(2008/07) July 2008

anyone has the Little SkoolHouse Program to share???
They are havin open house in Aug. But im planning to enrol Kayden at Artz Kids. Wanna make a comparison before i register.

wah... smiggle is definitely ahead of us when it comes to pre-school planning hor! no idea about little skoolhouse leh... NTUC one is it? my friend has two kids in little skoolhouse in Sengkang.. she has great reviews on it. you want me to get the program from her? is that what you want?

qing,
smile at them, and then say to Barbie, oh poor thing little baby, you were with them the whole day lor, wat did they feed you to make you lao sai. Mummy heartache leh.
Attack is the best form of defense!
Think their heart pain can be bigger than yours meh. Nothg good to say, dun anyhow anyhow blame mummy Qing hor. I HHHHHHMMMMMPH at them on your behalf!

Forever waiting for my lunch partner(s). Today gotta wait till 1pm nia. Different pple each day.
I m hungry again, think shall eat a cereal bar 1st.

qing! wah.. cellow always got brilliant sun zi attack strategies one.. mine is also similar.. but i go by the pretend to blame myself approach. i will go like this.. aiyo ethan..constipation ah.. so poor thing... is it mummy never give you fruits? mummy never let you drink enough water?!? you lah.. always throw bottle away, next time mummy spoon feed you water you must drink ok?... and then look at someone whom I think is responsible and then tell him/her, maybe we should feed him more water hor.... of course, all other ppl knows i am blaming everyone else but Mummy. hahaha

my lunch today is yummy.. every day is catered lunch.. but today got long beans and yam chicken and ngor hiang.. yum yum... cellow... still waiting for lunch?? hahaha...

aiyo.. this morning while driving i suddenly got craving for CRABS! Crab bee hoon... chilli crab.. black pepper crab.. last time preggy i also every day think of crab crab crab... gosh, I am walking sideways now...

Going to ngiam a bit here.

Last evening, Declan had steamed pomfret for dinner. He likes it except that he can't seem to swallow it cos I think it's flaky or something? So I ended up doing a one-spoon porridge one-spoon fish thingy. But before that, I was scooping the fish for him, and my MIL kept HOVERING behind me, telling me to scoop the back so don't have bones, don't scoop so near the spine, etc etc.
#1 - My dad loves to fish
#2 - My family hasn't had to buy fish from the market for a very long time
#3 - I am TEOCHEW!
#4 - I am the one who taught her son aka my hubby which parts of the fish to take to get the non-bony parts(He used to just blindly scoop)
I was THIS close to snapping "No need to teach me, go teach your son first if you need to teach someone how to scoop fish"

Then after that, I overheard from the 2nd floor hubby and MIL asking each other if they have already invited the relatives over for Declan's birthday dinner. It went back and forth with the "I didn't ask, I thought you asking?" kinda nonsense. Finally I couldn't take it, I went "Nobody want to call, then don't call la!" Don't know if they heard from the first floor, but honestly don't care liao. I mean, I'm the one that didn't want a party in the first place, yet I HAVE ALREADY SETTLED MY SIDE!

Oops, ngiam a bit become ngiam alot.

Yes yes, I know I need to chill... breathing in and out real deeply now.

Yeeew, bbP, sounds like Dustee's "poking-her-nose-to-geh-kiang-in-everything" MIL story! breathe, breathe! i think you should have keep talking to Declan at that time to distract yourself from her.. i mean.. ok mummy scooping fish from here... no bones you see.. yummy.. open mouth... keep on saying and repeating until she stops the hovering! hahaha

Michelle
CRAB, on my...
i want too...
u hor, make me crave loh...

and i think i can try ur attack.
cellow one, i don dare lehz.

cellow
yesterday arounf lunchtime i was somewhere nearby ur office.

jacelyn
mai gan jiong, what i mean by soon is not like now la. like by tml.

bbp cool cool. But its ok! Just ngiam here!! hee hee

U know what, i reckon Mummy got lousy sense of fashin = BABY DUN HAVE NICE CLOTHES TO WEAR!

I am looking at the gap website and i go, ok this does not look like what i like blah blah blah... but i know if i dare to try might just turn out nice... so i just end up buying things that look normal ... so dun laff at bb x when u see her wearing all almost the same stuff!!

Party,
Hubby say i am getting myself too stressed up. Haha I dun agree. Coz i just wan a perfect party.

Cake - check .. but seriously i dunno how it will turn out ... :p
Food - check .. but we haven quite decided whether to add the no of pax. Ladies any idea? We are having 40 guests but ordered neo garden 30 pax. Additional food that we bought: 50 satay, nachos, 1 2.5kg jelly (gg to order), 8" cake as dessert (from a friend) and 1 2.5KG main cake. Thinking whether to separately order some mee siam ...
Balloons - finally settled!!
birthday suit - a simple one with minnie mouse in front. haha weird right? Coz we having pooh theme but bb xun wearing minnie. COZ I WANNA PINK (WHATS NEW?!)
Did i miss out anything??!

*P.S my mum found my IB TOKEN! Its under bb xun's mattress... duh

qing: how's barbie now? still LS-ing today? poor thing.. she so cute.. share drinks wiv you

zoo membership: not very worth it now, unless we go more than 4 times per year right? coz it covers 2 adults and a car, and kids 4 and above but our bb's are onli one so it's FOC for them?

biased mummies on food: LOL on PB and pig liver.. did I mention I hate peas of all sorts.. tried cooking sweet peas for bbG and felt like puking myself!

toothpaste: u all started on bb's? I've not.. but my sis told me she wanna switch to earth's best coz first teeth causes stains or something like dat? wat other brands are there? kodomo? bbG using his kodomo toothbrush now from poppy! :D I'm sure pomfret is too! :p

michelle: wah your job comes wiv yummy lunch? or r u on a special proj now? if u love crab.. have you tried the famous crab beehoon at AMK blk 232? Don Pie has a similar one too!

bbp: you are teochew? have a kitkat! kekeke

but side track: i usually chop up the fish into small thin slices before dumping into porridge to cook.. and i still found a bone in bbG's and it gave me a shock coz it was a blob that missed his mouth! it could have gone in!!

jacelyn: each time i browse.. i end up wiv barely anything to buy for bbG but LOTS for my niece.. I help u pick wan or not? kekeke

did you plan for your wedding too and got all worked up?

bbG, hee hee help me choose! I suck at it.. Sent the list to qing liaoz ... let me know if u all see nice stuff!! errm and as usual, i am buying larger size (18 - 24 M) dustee dun laff. (I remember dustee's first sentence when she saw bb xun was : baby baby, what did your mummy let you wear? so big ... kekekekeke pai seh)

errrm planned for wedding? I did leh.. and i think my wedding was perfect *blush* and i also planned for my house reno .. also perfect *blush blush* hee hee ... but i dun remember being so niew abt stuff then ... this time round dunno why I just keep checking and checking again ... just so that i will get a perfect first birthday celebration ... feel so dumb leh.. think my hubby cannot stand me liaoz ... hee hee hee

errrm whats the link between bbp being a teochew and having a kitkat?? Or is it just a line to tell her to take a break?

bbG
i am not sure today she ok or not lehz.
i actually neve rcall home to check on barbie before lehz. later they say i don trust them keep calling back.

jacelyn
i am pro at it.
hahaha. you will sure end up buying a lot loh
18-24M mmm... actually they are big for barbie.
she is now somewhere in 6-12 to 12-18 clothing.
recevied ur list liao

finally i got to eat. yummy yummy mee soto.

qing,
oh but ystday i was working at home, not in offc. you use michelle's way better, more diplomatic, i gotta learn too

bbp,
your ngiam is not a lot la.
put Declan in high chair to feed nx time. i learnt never to let mum or MIL be the chair, they got a lot of comments re feeding. so much so that i wanna say, nah, you feed, i be the chair (but of course i say in a nicer way, like... C is squirming so much hor, I hold him easier la, nah ma, you take the bowl ok)

jacelyn,
u funny la. i also anyhow buy stuff for C, but luckily he is a boy, so dun need much fashion sense to buy stuff for him.
tell HB to just let u be lor, and bo chap you for a bit.

do1nk,
kodomo got toothbrush meh

do1nk,
Yup, I'm Teochew and proud to be one! Although my Teochew is half past six only.

Jacelyn,
Haha, I think they are 2 separate lines. Being Teochew and having a kit kat. Haha!

Cellow,
No lor, MIL was not being the chair. She was just carrying Declan while I prepare the meal. Cos I scoop all the fish in the bowl already then sit down and feed him in the high chair mah. But even that, she must hold him and hover around me. Seh! Ok, I calm liao. Jacelyn's question about Teochew and Kit Kat made me grin. Haha!

Qing as u know, miss bb xun is on the british size chart ... not so much asian ... and i think thats why 18-24M will fit her ... i am trying to get those tops that can be dresses for now and dresses that can be tops later :p hee hee hee

Let me know if u think i can add somemore to my list!

Yah Michelle, I have been wondering how come u are on training everyday? How come so good got catering everyday too?

Driving ... you all know, i very ga you one. Got a driving license but never drive after that ... now hubby is pressing me to relearn it...

bbp haha good it brings a grin! smile smile and deep breath!!

my mil is very traditional. Bb xun got some rashes at the back then she say must go medical hall buy the yellow container bb powder.. but I got GAIA powder liaoz ... anyway she bought it and i brought it back to my mum's place ... my mum very funny she say: oh this is old time use one. Now we use the organic one very good. kee kee kee so that yellow container is sitting my mum place untouched :p ... glad my mum is open to new ideas.

And my mum always think that internet has everything! When there is something she dunno, she will ask us to go online to check it out.. coz she dunno english and dunno how to use the computer. But thats my mum la! haha

One thing for sure: I think I am more tolerant towards my mum.. she do something i dun quite agree, i will tell her but wun be angry or pissed. But I canot say the same for my MIL. Got to admit that i am bias...

jacelyn,
actually hor,
most of barbie 'tops' are 'dress' now, got a bit short la. but i mix with a sexy ruffle underwear thingy. so look cuter.

Wow! Ur babies have exciting menus! Mine is still same old boring chicken, pork and fish porridge. No wonder wuffy has not interest in my food. :p

Crab Bee HOON! Michelle...dun get my drool to start! AMK - Melban --yum yum!! I think it is the same place as wat bbG mentioned!

Zoo! I should be able to make it! I got the membership! And I have already been there more than 5 times... so membership is all paid for! haha! will ask hubby later if he is free on 1 Aug, cos i remember he got reservist some time in Aug.

Michelle
are they using the same programs across LSH?
if yes, pls help me get..thanks..
my only complaint abt artz kids is i don like their food..

bbp
hardly see u ngiam so much wor..

jacelyn,
MILs are not our mums, havent lived tog as long. so less time spent = less time to understand where they are coming from mah. slowly slowly la. i tell HB that he better make me happy so that i dun quarrel w his mum, and therefore make his life miserable... so far, he has done so.

ya lor, the way do1nk say until only teochews can eat kitkats! no fair. i am not teochew but i also like kitkat.

alamak, now i m hungry all over again.

michelle
in my old company i was also part of the green team (called GANG GREEN haha) then kept picking on hubby's brain for ideas hehe

missy
i just chin chye mash with masher
she's ok with lumpy stuff. hope you enjoy the recipes! hubby and i often eat the pasta together with her but we add ham for ours.

smiggle
you confirm enrolling kayden in art house liao ah? thats the one at tiong bahru cc right? when? then your helper how? home alone?

lol on michelle walking sideways! ethans PINCER GRIP must be very good! i also preggie time kept thinking of crab. yum. you can go to the joo chiat famous one!

chill bbp, chill..... huuuuuu xiiiiiiiii
wow pomfret! good idea. i will also let poppy try the next time i cook it! but... i like to cook it with lots of mua yew and hua diao jiu. i don't think she would take to that well haha. how did you cook it for declan? just steam?

jacelyn
wow i think you will have LOTS of food! slurp. btw can you PM me your address please? not for your party la. poppy want to send xun thank-you note

oh my gosh... i just saw someone write MELBEN...... can we go together some day? then throw the kids in some corner somewhere while we biggie yeow kwees eat?????

poppy is now like holding conversations with me from time to time. she just pointed at the comp and nodded her head and said something to me. like 'ah. you. type type type, never come and play with me. you watch out.'

PB,
I can just see the cartoon bubble with "ah. you. type type type, never come and play with me. you watch out." above poppy's head - LOL

PB u think the food is enough? We were stil thinking of increasing to 35 pax! coz we scared too little wait people not enough to eat. But coz we ordered the more expensive menu, 17.99 will cost quite alot to just add another 5 pax. Might as well use that money to buy other variety!

does anyone know where to take old fashion black and white photos? those old photo studios that used to take babies sitting on the round rattan chair with the cake beside? and adults who always gave 'profile' looks? looking at the side, not the camera kind?

Melban
think they got overrated and very expensive..
i normally go to chong pang market where there is this coffee shop served milk powder crabs... their crabs are cheap too. black pepper also nice.
Yummy...

PB
i have to decide by end of this month cos of their promo on registration fee. Its $500 without discount lor..
but i only let kayden start school after CNY.
also like LSH and they will have promo on their open house too, but its in Aug...

Food
Ermm. kayden hasnt eat any food with seasonin yet.. his food are quite bland or with Marmite. I also use cheese in his rice/potatoes.

what is this MELBEN???

poppy
is so cute. she even point.
that reminds me that nowadays barbie also like to talk alot loh.
she can sit there and lelelalababa non stop.
she will also point out to some direction like telling us i want to go there.
especially when we are shopping.

jacelyn
u got the neo garden discount,
if u need can pm me.

gap i think they have, let me see see for u. i pm u later.
boss in office got to be careful...

PB
i think studio should be able to do it if you request ba.
but must have the old fashion chairs hor...
hmmmm... i don know... heehee....

Qing thanks!!! Help me see if gap got!!

Neo garden, me managed to book the food 1 month in advance so got 20%. Member got additional discount? Luckily got discount ah. Then got more budget for other things :p Thanks for offering!!!

MELLBEN!!! Wooo hoo!! There is a "Melben" here in Joo Chiat... they serve crab bee hoon... let me call home and see if I can jia liao! aiyo... I am seeing crab the whole afternoon!!!

bbP, wah, MIL carrying declan, lagi best! face tilted like talking to Declan but actually it is POINTED at her... best! can raise and dramatise your voice some more... Open your mouth... eat the fish.. yum yum, see NO BONES? one more time.. open your mouth... eat the fish... yum yum... see still NO BONES??? yummy yummy? mummy so kilat right? one more time... eat the fish, yum yum, see NO BONES??? how, got the message? I am sure she will immediately shut her mouth! hahahaha.. .I am evil...

qing
yeah i think any studio would be able to do it but they will charge me an arm and a leg to recreate the scene. i'd rather just go to the really old kinds. know where got? ;)

michelle
joo chiat one is called melben too? wow! i know joochiat got one black pepper one that is very famous but don't remember what it's called. i ta pao-ed once ok nia. maybe must eat there then will be nice.

bbp
with ginger and dried mushrooms. great! thanks! mushrooms must soak first yes?

qing come here, give me your hand.....

PIAK!!!

PB, there is a new coffeeshop they call themself melben, their food is quite good. Somemore I can call to order then when ready just drive over to pick up, dun even need to find parking. The other famous one is it the still road one? 4pm long queue sold out one? never tried that one before.. cos never got to queue.. haha

I AM HAVING CRAB BEE HOON AND CHILLI CRAB FOR DINNER TOMORROW!! HAHAHAHAHA

My MIL is great in satisfying our cravings! hee hee...

oh ya, i am on 3 weeks course with catered food and tea breaks everyday.. first week the food sucks.. today better... dunno how much longer I can stand the catered food... can;t wait for course to be over!

I will be on leave in 10 Aug week. Are you mummies still keen on the JG trial in that week?

thurs, 13 Aug, can?? pls respond. thanks.

bbP, haha, just read that your MIL was hovering behind you WHILE you prepare the food... oh, then I tell you what... when she does that again next time, you should purposely turn around, then "eh, declan, you are here?!? want to see what mummie is doing? see here... FISH! you see... you must do this, then do that... then no bones, *if she is still around*, then you say.. get it, declan? THEN REPEAT! basically just keep talking to air so she has no chance to intercept with her irritating instructions.

I think you get the tactics.. hee hee.. evil again..

eh, PB, why eating crab = good pincer grip? ya, ethan has got quite good pincer... he can even pick up a ball from inside a hole which i cant even do it... i think maybe he has small fingers (and sticky too!) helps... but generally, he self feeds himself with pincer very well now... never drop one.. hee hee..

eh, class is over and I am stuck here cos of RAIN!! HEEEEELLLLPPPP.....

e square

i drive over later tonight? you home? will sms you.

black pepper crab at still rd

that one is to die for. not sold out by 4 lah but queue starts at 5 plus and by 8 all sold out liao.