(2008/07) July 2008

kko kko nara

i have made reservations for 10 at 12.15pm. meet at tanjong pagar mrt station (control station) at 12pm and we walk there together.

those who are going on your own. its the row of show houses along tras street. when walking down from the mrt (mrt behind you) its on the right side. reservations under jaime.

see everyone laterrrrrrrr!

Cellow,
you are good! Keep it up!

Sy,
haven't decided where the swop is going to be at. So far, youpi and my place is open.
Thanks for the looking young compliment! But I really should get something done for my pigmentation though. Anyone has recommendations?

Pb,
can't get away with english in Montreal?

then again, with global warming, winters seem to be getting harsher though.

Doggiebb,
thanks for the reservations! Will meet you all directly at the shop itself. Walking there from hubby's office.

enjoy the fried chicken lunch!

qing,
tis ok... slip of the hands happen...
sayang you and barbie!

pb,
alamak abt digging own hole.
winter in amsterdam was really extreme. at least here in SG, not so much fluctuation in weather.
rashes on poppy *SHOOOOOO* and stay away

sy,
actually confinement is quite boring... any1 up for a visit to see C2 soon? hehe.

sticky #1
i suppose the phase never really goes away. i m a #1, i still wish my sibs would disappear (sometimes) - ahahhaaaa. so i fully understand what C1 is going thro! plus he is soooo young.

pb
having a garden is overrated!!! we have a HUUUUUUGE garden here in my in-laws' place, but end up pomfret and i don't use it daily. mosquitoes, and the heat. and the gardening omg. just trying to keep the plants alive in between gardener's visits is enough to kill the poor helper.

sigh. maybe i'm psycho-ing myself with 'the cons of living in a big house with a big garden in an ulu area' coz i so hate it here.

depression
must be post-holiday blues. i'm getting bouts of depression when i'd suddenly sit down and start tearing when i think about spending the rest of my life in this house.

the mind keeps saying 'count your blessings, count your blessings' but the heart just cramps and flips and dies.

cellow
we're gonna come visit you some day. i'll sms you. need to check with my sil when she's up to it. her toddler is hyper. he doesn't walk, he only runs. so it's kinda tough for her to keep chasing him while carrying the baby too.

mil vs sil
it's really good to talk to this sil now we're living in the same house. at least she understands what i have to go through with my mil. but she's got hope in the horizon coz they are moving out in july/aug. so she's just feeling like a nomad for the time being. whereas i feel like a prisoner.

and a really funny thing that cheered me up. sil said that her hb (bil) has to prepare his own breakfast of bread and jam. and that one morning my mil commented to her "i notice that nowadays the wives don't serve the hbs" and my sil just thought 'whatever' (coz my mil still prepares bread for my fil and MY HB every SINGLE MORNING. always 3 slices of bread. one with jam. one with cheese. one with ham and cheese. every single day. no fail.)

Hehe ya dustee, grass is greener on the other side/garden
we both grew up with a small garden and we really enjoyed. I want small, not a huge one

Bbp
Hard. It's lile trying to survive in sg speaking only hokkien for instance

Holly
No lah I was also 25 or rather was abt to turn 26 when I had D. So not that young also lor turning to 3sss this yr end liao.......hehehe

But age is just a figure ma n we only feel older when we see someone's younger age popping out........hahaha
N we are not insecure mummies who will be bothered by our age right....hehehe

Youpi
Same here.....sometimes I think my #1 abit poor thing but I really cannot give him the time when I have to settle #2 esp when she's still latching.

Got my buggy board from toys r us. Think the wtb thread alot of ppl trying to get. Now its good cos E loves to stand on it when D is sitting. But the con is U can't close the stroller with the buggy board n u have to take it out n its not light nor small. So so far I have not taken it out alone. Its in the van......u want can borrow for a few days to try it on before u decide to buy.

dustee
Actually the korean food at J8 foodjunction is quite nice. I learn to eat kimchi from there......hahaha
N WAH got new computer!!! hehe
Hope u got a laptop then can play everywhere...keke

Cellow
Wah u have ALOT of milk!!!

I'm a #2 n I always wish I didn't have an older sis. Like now she keeps telling ppl hw FAT I am now and hw skinny I used to be. BUT HOR, all my life I can only remember her calling me "ah pui" so hw do I feel slim???

SY
For my #1 now #2 is a convenience. Anything he did n I ask he will say #2 did it......arghhhhhh

Qing
I'm sure u cried n hurt more then barbie. Dun be so hard on urself, she'll hacve forgotten it today but u will remember it the rest of ur life.
I cut D when he was very very young twice somemore n lucky I found the calendula cream helped stop the blood flow cos I was alone at home n the blood won't stop n I was holding his finger n crying......hahaha
But he was still sleeping soundly....keke

Awww mr c so sweet

Eh talk abt horrible winters... -40 bad enough?
when it's winter like that, couped up at home for days... Will go crazy!

That's why I told hub- got garden but can only use it for half the year! Even summer may not be hot like sg. When we stayed with his bro at end of summer, it was so cold we could only just stare at the swimming pool wistfully

Yummy lunch! I'm so full I feel like sleeping already!
Glad to finally meet Rena and also Holly! Rena, Thanks for the Kimchi!

Cellow,
Wow you have abundant supply! Good for you!!!

Dustee
*pat pat* It's good that you have your SIL to talk to. Hang in there ok! When I visited Tokyo Disneyland, it was in august and the weather was blazing hot! 2 weeks in Japan is good! I only spent like 3.5 days. Definitely not enough!!!

Burp!....
Lunch was Yummy!!!
chicken i like, soup i like, kimchi i like!!

cellow
will prob visit u on weekends on our way to simei
or u havin a first mth-celebration??

PB
love to haev a garden for my poor dog...
winter, i don mind but don that cold.. our family like to 'nua' in the bed.. budden prob no good for our pockets huh...

Cellow,
where do you stay? East side if I recall right? Too far for lazy me

Dustee,
the reason your garden is so hot is cos you guys wake up during the hot period! Any time before 10 is still manageable.
Anyway, hang in there! At least your hubby agrees that you all should move out. So don't despair. Anytime you want to get out of the house, just come date me.
And if only your sil said "why need to serve? Last time husbands didn't have hands and legs?" *grins*

pb,
oh. That's hard

smiggle.
first month celebration for family already 40+ ppl, dunno how to cram into my 4 room flat. *pengsan* trying to think of diplomatic way to not invite my least fav cousins on my mum's side....
how? any ideas?

wat btw is a buggy board?

Cellow-u invite so many... Will they all show up? Actually it still has not registered in my mind that u hv given birth :D I need to see c2!

See la now I feel like eating fried chicken!

Lunch was good. I very very full eh. Is been so long i last ate so much!! So nice the food!!

Dor,
me too. I was 26 tt yr when i delivered bosco. But like u say lo. I not too worry abt my age. Heart young can le. lol! I still enjoy disneyland like a lil gal wat. Haha!!!

pb,
they will show up bcz tis family, and obligation. that's how we are brgt up.... unless they got very very good reason not to, like they themselves giving birth!

ohh, then find a reason to drop by... after visiting me, can go eat katong laksa or beach road prawn mee - hehe

i also still so full! then so much good food, each one of us only $14.50, such a good deal!

okie who is going to induce the next mass food craving! bwahahaha!

bbp
indeed we do wake up a bit late! the sil wakes up at 7am, so now am trying to get pomfret to follow that timing but she just would not sleep before 11pm! even if i didn't let her nap! it's driving me nuts! hmm.

pb
hmm i guess i should expose pomfret more to the garden. i get so distressed when she gets bitten by mozzies despite the bug repellent. and i do worry about skin cancer. am i worrying too much? oh gosh i must be a closet hypochondriac! i'm worrying too much!

hey if you didn't feel convinced that staying in montreal is what you wanted after your few visits there, then you should just forget it and choose somewhere else! hmm. my sil said after 10 yrs in melbourne she's totally adapted to that place. but it's easier coz they are english speaking after all. but you could always try this thing that my sil and bil are doing. they are just planning to be in sg for some years. if you really want to try, you could just do montreal for a few years? you never know, you'd find fellow sg there. you could end up speaking french like a native speaker, etc etc etc

dor
yeah my hb decided he wanted a non-work computer so that he can store all his music files etc etc. so this is a shared desktop. which means i better don't store records of spree purchases here. hahahahaha.

korean food
never tried the one at j8. hmm tempted to go now. how about the one at what used to be called meridien hotel along orchard? now i think it's called concorde. there's this food court at the basement? had this korean stall, always super long queue too.

SD
i think my mil just tsk tsk tsks at me and sil and thinks "not indonesian girls that's why" hahaha. gosh it's tough to be indonesian daughter-in-law! they have all these expectations! it's like when my mil has guests, and these nice old ladies are telling me things i should be doing and how i should be doing them...... i don't know how you cope!

dor
u use calendula cream not cee meh?
i tried calendula cream on my wound very cee loh...
that why i dont dare to put for her.
just tape a plaster over.

doggiebb
ya, it was a good deal..
cheap and nice and super full...

drugstore
anymore order?
i placing order soon liao

hey qing... forgot to ask you in person.. so have you placed the drugstore order?? can I still add that one bottle of sambucus sugar free please?

lunch was good... wish I was in bed and not at work now though...

Youpi,
Yes for the sporty game session! I think my hubby will like too! 

Cellow,
Can post pics of c2 here or not..want to see handsome he..

Qing,
Barbie will forgive mommy ok? cheer up..

Pb,
yes the fried chicken was outta this world! I wanted to da bao for mr bbp but the sky suddenly turned dark and I decided it wasn't a good day to be drenched and holding drowned chicken in my hands.

Doggiebb,
I still full too! But I so feel like going for another round at dinner time with the mister!

Dustee,
push her bedtime slowly forward like 10min a day. Don't do it all at once or it will just drive you crazy!
As for mozzies, they get into the house too. So there's really no diff whether dec stays in the house or not

there was this period where he had 1 new bite everyday!

Qing
Cee! Lol!

Thinking abt fried chicken... And beach rd prawn mee and laksa...

Rena
There's more than one kind of kimchee? Thot it's like achar, 1 flavour only

Alamak raining now. How to go home! Got umbrr but my shoes cannot get wet

PB: leave lots of shoes beneath work desk... good way of 'hiding' them from hubby too haha..

beach road prawn noodles.. must go east coast rd and eat... YUMZ

kimchi.. got hundreds of different ones... though i dun like the sour chilli vege kinds.. (didn't know the yummy ikan bilis and eggie are considered kimchi too)

Dustee
Hmmm I'm lucky my mil is lazy to meddle and since she lives far away and only come and stay with us for a few months it's ok. If I live in my MIL house in her hometown I think I will become crazy as well. You know my SIL wakes up everyday at 5 am to go to the market!! OMG I think I'm the only DIL who wakes up at 9 during weekends. But I think since beginning I've already shown them what kind of person I am. Means that if I don't want to do then I won't do it. No choice la they will label me as a certain type, but afterwards they know it's useless lor. So complaining also not going to do anything.

Generally Indon girls tend to mostly do whatever the in-laws asking them to do. You just need to do it willingly and accept it then ok. You know I had to manage all my MIL and BIL's finances in Singapore and also care for my MIL's medicine everyday plus accompanied her to see doctors. (OMG I have used up to 6 days of Annual Leave just for that). I even have to accompany and wait for her when she's going to restrooms outside. Clean the toilet bowl for her and line the toilet paper for her to sit. When she comes out I had to have a paper towel ready for her to dry her hands and had to walk like a snail next to her, offering my arm for her to hold. When she cough I had to quickly offer water. I'm not used to it in the beginning but the more I thought about it the more unhappy I am. So I took it as my job la. Since I did so many things for the family so my in-laws try to close one eye also. hahahaha. Now better la since having a baby I have excuse to focus more on smaller baby to big baby. hehe.

Like the recent accident when Emma fell to the planter balcony. My MIL was the one opening the glass door mah. I couln't scold her for being so inconsiderate leh. I was so frustated I scolded my hb. He also kept quiet dun dare to complain. After coming back from hospital my MIL wanted to ask me to take her out shopping but my face was so black she didn't dare ask me. In the end I relented and brought her to supermarket instead. I got no mood to bring her shopping after all the shock in the morning. sigh...

Wow... I ranted so much! Just be consistent on the things you won't do. Don't do it even once. Then she'll get it. But of course must have other things to please her lah.. so she can close one eye. Then proceed to the next "I do not want" list. One by one hehe.

Bbp
Can go for supper hehe.. I went with Mr SD for supper, just to enjoy the fried chicken and the makguri (rice wine) which is so niceee.

Michelle

Wow I hv never seen such a big post fr sdchick before! Hehe

Oh my I'm still on the bus. Hungry as hell. Maybe I shd consider eating my dinner on my way home

Lunch sounds yummy!

SD
You have the patience of a saint! Are all Indonesian DILs like this?

Cellow
Wah your milk supply is amazing! I can visit too, if you don't mind me bringing my two 'attachments' along. Still have stuff to pass to you. Afternoons okay?

Qing
What does 'cee' mean?
Anyway, don't fret too much, it's a common mistake and as you can see, almost everyone is guilty of it, yes, me too.

PB
Hb can teach you the language, yes? And yes, maybe commit to two-five years there and see how it goes. You'll never know until you try it. Can take lots of mini-vacations to America as well, hehe.

Dor
The Korean food at J8 food court is good? What dish? Could you sms me your address please? I'll go collect tomorrow afternoon at about 3+ (hopefully no rain).

youpi
we went to tanglin tree yesterday! poppy loved it! kept going up the stairs, down the slide, up the stairs, down the slide. the adults took turns going with her and were wiped out and sweaty but she was like the energizer bunny that kept going haha

yes hub can teach me the language but my stubborn mind has already decided to block it out. actually before knowing my hub i studied french for 3 years and an additional couple more after we got married. but no use wan haha. forgot most liao

at my family gatherings, they all try to talk to him to make him feel welcome. at his family gatherings, they just talk amongst themselves (incl him) and leave me out. that's the worst thing, esp when in a foreign country and facing foreign language. i feel like a new domestic helper sometimes. sitting in the corner when sir and marm bring me to party

'cee' means 'sting'. tzeee? haha

youpi,
late afternoons are ok too... C1 wakes from nap at abt 4pm, sleeps at around 2pm... just give me notice
sure bring the 2 boys along! keep the stuffs for kiddy swop. just come!

the amazing milk supply dropped. but no stress no stress. i hv more than enuf for C2.

pb,
hmmm. ya, can imagine you sitting in the corner like new domestic help. sigh.
generalisation - i went to a mostly ang moh party last christmas, and dun really understand the need to chat so much over nothing in particular (the weather can tk up 10mins!!! yeech)

sd,
that paragraph was a lot of words. ya, you ranted so much!

dd,
beach road prawn noodles - and when you do make it here, drop by my place!

missysz,
C2's pix are on FB.. somewhere... let me find the link and FB-msg you.

qing, saw yr post abt cutting nail. dun blame yrself la, i also cut gem thumb b4

n blood keep gushing n both of us so helpless over stopping it. wat worse is she often suck on tat thumb... so i have to watch her for the next few hours...

btw, any of yr kids still sucking pacifier n thumb?? how to stop ah?? i dun have this prob for no1 as he doesn't use at all.

BabyG's nose was runny n he started coughing again yesterday n I think he got it fm my helper! Arrgh! Poor baby is off milk again n kept waking fm bad coughing bouts..using baby vicks on him..what else can I do to ease his coughing at night... Sigh..hate to see him unwell

DD
Cld it be ur aircon? U talked abt a purifier, did u get it in the end? Ask ur helper to beat and sun his mattress today, see if tt helps. Poor bbG, auntie pink sayang

Garfield
Yalor u MIA for so long, I also give birth already

dear mummies
thanks for the reassurance.
barbie like what you all have said has totally forgotten abt the incident liao.

PB
u know me best huh
LOL

youpi
ya cee = sting.

garfield
mine is still on pacifier, have no plan to stop yet

ahhh...
it looks like our next stop is prawn mee huh

and hor...
got to complain again
few week ago we bought this ball pool thingy from ELC for barbie
finally install it on sat. NOW IT IS SPOIL!!!
WHY?
boz that brat sat on the edge and broke the supporting 'columm' made of plastic while we were away yesterday...!!!!!
super angry loh. and he deny all the way loh..
the worse part is when he cant fight back anymore he say 'i ask my papa to pay you back loh' so what, you think money can solve all issue?
sometime i really feel like slapping him loh.
and the mother is thick skin enough to continue bringing her kid over here even though she knew it very well that we don welcome here.
and my god mil is kind enough to let them stay.
and you know what, for him being here, she has all the free time after work. boz she only bring her son back on friday night. if her son goes to childcare, she cant have her own time anymore at night. clever right.
and this thing also contribute to my stress.
they always stress me to have another baby so that we can shoo them away. haiz....

Youpi
Not all DILs are like that I guess. But my close friends are similar like me.

PB
That's exactly what my sister told me. She married a German and when he came to SG we all tried to accomodate him and talk in English. My sister said his family will just talk and talk and sometimes she would feel left out (even if she can speak German) - they don't involve her in the conversation sometimes. Her hb said if she wants to get involved in the convo she should just jump straight to it and make a conversation. hehe

DD
Gave him some hearty chiken soup. It helps ease the cold.

Esquare
I've sent you a pm. Like doggiebb said - City hall's lead indeed swoon-worthy keke.

Qing
Wah isn't this kid is getting out of control already. In fact just ask the father to replace it for you. Things from ELC is not cheap what. Since they don't listen, make them pay money loh. I'm sure after a while they will listen.

sdchick,
your MIL still have mood for shopping after E's fall?! *faint*

doubledee,
aunty here helps to shooo the virus away from bbG!

garfield,
my boy has weaned off pacificer but he likes to put his fingers in his mouth now..

qing,
should just get the parents to get a new one! really v thick-skinned!!

missysz
Yar I know she wanted to go out since she's been bugging me the day before. I just show her black face and took emma to my room. She didn't dare ask afterwards. Yesterday my aunt-in-law came and she mentioned to them that Emma's fall was nothing serious. GASPPPPP!! Just because she's ok doesn't mean the fall was not serious. OMG I was so pissed I didn't bother to talk to her the rest of the night.

qing,
get the parents of the boy to buy you a new one and install it! and tell the boy he cannot come into your room anymore.
haiyooor, angry for you.

sd,
cool cool. when is she leaving this time?

Qing,
wah tt's is very rude u know.. "mei jia jiao" ah... duh...

n if is prawn mee for the nx, hehe.. U ALL ENJOY AH~ =P

bbp,
i think we both forget to tabao in the end right? =P

Prawn mee
my all time fav...

Pb
don hear much on poppy fr u nowadays.. how's she?? u all went tanglin tree at nite? was it nice at nite cos noon maybe quite hot for me to bring kayden..

Qing
i will take the boy under my wing and teach him some manners.. wahahaha...

DD
again! poor bbg.. he needs to build up his health.. think when he's better, start on TCM perhaps

Cellow
u seem quite free for one with a newborn and a "terrible two"??
Budden cedric very guai and u got confinement nanny rite..
sms/PM me ur address can? i may drop by over the weekend if u dont mind

Kayden went for his therapy this morning and refuse to walk.. lie down fr the lift of KKH and we drag him tot he foodcourt.. this boy ah...
luckily the surgeon graduated him, vaccinations all done with cert given...

at this stage, therapist say he gotta learn how to play pretend and keep his toys and feed himselves..

Sd/missysz
the problem is how do i confront the parent
and if i really does that, my god mil will be in a very difficult situation right?

cellow
the problem is the ball pit is outside in the living room
and last night
i told my hubby
since you are at home pls take extra care.
our kitchen set from ikea might not last long too.

and worse, he is down with fever and cough AGAIN!!!
i suppose the mother didnt clean their house.
everytime he goes back for a long weekend like for more than 3 days, he come here with a lot of colourful syrup.

holly
ok, tell us what your craving and we will go satisfy that.

smiggle
i want to but there is also a side of me saying
why should i help educate others kid when they themselves arent doing anything.

PB
just saw your blog.
interesting place.
oh, and the altantis place look fun.
i went on a search and found out that they have birthday party.
wow, should we have the 2nd birthday party there?

SD
ya loh, your mil still can ask to go shopping?
maybe she didnt think its her fault that E fall into the planter.
but it is really scary loh.
23 storey lehz. don play play...
if i were you, i will also be super angry...

oh, just one question, why you mil need you to bring her out shopping?