(2008/07) July 2008

LOL to batgirl's opinion on being receptionist vs back office clerk in auntie twilight years! or we go work at mac's together?

CONGRATS straw! glad your little girl turned! my sis delivered a week early.. and is slowly learning to cope...having post natal blues too, perhaps...

PB: how come having insomnia recently huh? woke up to pee and couldn't go back to bed?

cellow: how have u been huh? busy playing FB games? started looking for new maid? old one sent back liao?

paging for holly and all you HK buffs.... so where's good to go/do..wat's good to eat... trying to do a bit of research now.. any kiddo stuff to do? think it's gonna be hot hot hot and maybe wet n rainy
but read that malls are freezing cold! so do I pack tank tops to brace the heat, or cardi's to combat the chilly air conditioning?

here's what I've gathered so far:

EAT!
* Fei Chui Za Zan Ting near hotels at Nathan Road
* Yung Kee Roast Goose
* Tak Fat beef ball noodles, Tsim Sha Tsui
* where to get good dim sum or wan tan meen or egg tarts? what else is good to eat?

SHOP!
* Ladies Street
* Temple Street
* Tsim Sha Tsui Peking Road (urr what's here?)
* H&M at Queens Road Ctrl
* Stanley (what's here ah?)
* Warehouse sales @ Tsim Sha Tsui, eastern end of GranVille Rd (but what building ah?)

the following are more for high end shopping right?
* Elements mall
* Times Square
* IFC Mall
* Pacific Place
* Landmark Mall

What should I Look out for? Agnes B with more variety (Cheaper?) hehe

can't wait! but a voice deep in my heart tells me I won't get to do much shopping wiv the kiddo in tow

Dim sum at Tang Chao.
is at TST opposite the habour city.

Pekking Road No. 1 MTR got state where to walk when u reach TST.

Stanley u need to travel quite a fair bit. Have to go to admiralty to take bus. Will b good if u can get some tourist leaflet. They will have instruction how to go.

HK is "taxless" so everything is NETT. therefore branded are definately cheaper.

DD
No idea. I usually fall asleep with Poppy about 8 plus or 9 then wake up about 2 to pee, and most times if I see milk bottles not washed or dirty clothes on the floor, I will just action on it. Then after that, toss and turn for 2 hours before can sleep.

Youpi
Ur blog and email up and running again?

Oh today it's my turn to kena scolding! Actually she never scold la, just SAY me only. So I kena "said" about my submission of some documents with bad alignment. I'm like "what?!". Of course I will do swee swee before sending out but now it's still WIP what. And she changed all my (get this) - bullet points. What?! Not the text u know, the actual bullets

This has really got nothing to do with my work performance. Bullet points are really personal. And not that I was using anything kiddy! Just the standard black squares! Omg

pb
oh gosh on the bullet points! you've got a weird nit-picking boss!

cellow
ditto. i do miss corporate life.

but i think i have like this secret corporate persona. when i'm in the office i'm fierce like tigress. i'd fight for the projects, i'd give very honest and painful reviews (like, 'you need to buck up') and i'd bite everyone who wasn't performing up to expectations. er, i think that's why pomfret is so fierce now, coz i was growling every day at the office when i was pregnant. like, i really growled. grrrrr.

now i'm like kitty cat at home. purrrrr. with the occasional hiss at my mil.

DD
yes you won't be doing so much shopping with babyG in tow! (just remember if you ever pass by any train displays, that's an hour gone. hehe)

preconception checkups
just reading in the papers today about his preconception checkups. any mummies gone for something like this before you conceived? i wonder if i need to go for this just to check that all systems are a 'go' before i try for #2.

doggiebb
oh gosh a thinking job! that's the kind everyone thinks you're having a good time coz you're at your desk the whole day long, but your brain is like fried at the end of the day!

lol on dustee beig a puddy cat

pinkB - next time put the smiley face icon as bullet point..heehee..yr boss ah..at least correct you on the content la, not so much the presentation as it's in draft mode

congrats Straw!

batgirl - me also getting a bit gabra but i hv 4 more mths to prepare :D

haha dustee (MEOW!) u r so right about the train table taking up at least an hour of my time in HK or anywhere at all!

thanks for the tips, holly!

PB... my boss is rather particular with zeros vs dashes too hahhaha

things that you do NOT EVER want to hear your mil say to you

- "it's all about the heart. your fil and i? i say, no sex lah pls. but he stays with me because of the heart"

- "giving birth so painful? but when making baby enjoy enjoy right?"

*shudder*

LOL dustee!

PB, take it as a compliment? Your work is so perfect that there is nothing to change except the bullet points? She has to make a correction some where right? *wink*

Cin, haha... ya.. time just whizzes by so fast!

sayang Doggiebb!! It's one of those days lor... I totally understand... feel like quiting all the time but there are good days to keep the work spirit up, so dun despair.. we are human afterall, how to keep 100% ALL THE TIME! hope you feeling better already...

LOL on PB's boss picking on bullets. To be honest, I pick on staff writing A LOT! That's what I was trained to take note when i started on work. So all papers that goes to my boss, even draft, will be in the perfect format, with perfect template. Over here, we cannot choose the type of bullets we use, even the font, the font size, what margin to set etc, all are FIXED! hee...

LOL on dustee the meow meow....

wow, DD you travelling again?? lucky you!!!

batgirl, get yr boy a big pressie when u give birth! n tell him it from mei mei. slowly he understand. depends on kids too. My son only warm up now when mei mei can play w him

youpi
i m still feeding her. i tried giving her fresh milk but she din really like it. she does nurse to nap but if she's really tired, she can fall asleep without nursing. i just hope she won't wake up screaming cos she doesn't sleep very soundly kind but will wake up to cry then i have to nurse her back to sleep. i just tot maybe when she goes to cc she will self wean cos out of sight out of mind......

SD
i hope they will adjust too. i know that kids adjust very fast but still cant help worrying....

garfield
my boy is not shy now! he talks to pple he meets like they are frens. he used to be really shy but now he's not. in fact i wished he is not so talkative. when we get into a cab he will say hello to the taxi driver and they will start chatting!

PB
your boss so funny. like what the rest say, your work is perfect so the only thing she can change is the bullet points!

straw
congrats!! your gal so good gal...mine din turn and in the end had to c-sect though #1 was natural birth...

take care!

hi guys
sorry i didn't mean to sound whiney about my boss but honestly..... i really don't mind having my word corrected. but must be correctly corrected la. don't correct just for the sake of correcting, and worse, correct it to be wrong *slap forehead*. wrorrect?

perfect work? haha thanks but no no. not bad, but not perfect.

Today is my office family day and I'm bringing Ethan to hay diaries farm!!! But look at the weather!!!! Was it fun there? I remembered PB went and then wanted to stop drinking milk or something like that....

Yawn, wat a nice weather to sleep in....

Michelle,
it's nice , I brought Elijah there when he was 2 but it's raining now so it will be very inconvient.. Coz carpark no shelter.. But the animals are covered...

Mich
I went with sy and bbp and our kids. Very chou chou
if u can, go makan at poison ivy at bollywood farm. THIS IS WHERE THE YUMMY BANANA CAKE IS!

Lol on e square's comments! I read into it as "adults and kids will get wet but animals will remain safe and dry" :D

Can I have 2 mins to rant pls...

My boss asked another colleague "why is she (pinkbunny) asking such stupid questions?". What?!! I didn't ask anything along the lines of "why do cows fart". I asked a logical question

#2. I organised an event yesterday. The turn out was great. By everyone's account it was a huge success. So today when she asked me how it went, I said it went well. She said "I think it was horrible. The content was boring and the branding was bad".

My MD was there and he didn't complain. She (my boss) only stayed for 1 hour when MD stayed for the whole event.

I'm so sick of her. I feel tears but they are just tears of anger and frustration. Of having put in so much effort and getting nothing back but criticism.

I so want to get out. I don't mind doing the same work anywhere else. I think comparing bosses around the world, I could only have a worser boss if I worked for oh I dunno... Osama? Ok I don't know if he's bad, but you get the drift

pb
understood how u feel..
i had a good job in income but left cos my ex-boss was a bitch..
she has pms every other day..so even i cant stand her with my mild temper.. i rather quit. if not i be draggin my feet to work..

i hope the rain stops..

Does she do this to you only or she's like this to everyone else who's not in her gang yet?? I suspects that no matter what great you do, nothing good is coming out from her mouth, so dun care what she says lah.

Either you confront? Else, treat her comments like fart loh. Altho fart can be stink, hold your breathe a while it'll soon past.

Seems like most bad bosses are women.

pb
she probably think that you are a threat. so saying all other negative comments to lower your morale. this people are just so sick..

don worry, so long we know we did well can le..

PB
your boss is really quite mean....maybe start looking out for jobs again? just in case u can't stand her anymore one day.

my hb also left his previous job cos of the lady boss. think majority of lady bosses are just xxxx....

michelle
so sad! he must be really disappointed. i was planning to bring the kids out today too but the early morn rain kind of dampened my enthusiasim.....

congrats straw!!! birth story, birth story, dun leave out any details

mich,
eh no la. i had a male boss who was blur blur, tech incompetent and made me do his work in the 1st coy i worked at.
but but i got my own back.... he wasnt promoted come appraisal time.... bcz i had secret weapon... my mentor was the firm's partner. *evil grin* he picked on the wrong minion this time

dd,
ok ah, but missing my own home. did i ever mention tt my super competent mil makes me look totally inept in the running of a hsehold by comparison? she is super nice to me and C1 and C2 too, so i cannot even complain that she mistreats me. it is difficult to live up to a paragon of SAHM-ness virtues.

btw gals, how bad is the rain in sg??
saw fm fren's fb tt paya lebar was ankle deep in flood waters O_O

Thanks girls but it's just her la. She has no "gang" because nobody wants to friend her. She isn't just picking on me, everyone else gets the same treatment so in thay way she is consistent. Consistently mean

I can be patient, I can ignore, I can focus on other things. But it can get tiring. Heard got bonus coming so will just hang on lor

have i mentioned my boss is a single lady in her 50s? but like i told the girls over lunch one time, she's really competent so when i kanna, its really xin fu kuo fu! just that she tends to get overly excited and her voice can get just a wee bit too shrill...err...

PB

start looking out for opportunities, just in case a nice one comes along and you can say tata to this monster-boss of yours! *psst psst* i am also looking out...hehe

Hang in there you all working mummies!!! Maybe it's time we plan for super long lunch to bitch about our bosses!!!!

TGIF!!!!! Play play play!!!!

Hello mummies havent catch up for a long time ...

Hands and legs up for meeting for lunch. Let me know when and I know I still owe Qing the shorts for barbie. Qing, when should i pass to you?

Sigh and guess what, I am still quite sick after so long. Sigh. On antibiotics but does not seem to be working well. And xun gal has a mild case of stomach flu ... this virus is super duper strong so all mummies and babies take care! Dun fall ill!!!! I feel like my body is tearing apart *sobz*

Girls girls!
I need a gynae that is avaliable on Christmas week
as my doc will not be in town .. I can't take doc from mt A coz I am going for ligation and mt A dun allow..

E Sq
TMC can? The gynaes at TLC Gynaecology are nice.

Working mummies
TGIF!!! Get a good rest and break this weekend and let the week's work troubles flow down the longkang to the past...

SY
Oh my darling is like that too. He'll wake and I have to nurse him back to sleep. Even worse, he wants to just hold the nipple in his mouth while he's sleeping, just for comfort, and suck occasionally. If I unlatch, he wakes up. Dunno how many hours of my life I've spent just lying beside him, watching him sleep. He's lucky I think he's cute.

Jace & Xun gal
Take care, take care.

PB
Nope, Google and Blogger hate me. I'll have to start a new one elsewhere. Do you know if Typepad or Wordpress is better? Or any other platforms? And your boss ah, is not being a good boss is she, especially if she treats her team that way. What a morale buster. You can rise above her bitchiness and negativity lah. We mummies here have your back

youpi
U are so funny with that " He's lucky I think he's cute."
U really brighten up my night LOL.

And sch is reopening!!! my sleepness nights are coming.....sigh
Already have to deal with his "I dun wanna go to sch" when ever he has to remember to ask "Is there sch today?"

yoohoo.....

*echo echo*

everyone must b out w our todds enjoying the wkend. i m finally coming bk to sg on tue. being stay in dil is fun only when tis temporary, n i know got own hm to go back to

royce
oh i finally tried royce on friday. now there's this current promotion (i'm sorry i don't know when it ends) that new members pay $50 for the membership and they get one free session. so any other mummies who are considering, you may want to give it a try now.

pomfret did love it! first time we're out playing and she played for a full hour and didn't ask to stop and latch : D but i went around 3pm on a friday, it was rather crowded. it is less crowded in the mornings?

Welcome back Cellow..

Juz left poppy's party to go pick papa bbg up fm airport.. We had loads of fun!

Last minute packing tonight before we r off to see Pluto and friends! (yes..guess who he favors among the characters)

DD
envy envy...u r off for another trip! bbG must be really happy.

Dustee
hmmm i must try royce now. maybe will go this week before they go school.

i m letting go of my maid when i move. strictly speaking, my maid is good at cleaning but not so fantastic with kids. decent but not like very good. housework wise she is pretty good and clean and very detailed. also hardworking. minus point wd be english not so good and can be quite proud. she also has this weird habit of not answering u when u ask her to do something so u dunno whether she heard u or not.

but overall i wd say if u need someone for housework and has one more person to watch over your kid, i think she's alright. can cook decent also.

let me know if any one interested to interview her.

Hey mummies
Poppy really knocked out last night. After drinking milk she said "more milk!". I asked "are u sure you want more milk?" She said "oh. No". Then fell asleep haha

But I think she had too much fun cos she kept waking up to cry! Poor thing.

Jace
Get well soon!!! And xun girl too!!! You ah. I cannot imagine heavily preg woman with hands and legs up in the air! Lol

Girls
Remember I once shared about 2 couples splitting up? One of them has made up (hooray!) And the other is confirm splitting. Wife went back to her country for a few weeks for them to cool off and husband told her not to return! And she just found out she's preg. With their baby
what can I do to help? Beside visit her?

And one more couple we know from canada ... They were so happy with 2 gorgeous kids... And now splitting up cos he found someone else. WHAT IS HAPPENING!!!

And girls, I'm really sorry - I just found out one of my colleagues is on MC with HFMD and poppy met her on fri!!!! Pls check ur kids!

oh sad abt couples splitting esp if they have kids! kids r the one most innocent!

PB, my gal bluff me ytd into drinkin milk. she finish her milk v fast n demand for more, so I no choice just agar give her half dosage from another container (i was out) n once make, she dun wan liao! so I stare really hard at her...

the kids had really great fun over wkend, went to playground, watch Toy story3, went USS during nite time, shopping, library... i so tired today!

welcome back Cellow

PB
oh dear, poppy didnt get anythin rite??
it may take a week for incubation??

btw, just saw ur article and youpi's in YP.
this time around, the mag seems less informative though..

Finally kayden is well to attend school. and i just had another argument with hubby..

Mummies, do you flare up when ur hubby hide things from you? esp when he had a chance to tell you but chose not to.

oh YP mag got pb n youpi? i go see today, though i dun buy. hahaha no time to read!

smiggle, ya i like hb to be v open too. but if it minor stuff, it fine lor. but i esp hate it when he share w other ple esp gals fren n not me. tat was b4 we got married n I make known to him i hate tat lor. tat one i def cant stand.

whew! think the forum is finally up again!

a nice short week for me this week. took monday off just to bring the boy to fidgets and lunch at sol cafe as the jiejie goes to school in the morning. he was so happy just to have me all to himself that he was such a good good boy! *aww*

and i am off to taiwan tmr! woohoo!

WOW! have a good trip doggiebb!

Was the forum down? heehee... did not even notice it, cos too busy past few days. FIL fainted and fell face flat and badly bruised his face. Had to rush to A&E in the middle of the night.

doggiebb, have a good trip with teh kids!! wow, recently you took a lot of leave hor! at one stage taking leave was like so difficult for you...

past two weeks wasw bad for me, work wise.. and i think the momentum is building up.. and it caught me thinking again, gosh, is this what i really want.. more responsibility, more effort, more work.. sigh sigh sigh..

mich

me too! has been a horrible few weeks and I am thinking the same things...and am assaulted by the thoughts of "what am i doing here staring at the blasted screen" more frequently!!!

4pm! the day is almost over! woohoo!

Hello again, girls. Man, the forum has been down for a while hasn't it?

Enjoy Taiwan, doggiebb!

It's poppy's birthday tomorrow! Bringing her to peek a boo cos she absolutely loves it. Hoping for good weather so we can do an outdoor activity in the pm

Happy birthday to sophie and rianne too!

It's been strange for me. I don't know if I've shared this - A job I really really want has become available. I am not sure if I stand a good chance of getting it cos all I'm getting are rather crypted answers.

On one hand I know I will like the place and the job. But on the other hand I have grown quite used to my current place now and really do enjoy my job scope. I think I have proven my worth to my boss and am now considered on the "asset" side of things

But this all doesn't change the fact that the boss is not an easy character to work with. And she's just been promoted so I don't think she'll be out of the picture any time soon.

There is talk of a new dept, and it makes perfect sense for me to be part of it. Already I'm doing all the work, it'll just make it official. But still, highly likely it'll be under same boss

The dilema is:

to work in a company I love but can't make many changes cos a lot of things are alrd in place and because it's mostly done well, lesser room for improvement. Jobscope here means more or less career will stay here

Or
Work somewhere where I have lots of room for creativity (though lot of it will be gunned down) and can suggest a lot of things for change. The job scope here will be veryu useful to plonk on my resume if I move on

Seems very clear I shd stay at my job. Logically speaking. But if you only knew how much I love the other company! So just take one day at a time and see where life takes me. Who knows, this may be my calling and that co may not even want me

I dunno about you, but for me, I am being chased for answers like as if I owe them money like that... hate that feeling... and everything is URGENT like need it by YESTERDAY so its damn stressed loh... plus i have staff like GASOT..

since I got a bit of time, I have another staff, lets call him triple-OK (out of office King). Well, everytime i need something, and I call him, he is NEVER in office. its always, out at site, out for meeting blah blah blah.. and I checked, he comes in office only when there are meetings, and once a month to clear his mails. He is in a semi-retirement mode liao, old man. So. when I need things YESTERDAY, i have to do everything myself, TODAY.

why oh why do I take over projects with so many wierd wierd ppl around?!?!?!

Cellow is back!!!!!! ok what did i miss....

due to Mr C's looming deadline for finishing his studies (31 Jul) plus I m going back to work 22 Jul, the maid - lucky her! - will not be imm repatriated. anytime after 31 Jul is fair game.

michelle,
love the names!

pb,
you know gal, seems v clear to me you shd leave for your lots of room for creativity job.
i get itchy backside every 2 years, wanna get new job. luckily coy allows me to move around in the depts.

batgirl,
haiyor.... poor FIL. i hope tis not you, but batman who accompanied FIL to A&E in the middle of the night

babymares
C1 talked in his sleep last night. And what did he say? "Fan not on....." in a totally sad and wei3 qu1 voice.
Mr C was like HA?! same reaction when he told me.