(2008/07) July 2008

Happy lantern festival to all...yum yum moon cake and tea....

ya mi receive my rebel cd also liao
nice

^5 to PB mi love cicerellos fish n chips too and their fresh oysters...yum yum... making mi drool liao.... cellow enjoy ur perth stay ya...i remember going to the farm stay in perth super fun got night hunting somemore

bbp
i did one sem of my studies in perth and i absolutely loved it (of course there was the freedom too hehe). i think it is VERY child friendly. and the parks are gorgeous. i'm sure our kids will love it there. trying to convince hubby to agree to a perth trip next year!

doggiebb just brought talia there recently - can share comments?

ronnie
i HEARD that the standard of cicerellos fish and chips dropped liao. but apparently the restaurant opposite is better. i don't remember the name though.

cellow
james street has nice food. and i think good apple struddle too, if i remember correctly
oh.. and (the things we remember) church street is where i got dumped. on the phone. ah. memories.

nice to c tat more mummies r preggy again..n more r trying oso..congrats n jiayou!!

my bb is nw 14.5 mths.. still cun walk n tok n doc says he's small. still at 8.9kg, same as 3 mths ago..i wonder hw i can make him grow faster.. haiz..scared he's nt growing well..

sigh..

PB,
I did hear it's nice cos hubby's cousin goes there almost once a year cos her brother (and recently her sis) is there.

star xin,
My boy is small too, I wonder if he's even at 9kg yet... but PD say if he's genetically small, then no need to worry. Was your hubby a small baby?

hey cellow,

i received my rockabye baby cd already. thanks! let me know how much i need to pay you.

star_xin,
i give my son cereals & fresh milk/yoghurt for breakfast, porridge cooked mostly with fish/meat & broccoli/spinach/potato/carrot/ for lunch & dinner, and FM milk (3x a day), plus fruits, cheese & a couple of biscuits for tea break. he's basically eating every 2 to 3 hrs... not sure if this eating schedule helps but he's 10kg now.

then again, as long as bb is healty and happy, no need to worry too much

JSP,

CONGRATS!! hope to join ur league soon, but seems tough!!

Qing,

Jia you jia you! Hopefully you are the mummy of the 4th tiger baby! BTW, you doing and GAP/ON spree soon? kekeke..

You still doing the calendula spree? If yes, can i tompang 2 bottles please? thanks!

Rashes,

Dunno what my boy ate, he is turning into a leopard. But he doesn't seem perturbed by it. But mummy here is getting anxious... those rashes look like "feng mo" - those big red, raised leisons. will monitor for another day...hopefully it will subside tomorrow.

HK Disneyland,

Just signed up a tour package to HK disneyland and ocean park! bringing wuffy overseas (by plane) for the very first time! So exciting!

So will be asking tips along the way on "travelling with baby"!!

Cellow,

Glad you enjoying your hols in perth! When will u be back?

Bibinogs trial,

It is this coming Saturday? Who paid? How much should I pay? Michelle, I will REMEMBER to pay you back for the coffee club debt!! Hiaz..long outstanding! paiseh..

SY,

Can let me know how I much i owe you for the Colostrum powder again? Is the desitin creamy at your parents place liao? I can go over and collect? thanks ah!

batgirl: michelle organised the bibinogs so pay her ;)

jiayou on the tiger babies!

bbG's turned into a shrill-screaming baby whenever he doesn't get what he wants or where he wants to go.. n is willing to walk (he can barely walk!) alone towards the playground if we say no...

and he had an awful nightmare last nite.. screamed (notice I didn't use the word 'cry') for 1/2 hour and juz couldn't pacify him.. poor bb lost his voice and finally piped down when i brought him down to distract him with the street lights and his fav word: BUS!

monster baby = super painful wrists.. arrgh

Holly
Thank you for the Delphin contact! Muacks!

BbG
Wow, BbG is speaking well!

PB
Agree with you about Jennifer Aniston. Even not taking in account all the airbrushing, digital imaging, and styling, I am (though getting close to that age) far from the way she looks!

Cellow
Love the weather you're having in Perth. It sounds perfect! Enjoy enjoy enjoy!

Naps
How often and how long do your babies nap per day? L is starting to drop his. He'll refuse to sleep even though he is tired, and sometimes naps just one hour a day. I think he's following in his kor kor's footsteps, as my #1 stopped napping completely at 18 months.

batgal, me also planning for a HK trip in early Jan after the school holidays! hee....

oh dear, do1nk, painful wrists return ah... get hubby to carry or rely more on ergo?

and bbG so clever, speak so well.. ethan vocal ability very private limited now.. haha...

youpi, ethan still naps 2-3 hours in the afternoon.. although he been trying to drag his afternoon naps already.. last time 12plus after lunch he will sleep for 3 hours... today he dragged till 3.30pm.. but that maybe cos we brought him out to PLAY lah.. hee hee.... can't imagine no naps at all? no downtime, how do you rest?????

wow declan naps 2-3 hours! for poppy it varies. if she is at home, in a nice dark not too noisy room, has mummy's nnp, she will take 2 naps a day. but if we go out, she will usually resist the naps. like bbp says when we bring her out to play, she will want to see everything and touch everything. but usually about 330pm, cannot tahan, will cry herself to sleep in the stroller

she gets up about 8ish and goes to bed about 8ish. plus minus

gosh youpi, no naps at all... that's tough!

do1nk
bbG and BUS is so cute!!! oh no your painful wrists are back?

talking babies
poppy is still talking pretty much in her language. but it's entertaining nonetheless. she says 'na li?' with an angmoh accent. oh my gosh

Bb naps: bbG also fights to stay up and play too.. but the problem is that he sleeps about 8-9 hours only at nite now.. and I read from baby center that our little ones should get 12-14hours per day.. wow to the babies who take long naps of 2-3 hours! Liam sleeps about 10-12 hours at nite right (recall him going to bed at 7plus 8?) wow poppy does the 8 to 8 bedtime too! bbG cries and fusses himself to sleep in the stroller as well.. wanna try bringing out his security blankie to see if it helps or not..

Painful wrists came back 4 months after the steroid jabs.. but was bearable, unless I carry him a lot.. and recently it’s coz he wanna walk already and will wriggle in our arms or we gotto hold him a lot to avoid falls…

Been getting lots of headaches too.. had them previously, but never this often.. think I really need to slow down…

the week has juz started and i can feel the pressure building up already!

anyway have a good week ahead! bibinogs this weekend!

good morning mummies,
hope to join u all here. let me introduce myself, I'm working part-time and have a little rascal at home

hi Pinkbunny,

he was born July 6th
I took some NPL and was with him till he was 6 months old and then went back to work part time

morning mummies... hope all had an enjoyable mid autumn...

Steph
aiyo... u so pantang one huh?? me juz do wat i like n wanna do leh... i still bring my boy everywhere... n we juz went to the zoo yesterday...

Qing
i think u really have to do it in a relaxed mode ger... u still young mah... juz a matter of time n luck... enjoy the process if not defeats the purpose liao... heehee... wish u luck...

batgirl
come come... join the league soon...

cellow
enjoy ur perth trip n share ur experience coz is thinking of gg NZ next year...
btw, i've also received the cd so let me knw how muchie to pay u ya...

bbG
ur painful wrists is back?? better go see a sinseh for that okie??

i am so going to try hard after aunty is gone..
hummpp. so angry with her now...

australia
i want to go too...

kylene
welcome

CB Calendula cream order anymore?
1) Qing x 2
2) Holly x 1
3) Michelle x 1
4) cellow x 2
5) Hannah x 2
6) smiggle x 2
7) batgirl x 2

full liao.
will order soon.

Hi JSP,
how fast they've grown! I'm now considering sending him to part-time childcare.... cos he's v clingy to me. i hope that he can become more confident.

he doesn't go near other children. if we're at the playground and there are other children, he won't play. if no one around, he'll run around havoc.

qing
aiyoh. you are not listening to what the other mummies are saying! relax! huuuuuu xiiiiii.... (do we need to pre-warn your hubby that you are very 'hot' now? hehe)

kylene
lucky you. i would have liked to get a PT job too but finding a good PT job isn't easy! does your boy mingle with other kids his age? are those at the playground much too old? could be scary i think, for a young kid. don,t worry

Kylene
yup yup... my boy is also super clingy to me... n he's the direct opposite of ur boy... he likes children... the more the merrier... hahaha... to the extend that he'll run after children n refuse to go home...
I'm also thinking of switching to PT for my current job... budden still gotta discuss wif my boss lor...

re: part time job
ya, i feel very fortunate that I managed to persuade my boss to let me work part time! it helps that there's already another colleague working part time - same job scope. so we sort of share out the week

re: Clingy babies
I don't have any other niece/nephews so my son's usually with me or the grandparents. he goes to the playground at my condo and there're other kids around , some older and some younger. when i brought him to child care to see see look look, he cried when other children (same age) approached him!

an auntie question from auntie pink!
girls, can anyone recommend a good oven please? we renovated our kitchen when we moved in so don't want to re-do kitchen cabinets to fit an oven, so are thinking of the small kind, like microwave size.

thanks in advance!

kylene
lucky you re the PT job conversion!

clingy kids
was it SY who said that at this age they can get quite clingy? poppy also at times like to hug my legs or bluebunny's legs. i think it's their way of saying they don,t like the people that are talking to them and feel safe with us?

PB

I was actually telling my hubby that we should plan a trip to Perth in Feb next year!! LOL... the power of the net (or forum) is amazing! It has a sub conscious effect!

Kylene,

Welcome! My dream also to find a part time job!!! I will chiong for another 3-5 years then i will retire liao...hahaha.... hopefully by then I can find some part time assignments...:p

re:pT
haha I can see that a lot of people are envious of my PT job
it comes at a price though. my promotion was delayed due to my NPL and PT conversion. and my grading for 2008 was also affected. My boss actually told me, "u're a good worker, but I cannot give u a good grade as u were not around for half the year . " duh

re: clingy kids

hmmm. my kid's ok when we're in the shopping malls- he'll happily run ahead and explore the shops. but when it comes to a group of kids like in the childcare, he would cling to me. ya, he hugs my legs.

Hong Kong...

batger when u going... mi going 11-14nov... book flight liao but havn't book hotel... any1 have any HK hotel to recommend

Perth
mi also wanna go... planning one march nexy yr to attend my SIL graduation..
PB-cicerellos fish and chips standard drop...emm...they maybe must try the other rest liao... looking fwd...to the yummy food

kylene
welcome welcome *shake hands*

bbp, star_xin,
my boy is also the skinny one! 2 gfs commented the same thig over the weekend. always remind myself not to be affected but i dont know how i will react if pple start asking if i feed him or not. i can relate this v well coz when i was young, i was v v skinny and those stupid aunties loved to ask my mom if she feed me food or not, why so thin?! haiz..of coz my mom didnt starve me lah..

any babies here still eating porridge? we do not cook his porridge in the slow cooker anymore (use the normal pot and cook for 30mins or so). he still can’t take too solid food. He is always swallowing his food, he doesn’t chew them! If the food is too hard, he will gag and vomit out all. should I be concerned? Any tips how to make him chew his food?

bbG,
babyG’s dictionary is building up with a lot of words..i remember u said he could say “star” too!

kylene,

Painful wrists: acupuncture didn’t work, went for steroid jab in the end…

Ronnie: check out novotel Kowloon in hong kong ;)

bbG talking: he can actually say lots of stuff haha.. take after me? Talkative! Now he’s obsessed wiv going KAI-KAI.. so another word that he says LOTs .. every morning, in fact, so he accompanies us down to car, then goes for a walk around pool area.. tried to sneak out but failed.. but he can't pronounce S leh.. so it's TAR (star) and BAH (bus) LOL

re: porridge,
my baby is still taking porridge. cos mummy is lazy haha. so easy to just dump everthing into the pot and cook. only recently tried pasta - 1st soupy and then the type with sauce. seems ok but more work to cook pasta.

re: talking,
my baby's not saying anything specific yet. alot of babbling. and mammaamma.......papapapa

perth

just went in May. actually my blog has up to day 6 recorded. (that reminds me I still 4 more days not updated! kua kua!)

http://the-upperroom.com/?cat=5

porridge

mine is still eating porridge and eating ALOT of it! he can chew quite well i think, i can put in a rather big piece of egg white, and he will chew it and then swallow it.

Baby talk

Last night I was talking to Talia about the balloons we put at the door she took back from a party and asking her whether she wants to play with it. While she was saying she doesn't want and all that, the boy has already crawled towards the balloons and started to poke them. I think he actually understand the word balloon even though we have never taught him.

and during the weekend I taught new words blue and yellow. I thought he was just parroting both but when i pointed to the light turning blue, he actually said blue! May be a fluke though hehe!

but still no signs at all that he is going to walk soon. my poor back!

bbG

i am actually surprised that mine does the "s" sound very well. he will go "ssssssssssssssssss" and it sounds like SHIT. then his papa will say things like "its not nice to say SHIT all the time you know?" kua kua!

Kylene,
Welcome

youpi,
Wei Sheng & Wei Qing both down to 1 nap since they turn 1yo, and naps about 2-3h.

Clingy babies,
Yup, me too… my twins very clingy nows a day, think when babies dun wish or dun like something they will very clingy to their parents…

re: porridege,
my twins still taking porridge, sometime let them eat, fried kway tio, wantan mee.... sometime a bit rice with steam fish...

baby talking,
my twins can talk mickey (only key key), bear bear, xia(shoe), nene(milk).... zhegei(这个), zhegei(这个) sometime babbling oso lah, but very funny thing is both like to listen hokkien song.... when listen the hokkien song boths will dance... haha

doggie,
haha..T is so cute! he seems to be a fast learner (san the walking part). jia you!

bbG,
your wrist is pain..my back is pain..

pettygal,
wow, eating wantan mee..my boy hasnt tasted outside food yet..maybe shld try. lol

PB,
yup, let's definitely not talk when the babies are out. They can go for HOURS without rest when they are out la. On a normal day, Declan sleeps at 930pm (despite my best efforts to keep it to 830pm) and wakes up at 7+ am. He's down to 1 nap a day, simply because it's just TOO tough to make him sleep. I don't think it's worth the effort.. so 1 long nap is all I can tahan.
Haha, Dec says nai nai (Grandma) in an angmo accent too.

Clingy kids:
What about when they are at home and STILL cling? I can't do any other thing except to sit down and play with him. And it must be something he likes like growling and catching or else he will whine and cling! Argh! Like that how to work from home?
It's the other way outside.. malls and playgrounds and anywhere.. it's roam free for Declan. Yesterday, we were at car show rooms (my FIL wants to buy ar, not us) and he just walked/ran around and didn't even turn around to see if we were still around!

missysz,
Umm, I cook his porridge for 1h cos otherwise I can't get the stickiness to come out. So far, I'm not afraid that he can't chew cos it's brown rice. With brown rice, cos it doesn't disintegrate, Declan has no choice but to chew. Do you want to try fruits? I realise Declan's more willing to chew fruits as compared to porridge food.
Outside food - so far, I'm considered a lagger where this is concerned. Declan has only tried plain chwee kuay, plain chee cheong fun and the bao bread. Haha.

do1nk,
Haha, Declan's the same as bbG. Star with no S, Bus with no S, Car that comes out as Tar. And I don't even want to attempt to spell the way he pronounces flower la.

kylene,
Welcome! I'm also one lazy mom, I think porridge is already a lot of work, cos got to stand there and stir to get the stickiness and yet not burn. How to do that properly when there is ONE STICKY baby running around??

outside food

bbp, don't worry! i am more laggard than you! thaddie boy has not tasted any outside food at all! except fruits. We religiously cook his porridge and bring out everytime he is out. I plan to do until he is at least 2yo. at least for talia it was until 2.5. well i am the one who said "they have their WHOLE lifetime to eat outside food, junk food etc" so if i can still control now and inculcate perhaps a healthier eating habit, i will try my best to do. very anal i know! muahaha!

doggiebb,
That's good! And hubby is equally supportive? He doesn't ask questions like can he try this can he try that? If he doesn't, kudos to you two~!

he does ask permission whenever he wants to feed anything even though he knows most likely i will say NO. until now thaddie has not even tasted cakes even though he attended so many birthday parties! lalala!

he saw how talia is averse to eating anything too salty or oily because i have been so careful with her food and how she still eat homecooked food without seasonings at this point and is convinced my way is ok.

welcome, kylene.

ethan also eating porridge, plus pasta, kuay tiao, mee sua, and a slice of bread for snacks. He has not tasted outside food, at least not with me around, except baby food jar when we travelled. I cant say for sure when i m out working tho. Actually cooking porridge is easy, sometimes if lazy to watch fire, jus use small fire to let it boil, and others put in steamer to steam. Quite easy.

had a tired weekend..
gonna prep my self for work tml...

Youpi
kayden naps once or twice a day abt 2-3hrs total...

Kylene,
welcome...
my boy is also clingy.. when it comes to play with other kids, he no.1

ya, very envious of ur part time job...
i decided to chiong for a couple yr more, save more money then have second kid, then also find part time..
but where got part time tat allows me to earn more than 1k???

Perth
PB, i also went for summer semester in perth durin Curtin days...

Outside food
have just intro kayden to them..
he loves it.. haiz...
but then i think its ok , since he doesnt go out much..

Babbling
He can now say bird when he sees them... and ball.. the rest stil gibberish..

thanks for the warm welcome! just came back from lunch. got caught in the rain!

re: porridge,
I still use slow cooker to cook so no need to watch fire! haha, it's the best thing i've got in the kitchen so far.

re:eek:utside food
my hubby's always asking "when can he eat outside food? " cos he's tired of bringing baby food when we go out. so we've let him try some stuff outside but never as the main meal. he'll eat homecooked stuff, then bits of outside food.

re: part time
ya PT not much money but it keeps me connected to the "outside" world and gives me a break from the baby. and for now, we only want 1 child so erm, money not so much a problem. just need to be prudent.

do1nk,
oh no.. did bbG screamed for 1/2 hr?? did he have a nightmare? poor boy.. sayang sayang..

Re: naps
my boy also started resisting his 2 naps now, 1hr each. he usually wakes up at 5+ for milk then go back to sleep till 7+ am. at night we try to make him sleep by 9pm. but if he skipped his afternoon nap then he will Zzzz by 8.30pm. he is one little rascal! only daddy can make him sleep within 30min. for me... sometimes he can play for 1 hr and still don't want to sleep!

JSP,
a little bit complication with 2nd pregnancy so i rather play safe but i still watch Animal Planet, etc lah... just don't go zoo lor.

Re: outside food
i let boy taste most of the things i'm eating coz he will go MUM MUM MUM whenever he sees me eating something. hb not exactly too happy abt this coz son had eczema b4 he turned 1yo.

Re: talking
wow.. most of your kiddos can say so many words. my boy only says mama, mum-mum, nai-nai, moooo (refering to cow), Oh-oh (refering to dog) and kling kling (refering to telephone coz that's nai nai's hp ringtone). there's once i thought i heard him say Cheese... but when i asked him to repeat, he can't be bothered.

over the weekend, hb & i concluded that our boy quite "gua-lan" please please excuse my language... hehehe...

Ronnie,

Me gg on the 25th Nov - 29th Nov... hiaz, just missed each other. I am gg on package tour lor...include 1 day disneyland, 1 day ocean Park and 1 day tour, including Lantau Island.

This trip for the kid...so not much shoppping time for the adults... but I guess it is ok la..

Re: words

Wow! ur kiddos can speak! Mine can't lor... babbling nia. but he can recognise stuff.. ask him where is the balloon, he will point, where is the clock, he will point, where is the lizard, he will point... BUT just refuse to speak a single word. hmmph!

ethan also not speaking. And he still cant point, dun wan to shake or nod his head tho he knows. Maybe cos he din need to as they give him everything he wants without waiting for his response. However, ethan listens to instructions intensely and understands a lot. He can recognise letters o, d and q. The rest of the letters he still gets it wrong sometimes. He knows where his head, eye, mouth and ears are. He wants to buckle himself in high chair and car seat, sometimes we have to wait a long time for him to buckle himself. Ha ha.