(2008/07) July 2008

cellow,
helpers sometimes mind & heart not with their physical body! wandered off back home i guess... i've not been too patient with mine too. i feel bad sometimes also. to her I am the monster hahahaha...

pb,
today is public holiday. maybe mommies brought babies gai gai loh... me having lower abdominal cramps so staying home today.

right from the start, i decide when mil can / cannot feed my boy. but luckily for me, she has zero experience taking care of a child. so really, there's nothing much she can advise me on. if she "shares" her friends/ colleagues/ relatives' advices, i will listen out of respect but i don't have to follow.

some mil are still living in their cavewoman age. heheheh... i'm quite a tyrant. i make sure my son is MY SON first, then hb's son. after that then is grandson to the folks. even towards my parents, i make the same point across. so even if it's my mum advising me, sometimes i'll retort that other people can take care of their kids anyway they like. i do too.

as for your wedding invites, maybe distance too far apart? my hb's side had several tables not filled coz mil's relatives from across the border last minute decided not to attend! but luckily for hb... ang baos still can cover cost of banquet!

Steph
i don't have helper, so after confinement XP continues to stay with PIL, then comes home only during weekends when my hb is around to help. i can't imagine what happen when i need to BF #2, what should i do with XP... cannot put her in play yard for half an hour, she sure will scream

dustee,
Kudos for having stayed there so long. Only you know how hard it has been. Hope you get your wishes soon. To share, even hubby makes me feel like a lousy mother at times. So... that's that. Life sucks sometimes. Crap.

Ok, I think the above is pretty obvious that I'm not in a good mood too.

PB,
The pumpkin patch is really really cute!

hi dustee - really admire your strength and courage to live with in laws..and what a kind person you are to think of their well being. but agree that your MIL is really not nice and she needs to realise how good you are ! *hugs*

PB - good job on the pies..were they yummy?
..love the pix..the sky is soo beautifully blue!

bbp - cheer up! when wifey not happy, hubby cant be too happy too so am sure your hubby is totally regretting making u upset

mummies - i am a auntie again
..my sis just gv birth in the US on 20.09.2009..heee! but quite sad too cos i dont get to see new nephew till christmas..blah!

have a good week all!

dustee,

No problem!!! hohoho...looks like you and steph cannot resist it! :p

*BIG HUGZ* to you! Your monster in law seems to be one that comes from hell!! I can volunteer my ears this week too..me on leave!

So shall wearrangeto go polliwogs or something?

Cellow,

See u tomorrow at GWC - Grace kids! that day i went to thegym by grace kids.. wahbiang..only 2 babies.. but they say the full classes are weekdays and sundays. Anyways, I would like to try the Rhythm in Me class before i decide if I want to signup at grace kids...

10 weeks along !! WOW! all the best for the gynae visit! rest well!

PB,

the pumpkin patch picture is very nice! Poppy looks like a little giant amongst the pumpkin when taken from that angle! She looks to be having a lot of fun!

Michelle,

Me on for the photo class!! Put me in!! When and where?

pb,
tis quiet bcz long weekend and the bbs are all out and abt w the mummies doing stuff! tis ok, still got some (housebound) old birds hanging around. like me!

oh on mother of the grandkid. i think... my MIL treats me better now. my hairdresser says tis the empress dowager syndrome. before you were just another mouth to feed and a pair of hands to help around the hse (like maid la), now you are the mother of the little emperor!!

you are frustrated or just amused when the ILs help out bluebunny when he is feeding poppy, and only give comments when you are feeding?

yay on cinbunny being a new aunt!

batgirl,
see you tmr! i will be bringing along the ILs + helper + C of course. a whole entourage!
yea, this week of leave is for ME to lie horizontal whenever possible.

HB went out w C + ILs to check out the F1 circuit. Bliss to be home alone! (sort of, only helper around and C2 of course) Yesterday I was really home alone (+ C2 of course) for a whole day. hwee hweet! luuuuurved the silence and not getting up to check on C's every cry. spent the time talking to C2

checking in finally!

dustee
sayang....your mil sounds really terrible. your hb not there when it happened? what did your hb say abt this? whenever mil say things that are not really fair or right, i will remind myself most impt is hb's reaction. is he on my side? anyway u have our support! duun bother abt your mil. she really dun think abt your feelings at all....

PB
the photos are so nice! really makes me feel like going on hol now

C
nice...peace in the house...me having a new helper now so it's really a hard time now. plus hb always not very cooperative when he has to mind the kdis while i teach her to cook....arrgghhh.

phyphy
cherie hearts just opended one in pasir ris. i shd be visiting. want to go? but so far i havent heard very much good stuff abt cherie hearts. think it's very branch dependent.

Sick mummy checkin in..
went to a weddin lunch yesterday.. and the weather was so hot that i cant bear to sit under the sun for the solemnsation.. and there was no electricity to power all the fans.. kenna heatstroke from 4 hrs of sun... lucky didnt bring kayden go..

check in tml k ladies..
gd nite..

my mil and the grief she causes me
thank you mummies all! *hugsssss* its like, sometimes i think, my mil is a mother too, why can't she understand me?

like, we're all mothers now, we understand how each other are thinking and feeling. if pomfret falls down, my mum will say 'see, now you feel the heartache, now you know how i feel if you're hurt'. but my mil will say 'so careless' (which i feel totally reflects what her opinion of my mothering skills is)

my hb's reaction
that goondu was off at the buffet table checking out the food when it happened. but when i went past him carrying a screaming pomfret, he was like 'oh just my emo baby throwing tantrum' and was turning back to the food. but one look at my face got him running to my side.

hb is on my side (he believes that if the house is burning and your wife and mother are in there, you have to save the wife, and not the mother.) so about moving out, if i can tahan, we'll just slowly check out our options (housing is really expensive now).

and here i have to elaborate a bit. my hb himself doesn't talk to his parents. weird right? he just doesn't talk to them. even when we eat with them, he doesn't say a single word. only if they ask him something, then he will respond with as many words as is humanly possible (and that is IF he cannot answer with simply a gesture). he cannot stand his mother's controlling ways. and sometime during puberty, he decided that the best way to remind his mother he is his own person is ...ignore her.

so he's once again reminding me "just ignore her. if you're angry, show her you're angry. or she won't stop. don't humour her."

which.... i find it personally very difficult to do. i don't know why, i just think, so poor thing, this woman, her younger son doesn't want to talk to her, so maybe i the dil can talk to her instead. but now that she keeps treating me in such uncharacteristic ways ( why are mils so nice to their own friends and other ppl's dils, but just treat you like you're disposable?) so i have decided, yes i shall set some very visible limits to my tolerance now.

things that my mil has done which i took offence at and i realise now i have yet to forgive her
1. telling my mum she didn't think pomfret is her son's baby. (yes, she did that. my mum cried for days before she told me) (and yes, the background to this is coz i got pregnant before we got married. she thinks that i schemed and seduced her son and then got pregnant with someone else's baby but made her son marry me. yes indeed, she thinks that.)

2. when pomfret was born, she said "someone said the baby is pretty. but i don't think so. the baby look like you"

3. the jaundice episode. "i can send you to the hospital if you want to see the baby. let my son enjoy his holiday" holiday-my-@@@-coz-that's-his-baby-in-the-hospital.

4. "you know our neighbour's daughter? you're her classmate? are you sure? becoz she is very smart y'know?" (this one is classic right? actually this one made my toes laugh lah)

5. asking my hb if he needed a lawyer for a pre-nuptial agreement..........

sigh. okay i better don't drag more examples from my subconscious. make me more depressed. i shall bless these experiences, and thank them for what they can teach me, and move on. (gosh but i can be so petty at times hehe)

oh gosh, didn't quite realise how long that post is. sorry about that. but typing it out is definitely cathartic. it's 6am and i'm insomniac.

bbG
how's G? not hfmd i hope. there's no medication for it (at least my nephews didn't get any last time) i think they just let the child fight it on its own.

batgirl
hey you should call up JG and try to get into a trial class this week too. (serene checked and they don't do private trial classes anymore, so have to slot into normal class)

polliwogs
maybe this thursdayyyyyy anybody wants?

dor dor
wait for me! i'll email you ON/GAP orders soon by tonight!

cin
wow congrats! awww christmas isn't so far away. how does your sis cope by herself over there though? i guess this time sophie will be walking up and down the airplane aisles when you make to the trip to see your sis hehe

pb
when you come back sg you organise pie party for us okay? oh hey when i feed pomfret i also get the "i wouldn't force her to eat" comments, then when hb does it , my mil will say "pomfret why are you not nice to your papa? he's feeding you"

morning all...

dustee - hugz and kisses.. u r a really good good person!!! kudos to u for ur tolerance! i am ok with polliwogs on thurs! hee.. i was intending to call n get a trial for JG this thurs actually too.. hee..

btagirl - wanna try to get ourselves JG trial this thurs?? i intend to go evans road branch though as it's supposedly better there! n outdoor play area is bigger.. keen? hee..

dustee,

Woah!! YOU HAVE BEEN THRU A LOT!!! If possible, try to move out for a while, rent a place, watever! You can get depressed by just facing all this crap!

But you have always struck me as a jovial and carefree girl! Promfet is lucky to have such a strong mummy!!

JGtrial,

I tried calling the forum one..they are starting new term so cannot slot us in.

Crystal, JG at Evans not starting new term? If we can, I dont mind joining for the trial! kekeke...

Polliwogs

okok! I am on for Thurs!! hehe!

Morning, mummies.. the weekend passed so fast though we didn’t do anything but stay home..

bbG’s fever is gone, and this time round, I’m not sure what caused it (no runny nose, no cough & phlegm, only one ugly big ulcer on his lower gum) but his body’s now spotty (like I used a red pen to dot him all over) and his face looks slightly patchy and dried .. should I bring him to the PD again?

bbP: did you manage to find the replacement book for Declan?

dustee: *big hugz* that was very hurtful of your MIL.. Think I would have burst out and told her off on the spot.. Would it help to sit down and talk to your MIL and let her know how u r feeling? I used to think that too: MIL’s are mothers too, why dun they sympathise? Then I realized mine thinks she’s tolerated tougher s*** so I’m already treated ‘nice’.. and it’s nothing compared to the ‘hell’ she got previously
the good thing is that you have your hb on your side.. I dun think mine will save me over the mom in a fire *sniff*

Think we all have monster-in-laws of some sorts.. kayu hubbies are another big headache..

And did you succumb to the pediped spree? Hehe bbG’s got a pair of crocs waiting.. but makes me wary of the shoe-eating-escalator

Dor: ON has 20% off prices shown online? what about gap? Ooh… Let me go browse… USD has come down! Anyone buying from PRL too?

LOL on tess stuffing food in little holes in high chair… you let her self feed? Noticed that bbG’s not been chewing but juz keeping the food in his mouth, that I blended his veges up a bit over the weekend.. how to train him to chew chew chew…

PB: you guys must be having fun over there! You are right abt the thread being rather quiet now..

Cellow: so you found a new gynae? Good to hear you’ve got your rest days and silent house all to yourself! Dun think I’ve ever been away from bbG, except during work.. crazy huh?

Cin: congrats on the arrival of the nephew! Nice date! 20.09.2009.. c-sec? more cousins for sophie bunny to play wiv.. miss her and her thighs…

Batgirl: was it fun at the gym @ gracekids?

morning mummies

bbG
just saw ur post... Ernest also started with a small red spot at the corner of his mouth and ulcers in his tongue and gums... so far, there is no medication for HFMD... doc usually will give panadol to ease the pain and oral gel... hugz... and it usually takes abt 3-7 days for symptoms to develop... lets hope tt its not HFMD... budden if the spots ard the mouth increases then it probably is... let me knw if u need any more advise... also, u must rest well as adults can also catch it if their immunity is low...

dustee
if i were u i would probably just ignore her and walk off with my baby... n i would go shopping after that... sayang... it must have hurt quite abit... dun be too sad... we all knw who is the best caregiver to pomfret...

This post is dedicated to DUSTEE.

Your MIL is the true blue Monster-in-law that appears in shows. You are the true blue doting DIL that appears in shows too. The monster obviously treats you like a maid, and judging from what you wrote, i bet she is rich too. Normally rich, insecure and lack of confidence women will be fierce to ppl that she can bully, and be nice to everyone else. She will also think that the whole world is out to cheat her. Anyway. I totally can understand how you feel. the part on finding her pitiful, and to respect her as a DIL, and you will just find it hard to be a nasty person. It is probably easier for you to endure and cry alone afterwards, than to confront in front of everyone else, that is so hard to do. right?

I think you can still be dutiful and in fact, i think it will work out better for MONSTER, if you give each other space. i.e. shift out of her big house. By having you staying around the house, she will keep thinking of you as the typical women who tries to con your hubby into parting with her money. You on the other hand, can stay away from the hawk eye and start living the life you want with pomfret. To get the message "who cares about your bleddy big house and money, i want happiness and happiness is to get away from you bleddy control freak" across is to live alone with hubby and pomfret, on your own money, and be happy happy everyday. She will start to realise that your family's happiness equation does not include her. Hopefully she will get the message.

Second, if you think you need to be nice On behalf of you hubby, to treat her with respect like you would to every old ppl (i think that is a nice virtue and pomfret should take that from you), you need to make it a point to go back for visit, often enough. Chances are, she will be out and about most times anyway. Just call back everyday to make sure she is not sick, or give her 5 mins to nag and so she maintains in control (and to maintain peace).

DUstee, get outta house. She does not need you around. she is healthy now. you deserve your own space with hubby and pomfret. start to gain control of your's and pomfret's life, but continue to respect her and care for her, only because she is your MIL. She should count herself lucky that she has you around. I hope you think it through carefully. Besides, have you thought about what is happiness for your hubby? maybe your hubby will be happier staying on his own, and you are depriving him of that? so i think you should carefully discuss this with hubby and plan how to make it happen. renting a small room could bring happiness. it is not the space, it is not just hte money (ok sad to say it does depend on $$), it is the freedom to live the family life you, your hubby and pomfret deserves.

meanwhile, thinking of sending pomfret to half day CC and going out to work on your own may be a good interim too.

I hope you find your happiness (with MIL) soon.... I really do...

dustee,
i am sorry to hear that. your MIL is really a monster in law. its time to stand up for yourself okay? wil keep u in prayers! take care!

bbG,
pray its not HFMD!

sy,
are u organizing amazon spree?

pb,
nice pictures! can make into post-card! did ur in laws eat the pies? hee..

e-boy is healthy again! Yay! but MIL is down with flu and cough, FIL is down with cough. me and hubby recover liao... aiyo.. hope this flu bug can shoo outta house soon!

anyone interested in bibinogs? heard about it? read about it in the M&B mag and thot of calling it to check if they have trials. hee hee.. got bilingual one loh.. hee hee....

thurs polliwogs!! woo I am tempted to go!!! I am!!! but i can't
i have taken many days leave last week liao..

ytday had to play official golf and got a bad sunburn cos I ran out of sunblock and you know how hot it was int he morning? scorching hot! came back with a bad headache and my whole body ached and feeling HOT! oh my... so smiggle i was like you ysterday.. burnt! haha....

PB, love the pics! looks like a really nice holiday you have there! envy envy!

Its a short week this week so wish all a good week ahead.... and stay healthy!

dustee
just wondering how many children does ur IL have? U can try find those further away from the town area. Think the rent will be more affortable.

Polliwogs
okok,thur on

qing mei mei, how is barbie? the tear duct ok oredi? or still need to go for op? hope everything is well with her now.. oh, any news of #2 from you yet? (no pressure, no pressure) hee hee....

glad to hear bbG is ok, it seems like he is prone to fever... and the spots... hope they go away soon.... could it just be teething? cos i know e-boy is definitely teething.. I managed to look into his mouth (via a really close up pic i took with my new camera - have i told you all i love my new camera yet?), there were many teeth coming out including molars!! no wonder he hasnt been sleeping well past few nights! last nite he woke at 430 to drink milk! but managed to go back to sleep on his own... but still, I hope the habit of night feed doesnt come back cos I am really not used to getting up so frequently at night liao... getting old..

bbp, managed to find your book? what's with your hubby, dare to criticise your mummy skill. abish! my hubby only criticise me as a wife (like i pay so much attention to e-boy and never pour coffee for him - DUH), so i try to balance loh.. but sometimes the words they say can be so hurtful and then those past efforts we put in will be "one flush down the toilet"... sigh.. being a women is NOT EASY! I hope E-boy will grow up to appreciate me as a mother...

Dustee
Big big big hug to you. She is a monster. Such mean mean things should not even be uttered! You have such a high level of tolerance. To say such things to you is bad enough but to say thing to indirectly hurt your mother? Tsk tsk tsk.You know what? It sounds a bit like inferiorty complex. In a strange complex twisted way. Some people with inferioty complex need to make others feel lousy to make themselves feel more superior

Maybe when you guys move out, she will learn that you are not indisposable. One thing my friend (who cannot get along with her MIL) does is to not bring the kids over to visit whenever she is upset with her MIL. Not that I am suggesting you do that in future, but it is an idea…

When I am back in SG I will organise pot luck at my house ok? Give you another opportunity to get out and away from her evil clutches.

Yes I get the exact same thing. When I am feeding her, everyone else is enjoying their meal. When hub is feeding her, everyone chips in and helps out.

Do1nk
Oh no, hope bbG gets well soon! The spots, maybe he’s allergic to something? Could it be that there are bugs in his cot?

Missy
Haha yes everyone ate the pies.

Michelle
GREAT shot of ethan!!!! Wow his hair is so long liao!

michelle
thats cool...

where is his house? still got slot available?

Ethan sure is elated

and barbie HAS TO GO FORO THE OP...
haiz.
went to see doc again on sat and has confirmed the dates somemore...
she will be put on GA and the OP will last not more than half an hour.

and we have been working real hard during this long holiday.
finger crossed**

doggiebb
totally
agree.
my hubby already spent $10k on his camera set liao.

PB
wow, ur meal is so interesting.
and poppy look happy driving.

pot luck...
i am in...

dustee
~hugs~

mil are mothers too.
but it is just different with dil...

dustee if possible, think of only the good things that she said or done.
maybe u will feel better...

dustee
hugz... your MIL is so mean. mine also shoot me from back, she went around to tell tales to her siblings about me during my last confinement, when both of us had different ways to handle baby and other things.

but think we should keep "professional relationship" with them, after all, they are the mother of the man we married to. whenever she says mean things, just take it as if she is farting, and ignore her.

still lookin ard for CC for Bosco. Any recommendation? Looking for CC ard SengKang. I scare no vacancies if I enroll him too late. N I dun wan just anyhow put him in one childcare.

holly
u stay sengkang area? me sending XP to cherie hearts at anchorvale community centre. quite like the place, bright and clean. maybe u can go and take a look. don't enroll too late, else scare no vacancy.

Bibinogs: count us in, michelle!

Stageandsuch: trial swim still on this weekend? But may not go since bbG’s juz recovered from his fever..

Spots: juz called the PD who told me to monitor a day and see.. he mentioned denggi, HFMD.. gulp.. or juz a reaction post fever.. hope it’s not

Bed bugs? Dun think so coz it’s only on his front torso which is covered wiv his pj’s anyway hehe

Nite wakings: aiyo.. two nites ago, he woke up screaming crying at 1130pm and couldn’t be pacified for half hour til I brought him to our doggie (hmmph..doggie consoled him instead of mummy?) then insisted on playing and reading til 230am!

Last nite woke up crying again..230am.. this time for milk.. this better not turn into routine, master bbG! Momma’s only giving in now coz you were unwell!

LOL on qing working hard over the weekend.. PB: you got deadline or not? Better work hard too ah…

waiwai,
i shifting to SK probably end of this yr or early nx yr.
I heard of not very good feedbacks from Cherie Hearts.
Maybe is subject to branch wise ba.
Will check it out. Thanks!

Michelle,
what's the price?

Any mummies wanna swim? Any place we can organise a swim session???

holly
SK area as a carpe diem that is quite good i heard. let me ask my fren and let u know

qing
hope to hear good news from u soon!!

poor barbie. hope she will be fine. when is her op?

michelle
on for bibinogs!! when are u planning to go?

phyphy
my fren said the cherie hearts at TP not very good.

missyz
no, not amazon spree. it's scholastic book order form from my son's sch.

dustee
your mil is really way too much. i think a lot of hb are like that. they just dun talk much to the family. last time my hb also very quiet with his family one but over time he is better. and i have to remind him things abt his family also.

anyway, just vent all frustrations here! u will feel better....

YES to michelle's posting dedicated to dustee
all my hands, fingers, toes, limbs are up in agreement!!!!

MIL
mine is just so darn competent and put tog (and raised a man handy around the hse both in the guy stuff like fixing sinks, changing lightbulbs AND the gal stuff - how to cook plus scrub toilet/bathroom properly) that by comparison, i look like a clueless, lazy pig.
*shrug*

last night, she rustled smthing tog fm watever is in the fridge and came up with a marvellous pot of fish head curry. and she raised 3 kids singlehandedly in ulu msian villages without family support while FIL was outstation most of the time. *kowtow*

she made our house curtains, the bedsheets and bb pillows/bolsters for C, bakes fantastic muffins and other goodies from the oven at the drop of a hat, makes a mean bowl of kolo mee and turns out delicious chicken rice. HB worships the ground she walks on esp after eating her meals.
[if it came down to me and her drowning in the sea, and HB can only save one, i know who it will be, tis not me]

a LOT of angst just came out.
tis just darn intimidating at times lor.
esp since she doesnt butt in at all into our lives, unless invited to (i actually asked her to come stay with us during C2's confinement so that she will supervise the helper properly).

BUT i believe i m her DIL now so that i can learn from her... *heads up, shoulders squared*

do1nk,
nite wakings - hope bbG gets over whatever is bothering him soon and sleeps thro again!

qing,
LOL on trying really hard over the long weekend.
when is barbie's op? can you be the last person she sees before the GA takes effect?

michelle,
aloe vera gel helps to soothe the sunburn!
playing around with your new camera ha? can see all of E's teeth in the photo!

Trial classes
went for the rhythm in me trial class just now with batgirl and wuffy, phew, i m tired. dun think i can heave C around anymore. *tongue hang out in exhaustion* anyway, during 1st tri, i m not supposed to carry heavy things rite. at least that's what the old folks say!

oh didn't realised I missed some posts...

JSP: red spot at corner of mouth? gulp! but the funny thing is dat he started wiv one mouth ulcer, then fever, then now patches and spots..really hope it's not HFMD!

michelle to dustee advice: so well said...

cellow: guess that's very high standards to live up to, but good dat she doesn't interfere or messes with you..perhaps she can turn you into a mini-her one day too! :D

barbie OP
yes cellow, i will be the last one..
i will go in with her until her GA takes effect then i leave the room.
then the next half an hour will be pacing around gleneagles with my hubby ba...

Sy most likely mid next month loh...

cellow
hows the class?
FUN?

lol on QMM (qing mei mei) working OT over weekend.. any nauseating feeling yet? hee hee....

bbG, must remember to clean out the house, wash all his toys etc everyday... try to change bedsheet regularly also...

ok ok, I will call bibinogs NOW to enquire.. you all wait har....

cellow, thanks I used E-boy's aloe gel (CB) and applied last night.. also used the ice pack to chill my burning skin.. *so poor thing* Kowtow to your MIL! Power Women!

how was rhythm in me?

classes we missed but still keen to try out:

rhythm in me - grace kids ($45)
speech & drama - stageandsuch ($25) 1hr
bibinogs - bubbly babes (how much and how long?)

hey mummies.. r we meeting for a lantern walk on 3rd oct? who's our organisor mummy this time round?

Great news on Bibinogs

They do trial classes on Saturdays! (hooray)

so I have tentatively booked 3 Oct (private trial)
only timeslot is 330pm@UE Square
1.5hrs, $48+ GST
min 5 students (5% discount)
10 students (10% discount)

SIGN UP NOW! Closing by this sat to pre-book. THe programme sounds like JG (with snack and all). I have asked for a bigger room (thus in UE Sq), and also there is a 15min mandarin session.

1) Michelle & Ethan

dustee,
Yes, I do remember how you said that your hubby doesn't talk to his mom. And the part about him asking you to ignore her strikes a chord with me. Cos when I complain to hubby about my MIL giving me "suggestions" that are more like instructions instead of suggestions, he just asks me to ignore. It's not easy ignoring the MIL as opposed to the mother... I dunno why but it's just not the same!
*Hugs* You are so not petty for having tolerated this much! In fact, I think you're close to being a saint la!

Re feeding:
Nobody dares to say anything to me cos I'm the only one that can feed Declan with minimal nonsense from him. In fact, my MIL once told Declan to the effect of "Your mom has a hundred and one tricks up her sleeves".

do1nk,
Nope, haven't found the replacement book for Declan yet. I think I shall bring him to Kino later after he wakes up from his nap. With regards to the book, this is what transpired between hubby and me.
Me: Can drive me to Kino to buy The Gingerbread Man book?
Hb: Why? What happened to Declan's current one?
Me: *Pulling a sad face* I left it at Orchard Hotel and they didn't manage to find it.
Hb: Just give him another book lor.
Me: But that one is his favourite book...
Hb: He doesn't have a favourite book la! Just give him another one la!
MEN! ARGH!
Anyway, I'm going to shake hands with you on the fire saving question. I don't dare to ask himthat question, cos I'm not sure he would choose to save me over his mom.
Declan chews, but doesn't swallow... so I have a problem here too. Oh, to get bbG to chew, have you tried poking his cheeks? I think it helps somewhat.

Michelle,
Sob sob, the book is still gone. Anyway, hubby doesn't criticize me outright, I think he has only done it when we get into a really humongous fight and all gloves are off. But those remarks (intentional or not) really hurt sometimes.

Cellow,
Yes! Do not overdo it and stop hefting heavy stuff around! During my first trimester, I didn't slow down as advised by many people and started bleeding around lunchtime. I actually waited until 6plus to go see my gynae, did a scan, and put on bedrest for the next day. I had the impression that the gynae was quite surprised to still detect the foetus heartbeat after so much bleeding. So the moral of the story? Slow down and take care!

bbG
if its oni 1 mouth ulcer then it shld not be... but if it gets more and the spots ard the mouth multiples overnite then i think its most prob... budden the patches n spots dun sound like it is HFMD... do also check on his hands and soles for spots and blisters...

More on bibinogs

sat 3.30pm slots are still available, and if the private trial class wants to proceed, we can form a class on our own (i.e., they will not schedule other ppl to join us its a private class).

further, a term of 10 wks costs $426+GST, each session is 1.5hrs, in which there is 15min of mandarin lesson. the 5% discount (min 5 students) and 10% discount (min 10 students) is applicable also!!!

sounds cool? at UE square, pretty central.

There is story telling, art and craft, snack, fine motor skills, mandarin session and zoophonics. only question is, dunno whether the teacher good or not.. cos if it is the recent GUG teachers.. i dun like. thus the trial class. I have told the admin lady (her name is desiree also leh, 4D you reading this? :p) if the trial class teacher is good, we want the same one for the actual class (if we proceed). so hope the trial class will turn out to be good cos I am excited of attending classes with you all!!!!

bbp: I poke his cheeks, masssage it... make such exegerated chewing gestures at him.. threatened to turn off the elmo on youtube (his current fav now.. he can even say elmo!) and when I do dat he says no-no (he wins the battle) and I gotto turn it on for him again.. haiz.. it goes on n on haha

JSP: ya lor.. he doesn't have spots on hands and legs and soles leh.. so maybe not huh.. and it's juz one lone ulcer..

Great news on Bibinogs

They do trial classes on Saturdays! (hooray)

so I have tentatively booked 3 Oct (private trial)
only timeslot is 330pm@UE Square
1.5hrs, $48+ GST
min 5 students (5% discount)
10 students (10% discount)

SIGN UP NOW! Closing by this sat to pre-book. THe programme sounds like JG (with snack and all). I have asked for a bigger room (thus in UE Sq), and also there is a 15min mandarin session.

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) do1nk & bbG

bbP, my hubby is a ultimate true blue Book worm! when I told him I think ethan has lost interest in both his favourite books, he immediately wanted to go borders (think more so that he wanted to go buy his books). when I order from Amazon or softfloor tonnes of books, he will praise me. when I order from gap/on, he will nag nag nag...

BUBBLY BABES
(6 – 18+ months)
Bilingual / 1 hr & 15 mins

The stage of learning through consistency and familiarity. This is also the best time for you to learn along with your child and help nurture his sense of security and attachment to the surroundings.

Sensory explorations that stimulate all 5 senses by involving your child in puppetry, art & craft, music and rhythmic exploration, and story-telling

Focus on building early motor skills such as ‘Mastering the Pincer’ (thumb and finger grip), honing the ‘baby body’ movements and hand-eye coordination

15 minutes Mandarin playtime to promote bilingualism

Organic snack time

Parental involvement required

dustee,
don't think so much and lose sleep over your mil. it's just not worth it. you really need to stand up for yourself. some people are bullies. they will retreat when their victims stand up and start defending themselves. instead of going thru her callous remarks in your head, maybe you think of how to retort her. if i were you, these will be my replies to her:

1. she didn't think pomfret is her son's baby:: "let's go for DNA test!"

2. when pomfret was born, she said "someone said the baby is pretty. but i don't think so. the baby look like you":: "there's a saying : beauty lies in the beholders' eyes."

3. the jaundice episode. "i can send you to the hospital if you want to see the baby. let my son enjoy his holiday" :: "holiday-my-@@@-coz-that's-his-baby-in-the-hospital" did you say this out loud?!?!? you should! hahaha...

4. "you know our neighbour's daughter? you're her classmate? are you sure? becoz she is very smart y'know?" :: "Really?! why didnt you arrange
marriage between your son & her when they were still in kindergarden!? you're obviously still in that era!"

5. asking my hb if he needed a lawyer for a pre-nuptial agreement.......... :: "Sure... why not? oh.. pre-nup with you or your son?"

Don't be afraid of her. remind her that you will have full custody of your daughter and your hb will still have to pay maintenance if things were to deteriote to that state. and its ALL HER FAULT!

gosh... i'm fuming after reading abt what you went thru. shucks..... excuse me hor :p hugs to you.