(2008/07) July 2008

dor dor,
haha.. funny lah you. Slowly D will soon be ready as he can last till morn on some days.
Desiree still goes to sleep after peeing cos she pee with her eyes closed.

dustee,

sayang promfet! Wuffy also fell off the bed once... knock numerous times when rolling on the the playmat onto the hard floor. But good your in laws stop making you feel bad... takes a while for the parents to know that nagging repeatedly over the same issue doesn't help the situation.

see you on Thurs then for the heh mee!

JSP,

Yah! I went to the zoo on Sun...so hot man. I joined Friends of the Zoo, so wuffy has been going once every 2 weeks. My parents also take him there during the weekdays.
Next time we can go together!

bbp,

Hope u and bb Declan recovers soon. I have this theory...dun know whether make sense or not. since breastmilk is supposed to be packed with anti-bodies, when baby is sick, I try not to feed him any medication. Since you are breastfeeding (and you have the same symptoms, your own body will produce similar anti bodies) and it is a common cough and cold, let him build up his immune system himself, unless he got fever, cannot breathe etc.. This is my theory lar...

morning all!
short one as overflowing inbox.

Playground
We passed by a playground and I tried putting Cedric on the slide (short one la). 1st time got the eh-mummy-what-r-u-doing-2-me expression, 2nd time used his feet to stop himself fm falling, 3rd time screwed up his face and yelled!!! He doesnt like it! bwahahaaha.
*yet another bad mummy moment*

JSP,
wah heng ar. did u wake HB up after that?

Get well soon, all sick bbs and mummies too!

batgirl
ya lor... next time we go together hor... my HB company corporate frds of the zoo so we reserve a date to go every mth lor...

cellow
ya lor... heng man... if i were to be slower in my washing then Ernest sure land on the floor one liao lor... i did not wake him lor... coz he was snoring away liao... budden i told him wat happened the next morning and told him to put Ernest in the baby cot next time lor... its way too dangerous liao...

dustee
aha! so that is your weapon against your in-laws! always cry la! like chinese drama serial :D

teething and lesser milk intake
poppy too, but only for the first 2 teeth. then i think she knows what it feels like when teeth coming out liao so no more complaints for the rest.

bbp
iread somewhere that steam can help. but not too hot. so it says stand in the shower with baby then the steam is not so harsh

JSP
so funny the hand waving on the bed! ernest is calling 'mummy mummy come save me! papa sleep like log liao!' hehe. but glad he is ok

girls, poppy has a rash on her collarbone/under neck area. i really wonder what it is. i have recently introduced chicken, leek, peach. and my SIL yesterday gave her some pumpkin biscuit (small round one, like wang wang kind). i guess i will just stop chicken, leek and peach and just go back to the safe foods for a while. pumpkin, carrot, broc, sweet potato. but got to go NTUC cos auntie pinkbunny suddenly remembered markets are closed on mondays!

oh i finally used the tiger jar. it kept her porridge so nice and warm after 3 hours. but i put the porridge in cooked liao so i am not sure if it cooked any further.

michelle
maybe we have different jars cos mine on top is a tiny compartment split into two. confirm cannot put one portion of porridge there!

PB
ya lor... he's actually half aslp liao also budden alrdy flipped until edge liao so SOS for help lor... heehee... come to think of it, its quite funi lor...

goooood morning!

babies who does not like solids
Did you all try to give very runny cereals with lots of milk, must let them get used to spoon feeding first... then slowly thicken the consistency.. each day a few tablespoons, hopefully slowly they will get interested? I dun believe in force feed, i always believe in "stopping before baby wants to stop" so taht they will be interested in the next attempt...

Gymboree trial class
went for this and Ethan cried and cried. He saw the indian teacher with the clown, think he was afraid, after staring for a while, he started crying and then refuse to participate already... the stupid teacher still use the clown (that can appear suddenly one) and touch his face, Ethan jumped up in fear and then started crying again.. then each time the teacher comes close, he will cry. walk away, he is ok...

Anyway, the class is too packed and too rugged... I guess Ethan is too "si wen".. so until I toughen him up a little.. No Gymboree for him. I will bring him back to kindermusic since it is more gentle and he seems to enjoy the class better.. after the gymboree lesson, he "hum bin" a few times during the afternoon nap.. poor thing...

PB, its the same jar lah.. but i dun use that tiny compartment, i just use a plastic container and squeeze 1 feed of porridge into it, and them place it at the top cup loh...
but nowadays he eats much much more porridge liao.. so i think the top compartment also getting smaller..

WOW,
I SALUTE TO ALL SAHM.
last weeks, ah ma il was hospitalised right.
so i have to look after barbie all by myself ma.

it's bedtime and i finally put her to sleep liao.
wanting to go and take a shower first before i zzzz too.
as barbie is sleeping on the bed with us, i slack pillows and bolester all around her and the floor.
(i have a lot of pillows. big and small)
i went to bath, feeling so uneasy.
kept thinking if she wakes up how?
see no mummy and cry or fall of the bed how?
what happen if hubby they all come home now, will they scold me for leaving barbie alone and go bath?
how did PB they all do it one.
also alone with the baby all day.
take a super quick shower nia.

i think my ear was super big while showering.
keep wondering she is crying?
thats the worse bath i have ever had.

then wonder what if i need to poopoo so urgently when she is wide awake.
do i poo with the door open and her right outside the toilet staring at me while i do my job?

all SAHM, how did u all do it???

dustee
*sayang you...
don't get too upset abt it.
u dont want it to happen neither...

youpi
saw you on the papers liao.
u are lucky.
i was out on sunday to taka on the final day of the fair.
purpose to grab the pigeon snacks for barbie.
brought barbie along using bjorn.
i bought a big bag worth of stuffs and even cross over to paragon for da bao canele.
so it is 2 big bags.
walk over to the taxi stand ready to go home.
that india traffice control guy stare at us thru out.
even see us unable to open the taxi door, didnt ofer help.
neither did the taxi driver.
i managed everything myself.

michelle
how much did u pay for the gymboree trial and which branch you went to?

Qing, aiyo.. lucky ethan is used to sleeping in his cot.. else think I will not take any shower! even when i leave him alone in the cot to play while i wash his bottles so that i can prepare milk, i will wash one bottle, run in to see him, then go back, wash another bottle.. then peep in again.. and the cycle repeats loh.. hee hee....

I paid $40 for a 45 min play and learn session at Tanglin Mall. oh, they let us use the "gym" for crawling etc... but nobody guides us so dun really know how to use them, then the class is sooo packed (like 12 babies) so imagine you use the slides/toys that other ppl leave drool behind loh... err..... is it me? or maybe Ethan was crying a lot.. so i did not enjoy the gymboree trial class as much as the kindermusik one...

pB,

your jar is same as mine.. its good especiall if you dun have time just need to cook the porridge for 20 mins then pur in jar.. for later comsumption.. very soft ..after 2 hrs

Finally , no.1 went back to school .. now he has seperation anxiety... sian.. keeps crying...

hannahl,

fisocream has sugar content therefore it is sweeter.. once you give fisocream it iwll be tough for you to give other cereal.. that was what happen to my noo.1 last time...I taste it .. quite sweet..

rejecting solids
mine also like that initially. I gave him HT, tried Nestle and even the Si Sen powder, all prepared according to instructions (i.e how much water/milk for each tablespoon), but bb will reject after just one or two spoonfuls. He also dislike purees.

Then one sunday, i was so frustrated that i decided to prepare the cereal the way i would like it instead, i.e. thicker consistency and fed it to him. To my surprise, he likes it that way! No wonder he dislike puree lar. Anyway, from then onwards, i always prepare thicker version for all his solids, including porridge. but to play safe, i also feed him water after every few spoonfuls, in case he gets too thirsty.

every baby has his/her preferences bah. My bb just happens to enjoy that kind of texture

2 days not in office & i'm now flooded with a big load of urgent stuff on my table. Siao liao...

jsp.. wow ur boy almost fell off..

Rena, now frisocream she also dun want liao lah
It was really testing my patience to the utmost trying to feed her yet she either zipped her mouth tight or turned here & there, pretending to be busy. Or, juz shook her head. Haiz..

Now that my ss is getting lesser & lesser, plus i'm really feeling very tired, plus my wish to spend more time with the kiddos.. it seems that i've to stop pumping soon..

And i'm feeling depressed & bu she de lately.. Like suddenly more eng, and having to take away something precious from my girl..

Feeling lousy nowadays.. Not that i want to stop. But ss not there so pump & pump ss still seems pathetic.. My girl dun latch on anymore.

Those mummies that have stopped pumping, how u overcome any negative thots (if any) huh? Or is it me only?

hannahl
maybe u should think on the positive side lor... like u can be a happier mummy coz u can spend more qaulity time with ur kids, also u have alrdy done so well leh... u ss ur ger with 8mths of ur milk lor... which i think u deserve more than a pat on ur back... so dun feel so lousy... for me, i stopped bf long time back coz its beyond wat i can handle due to lack of slp... so wif support from my HB and ILs, i stopped bf n substitue wif FM... so cheer up ger... ur ger will knw tat mummy has done her best...

hannahi,
dun stop!
nurture yourself.... you sound like u need rest girl. keep sipping water w lemon, or any liquids to hydrate yourself. have on hand healthy snacks like cereal bars, fruit, cheese slices [ok maybe not soooo healthy]...

i tong so long bcz i tell myself just one more day, one more pump session, even though at my lowest qty, i yielded only 30-40ml per pump session [and each pump session takes 30mins at least away fm my desk].

Dustee
Sayang to you and Pomfret. Just ignore as much as you can? My #1 fell from the bed six times in four days. After that, we put our mattress on the floor. We use one bed rail. But bed rails don’t go all the way round the bed. There are gaps still. And L is now either getting his arm or leg stuck in between the rail and the bed, or trying to use it to pull himself up. So it may not be that safe, especially if the baby may pull up over the bed rail and fall from an even greater height!

Crystal
Made payment via IB already. Transaction ref 2186310027. Thanks for helping to organise the BP!

Cellow
You have sharp eyes!

Bbp
I bring the stroller out if we’ll be walking long distances so that #1 can rest when he gets tired. Not all the time.

Pooh luv Elmo, Dustee
My boy eats very little solids too, only about 50ml (or less). Have you tried yummy fruits and fruit combinations? L will open his mouth more for those that he likes: pear, avocado + pear, avocado + peach, sweet potato + carrot.

PB
It could be chicken. This happened to hb's cousin's baby too.

Qing
My bathroom door is never closed! ;p

Rena
What school is your #1 in?

Sigh, hb away for a week. I am a single parent again!

quick one mummies,

just celebrated Kayden's bdae yesterday..
ordered too much food..
cake was nice and we were all so tired...

btw, the new hotel for june babies bdae is called...
KLAPSON!

quick one mummies,
Got to miss again….Cant join, beginning of the mths need to do closing and shipment.

Date: 2nd April (Thursday)
Time: 12.15pm
Venue: Zion Road Food Centre (across Great World City)

(1) Batgirl
(2) PB
(3) Qing
(4) Smiggleprincess
(5) Michelle
(6) JSP
(7) Rena
(8) Bluey
(9) dustee-loveeees-heh-meeeeee

smiggle
you give me a shock...
i thought u say the June thread babies are having their bday bash in the same hotel
heehee.
you walk pass my office just now???

Hannah,
Nectarines are like peaches, except they don't have hairy skins.

do1nk,
No leh, can't see the mucus. I think it's super at the back, near the throat area. Yah, I think let it clear by itself. Since he isn't so under the weather, don't really want to medicate him.

crystal,
No probs! I just super hate the IB token. Why can't DBS be like OCBC and send the code to my hp?

JSP,
Tell your mom not true lor, cos Declan fall got 3 times liao. Still at 7.3kg leh. But got increase 3cm. So maybe grow up = grow taller, but not heavier?
Haha, so did you scold your hubby for falling asleep? Cos I know I would have.

batgirl,
Yah, I got the same theory as you. My theory is, if I get sick first, then maybe baby won't get it, cos I would have had the anti-bodies to pass to him. But too bad, this time, he got it first, so I wouldn't have had the anti-bodies to pass to him since I wasn't sick. Make sense?

PB,
Woo, good point. Steam. Ok, will get hubby to do that the next time. Anyway, I saw your article in Young Parents I think

Qing,
Yah that's the thing. When we bathe, cannot bathe in peace, so I never ever feel clean. So nowadays I give up liao. Will only bathe at night when he's fast asleep in his cot.
Need to poo poo ar? Either tahan or put in cot or playpen lor. Will definitely be safe... but got to tahan the crying if they are not happy being inside lor.

Qing, i also feel that SAHM is very very wei da! I cannot do it for goodness sake! Hey why not get a playpen? Its smaller than cot and cheaper also. Now bb xun sleeps in playpen coz she hates her cot as she keeps banging her head against the wood. The playpen is netted so no matter how much she bang, its not painful. It cost me 130. And I stacked 2 mattresses so that it will have more support. Can consider that. And as it is not as big, it does not take up so much space.

5th tooth: apparently bb xun's 5th tooth is coming out... PD mentioned that the left top is very swollen and it will pop anytime. And she was slightly feverish just now ... so guess it will be making its appearance soon...

JSP, Ethan is smart ah. He can smell danger and knows how to alert the mummy. Give him a pat. Tell him its good job. :p

oh gosh, my entry erase... somethign wrong...

hannah, dun be sad. if really tired, dun go on. make yrself more sad. 8mths is good already!

how the kindermusic trial? onz?

bbp
hehehe... dunno whether isit true abt the grow up part lor... but in hokkien is known as "gao dua"... aiya... i seldom scold him nowadays lor... so that my theory is not to scold him so that he will feel guilty... coz scold liao next time if it is me then won't i be slapping my own face... heehee...

Jacelyn
Ethan is michelle's boi... my boi is Ernest... heehee... both also E confused u liao huh?? u n bb xun feeling better?? give him a pat on his buttocks lor... hahaha...

JSP, shucks! YAH I am in a state of confusion liaoz la... duh .. no wonder when i type ethan like weird weird one ... must be too much medication lo :p
haiz just went to see doc for the 3rd TIME! Have never been so sick in my entire life man. Doc say the previous dose of antibiotics too mild .. now doubled dosage .. duh waste my time leh .. anyway thanks for your wen hou!

bb xun flu seems to be better but just feverish which we think is the teeth. Her stomach also full of medicine leh.. poor bb...

hmmm but she is still full of energy. This weekend she has learnt a few things:
1) Chasing after us in her walker - she is now very proficient in it and can literally 'run' in it;
2) knows where to look for people when she dun see anyone - automatically go into our room when she dun see me .. then when i shout xun xun, she will roll out and 'run' towards me (still in her walker la)
3) knows how to play peek-a-poo
4) Knows how to fa1 xiao jie pi qi .. will cry out loud and keep kicking her legs at me if bu shuang!

Its quite amazing when i think back of how she has grown up so quickly!!!

Jacelyn
aiyo... both of u so poor thing leh... must rest well hor... drink loads of fluid too... gd to hear that bb xun is feeling better lor... Ernest is also very gd in chasing after pple in his walker and will run super fast lor... so if kenna banged by him will blue black one lor... super chor lor one...

yah la the stupid virus just keep ding dong-ing here and there.. so dumb
waiting for bb xun to recover then can bring her out! She has been confined at home for 3 weeks liao.

Hannah, i also spent quite a bit of time deciding whether to stop or not. Then after 1 month, i finally decided that i want to start doing somethings for myself (use my lunch time for gym instead :p) so i stopped bfing lo. U have been great le. Whether u stop or not now, u are still a great mother!! Dun be sad ok?

Hi promfet.. when is your bb born..U mean your baby isnt ready for any solid food oso?? i feel abit giveup him on feeding him solid food.. as previously i oso had wasted 2 satchets of Nestle porridge which he rejected n this hardly found in supermarket..Plus oso i din dare to start cooking porridge as it would be a waste if he totally don eat..bcos i oledy have phobia on eating baby porridge for almost 1yr plus from my lao da n now he doesnt like eating soft baby food even he's 2yrs old oni..I tink i will try giving him solid food later ard 10mths plus...

hannahl,

*pat pat*, you have been great! Given your circumstances (ie, no private place to pump, high work stress and low ss), I think I would have given up liao.

bbp,

Exactly! Same as my theory! only dunno whether true or not..hehe

Jacelyn,

Get well soon! I am still having cough too but 90% recovered liao. BB xun also get well soon so mummy can bring you out!!

ARGGHHHH!!!! I cannot make it on Thursday.. I got lunch meeting!!!!!!!!!! pek chek... But never mind, you girls still want to eat heh mee rite? I coordinate the list here... you girls continue...

Date: 2nd April (Thursday)
Time: 12.15pm
Venue: Zion Road Food Centre (across Great World City)

(1) PB
(2) Qing
(3) Smiggleprincess
(4) Michelle
(5) JSP
(6) Rena
(7) Bluey
(8) dustee-loveeees-heh-meeeeee

so pek chek and i feel paiseh to keep rescheduling... please proceed without me...

Is this the final list?

Hannahl
I can takeover the HT oat from u since I'm abt to go out n buy, but hw to get from u??....hehe
I already confirm my Ember is a fussy eater n very fussy at that. N ppl around already tell me its like that 1 kid will be everything also eat n the other will be a very fussy eater. Like need to strike a balance like that....hahaha
N worse thing is she hates porridge n the amt of cereals she take is little too. Until I'm so lazy to even cook to try feed her.

Dun think negative lah its already good that u have managed to bf for 8 mths. less supply means ur body telling u to rest already. So jus rest lah. The best you can give ur kids is a happy mummy.

morning all..

bbp - trf monies to u liao.. hee.. looks like ur BP was really successful!! but alot of work involved hor? hee

youpi - received ur trf! thanks!

HT UPDATES:

HT stil hasn't contacted me so my assumption is that stocks are not in yet.. i tried caling ytday but din manage to get thru.. will be acalling again today.. sorry to those gals who are in urgent need of ur stuff..

cellow.. i also know i need rest.. But if still continue to pump then sure has to sacrifice sleeping time leh. Now i only pump 3X per day liao lah. Yesterday, while watching the recorded show, yi nan wang, i kept rewinding coz dozed off while pumping then missed on some parts.

My hubby already unhappy coz he said i always pumping milk, if not then i'm always with the kids. Said he has been ignored for VERY long liao. And i can't reason with him on this.. I agree to a certain extent, but i really dun have much time left to myself either. Quarrelled over these issues for many times liao.

I also dong for very long liao. Initially my aim is only to tahan till she's 6mths, then i can wear back my underwired bras and look good, and wear nice nice during cny. Then i bu she de, hung on till now, she's 9 mths liao loh

Then i see now ss like so pathetic, and so much work in office, plus the kids are juz doing nothing constructive when i'm pumping at home. Then after pump, attend to celeste's needs, etc,etc. And lazy to go out coz gotta lug the heavy pump out, etc, etc (Too tiring to use a manual pump lah). And hubby unhappy.

So all adds up so i thot maybe has to stop pumping lah.

Jacelyn, u dun put bumper around the cot?

Is the walker safe for bb xun & ernest??? Must not leave them unattended hor? Sounds scary leh

batgirl, thanks.

dor, all my children are fussy eaters leh
On the HT cereals, will u be going down to Orchard area during weekdays? U said Ember dun like cereals? But she likes HT ones? PM me to discuss? Or can someone collect for u?

hannahl
hehehe... i usually put Ernest in the walker when i'm there to play wif him... like catching so that he can roam ard... not that scary lah... jus make sure things are kept properly can liao... budden usually put him in for awhile to play oni... then he'll eh eh eh and wanna be carried liao...

hi mummies..

smiggleP: your boss gave you the letter ah?? oh no..dun worry...take the chance to rest a bit and spend quality time with kayden while you hunt for a better job ok? need to close the first door to open the next right? ;)

SAHM: ya.. not easy.. during maternity leave, I recall running out of the shower numerous times dripping wet to tend to the crying baby.. or like how I kena major tummy ache while feeding baby halfway.. haha youpi's right..bathe with door open.. bring bb monitor into the bathroom wiv you.. or last resort: endure crying bb in cot for a short while..

diapers: i still have 2 packs of pampers at home leh.. dunno if I should get more or not.. it's his huggies dry that's running out but the spree dun have leh..

bbG LURVES his porridge.. and he's gonna start having that for lunch n dinner now on weekdays but yikes.. I oredi ordered another 4 packs of cereal for him.. and have one more in my drawer.. use it when going out I guess...

crystal: I'll pay you altogether for both batches ok? can still change orders or not?

hannah: I'm down to one pump per day now this week and the ss drops very fast.. I was very heavy hearted but decided that he's probably fine without it now (a GP once told me 6 months is more than enough.. although of course if you can go on it'd be good) but someone recently did tell me too, dat amidst of us all being busy being moms... not to forget and neglect our big babies (the hubbies), which is true to a certain extent.. so dun shut your hubby out... try to find time to spend wiv him.. be it eating breakfast together.. talking while going to work together or watever you can think of lah....

okie dokie.. time to start slogging.. arrgh! hava good day everyone!

*PAGING FOR DOGGIEBB*

is this week's KINDERMUSIK trial session still on? let us know? think this is the latest list:

Date: 5 April (sun)
Time: 10 am
Price: $25.47
1. do1nk & bbG
2. cin_bunny & sophie (5th April, cos away easter weekend)
3. qing & Barbie (5 April boz 12th not in SG)
4. cellow and FZC (prefer 5 apr bcz not easter!)
5. Garfield & G (5 or 12 april fine)
6. Wave & wifey & Darius
7. smiggleprincess & Kayden
8. jacelyn & bbxun (your name kena dropped out?)
9. doggiebb & thaddeus??

Date: 12 April (sun)
Time: 10 am
1. batgirl & wuffy (I like this nre nick of his!) (12 April ... 5th i in msia, Qing Ming Festival)
2. anyone else?? dustee & pomfret if it's a later weekend right?

Date: weekday
Time:
1. SY & Jx
2. another mummy who wanted weekdays?

ps: I never know how to bold or colour the words here..someone teach this IT-idiot here?

hannahi,
orrh. yes HB's support v impt. be happy - Celeste got 9 months of milk already! all the best with your new helper! delegate or put aside what you can at work.... yes, easier said than done.
HB usually chit chats w me while Cedric is feeding (budden he latches la). then ah boy also wants to join in the conversation - the kaypoh kia.
usually it is me who wants to give up, then he will say "ok dear, watever makes you happy" and then tell me - tmr then make the decn ok. today u r feeling moody and irritable. sure make wrong decisions one.
...hm... seems like that is his std response to my moods!
suggestion on collecting HT fm dordor! (I just kaypoh onli la) who stays near you in the NE? got so many gatherings (heh mee, kayden's 1st birthday, kindermusik etc) surely sm1 stays near you and is able to collect fm dordor.

Sleepy baby
this morning, I had to wake Cedric up fm his sleep to go to my aunt's place. Babies are so cute when they just wake up and they look at you w sleepy eyes.... eew. wanna pinch his cheeks!

cellow
sama sama leh... this morning also gotta wake Ernest up from his slp coz i need to go to work lor... he super grumpy lor... cry coz he still wanna slp... i think this morning weather super cooling for slpin... hehehe...