(2008/07) July 2008

SY: we got a philips humidifier/purifier/ionizer liao.. turn it on every nite.. can't tell if it's helping or not though..

naughty chair: ya heard of it.. planning to implement when bbG is older.. we call it the 'thinking chair' go think of what you did wrong hahaha

chumint: better now?

babies prom: which row did you get? It was pure luck dat I happened to recall on 15 sep afternoon (3plus?) and only got the 3rd last row! better than nothing coz i'm really eager to go! sat tix snapped up real fast..still had fri ones when I checked though..

Only managed to scan through earlier posts, too many to catch up! I brought my two to Peek-A-Boo at Kallang yesterday and was crawling up the four-level structure with both of them! Tired! I am too old for this!

Michelle
L is non-straw too. He will hold up and tilt his bottle by himself to drink.

Bbp
Kudos on taking a 5-hr bus ride with Declan!
Sure, you can come over and DIY like me. (But must wait till the house is painted and packed. At the moment it's a WWIII kind of mess.) I'll entertain the talented Mr D while you're at it

Rebonding
Heard that the Korean-style rebonding is more natural looking, and not as flat?

Polliwogs
So the verdict is that it is great fun yes? Think I'll bring my two there on Friday. Any more Polliwogging mummies?

Babies Prom
My tix are for Friday 10.30am. Who else is going then?

Dor Dor
Oh my, what a scare you must have had! Thank goodness E is okay!

Sorry for intruding. I am Oct08 mum. We are organising Stage n Such water play trial also on 26 Sep but need more fun-loving mummies n babies to join us.

Our timing is 5.30-6.30pm so not so hot n sun not so glazing. Their pool is located on outdoor so quite hot. I know tat cause I have attended their drama trial n they show us around the facilities around 3pm. So maybe bbG n Ethan mummies would like to join us instead? Thanks.

Stageandsuch
program:waterplay(max 8 babies)
date:26.09.09(sat)
time:1330
1. bbG
2. Ethan

Once again, paiseh to intrude ur thread.

dor dor... sayang Ember

bring my boy ZH to PD today for review of jaundice level, glad that it has dropped and no need to be hospitalised... yeah!

pacifier...
XP is still using pacifier when sleep / nap. dunno how to wean... i mean dunno how to wean for MYSELF! just wonder, my hubby used pacifier when young but has neat teeth, me never used pacifier yet have rabbit teeth! hmmm..

bbG
i felt mine worked. he stopped coughing the next day. does yours have filter? i heard not good to use those with filters. so must really clean regularly or change filter regularly.

waiwai
there are many ways to wean. some pple put chilli some pple cut the pacifier. or just go cold turkey.

Yeah mummies, Thanx for the concern. Ember is fine n very active now so I guess I can rest well tonite. But still yah have to monitor for 3 days lah but 1st 24hrs more crucial cos she was unconcious for awhile.

Then doc told me to try not to let her knock her head again n of cos not anytime soon so dun let her climb lor but so very hard to control when she's back to her active self. So she will be screaming when I dun let her climb down the bed. (I feel like straping her to me 24hrs)
Then this korkor dunno why keep knocking her head until I wanna cry man.

Sigh can never forget man n when I think of it my hair will stand cos she jus went limp in my arms n I was shouting for her.
Okie okie enough of this scary scene(my hair standing again) n I hope non of you mummies will ever have to experiance that.

do1nk
Yah ambulance is 995....anyway that was what I dialed lah cos I totally blank when my dad asked me to dial for the ambulance. But he also shock I think cos when he wanna call to cancel the ambulance he ask me what num.....hehe

SY
Yah lor sigh.....think if I never scream she might not have fallen also....sigh

Qing
The doc say E's head feels alright n she's okie when he touch her head also. But still must monitor lor cos she did lose conciousness for awhile which he say is worrying.
N he also keep telling Ember. CANNOT CLIMB CHAIRS HOR....haha

dustee: where did you buy the mat from dustee? I dun mind trying to see if it fits mine.. coz bbG's one super sweaty baby..but I pay you for it lah....

ethan is having runny nose. my hubby is having cough. my MIL is having sore throat and flu. it seems my very very strong virus has spread to the entire family... so ethan has been waking up at midnight crying and takes me 1 over hour to soothe him back to sleep.. poor thing... HE HAS NEVER BEEN SICK!! I HATE MYSELF FOR SPREADING!!!

Dor, pat on your back... glad everything is over.. it is difficult to keep watch 24x7 but just try your best, and put mats/cushions round those items that she tends to climb??

waiwai
thats good news
yeah too!!!

dor
u make me have goosebump loh
got blue black ? or ba lu ku?

and this remind of the previous night
i woke up in shocked and found barbie lying on the mat instead of our bed crying...
i quickly carried her up.
then i wonder did she roll down by herself or did i kick her down.

michelle
don blame on urself.
we human including babies will fall ill eventually.
think positively...
E needs her love and care now.
if you are so negative, he will sense it too.
cheer up!!!

do1nk
thanks.. I'm feeling much much better now
I managed to get the last row of Left1. There were better seats for afternoon session but didn't get it as it crashed with hao ran's nap time

youpi
me going on fri 1030. Will be going 1hr earlier as there's pre-concert activities at 0945

waiwai
gald to hear that ZH jaundice is not serious. Just gotta let him drink lots of fluid..

pacifier
hao ran never took pacifier but his teeth are also not straight. I read somewhere that milk teeth was formed inside the gums when they were still in our womb

dor dor
glad that ember is back to her active self. I totally agreed that it's very difficult to restrict their movements now.. just gotta be more vigilant..

OH !!!
this is impt story too.
mummies pls be extra careful.

yesterday evening i was at robinson ceontrepoint.
while making payment, there was a loud cry before.
in mind i thought must be some naughty kid lehz. so annoying.

the cry did not stop for a very long time.

then came the staff making phone calling.
Stating that there was this boy who was STUCK AT THE ESCALATOR !!!
this is what she say: we have "ANOTHER" case, the boy is stuck at the escalator
how scary can that not be?

being kpo la, i ask the cashier what happen.
apparently, the boy whom was abt 2-3 years old, wearing those soft sole shoes.
shoe got suck into the escalator and so did the tiny toes.
the cashier told me that it happen a few times with soft sole shoes.
and his leg was turning black liao. (i don know how true la, i wasnt witnessing the whole incident)

so poor thing.
when i was done with my purchase, i wanted to kpo more. but escalator was cleared liao.

so mummies, be careful.
i think better carry our babies when travelling up or down the escalator.
their legs might not be fast enough to response to the escalator movement.
oh my...

now i am still wondering if that boy is ok.

dor
glad ember is ok now. yeah very hard to prevent them from falling. jx now very naughty. she will walk with her head tilted back so she always ends up falling sideways. but i let her learn to break fall but a few times i can see that she almost knock her face..... dunno how to stop her.

michelle
dun blame yourself. it's really really hard to prevent spreading as mothers are usually the main caregiver plus your whole family is sick so it's even easier for ethan to fall sick. also i find the air quality really bad now so it seems to make them fall sick easier...

qing
we carreid jh on the escalator until he was much older. never allowed him on it till he was older. really scary

here are the links for the books. let me know by 28 sept ok? cos must submit order form by 30th sept

All SOFT COVER

1. What Dads Can't Do - $6

http://www.amazon.com/What-Dads-Cant-Douglas-Wood/dp/0689826206

2. The Best Me I can Be Chapter Book: A Day with my Family - $4

- can't find link

3. YOu were loved before you were born - $7

http://www.amazon.com/You-Were-Loved-Before-Born/dp/0439040612/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1253152492&sr=1-1

4. Tell me something happy before i go to sleep - $6

http://www.amazon.com/Tell-Something-Happy-Before-Sleep/dp/0552545066/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1253152521&sr=1-1

bbG
i got it from a bp here. there was this lady who was doing periodic bps for things from this brand. no need pay me for it lah. i just don't want to waste it.

the sso babies prom was almost sold out by the time i checked, save for a couple of single seats for friday. so i bought friday.

michelle
pat pat. comfort yourself that ethan will be stronger against flu once he recovers.

chumint
i'm also going for friday 10.30am! er, actually i haven't decided, might force my hb to take leave to bring pomfret instead (i only got one ticket, coz only ONE ticket left) coz he's the classical music fanatic so maybe it'll be more suitable.

sy
oh no my wallet's not safe. also been meaning to order your chinese books. you can post your website again? i thought i had but i couldn't find.

dordor,
glad E is ok now

michelle,
(philosophically) all bbs fall ill sooner or later. haze is back. so E boy builds immunity, good for him!

sharing... forwarded email <font color="0000ff">Invisible Mothers.....

It all began to make sense, the blank stares, the lack of response, the way one of the kids will walk into the room while I'm on the phone and ask to be taken to the store. Inside I'm thinking, 'Can't you see I'm on the phone?'

Obviously not; no one can see if I'm on the phone, or cooking, or sweeping the floor, or even standing on my head in the corner, because no one can see me at all. I'm invisible.. The invisible Mom. Some days I am only a pair of hands, nothing more! Can you fix this? Can you tie this? Can you open this??I need that now Mommy!

Some days I'm not a pair of hands; I'm not even a human being. I'm a clock to ask, 'What time is it?' I'm a satellite guide to answer, 'What number is the Disney Channel?' I'm a car to order, 'Right around 5:30, please.' Hurry Mom, I'll be late!

I was certain that these were the hands that once held books and the eyes that studied history and the mind that graduated summa cum laude -but now, they had disappeared into the peanut butter, never to be seen again. She's going, she's going, she's gone!?

One night, a group of us were having dinner, celebrating the return of a friend from England . Janice had just gotten back from a fabulous trip, and she was going on and on about the hotel she stayed in. I was sitting there, looking around at the others all put together so well. It was hard not to compare and feel sorry for myself. I was feeling pretty pathetic, when Janice turned to me with a beautifully wrapped package, and said, 'I brought you this.' It was a book on the great cathedrals of Europe .

I wasn't exactly sure why she'd given it t o me until I read her inscription: 'To Charlotte , with admiration for the greatness of what you are building when no one sees.'

In the days ahead I would read - no, devour - the book. And I would discover what would become for me, four life-changing truths, after which I could pattern my work: No one can say who built the great cathedrals - we have no record of their names. These builders gave their whole lives for a work they would never see finished. They made great sacrifices and expected no credit. The passion of their building was fuelled by their faith that the eyes of God saw everything.

A legendary story in the book told of a rich man who came to visit the cathedral while it was being built, and he saw a workman carving a tiny bird on the inside of a beam. He was puzzled and asked the man, 'Why are you spending so much time carving that bird into a beam that will be covered by the roof, No one will ever see it. And the workman replied, 'Because God sees.'

I closed the book, feeling the missing piece fall into place. It was almost as if I heard God whispering to me, 'I see you, Charlotte. I see the sacrifices you make every day, even when no one around you does.'

No act of kindness you've done, no sequin you've sewn on, no cupcake you've baked, is too small for me to notice and smile over. You are building a great cathedral, but you can't see right now what it will become. At times, my invisibility feels like an affliction. But it is not a disease that is erasing my life. It is the cure for the disease of my own self-centeredness. It is the antidote to my strong, stubborn pride.

I keep the right perspective when I see myself as a great builder. As one of the people who show up at a job that they will never see finished, to work on something that their name will never be on. The writer of the book went so far as to say that no cathedrals could ever be built in our lifetime because there are so few people willing to sacrifice to that degree.

When I really think about it, I don't want my son to tell the friend he's bringing home from college for Thanksgiving, 'My Mom gets up at 4 in the morning and bakes homemade pies, and then she hand bastes a turkey for 3 hours and presses all the linens for the table.' That would mean I'd built a shrine or a monument to myself. I just want him to want to come home. And then, if there is anything more to say to his friend, to add, 'You're gonna love it there..'

As mothers, we are building great cathedrals. We cannot be seen if we're doing it right. And one day, it is very possible that the world will marvel, not only at what we have built, but at the beauty that has been added to the world by the sacrifices of invisible women.

Great Job, MOM!</font>

Hello Mommies,

Speedy recoveries to sick mommies &amp; babies. weekend just round the corner. Get well soon to enjoy the long weekend

Dor_dor,
so glad your baby is back to her active self. really scary when reading abt the incident. i let my son fell so many times with big bah loo koos on his head till i'm starting to feel like i'm a lousy mother.

sigh... i can't cope with full time job, then now with helper, she spends more time with my son than me. my son even called her "mama" a couple of times! and looks for her nowadays when he's hungry. he also looks for her when he wakes up in the morning. gosh... i'm feeling like i'm losing my son. and feeling a bit resentful towards the helper. HELP! i'm losing my mind! sigh...

cellow,
your fwd email is great. but after reading, i feel worse for being such a lousy mommy. i can't cook, i don't read to my son, and i don't spend enough time with him, taking care of him.

geez... i just hope it's the pregnancy hormones and the hectic work during past few days and lack of sleep wrecking havoc with my brain

SY,

My orders are one each of:-

1. Tell me something happy before i go to sleep - $6

2. The Little Engine That Could : ABC Time - $6

3. quirky, jerky, extra perky, more about adjectives - $6

waiwai,
glad to hear your baby's jaundice level is down.
why is your #1 not at home with you? you hired confinement lady? some of them can look after older kids too.

steph,
haiyoooor. tis meant to inspire you that all your hidden works are seen and have an impact on E.

i dun cook, i read to C only when i need to distract him, and i realise every mummy thinks she doesnt spend enuf time w the kid(s).
however, mine is the face he first sees when he wakes, mine are the boobs which he latched onto for 13 months, mine is the embrace he runs to when i come home from work, mine are the hands that steady him when he walks and pick him up when he falls.
see, i can do poetry too

waiwai,
YAY! bb ZH stays home with you!

I feel so exhausted... can feel myself getting old.. lucky last night e-boy took medicine and slept through again, but the two nights before was bad as he woke at 12 plus and only manage to sleep soundly from 2plus and with his size now.. its so hard to rock him.. my muscles ached!! but i kinda miss those times I rock him and his hands touching my face and giving me the contented look..
think the runny nose not serious cos he is still so cheerful and active in the day lah...

wah. i missed the babies prom boat liao i guess...

steph... dun think too much... it is unavoidable that el will be close to your helper if she spends most of the time with him... and that also doesnt mean he loves you any less. Babies know who their mummy is... one thing you can try is no matter how busy you are, you can try to make sure most of the time, you are the one to tuck him in.. i find that e-boy is the most adorable when he is ready to sleep.. the routine we set together is also very special, it belongs to the two of us only... you can try establishing that? even if not every night, most of the night... dun be disheartened, you have to let go a little eventually, cos when you give birth and going for confinement, you will spend even less time with him... see wai wai also miss XP a lot.. but no choice mah... sometimes circumstances leave us with no choice, but most important is to make the best out of the situation, so once got chance, spend quality time together.... cheer up ok?

dustee
you also got the 1030 tickets? I'm not sure if it's classical music but it will be a good time to rest and relax if your hubby bringing pomfret

cellow
that's a very inspiring story..

steph
don't be dishearted.. me also don't cook. As for story reading, try to spend 5-10min reading to him before bedtime?
I will always stick around him even when he only wants my mom or mil. You will never know when he will he surprise you with a hug.. And ALWAYS 'CORRECT' him if he calls the maid mama..

Michelle
same here..
kayden kenna cough again.. so much plehgm that he cant sleep..
woke at 5am and rock him til 7am before he fell asleep on the sofa, need to prop him..
so poor thing...

i only like got 3hrs of sleep.. so gonna conked out..
sign in later.

cellow,
no lah.. don't get me wrong. when i read your post, i was touched. i've been feeling moody on and off for the past 2 weeks. also coz pregnancy a bit of complication and added to the moodiness. but still must put on strong front and carry on as normal. just come in here 诉苦 a bit.

thanks michelle, chumint. being pregnant again now adds to the dilemma lor. on one hand, am glad that helper is good with my son. then on the other hand, will get jealous when son so close to her. he will still look for me when he's upset lah. phew... then on one hand, need to let go coz have to let the boy get used to being taken care of by helper coz like what you say, afer #2 arrives, i won't have much time for him. even as my tummy gets bigger, i can't bath him or carry him as much as i want to.

i'm usually the one who puts him to bed at night. hb will take over sometimes if he comes home early. and i tried to rock him once a while, he pushed me away and want to go into his cot... blah.... hahaha...

cellow,
no lah.. don't get me wrong. when i read your post, i was touched. i've been feeling moody on and off for the past 2 weeks. also coz pregnancy a bit of complication and added to the moodiness. but still must put on strong front and carry on as normal. just come in here 诉苦 a bit.

thanks michelle, chumint. being pregnant again now adds to the dilemma lor. on one hand, am glad that helper is good with my son. then on the other hand, will get jealous when son so close to her. he will still look for me when he's upset lah. phew... then on one hand, need to let go coz have to let the boy get used to being taken care of by helper coz like what you say, afer #2 arrives, i won't have much time for him. even as my tummy gets bigger, i can't bath him or carry him as much as i want to.

i'm usually the one who puts him to bed at night. hb will take over sometimes if he comes home early. and i tried to rock him once a while, he pushed me away and want to go into his cot... blah.... hahaha...

Steph
yupz, i hired CL. night time ZH would cry for milk every 3 hours (like alarm clock)... so i don't want this to disturb XP from sleeping... or the other way round. i also don't spend much time with XP, she stays with PIL when i work, and during pregnancy, i didn't see her every day , so whenever she stays home during weekend, i would try to make up for her. sometimes i also feel sad. take care of yourself...

Cellow
That's a great story and a wonderful way of looking at what we do. Thanks for sharing.

SY
Please help me to get:
quirky, jerky, extra perky, more about adjectives - $6
The Big Bug Dug - $4
Look at my book - $6

dustee
u are so funny. the way u say that your wallet not safe...ha mine also not safe too!

here is my blog again.

http://littleengelscloset.blogspot.com/

steph
dun get too upset. i have been thru this. my boy was cared for by my helper full time when i was working. but at the end of the day he is still the closest to me. there were periods of time that he just run to helper for anything. but i made sure that i m the one who sleeps with him and tuck him to bed. my ex boss told me before that they will be closest to the last person they see before they sleep and the first person they see when they wake up. try to be in these 2 positions.

u know something funny, last time my boy only let my maid bring him to toilet. i felt quite sad cos going to toilet is such a basic need and he dun wan to let me do it. also, he cd only nap when she puts him to bed. but i told myself thats cos i m more fun so he dun wan to sleep when i m ard...

and last thing, always remind yourself that helper will go home after 2 years! that's something i always tell myself.

noted on your books.

youpi
got it!
i m really trying to control myself this time round but still wan to get a few books. hb warning me liao...haha

Michelle
Poor Ethan. Ember also now have running nose so she keeps waking at night to cry n when she latch she will drink drink drink n let go to gasp for air.....sigh

I only have those kid stools n chairs at home which are not all around. But I worry when she climb down from the bed which she does so often.....sigh

Qing
Surprisingly no blueblack leh. N no swollen at all also.

We are so lucky lor cos we got attended by a senior doc n afew young doc come to seek 'permission' to do some things. Then heard this young doc asking for this baby who fell n vomited 3 times liao. N the doc ask her to refer to neuro surgen n saying cos so young brain scan must go under GA also.
So I jus feel so lucky that E is alright.

U funny lah kick barbie down the bed??....haha

AIYO!!!!! Poor boy.....scary sia

Steph
Dun feel bad. Even I the SAHM who stays 24hrs with my kids feels bad sometimes tat I'm not giving him enough.

I think someone posted before, dun feel jealous of the helper cos she will leave someday. Which is true lor n then ur son will know that no matter what he is jus your family's helper. N when he's able to understand then explain abit more to him lor.

Cellow
Ur post is soooooo good.

Waiwai
Build up ur strength now while you rest n bond with bb lor. Then when XP is home pass bb to ur hubby n you bond with XP lor.

hi.... any gals experienced delay menses after first one or 2 regular mense after birth?

I supposed to come around last wkend but still no sign
n i sure i not preg...

cellow,

u got mo shui!

re: gerber star n self feeding
My boy was 1 lazy kid. he also dun eat himself at this age. he dun put things in his mouth 1 lor. so can see it good thing cos dun have to worry he eat soem other foreign objects... he will also throw... faint... i told him it food...

then my girl G is more yao kui hhahahha everything sure put into mouth... even coin... luckily I manage to dig it out!

then now she has no prob eating biscuits by herself. She can act hold the biscuits and eat slowly unlike boy... when he just managed to learn to eat the food given, he will just POP the WHOLE biscuit into mouth... *faint n try to shift his mouth to swallow the whole thing lor.... v lazy...

Feeling super duper lousy… screw up at work and now bbG’s running a fever wiv a runny nose! So many babies having a runny nose now! I juz hope his fever won’t spike like all previous times.. n wiv the upcoming long weekend..better bring to pd

Cellow: thanks for sharing that article..

Steph: spend more quality time with E if you can… I think it’s normal that they are more fond of the one taking care of them sometimes.. even bbG is quite fond of the maid, I can tell…

What I do is talk to him non-stop.. when I’m back home and even if I have to eat my dinner, he’s standing by me, playing and I talk to him as I eat.. or in the mornings when I gotto get ready for work, he’s sometimes on the floor watching me while he plays.. haha (hb juz commented this will have to stop when he grows up haha)

Hang in there steph.. u will feel better soon… come let it out here.. lots of listening ears

morning mummies

Sick babies
Get well soon... must be the haze that is irritating your little nose..

garfield
I think mensus delay for a week is quite normal ba? Mine sometimes delayed 2 weeks..

do1nk
think positively.. bbG will be able to feel your mood.. ya I think better bring bbG to see pd today especially now that he has fever..

sayang bbG, ember and all sick babies.. e-boy is getting better already... not so runny and coughing occasionally.. but today my MIL says her cough is getting worse so I think i will take half day ... bbG, today got fire drill you can go home early? :p

any mummies here interested in basic photography class for photographing toddler? need to form a class of 6 and I already have 3. need 3 more. It is conducted by a retired colleague, done at his house, costs only $30. anyone?

PS: I BOUGHT A CANON EOS!! woohoo!!

bbG,
hope he get well...

oh bbs closer to maids, i understand the feeling cos i have maid myself. but i will think of it tat at least it meant she never ill treat them lor. If not, they wun close or wan her liao mah...

but over time, they will know who mama n papa lor. now my 2 kids are closer to me. but some times still wanna maid. I take effort to make them sleep w us every nite. never once w maid cos she already see them whole day liao.

Chumint, thanks. cos mine is always regular till noe... maybe i wait for a while more.

I bought the EOS500D, $1299.

there will be 1 lecture (weekday 7-9pm), 1 practical (our kids can be model!! on a sat morning) and 1 critic session (weekday 7-830). $30! sometime in Oct.

If it is just lecture, it costs $25.

Course synopsis: This 2.5 hr course will provide you with 15 tips to create incredible portraits. The content covers equipment, exposure control and selection, composition techniques, background control, and how to make great pictures at various scenarios such as at playground, swimming pool, meal time, bath time, in the swimming pool and when the child first learn how to walk, just to name a few.

wahh! you went straight for the good stuff, didn't start with an entry model ah? later you will start spending more $$$ on the lens! hehehe!

i actually won't mind joining. since i have just been mucking around on my own, with no proper instructions so far. and the critic session would be great! then i would know where to improve. count me in! tks.

Almost topped up purchase with a better lens, but stopper (aka hubby) was there to stop me. haha... so anyway, started going around snapping and realised, eh, dunno how to use! LOL... I will take a few weeks to familiarise with the camera features, then arrange the course sometime in mid Oct, ok for you? also waiting for the lecturer to revert as he is overseas now... hee.. E-boy doesnt sit still and kept coming foy my camera. cant get any decent pics so far.. grrrr...

as the session is catered for working ppl, the lectures are normally on weekday evening, and practical will be on sat mornings.

Photographing toddlers (sometime in OCt)
1) michelle
2) doggiebb

michelle
wow!!! i wanted to get a SLR sometime back but hb refused. he said i will just use it like any normal digital cam so better not waste morning...

bbG
oh dear hope he gets well soon. it's very sickening when they are sick. all plans got to be put on hold.....

Thanks everyone.. called home to check.. spirits r still up but temp is hovering at 38deg.. 4 hourly panadol for him and hope he gets better.. no signs of phlegm or cough yet..

good to hear E-boy's better today...

Michelle: haha we ‘coincidentally’ have a company bowling event during the fire drill.. but plan to leave early too…

Wah photography buffs.. hubby sold off his SLR long ago… to me, I Juz wanna capture precious moments on pic…not very gadget savvy though :D