(2008/07) July 2008

had a good time wiv the mummies and babies at the gym today.. I liked the slightly different 'acrobatic exercises' they went through..thanks youpi for letting us in on this kang-tao.. did you find out how much are their classes?

seimpi didn't leave a good impression on me though coz teacher was late and didn't even make up for the time.. and as crystal pointed out.. it's a music class and she sang out of tune! big no-no!

love L's cute tee... wow! he's got a paul smith too? instrumental lullabies of radiohead tracks sound interesting! must check out dat webby later! ;)

and how was the part 2 don pie lunchie mummies?

instrumental lullabies of radiohead tracks
is it even possible?! omg i gotta buy that! i breathe radiohead! (but hb makes a face whenever i play my radiohead cds...., he's a true blue classical fan. i'm not even sure how we two hit it off)

dor
oh glad she was able to help. kinderclinic has quite a few pds, and each one has their specialty. i happened to see that this lady one is for dermatology.

crystal
yeah as i told you today, she's a Dr. Lee Chien Yee from kinderclinic mt alvernia. you can see here http://www.kinderclinic.com.sg/mtalvernia.html

bbG
gordon is such a sweet boy. so the instructor at little gym could "use" him to demonstrate so many of the activities (while our other babies are struggling to get away) and i'm sorry pomfret smacked him and bulldozed him a couple of times. she's a really rough baby.

youpi
#1 has a van morrison tee? cool beans!!!!!!

dustee
haha yeah. when the instructor needed a volunteer, she just needed to look around to see pomfret crawling away, adventerous kayden exploring the corners of the room, poppy the koala clinging on to mummy, liam smiling sweetly at mummy, ember being happy inspecting the equipment, and the choice was clear - gentle 'sure i'll be happy to demonstrate' gordon was DA MAN!

Today's class was great cos my #1 was quite well behaved and stayed outside the class......hehehe
But then I can't squarm my way into anymore free classes cos they recognise him liao leh....hahaha
Ember was such a whiny girl when ppl get near her!!!

Cellow
Yah boy.....soo relieved lor. Really worth paying the money to go there.....hahaha

youpi
hehe think cos S keep seeing D eat the bread happily...keke
Didn't know he was asking for food else would have offered D's bread cos i bring extra thinking he will be out there with S.

D likes cos when I ask him abt it his eyes will lightup n say something like he Swoosh over.....haha
But still hesitent cos left 2 lessons atill gotta pay $155 10%. But if sign new term will be $500+ 5%.......sigh.....still thinking.

PB
U summerized so nicely....heehe

ember was cute.. she's like: I'm ok if you maintain that distance, teacher.. but dun come any nearer! haha

dustee, dun worry about bbG.. in fact, I need help to make him more 'macho' and not so scaredy cat haha

youpi: must vote you for cool-kang-tao momma here! I was so wishing for U2 as I checked the CD's out one by one.. and was so happy to see it right at the end! but think I may get the nirvana one instead coz U2's music I think is mild enough for bbG to listen too, haha yayy! how did you order? online? and they deliver? noticed that it's a local website!

dustee,
i m the classical music fan in the family and the one who pulls faces whenever HB puts on his rock music at maximum volume...!

have fun ron!

cellow... you must love little einsteins then hehe.. i like almost all sorts of music.. not the super heavy metal kinds though.. nor urr.. tranz music?

will U2 ever come to sg??

Ronnie
Have fun at the class!

PB
You summed up the class very well
Think L was not happy about the fact that he was the only baby who could not walk by himself. While waiting for kor kor's class to end, he kept cruising around the table and chairs outside, machiam like practising.

BbG
I bought the shirts and CD at a baby fair last time

Maybe if enough people want them, you can organise a BP for this thread and get them at a cheaper rate? Yes, it's a local enterprise, so you can call them to ask. Want or not? I'll get a couple as well.

Don't think U2 will ever come here in the near future. I queued to watch them in Paris but by the time I got to the ticketing counter, only back of stage seats were available so did not watch.

Dustee
Heheh, another Radiohead fan, yay! I saw them live in Oxford in 2001. It was the absolute highlight of my concert-going era

morning all

dustee + bbg - nice meeting u gals ytday!! hee.. our kids are all so different hor.. hee.. now i noe how sam seng my dotter is.. gordon's v siwen n his speech is good.. hee.. promfret def has mummy twisted ard her lil finger.. hee.. she is so cute lah..

bbG,
eh no i dun. methinks those tunes are dumbed down for bbs, which is really not nec. bcz our bbs' auditory abilities are more sophisticated than we give them credit for.
[i can whisper mum mum (=eat) from the other corner of the room, and C can hear!!]

phyphy,
mine is the opposite, when he is teething, suck for a super duper long time... think his gums are itchy bah.

thanks doggiebb for the books... oh the usborne sticker book is sooooooo colourful, i have the urge to stick the stickers onto the various backgrds myself!

rebelbabble
actually i wanna grab green day and nirvana too. plus the toddler's 'nuritional facts' tee. hmm hmm hmm.

patissier 15% discount
SD's posting on the patissier's profitroles triggered this...
if anyone of you gals are ordering fm the mohd sultan branch, give me a shout when you are paying and i will pop downstairs quickly to flash my staff pass for you to enjoy my 15% corporate discount. but better gimme a few days' notice bcz i smtimes work at home hor!

cellow

the sticker book is good stuff. i couldn't tear it away from talia's hands and such a good deal at only S$11. i bought the dora explorer series for her too and its so fun cos there are interactive elements in the books. like do a dance or choose an item while reading. She really enjoyed those.

the usborne phonics readers hor is such a tongue twister aigoo! but the boy seems to enjoy! so i am really pleased with the bookpple spree this time! plus dusty was saying spree was going for $55 and ours only $43! lalalala!

thread has been quiet these 2 weeks...
where is everybuddy??

can almost hear the <font size="+2">echo</font> <font size="+1">echo</font> <font size="-1">echo</font> <font size="-2">echo</font>

doggiebb,

ya i am really happy with the sticker book! if i m thick skinned enuf, maybe i ask my boss (based in UK) nx time he makes a trip out to bring books out for me! idea....
the pound is v down agst the SGD, so that's good news for us UK book spreeists

cellow, nowadays i only have time to read the posts

doggiebb, sorry i guess last time you've already told me where to buy those kitchen sets for pretend play. I think i'm really going to get one now. Do you have any recommendations? Or anyone here?

My #2 kept asking when can he get it after we returned the rented set. Is it cheaper to buy one or should i be renting for variety sake? I thot buy now at least next time my girl can play also. But takes up space hor? And will play until bored or not?

hannah

mine is Little tikes and i got it from aprisin. i think it was about $220 thereabouts. i heard it has since gone up to $240-250 now.

Another alternative is Step 2 which is sold in Toy r us. prices thereabout also. but the one i saw was only white and blue in colour and doesn't have the cooking sounds. so i chose little tikes instead.

i would think the kitchen set is a good investment. until now my girl would at least go cook at her kitchen once or twice a day. i reckon when her didi is older, both is going to fight to cook! kua kua kua!

rayna

I don't think i would be in the near future. bought altogether 3 sets which is about 30 new books. enough to last for a while I HOPE! i know SD wants to get some, if you are able to gather a few more pple, you could do the spree yourself hehe! but then again, i holler until very long then managed to gather dusty, cellow and PB to join me. hehe!

cellow

that is good strategy! who cares about skin thick or thin! wahahaha! shipped it to him and ask him to bring back! WAH! how cheap the books will be!!!!

Kitchen set
I have a tiny one last time due to space constraint. I would say the one at aprisin is quite good. I saw it last time I was there. Very nice. Oooh you can ask for discount. I bought the diaper bin plastic refill and always got discount. about 4 bucks cheaper than if buying at baby stores.

dun tempt me! I love buying books but no space to put them.

Phy
jx latches more when teething. Using me as pacifier I think

baby table and chair
now i m thinking abt reorganising my smallest bedroom into C's room. which bb table and chair to get? any opinions?

SD, can ask for more discount even when the price already discounted already? They have free delivery? Wow i dun know where is the place leh

Waiwai
Poppy goes to dr Edmund koh at the family clinic opposite tiong bahru plaza.

Rebelbabble: there’s a similar one! http://www.rockabyebabymusic.com/

LOL on cellow’s echo echo echo. We are going to get ikea’s mammut table and chair for poppy soon. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/categories/series/11779/ (SG website is under maintenance so please note this is the U.S website so in USD hor)

Hannah
If you’re not concerned about brand, I saw a kitchen play set at IMM going at only $30+! It’s a small shop kind of opposite bay street 21 (restaurant). BUT no frills, not like doggiebb’s, got sound all hehe

Poppy got runny nose! Argh! And we fly on Monday night! Argh! Poor baby. Hopefully she gets well by Monday if not, gulp, poor mummy!

JG Trial confirmed at 11am, 24 Aug (next monday!) at the Forum.

Mummies, do not forget to bring socks for both mummy and baby. Bring extra clothings (for both mummy and baby) as there will be activities (think playing with flour or something) as mini projects.... if you have an apron, that will be great..

phew! its been a busy week for me... non-stop working...

PB, wish poppy a good trip and be a good gal on the flight... enjoy your holidays...

cellow, ethan has an activity table and chair from Crayola (BD pressie).. bot from ToysRUs. Can use as a table, also can be flipped up as a board with magnetic, can be used for drawing, there is a clip for papers.. comes with magnetic ABC letterings etc... Ethan loves to sit on the chair and play... you can see his blog..

As you can see, I only read the last few posts as I am too tired to catch up on the rest... I am heading to bed now...

PWML
thought the mummies who will be flying might find this useful. a friend just flew on qantas to london with her 15 month old and she got that. it's called 'post weaning meal'. mashed carrot, mashed potato, mashed chicken, a rusk and bottled milk.

i haven't yet spoken to her to ask more about it though ie when to request etc. but thought some of you might find this info of help
for me it's a big phew. no need to feed her jar after jar. think she also don't like 'baby food' liao.

michelle (i cannot resist) - also non-stop working week for me! LOL

Hannah,
I will just thick skin and ask for discount. sometimes they will give. Not sure about big items like that. should have ba. I always bought those diaper bin refills. at first they charged me 15 now 14. but I bought like 6-7 rolls at one go.

I think 200+ got free delivery. They are in Tagore lane.

Cellow,
I bought this for my 1st girl: http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&amp;cPath=5_12&amp;products_id=579
I bought at 199 last time at Takashimaya. Very durable and light. Emma is using it now.

OMG this one so nice http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&amp;cPath=5_12&amp;products_id=135

Hannahl
I got my kitchen set from ELC recently.
If you have been looking around, I believe those little tikes kind more solid kitchen set is a good investment. U can always sell it off n if u noticed, toysrus do not carry those kitchen sets anymore.
Cos we have been thinking of buyin a kitchen set for the longest time see n see until toysrus dun have anymore n we gaveup.

Then we went to ELC n chance upon a 20% set cos the box was crushed so we bought it. No regrets cos my #1 n #2 play there everyday. N lucky I got the set where there are 2 sides, so far 1 will play at 1 side so I dun hear too much screaming......hehehe

This is the 1 I got.
http://www.elc.sg/html/s13_shopping/view_product.asp?id=3415&amp;nav_cat_id=55&amp;nav_top_id=&amp;dsb=7932

Oh yes the tagore lane 1 I think they are really stopping alot of the kitchen sets so if ur keen better go down quickly cos the last time I went, left a few designs only the rest no price tag n even their displays are being sold.

Oh yes before I forget n delay this again.
Since I am the free (not restricted) 1 u all choose when you want lunch k.

Lunch - diapers.com spree
------------------------------
1) Dor n D+E

Dor,
lunch - diapers.com spree... can be the week starting 31 aug 09 instead?
suggest 2 sep 09 wed, everyone else can anot

Hello mommies,

Kitchen set:
i saw at Ikea Alexandra but not sure if it's suitable for younger toddlers. maybe Hannal you can check it out. it's not too big.

JG Trial:
will there be a lot of physical activities? i'm afraid i can't cope esp the timing is ard my son's nap time. keeping my fingers crossed. i apologise in advance if my son cause any disturbance during the class.

Have a nice weekend mommies &amp; babies

Kitchen sets: hmm .. got a mini stove for bbG from ELC long ago but didn’t bring it out til now coz I thought it may be weird for a boy to play cooking? Maybe a bbq set would have been less girlie? Anyway he’s enjoying it now.. even know he’s gotto use the spatula to fry the egg in the frying pan LOL

Hope poppy gets rid of the sniffles before she flies.. all packed and ready to go? Must be looking forward to a nice change of environment and weather huh

thanks girls. poppy seems better. no more dopey face like yesterday. today she's back to being a fully charged up energizer bunny

lol on bbG frying eggs in frying pan!

Dor,
i like ur kitchen set that u had when i went ur home e other day it so nice ....wanted to buy but a bit ex my hubby say waste $$$$$$$$ ......... but my 3rd sil is kind enough to pass me her sons kitchen sets .......

presently kacey love playing cooking coz we had a mini mickey mouse set (a stove n some pots n pans) everyday she will cook cook than use the spoon to feed me n her daddy .......

saw a kitchen set with sound type at carrefour, smaller set at $69 plus. bigger set at $99 plus. Plus this weekend for POSB everyday card extra 10% discount.

Gain IQ at carrefour, going for $49.20 ONLY! with POSB everyday card, extra 10% discount! cheap cheap!

wah lau
i got no internet these days cos my hubby brought it overseas..
and i miss so many postings..

i can only reply PB
Go to Primark.. its the most decent departmental store around for kids...

Why must learnin cookin lei? i tot of buyin the haenim big blocks.. anyone has that???

Thks for the kitchen set recommendation. It seems ELC is a good place to look for the set.

Ok shall go to look around soon!

Oh dear, i don't have posb card!!

Kitchen set
I like the ELC wooden retro set but it is amazingly expensive

Cellow
Nice bumping into you this afternoon
We had a fun time there - esp S

Serene
Actually kitchen set can be an investment ma since you still want more kids.....hehe
N I think all kids will love to cook lor. I want a big set mostly cos can store everything there lah I dun want his cooking to be all over the place. Last time he will bring n cook everywhere he go....haha
My hubby also against buying a set last time but after D went JG for classes n he see hw his son love to play at the kitchen set every time, he also okie to buy liao.....haha

But but hor think there's a little kid in all of us who loves those kitchen.....hehe
The Ikea 1 is nice too I saw the other day....hehe

youpi
Yes yes the wooden ones so nice but but but totally out of my budget kind lor. Ikea wooden 1 is below $200 but slightly smaller.....hehe
But S already has a kitchen set right?

btw I am contemplating signing D up for 1 term of Little gym. So means only start at the new term. Meanwhile u wanna go gymboree trial for S right?? Let me know k maybe I bring D to join too cos he's still bugging me on the "I want to go class with my friends"....hehe

Cellow
I'm okie with anydate but we can do 2 lunches too I dun mind.....hehe

PB
Glad poppy is much better, then u can go chiong in London with a peace of mind too.....hehe

my C doesnt wanna sleep this morning at all... and banged his cheek on the floor, now blue black on the cheek.

haiyoooor just when i was all set for a good newspaper read and lie-in, having shooed HB out with the ILs.

youpi,
yep! i was surprised to c a familiar face! S def enjoyed himself but his parents? know L ws still snoozing when u left.