(2008/07) July 2008

SY thanks! I can collect from ur mum's place instead la. Not so pai seh :p let me know how much ok?

Serene, wow yah man. Lucky u saw the gynae early!!

Jabs, errm honestly I lost track on when xun gal is suppose to take the next jab and what is the next jab. My PD also never rush me. In fact last time when i asked him abt jabs, he say no rush! hee i like :p but maybe because everytime i see him, xun gal is sick. *poor gal still ls-ing*

I think I am in serious trouble.. During cny we are going to gold coast.. But now I worry that Ezekiel can sleep.. Coz nowaday we could no longer make him sleep in the playyard as He is able to climb out.. And he has butter fingers and likes to put things in mouth.. How?? Elijah was so easy but ezekiel alwasy like to play ..

i know why i'm getting more and more moody as the days go. my hb's older brother and wife and toddler and baby have decided to come back to sg from aust coz they feel they want my in-laws to see their grandchildren more often.

so if their purpose is so the old folks can spend more time with the children, why is it they get to choose to buy a place outside and stay outside? and i have to continue staying here in this house with my ils?

why why why why why is it that if they stay outside, it's still great coz they 'are coming back from aust' but if i choose to stay outside i'm the evil and unfillial dil who brings their son astray?

grrrrrrrrrr.

dustee
ur mil did that without u askin?
she felt tat ur toothbrush was old already or she wanted to be nice??

esquare
same here, i just have to grab him to sleep.. eventually he be tired and just lie down..

smiggle, Dustee MIL is famous for replacing her toothbrush and what nots around the house. She is the empress dowager you know. Qi Xi you know? Just be happy she does not replace Dustee's lingerie as well... (scarly she does?), or was that Qing's MIL..... hahaha...

e2, everytime eboy travel, sleeping is always a problem. Last trip the cot is pathetically small that I let him sleep with us on the bed, and there goes my sleep loh... try to ask for additional mattress on the floor see if ok?

Btw, dustee ah dustee... I thought you internalised that it was YOU who din want to move out cos you PITY her, no one talk to her, no one stay with her? but I get what you mean. normally the kind one is the one being bullied and taken for granted. the evil one rules the world... Sucks!

dustee
Like I told u lor cos ur mil likes to be in charge so she wants to be incharge of EVERYTHING and still look like a very very nice person.
The son who has already moved out she cannot help it ma so now she die die want a son (ur hubby) to stay with her.
Actually...........u know hor.....now I am saying this I realise.......its seems the same for me leh.....hahaha
Cos we managed to move out after some trouble. But I have already stated that i'll move out after staying 1 yr with them ma even before marriage so it was quite quick lah all done and settled within few mths.
Nnnnnnnnn it seems like they really still dun like it that they are not incharge of our lives(my fil actually).
Cos we moved like end of 2003 and my fil has never never stepped into our flat(which is just upstairs) until D was born. Although he dun show it cos he says he will come up afew times but he dun show. The 1st time he stepped into our flat was to see his precious grandson.

So now he has 2 other sons left to keep by his side cos 1 of them will be going to work in Korea soon.(the 1 who dyed his hair and was brought downstairs to dye back the moment he went home).

So u see...........if not for my kids.......I actually dun even go back to my inlaws hse at all kind lor. N we act polite when we meet all for the kids sake.
So if you really really really wanna move, u must plan really really well on ur side and convince ur hubby and make sure he will never change his mind even if he dies or anyone dies. Then throw the bomb to ur inlaws and wait for the drama to unfold...... *wink*

dustee,
Quick, tear the sticker away. At least that small act of defiance!
As for non-moving out, we should just meet and share stories la. I'm pretty sure I will rot in this house. And even if my in-laws aren't altogether that bad, is it wrong to want a place of my own?

dustee oh dustee

*pat pat*

i would just say YOU ARE TOO KIND! but pls don't be so kind to the extent that you get all repressed and moody and the ones who suffer will be your marriage, your children and your own health!

If you have decided that HECK! you are staying put, then you must let everything go! no toothbrush or post-it is going to rattle you! You will just go your merry way and think in your heart that your mil is just a SAD, CRAZY woman who doesn't appreciate what she has in life.

and like the bible said, the battles are not YOURS, but the LORD'S!

but if you think this is getting to you, start a game plan soon like what dordor suggested!

Don't waver between the two decisions, it will cause you a lot of grief. Decide on one and adopt the positive attitude towards that! Chin up gal!

dustee,
doggiebb makes a lot of sense!
remember to get HB onside whatever you do.... your sanity or his convenience is a good starting tack. *wink
ya and pull.the.bleddy.bleep.sticker.out.of.the.toothbrush

bbp,
no makes perfect sense. my own mother constantly brainwashed me when i was growing up that i MUST get my own place w HB, every woman needs her own household (mayb coming fm her days of living w her MIL). so that was one of the first things i brgt up to HB after he proposed... not straightaway la, but soon after.... another one was who would we spend impt holidays like christmas and CNY at....
even if you dun stay at your own place constantly, a weekend chalet/retreat is good your own sanity.

esquare,
cannot just ignore E2 and wait for him to tire himself out in a safe enclosed place until he falls asleep? their energy level has to go down sometime.

sayang L and his bualuku! youpi, mummies are def NOT many-eyed and many-handed that we can see and catch their every single fall... having said that, i do empathise with the heartache.

gotta deal with minor issues with helper.
are filipinos generally more defiant and say 'i know i know' to the employer's face while doing another thing?

she is too lazy to constantly check whether C1 pees, so told me last night that she has changed to disposables 100%. and that he got diaper rash bcz he scratches.
OF COURSE he scratches when the cloth diaper is wet. she doesnt have anything else to do when C1 is at my aunt's except to care for him! angry angry.

amongst other minor transgressions like borrowing $ fm my mum and asking my mum to loan her $ to buy stuff when they went shopping at isetan... and prob other things that my mum hasnt quite told me yet. plus persuaded my mum to let her go out shopping with her cousin when i specifically told her that she is NOT to go out over the 2 weeks i m away.

*cellow rolls up sleeve and prepares to deal with insubordinate maid*

like i said, minor trangressions. not enuf to sack her, but enuf that i m seriously pissed at the attitude.

are myamarese easier to handle? or maybe i shd try indonesian next time? budden if indo, then the ILs and HB will use bahasa in front of me to speak to her - do i really want to give up that control? hmm hmm hmm. decisions.

cellow, whoa! how dare she! why your mom allow? you got to tell your mom. I told my mom very clearly. She is NOT to order my helper around. Whatever she wants to instruct my helper, it is through me. my helper also smart lah, only listen to me and my MIL, sometimes FIL and my hubby. anyway, I think borrowing money, and going out to shop (at least she din go missing) needs to be told off. Plus, child rearing decisions are made by parents alone. cloth or disposable, its your decision to make, not hers. Pls be stern.

Btw, I think helpers, somehow, after a while, their true colours will show.. because partly they know the system and will go around it, partly becuase they know you are dependent on them liao and getting a new one is siong on you. So, handle with care. especialyl C1 is under her charge when you are not around....

cellow
seems like your turn to change maid ah.. she startin to enjoy her good life..

unless u can speak bahasa then get indo.. if not stick to ph..
to me borrowin $$ is a no no.. cos they dont need the money for home but for their vanity..
i definitely check her stuff before she leaves..

Btw, just my personal opinion, anything with regards to the integrity and personality of the helper, to me, is major. I can close one eye if she is not too thorough, not clean enough, slow in doing things. But if she is not honest, no integrity, and do things behind my back especially when I am not around. I cannot take it.

My helper, when I am overseas, have the initiative to tell my MIL that she should come to clean my house, boil water, change bedsheet and sterilise bottles so that when we return, the house is clean. My helper is really good lah! BUT, she is very slow, ironing not straight, floor mopping so-so, and sometimes got black spots here and there never clean. Only her cooking is excellent! (thats why i keep gaining weight). SOmetimes when we go out, and we go home and she knows that I still need to bathe eboy, she will volunteer to bring eboy's food jar, bowl, spoon, bottle etc back to my MIL house to wash just so I dun need to wash loh....

I think I am damn lucky...

and based on the talk with other friends with myanmese maid, generally the feedback is they are very mild natured. Other than communication problem (most of them have a wierd accent), generally no major problem.

i would agree with mich.

for me, its the heart! maybe what cellow's helper did is not right but I don't think its serious enough to warrant changing if she has the true welfare of C1 in her heart and tries her best to take the best care of him.

Mine is super careless, forgets where she put things, do things quite slow too. sometimes the ironing takes the whole week before its done. and she likes to geh kiang and tries to do things without asking me sometimes. That is initiative lah but sometimes errr...but she genuinely loves the children and has more patience with them compared to even me. When she goes downstairs sometimes to buy things, she would use her own money to buy soya bean or curry puff for my mil to eat and refused to take the money back from her. money that i have left in the pocket many times were returned to me by her when I don't even remembered putting it there.

so i guess i am darn lucky too!

but there is a good balance there because she knows i am overlooking all her other flaws and treating her well and i guess she tries to reciprocate.

I have a couple of friends who got kayin helpers too and the general comment is that they are obedient, mild mannered, have good hearts but do things very slow and yes, a bit hard to communicate cos their English is really cmi!

doggiebb, my helper too! sometimes go down to buy things and use her money to buy for us! some weekends she knows we bring Eboy to class she will pack her own lunch with her own money so that I dun need to rush back just to buy lunch for her... in that way, she got heart, you get what i man? and geh kiang - YES! likes to do things without asking.. but once i told her must ask us before proceeding (for certain type of things like when we buy new things where do I want to keep it) .. we sort of know each other pattern already... plus, i think we really treat her very well and we are sincere so i guess she feels it and reciprocates too.

cellow, not saying yours is bad. But you just need to know the bottom line, and once she crosses it, make sure you tell her off, with no uncertain terms. and at the end of the day, C1 is still the most important loh...

dustee
change toothbrush?
and even tag ur toothbrush?
does she tag everyone else's toothbrush?
or is it just urs?

and dustee
i guess even if you moved out, she might also pop by your house to spotcheck.

cellow
and ur maid.
i shall agree with smiggle to change her.
if she dares to borrow money from your mom she might do it to your aunt too.

and might also be lazy to feed C1 and every thing else.
for the sake of C1, i think it is best to change your maid.

michelle
she didnt chnage my lingerie la.
she just packed them into one plastic bag and place it at one side.

and she loves to pack my room when we went away for a day or so.
the other time, hubby got to work night shift so i brought barbie to my parent's for the night.
two day later, my room changed again.

actually it is really kind of her to pack our room for us.
but the thing is, when i cant find what i want. i will start to blame her.
and that is not good.
so i told hubby that it is nice to pack but i don want to blame her for not finding things in our room.
hope hubby convey the message loh.

and hor, yesterday she actually say this loh.
"since you brought a new carrier, the old one can give 'cousin'.
i was like ok loh, i shall give the super old one my auntie pass down to me one.
it is like why should i always be the one giving others stuff. and when i am pregnant she also didnt offer others to give me stuff lehz.
so what i have a daughter and might not use the stuff for the time being.
i am still going to have another kid what.
so what i give liao will she return when i have no 2?
i doubt so loh... she is an a** to me loh. constantly coming over to our house to see if there is something to take...

Dustee, a crazy idea came to my mind as a *small* sign of defiance, place a sticker on pomfret and hubby with YOUR name. *DUSTEE's*. V!

Maid woes
i got no time to train my new maid la.. true she is slow.. but at least she got initiative.. she would ask what to cook and not like my previous maid who prefer to keep quiet in hope that i wont ask her to cook!
and she must be able to keep kayden in her constant sight.. her heart and mind all with kayden.. my preachin to her is kayden happy, wont give u trouble and u be happy and of cos i happy..

Qing
sometimes when my mil say to give my old things away.. i would like ok and agree and then pray that she forget.. or i pretend to forget

eventually all dies down..

michelle,
my mum's heart is super soft type one la. kena bullied by the maid.
my aunt handled normal tech sec kids when she was a teacher. what is one disobedient maid to her? helper doesnt dare do anything funny with my aunt, like borrow money or take afternoon off to go shopping with cousin (!!!)
my own dear mum actually allowed it lor, i got nothing to say except 'MAAAAAA, next time cannot allow her to do that'
*shakes head* mum's (lack of) control is the problem more than the maid

smiggle,
not enuf to change her yet. but i WILL tell her off this evening.

doggiebb,
i know she has the best interests of C1 at heart and tries her best to take care of him. so therefore i said no need to change - yet.
yes yes must remind her that i see and know her faults, and m overlooking them and generally treating her well. she constantly compares her own situation (no off day, stuck in house all the time) to her cousin who has been here for 6yrs, gets every sunday off, and works with indo expat family, and makes biz deliveries for employer using bus (and therefore also got time to jalan jalan and skive)... and some more can tell me when her cousin gets sick and doesnt cook, the employers' family will eat outside.

qing,
she is being monitored all the time, so wont forget to feed C1.
*blink* next time, you joke joke and tell the aunties who keep taking away your bb stuff to pls return them when you have no2? and add the throwaway line 'dun forget hor, otherwise next time i will be too paiseh to remind you leh' knowing full well in your heart that you WONT b paiseh at all..... bwahahhah.

qing, why not tell your MIL, aiyo, "ma, dun make me pai seh leh.. the ergo so old liao give ppl, pai seh or not.. dun want lah.. make us lose face... wait ppl say old things dun want then give away.. aiyo, cannot cannot"... then look at hubby and ask "can meh? pai seh lah.. that one so old... " then shake head, take the thing, wrap up and hide somewhere, far far away.

Dustee
Is it the same type of toothbrush you are currently using? Hmm mebbe you should just buy another one - totally different one and use that instead, keep hers on the drawer. If she asked, just say you're trying a new toothbrush since the old one sucks. kkk
I agree with doggiebb. You just need to decide and talk & plan with your hb.

Cellow
Indonesian maid also the same. The one I'm having now... sighhhhh she does everything well but she's very stubborn. She is used to doing things her way when she was in taiwan so here she also wants to do things her way which I dont like. She's contstantly brickering with my mom and my #1 and sometimes ignore them, but she didn't dare to ignore me. There was once in the shopping mall where she took Emma and the stroller out from the dept store without telling me. I told her to stay at the toy area. I ended up looking for her for 1/2 hr. I finally found her outside the dept store and she had the cheek to tell me that she went out because Emma was fussy. I was so mad cuz she's using my girls as an excuse for her behavior. But it's not easy to change helper. I mean so tired to teach all over again and we may not find a good one either. I had to constantly remind her this and that, like doing a performance review every weekend. Over time they tend to forget our instructions and keep doing the things their way. So have to remind them quite frequently. Can't expect them to remember and follow the rules religiously.

dustee
I agree with the rest. If you know that you cannot possibly move out then dun let it bother you lah. Take it as you save money dun even have to buy ur own toothbrush lor.
There are much more impt stuff to occupy ur brain cells.

Rena
I would jus ergo E and walk around till she falls asleep lor. Though Ember is only nearly 10kg lah..........hehehe
or get ur hubby to do the job lah.

cellow
but i don even want to give.
i don mind selling it to them thou...

michelle
i told her to take the old one if she wants but not my baby bjorn.
she has been eyeing on that since we stop using it loh.
i hate it when she eyed on my stuff when we don use liao.
it is like it is not forever not using loh. and even if not using unless i say i don want liao then you take i ok but not thick skin keeping asking if i have anything to give.
it is very annoying.

and yesterday we threw out 3 big bags of clothes from our room.
she must also vet thru first loh.
then starts picking things up. ok i don mind she doing it. since i don wan liao
but she starts to pick things for that cousin which i really don like loh.
she is not poor or what loh.
both she and her hubby is working in police force with good salary.
she just act poor nia. why must i give her my old stuff. why must you pick stuff for her?
she very ke lian meh? i know her mil is not treating her well. oh perhaps she pretent her mil is not treating her well to get our tong qing loh.
but i just bu suai give her my stuff even those i don want liao.
i would rather give to salvation army loh.

so i keep telling myself, brain wash myself
that at most, they can only pick my old clothes for another 1-3 years?
when i have my own house whatever i throw will be to the bin directly or salvation army...

bbp
if i say give friend hor, she will then comment. :aiyo give others also don give own ppl'
then hor, you make me have a thought. a good one.
next time she tries to take my stuff and give others. i will say
'sorry mother, this one hor, got ppl want to buy from me liao, you cannot give hor.'
ahahah....
super right?

i love you so much bbp for letting me have this idea. ahahha

dustee
i think hor, you should just replace hers with your own again
to fight back and protest...

fortunate enough, my mil like to pack but not anyhow throw loh.
if not i sure force my hubby to find a house and move loh...

oh
update
barbie is now 10kg and is only 76.8cm.
doc mentioned she is on the short side like her mummy...
she said that loh.........

one more worry abt maid (see, when she got attitude, she is 'maid' not 'helper')

1 Mar, C1 starts school. And the school is abt 6 bus stops away from aunt's. So gotta depend on her to fetch him back from 1/2 AM school.

Now with all these, wat if she takes C1 and jalan jalan all over the place before she goes back to aunt's? *fret fret fret*
or worse, doesnt pick up C1 on time and goes jalan jalan all over the place b4 she even picks him up from school?

more *fret fret fret*

sdchick,
alamak, i also dun like the use Emma's behaviour as excuse tack.... hmmmmph.
definitely will change once her 2 years are up in Oct.

qing,
i like the 'mother, you cannot give, bcz got pple wanna buy from me' idea. hahahhahaaaa.

aiyoh dustee. your MIL.... i really don't know what to say? how? you say thank you to her? oh no wrt to your SIL's family coming back and getting to live apart. that one you and your hubby have to agree and attack your MIL with joint ammo, tanks and all. or else it's just a losing battle, you fighting alone with your tiny water pistol.

or how about you replace her toothbrush?

rena
relax
i'm sure E2 will be fine. kids surprise us when we bring them on holidays i think. the sightseeing and playing will probably tire him out and he will just konk out anywhere

dor
LOL about the hair dyeing!

qing
haha the way you say 'tag toothbrush' reminds me of FB tagging photos. sigh, the cousin is still irritating you huh. how about putting the stuff that barbie has outgrown in your parents house? then she won't see?
and you can say sell to your friend already? say got to start saving money for #2 (and #3 and #4) so whatever you don't need, you sell?

aiyoh! your PD! say until like that! you never say him back "small sized cute mah!". poppy is about 12kg i think and almost tall enough to need to pay on mrt liao

oh poor cellow.
your helper's pattern has come out it seems! i suggest you have a good talk with her. tell her that you know what's been going on. then ask for her explanation. see what she has to say. does she have days off? if not then perhaps she could need? borrowing money behind your back... to buy what? isetan.... doesn't seem that she would need any essentials from isetan.... if it's things that are needed, would prob be from NTUC or provison shop? whatever it is, better to talk it out than to let your imagination run wild and your anger continue boiling within. you have keep happy for C2's sake!
happy mummy! think happy thoughts!

your poor mum. so nice and kena bullied. sayang auntie cellowmama!

i'm trying to picture how it looks like - tiny smiggle grabbing muscleman kayden. who will win? what will be the outcome? stay tuned to find out more!

bbp
LOL on act blur, live forever!

girls, i am in a dilema. i went for an interview today and i like the job scope and the company. the interview went well overall but i thought my would-be boss looked a bit 'bored' at times and i felt i wasn't being asked enough questions. but then again, her eyes were a little glassy so maybe she was not feeling well. so overall, i think i would like the job. BUT #1 it is too damn far (i'd say a good 1 hour travel time. at least) but #2 i'm concerned that they may work really late. i received the invitation call for an interview at 8pm, and when i wrote to thank my would-be boss for an interview, she replied at 8pm. gosh. i wonder how. but hub is supportive and we're really considering the idea that he will quit if i get this job, to be with poppy. we both feel that she's too young to go into childcare. i get bouts of 'gosh she's just a baby!' when i look at her. even though her new diet (the no-food diet) is really stressing me out. can you believe how tight babies can close their lips if they really don't want to eat?!

anyhow, i'm also a bit worried about going back to work.

symphatetic pat for dustee: I think you have the angel vs devil thingy above your head.. raging on one hand, yet feeling bad for her on the other.. doggiebb is right.. decide on what you want, then take action!

if you plan to stay and try to make peace.. you know what my mom always say to me when I grumble about work? IF YOU CAN'T RUN AWAY FROM IT, MIGHT AS WELL LEARN TO LOVE IT haha.. try to shrug it off? or if not, urr tell her nicely about how you truly feel, about her invading into your 'space' and dictating how u live?

or juz do it... MOVE OUT hehehe

but i like PB's idea.. replace her toothbrush.. start tagging her stuff and packing it for her.. tell her u r inspired by her and wanna be JUZ LIKE HER!

wanna hear my song? I will follow u.... follow u wherever you may go..... sigh

cellow: oh didn't know she's a filipino.. I'm happy with mine so far.. indonesians..some worry about black magic, some say they can be quite sneaky and cunning (do things behind back and lie), which we actually encountered too, with past helper.. but I'm still 'new' in this field so may not give very good feedback.. but what your helper did would have made me VERY mad leh haha coz trust and attitude are very important leh..

but mich & doggiebb r 2 lucky ones.. hope mine will be the 3rd :D and no 'pattern' appearing after many months to come...

qing: to add to smiggle's tactic of being made to give things away,.. quickly hide it and if she asks again.. say you forgot where u kept it.. someone re-packed your room and now u can't find it! :D

wah looks like we got quite a few good potential stars here.. can sign up wiv mediacorp liao haha

PB: it takes me MORE than an hour to commute to work every day
but about long working hours.. i think you should ask about it and make clear that you need to knock off at a specific timing .. some companies are quite flexi about this coz they understand how some childcare can be quite strict about timing.. would there be a 2nd interview? but i think the bigger obstacle would be letting go of poppy n putting her at a childcare huh...

toothbrush
actually i have my own toothbrush y'know? but she still insists on giving me another one. so in my hb's and my cup, there are 3 toothbrushes......

michelle
i did internalise that i should stay with her coz otherwise the inlaws are alone here, but that was when my hb was the only son here in sg. and now that the elder son is finally coming back to sg, why can't his family take over the "staying together"? and it does seem like he's planning to be here for quite a number of years (implicitly, till his parents die coz he said "pa is so old now") so why can't we swop places?

and i couldn't stop laughing about labelling hb and pomfret with my name sticker hahahahahahaha

cellow
you need to have a stern talk to your mum! once someone else in the family helps with loaning money and stuff, it's just downhill from there! tell your mum she cannot be too kind-hearted! your maid will just keep abusing it!

qing
a lot of things get tagged. all food is tupper-wared in the fridge and tagged with names. haha.

pb
i take it you didn't ask about the 'normal' working hours during the interview? have they offered you? wait for the offer and ask all those questions about transport allowance after OT, and etc lah. then think about it more. and whether can work from home when child is sick, etc. pat pat.

hb and me moving out
sigh. yeah, hb not on my side. coz if want to move out, means i gotta go back to work so that we can afford it. but he really really really really really doesn't want me to work. sometimes it's a real irony. here i am the one who's not too keen to be a sahm and i marry a man who's totally for that idea.

bbp
ya, i will tell my mil.."my maid dunno keep in the store until go where.."
the week after if she ask again" ya, cant find it in the store..maybe ask her look thru my wardrobe"
the week after " found it ya, but thing very dirty la, got hole la, forget to bring la.."
then she forget.. or by that time no need liao..

Cellow
same situation..so i think i will make my maid call me e moment she reach home..
so if 9am school start, 30min walk to and fro, maybe buy veggies, must reach home 10am and give me a missed call fr house phone...

PB
sounds like a good job but unfortunately im a mother first.. so i give it a miss cos the long travellin and long workin hrs will rob me of time with my son..
By the way, i just quit cos of the above..
i found one which is more family-friendly but lower wages... my hubby said crazy ah, less $400 a mth!

btw update on Drugstore spree
1st shipment damaged in transit so they resend by 3 day shipping....BUT....1st box just received by vpost and there is another box which is still on the way.
So most prob only after CNY or if we are very lucky and vpost dun slack then maybe just before CNY can reach me.

sleepy me. C1 is really teething this time, so woke up at 330am, then C2 kicked and kicked me, so i couldnt go to sleep.

pb ah pb,
if after all these, i start to give her days off... then does that implicitly mean she can continue her behaviours?
i know no days off are a strain on the mind... but tis a carrot for good behaviours, not a reaction to bad ones!
LOL on your comparison between smiggle and kayden.
dustee,
whichever way your home situation pans out, you seem stuck there w HB thinking liddat. how ah how ah. any more mediacorp suggestions leh, mummies? to change mr dustee's mind.
re my mum, the only thing i can say was wat i said. but hor. will she listen and be more stern in future? i doubt it. sometimes i wanna tell her to grow a backbone wrt my maid, but i just dunno how to say it graciously.

smiggle,
think of the $400 as exchg for time spent w kayden...

the going to school and jalan jalan
aunt has promised to monitor her even more closely now... so ok for now. i m less worried.

sayang cellow. C2 preparing you in advance for the more sleepless nights to come after he arrives? :D

maid - mine does not get days off too but she agrees with me that bcos we travel so much, she gets 3-4 paid days off in a row every 2 mths when we are away..i do tell her to go out if she wants, even give her my bus card but she says no, she wants to stay at home ;)

zoo on friday : mich - r u bringing helper?

heh, cin,
at least your post + sayang (plus a cup of steaming hot earl grey tea) put a smile on my face.

c-a-n-n-o-t make impt work decisions today.

hey mummies

i am buying a kitchen set (most likely from little tikes) as a birthday pressie for my niece and wondering if anyone else is keen to get a set. then can bargain together and get better price. the last time when i bought, we bought 3 sets together and got a very good deal. come come! not only girls like the kitchen set, my thaddie boy cooks up a storm everyday too! wahaha!

hehe..doggiebb, i love your sia-ing
..we just bought sophie one from step 2 so, sorry my place has no place for 2 kitchen sets ;)

r u joining us for zoo on friday? come come..

i forgot who ordered colostrum. i have 1. err, can refresh my memory?

PB
if hb is willing to quit to stay at home with poppy, then i think that is ok. at least one of u with her. i know how u feel abt going back to work. on one hand i feel like going back to work but on the other hand i can't stop worrying abt things at home!!

re zoo
where are we meeting? think i won't be driving. anyone taking bus/train and want to meet up to together?

Doggiebb
I am interested. Any image of it? And pricing???

Cin
which one did u buy?
I loved the walk in kitchen from step 2 but it's like $900++ and space limited...

wanna faint. all little tikes kitchen sold out except the super bulky and expensive set at $479! kua kua! I was hoping to get the "prep n serve" one at $299.

looks like i have to try Step 2 already. where did you get it cin? toy r us?

can share model number and price? MUARKS~

wahh this zoo so temptinggg!!!

mich got enough free pass for everyone?

what time are you guys staying until? would taking just the morning off good enough? *blink blink*

zoo
doggiebb you really can spend morning in zoo then rush to office? champion!
take whole day la then can enjoy with T2

smiggle
$400? my school allowance was more than that leh. some helpers even earn more than that. not worth it la. even if it means being able to spend time with kayden. IMHO

kitchen set
if you girls are not fussy we got a REALLY cheap one from IMM. one of the toy shops but i can't remember whats the name liao. near bay street cafe. $30 plus only. but it's quite low. height wise. or is it poppy that's tall

SY
i know what you mean. on one hand i am itching to go back to work. on the other hand i can't help but worry if i am making the right decision. 19 months seems to be long to be 'out of work' but short to be a 'full time mum'

hubby best. said 'you will still prepare her meals to freeze right?'. wah biang. but then he said he will cook lunch then i cook dinners in bulk over the weekends to freeze. fair enough.

i'm lucky that he is willing to do this. i think not many dads would want to be full time stay-home dads hor? i'm also lucky that he is capable of taking care of poppy. ok i am very lucky. i heart my husband

Qing,
Haha, super idea!

PB,
OMG, I like your idea even better! Changing of dustee's MIL's toothbrush! I would so like to install a camera just to capture her expression!
And Declan is joining Poppy on her no-food diet too. I'm actually cutting down so that not so much food gets wasted.
And yes, I would think not many husbands would be willing to be SAHDs. Give him a big kiss when he comes home ar.

dustee,
Now if you really want all-out war, I have a few suggestions. But I guess that's not what you want. So go ahead... just leave that toothbrush there until you feel your own toothbrush is old enough to throw, then use that spanky new toothbrush. So even though you have no control over when your MIL decides to give you that new toothbrush, you still have control over when you decide to use it.

doggiebb,
Talking about kitchen set right, does Thaddie boy use the set properly? Cos I have a old one from my dad's friend and Declan HARDLY cooks on it. He only does it when I demo in front of him. Other than that, he uses the pots and pans as rackets, and hits all ball-looking things in sight. The noise oh the noise... my poor ears.