(2008/07) July 2008

holly,
wahhahaaaaa. smacking us to wake us up indeed.
C will stand up from the mattress on the floor and dadadamamama us awake. or he will crawl/cruise around our bed... and then fall down on the floor after some time. he doesnt cry, but i have been woken up a few x already by the (soft) sound of a head agst the parquet floor. every single time, i will bolt uprite on the bed and start to look for C on the floor. luckily he still hasnt master how to tuck his chin in and crawl under the bed.
so wats the plan for #2? tiger bb?

pb,
i feel SY's sleepiness.... 8pm to 7am is good only if they sleeeeeeeep allllll thro the niiiight. which both C and JX dun...
so fog-filled brains or even no-brain days are common.

sleep deprivation
before pregnancy, every single parent i know said you will get used to sleep deprivation. my foot ah! who gets used to sleep deprivation i would like to know.
but one wise mummy i know said, just keep moving. the lethargy is worse when you stop moving, and remain inactive.

girls, i have got sleep deprivation on my mind... how to make C sleep thro so that I can sleep thro? i have tried exhausting him in the day, and not put him down for 2 2-hr naps. but that means i get a cranky bb in the day - i tried ystday!

#2 eh.. haha.. should b a bunny baby. hopefully is a bunny gal. =P *send her to work in the casino!* LOL!!!!

bosco will smack us on our face while butting in between us. sometimes he will just roam ard the room on his own. tearing my room apart. throwing all the teddy on the flr. =P

pb,
i brought Bosco to WWW, Sunway Lagoon and all. actually is ok la. more over poppy can walk already right? let her go n play abit lo.

phyphy,
when when?

Hi steph! Long time no see. .congrats on baby no 2!

Star xin.. long time no see too..

Bb attached to maid: you know,.. bbG is rather fond of the maid too.. but I’m glad at least she bothers to play wiv him and tries to read to him, instead of juz carrying him like a robot..

like a Like-a-bike made in china! At a fraction of the original’s price!

Doggiebb in mel: wow..i really dunno if I can ever peel myself away from baby.. my ‘test’ will come soon in nov I think…

SY: we were at ECP over the weekend and saw many families building sandcastles =)

Yayy to bbXun’s butt clearing up hehe no more ang koo kueh

Holly: a bright a chirpy yellow family outing in family suit at the zoo eh? So cute.. we only went once so far.. and bbG was more interested in the other kids than the animals!

Bb waking up: now.. how do we get bb to sleep in and wake up later? bbG’s back to his 5plus 6am waking up pattern, no matter how still and silent I remain, n no matter how much I try to pat him back to sleep! @@

Holly
Yah when Bosco older he can help u liao then u more sinnang. Explain things to him also won't so qi gek....hehe
Like now sometimes I need to go toilet I can ask Damien to help me jargar Ember. Feed her bao or water n he will help entertain (with me shouting instruction from the toilet of cos) so at least not so siong for me.
But hor U must not forget the terrible 2s hor.....kekeke

cellow
hi 5...yes her 8+ to 7am has a lot of hiccups one. she really wakes up a lot. i almost do without sleep the whole night cos jh also will wake up.

er, me? i get used to sleep deprivation actually. even if they are sleeping i will wake up to check on them. that is what 3 years of practice has done to me.

phy
i was thinking of east coast also but then think hb not very keen. i think his vote goes to marina barrage but i heard it's really hot there

cellow
hi 5...yes her 8+ to 7am has a lot of hiccups one. she really wakes up a lot. i almost do without sleep the whole night cos jh also will wake up.

er, me? i get used to sleep deprivation actually. even if they are sleeping i will wake up to check on them. that is what 3 years of practice has done to me.

phy
i was thinking of east coast also but then think hb not very keen. i think his vote goes to marina barrage but i heard it's really hot there

Sy
Haha I think that is cos u are a mum lah not cos of practice.....hehe
Like me always sleep at abt 3am nowadays, if I fall asleep earlt with the kids cos too tired, I will still keep waking at 1am, 2am, 3am, 5am. N when hubby comes back I will wake n sometimes cannot fall asleep again.....hahaha

Cellow,
Aye aye, I agree to keep moving. I think the naps I take sometimes makes me even more sleepy. I wake up still feeling sleepy and I don't have time to do things like cook his dinner. And worse, I stay awake longer at night due to the nap and can't wake up early the next day. Doesn't help that Declan likes to wake up at 7plus in the morning.

do1nk,
Sleeping in must ask dor dor. I remember her Ember wake up quite late one.

dor dor, SY,
Oh my goodness, does that mean that having a #2 will equal to getting used to sleep deprivation?

Bbp
Ummmmmmm I dun think the number of kids will settle the equation of sleep deprivation. Its being a mom tat makes us so deprived of sleep cos even in sleep state, we r not really sleeping. Jus like hw hubbys always get their full sleep no matter hw many times we wake at night n ask us "Baby didn't wake at all hor?"

Yeah Ember sleeps abt 9+ pm n wakes at abt 11am. But she also wakes for latching a few times esp when I'm not sleeping with her. So I dun think she's really hungry, she jus wants me. Cos if I fall asleep with her she only wakes once or once or twice or not at all at night.

dordor,
"being a mom tat makes us so deprived of sleep cos even in sleep state, we r not really sleeping" - agree! that's why i can bolt uprite in my bed when i hear C kok his head on the floor, no matter how softly. macam like the vampire in chinese ghost movies (no i m not superstitious so i can joke abt it

holly,
you shd look at ystday's bb blues comic then in the sunday times!

bbp,
i hv the same qn in my mind, how to get used to sleep deprivation leh. have more children?!!!?

Michelle is L.o.s.t....i.n....p.o.s.t....

Congrats to Holly ready for #2! Jia You!

Naughty Smiggle Sia on Macy - I DID NOT CLICK THE LINK. PIAK!

FOX 50%
Bought more things! Hee hee..

Congrats to PB finally realising that Poppy sleeping through from 8-9 is the best any mummy could wish for! Of course we know you by now that you are not boasting lah
. Btw, Ethan takes 3 hour naps in the day and sleeps from 930pm to 7.30am. Hee hee hee...

Cellow, you want to sleep training book?

Clap Clap to SD making own mince pork

Wai Wai, best of luck for a quick quick delivery!

Congrats to Steph on #2! You are #2 in this thread after Wai Wai who is expecting #2!

SD, I got my myanmese maid from this agency intro by my goodfriend. I introduced 4 other friends to this agency and they all got good maids. ONly thing is the agent fee is high, and the maid are all experienced so the maid fee also high.

Star_xln welcome back! Where got baby dun like mummy one.. all babies loves mummy above everyone else, so you dun think negatively k?

Whoa, Holly, well coordinated clothes on a Zoo OUting! Nice! Bosco is walking really well now huh?

BBG ah BBG, dun fret. Ethan shake hand with BBG. He also cannot stand unsupported, and he walks like a robot when pushing the walker.. haha

ok, i think i kept up with post from THIS PAGE.

Update on Ethan:
He has learnt to drink from cup. He just did it after spilling a lot of water, but he managed to drink from cup loh.. so skip straw ah?

Ethan went to My Gym and he enjoyed every minute of it, so we signed him up for My Gym oredi! and its convenient, only opposite my MIL house, so each week can go for free play also.. happy happy..

Holly

wow nice family pics

Sy
mi went to marine barrage
actually quite fun there esp the night view very nice...nice for stroll lor...
maybe u wanna try jacob ballas children's garden
mi juz went nice place for family outing

cin bunny
when u going for GUG trial...i heard quite good comments...mi wanna try too..when u going..see can join u bo

emm...anywan know of any promo or disc for GUG

doggiebb, enjoy yourself in mel!! buy more toys while you are there, then you wont feel bad for leaving them! haha.. .i would have bawled! boo hoo!

deprive sleep
dun dare to say anything about this but maybe just to encourage you mummies to really start to sleep train your babies earlier.. the later the harder.. and babies must sleep well to grow better, right? its good for them loh.. hee.. ever since ethan sleeps alone in his own room.. he goes to bed at 930sharp, i.e. i go to bed at 10pm sharp. I will wake when he wakes.. so hor.. i sleep quite well le... dun bash me hor! but, I still have dark eye rings.. which works out well cos I always give my boss impression i very stressed at work, and not enough sleep.. muahahaha. Having read my past blog post on complaining ethan's bad sleeping habits before sleeping on his own.. whoa.. i also dunno how i tahan-ed it, but i did. 2am, 3am, 4am.. sometimes even have to rock and sing and walk all over the house.. glad those days are over! originally felt a sense of lost, but after a while, it feels great!

GUG, i went for trial oredi, in May. It is a bit long, but very interactive.. ethan enjoyed the Zoophonics.. but too young to participate in the mini project segment... I almost signed up a term, then decided to try out the JG first then compare and see which is better..

Am also thinking of signing ethan for the pats schoolhouse storytelling class at 15mths. but i am thinking where do i find the time to go with him on a weekday.... how how how...

michelle
i need help in putting tess to sleep on her own. wat was the title again ? i know u posted before but would u post again ?

Phy,
Let me know if wed is ok for you ..

Cellow,
We wanted to go to our favourite place for dinner at far east .. But have to wait 3 hrs so no choice.. During the dinner I told him tat I rather go and have my favourite frog leh...

michelle: is the JG trial still on for 24 aug? did we get the min 10 pax already?

the JWT trial on 13 aug like no biz leh.. if both r cancelled..maybe I'll go for the GUG one then! :D

ok.. combed thru archive to retrieve these:

JULIA GABRIEL TRIAL - Playnest
24 Aug 11am. we need a minimum of 10 babies.. Trial class costs $40.

1) Michelle and Ethan
2) do1nk & bbG
3) cellow and C
4) cin_bunny and sophie
5) bbp & Declan
6) youpi & L
7) dustee and pomfret (be prepared for sleepy diva's tantrums though)
8) Qing and Barbie
9) sy and jx
10) holly and Bosco

JWT TRIAL - UE Square - wobblers class
$19.50 (after 50% disc) for a class of 10
thurs 13 Aug 09 2:00pm-2:45pm

1) do1nk & bbG
2) bbp & Declan
3) michelle & ethan
4) youpi & L
5) dustee and pomfret
6) cellow and C

AQUADUCKs.
it will only be held on

4 August Tuesday 2:30pm
1)
5)
6)

- 11 August Tuesday 2:30pm
1) qing and barbie
2) chumint & hao ran
3) holly(mayb HB will take over instead) & Bosco
4) phyphy n tess
5) pinkbunny and poppy bunny
6)

- 18 August Tuesday 2:30pm
1) do1nk & bbG (tentative)
2) Youpi & L
5)
6)

mummies, if cannot make it please remove ur name.
ONLY 6 BABIES PER SESSION

More details will be emailed to confirmed inidivdual.

Ronnie and bb
dustee & pomfret
missysz and bbJ
doggie and thaddeus
michelle and G.I. Ethan
cinbunny and sophie bunny
chumint and hao ran

milk time is getting out of control for bbG who will drink for 5 sec, then push bottle away and start to climb all over my pillows on the bed, then I'll have to go after him, shove bottle into mouth again, either lying down or kneeling or standing.. cycle repeats again.. probably for another 50 times before we finally finish (or sometimes dun finish) the 180ml in 30-45mins! thought I'd be STRICT wiv him.. so held him down and didn't let him go and he cried so angrily.. after a few wrestling and crying sessions, he dozed off.. and only downed 90 out of the 180ml i made him..so my dog gets milk for supper again..haiz!

do1nk,
At least bbG dozed off after crying & wrestling. Declan cried for 2.5h last night (was trying to get him to sleep on his own) and he ended up more awake!

oh.. thought I was in a monologue for a while keke.. r u sleep training? wah.. how do you endure 2.5 hours of crying.. I can't even take 5 mins.. I'm so weak haha

Getting used to sleep deprivation...
Erm me too lor. Like Dor Dor and SY, after two children and almost four years, the body is 'trained' already. When #1 slept through by himself for the first time, I woke up many times to check that he was still breathing.

L sleeps from 7.30pm to 6.30am, with one or two wakings during the night. His two daytime naps are shorter, about 45 minutes to and hour each, less if he is woken by noisy brother.

Holly
You brought Bosco to Sunway Lagoon? How was it? Are there areas where babies can play? Where did you stay? How did you get there? Can share info please? 'Cos am thinking about whether or not to go.

AQUADUCKs.
it will only be held on

4 August Tuesday 2:30pm
1)
5)
6)

- 11 August Tuesday 2:30pm
1) qing and barbie
2) chumint & hao ran
3) holly(mayb HB will take over instead) & Bosco
4) phyphy n tess
5) pinkbunny and poppy bunny
6)

- 18 August Tuesday 2:30pm
1) do1nk & bbG (tentative)
5)
6)

mummies, if cannot make it please remove ur name.
ONLY 6 BABIES PER SESSION

More details will be emailed to confirmed inidivdual.

Ronnie and bb
dustee & pomfret
missysz and bbJ
doggie and thaddeus
michelle and G.I. Ethan
cinbunny and sophie bunny
chumint and hao ran

ethan jus went to bed without a single drop of milk. Threw the whole 180ml away. Sigh sigh sigh. Last wk he was drinking fine, this week back to problem. Normally when ethan not ready to drink, i leave the bottle with him in his playpen alone. Before i leave the room, I will tell him, here is your milk. Finish it and mummy will come back. After a while, i see him through the baby monitor he look around then guai guai reach for the milk. Sometimes he finish, sometimes he doesnt. When i think he finish drinking, then i go in to play with him. But before we play, i always ask him if he finished his milk, and he will quickly sit down put the milk back to his mouth pretend to drink. Lol. At nite, i also leave the bottle in his playpen when he ready he will drink or sleep. Like tonight he din drink at all loh. Sigh.

after a quick read thru de posts..i realised.. moi bb is so behind times..

he's nt been to any of the places except mummi's place, mil's place and lotsa shopping..n wat's GUG?? JWT? AQUADUCKS? i juz thot abt bringing him to tumble thots onli..haiz..seems like dis mummy here is nt doing much.. u noe..coming back here is so good, can get to learn n share so much things..can sm1 enlighten me??

n weightwise.. he's onli 8.4kg at 12.5 mths, onli can call mum-mum for food.. and can stand by using things for support.. but cun walk..

dor
YES! i was just chatting with a friend about the same thing (hubbies saying 'baby did not wake at night at all hor?). she says that when her husband wakes up with a nice stretch and goes 'wow! N slept through the night didn't he?', she just growls at him and says 'well my boobs tell me a different story so i guess tonight is your turn!' hahaha

cellow
lol on the vampire on bed thing! i totally agree. i seem to have dog ears since i've become a mother.

SDchick
i'm not sure if i already said it but you are very gut lat to make your own minced pork. tok tok tok for 5 mins? my arms will ache!!!

michelle
wow ethan is drinking straight from cup? good boy!

do1nk
i feel your pain. poppy made me so happy when she held her own bottle at 4 months but that only lasted about a week or so. i am still holding her bottle now :S there are times when i have to chase her around the bed with the bottle too. but i realise that once she pushes it away, it usually means she is done (same for food). sometimes she can have as little as 50ml of milk. i've realised that she is drinking less in the mornings now. could be that she is telling me she's ready to cut down on milk feeds. which brings me to the question of...

mummies, when do our babies stop drinking milk?

youpi,
we drove up to KL and stayed at Sunway Pyramid hotel which is linked to the shopping center. The hotel we got a standard room and it cost us SGD145. Quite comfy.

Sunway lagoon itself, i only went to their water park. (they have 5 theme parks. amusement park, water park, adverture park, wild life park and one more i dun remember.) the water park is pretty much like wild wild wet. nuthing much but Bosco always enjoy water play so it was good for him. will be quite relaxing la.. but the driving up quite hectic.

JULIA GABRIEL TRIAL - Playnest
24 Aug 11am.
Can someone tell me where exactly is it?

michelle,
ya, hubby comment that bosco is like a resident evil zombie now. walk with hands up balancing and den shaking left to right and screaming "HURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR" like tt lo.

ronnie
nice idea. maybe i shall go jacob ballas instead

michelle
what book is that? i need but cos i sleep with both kids it's hard to train jx.

dor dor
i agree. i m never fully asleep. even jx shifting will make me get up. like what cellow said, i bolt upright. jh actually told me to lie down when he saw me like that...

re GUG
i think it's not bad. i went when jh was 1 year old. jx not so lucky in a sense. din get to go for so many trials. btu she goes to more play gym sessions!

re update
i think jx can walk already. she will carry things and walk. think she feels more secure that way. or she will make me hold out my hand to hold her. just think of cixi dowager and u know what i mean.

she really loves to call papa. every time when she sees the father, she never fails to call papa loudly. no wonder my hb loves her lots...more than the bro i feel. and she keeps shaking her head no to everything. really funny.

SY
same same! poppy must hold/carry something! her favourite is a red plastic pail. haha on cixi.

holly
yes please take vid!

bbp
same. my niece is 5 and still drinking friso4 once a day. i wonder when milk intake becomes the snack instead of a real meal.

poppy sleeps with us on the bed and i often sit up in shock in the night worrying that i'd squashed her or she'd rolled off :S and of course, father and daughter sleeping away happily

bbp, pb,
i will try my best.. lol..

just had a very bad news. my fren who is 5 months plus preggy lost her baby gal. i felt so so bad to hear this from her hubby. my heart sank. her #1 was abt the same time as bosco so we were very close back then. and the couple was so happy to find out that #2 was a bb gal n so looking forward to her arrival which turns out to be tml, a day of sadness. feel so sad, so bad.. haiz.. everything is just fated.

SY, Cellow
Yeah me also will react the instant I hear the kids. But sometimes if I cannot move (cos Ember lying on my arm) I will kick hubby awake to settle #1 or make milk. N hubby will be super blur 1 lor like he is dunno in which dimension n needs time to 'come back'.
N I always wonder hw come I am forever in this time 1 leh. Dun have to think where I am 1, open eyes means awake liao.....sigh

Holly
Oh dear so sad. Hmmmm which means your friend preg very fast after giving birth aah??
Sigh we always will be more emotional after we become parents ourselves. Cos we can understand their grief.
Hope ur friend can get over it quickly.

JWT trial,i think still need to add a 7% GST

stAr_xIn
i personally think that moi bb is not lagging behind as my T also the same loh,cant stand w/o support. as for weight wise,i think she is also on the lighter side.

Growing Up Gifted - early learning centre offers dynamic preschool programmes for children

JWT - kids GYM

AQUADUCKS - teaching bb to swim

just a bit more info for u. actually u can go to their website to find out more.

is the swimming lesson still on ?

star_xin, my gal is also on the lighter side. my frens kids are all meatier than her though younger. guess as long as they eating well n happy is ok bah.

morning all

cin_bunny - oic.. hee.. i thot if u were still there, lil sophie wld also have spent a loooonnnnggg time there

for those of u staying near or dun mind gg to turf city area, i wld highly recommend kidsloft!! the teacher is great! her class is similar to GUG but her music n movement sesison is v solid n her story telling v animated!!! for GUG n JG, it depends on ur "luck" coz big organisation so qlty of teachers vary.. kidsloft is a one woman show so u are assured of quality.. hee.. she hasn't started taking in 2008 babies yet as her classes for bb start at 15mth.. hee.. my son is with her n intending to put caitlyn with her once she opens her 2008 class..
n good thing is free parking and cheaper rates! hee.. my son attended GUG for 1 term before switching to her n i dare say he likes her classes much more..

Michelle: you leave the bottle wiv ethan and he knows he’s supposed to reach for it and drink milk himself? So clever! Haha I still have to hold bbG in my arms and supervise or be sure that milk will be all over instead! Haha

Milk: have always thought it’s good for them to drink milk, so planning to give all the way, if I can..

Holly: how was the drive to KL? Did bosco sleep in the car or fuss a lot? Planning for a long drive early next year so must prep myself! Haha

Oh no… so sorry to hear abt ur friend losing her baby at 5mths.. what happened?

Kidzloft @ turf city: thanks for sharing, crystal.. Will mark my calendar to check them out when bb turns 15 months! Do they have trials too?

ronnie, garfield & cin_bunny: wanna go for the GUG trial together? it's the parent & babe 1.5hour session right? don't see a 1pm slot though..930-11, 1130-1, 2-330, 4-530 who's the more popular trainer too?

eh, any more for JG trial? can have more than 10 you know, no need to restrict to 10 you know (also to cater for ppl last minute cannot make it)... anyway, waiting for JG to call back to confirm teacher available, then I will ask for you to PM details.... the JG trial is at Forum.

bbG, ya ethan knows when to drink milk himself. He will reach for it, and then throw it away when he is done loh.. sometimes he does not want to drink, i will leave him alone until he drink a little, or when i think i am satisfied, then i will go in loh. This morning hor, so cute. I went in and asked him if he finished his milk. He quickly look for the bottle, and raise it high up for me to see and IT WAS STILL FULL! then he gave me his mischievious smile! We had to go MIL house liao, else I would have punished him! haha... but so cute loh.. so he definitely understands lah....

holly, sorry about your friend's lost. It is very heard broken to hear that. Tell you another related story, my best friend eventually managed to get pregnant after 10 long years. we got married at the same yr, but they started trying since then, she went through IVF and failed and then went for another cycle and she succeeded. she is in her 19.5wks this wk, and during her detailed scan last fri, DR told her that her baby has got low nose bridge. As I am typing now, she is waiting to do her Amnio test. I am sooooo sad for her... I hope you christian mummies can keep her in your prayers that her baby will not have Down Syndrome. She has waited for so long and eventually succeeded and in 20 wk liao! Pls dun let anything happen to her baby!!!!!

ytday brought Ethan to trim his hair, sides and back.. he cried until whole face red... damn pitiful. Now I am considering buying shaver and doing it myself. Dor ah, what say you? wat is a good brand??

LOL on JX and Poppy Cixi... empress in the making..

OOps, cannot remember the sleep training book liao... must go back and see.. let you know tonight, k?

bbG, yes we can go together but I will prefer afternoon slots as morn my son has lesson. r we goin to united square 1?

crystal, thxs for sharing. yr kids really go to many classes... r u the one whose kids go LNT as well? ok if got trial i be keen too.

btw, gals any one know if bbs do passport - their photos . must be white background? can they have a bow or clip on hair?? I making one for G

michelle, so sad yr fren case too. pray for her.

u buying shaver? be careful too... cos if they dislike cutting, they reallly dislike so have to be extra careful since they will keep moving...

I cut my gal ear once n it so painful

Hollly - Wow color coordinated family! Looks like you were having lots of fun! I should take Emma to the Zoo soon.
Feel so sorry to hear the news about your friend. Hope she'll be strong again. My cousin experience the same thing as well when she was in her 8th month. She was so devastated.

doggiebb - wah how long are you going to be in Melbourne? Must be missing your kids!

Jacelyn - Congrats! Finally the golden butt is all clear!

PB - You mean as in milk in general? My #1 is almost 9 now. She still drinks milk 2 times a day. she drank powdered milk - enfakid until she's 5 - about 1 feed per day, the other 2 feeds cow's milk.

Michelle - Hopefully everything will turn out okay for your friend. Will pray for her.

Ooh can PM me your maid agency number? Thanks.