(2008/07) July 2008

missysz
ME, opps not me.
BARBIE started.

i actually didnt throw away the old small scoop from nan3.
so sometime if i am going to make lesser for her. i just use back the small scoops.

sorry for RP lunch
i actually missed PB sms again.
ahaha..
and my 'pong' noodle...

michelle
barbie also wear those PJ with booties.
but outgrown too.
now, we buy those no booties two piece one.
she is ok with it.
sometimes when i wake up in the middle of the night, i will check with her legs are cold.
but ok lehz.

SY
27/28???
thats like no air con loh...

doggie
those u post still got 50% off ???/
and why u posting so so so many huh?
later i piak u ah...
sia me to buy.
and worse.
this sat got pay liao...
u hor....

hmmm... hmmm... how tall is C? now all of you are inspiring me to take up ruler to measure him, or rather measuring tape. he squirms a fair bit now. wants to run before he can walk!

oh oh. HB and I had a mean parent moment last evening. went out for dinner last night. as usual, C is VERY interested in our food, much more than his own porridge. HB gave him a piece of rocket (the veggie, not the ones we send into space) to eat. 1st time, he chomped on it and made a face, bitter mah. 2nd time, evil evil HB crushed the rocket between his fingers b4 feeding to C. he made a face and cried! but the strange thing is he din spit it out, cont munching while crying.... funny la, this boy
i wish i videoed that moment.

ahahah...
i will control myself and go down to GAp on sat only.
maybe by then no more nice nice one liao.

and doggie
i don see anything that i fancy in the website and i don know where is kidzloft. so don wan to know and don want to ask...

ahahaha...

Qing, i tell you.. once you enter GAP, you wont be able to control... doesn't matter which day you go down.. now... lets see whether Jace fell into the GAP trap anot... muahahaha

cin.......
are u sure???
i am already broke from all the online shopping loh...

michelle
i am pretty sure when i go down on sat, not much left liao...

Qing, I am pretty sure you go down on sat, you will still end up with a big hole in your pocket..

anybody wants to start placing bets??? muahahaha...

Michelle, errrm hmmm I AM SURE I WILL NOT SUCCUMB to the dark side ....

<font size="-2">dun think sooooooooo i can -_- ... playing with fingers</font>

cin bunny
ur diapers are at my place liao..

Qing
ya, how much are my GAP stuff??

Sianz.. pay day not here yet.. cant buy anythin..
must nicely ask hubby..
somemore gotta pay for kayden's school fees now..
pok gai liao..

so much siaing..
i resist i resist i resist...

Just a survey mummies,
if i open a massage parlour that allows u to not just massage but free tv, free food &amp; tea and allow to stay as long as u wan after the massage, would u pay for it or u would rather it be cheap without any service..

smiggle
don worry i will hang pighead really soon.
have already sent a few back first liao.
so next week u sure get ur pighead before the items...
*evil lol

smiggle,
usually i m pressed for time. so the ambience has to be very nice to entice me to stick around after the massage (i m thinking the likes of spa botanica in sentosa - that was shiok but super duper $$$$!)
i would rather the massage is cheap w/o free tv etc etc if the ambience not there. i got tv, food, lounge around place at home also wat....

Sm,
If I go with friends then it will be good to have a lounge area with food or some entertainment.. Or a common jacuzzi...
Last time when I travel very often to Vietnam and Thailand for work I will stay over the weekends as I have spa membership.. Nice to relax but bored if alone ..

Sorry girls. Measured again with hubby. 78cm, not 80 plus hehe. And no it’s not just cos I want to siam paying for mrt!

Doggiebb
Sure? Aww thanks! Okie the next time we meet, do a one for one exchange la! Really too small, can see so much of the diaper liao hehe

Qing
Anywhere you go, not just gap, anyone who go after you, sure not much left to buy one hhahahahaha.

Smiggle
Err that kind of massage parlor sounds like targetting 60 year old man looking for ‘that kind’ of service

Smiggle, I want the type that when I want cheap and good and fast, i can get, so i can rush back to baby. If i want longer with friends type, then also can. if I want to have babysit facilities, also good.. put the baby there at the play gym, mummy do massage. also can type. and all these at the price of like $75 per hour. Can bo? When you open liao, let me know loh.. Hee

doggiebb
let me go through thebookpeople tonight and send you a list (assuming you want to do the ordering, or if not i can order also. coz seems like vposteurope doesn't consolidate) i think i might be about 20-30pounds

thebookpeople.co.uk
shipping costs, i think you can estimate to be 60% of the book costs. i see from the normal BP threads, for eg, the usborne phonics readers with 12 books costs about $16-$20 to ship.

Re height:
I never bother to measure my boy liao. This one gone case. Don't want to go measure and stress myself.

Just read doggiebb's post on need to pay for bus and mrt if above 90cm... yay! my boy is short!

smiggle,
I second Michelle's babysit activities!

wah lau..
with babysit activities, u sure u all can enjoy ur massage meh??

I was thinkin likwe when u enter its a open concept full of massage sofa, each corner got tv on diff channel.. men and women all welcome.
once enter, staff serve change of shoes and tea. then sit down choose package, choose seats, then massage until sleep or watch tv, then finish masaage, eat some porridge and sandwich only la..
massage abt $45/hr..
but its not like spa..
and definitely not for all the old uncles..
imagine next yr world cup.. all the family can massage and watch at the same time.
Plus point is that openin hrs til 3am!
Massage is good cos they are well trained..

nearly chiong down to gap as I tot is 50% storewide.

anyway tomorrow is attending seminar in capital towers, so wanna chiong also cannot.

Dun seems to be able to find the little mr. and miss series in thebookpeople online. ???

SAHMs,
can i ask you... what do you do to stay sane? when you finally have a moment to yourselves? i'm just thinking.. this is the longest time in my entire work life that i have gone working non stop without a real break. and it's sooooo draining.

holidays? they don't count cos i'm still working. just in a different country. to put it in 'working world terms', it's like going on holiday but having to answer emails, solve problems, report to bosses and basically do everything but just not from home/office.

this is what happened that got me thinking: today we had dinner with friends and while i was feeding poppy and entertaining her cos she was really cranky from not enough sleep, hubby was enjoying his food and having proper conversations with friend. i would give him the snack container to subtly tell him to feed her while i eat (and never even kiap food for me!) but he would just take the container a put aside.

i'm tired, girls. not just physically. more mentally i think. those who get to wear nice clothes to work get to literally knock off when they punch out their cards. but when do SAHMs get time off? cos when my husband gets home, i'm still at work.

i absolutely love poppy. it's just that i think i sometimes transfer this frustration towards her unknowingly.

please tell me i am not alone with all this burning resentment.

the bookpeople
OK I want to tompang buy several books can? Dustee and doggiebb were talking about 20-20 pounds. What's that? You mean the weight? Will shipping be expensive?

PB,

Aye aye! When I have time to myself, I surf the net and read stuff. I don't even take naps during the day cos I know Declan will wake earlier than me and I will get all groggy from the insufficient naptime.

Holidays? Agree too. Used to be able to check out SG hotels for staycations. Now? With a kid in tow, what's the point?

The kiaping of food thingy made me go "yah me too!". A few weeks ago, hubby kiaped food for me while Declan was asleep in my arms. But... kiap one time only, then had to wait SUPER long time before he asked me if I wanted some more. Eh, even my brother-in-law and his GF asked me more often than him lor.

I seriously don't think SAHMs ever get time off. When you do need time off, tell bluebunny to take Poppy and you go do some shopping! Don't expect them to take the initiative to volunteer cos they won't. And you definitely need it more than me with all those household chores and cooking! I look at that recipe of yours and I think "How does she do it?"

Remember: No subtleties, no hints. They don't get it.

And you are not alone.

sigh. no subtleties, no hints definitely.

if i go out, still must prepare everything swee swee. must prepare her food, tell him what time to feed etc. but guess i can't have my cake and eat it too?

sometimes i feel like a maid. but then even maids get their full day off without having to worry about what happens at home. so, that makes me worse than maid?

i resent the fact that mothers have their lives turned upside down but fathers can go on living like.... <strike>themselves</strike> carefree children.

PB,
Agree with what BBP said. Don't ever give hints cuz they either pretend not to get it or they really don't get it. We have to be direct with men.. Just "order" him to do things. If we seldom complain doesn't mean we are ok with handling everything on our own.

Although I'm not a SAHM, I feel your frustrations. I myself cannot imagine staying with my baby the whole day by myself without help. I probably get cranky very easily. That's why I really admire SAHM.

You are definitely not alone.

okie ... men dun take hints.
Tell him straight off the face when u feel drained off.
I last time also just hint hint type and wait for him to take initiative till I buay tahan and "flare off" one day. U know what he say ... You should have tell me when you feel tried. If you dun tell me, how I know. FAINT!

Sometimes I also pity my maid when she have to handle 2 kids when I am working.

sdchick
oh the pounds is the "english pounds" their currency. coz doggiebb say maybe order total 100 english pounds worth , and we have about 50 pounds' worth so need another 50 pounds of order.

pb, bbp,
I should say I am really lucky to have my hubby supporting me in taking care of Bosco. but sometimes I do feel this kinda frustration as well. Like I said before, when hubby knocks off, i knocks off too. but sometimes he will just ignore everything include Bosco crying. He loves to watch TV and always stuck on the sofa without leaving it till late night. N whenever I had to do something n ask him to look after Bosco, he literally LOOK after. If Bosco cry, he dun bother and continue watching tv. well well, but i can't say he is totally bad. Like wat the rest of the gymboree mummies saw today, hubby feed Bosco when I had my meal and chat with the mummies. I do appreciate that. So maybe just look abit on thr bright side. At least u still can prepare everything swee swee n go shopping.. I dun.. coz I very scare hubby can't gao dim Bosco.

no subtleties, no hints. I totally agree with this. Men are dumb. they can't understand. tell them straight in their face, let the fact smack right true n they will eventually get it over time. =P

dustee
Yah but I not sure if its 4 in 1 that is free cos they only tell me individual jabs is free. I jus choose 5 in 1 cos already decided ma....hehe
Not all polyclinics must queue long lah at least not at AMK. Cos bbs r pirority so if got appt i reach scan the health booklet then go up n wait the next num that jumps will most prob be mine already. There was once I was too late for my appt so gotta queue n I only took 30mins max to leave the place. Fast n cheap.......hehee
N I feel the nurses there got more experiance giving bb jabs then pds cos that is what they do the whole day only ma.....hehe

do1nk
Wonder what is it with hubbies that always need reminding of FACTS.
I also always ask hubby WHY I must ask him to do things for HIS OWN KIDS. Why cannot auto 1??

Chumint
Yah hep B gotta pay but $15 only ma.
By right the 1st time u go for hep B the nurse will ask u which u want n tell u which is free n which is not.

Jacelyn
Not really all inlaws should know. Cos my fil has been asking me since dunno when if can give Ember vitagen. These are also ppl who feeds my 2 yr old their adult vits.

youpi
I think have to go many times n maybe more then 1 jab a time too sometimes.
What's that like-a-bike?? Something like a balance bike?? Was looking for that but gaveup n bought a normal bike with balance wheels.

bbp
Me Me!! Stress too cos I dun even know our solar system..... hahaha

PB
Ember too she will lift her legs high high when I cover her with blanket.

Boys peeing in toilet
I heard that too PB BUT I doubt my D is able to aim at all. Now he pees by himself but I catch him moving n jus looking n touching things even when he is peeing halfway. *faint*
Jus lucky that my toilet still doesn't smell YET.

SAHM
To be fair to my hubby, he knows its hard work taking care of the kids at home n its not an easy job. He will try to let me eat in peace while he feeds the kids(ofcos he wont do a good job n I will endup having to feed still but must give points for making the effort la) or let me eat 1st(but I really dun like eating alone). He doesn't go out with his own friends or have his own me time. Doesn't buy things for himself but willing to let me buy things I want n do sprees online to what he calls my hobby n 'destress'. Doesn't kajiao me when I online at night cos he says its my ME time.

N to me, my mentality is that the kids are mine (like when I always nag tat the kids are HIS too) n so taking care of them is never a chore(except when they get really unresonable n noisy). Everything I do is for my kids not for my hubby. When my patience is really really tested(like when D starts crying for nothing n won't stop recently) I would call hubby n jus rant n rant to him n he would be able to know what I am facing when he hears the background. (I normally feel much better after the phone call n be refreshed to handle the situation from another angle)

Plus it is my own decision to stay at home n take care of them(which he supports n agree) so I am very open to the idea of doing everything n taking care of my own kids myself.

I jus wish my hubby would take more initiative in helping with the kids n not be so char tao. But nobody is perfect n if he isn't the way he is, I won't be the way I am too n I'm definately not perfect.

SAHM
today serene said something very wise, something about "all husbands are good husbands, just whether they want to help or not" (eh serene you better come and help me rephrase this properly)

pb, change the way you look at things and the things you look at change. and you're not alone! now every weekend i force him to bring her out grocery shopping by himself. so i get about 2 hrs' peace and quiet at home by MYSELF. (but then pomfret just starts to think cold storage is her second home)

and ...hmm, just wondering though, would you prefer he's at home with you, while you work, or you work alone? coz my hb has been coming home 10pm the past few months, and i would rather he was home and watching teevee (and at least within reach to hear me screeching for him) then to not be at home completely.

and btw i'm still struggling about being a SAHM. coz my hb made the decision, not me. he practically asked me about it every night while i was pregnant until i said yes. but i *really* do miss working life. (sorry working mummies who wished they were sahm) so at times when i get really frustrated i can feel it at the tip of my tongue "you're the one who forced me to do this!"

desperately trying to find an exercise alternative. i can feel my heart screaming out for rescue what with my lousy food choices and the lack of cardio exercise now. how how how.

smiggle
you should open an exercise studio with babysitting services lah. "lose the fats but the baby won't be lost"

dustee,
I TOTALLY AGREE! Its been so long i last done some real exercise. I miss my pilates but have to tk care of Bosco.. no choice..

dustee
Good leh anything u can jus blame ur hubby ma....got excuse.....hehehe
I same as u prefer he's home. Even if he keeps falling asleep at least I can kick n push him awake. Rather then like now........jus called.......he said he's driving in liao. Now still not home yet.
I miss working life only on the interaction with colleagues part. Cos once after hrs we would get REALLY loud n wild letting our hair down destressing in the branch......hehehe
Other then that the KPI n everything.....neh.....my kids dun measure me anyway. I'm the BEST there is in their eyes.....

Dustee
Go to the mummy n baby yoga class. They have it at tanglin mall. If not for Damien I would have signed up with them, cos I definately can't bring 2 kids into class right.

dor
but mummy and baby yoga class, 1 yr old can? then i wonder, what if during the class she cry, sleepy, fussy, then how?!

wah i remember we talked about joining the mummy and baby class damn long ago. serene also said. then we never!

serene,
your sttmt v wise.

simmering resentment towards HB
PB,
you got that absolutely right! tis that they get to live like carefree children, whereas we become the coolie or maid.

Smtimes... I get the feeling too. Even though I m not SAHM. For me, tis easier on me to tell him 'do this, do that, take C out so that I get a break!' then to explode later and pick up the pieces. I take care of myself so that I can tk care of the family. I tend to conc more on C, his care, his feedg, his devmpt as I know I have the eye to know wat needs to be done, plus the heart to do it. As for HB... I believe his heart is there one, but. The bachew like kena ta stamp (or even the entire envelope!!).
However tis ok. Bcz I dun have the eye for wat needs to be done around the hse, like electrical stuff, tying computer cables tog etc etc. All these, I simply cannot see... (if HBs had a forum, that's where he would be venting abt me, hehe) So. We just have the eye for different things.

Vent it here, or tell him direct, or distract myself (any form of ME time will do). I ooooohm and tell myself he loves me and loves C v much, differt ways of showing it, that's all.

Long windedness again.

morning mommies

last night, I measured hao ran's height when he was asleep. He's roughly 78cm. Still a while before he gotta pay for ezlink.. hehe..

PB
Even though I'm not SAHM, I feel I need time away from hao ran too. Sometimes I will just leave him overnight with my mom and go shop shop or a midnight movie. If not, I will just tell hubby I'm tired and want to rest. Then he will take over. But I feel that I can't really relax with hubby looking after hao ran. He can totally forget about feeding him.. He just practically look at him (O.O)...

SAHM I am still full of admiration for u all! I definitely cannot do it. And yeah even for the short little time i take care of bbx (like 2-3 hrs a day) i already feel the fustration...
last night i was really tired so asked hubby to take care of bbx prepare her to sleep. ok he changed diapers and put her into PJ, but i had to instruct him to prepare the diaper, diaper cream and wet wipes. And i had to go and prepare the milk bring it in. And he only managed to feed half! i had to step in and feed the other half. ok fine.

then bbx was whining .. dunno why ... and i just ignored. put my pillow on my ear and close my eyes. she just kept whining ... after half an hr, bo bian, got up and i just took 5 mins to make her sleep!

i dunno to be glad or not. that bb likes me .. but i seriously want bb to like hubby too so that it will not always be me me me. I just feel that hubby is not trying his best. he says so but i dun feel it.

before having a kid, hubby is definitely a great husband. now, i think the husband part is still ok. but the being a father part just sucks.

why are man like that?? i just dun get it.

bluey
thats wat my hd told me also, tell me wat u wan me to do and i will do. so sian right ,cant they be more auto.

re mummy and baby class
i think i saw somewhere that they only accept baby that cant crawl/walk

simmering resentment

i think there is no one here who does not feel this way and i think its all expectations. In the beginning, i was EXPECTING my hubs to be LIKE me and i got so angry when he couldn't be a bit more proactive, a bit more hands on, a bit more concerned. Then i decided i SHAN'T depend on him anymore, whatever my helper and I can do, WE will do and I got so much happier. and every little thing he does now is like a bonus. To be fair to my hubs, he has bathed the children before, brought talia out alone before, read and play with them every night, help to put them to sleep when needed, feed talia when my helper is on off day etc. So when i don't expect help and it comes, that took care of my simmering resentment.

the book people

think dusty and I would have 50-60 pounds already. bluey, i didn't see the little men series in the webbie though. SD, you want to order? there are good books for ashley too.