(2008/07) July 2008

messy open house
cannot be tuesdays (so cannot be 15th sept) coz i'm usu at my mum's on tues. any other weekdays are fine.

mil
my mil should be fine about other mummies and babies coming over to make a mess. don't get me wrong, she is very nice to other pple. she just says not-so-nice things to me coz she doesn't think very well of me and thinks i'm not good enough for her son. (and it's just me. coz she loved the ex-gfs)

and though yes i do express occasionally how much i hate her at certain moments, i will try very hard to let that hate go away within the next few days. such negative thoughts eat at one's well-being.

so i'll tell myself things like "she is a mis-informed old woman. BUT i am the bigger person, with the bigger heart, and the smarter brain, and the selfless ego, and i'm definitely going to heaven coz i treat her with respect...." (a variation of michelle's skill) else how to survive facing her day in day out?

and it's not like if i hide in the room she will leave me alone. she will write what she wants to say on post-its and stick on my door. so sometimes when i open the door, there might be a few post-its stuck on it.... -_-

bbp
eh true, my place..... is still about 10mins' walk from nearest circle line mrt though. hmmmm.

steph
yes my mil likes to emphasize "i have thought about it" and "i have analyzed" and "i have had an uni education so i can think"

pomfret's porridge
as per suggestions from mummies here, i cook the porridge with either chicken or pork (after boiling them for a bit, then washing them before putting into the porridge) and a variation of baby spinach, carrot, cabbage, corn, broccoli, etc. pomfret doesn't like egg so much. doesn't like to eat meat (so meat is only for flavouring).

actually she doesn't like food very much. if i let her choose, she'd much prefer to be bosom buddies with my bosom. (which actually does grief me much)

CS
my pd is a gastro-something specialist. do you want to bring dani to see him? dr lim kwang hsien at kinderclinic at mt alvernia.

phyphy,
the stageandsuch looks interesting. i'm keen to bring my boy for trial.

do1nk,
your bbG is so handsome.. you sure you don't want another beautiful baby? hehehe.. *tempt* *tempt*

dustee
your MIL sure is a tough nut to crack! i have realised that in situations involving MILs, hubbies have to be on our side. but ... our hubby = their son, and will always be little boy around mother. how la, dey?

but anyhow. you have had a thought about it, and analysed the situation, and have come to the conclusion that she is 1) misinformed 2) lonely and 3) does not like you so there is really nothing you can do but to ignore her i guess. one ear in, one ear out, then complain complain complain to hubby

update
poppy is scaring mummy by finishing one whole corn cob on her own! nothing gets her happier than seeing jagong.

Ronine,

Grace kids is Tues, 1030am. Cost is $45..i think...oops...forgot to check..but i remember seeing this on the website.

it is Rythm in Me, creative music education program..join us la!

Yday went to GUG trial...wah..siong man..think wuffy still too young for the program.... he CANNOT sit still! probably will try some gym classes...

Food Jar (using latent heat):

Me gg to Msia for hols soon...which brand of food jar is good? Those that can cook porridge along the way type? Tiger?

Rena,

Stay strong..... *hugz*

Rena,
stay strong .....i have been through this first was my dad in 1998 when i first started out to work he kena cancer 3rd stage after yrs of chemo now he free of cancer but every two mths have to go for check out n blood test.......but another sad new is that my aunty which is father younger sister kena breast cancer last stage earlier this yr now she going through chemo ........ (we got no family history of cancer)

Which doctor is ur dad seeking right nw ??

I understand is not easy as long as family members stay by their side their will power is much stronger ........

esquare,
last stage means no treatment can be done? i will pray pray pray for you and family.
agree w serene, as long as family members by their side, the patient's willpower is much much stronger. you take care of yourself!

dordor,
ohhhh! so the gap between your D and E is approx the same gap as my C1 and C2. best to get the growing up and babyhood done and over with la, although i was telling HB that dunno whether can cope anot. i hope C1 is as loving towards C2 as D is towards E!

PB,
hooray for your mini honeymoon! and your decision to have #2.

do1nk,
i dunno man, but i still try to make C1 understand that C2 is coming along....

C1 runny nose
C has a runny nose since Fri, which turned into phelgm, and now he is coughing. Plus fever, caused by teething, I think. HB has been really good to tend to C while I sleep a lot.

Private trial @ JWT: me! me! me! Oh wait.. but u said 15 sep? dunno if I can apply for leave in time or not.. let us know if you can get a slot?

Classes: so which do you girls like best? JG for me… can’t wait to sign bbG up for the weekend class when he turns 18mths old.. but that’s like end Jan! didn’t quite like GUG somehow.. maybe I’m biased after attending JG in such a big group and it was so much fun! Loaded some pics on FB.. not very well taken though.. sorry bbX.. didn’t manage to get a solo pic of you..

Jacelyn: bbG’s favourite shape is the star.. that’s why he shouts it when he spots any.. but without the S sound which he doesn’t know how to make yet haha

SY: I heard Disney Tokyo is better and cleaner, only problem is dat it’s in Japanese and we won’t understand..

Dustee: I recall your ‘going to heaven’ chant haha.. I really think you are one super sensible person who can keep her cool very well.. r u serious about the post-it’s on the door??? Curious to know.. how old is your MIL?

Haha steph: check out the GUG pics of his ill-trimmed hair, courtesy of me.. he looks rather goondu now..

Wow didn’t know poppy loves corn dat much.. haha does she know how to nibble them off the cob??? dun think I’ve let bbG try corn before!

Oh no.. C1 is ill? Poor baby.. his first time falling ill too? Let him drink lots of fluids.. and rest.. hope he gets well soon!

phyphy.. I'm keen on the stageandsuch trial too! speech n drama right? when?

so what's on this 15 sep? grace kids? think i've heard of the rhythm-in-me before...should be good?

I'm back in SG! KL was fun, and the bus ride was not too bad... feel quite proud of myself for actually being able to manage him on a 5h bus ride

Cellow,
Your 2xHT multigrain cereal has arrived!

I just came back from JB. wat a tiring day tour..

ah ya.. i can join the outings nx week lo coz no need go tend the shop already. YES!

bbG
yes quite serious about the post-its hehe. we have post-its all over the house and my mil loves to sticky sticky messages on our door. she's in her early 60s.

phyphy
yeah stageandsuch looks interesting, but never been.

bbp
wow you took the bus! gosh, i can barely manage the 15min bus ride to toa payoh from my place, i don't think i would ever attempt a 5hr one!

pb
but it's just depressing to be in the same house as someone who so obviously (though prob unconsciously) "diminishes" your self-worth, so y'know, on days when your child doesn't behave, it really just all adds up.

the good thing though, is my Mr Pomfret knows how tough living with his mother can be. but if we decide to move out then i really need to get a job. so it's a compromise now. bear with it, so that i can choose to spend more time with pomfret, or move out, get a job, and deal with working mother's guilt.

babies prom
you can go to sistic to check the seat availability though the public sale starts only tmr. and yeah seems like for sat's concerts only single seats are left and then for fri's concerts, only side sections are left. sigh.

dor/SY
i think gals are faster in these thing ,T also will put her both leg into the short n will put her leg in/out again n again.she also manage to put her hand into the sleeve hole.

Stageandsuch
program:waterplay(max 8 babies)
date:26.09.09(sat)
time:1330

Date:24.09.09(thur)
time:1030
1.tess

program:speech n Drama
there are 3 types:bilingual , mandrain n english
which one do u all prefer?

Whoa you took the coach to KL bbP? Day or nite trip? How did you keep Declan entertained?

Dustee: good thing that your hb is on the same side as you.. and won’t protest to getting your own place.. I’d say stay and enjoy time wiv bb for as long as you can endure all this dissing.. in a couple of years when pomfret attends school then u can look for your own place? Meanwhile, try to shut out those hurtful words lor.. easier said than done though.. hang in there.. u r my OOMM idol leh so I think u can wan lah.. ;)

Anyone has any idea how to make the little terror sleep in later? Mine is waking earlier and earlier each day…today was 515am!! so I’m already feeling tired now when no one is in the office yet!

Arrgh juz checked calendar..can’t take 15th off.. =(

When’s JWT and stageandsuch trials? Pick another day?

btw dustee are you an early bird naturally or is it becoz of the little baby tOO? she's still sleeping wiv you right?

bbG
lately after pomfret wakes me up for her 6am feed i haven't been able to sleep...

i'm trying to double my ooooom-ness. esp i realized now that i have some issues nagging at me, and then i use snacking to cope so have been putting on weight even though i'm still bf-ding. (when even your loose t-shirts start to feel tight.....)

but everytime i try to meditate i end up dozing off hahahaha

dustee,
Haha, I guess I had some practice entertaining him on the bus in SG since we used to go Orchard quite often.

do1nk,
Yup yup, took a coach to KL. Both were day trips, but the one to KL was an early morning one at 730am. Somehow I think the boy knew we were going on a holiday, so he woke up really early at 5plus in the morning and was soon zzz-ing in the bus close to 9am. The one back was tougher cos he woke up from his nap just before the bus ride started. So stickers, crayons and books helped. It was also good that we took Transtar back and they had a personalised TV with games and those sega controller.

bbp!

Woah! IDOL! Me gg to KL next mth...already scratching my head how to enetertain him... I got the portable DVD player, but his legs are longer now.. so he kick it every now and then.. sigh...

Crayons? Declan doesnt eat it? I am pretty sure mine will bite it... hmmmm....

bbG,

Ya..i also dun really like GUG... the place seems messy and disorganised... I prefer Grace Kids. JG sounds good, probably will sign up for another trial with JG...

Anybody doing a JG trial group? I can do next week, weekday! :D

Free Roaming Babies

Last nite, I went to get a diaper for wuffy. When I came back, he manage to slide himself off the bed, and was playing with my home phone. So I quickly put it back on the hook. Next moment, the phone rang... it was from the police... Wuffy dialed 9 9 9.........*-* next time must really "jail" him in the cot... so he can roam no where.....

I didn't like GUG at United. The room is small, the teachers are not that good... very disorganised and crammy! the ones at Suntec are much better, the teachers are better too and the trial i attended, has a 15min mandarin session. JG is good.. just the room size only beat them hands down liao.. plus teacher winnie is so much more professional...

Batgal, OMG, wuffy dialed 999!!! did you get a scolding from police?? must be careful leh!!!

15 sep (tomorrow!), I suck at planning lah... talk so many weeks liao still dunno where to go..

so I think I will just bring Ethan to polliwogs.. maybe around 10am or so....

phyphy
so is it speech and drama that we are going to? i dun mind either english or mandarin.

Stageandsuch
program:waterplay(max 8 babies)
date:26.09.09(sat)
time:1330

Date:24.09.09(thur)
time:1030
1.tess
2. sy

program:speech n Drama
there are 3 types:bilingual , mandrain n english
which one do u all prefer?

dordor
yeah we were planning to go macau but after seeing how much jx likes mickey, we decided to go disneyland. but really not cheap to go end of the year.

do1nk
yeah tokyo is definitely better but too ex and we dun intend to go for too long. if not i wd definitely wan to go tokyo!!

michelle
so tmr is polliwogs? jx still has a bit of running nose and cough though no fever. so duno whether she can go or not.

batgal
ha ha, jh also dial 999 before and i was so shocked at how fast they pick up. i quickly hang up...

cellow
hope C1 recovers soon. lucky your hb is helping out....mine even went to work over weekend!

Michelle,

Yah kenna "gentle reminder" from the police to supervise our kids. Else misuse of the 999 emergency police line could lead to court case or fines...

SY, you never kenna "gentle warning"? hehe... so shocked leh...

JG trial, I can make it next thurs! On leave! YEAH!

This sat i signed wuffy up for Gym @ gracekids (GWC) @ 2.30pm. Cost $45. Anybody keen?

barbie is almost ok liao.
and almost everyone in the house got it.
out of 8 person, 6 already diarrhea...
i am consider one of the lucky few who didnt.

phyphy
the water play seems fun too...
don know got heated pool or not.

how much is their trial?

batgirl
there was once i also accidentally called 999.
phone slow in response so i keep pressing the 9 button.
next thing i know someone pick up the phone liao.
sacred the hell out of me loh..
then i keep apologising.
that lady was kind enough not to scare me further by saying it's ok.

doink,
bbG is such a darling! he could sit still for his haircut. thumb up!

stage and drama,
aug thread mommies almost organized one but didnt in the end. i think saw some not so nice feedback in other thread. just a comment only. ;0)

pb,
we wait for your good news..;)

bbp,
wah..baby declan has travelled to a lot of places!

dustee,
hope u are feelin better now. ignore your MIL! its a brand new happy-week!

e2,
how's your dad? cheer up ok? i just lost a friend last friday..haiz..

batgirl
wuffy boh ma ta? hilarious!!!!!!!!

bbp
wow you are so brave to bring declan on bus trip! we are thinking of going to see the whales but it is a 5 hour bus ride and i am worried.

dustee
poor you
how long more do you intend to be a SAHM? it ain't easy managing on one income, i grant you that! but like youpi mentioned before, if you can lead a no-frills lifestyle (no car, no cable, no maid....) then it's very workable. if things get really bad with the MIL and finances don't allow for your own living quarters yet then you can also consider renting short term?

girls
i realised my MIL likes to complain to me about her mother. so suddenly we are BFFs. actually she talks and i listen in the kitchen while preparing food. i feel like i am filming some soap opera. and you know what she told me?

I AM HAPPY TO HAVE A DAUGHTER IN LAW LIKE YOU

oh my. make me feel so guilty. times like these i have to remind myself that she is not a total meanie and is actually a rather nice MIL. and likes to feed my baby chilli.

do1nk
i have been letting poppy eat off the kob for about 2 months liao. just gave it to her one day and she managed fine. so usually she has one third or two thirds after dinner. kosong, no butter, no salt. she absolutely loves it. the moment she sees the jagong she will start kicking her legs in the high chair and not want to eat anything else anymore

oh just to share a nice recipe that i gave poppy for dinner today

mix 1tsp dried parsley, half tsp grounded black pepper, 1 and quarter cup parmesan cheese, 2 cups of grounded cornflakes or breadcrumbs
dip chicken strips in melted unsalted butter
coat with dried mixture and put in preheated oven at 350F for 20 mins

yummy! i served with mashed potato-carrot-sweet potato stirred with milk

missyz
yes! brand new happy week! = D thanks!

pb
eh poppy's eating adventures making me salivate! pomfret just shakes her head at every new food thing. sigh. she doesn't quite believe in chewing yet.

Didnt manage to look through everything but but i spotted the JG trial! I on leave next thurs and FRIDAY! Batgirl, me me!! Onz for the trial class and wuffy and xun girl can meet again hee hee

Later then look through the posts .. got to catch up with work now

batgirl, LOL on wuffy's little adventure. I must also keep an eye on xun girl coz she loves the phone!!

bbp WELCOME BACK! U are very good leh! 5 hrs ride! wow! mine never sit still for >half an hour in the car... and we must keep playing her songs for her.. if not she will buay song ..

PB, dun feel bad. I feel that most MIL (there are exceptions of coz) are generally good people (as in they are normal kind hearted people to outsiders) .. things just gets sensitive when we are in a DIL-MIL relationship... if she is some other aunties, things will very much be different. Speaking for myself too..

My MIL asked hubby yesterday (hubby was feeding xun while i nua a bit ... she didnt want to eat and guess what MIL says?) "did u put soy sauce in the porridge??!" I almost fainted and also wanted to shout when i hear that! But lucky hubby get a good answer: no need la. they are good at detecting the natural sweetness in food .. phew ...

But but to my horror, i discover subsequently that hubby get the cod fish that was soaked in SOY SAUCE TO xun girl! I asked if he washed it with water first he said no... gave him a good scolding! So contradicting lo... he gave that answer but he did somehting else!

PB, u are good at creating new dishes for poppy!! xun girl's furthest adventure in food was a quarter bowl of sphagetti.. thats it.

Dustee, u are good at ren-ing. I dun like people (whoever that is ...) putting posts-it.. its kind of rude in my opinion..

Qing, could be stomach flu (mild one)? My cousin got stomach flu and her doc say it is very common now ... the virus is in the air. but if barbie got no fever it could just be a mild one. lucky!!

jacelyn
my mil got a post-it fetish. on average i get about 3-5 post-its on my door a week.

baby monitor
only michelle has a baby monitor? which i remembered she said she got as part of a package with the baby cot right. i'm thinking about getting a baby monitor with video. so if i'm going into the toilet etc, i can just bring the monitor with me.

i don't like it, like just now, pomfret sleeping, so i closed the bedroom door and went to the toilet. then came back and found my mil has opened the bedroom door and is standing in the room watching pomfret (and this is just 1 min.) i know she just wants to be sure that pomfret didn't roll off the bed, but i really don't like it. you mummies know what i mean?

and she said 'you need to cook her porridge? i can watch her. ' but i really don't want her in my room sitting on my bed watching my baby.

sometimes i feel i'm so petty hehe.

do1nk,
C1 is perplexed why his playing/sleeping has to be interrupted by phelgmy coughing, then he gets this quizzical look on his face like 'what's happening to me'. i tell him that's tis just coughing, ahem and it will go away... so he really AHEM until quite loud. LOL
i rem youpi saying L had the same quizzical look on his face when he fell sick too.

batgirl,
oh dear, wuffy called the police! hahahahahaha

PB,
awwww. that makes u feel better rite, that MIL appreciates you, just that she smtimes feeds weird things (Chilli!) to poppy

YAY to barbie getting better liao! qing mei mei can rest assured.

bbp,
*pat on back* well done on keeping declan entertained on 5h bus ride.

dustee,
come come come out of the hse more often! i offer you my place to hide if i work from home. you can be saint dustee already with all you are ren-ing w MIL.

jacelyn,
haiya, at least HB got to respond first, then you dun look like a total mad woman... hehe. i can almost see your heckles rising liao, even as u type it, let alone when you were sitting there listening to MIL's comments. relak jack!

dustee, sounds like one way is to put pomfret in a cot/playpen instead of on ur bed? that way no excuse for MIL to look or watch her...

Getting a video monitor will work? ur mil is likely to say: u see the monitor also no use.. by the time she (pomfret) is falling it will be too late to react. I watch her for u better!

My baby monitor is only audio..

batgirl,
No leh, Declan doesn't eat crayons. He enjoys taking them out of the box and putting them into the box. So my box is in quite a bad condition already. And I brought a small notepad for him to "colour" on. And stickers, books, snacks.
Oops, I always worry about them calling 999, and Wuffy actually did it! Luckily Declan can only get access to the left side of the phone so he's more likely to call 777

missysz,
Haha, but Sophie baby is the truly travelled one. Oh, and Poppy too!

PB,
5h bus trip is definitely doable especially since you are still BF-ing. When all else fails, pop her there and hope she stops fussing

Re corn - I've always wanted to try giving Declan corn, but the thing is, I hate corn. So if he hates it too, there's no one at home to finish it up on his behalf!

PB
wah, ur mil is ur bff???

jacelyn
she didnt have fever.
just feeling rather hot all over but no fever.

cellow
she is better but still whinning alot in the middle of the night.

BBp,
I admired u being so brave to bring Declan on 5hrs bus trip… me still thinking of how to bring my both twins’ to travel to Ipoh this dec mth….

Dustee,
Just ignore ur MIL, for me normally what she say to me, I usually left ear in, right ear out… hope u better now… Cheer up!!!!

Batgirl,
LOL… Wuffy called the police….

15 sept,
So have mummies decide to go where? JWT/Gymboree/polliwog/ so other places?

Jace,
at least HB got let u know what he actually put what on the cod fish. Just relax

Cellow,
Poor C1, sayang him... so cute, when u ask him to this Ahem, den he will follow what u ask him to do... * clap clap *

morning mummies

Rena
hugz... take care and feel free to contact me if u need any help or just a listening ear...

dor dor
hahaha... not enuff slp huh??

dustee
he's feeling so much better alrdy... appetite also came back... but he's thighs no longer fat liao... my SIL kids didn't get sick... so its all a speculation and so till now we still guessing oni...

Qing
sayang barbie... hope she is feeling better alrdy... hugz to mummy as well...

PB
ur chant is so funny... seems like the mini honeymood has lifted ur spirits up alot... enjoy urself...

CS
i'm confused too... isn't the 2 the same??

batgirl
i also brought Ernest on a road trip to KL in Aug... we drove n he was slping most of the time as we left early at abt 4am... so its doable... dun worry too much... just have enuff stuff to entertain wuffy can alrdy...

pettygal, no leh. hubby never tell me.. i spotted the fish soaked in soy sauce myself. coz it is the same fish that we ate... and there was a portion missing.

all i can say is: lucky my mum is taking care of xun girl when i am at work.

PB
wow your mil so nice..she actually said that....

batgirl
no i hung up so quickly that they din have a chance to speak to me...

i just discovered something today. my maid has been having a phone behind my back! really angry with her. cos she wasn't supposed to hve one and the agent actually confiscated before she came over. dunno how many phones she has man....and no wonder she has not been able to finish her work.

dustee
i m also thinking of getting a monitor. but dunno whether will be useful or not....cos wan to dump the kids in their own room. but i think i will keep waking up to check on them still.

Jace,
Oh, Ic, yup, I’m lucky also, my mum is well taking care of my twins’ when i & Hb am work….

Batgirl,
LOL… wuffy called the police….

Esquare,
Be strong, take care….

JSP,
Glad tp heard that Ernest is getting better now….

bbG,
my twins’ now still on diaper 24/7, only when both wan to go bath, den the moment only diaperless… but the thing is when I remove their diaper, they will pee on the spot…so hard to train them potty now, think a few mth later…

messy open house,
count me in….

Can feed our babies corn? Cos my mum told me tat corn can’t digest ler… so I dun dare to give them corn…

GUG

i also didn't like it. i was just whispering to bbG at the counter that i brought talia to their trial before and didn't sign up as i didn't like it. thought of giving them another chance. oh wells!

I must try to get to a JG trial!

oh the way the boy is climbing all over the teachers was embarrassing. he must get his hands on whatever the teacher is showing. and kicks a big fuss when the stuff in his hands were taken away! tsk tsk! one thing good that we took away from the class was he spend the rest of the day doing the k-k-k sound by saying kick kick kick over and over again!

Doggiebb hey thats good. Thaddie boi is great! Mine? No take away at all!

24th Sep JG trial - question: do we need to form our own trial class or we can just gate crash? Both parents can join in??
1) xun girl
2) wuffy

Who else?!

Doggiebb hey thats good. Thaddie boi is great! Mine? No take away at all!

24th Sep JG trial - question: do we need to form our own trial class or we can just gate crash? Both parents can join in??
1) xun girl
2) wuffy
3) thaddie boy

Who else?!

likely to be morning right?

For e JG trial I just call they just start e new term this wk, so trial lesson will be nxt wk onward but hor only 2 bb are allow for e trial to join existing class. N they dun allow private class trial anymore.

bbp,

how come declan can only access to the left side of the phone? i better learn... cannot gtee when the next accident will come.

JSP,

yah... have to bring magic bag packed with toys and stuff. Probably will invest in some crayons and let him draw like wat bbp did.

SY,

Wah liao...ur maid is champs! My maid also asking for a HP liao....hopefully she will still be a good girl after i give her one....

I still got stuff with you rite? This sat i pick up at your parents place can?
How much i owe you?

Jacelyn,

Mine no take away too... some more learn how to po ma ta! *shake head*

ONZ for thursday JG trial!

1) xun girl
2) wuffy
3) thaddie boy

but how like GUG, gatecrash? :p We are talking abt the JG at Forum rite?

batgirl,
He can only "access" the left side of the phone cos the right side has to much stuff in the way. So babies being babies, he will press 1, 4, 7 and the put down button only lor. Luckily 9 is too "far" away for him.
Just now I was telling him, you better don't press 9 ah.. or else I send you to 999.

PB,
You still looking for the leapfrog animal fridge magnets in both English and French?
Kiddy palace in Marina Sq sells $39.95.
Can help you buy if you want.