(2008/07) July 2008

hey girls.. think i'm gonna drop out of lunch coz fuming over work woes now.. not in shape for lunch... grouchier than oscar the grouch now...

u girls enjoy the ramen ok?

dd,
you shd have come for lunch anyway, and watched the antics of declan and poppy as they sat next to each other... g'teed to make you lol one.

re work woes... dun fume or get mad, get even! hehe.

batgirl,
okie got your voucher!

time flies
i was thinking over lunch that our babes are so big now. the da ge ge of this thread kayden's 2nd bday is fast coming up. sigh.

Lunch
who paid pls hang the chicken head

quite a value set meal...
oh ya.. Declan really said 'Gorgeous auntieee'

cellow..
now that u say it.. like so fast..
just one year ago, all u of and babies wearin the party hats..
no choice.. must give him a celebration since he the first..

04 april or 08 april??? weekday or weekend??

hi hi, i paid... chicken head later cos left my receipt in the car... din like the food tho. ramen too salty and curry no taste.

weekend better for me, but suit the majority loh.. weekday, ethan has class until 11, so i can only make it over lunch time kind loh.. at your convenience lah, its kayden the prince's bd, not mine. haha..

so cute dec was pouting, and poppy was holding his hand like trying to console him... and when bbp took out the raisins, did you see poppy sticking and licking her lips? haha.. but when offered her the raisin, she doesnt want.. soooooo funny....

those who took the value set, its S$10 each.
those who took the special soba thing, its $13.70.

pay me the next time we meet, or want to TT?
POSB savings 103-51886-5

wah! $10 value set at marutama sounds good! wish i was there.. to see the cute pair who's been pak-tor-ing a lot lately ah.. go hot date in the sky lah.. hehehehe

birthday party.... didn't have one for my babyG last year... wondering if i should throw one this year... or if i have to time to plan for one haha

DD, we din go marutama in the end cos firstly its so crowded, secondly they dun allow ppl to go in earlier until everybody arrive. so unfriendly. we jumped ship to waraku jap instead...

LOL on michelle’s “A fierce PB is not one to be trifled with”. I’m not that fierce what. But I can play the sarcastic card very well when I know i’m definitely in the right of way. But that woman ah… and her husband also the same kind. Like they say, leng giao leng, hong giao hong (dragon marry dragon, phoenix marry phoenix aka same kind marry same kind)

So nice to meet all the mummies again today! I like that place! Cheap and good. Hehe giam giam I LIKE! Will prob be the last time before cellow pops hor? Well definitely my last time as a SAHM! I know I should be feeling anxious but this week I’ve been feeling rather good. I’ve made peace with myself I think and not beating myself up about what more I could have done. Very ommm. Haha.

Youpi
So will you still take on freelancing with that co like you originally planned? Your old place ah? Guess we’ll see for ourselves soon enough? ;)

Michelle,
Haha, I enjoyed the ramen cos it was salty.. just the way I like it. Only complaint... warm! Well, if we are at Central next time, we can just try the other restaurants. There are so many!
Antics Antics galore from the 2 kiddos sitting beside each other la. And how about Poppy trying to get Dec to exchange his toy with her by offering him the plastic cover? And then she tried again later with a book? I thought that was super funny too.

smiggle,
Yah lor, Kayden's bday mah... so you call the shots. Just tell us weekday or weekend, then we try and coordinate such that we can make it.
"Gorgeous Auntie" was coined by PB

And I sometimes get him to repeat "I am a monkey" when he's being one. I think he was doing just that when PB started the Gorgeous Auntie thingy.

PB,
And I get this feeeeeeling that Dec is more willing to call you Gorgeous Auntie. Maybe cos he sees you as the Original Gorgeous Auntie.. haha!
And it's superbly good that you've made peace with yourself. I'm still trying to get there with half a million issues.
"Blackout period" refers to certain dates that you will not be able to book with that promotional price. Very highly likely that it refers to those public holidays with long weekends.

Sigh... a sign of getting old... being able to get to sleep even though I was dead beat at 9pm. I get woken up by the slightest movement/sound and can't get back to sleep. figured instead of getting myself all frustrated over not being able to sleep, I should just get up and do some work and nurse a hot drink at the same time.

need to rant: went back home yesterday to see that babyG didn't drink any milk at all the whole day.. and reason was: he didn't ask for any... arrgh *pulls hair out*

JG vouchers: so who got them? it's a 50% disc to a trial class ah? wanna go together? or can we? :D

qing: wanna ask.. so you joined a class halfway or did you start from the beginning of the term? what's it like at that branch? lots of outdoor stuff for barbie to play with too after class?

dd
i got the voucher.. haven called them yet..

Michelle
any idea if there is expiry date?
mine should be the $10, will pass u when u come for kayden's bdae??

Kayden's 2nd Birthday Party

Date:04 April Sunday
Time:12pm-5pm (Cake cutting abt 3pm?)
Venue: my place

1) bbp & declan & mr bbp
5)

dd,
who is the caregiver looking after him?
if babyG were so dong shi, he wouldnt need looking after liao. *angry for you*

smiggle,
oops, sorry got easter brunch that day which will stretch till the afternoon. happy 2nd bday to kayden way way way in advance!

PB,
making peace w yourself - good for you

bbp,
not a sign of getting old, but smtimes a sign of thinking too much?

just a question mummies..

anyone gotten their menses like 2 weeks later than usual??
im not sure if it even like really mense, cos its faded pinkish/brown and very little..

For awhile i got horrified and tot i was pregnant!

smiggle - sorry, am pak toh-ing with hubby that long good Friday weekend so wont be able to celebrate prince kayden's turning 2...but give him lots of hugs and kisses from sophie to him oki ;)

dd - grrr...i feel like pullig my hair for u too!

DD, how can dun drink milk whole day?!?! Argh, pull your care giver's hair! (oops, think its your MIL, ok just do so quietly in your heart.. shhhhh).. I am very concerned when eboy doesnt drink milk, so we always give him as snack, need to spoon feed. he normally still gets around 500-600ml each day. now trying fresh milk inspired by dec and poppy. He took the first sip, spit and then push away. and when i spoon feed him, he pretend to cough until face red want to throw up. GIVE UP!

Smiggle, that long weekend I CAN! so you just plan and let me know loh.. fri, sat, sun all can...

cellow, ya, like we were saying, maybe next time we see you, we visit you with C2 at alvernia.. can you info me so we can visit? cos i am a fan of visiting newborns.. it just brings back so much memories, and not forgetting the bundle of joy.. we happy for you lah.. tell me when you start contraction ok...

great, PB, make peace with your self.. thats a good start. Dun worry, you will get adjusted.. slowly...

JG vouchers, din see any expiry date.. so who joining trial at east coast??

phyphy, you've got PM!

I am having serious pre mid-life crisis!
Its getting worse and I think I know why... I think its the impending re-org and taking over more responsibility that I may have started to have doubts cos I know I will be busier. recently been wanting to go be a property agent cos I am so into the property market lately... and then kinda wishing i can spend more time with eboy by doing part time work, but then think of the $$$ that I lose then feel sorry for myself that I am not born rich.. and then I ask myself I work so hard, next time Eboy also feel sorry he not born rich... blah blah blah.. it seems non-sensical.. but it just flood my mind, at 11pm everynight! insomnia!!!!

Btw, eboy teething again (so many times these few weeks!!) and so sniffing, coughing and waking up at 3am again... sigh...

Cellow,
Don't think I've been thinking too much... I didn't have much thoughts when I was trying to sleep last night. Except for the thought that I can't sleep! Haha!

Michelle,
Wow! Even with E not drinking milk, he still drinks more than Declan! Did you try Meiji? It seems to be a hit cos so far, Declan will finish almost the whole bottle without coaxing.

Yes, after that day we met, i went to buy meiji and tried it. thats the one he spit and push and gave that want-to-throw-up nonsense loh... He was not drinking milk, thats why we force him. he is ok to drink before sleep and after wake. so that is 180ml x2 already. morning breakfast and afternoon snack, my MIL always feed him something with milk so that he is forced to get his milk loh... I dunno, i just thought toddlers less than 2 yr old, still needs lot of milk for those nutrients that he cant get from porridge and others.... yes yes, i was impressed with Dec finishing the whole bottle using straw, thus inspired me to try it with eboy cos if he also can do that, my japan trip will be easier loh... no need to lug flask all day..

smiggle... did you check??? you could be preggie and spotting due to bb implanting onto walls?? or could be endometriosis?? best to just check...

cannot pull anyone's hair but my own.. i always feel like i'm in a straits jacket... haha *take deep breath*

oh.. decided to skip this term's JG class coz we'll be away a few weeks here n there so will miss classes then cannot make up for it some more.. so back into queue for the jul class... but still can go for that trial right?? :D

my boy can't even finish his 90ml... i put up a pic of him at dec's taken recently.. and feel so hard pain coz i can see his ribs showing in that pic..

and boy was he naughty last nite! insisted on colouring when it was way past bedtime!

not enough milk + not enough sleep = botak mummy (from pulling out hair)

anyone got toupee shop to recommend? hahaha

oh forgot... smiggle.. if we dun have easter plans, we can make it too!

mich u r going to japan too?? when?? and which part of japan? I miss japan a lot...

is dustee there liao?

I think dustee is flying off today... think she stressed out from the packing and etc... dustee, enjoy Japan disneyland! most important, enjoy your sweet family time away from your monster-IL!!

Me going Hokkaido + Tokyo in early May.. very excited...

Eboy despite eating so much, still never gain weight and also ribs to play guitar lah.. but he so active whole day, and bowel movement so good (what goes in comes out almost immediately).. i really dunno whetehr all the goodness stays in him.. was telling PB and bbp that we spend $55 a week on just fish alone for Eboy!

Beijing 101, YunNam haircare..... oops, you dun need lah!

Btw, Qing was spotted with long silky new hairstlye that makes her look even younger than her very young age! envy envy!

Qing mei mei, where arrrreeee yooouuuuuuu?

Michelle,
Eh, make sure you didn't buy the yogurt drink cos apparently, our dear PB also bought meiji for Poppy then realised it was yogurt AFTER Poppy finished it.
Wow, E can drink 180ml at one go! Sigh, the last time I tried to force him to finish his 180ml, he threw up. So I cut back to 150ml. And even sometimes, I have to wait 15min in between parts for him to finish or he MAY throw up. Double sigh.

Oh yes, regarding packet/fresh milk, always take a sip first before giving it to our kids. This was adviced by my mom who had a first hand experience on spoilt UHT milk. When my brother was small, he finished nearly 3/4 of a packet before telling my mom that it tasted kinda weird. And when my mom tasted it, it was spoilt! Luckily nothing happened to my brother. But the moral of the story is... always do a taste test!

DD,
When it's past bedtime, why don't you just turn off the lights? I'm not sure about bbG, but Dec insisted on reading when it was really late already. I kinda just tugged it out of his hands (while distracting him) and turned off the lights. He fussed a little while, like maybe 2min, then settled down.
And Dec has ribs showing at certain angles too.

smiggle,
Yes! Agree with DD that it could be implantation! Better check ar.

alamak
the CC just called me and said C1 fell and cut his lip. already got runny nose and cough (maybe molar teething??) ystday, and now this.

i m going w mr c later to see how bad the damage is. usu mr c picks C1 up by himself.

sigh. with cut lip and teething, i can def look forward to sleepless nights this weekend.

bbp, oh ya... the yogurt drink... we were there when she bought it.. and there was a story to it even (a twist!)... hee...

E can drink 180ml at one go when he is still sleepy, like before sleep and when he just wakes.. once he is wide awake, NO MILK.

ok good advice on the testing milk thingy... we should be the guinea pig! and milk spoils easily too!

Sayang C1!!! this is part and parcel of CC, kids running around and only that many teachers to guard them... dun worry, maybe its just a small cut, it will heal fast!!

talking about falling, Eboy fell on the same spot two days in a row... the crying was horrible, the screaming also.. but think the heart breaking is even louder.. all these happened right under my nose and it made me feel so guilty, why my hands so slow, cannot catch him in time...

Cellow,
Sigh. Hope the sleepless nights don't last too long cos yours are coming up soon!

smiggle,
Test Kit! Go! Now! Heehee.

Michelle,
Haha, any idea what colour packaging was the yogurt drink?

Think it was a pink bottle. there is a sticker on the bottle that states it is strawberry yoghurt drink...

read about the JN affair and giving him punches and boxes non-stop now!

Fustrated..
Lately Ezekiel is really getting on my nerves.. Lately he has been waking up at 2 plus , 4plus.. Asking for milk the climb out of his playyard and walk around.. Then climb up the bed and keep disturbing the big e.. Then 6 plus wake up for milk again.. Tired tired...

Pregnant???
My menses this month is late for 3 weeks but tested neg. A little dissapointed.. But hb mention that my both pregnancy , the detaction was very late almost 9-10 weeks.
Pray hard

michelle
will ib to u tonight.

smiggle
yeah better test...actually i also had spotting last week but dun think i m preggy leh...anyway it stopped so i dun think too much abt it.

will let u know whether i can make ti for the birthday party.

re JG trial
when are u guys going? i dun mind going to the east coast one...

re milk
what brand of fresh milk do u give? give those in a bottle and need to pour out kind or give those in packet? i m thinking of starting jx on milk but dunno how to do it...

cellow
poor c1. hope it's not too bad. accidents are bound to happen. we can only hope it's not too serious. when jh first started sch, he came back with a bruised toe one day. the sch did call me abt what happen and i can only tell jh to be more careful. he had dropped the work on his own toe and it was so bruised.

michelle
feel that jn using the wife to gain sympathy....she really very poor thing..

just wondering, how many of us wd forgive our hb if they did something like this? i always tell my hb if he do something like this, i won't let it rest so easily. and he can be sure that the kids will follow me if anything happens!

Michelle

smiggle
if late by 2 weeks, may not be able to detect pregy.how many days pass? but maybe thats for me only.

Bbp
Haha on me being the original gorgeous auntie. I’m happy to share the title with anyone who wants it
qing and michelle were clamouring for it keke.

Oh your sleepy but can’t sleep-ness could really be fatigue. Take it easy ok? //hugs//

Aiyoh wanted to bring poppy to Keppel marina for our last SAHM-baby outing but it’s raining! It would have been perfect. So much open space and grass. Poppy loves it.

DD
So bbG did not have any milk at all! Wow. And can tahan. Wow. Was it your helper looking after him? Do you give her a routine for him? Sometimes they need structure (helpers, not babies).

Poppy is wondering when she can meet auntie DD to compare botak hairstyles

Making peace with myself
Oh yes, very ommm indeed!

Michelle
Wow 500-600ml of milk a day is GOOD! Ok I promised to give you some recipes on how to intro fresh milk.

1) Mushroom pasta. Fry button mushrooms (the white ones) with onion and garlic, all chopped up. Then add fresh milk. Once boil, mix cheese (I usually use edam or cheddar). Then mix with pasta
2) Add in omelette and fry with capsicum, onion, cheese
3) Cook cod in milk then reserve milk to stir in cheese. Serve with broc and carrots all lumped together with cod and sauce
4) Broc or potato or carrot or pumpkin, cooked in stock (chicken or veg) then blend and add milk or cream (tada, cream of broc/potato/carrot/pumpkin)

Hope this helps! Just do it gradually. If you just give him straight like that, he will think ‘what the …., give me my normal milk!’. Add bit by bit, more and more into his bottle till it gradually becomes all fresh milk (I still add powder to fresh milk for the night feeds) over the course of a few weeks

Oh michelle
Who doesn’t wish to be born rich! But so few people are. You already are giving eboy so much and he is being cared for by family, which is great. Mummy time will be wonderful and you will not lose ALL your income if you do PT work plus spending more (and not all of) your time with him will bring you closer. All your time could probably drive you crazy
hehe

Bbp
I realized when poppy almost finished her bottle of meiji the other day (the SG flyer day) that it was yoghurt drink, not milk. Alamak. Did you buy the same?!

Re (babyback) ribs
Poppy has ribs showing but under that, big tummy. Does that count? Haha

Cellow
Oh no hope C1 is ok!

Girls,
Yesterday we went for din and poppy slipped and hit the back of her head and got one bualuku. Then sayang sayang and very fast ok, then 5 min later, she pressed on the circumference of my soup bowl and the hot soup scalded her little arm

I think it’s just being a mother but I was very calm, I asked bluebunny to give me wet wipes to absorb the heat (cos it’s cool mah) and after giving me one, he started wiping himself! And before, he was just standing there looking! I think he was in shock but he refused to admit it.

Poor poppy. In the end I asked restaurant for burnol, lucky they had, and the redness went off before we left the restaurant. Moral of the story – mums react to emergencies better than dads

SY
I’m giving poppy the pack with the cow print

Re JN
I told husband from the start. Kids go with me, no matter what. Some husbands may be even happier at that, hor? No wife, no kids, back to bachelor days hehe.

smiggleP, if late by 2 weeks, by right can test liao. try the test kit!

JG trial, I will go for the evans road one, nearer my home.... cos I will probably sign wuffy up for the Jun/july intake.

Cellow,

When would you like to meet next week? Shall we fix lunch? I know you flexi home and office one, let me know okie? Any other mummies would liek to meet up for lunchie session next week?

cut on lip
i m trying to convince myself that it looks much much worse than it actually feels.... his upper lip swelled up. teacher said he was very sad (shang xin) today and kept crying while thinking abt us his parents. so after lunch he launched himself at the glass door (she thinks looking for us) and they were too slow to catch him. end up bang his lip on the door. heart pain heart pain.

batgirl,
haha, i worked at home all this week and so shiok. what abt tue? mr C has a lunch appmt so he will pick and drop me near great world city lor. we can go eat the fabulous prawn noodles again... b4 i start bfeedg and cut down on seafood.

pb,
haiyor, sayang poppy.
yes in general mummies are calmer and more quick thinking than daddies. but being preggie has slowed down my brain a lot... so mr C is likely to react quicker than i do now :p

SY,
C1's jg trial will have to be after my confinement lor. you girls go ahead first.

sayang esquare! E2 teething also?

re JN
i not only told HB kids go with me, but that i would get every single penny from him to maintain the kids. hahaha. and he can live on bread and water for all i care. o_O

oh mummies,
i m reading this library book 'autobiography of a one-year-old' by rohan candappa.

there is this chapter abt the bb throwing food down on the floor from high chair bcz he noticed that Hairy and Smooth (his terms for the parents) always picked the food up and ate it. so in essence he was feeding them... tis not even an act of charity, but an act of humanity.
bcz the parents obviously have not enough to eat.

ROTFL

Esquare,
Didn't know you were trying for #3... jiayou and good luck!

SY,
I've given fresh milk - both magnolia and meiji. Both are handy and can drink straight from the bottle/carton.

PB,
Alamak, I bought fresh milk la. I read the bottle AND taste tested it.
And I think you're more experienced, that's why you reacted quicker and more calmly than bluebunny la.

ouch to C1 falling and cutting his lip.. when babyG did that, he bled profusely which freaked me out! hope he's ok... *sayang C1 and cellow* the swell should go down after a day...

aiyo.. to all the baby accidents...

good advice on mummies being the milk tester b4 putting to bb's lips...

Esq: u got irregular menstruataion pattern wan huh? anyway jia you for a little princess ok?

JG trial: would be fun if we could go together hor? but think they limit 'trialers' to 3 per class?

PB: ooh thanks for the milk recipes!

batgirl: which day and time slot r u looking at for wuffy's JG? sat 9am? :D

PB: wah u can go kidzloft shopping liao everyday! and eat yummy casuarina prata! or yummy chilli crab down the road ;) excited?

cellow: i read dat book! hehe needed some time but when i was midway.. started laughing through... :D

recall one page clearly... shit happens.. haha

bad news, eboy is having fever. din take any long nap and woke up crying bad during nap. dunno due to fall or due to teething. He fell on the same spot twice in two days in a row..

i dunno what to do

michelle

the same thing happened to me before. talia fell from chair, hit the back of her head. 2 days later she got fever. I rushed to KKH a&e and had the doctor tell me that symptoms of concussion does not include fever.

I was sceptical cos you know, those docs at a&e are mostly housemen.

i googled and fever above 38 degrees was listed as one symptom.

If I am you, i would make a trip to KKH, just to have someone check him (his pupils, gait etc) and tell me that no worries, fever is not a symptom. *pat pat*

So far temp is 37.4. But we all used the same thermometer and we are around 36.1. Gave him paracetamol and it seems to be controlled. Tried to make him sleep but now he active again. Now taking dinner also seems normal. Should I monitor? Or jus go kkh?