(2008/07) July 2008

cellow,
i loved to be a SAHM as well. but i'm sure i can't do it. even though i want to be the 1st to see M reaching her milestones. but i know i can't stand being with her 24/7 hehehhee...very bad hor me. i don't think i can do a good job looking after her compared to my mum and of cos the most important thing is i need my job to ensure i have a stable income to buy things i like for her and not take money from HB. hehehee

i've always tot of being a SAHM for at least the first 7 years of M's life. just till she go Pri 1. my work nature allows me to do freelancing. but till now, M is turning 1 soon, i still haven't done that move. hahaha..mainly because i'm afraid of not having enough $$ esp since we are staying in SG. children education is not cheap.

Smiggle,
OMG!!!! don't put hairband on Kayden lah.

Cellow,
Imagine all the money u earned can spent on Cedric lei..
that is my reluctance to be SAHM..
unles my hubby give me full pay..
I look around the house and i ask my hubby, What did u buy for Kayden?? Nothin.. all the toys and neccessities come from me...My hubby will just say don waste $$..
I can have a louder voice when spendin $$, can send him to good school, trial classes..
Haiz, i love to be SAHM, but must still have $$$ rollin in la.. if not, who buy makeup and clothes and bags for me???

smiggle
OMG!! for a moment you have me thinking whether I remember Kayden's gender wrongly. Even if you long for a baby girl, also cannot do this le. hehe

cellow
I believed every mom wants to be by their children's side, including me. But i'm like rayna, i can't imagine looking after hao ran 24/7. Weekends with him proves me right. I do need my ME time.

Stable income very important as I like shopping :p I don't like asking hubby for $$$.. no freedom and stress.. Also my income can contribute to better living for our family.

girls
eyes are dry and blinking from reading through all the posts!

been mia for a while cos poppy suddenly had high fever on wed. when she woke up from her nap, she felt so warm so i took her temp. kena shocked sia - 38.6! then in the evening, 38.8! so we brought her to doc. he also had no idea why suddenly so high but took urine sample anyway just to make sure it wasn't a urine infection (it wasn't thank goodness). from 9pm the previous night to yesterday all day she would sleep and wake up every half-one hour, crying violently. poor her, and poor us. but last night she went to bed well and slept through. today she's back to the cheerful talkative poppy i know. phew. we are friends again.

v funny. hubby took childcare leave to be with us. he said 'so you can sleep mah cos you were up almost all night'. cos i didnt want to disturb him, plus i thought maybe the aircon was making poppy uncomfortable so i brought her to the other room to sleep. suuuuuuuper hot. but she slept a while longer. anyway, the 3 of us were on the bed in the morning after he called the office. poppy still making noise. so of course i wake up at every 'EH' and "AH'. hubby slept thru. when he wake up, still dare to say "wow that nap sure was nice!'. (*&*^^$^&*(_)(% i reminded him again 'what's the reason you took childcare leave ah?'. but he was great throughout the day. did all the washing up. and bought lunch and dinner cos i had no mood/zheng sin to cook. yay!

what a week for us. been to doc 5 times the last 10 days. twice were me going to doc then hospital for my toe, 3 times poppy. flu then review of ear infection then high fever. tired tired!!

do1nk
why i want to go for first aid course? just in case, touch wood, anything happen, i will know what to do.
re making food fresh : cos i don't always know how long poppy will sleep. a bit more ma fan if i have to make each meal on the spot. i used to give her defrosted lunch and make dinner fresh (then make more so can freeze) but it is VERY time consuming. my sofa is already loaded with laundry to fold. if i just spend half a day every weekend doing ALL her food, then during the week i have more time to spend with her instead of yelling from the kitchen "poppy are you OK??" while i chop and grind and cut and peel while she is doing her own thing. don't even get me started on the washing up......

batgirl
yes i got your RSVP, thanks!

yoghurt
i guess this has already been discussed: i give poppy yoplait. she loves it

chumint
try to make your own food cos it's MUCH cheaper! make and freeze over the weekend lor

michelle/qing
porridge i grind half the rice, the other half leave it full, then the chicken/veg/carrot i just cut into small pieces. but when it comes to just food/fruit, most i still blending leh. only the really soft ones like pumpkin then i dun. alamak. how to slowly intro non blended stuff to her....she also recently learnt to chew (gave her pasta, she loves!) so i hope she will like non blended food soon la!

rayna
your mum wash then sun - how to sun ah? sun till dry dry then blend? it will take one whole day in the sun is it? sorry, a bit blur... but the idea of blending 2 weeks supply at once sounds good!

you can buy bellamys pasta which is organic, for babies. i just give poppy normal alphabetis or star pasta

qing
pasta usually boil for about 7-8 minutes. until it is soft. then just mix with her food lor

bbp
enjoy the trip!!!! take lots of pics! BRING MORE JARS cos need to eat on plane too!!!!!!!!!!! and extra set of clothes for you and hubby as well. poppy decided to pee on my hubby's pants 1 hour into the 27-hour long journey!!!

CS
welcome back! love dani's rosy cheeks!

qing and smiggle
why no PAP huh? just curious. i think i WANT poppy to go to PAP.

smiggle
lol on kayden with the pretty hairband!! his face has changed hor? he looks very grown up now!

re shopping and how we manage on one income:
<font color="0000ff">i use the credit card like it's mine, he pays the bills like they are his</font>

but if big purchase i will ask him first la. i love shopping too but i will think twice now. is it really worth it? do i really need it? i find that if i walk away to think more, i usually feel i don't need it

smiggle
sama sama.. i paid for all hao ran's toys and clothings lo.. Last night, I was telling hubby that I will be SAHM if he wants no2. But hor, he has to give me 2k a month and that doesn't includes the household and children's spendings. hahaha..

PB
was just wonderin why MIA so long...
Lucky u are SAHM.. Imagine if u workin.. like cellow..
think these two weeks on the swine flu, all mothers on superb alert..
one by one babies gettin sick...
think its time to start tonics on them???

PAP, perhaps u will change your mind after u sit through a session with them?? if their centres are cleaner then my house, i will consider...

Chumint
Hi-5!
Quite a few ppl also see Kayden as a girl.. cos of the way he smile la...so meltin...

Cellow,
I've never regretted being a SAHM, BUT it's the MOST difficult job in the world. No leave, no pay, working hours are 24-7. If your boss pisses you off with his incessant whining and crying, there's no such thing as leaving him alone and going for lunch to cool off. And yes, the most irritating factor is, people will say "But all you have to do is to take care of him"
And as smiggle mentioned, must be able to see eye to eye with hubby on expenditure. Luckily Mr BBP is quite relaxed when it comes to spending on declan.

PB,
I think all hubbies can sleep like logs la. So forget about that i-take-leave-so-you-can-take-a-nap. Only batgirl's lucky enough to be a heavier sleeper than her hubby. Haha!
Oops, we kinda forgot about the need to eat on the plane. Crap, time to go shopping again. Ok, thanks for the tips! Mwacks!
Ooh, we have the same credit card style! Haha. But now, the only stuff I buy on the card is my Starbucks. :p

2484044.jpg

Cellow, he look like me in past lor..

PB, yalor
he look my hubby nowadays.. gettin so fair.. waste my effort eatin dark soya sauce.

tonics for baby
what tonics can we give them? hao ran also fall sick very easily.

smiggle
PAP really that bad? I pass by one PAP kindergarten recently and the room looks fun and interesting with lots of artworks and deco..

I feel baby smile can melt anything.. So sweetand some very charming.. Do you mummies feel that your babies smile alot nowadays? hao ran is pratically smiling at every little things. Sometimes he laughs very loudly too. I wonder what he finds so funny. So happy and innocent

smiggle
i like kayden's richard simmons exercise headband!

pap
i dunno, i didn't go to pap kindergarten. any mummies who went, can share? but i heard the teachers' engrish can be quite kok up

chumint
poppy always smiles alot! i notice got different smiles too. there is the eng siew smile, there is the really happy cos papa is home smile when her whole face lights up, and there is the 'what is mama doing now la' smile

today we had a conversation too! i was hanging out clothes, she was in playpen
me "POPPY ARE YOU OK, BABY?"
she "eh!"
me "POPPY?"
she "ba ba da da eee dee dee ehhh ahhh"

Pb,

I can picture what a week for you.. Elijah and Ezekiel both take turns to fall sick as well.. High fever too.. It's really not easy to be a sahm.. But hey it's worth it...

Smiggle,
Tho being a sahm I am still buying things but not as much as the times when I was working.. Hb gives me allowances for my expenses like my insurance , phone bill and others .. He will pay for house hold and maids and Elijah school as well..

PAP
I went to one at AMK, the toilet wet and similar to coffeshop kind..
The children were screamin and so loud.. the teachers tryin to make themselves heard.. but that was for the older kids like 4yrs...
I was more worried abt HFMD la..

Chumint
i want my baby to be dark.. i dont like men to be fair mah...

PB
that headband was for his cpap la.. to hold his oxygen...

PB, glad that poppy is ok now. So the doc never quite figured out what happened? And what caused the high fever?

And i love this sentence:
i use the credit card like it's mine, he pays the bills like they are his

And i guess thats why i cannot be a SAHM with no income of my own. I told hubby if he wants me to be a SAHM, pay me my current salary. And I want a yearly 10% incremenet too. He almost fainted. Said "u just continue working ba" ... And he almost suggested how abt the other way - him staying at home to look after bb xun while i give him his salary. But after being hoem with bb xun for 1 day, he decided against that idea. He said it is tougher than gg to work. Which i totally agree. So i still salute to all SAHM!

bbp, oh the plane dun have bb food? My sis was telling me my 1yO niece ate the food on the plane. Its SIA though. But yah, just be safe, bring more food jars!

Smiggle, your idea is innovative ah. Eat soya sauce when preggie to get kayden to be dark. LOL really first time i heard that.

Havent been too adventurous when it comes to food for bb xun. Think i should go buy pasta for her to try. Hope she likes it. Bringing pasta out is easier than porridge right?

My mum told me yesterday that when she was changing bb xun's diaper in the morning, there was poo sticking on her backside! It was already dry. So errm that means she has been sleeping on her poo the whole night. No wonder she woke up a few times to eehh eehh a bit. The first time that happened. Lucky it never got to her front. Otherwise might get UTI. That is one of the common reason for bbs getting UTI.

Smiggle i read your statement - dun like fair man. Then your previous post: kayden becoming like daddy fairer.

Opps.

And hor, yah why did u even put a hello kitty headband on his head ah? But he looks super happy la. Try showing him this pic when he grow up. Maybe he will tear it up coz too pai seh liaoz . hee hee

PAP
This was what i found when i doin research..

PAP has alot of kids form lower-middle income, these parents cant afford to take leave all the time, so even when child is sick or not yet recover, they will still send them to school.

Also, their speech wise is alot of chinese and singlish as most parents are not highly-educated.

But this is subjected to diff areas, like tanglin PAP has lots of praises cos its environment. cleaner and more-calibre students.

I dont wan to compare, but i like kayden to be studyin healthy and my money well-spent on his education.
I will teach Kayden on hygiene but other parents may not. In the end, the one sufferin is Kayden cos he gets sick, and i have to look after him.

To me, $$ should be spent on such cos he is worth it. I can always earn $$ but i cant earn his health.

bbp,

which air line are you taking? so far JAL, SIA and Quantas have bb for.. jsut need to tell them and staff will heat up..quite bb friendly..

Jacelyn,
Oh SQ got baby jars provided? So good! Thanks for the tip! I didn't know until you mentioned and I just went to the website to check.

Bbp,
I really like your discription.. Hoho.. Our employer in the house is tougher than the employer outside coz there is no lunch break, tea break and after work break..

2484597.jpg

Its actually Janelle's bdae, Kayden's cousin.
Such a sweetie pie... she is so smart i tell you.. she can kiss u goodbye, she can clap her hands and she can shake her bon bon very well indeed.

smiggle
aiyo... dun let Kayden wear such girly things leh... too girly for a marcho boy lor...
btw, the eating dark soya sauce for a dark skin bb is a myth lah...

Rayna
me also tot of being a SAHM when i was on maternity leave lor... budden i dun wanna be dependent on my HB for $$$ lor... at least when i buy things for Ernest now dun have to go thru the approval process unless big amt lah...

PB
aiyo... sayang poppy n mummy... poor thing... u muz rest well too okie...
personally i also dun like PAP... more of a perception thingy i guess...

Childcare
I'm actually looking at the diff childcare centres and their enrichment programmes for Ernest... intend to let him go in Jan 2010... my 1st choice is Little Skoolhouse (the branch at SGH)... managed to check out the rates also... its $257/mth after subsidy and staff discount...

PB
poppy is so cute.. can chat chat with mummy.

language spoken with baby
mummies, what language do you speak with your baby? Me mainly chinese as I grow up from a chinese speaking family. But sometimes I will try to speak to him in both chinese and english. So one sentence repeat in english and chinese. MIL speak to him in cantonese and my parents speak to him in hokkien. Play japanese children songs to him at home..

I have been trying to find japanese story books that comes with cd. Tried kino but they don't have. Anyone knows where I can get these? Not just japanese but other languages too?

PB,

yes, wash then sun. wash it, then u put on a tray spread it out, then leave it out by the window where got sun. just sun whole day. but must make sure ur tat window no birds lor. after that, grind. =)

we don't make puree for M. so mum just cook like 5 days supply of soup then freeze them.

Chumint,
For my wife and I, we speak Mandarin to Darius since we always speak this language amongst ourselves. Have read that children learn language by listening to the people around him so felt no point talking to him in English while we converse among ourselves in Mandarin. ^^

Is there any reason why Japanese in particular? Read that for enrichment classes such as at Little Neuro Tree, they have this tri-lingual approach too.

PAP kindy and perceptions
My #3 sister, who is all of 27-going-on-18 and NOT a mummy, told me the other day, eh dun send Cedric to PAP kindy ok, send to a better quality (whatever that means) kindy or childcare.
And then comes the sttmt that takes the cake, n totally floored me - she said, if you dun hv the money, i can subsidise some part of his childcare education. Early childhood is impt to develop his brain wor.

I was like, ha, what did u just say. Totally surprised. She is most prob earning 50% max of wat I earn, and she is offering to subsidise Cedric bcz she thinks early childhood education is impt! Dunno whether to be glad (that she offered) or be insulted (that she thinks I m too kam siap to send Cedric to quality childcare).

Context - She is a bio science graduate, u see, and her work leads her to talk strange things abt biology to me smtimes.

My sisters continue to astonish me.

Cellow LOL. But should be touched that your sis offers that. Sounds weird though. haha But i too agree that early childhood development is important..

smiggle.. aiyo.. kayden getting very handsome! the hello kitty headband *alamak*. hee hee.. but cute lah! My hubby never allows girly stuff on Ethan.. even for feeding bowls that came in yellow, he say cannot buy, must choose blue. *men*.

Cellow... its one of those days when you know you can do so much with your boy and for him, but you can't, and wishing so much you could? well, that thought will come once a while. It makes me appreciate my limited time with Ethan more, and really spend quality time with him every night...

PB, glad to hear poppy is fine now.. was the fever caused by the infection she got previously? hope you find time to get a good rest soon....

I have also decided for Ethan's pre-school oredi.. most likely chiltern house at big splash.. I love the big open playground by the beach, very open airy area... i like it. and wat;s more important, 10min walk from my house.. haha..

smiggle
ya... but then i'm not sure how muchie is the staff discount leh... coz she jus quoted me the fig after taking into consideration that i'm a staff at Singhealth lor... and $257 is all in... budden the additional enichment is extra... i like the mozart enrichment programme budden not available there lor... but can register at amk which runs that programme for weekend classes... i also choose that location coz so near my workplace and also coz i might be moving over to sgh soon... when u sending kayden??

cellow, i think your sister meant well, and probably threw in that offer just to make it a point to "force" you to NOT send him to PAP. I dunno... is PAP that bad? i myself from PAP, and I remembered I spent a wonderful time there.. cos the whole class so big all can bully teacher.. and then there is this little boy, everytime want to go toilet will ask me (instead of the teacher).. haha.. i still remember this little boy's face.. haha

michelle
lol on ur PAP frd lor.... i was also from PAP... coz was jus below my blk so me &amp; my sis &amp; bro all go there... n last time like got not much choice lor... i also enjoyed my PAP kinder days lor... those were the days where kids got no worries one... just play and eat kind...

smiggle
so u putting him in full day or half day?? i'm also looking at other places if i find the environment not conducive... wat i like abt the childcare is their enrichment programmes...

michelle,
wah even at that age, u look imposing enuf to be teacher ah. that this boy will ask YOUR permission to go to toilet. LOL!
*run away b4 getting piak-ed*
ya, i guess that was #3 sister's thinking as well, throw in the offer to 'entice' me. still.
like i said: my sisters continue to astonish me.

personally i quite enjoyed the PAP kindy. i was in a church kindy and absolutely hated it, pulled out after one week, and caused my parents hell by concocting reasons not to go to school. why ah? i think bcz the orange juice that they served at tea time was tooooo cold, plus the teacher had wrinkled hands. such a strange reason, looking back.

Jacelyn,
ya lor.
U started thinking abt Pri School liao? in idle moments rite

bbp,
can still go now wat. cepat! before your trip to France. (I was abt to type French)

smiggle,
ya. but! hmm.
Kayden is 20 mo la, where got by rite, by left.

smiggle
that is a beautiful cake.. is it from e-creative? Is that you with kayden? Beautiful mummy and baby^^

Wave
hello^^ been a while since you post. I know about little nero. My friend teaching there. their lessons are in eng, chinese and jpn. So 1 week eng, the other week chinese, etc. Actually wanted to sign him up for shichida in jpn but currently their jpn class is closed as there are no teachers.

As for why jpn? bec hubby and I big fan of jpn cultures. We do speak and understand basic jpn. But detoriates with time as seldom use. So thought it will be good to expose hao ran to it. Anyway this is the best time for babies to pick up different languages. I'm thinking of letting him learnt french too.

I ever heard of jpn who don't speak eng, teaching their baby with eng flashcards and cds. And surprising it works. Their child is able to understand eng when they brought him to USA

wow French, japanese ... all foreign to me. I have never tot of exposing bb xun to all these. To me, it like am accomplishment when she can recognise things like her soft toy 'friend', bao bao (to carry), mama (me or her grandma), papa and mum mum (eat). And I will be jumping up and down with joy if she just stops eating her books up and do the flips properly.
Never crossed my mind on foreign language trainings.

Chumint,

Yar not been checking the forums here since meeting you. Lazy~~ ^^|

I see. My wife and I are also fans of japanese culture (read: anime/manga :p). Thanks for sharing.