can bitch with about your boss, but if not, just hang in there ok?

It is really ironic becos I totally love the job. But everyone else I work with is very contented with what they have. All don't want to be different, all don't want to change but yet wonder why things are not changing.

Somebody told me "you are too angmoh for us". Ok then sure, continue using the same cheena auntie lingo, and continue wondering how to rebrand from being an auntie brand

And my boss... Let's just say she prob wasn't popular as a child among other kids becos she knew how to be teachers pet

Floods... aiyoh, I hope not. Got to be in Holland V later and have to bring the boys with me so I am thinking about gear and how to carry everything now...

PB
You probably are, but you also channel the best of both worlds 'cos you know and are part of the Asian/Singaporean identity just as well. Take small steps? Bit by bit, then when it's finally transformed, everyone will know that it has changed, but not realised it at all.

hi mummies! bbG doesn't have anything red to wear!

to a certain extent... glad for the rain.. horrid sun's been giving me bad headaches!

jace your sambucus still with me..

youpi
That's great!! L is growing so much, I saw ur fb photos and he looks soooo much bigger then the last time I saw him haha.

DD
Ooppss, the sambucus still with u aah....haha
I met Jacelyn on Wed at the lunch lor....haha

PB, cin_bunny,

Wuffy got the flu + cough from hubby, who got it from me. hiaz. he is not attending playgroup.
This morning threw up again, but in a way is good la... throw out the phelgm. just have to keep changing bedsheets every now and then. :p I think tomorrow better have his potty near by, so i can catch his vomit.

Youpi, I know what you mean! :D congrats on L's new milestone! After that it would be pretty fast already.

haha maybe should have let you pass to her hor.. but it's ok lah.. no trouble.. sitting on my office table.. n we work so nearby.. it's a good sign that bbxun dunnit it for now ;)

challenges I have not overcome yet:
- drinking milk from cup instead of bb bottle
- potty training
- brushing teeth (yes he's still stuggling so much, I really have to force him.. let him do it himself, he just ends up chewing and sucking on the toothbrush.. and his teeth is getting yellow!)
- sleeping in toddler bed
- going to some playgroup without any parent accompanying him

already feeling physically tired, just thinking about the list above haha

TGIF!

have a good weekend mummies

and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to all our babies who are growing so fast and already TWO!

gonna take the day off to spend wiv my precious little baby too.. royce anyone? :D

DD,

aiya dun think too much abt the challenges. def sooner he will learn 1. no need to rush n worry.
in fact, my gal sama too. my gal will only say she poo after pooing in the diaper. she a v dirty gal... hahaha n sometiems when we brush her teeth, she like got MS. hahahaa

have a good wkend everyone!

Lol on garfield's comment on "like she got MS"

DD
Poppy also nowhere near being potty trained and prefers sucking toothpaste off brush and prefers bottle to cup for milk. No worries

Mummies where can we buy swimwear for kids? Apart fr online... Fox still got or not? We are going to ko samui! Woohoo!

I forgot - what to do with kids got diahorrea? Poor poppy. 5 times today
should avoid dairy but she has milk every night. How?

hi pinkB - when bean got the runnies, doc recommended lactose free milk (sorry cant remember brand but they sell in guardian) and also pedialyte - a drink which helps replenishes the fluid loss.

hugs to poppy!