(2008/07) July 2008

Ps: the CAT performance by Julia Gabriel is good! BbG n I like it! Go catch it if u can!

DD
Aiyoh, why? This is a dilemma that I am facing too. Thinking about whether I should/have to go back to work. And if I do, that I will have to send the boys to childcare. Waitaminute, you have a helper right? Can't she look after BbG? Have a wonderful time in Nippon-land!

Question
How do you type Chinese characters in your posts? Is it possible to type Chinese in MS Word?

DD
i m going to catch CAT too!!

Michelle
order noted

doggiebb
sure.will wait for u.

DD
why do u need to send him to cc? what happen? or can your helper help? have fun during your hols!

Cellow
Explain to C1 that didi cannot walk. And if you put didi on the floor didi will get stepped on by ppl. Then ask him if he wants to be stepped on by ppl? And didi dun want to be stepped on cos it will be very painful. Have to explain to C1 lor so he will know that its not becos you prefer didi but that you have to. And keep reminding him that didi loves him.
I always do that......still do.....LOL
Like when E smiles at D. I will tell him. "See meimei love you so much, she's so happy when you look at her" Then u can see D's face lightup and he will smile very loving to her too.....haha
So now they both think they love each other so very much.....keke

Youpi
U need to have chinese software installed in ur computer to write chinese else can jus read. I type chinese using my phone...LOL

DD
Why must you look for alternative caregivers? Something happened at home??
Look on the bright side. BBG might enjoy going to sch to learn and so might be easier to leave him with the teacher he likes.
Ohh goody goody Japan!!....Enjoy!!

Hannah
Noted.

So total orders will be

2 * Fish oil
2 * Omega 3,6 9
2 * childlife colostrum

Michelle

2 * Fish Oil

Cellow

2 * Fish Oil

SY
My order: 2 childlife colustrum (pineapple/orange flavour), 1 sambaccus

DD
How come so sudden, thinking of putting bbg to childcare? Enjoy japland!

Youpi
You thinking of going back to work alrd? Bluebunny seems to think poppy is missing out by not going to childcare. I think she's doing fine by having one parent at home plus the occasionaly socialising with friends and going out to playgyms.

He: i think she'll learn much more at childcare.
Me; I don't agree.
He; ok, she'll learn more at childcare than being home with me
Me; ok then I agree haha

He takes care of her needs but doesn't really read or do crafts with her. I'm glad he admits it tho

But...poor baby so small got to spend one whole day away from the folks? 2 years old and have to be independant? Can you hear that sound, mummies? It's my heart shattering into a million pieces

Well it's a matter of months cos bluebunny is actively looking for jobs

Sigh..long story n treading on thin line..helper (who's got minor faults) could go anytime n I'd have to send bbG to a childcare then..

PB..my exact thoughts..doesn't help dat bbG is very attached to me..now must fend for himself with strangers whole day? =...( magnify that glass shattering sound

Youpi..bb no 3 coming along? Or miss the workforce?

DD, firstly enjoy yr jap trip! I wish I can go there nxt time too.

yr helper might leave? tat will be the prob for me nxt yr lo. act if there anyone who can help u in the day, it good for the child to go to those few hr playgroup. if nobody, also no choice 1 lor. but u need to research well the school n the teachers esp. for 2 yr old, they need quite alot of attention n love so the teachers must be caring n gain their trust. beginning sure cry 1 too. so u got to endure but u also need to see how the school is dealing w him lor. monitor yrself.

n another advise is since u say he v v attached to u, it best not for u to be the one sending him away lo. since u also say when u go to work, he will also cry. like my boy, i rem goin wkend school w him last time he will cling onto me n refuse to sit by himself. then 1 fine day i let Hb try n hb act able to let him sit by himself. so w/o us they r act more indep lor.

DD, what's up with your helper???? home sick? want to go home??

Child attending childcare vs learning at home
THis is my take. I believe every child will learn anything wherever they are, i.e. at home or at school. They just learn different thing at different places. I think There is no right age to say when they must learn the alphabets or counting or etc? However, at some point in time, they have to start to learn social skills/independence, which they may not be exposed to at home. When is the most ideal time for what?, it is dependent on circumstances, when the child will be ready, when the parent will be ready. I do not believe that there is a defined right age for everything. Every child is different.

DD, I understand how you feel. But you need to know that children are more adaptable than you think. Their survival instincts are also much stronger than you give them credit for. Most often than not, it is the parent who can;t let go. I thought Eboy would never be able to do it until one day, i decided to harden my heart to do it. He cried less than 1 min and immediately accepted the fact that I was gone and he might as well enjoy the rest of the programme. So from taht day, he had stopped crying, only at the beginning when we need to go. The teacher whom he can attach to in the first few sessions is important. He must not be neglected or left to cry alone. I left him at the mygym where he knows the teachers (from attending the gym classes since he was 10 mths old) and he is ok with the environment. no doubt the curriculum is not as structured and mostly play, but he did learn to follow the rest, do the tasks himself, put his water bottle properly etc.. it is only twice a week for 2 hours. He has gotten used to it already. The teacher sends me SMS while the lesson is in progress to tell me that Eboy is alrgith and that he is participating. I think that helps a lot. Find a school that has teachers who understands the separation, and willing to hand-hold until the child gets used to not having parents around. I think most child gets adapted very quickly, cos afterall, the programme is fun and they play!

Adnother advise is that the school should be clsoe to home to minimise travelling time. Plus, when you are on leave, you do not need to still travel all the way to work palce (like in your case where your work place is so far away)...

Oh, and when he did very well in school, the teacher will sms to ask me to praise him and reward him with a small toy. I think that worked too.

If you are not ready, and if circumstances allow, then dun send him. But having said that, its now or later, at some point in time, you have to do it. So. is it now? if not, when? I think your views will change when you start seeing your child enjoying going to school and coming home with the arts and craft they learn in school, or learn new words.... or when teacher praise him for something.. the amount of pride swell up inside you is indescribable..

hi DD - sorry to hear helper nt working out. my exp on sending soph to playgroup :
1) everymorning, she cant wait to hop out of the house to go & yelling to her daddy : i m readee, let's go!
2) happy in the car all the way
3) 2-3 days out of 5, starts to cry the minute we drop her off
4) stops crying the minute we r out of sight and waits eagerly for her breakfast to be served

but we only send her in for 3 hours a day so actually it's pretty short..am not sure how she wld handle if it's the whole day.

also, be prepared for the constant sniffles and cough. it's just unavoidable somehow

in terms of one near yr house or workplace, depends if got someone at house to help pick up ? cos soemtimes u could be running late from work and will be stressed if you cant pick on time..or touch wood, if bbG gets fever halfway thru the day, they will call you to come pick up to take see doctor ..so really depends on your support network from home.

enjoy japan..lucky you!!

just drop kayden for his school..

Qing
what time is the party??
is there avail parking lots?

Youpi
i just go to google translate to chinese as i dunno how to type in chinese, and just paste..

DD
what happen to your helper??
childcare shld be near ur place la..
unles ur workplace is near ur house..

PB
i agree with Bluebunny too.. reason why i sent kayden even though we have a helper, is to let him socialise and interact, so that he wont be selfish.. at school the other kids know how to feed themselves, and it made kayden wanted to do the same..
so its more than what we can teach him.. learn to sit in a group and listen, peer pressure i guess..
Dont worry, they will enjoy it most of the time..

Michelle
agree with you.. your school sounds good..

Not sure if anyone has heard of maid goin to school with kids too.. the teacher advise me to put my helper with kayden at school for at least 1-2 mths.. cos they cant handle kayden's tantrums yet.

youpi,
Goto Control Panel> Regional and Language Options>Click "Details"

Under "Installed Services", click "Add"
Choose input language eg CH Chinese (PRC)

After that, your taskbar will have the chinese language option (u toggle between CH or EN)

type in hanyu pinyin. have fun!

sigh...issues are not with helper, whom I feel is not perfect, but acceptable (she did steal food but confessed when confronted though).. but.. SIGH

any of you looking for helper? If I ever need to let go, I would wanna try to find her a good 'home'... let me know ok?

kiddos learning at childcare or from siblings: will be faster coz they tend to like to copy each other.. I'm not worried about development or learning stuffs yet at his age..

if I have to send him now, it's because I have no one to help care for him (how I wish I could do it myself!)

mich, u r right, and I actually know it deep down in my heart.. tis me who's having a harder time letting go, not bbG! even leaving for work in the mornings make me feel like I'm abandoning him and turning a deaf ear to his cries and I feel so awful for that!

If given a choice, I think I'd want to be the one sending and picking him, dun mind travelling WITH him too.. and if I am ever on leave, think I'd not send him to school but stay home wiv him..but then, I'm wondering again if I'm just being selfish.. maybe he should go to one near home (if that's possible) coz it means he goes home earlier and can have a homecooked dinner at home?

Don't think I'll ever be ready.. but maybe it's time to brace myself and prepare for the day..I'm such a weakling!

it's encouraging to hear that e-boy and sophie are doing well at school though.. thanks all for sharing your experiences..appreciate this mummy clique we have here! muaks to all of you..

think bbP is still in the states right? saw cutie dec in some pics :D

so much to do at work at home everywhere, yet so little time.. must remain positive and think of our hol starting tonite! :D

see u all at the big bash soon! sayonara!

DD
I used to have the same worries, on whether N was too young for cc, or whether he will be bullied etc. But we have no choice but to put him in full time cc when nanny quitted on us on a short notice. U will be surprised by how well they adapt. N only cried for the 1st few days (when we leave him). Now, he is always happy to go sch. Will hop to class and greet his friends hehe

Maybe it depends on the cc lar. For ours, the supervisor assigned a teacher to N during his 1st month, so that he wont be neglected/unattended. His PG class has less than 10 students, most on half-day progm, so N has even more attention from teacher in the afternoons.

I find that he learnt more: eg put his shoes in the pigeon hole, return the toys after playing, and the best part? Sometimes he will eat a biscuit or some bites of porridge during mealtimes cos all his frens are doing that! This is a big thing for us since N is such a fussy eater =P

oh, the downside will be HFMD, common cold and cough...

am off the entire morning this week to bring the little girl and boy to jg and then dash back to the office in the PM. tmr the class is going to sentosa siloso beach, so tempted to take the whole day off instead.

and, ms itchy posterior here is going to taiwan beginning of july! woohoo! bringing both kids but this time without hb as he's going back to swatow with his mum. but but but will be going with my 2 sisters and my parents.

so we will not be going to cameron for our family trip liao.

Michelle

which means i can JOIN your cameron trip!!! when when when?

Qing:
thanks for inviting to the birthday bash. my hb cannot make it on that day and I can't bring 2 kids out by myself... sobz, gotta miss it again

Straw81
Thanks, but I can't do that 'cos I am using a Mac. Tried doing similar, but can't seem to get it. Will try Smiggle's method, hehe.

PB, DD
No, not thinking of either, but of how outflow seems to be > input when it comes to the economics of our home, and what can be done to reverse that. The obvious solution would be to return to the workforce. Life would be a lot more comfortable. Then the childcare considerations would come up lor. I know that children are resilient and adapt well, but instinctively, in my heart and in my gut, everything says NOOOOOOOOOOO! to that. Aiyah it's just something that I would have to work out lah.

PB
Yup, recall Bluebunny mentioning that he was waiting for a reply. I thought he was going to be SAHD for a longer time? So Poppy will go to cc as well? Oh you know, #1 was asking me just now: "Who was born in Mount Alvernia Hospital?" I told him that he and #2 were. "And who else?" And your mummy too. "And who else?" Hmm, I don't know. "Poppy!" he said

Kids learning
Yup, like Michelle says, they all do it at their own time. Having a #1 around has not made #2 more advanced in any way. In fact he's even more of a baby. Although he does wrestle #1 quite well hehe.

Smiggle
Wah Kayden got power! This is the first time I've heard of a cc asking for the maid to be present with the child!

Doggiebb
Guess I'll pass you the portable toilet seat at the bday bash?

DD
i m also sending jx to cc soon. if u ask me whether i can bear to do that after spending 2 years at home with her, of cos it is hard but in a way i can't wait to do it. it is good for them to have some structure and also another envt where there is familarity and stability. i sent jh to sch just short of his 2nd birthday. my parents and in laws were not totally for it. my mil even said i m very heartless to do it. but after one month, my parents said that i made the right choice. he really enjoys class. he din stop being sticky to me but it is really good for them to have another envt.

PB
noted on your order.

bluebunny is so funny.

i also feel the same way when i first put jh in sch. i cried on his 3rd day of sch when he din need me to be ard anymore! it's usually the parents who can't adapt. they adapt really fast....

Qing

we are most likely going for the birthday bash but can't quite confirm. when is the latest i need to let u know?

Haha. Checking in here from hk airport. Waiting for my connecting flight back.
Read but didn't reply cos it's so slow typing on the iPhone.
Be back soon!

for the cupcakes,
since i am going to customised each cupcakes,
is there any other names you want to add.
eg: the elder/younger kids name,
or papa or mama.

we have each individual bday kids name and hot mama cupcakes.

what should we do for the dad?

dear mummies involved in the bash

i have just send a email on the details of the bash.

smiggle
i am still sourcing for the cheapest and nice cupcakes. will update on the cost via email to you guys.

and we have 16 kids right now, so each kids is about $29.68

is the pressie budget too high?
please let me know.

SY
let me know soon ok.
so i can have the kids name on the cupcakes.
erm, by next week, before the party, thursday?

Qing

one more cupcake for TALIA pls. But none for me and hb pls. Tks.

And pressie only for bday kid right? So I will only come with one pressie.

Youpi

yes pls. Thanks so muuuuch for ur help!

youpi,
think we adults enjoyed The Wiggles more than our boy hahah...

DD,
saw the poster for JG's Cats but thought it was for older kids... oh well, next time then. you & bbG have a blast in jip poon and worry later abt childcare lah... my hb & mom always tell me to "cross the bridge when i arrived..."

my take on cc vs maid is definitely cc... other than being able to learn more stuff and social skills in cc, i don't want my son to grow up into a spoilt brat with little discipline and let his auntie wait on him 24x7... and also, the selfishness in me doesn't want my son to be closer to auntie than mommy. no matter how good and close the helper is, she will eventually leave us and return to her home and her son. and if *touch wood* one day she made some really bad mistake, we will have no choice but to let her go... then what?!

i'm finally able to send son to cc next monday. i'm so excited... boy has been at home for the past 2 weeks since i took him out of JG.. i think he's getting bored too hahah...

wish i can join in the bday bash too

Birthday bash
So excited!Thanks for organising Qing! Can I have Ashley's name on the cupcake as well? And No cupcake for me. Thanks.

DD
When Ashley was in Nursery, we chose the school nearer to my workplace since we could drove her off in the morning and picked her up in the afternoon. It was quite taxing for me as I was living in Yio Chu Kang while the school is at Halifax (next to KK hospital). For 4 years she spent there I hardly had any lunch time buddy to go lunch with, since I had to pick her up and drove all the way back home. I think it is better for you and for your kid also if the school is near to your home.

Smiggle
I actually got my helper to wait for #1 when she was in school. There was an area for the helper to wait.

Qing,

Thanks for organising! No cupcakes for me and hubby as well. Not into sweet stuff.. hehehe..

So the pressie is $15 budget now? okie! must go pressie hunting now!

Can't wait for the bash to see you all again!

Hi youpi
I actually enquire on them Liao mostly booked.
I will be getting cupcakes from my hotel. With discount of cos
price and all will be updated on the 2nd email

qing
lol we all have hot mama cupcakes! for dads? er... how about "sherpa"?

youpi
oh my gosh S has the memory of an elephant! he remembered! hubby also remembers S reading the book of babies to him

wiggles
girls, do your kids enjoy all parts of the wiggles shows? cos poppy is quite bored with the parts they talk and only really enjoys when they sing and dance

speaking of which, DD we went to see the CAT performance at forum today! gosh it was so crowded! i'm not sure if she enjoyed cos she had the 'yeah, whatever' look on her face throughout haha. maybe cos we didn't make it in time to sit 'inside' and were standing 'outside'

oh i was on urgent leave today. i asked my boss if it was ok to work from home (cos i got office email access from home) cos hub was down with fever and i had to take care of poppy. she said 'to be fair to the others, you better take leave'. i felt like saying 'then if i take leave, to be fair to me, don't send me any work' haha

it was such a nice back-to-SAHM day! brought poppy to library in the morning and then to watch CAT in pm

qing
can add us? Can get a cupcake for jx and jh also?

Jing Xuan
Jing Heng

Don't wan JH to feel left out.

No need cupcakes for me and hb

PB
your boss really quite inflexible....

did u like the performance? i m planning to go next week

any mummies keen to go singapore art museum?

Qing I didn't know this was an option but since so m$any people have said, I also don't need cupcakes. Neither does hubby. Jian fei :D

I got cupcakes divinity for poppy's baptism. Look nice but taste.... Not so nice