(2008/07) July 2008

Ladies I am actually a bit disturbed (and was slightly depressed just now) Did a bloodtest and doc tested that I have hyperthyroidism.. Now on medication. Anyone got a better idea of this? Seems that it may take a look time (like 1 -2 yrs) and there might be negative effect on the bb if i get preggie. So guess no bb for the next 1-2 yrs liaoz lo

dustee: I used Japanese rice for porridge, and blender the rice a little and soak in water before cooking. when cooked, it's very smooth. I cook the porridge with chicken stock (made from kampong chicken, celery, carrots, onion, corn). The porridge will be very sweet, normally babies will like them. I'm using pressure cooker, so it's fast.

Jacelyn: Here's some info you might find useful: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/hyperthyroidism/DS00344
At least after reading, you can ask for more info from your doc next time you visit him.

oh dear jacelyn! pat pat.

BUT it is a blessing that you didn't get it earlier while having bb xun! (try to look at it this way so feel a bit more positive!)

my good friend with hyper was on medication for about 8 years. the condition is controlled with medication (which needs to be adjusted according to how your body reacted) so what happened was, during the sars period, her doctors kept changing (coz ttsh was out of bounds, etc) so she got inconsistent medication and that threw her condition awry.

so you need to find a good doctor! (don't end up in those govt ones where you get a diff dr each time you see them)

Youpi,
I rented the party package from rent-that-toy. actually own by my cousin in law..

Kimchi:

Just made some just now.. got to wait for 2 day then can eat already.. will make 1 more batch when you gals come over.

CS,
you very bad leh.. now you make me want to buy.. have been tempting to buy the pot. but the tiger one is good can use as the same function but only one problem washing not so easy..

I intend to buy a small pot.. can help me see where got offer..

JWT trial
Interested parties (Preferred Location)
1. phyphy
2. bbg (UE Square)
3. sy
4. youpi
5. bbp (UE Square)
6. Ethan
7. Kacey
8. sophie
9. pomfret
10. bb xun (US Square) -> wah.. wanna go US? keke
11. barbie (UE Square)

diaper purse and tote bag? what brand? :D i bought a katespade little thing to make it a diaper pouch n it turned out so big!

looking pregnant: a colleague said she knew from the start.. by looking at my expanding butt SHEESH!!

wah... baby hands holding treasure: i smacked his little palms a few times liao leh.. okok baby bum here comes the smacks!

wow we have never brought him to the zoo yet (though we are neighbours to the animals!), but plan to do so soon..

could consider SSC's splashpark too..FOC!

lip balm: blistex has some repair one which is good

Rena
I wanted to buy one but its just too big cos whenever I attempt to cook Dani porridge, I always only grab a handful of rice grains. So Im wondering how to cook like that!

Next Isetan private sale lets go together lah. Ask the girls along too.. hee hee..

Thanks SDchick for the info!

Dustee thats what my hubby said too. Errm but I told him, maybe its because I had bb xun thats why. Its a cycle.

And no wonder I wqs losing weight. I tot its my gym that worked so well!! Thats the only good thing abt this!!

BBG, hee typo la!

JWT trial
1. phyphy
2. bbg (UE Square)
3. sy
4. youpi
5. bbp (UE Square)
6. Ethan
7. Kacey
8. sophie
9. pomfret
10. bb xun (UE Square)
11. barbie (UE Square)

oh what is this JWT trial? am totally clueless!

jacelyn

*pat pat* i was tested for hyper too when i was preggie because i complained about palpitations but turned out it wasn't the case. guess it was just caused by the pregnancy. what made you go ahead and tested for it?

JWT trial
1. phyphy
2. bbg (UE Square)
3. sy
4. youpi
5. bbp (UE Square)
6. Ethan
7. Kacey
8. sophie
9. pomfret
10. bb xun (UE Square)
11. barbie (UE Square)
12. kayden (UE Square-weekends)

Doggiebb its the palpitations too. And I also felt short of breathe easily, plus slight tremor when I stretched out my hands. And of coz always feel hot also. (but it was mainly the palpitations that disturbed me and it was actually my hubby that pushed me to see a doc) So I went to see my doc and he suspected this and did a bloodtest + ultrasound scan. The ultrasound scan has not reached them though. But bloodtest is enough to diagnose this.

Oh yah Doggiebb, have our books reached? My friend was saying if our items are delayed when we purchase from Amazon.com, we can complain and they will send another copy.

i see. do you actually plan to have #2 soon? are there safe meds for hyper for preggies?

amazon
they delivered on sat morn when i was not home so i arranged for them to deliver again this morning. so will go back and check tonight, pack and send pig's head tomorrow! *evil laughs*

haha ok i tot how come no sound of our books yet :p

Well me and hubby were discussing having #2 born when bb xun is abt 2+ YO. The medicine is safe for pregnancy but the condition have to be under control before i can get preggie otherwise might affect bb .. so well ...

Jacelyn

about hyperthyroidism, actually quite common... so long as under control will be quite safe... juz have to take precaution during pregnancy... must be very well control during that period cos preg can upset the homone a bit... so dun worry too much ya...

jacelyn
at least you discovered early and can be controlled with medication.. My aunt only discovered after a lump appeared at her neck..
You still can have bb after the condition is controlled^^

sy,
sorry for taking so long. have transferred the iherb payment to ur account. will collect the stuff at ur parents plc by this week.

jacelyn,
cheer up ok?

thanks all! Actually now that i understand it better, not so worried. Initially when I heard this I was quite scared. Thanks to internet, I get to read more information abt this! =)

talking about books

no one interested in the book pple from uk ah? i only have like 5 sets of the usbourne young reading now only *mopes*

dustee
u still want to order?
but 1 still got one 15% off.
but must get $150 for free shipping.
anyone else wan to share.

and hor
jon and kate divorce?
thats sad.
they mentioned it on the show?

duggars really scary loh. 17 and counting.
oh my....
i like duggars better.

office email down! yippee can go home liao!
right after pumping.

jacelyn,
internet is ze best! for allaying worries. as far as i know (cousin has it too), can be controlled w medicines. so chin up, gal.
maybe wgt loss was partly due to your gym work too leh

smiggle,
where do you get all the lobangs? i m amazed
all return to casino at least din give them any money too rite.

cellow
sg.offerstation.com

I so puzzled why my hubby bought only $2 big for the 4D. He normally buys at least $10 lor..
Plus its a first time he hit jackpot and that's why we bought the number.. we could have won $5k ah... heart pain ah...

hi mummies, just came back from Malacca trip (a solid 7 days there!) Frank was very guai there and i took the opportunity to train him to nap on bed instead of yao lan. And hurray! i succeded!

Wow, missed so many posts.

Ok, a quick glance, so there are few preggy mummies now.. cellow, pb and waiwai and anyone else?

oh yah, yesterday Frank actually ate a 2 by 2 cm paper from his book and this goon mummy here was actually watching tv and din notice. Mil even asked me how come i didnt notice.

Then ay nite when Frank was taking his last feed, he chocked on his milk and vomitted everything out including his dinner. Then he chocked his nose too and kept crying non-stop for at least 15mins. His tears kept running down and alot of mucus (including probably his milk plus dinner). Then mil said maybe it's the paper that he ate. I felt so heartache and hate myself for being such an irresponsible mum.

Anyway after much coaxing and guess his mucus has cleared, he finally calm down but was frightened when we put him on bed. So in the end we switch on the orange light for few hrs until he's deep in sleep. What a night.

Luckily Frank didnt develop any flu or fever today.

Happy Birthday to Kacey & Josh!

Happy 11 months to Cedric!

Re: Organised puke
Thanks for the thumbs up, girls. Ah, how I wish the rest of my life could be just as well-planned!

PB
Yes, we have to try another botak shot!

Bbp
LOL on “lock-on radar”. My hungry bird is also like that, from any position, any angle, standing or sitting, and even while in the bath!

Dustee
Good for you and Pomfret that she’s eating porridge. L is still not eating unless it is 1. Gerber puffs 2. Pigeon baby biscuits or 3. Baby Bites. How to grow big and strong like that, I keep asking him. *bang head on table*

Smiggle
What’s the difference between Resort and Highland hotels in Genting?

SD
Your bb porridge, especially the stock, sounds very delicious! Think I’ll try it out and see if L will eat. Do you add fish or any other meat to it?

Jacelyn
*pat pat* At least you found out and now know what to do about it.

Summert
Oh dear! Glad that Frank is okay now. I don’t think it’s just the small bit of paper that caused all that. Don’t feel bad about yourself.

amazon #2
pig's head sent! pls check email.

chumint

can i have your email for the pig's head pls? hehe!

I will prolly bring alicia's, jacelyn's, smiggle's to the office on fri as I am off to a seminar early tmr morning. but I have a lunch meeting on fri as well. so i think wat i will do is to meet up with alicia early in the am so that you guys can have lunch and distribute, how does that sound?

how does the rest want to collect?

June

Let's arrange how to collect too.

do1nk,
You're going to Rena's gathering right? Can help me collect the books from doggiebb then pass to me on that day? Pretty pretty please?

Summert,
Yeah, I don't think it's the paper too. Don't blame yourself ok? Probably just a bad night for Frank.

SDchick
so cute emma's 'i want to PS' warning! but but you put her on toilet seat with the diaper on still?

chumint
hope baby haoran get better real soon!

doggiebb
thanks for the tip. i'm actually going to zoo with parents tomorrow so will be sure to make beeline for waterpark first!

hannah
i use neutrogena. body shop one also nice. wallet i can forget but if i don't bring lip balm out of house i will feel naked haha

ronnie
lol on ryane shaking head with you!

dustee
i really lol-ed on your porridge cooking escapades! michelle taught me: cook rice grains with lots of water until soft. then add in a ton of ingredients (poppy loves chicken or fish with broc or spinach, and carrots. potato also can), all diced into small pieces. then once boil, leave on slow fire for about 15 min. in total takes about 30-40 minutes. not so bad. sometimes i do this when she is taking her morning nap. then put inside the tiger flask. and when she eats it for dinner, it's nice and sticky.

you could also try giving pomfret mee sua? but must boil mee sua with water first then rinse with cold water. think it's cos meesua is salty? anyway, that one, with soup stock, and ingredients, even easier and take less time. 15-20 min can liao

i read (really fast) in carefour (dunno which gossip magazine) about jon and kate's break up too
their kids are so cute. think jon cannot take it. but kate is really the champion. alot of people say she's a meanie and treat jon like the 9th kid but i think he is a typical man (no offence, girls) who needs a shove in the right direction sometimes. if not, like lallang in the wind, going where the wind blows. and with 8 kids, there is no room for lallangs

i heart chu qian yi ding too .... slurp

re flasks
lol it seems that the endo/tiger flasks keep resurfacing on and off!

bbp
borders got sale on the caterpillar book. and all of eric carle's books

jacelyn
sayang you. hugs

summer
<font color="ff0000">only waiwai is preggie</font>

Youpi: I made the porridge using the basic chicken stock (with kampong chicken, leek, onion, celery, corn and carrots). You can take out the leek if you want. Normally I skip the leek. After boiling the chicken with those for 2 hrs (low heat), I use the chicken stock and the softened rice to make porridge in the pressure cooker, adding some more diced vegetable like broccoli/spinach/sweet potato/potato/peas (not all of them)plus some mince pork/beef/chicken/fish/chicken liver. The mince meat I mix with a little cornstarch and oil.

When it's ready I will use a hand blender to make the porridge smoother a little.

sometimes I made extra chicken soup and just freeze them so i can make something else like macaroni, etc.

PB: of coz take out the diaper.

sdchick
your recipe sounds absolutely delicious but but but absolutely high-level! (remember previously all i do is open instant noodle packet and boil water...)

chicken stock is okay for me to freeze and use to make porridge another day also?

carrot in poo
so i tried feeding pomfret with some very tiny diced carrots in her porridge...and it came straight out in her poo! does that mean i should still puree or blend the ingredients in her porridge before giving to her? she's probably not really chewing much....

youpi
actually about pomfret eating porridge, the credit must go to my mum. she felt her porridge is tastier than mine (erm, true, i guess) so last month, she cooked porridge for pomfret every weekday and would drop it off at my place enroute to her mahjong session. after one month of licking a few baby spoonfuls of porridge, pomfret suddenly took 2 tablespoonsful, and from then on, sometimes she takes half a bowl!

aren't grandparents wonderful?

thermal pot
very tempted but need to at least attempt to use the extra slow cooker and extra rice cooker that my mil has first, and if those fail then i can perhaps justify buying the thermal pot

jacelyn
my friend swears by the big thermal pot coz she says she just uses it to cook soup, then after work come home, the soup is nicely done. so small one for baby porridge, big one for family.... heh.

pb
aye lallang in wind lol. i guess maybe we identify with kate a bit coz we feel like we also need to push our men to do some basic co-parenting when they are at home. but then i also read some reports that kate got too obsessed with fame and money that she doesn't even talk to her own parents, and her own brother (who was in the first two seasons) now. and that she left the kiddies behind to go on a book tour for a book that she obviously couldn't have found time to write. so it's just not easy to juggle marriage and child-rearing, not to mention 8 kids!

qing
the duggars have 18 kids now lah. our cable a bit slow, showing the past season. 18 y'know! not 17 anymore! but then they've got such strict family values, like the eldest son wasn't allowed to go on a date with his fiancee without one of his sisters chaperoning too! faint.

pomfret just learnt to clap today (previously she always clapped with fingers slightly clenched, today it's proper clapping) and she's so excited about it, she kept clapping till she fell asleep just now around midnight.

latch ...unlatch and clap....then latch... then unlatch and clap.... then latch...and clap while latching....

i guess even babies are excited when they know they've learnt something new!

Dustee: no lah it's really easy. I skin the chicken, as well as throw the fats. put the chicken in a pot, put water in - cover the chicken. Boil in high fire, removing excess that floats. put in all the veggie (2 stalks of celery, 1 peeled carrot, 1 corn, 1 stalk of leek, 1 whole peeled onion). Reduce heat to low, cover and cook for 1-2 hrs. Once ready, strain all ingredients (I added a little salt) and use the stocks for anything, porridge, macaroni, even just the soup as appetizer, etc. You can freeze the stock and use to make porridge some other day. that's what I do. sometimes I made the plain porridge with chicken soup and freeze them in portions - enough for 3 days. When preparing dinner, I'll defrost the porridge at room temperature, boil some veggies, then stir fry the meat with butter, put into porridge, and hand blender till the consistency your baby likes.

dustee,
eh eh.. after the gymboree every baby who dunno how to clap suddenly started clapping? shioB (Bosco)also eh.. he started ytd.

carrot in poo,
bosco used to have it as well. they can't digest the carrot well. either u puree it or just stop giving pomfret carrot lo. anyway, too much carrot can coz constipation wor.

chumint,
how's bb haoran? hope he gets well soon wor.

carrots, sweetcorn and sometimes raisins come out full in poppy's poo.

SDchick
i didn't know porridge can be defrosted! thought just the stock, no?

congrats to our new clappers!

i find that whatever poppy learns to do, she will use that trick to blackmail me. last time when she wanted to get out of swimming pool she cried MAMAMMAMAMA

then didn't want to have her diaper changed, she cried and clapped her hands

now she doesn't want to get out of the bathtub to get dried, she will point at anything and say 'there!'

this one must put big big and in diff colour

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">I m not pregnant!</font></font>
... even though I keep talking abt Clarice as if she is a real person.

porridge cooking
wah, v high level cooking by SD!
I usu just use the crockpot to double boil the rice grains w meat overnight, then add the veggies and/or flaked steamed fish later.

separation anxiety
Cedric has been crying when I leave aunt's place this week. So today is the 4th day of crying liao. But once the door is closed, and helper distracts him, stop already. I know bcz I am still at the lift landing and listening. Haiyor, so drama rite.

summert,
how can one little piece of paper do all that to Frank? no la, prolly just a viral thing. MIL making you feel bad? - mentally put her out of your mind.

dustee,
congrats congrats on pomfret eating porridge!

PB,
HBs are lallangs - hahaha. If only. Mine is like a big rainforest tree, stubborn like anything. Ya but pity abt Jon and Kate, I liked that show! Makes me think my life w Cedric is normal by comparison

<font color="ff0000">happy 11th month to L and Dani.</font>

dustee,
Congrats on Pomfret clapping! You are one patient mother. If it had been Declan doing the unlatching/latch/clap stuff, I would have scolded him and tied his hands together! Ha!

Cellow,
Ha! I think.... HBs are like lallangs when we want them to be like tress, and like trees when we want them to be like lallangs.

bbp,
i bet... they say the same of us though.
the cake sage continues for us, so now, still no cake for Cedric. i want him to lallang, but he behaves like tree.
think in the end, it will end up being me going to Bengawan Solo near my place that very morning of the party and get a cake. nah, done! *clap hands twice and makes washing off motion*

off topic
i m lookg for an undereye concealer and i m the 1st to admit i know nuts abt makeup stuff. any recommendations?

morning mummies

SD
your cooking skills very high level.. I totally can't cook anything more than normal porridge.. haha.. maybe you should have a cooking class and teach us mummies your secret recipes.. hehe

PB &amp; holly
Thanks. Hao ran's running nose no more dripping... only the cough still very bad with alot of phelgm..

PB
poppy so cute.. she's making full use of her new tricks.. testing out what it can do.. hehe