(2008/07) July 2008

Wow it's so cute to hear kids speak! Poppy said "I bring book". :D

Jace
I also never send poppy for enrichment classes. I don't intend to for a long time either :p

Dor
Yes pls chawanmushi recipe! I know I've asked many times. I promise to cook it this weekend O

re visit to cellow's house
is it sat or sun? depending on timing i wd also love to see C2. he looks really cute from the pic posted on FB..... jx loves bb. she always goes baby baby to my neighbour's bb.

bbp, no la must be dec calling xun to wake up! haha. so qiao both wake up at 2am last night. For us, all have to wake up at 7 (xun gal woke up at 730 and kept yawning away) ... and that explains why i am feeling so tired the whole day. just counting down to 6pm. totally no mood to work!

ok i thinking what activity books i can get for xun gal... to keep her occupied better

tom yum yummy yum...
but i cant eat now... if not sure sore throat

PB
boss are always like that.
mine too.

kko kko Nara PART TWO! (we promised we won't order the hot and spicy one!)
22 April
12.15pm

1. e square
2. doggie
3. sy n jx
4. MEMEMEMEMEME! bbp! & declan! (I want Original Crispy!)
5. Qing (should be ok by then)

Royce bday party $800 (private, ie we get the whole place to ourselves)
- for 20 children / $25 every additional guest
- fri/sat/sun 5-7pm (2 hrs)

They provide:
- cutlery, napkins, plates
- decorations, balloons, cleanup
- candies & goodies

Add-ons:
- 30 mins cake cutting ceremony (cake not provided)
- 20 children meals (extra $100: McDonalds kids meals)

More extras:
- Extension of party time is $70 per half hour, subject to availability
- $60 fee if you want to bring your own food (only 3 dry items allowed eg: nuggets)

Other details:
- Invitation card = admission ticket for one child and two adults.
- Only 1 adult per child is allowed in the gym at any time. The other adult is supposed to sit in the food area, they said.
- Additional adults are charged at $25 per pax.

Bday party
Maybe we should explore other options: JWT, Little Gym, Playhouse at Rochester, condo function room (we can rent toys for the party)... Am okay for a June celebration, and I really want to be able to attend this time after missing last year's!

Pantang
Thanks for the explanations. I never really cared about these and never knew most of them. When I was pregnant before #1, I attended a wedding, and a wake. The aunties there told me to tie the red string on my finger and throw it away after leaving the place. I did that. But lost the baby. So now I just ask if people say there is some pantang.

MIch
Hi-5 for you and Ethan!

PB
We did meet Poppy and Ned at Royce

Are you throwing in the towel re: work? Sounds like you've had enough.

E Sq
How do E1's extra classes stress you up?

Dor Dor
Yah, I was wondering the same thing, about whether the non-enrichment kids will lose out. #1's classmates all have multiple outside classes. The thing is, if both mother and father work, and the child's classes are all during the weekend ('cos there are other extra classes in school during the weekday), when do the parents actually spend time with their kids? On the other hand, I myself was one of those kids who had a very busy enrichment-filled childhood but I was quite happy to have them. So I dunno. Eventually I will send them to the life-skill ones like swimming and... can't think of anything else.

youpi
jh's only class outside of sch is swimming! i think that is very impt. at least it's some exercise.

re bday party
think condo function room sounds best? i can also open my mum's place if keen...hee.....

PB
yeah i also tot u sounded like u want to quit already...or maybe look for a new job?

hi mummies..

my little one is still not drinking milk.. and had to wait til he was SOUND asleep and struggled to pry open his mouth just to get some in.. see how desperate I am..

mummies who are giving ur toddlers 'adult' milk now.. what kinds do you give? trying that next... though i have cans of pediasure and his FM opened still..

and tried to google and see where else can his sources of calcium come from.. sad to discover that cottage cheese (healthy and without salt and great for those on diet) contains very little calcium.. n i should look to cheddar and edam cheese instead but think these contain salt..

rochestor park playground! was trying to recall where else this morning when chatting wiv youpi... qing... go reccee and let us know ok?

esq: what's vilion?

breakfast: I try to make him bread with cottage cheese before I leave for work.. the bread soaked in milk didn't work for him...and he doesn't like baby cereals.. maybe i should try fresh milk and adult cornflakes huh...

anyway we had a great time at Royce today.. and poppy showed babyG how to crawl up and down those ramps and slides when he still needed some warming up.. i've never seen so many toys in my life! hehehe now that we are a member.. must go again and again! :D

JSP: how r u doing?? can still rush to go check out the yummy chicken! my sis is getting worried too, coz she keeps getting cramps these days! good that you did your handover liao.. but still going to work til the day arrives ah?

PB: for a while u got me excited coz i frequent thai express quite a lot hehe.. RP dun have lah...nearest is at raffles city or esplanade

things not working out well at work?

jace: Phillip st the shop that sells good char siew/chicken rice.. there's a stall beside it that sells fish soup and they have tom yam soup there too.. but not the thai sour spicy kind..

SY: does your mom's maid play a lot wiv JX? I can see babyG growing very attached to my helper too, but can't be helped I guess coz she does everything for him and really plays wiv him a lot when I'm work..

pantang: never bothered with any of these.. esp those that sound so illogical... so if any of you do mind.. must tell me next time ok?

enrichment classes: some go for lots but learn nothing out of it.. some dun go and still learn lots from parents.. probably will send babyG for a few that I think would be good for him.. but haven't thought of which yet haha.. not at this age yet I guess.. now is more about them learning to discover new things and have fun!

SY: where's your mom's place? mine's available too.. if u guys dun mind teh distance.. the function room's not kinda small with furnitures (it was meant to be a clubhouse initially and we had no function room!) there's a karaoke room nearby I think.. and the baby pool right outside of course :D

fried chicken part two... must check my schedule first... but droolz... as long as doggiebb really keeps to her promise NOT to order the one that would turn us all into dragons!

Chawanmushi Receipe
---------------------------------------------------
Okie this is something I got off a blog dunno where n it was sooooo simple I jus make it when I wanna make something more then a snack for the kids to eat.

2 eggs
1 cup of chicken stock(I buy the tera pack kind of chicken stock for this)
A little of the japanese soup base for taste, those I buy as dip for the cold soba
(U can add alittle bit of soy sauce if dun have that)

And that's it!!
You jus beat the egg well then beat everything together well mixed, pour into small bowls or cups n steam. Abt 10-15 mins (not very sure hw long it takes I jus argar argar.....hehe)
Oh yes the most impt part is............u gotta cover the top with a piece of cling wrap and it will be soooo smooth.

I normally jus add crab meat inside the mixture and jus steam it so there's something else to eat inside....hehe

bbp
Thanx for the compliment but I'm not really sure why he said that too n also he didn't say it the usual way.....haha
He said it in the soft n matter of fact way.

youpi
I wondered out loud before to my hubby cos some of those classes like supposed to boost this boost that so they have an early start n what n they cost like an arm and a leg. So which means if its really so effective then my kids can jus *** already lor dun even have to go fight cos we definately can't afford any of those ma.
Same as u nw I only think of swimming as something he will definately take in pri sch.....haha

dd
Next time??? Hmmmm are you by any chance open to the idea of #2 already???
hehehe

dor,
I wanna comment that your simple chawanmushi is more difficult than mine! Mine is just 1 egg and 3 chinese spoonfuls of water. Steam. Haha.
Anyway, egg is Dec's life, so no need too much effort from my part on this one.

dd,
Dec's fav is Meiji. He also takes Magnolia and some other brand (Blue and Green packaging). Full cream. Not the Low Fat type. Didn't notice the Low Fat version and tried to give him some at my mom's place. He didn't want any! And he hates Pediasure too. Both flavours. And he hates Chocolate flavoured milk too.

I love chawan mushi. My method is the same as dordor. Use the ready chicken stock and egg. if you want to make it even smoother you can strain the mixture with a very fine strainer and steam. I actually bought the japanese tea cup with lid from daiso and steam the egg inside.

There's another one - an old recipe from my grandma. Not sure whether you'll like it but my family loves it. Ground beef, around 100 gr, thawed at room temperature. 1 cup of boiled water. Put a strainer in a bowl, put the beef in. pour some of the hot water in and keep pressing the beef to the strainer with spoon, keep repeating with the rest of the water. Once done you should have a bowl of "bloody water" it's a bit yucky before steaming but after you put a little salt and steam, it'll turn very nice.

DD,
I'm giving Emma her daily dose of Enfagrow, plus if we're outside I'll feed her magnolia fresh milk. Does he refuse to drink even if you spoon fed him? Emma will refuse also, so we have all sort of tricks to make her drink.

Normally we will sit in front of the computer and play with the winks function on MSN, while another person sit on the side and spoon feed. If we let her loose, she will just run around and will refuse to drink. hmmph

Oh the things we do to make our kids eat/drink. Poppy's fav is to watch videos on our mobile phones and keeps asking for "more baby!". To show her more of the babay (herself). Hub has also resorted to "poppy look at that!", pointing to any random object. Then we'll just shove spoon in her mouth :S

Youpi
L knows what's good for him-nothing can beat mummy's cooking!

So glad that L and bbG met up with poppy at royce!!! Yes it's ex but honestly, all the kids there absolutely love it! My vote is for royce! :D

Work
Am I ready to throw in the towel? Yes! Can we afford to? No! So I plod on. The job itself I quite like but the boss is a special character. It's very far and the culture is another thing altogether

2 days ago she told me not to put in too much effort into a particular scope of my job but that's what I enjoy the most. And that's what, I believe, would benefit the co too. So I sian one half. And now I've just heard that a rather interesting position has opened in another dept with a very nice boss (I'm working with him on some projects)

So now I'm stuck. I wonder if I shd simply go up to him and asked to be considered. If I get it then I'd have to stay on for a while more. But do I really want that? Well at least I won't find myself in a position of having to promote the co's values (I have some difficulty doing that becos the values are gd and I believe in them but they are not really followed, esp by my current boss, except in lip service)

So if I apply and don't get that position, I'm afraid this guy might tell my current boss and she'll make my life difficult

Dor: can steam wiv cling wrap? Won't melt or release chemicals?

Sd: your beefy juice sounds interesting..but do u toss e beef out? Sounds like steam mince pork without the chunks

haven't tried spoon feeding milk..but he's a damn good swatter u know..can send food flying across e room wan!

Who feeds Emma when u r at work?

Congrats to JSP! She's born on e exact same date as my lil sis who's got e same due date for a no 2 too..such coincidence! But my Sis is not gonna deliver just yet I think hehe

no2: haiz..still can't see how it's possible to have one (the pain eeks! time, energy, space, help needed, money!) yet feeling I've wronged him if I dun give him a sibling..already barely have enough time for him n my dog (not even time for myself)..wat more another.. Yet I'm not exactly as young anymore too, to have e luxury of slowly deciding..but it's still a no for now lah..

Already dreading going back to work after a day off at home wiv him..

So in summary I feel like I've remarried but am very much still in love with my first husband because my new husband ill-treats me

The only good thing that came from leaving my other job was that I could spend time with poppy. Apart from that, I've spent the past few months regretting.
My old position was filled fast and there's nothing there that suits me now. The new HR director (whom I do not know) has my CV and says she'll keep an eye out for me but I'm not banking all my hopes on that

So there. That's how it is

Oh congrats to JSP on the birth of lovely anya!

And for lack of a better word, "congrats" to me on my muah gueh too. I just passed 1 month of employment. Sure feels like more!

kko kko Nara PART TWO! (we promised we won't order the hot and spicy one!)
22 April
12.15pm

1. e square
2. doggie
3. sy n jx
4. MEMEMEMEMEME! bbp! & declan! (I want Original Crispy!)
5. Qing (should be ok by then)
6. smiggleprincess ( i wan the spicy soup can?)

Royce
sound ex.. meanin for kayden i pay $40 and another $25 if my hubby attendin..

JSP
congrats!! so envious.. mother and daughter same bdae.. sure very close one...

PB
time flies.. so fast 1 mth.. i only 2mths.. stil another month to go... cant wait for a revision of salary and annual leave!!!

DD
kayden always takes bread and cheese, but think he gettin tired of it..

Yesterday was at home with kayden and realise that he becoming so whiny... keep bully my maid, askin to be carried..
watch tv also can cry!

JSP congrats!! So fast ah. Makes me shiver slightly at the tot of sep arriving ...

DD, got nice clothes at The Children Place? *itchy fingers*

PB, that such is life i guess. Full of uncertainties ... well why dont you try to sound out the new boss? maybe got some hopes? U might get something surprisingly good out of it?

jsp
congrats!!! share your birth story with us when u have time.

DD
my mum's place at toh tuck area. it's a terrace so got space for the kids...and of cos lots of toys....

my mum's maid only plays with jx when we are there. she will help to feed her or look after her when we eat. but that's only like every 2 weeks. so i dunno why she's so attached to her to the extent of rejecting me

PB
your boss sounds weird. how come tell u not to put so much effort into the work?

Dordor
ok will try your recipe. but will the cling wrap melt? is it ok to steam with it?

Jace
I found some temp cart at tiong bahru plaza that sells TCP clothes!

So things are progressing in a good direction for me with regards to the sensitive situation at work. Keep fingers crossed for me!

PB! I was just clicking at the TCP website (lazy bum me dun feel like working and bosses not at their desk so can slack away ... and of coz decided to check out TCP website after DD mentioned it just now!) ok will go check it out. Feel like leaving early from office today hee .. if succeed will go tiong bahru hahahaha

*Keeping fingers crossed!!!* and of coz passing u lots of LUCK!

bbp
Urs sound like jus steam egg leh, u dun put any taste??
But I've never steam any egg except for that before so I not sure if there's any difference in the outcome. Is there?

SD
U mean jus steam the beef water as broth?? N then the beef hw?? what do u do with it??
Have not tried preparing beef at all.....hehe

DD
I'm not very sure abt the releasing chemicals part but the cling wrap I have currently(free gift) is meant for microwave so I think can take the heat. Else u jus cover with a cup lid or anything bah. Or u can dun cover but it will not turn out as smooth n will have bubbles.

PB
Congrats u survived 1 mth there.....hehe

SY
see my reply to DD. Hehe
I only realise after u all ask me that i'm not using the normal cling wrap.....keke

Cellow!! u just sent some more shivers down ... ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

PB, Raffles Place basement dun have thai express leh.... unless my memory fails me big time

Oh I just remembered someone asked me hows the st james thing coming along. Well we have forfeited our pre-nursery place. Now got to re-Q in the lonnnng waiting list

JSP - Congratulations! Mommy and baby same birthday - how cool is that!

DD/Dordor- basically we keep letting the bloody juice run out from the beef. The beef will become very dry. Normally afterthat I use the mince beef, mixed it with tapioca flour, egg, salt and green onion, make a small patties and deep fry.

DD-Emma will push us and sometimes push the spoon. So if she's bored with computer and if I'm home i'll let her play with my iphone. Works everytime. When I'm at work my mom would feed Emma with the helper. Must be together you see, cuz sometimes she moves a lot.

PB- hehe I like your husband analogy kekeke...

Nursery - Finally I've got confirmed admission for Emma at Chiltren House Halifax. The teacher told me by January she must be toilet trained *gulps*

dor dor,
I dunno also leh. The thing is, my taste buds are not that refined, so steam egg and chawanmushi tastes about the same, just that chawanmushi is very much smoother lor.
And of cos Dec can't differentiate also, so he eats whatever is easier to cook. Haha!

SD
u mean for chiltern house admission they must be toilet trained before they will accept? really strict.

the beef patties sounds nice.

holly
what happen to bosco?

bbp
hee easier that dec just eat whatever u cook and is not fussy!

when u wan to go for the JG trial? i prefer weekday

Dordor
okie so it is special cling wrap? those that they use for those herbal chicken kind is it? i always wonder what kind of cling wrap that is...

the other thing that i tried last time is cook chicken rice. cos jh was fussy abt rice for one time. just use chicken stock, pour like normal water with the rice and put into rice cooker to cook.

SY,
Yah, I'm very very grateful that Dec is relatively unfussy. *Touch Wood*
Forum is easier for you than Evans right? Bilingual Playclub at Forum Weekday is on Monday - 9am, 11.30am, 2pm, 4.30pm
I haven't called them yet, but I'm thinking of going for the 11.30am one.

SY,
his constipation problem lo. he is no longer constipated. but he always poo till very xin ku, his poo are very hard n everytime he poo, his pipi will tear n bleed. we wanna get this problem over coz is been bothering us for quite sometime le. this appt is actually a follow up already. his first visit was 2 mths ago. is helping abit. but still gotta continue to follow up. get it done n we will b in peace also.

think he has phobia of poo'ing...

Hihi mummies... Checking in frm KKH now... Just celebrated my bday with little Anya n my family... Been a tiring day... My birth story as follows:
15 apr
7pm contractions started with a frequency of abt 15mins apart
8pm start to have contractions 10mins apart
9.30pm reach KKH delivery suite
10pm 3cm dilated
11.30pm epidural administered
12.30am 4cm dilated
2.40am 6-7cm dilated
3.40am 8-9cm dilated
5am with 3 hard pushes... Little Anya safely arrives
weighs 2.766kg
length 46cm
head circumference 32cm
and thks all for the well wishes... Was also able to latch her for abt 45mins after delivery!!!

glad to hear you had a smooth delivery! can't wait to see pics of little anya!

JG katong: who wanna check out the katong one? let me know! :D Mich... is ethan attending this one already? which day class r u in?

didn't know bosco had constipation.. wonder if melissa's has eased off too..

wah bbp got bitten by the cooking buy lately?

think we'll make a trip to the library tomorrow!

anyone still visiting cellow tomorrow?

bbp
1130 sounds good. let me know when u r going.

holly
poor bosco. anything that can help with his problem? taking more fruits or vege will help?

jsp
wow 3 pushes and she's out! great job! really special that she's out to celebrate your bday with u...
got pics?

DD
is there a JG Katong? i dun mind going that one....

SY,
initially i tot was the problem with fiber as well. but after some diet adjustment, we realise is not. he eats alot of fruits n veggie yet he still gek until very jialat when he poo..

JSP
Congrats and welcome, little Anya! Great latching too!

Holly
Sometimes too much fibre will make it even more difficult to poo. More water or other fluids should help.

Bbp
Tomato creamy pasta? Thought it's usually one or the other? I make my own pasta sauce now. It's a blend of tomatoes, spinach, celery, and carrots with minced meat. Today's was cooked with shitake mushroom as well. Both boys eat it and I am very gleeful that they are taking in veggies without realising it, haha!

DD
Think E Sq means 'violin'.

holly
i agree with youpi. think they are still quite young so dun think they can stomach that much fiber. does he have sensitive stomach? for some ppl, they can't take too much fibre. it makes the problem worse.

youpi
u blend the sauce? or u just cook together?

Sy,
ok will make a call to jg forum on Monday and let you know the outcome. Hope I don't forget

dd,
Bo bian. We are going to the states too and I don't want h to reject western fare la.

Youpi,
there actually is a number of creamy tomato sauces online but all using cream. I prefer to use milk cos at least if there's leftover milk, it can be rid of easily by downing it.

youpi,
he drinks alot of water as well.. he drink 2 bottles of water everyday one. even teachers in CC say he drinks alot..

SY,
he is a junkie. he takes anything. n if he likes it, he will overdose.. tt's the problem..

jace,
i was dreading too, but all seems well w C2. anyway, when i saw him f2f for the first time, it is worth all the pains and aches of pregnancy. now need to settle C1 in...

sigh.
today woke at 530am to latch then pump. then C1 woke up and wanted time alone w me. so we sat at the computer and watched youtube videos of (guess wat) moving FANS for one hour.
double sigh.
and he refused to let go of me till Mr C woke up and brgt him out to grocery shop at 9am.
triple sigh.
AND... he threw a tantrum when I latched C2 on the bed. luckily Mr C was awake already. no amt of telling C1 that i used to feed him too was able to pacify him. really big 'vinegar pot' he is holding onto tight!

help, mummies of 2 and more.....! wat else could i be doing?

bosco is sick again!!!! =(

i am very very pissed off with hubby...

he love to play mj n i only allow him to play at home coz he will b able to help me tk care of bosco as well. but ever since i am preggy with bbC, i told him dun play mj liao. i need to get rest.

ytd after dinner, he went back office do some stuffs and i kept telling him, bosco is having a very bad cough. his running nose was like a tap but we already got him a medication in guardian early in the day. but i was worried when he start coughing very often. hubby heard it n he just went "orh". den left the helpless me with bosco alone at home. bosco was a good boy n he went to bad at 9pm sharp.

at 9.45pm, hubby came home. open door telling me "he slp la? i tml no need go back ofx le. coz i finish my things already." den he came in, with freaking 3 of his mahjong kakis coming in right behind him! my blood immediately started boiling.

he claims i agreed when he told me the night b4. all i did was gave him a stare! i already got very angry with him when he went drinking with his buddy on TUESDAY till 2.45am! how will i b happy with him playing mj when I already told him I dun wan him to play mj coz I WANNA REST!

I was so so so angry with him I went out. I was out from 11pm till 4.30am. n guess wat? when i reach home, HE WAS STIL PLAYING!!! n best part was, Bosco was coughing away the whole night n all he does was to complain to me and never tot of asking me back n bring him to 24 hr clinic.

this morning at 6.45am, bosco woke up crying very badly. i nvr heard him crying that badly coz no matter how we hush him, he still cry very badly. I loose my temper n scolded the hell outta hubby and we brought bosco to TMC 24 hr clinic. he vomited in the hospital and doc gave him neb. finally he felt better n his wheezing stopped. we came home to rest. at 10am, he started crying again.. he felt bad again i guess. hubby brought him outside to the living rm. but his cry din stop.. n eventually i came out n saw him crying while hubby trying to feed him his medicine. i hushed him n fed him. he stopped crying.