(2008/07) July 2008

Rena, the swim suit without the float and neck ring, I think is actually quite comfy and body hugging.. how else would he fall so soundly asleep leh? hee hee....

Hi doggiebb,

Nice to see you here too! We wanna go visit the dog run at Bishan Park and meet up with you and family soon (+ Cookie)~ ^^

HT STUFF

HT stuff arrived at my place liao. give me some time to sort it out and all k.. coz i working late today, hb working tmr.. so earliest collection prob is either sun or mon

my no is 91266670.. sms me k

dor dor,
I actually dun mind being the alarm clock cos let's just face it, if hubby uses the clock, it will definitely wake me up first anyway. But both of us got super bad habit... always lai chuang and go "5min more please".

Hannahl,
Nothing wrong with swinging legs la, I find it rather cute also. But sometimes it does get quite irritating... thud thud thud.

batgirl,
Aah, icic. Next time must tell the whole story ok?

Cellow,
Bo bian. As I told dor dor, the alarm will wake me first lor. Last time my brother also like that. Alarm ring until I can hear from my room. So I wake up, walk to his room, turn off the alarm, go "eh, alarm ring liao la". Brother mumbles something, I go back my room & continue zzzz.

Michelle,
Yes yes, I agree. I think they can't keep still. Cos there was this time I stopped his legs, and then... his hands started sweeping the bed

Spa outlet - did they try to sell u anything? I always very scared they will hardsell one.
Baby food - yeah! Then I can eat

Whine - yup, but Declan does it everywhere. Can you please get Ethan to teach Declan to STAY in his stroller too??? Eh, realise Declan needs to learn alot of things from Ethan...
Hair - Ethan has more hair than Declan!

Jacelyn,
Thanks! Batgirl too!
Yup yup, my colleague has lotsa milk & can't take fish. Small piece of fish (smaller than palm size) then kena engorgement liao.

Wavesurfer,
Hi, welcome! Next Wed's mommies are all SAHMs
But sometimes some mommies take leave to join in the gatherings.

youpi,
3 strands?? Sounds like Porky from Bookworm Club :p

raffles place lunch on tuesday
do1nk
pinkbunny
Jacelyn
doggiebb (wearing a helmet)hehehe!
bbp

dustee,

if you are talking about the clips itself, i saw it at Spotlight before. But hor, quite expensive i remembered, think it's 2 for $12. so it's actually cheaper to buy ready made. unless u want to do alot then can buy from overseas website. =)

ha. doggiebb. you dare to come ah? your helmet better be thick thick hor! keke

michelle
yes poppy sleeps through the night (but occasionally these days waking up to cry for milk so latch her on) BUT always sleep must latch on. be it nap or night.

rena
oh no. backache is terrible! my physiotherapist is emmanuel physio at liat towers. i highly recommend them. i have been going to them for many years since my car accident. i have a whiplast injury that will sadly never go away. and whenever i need a crack for my back, i'll go there.

http://www.emmanuelphysio.com/ i think it's $80 for the first session cos there is an assessment, then subsequently it is $70

latest - poppy has learnt about gravity. she loves sitting on her high chair and dropping her toys on purpose so that i will pick up for her. it's her favourite game now. yippee.

pb,
gravity games - cedric has been doing that for 2 weeks liao. like PD said, he is learning cause n effect. cause - throw things on ground, effect - mummy (or sm other adult) picks up and puts back on the tray of the rattan momma/bb chair.

geez, i wanted to post pix of that chair for a long time. where oh where is the cable to connect the digital camera to the laptop?

michelle,
ethan is not that botak wat.

youpi, bbp,
LOL on comparing L's 3 strands to Porky fm the bookworm club

milk supply
must b all of you, but my supply seems to have indeed gone up a bit today. 10am - 150ml (woohoo!); 130pm - 90ml. YAY! thank you thank you.
... and i met the spreeist for the Medela Freestyle over lunch, and got my new pump today... new toy. now i just hafta get an universal adaptor to start using my new Freestyle.

bbp,
Thanks for the info. My wife is a SAHM too. ^^

Rena,
Quite interested in the upcoming gathering but dunno my wife and I will feel weird or not, since I just leapt into this thread today. ^^|

hi WaveSurfer welcome! I was just wondering how did the rest know you are a guy? Sorry ah .. me not observant enough to notice that :p hee
I am sure the rest will welcome u la! dun be shy. I also seldom appear one but just thick thick skin go lo wahahaha :p

Gathering,

Could some helpful mummies could you help me to post the changing of time and date.. Mummies I will need to change the open house to Tuesday 10 march. Same time..

Thanks cox I am outside and now using Itouch to surf net.

Jacelyn,

Haha probably by my nickname or from the way I type? I'm curious too. ^^|

Okay will discuss with my wife first. Also have to provide my leave gets approved by boss...

Rena,

Noted the change of date.

TGIF
)..I am sooooo happy it's finally friday..this morning, hubby woke up, looked at me and said : today is friday! when you come home tonight, can don't work ok? (i felt so bad !! cos every night i work from 8pm till 1am most night (earliest also wil be midnite)..so i said, ok ok. no work tonight - but did not tell him got to work this weekend..so xian!

welcome welcome to wavesurfer - sorry, i like jacelyn, didnt know you were a guy too

isetan private sale - hmm, i wanna go buy bottles :D

cellow - clap clap on increasing MS

Maple - i want muffin recipe too..

PinkB - i let u try ergo ..it's great!

back to work..have a good weekend all

Rena
Change of date noted. Have PM-ed you my number

Wavesurfer
Welcome! You are the second daddy in this thread
But the first daddy to join us has 'disappeared'.

Mapleaf
Received the recipe, thanks! You know, it is simple for you but too complicated for me :\

Bbp, Cellow
You all ah, are very young leh. I have no idea who Porky from the Bookwoem club is

Michelle
Baby food - yes! Maybe I can get my small eater to boost his solid meal portions. Right now he's averaging 50ml for his puree+cereal mix.

Jacelyn,
Nope, I was equally oblivious of WaveSurfer's gender until the last post of his wife being a SAHM. So you're not blur la..

Youpi,
Who was the first daddy?

Oops, change of Rena's open house means I will have to take myself out of the Raffles lunch.

do1nk

I just bought another 50cts milk bags. I prefer Lansinoh milk bags, never used other brand of milk bags before.

Bluey

The zebra cake is steamed cake, isn't it?? Looks nice.

Cellow

You are still pumping so many times at work. I only pump once. Before Josh eat solid, BM supply is equally his intake. Supply actually drop, but since Josh eats 2 meals got spare BM to stock.

Jacelyn

I got breast infection twice when baby was 2 and 3 months. The key to prevent infection for me is don't take papaya fish soup and only Medela pump suits me.
I drank papaya fish soup and got bad engorgement, until Josh didn't know how to suck. Then, kenna scold by my mom. She said, I don't know eat for what.

Michelletan

How to choose ikan bilis? Can I choose the tiny ones? I don't want to clean the stomach.

cin_bunny, bbp,youpi,
Thanks for the welcomes. ^^

Heh probably this thread is meant for mummies so it's unexpected for a daddy to come in~ :p

Good to hear another daddy had attempted the 'unconventional' too. Hopefully he will re-surface here again after seeing my participation.

cin_bunny... you are working too hard!!! hope you can slow down once in a while and enjoy family life loh... dun over work ok?? anyway, how was your maid hunt? you got any helper oredi??

doggiebb, you know wavesurfer ah? your hubby friend ah? wah... got male in our thread, when we bash our char tao hubby, how ah?? hee hee... was there a guy in our thread too?? what is the nick?? scarly always refer him as HER.. paiseh...

uhm, how to choose ikan bilis ah? i also dunno leh.. the ones my mom bot are already quite small and still got black black think in the small small stomach loh.. my helper took half a day to painstakingly remove them one by one.. maybe in her mind she must be thinking "*&^&*#&$ little baby so much work, got wash, got to wipe, got to do so many things (*&*(&*$#*&$(*".. hee hee..

michelle

i tell you. how we met wavesurfer is super funny. me and his wife were induced on the same day at tmc. bb darius and bb thaddeus have the same birthday! before we were wheeled into the labour wards, we were in opp beds so wavesurfer and mr Doggie were outside and they started talking.

then somehow they chanced upon our blog and we have been talking to each other through our blogs!

Haha indeed, the world is full of coincidences. mr Doggie (hope he doesn't blame me calling his nick) gave me good advices then and I learnt quite a lot about parenting from him.

Unfortunately, we were kinda too engrossed in our conversation and delayed our checks on our poor, suffering wives in the observation ward... ^^|

I believe bb Thaddeus was born sometime in the late afternoon, while bb Darius only decided to arrive in this world in the night. Was a long and tiring delivery experience then.

Blueberry Muffin recipe
Have emailed & Pm-ed all interested mummies alreadi. Anyone keen to make some soon? Maybe we can have a muffin-making cum tasting session someday

Youpi,
Maybe can show you someday then you might say...actually so easy one huh?

Cellow,
lol on pm-ing mapleaf for mapleaf...

Rena,
Got the message...now next week gathering at your place changed to Tue instead of Wed.

Wavesurfer
Welcome! Good to have a daddy's point of view also...perhaps we can now understand why guys cannot automatic give flowers to their wives :p

Human alarm clock
Me too...i'm a light sleeper somemore so no choice have to wake up first...plus scared after hubby late for work then his ricebowl crack...

Sale sale sale
Can non-members go to isetan sale? When start? Interested in avent bottles & tiger food container lei... Taka sale
,i wanna go too! Oh dear...so many sales...spend $ then hubby face black black.

Oh about doggiebb's blog, my wife has actually already been reading it during her pregnancy times (not sure if she had even started reading before she got preg). So when she was showing me the blog post of doggiebb's delivery experience of bb Thaddeus when he was around 1 month old, only then I realised the person I had been talking with at TMC was her hb! ^^|

doggiebb,
i thot u were a very secure wife mah!
would i ask a lady to call my HB? hmm. food for thought.

so funny, how you 2 met.
just like how youpi met mr cellow 1st outside the delivery ward. and somehow she knew it was me in the delivery ward hor.

youpi,
did i ever mention tt mr cellow was startled at that time?

any of your darlings haven't grown teeth yet??
My gal is turning 8 mths yet not a single tooth has sprouted.... chamzz

not willing to eat solids also..

mapleaf,
Thanks. Flowers? What flowers...? o_0|
Maybe my pt of view might not be a good representation of the general male population out there, since I have already unconventional participated in the female-dominated discussions here. ^^|

doggiebb,
I just thought Wavesurfer got to know your hubby first at the doggie run, so naturally would have gotten his number first? Hmm, that didn't really sound that logical when I type it out.

Cellow,
Why was Mr Cellow startled?

The night I delivered at Mount Alvernia, I was the only one delivering then. All the other delivery suites were empty....

haha cellow very stressed at work til at the verge of going cuckoo? -> was doing the monologue above (abt dordor's hubby not waking up to alarm clock) there are times dat I work til everything seems funny n i end up laughing.. geez am I really going mad haha

rena: double boil does not mean slow cooker right? wah quite xiong leh like dat.. double boil porridge?

bbp: swinging legs very cute leh.. i juz find that these little things our little bb do are so cute hor.. melts the heart...

wah bluey... u been baking again huh.. the other time forgot to try at smiggleP's house...

hannah: ya.. i started supplementing since bb was 5mo.. when his appetite grew but not my supply..ya it was the over-pumping from early days dat got it wounded.. now yielding a very pathetic 6-7oz per day and it's still dipping.. think the end is drawing near for me..
haha you very solid leh pumping at your table.. LOL to clients wondering why u r seated wiv big shawl haha

HT: batgirl..u helping the RP people pick up?? I'm one of them ok? hehehe

crawling: think I'll give up making bbG try.. coz the moment I put him on tummy onli dat lazy fella complains n complains... n now he's moved backwards instead!

peas are sweet hor? maybe I should intro this first...where do we get fresh ones though?

michelle: ethan looks different from the last time we saw him (simei gathering) hor...

food jar vs lunch jar: think the former is one big compartment onli and the latter has different sections so can do as what michelle said right? Coz i bought the food jar...one big compartment wan.. cannot keep separate sections wan

welcome wavesurfer... hey r u a doggie owner too? frequent the dogrun? eh juz realised it's the hubby posting.. a rare few..like the 1st daddy youpi pointed out..some Mr something..whose wife gave birth on same day as someone else here if i recall correctly.. was wondering why doggiebb asking wavesurfer (thought was a mummy) to contact her hubby hahahha

are all hubbies the same? I'm my hubby's alarm clock that comes wiv a snooze 5 mins button which he uses many times a day!!

high chair fun: their new location gave them a new game.. mine likes to peer down to see what he's dropped (he even yanks those wiv suction to throw them off!).. or can twist 180deg backwards to kaypoh see who's walked in thru the door...

cellow: how much u paid for the pump ah? enjoy the pump.. i think it's good.. hope you got the sofit shields though.. more comfy..my friend keen now...dun mind buying 2nd hand too.. anyone know any lubang for it?

RP Kolo Mee Gathering on 10 mar 09:
do1nk
pinkbunny
Jacelyn
doggiebb (wearing a helmet)hehehe!
bbp (come leh.. wanna see declan again)

may have to meet early coz can get quite crowded.. do u all have flexi lunch hours?

talking abt bumping into each other at hospitals back then... batgirl.. have always wanted to know how you discovered me at NUH too hehe

i really have no recollection of seeing you leh.. maybe i was too stunned from the delivery haha

yngmum,
Our bb Darius doesn't have any tooth yet either, though he has been showing signs of teething since several months back. Not much of a concern to us, though we did notice his top teeth may be the firsts to sprout. Have started him on semi-solids since one or two months back.

do1nk,
Hihi, nopes we don't have a dog, but do enjoy the company of pets. Unfortunately bb Darius is still too young to appreciate them, but guess no harm letting him expose to more animals. Brought him to the Zoo a while back but he was more interested in the trees and leaves... ^^|

do1nk,
Moving backwards is usually the first step of crawling proper!
Got clash leh... but if meet early, maybe can go to BOTH gatherings
Heh heh.

Re High Chair Fun:
Declan likes to sit 90degrees to the right, with the right leg on the chair instead of dangling. Then occasionally like to turn and eat the back rest.

bbp, sama sama! I tot the they got to know wavesurfer through the doggie run!
And honestly I dun quite remember how all of you look like liaoz ... so when we meet up on tues pls pardon a blur blur me.

Hmm we are gathering on Tues for Kolo mee right? Seems like gathering at Rena's also Tues??

yeah do1nk is right!

this place is horrendous at lunchtime. can the few of you who are coming, come a bit earlier like 11.45?

wavesurfer: we bring doggie n bb to the dog run on sun mornings! u can come say hi to both! thought they may be too young to appreciate zoo outings now.. but mine loves his older brother (our doggie) coz grew up together..

ikan bilis ...
if you are afraid of the bone or black things, put the ikan bilis in a small cloth bag (like tea bag) and boil it with porridge.

For me, I bake the ikan bilis till crisp, grind them to powder. When it's meal time, I just add them to the porridge.

If not, use dried silver fish, but it is a bit more expensive than ikan bilis. It is "cleaner".

blur me ... how many gatherings are there?

Baking,
my "coylick" actually email us 1 recipe so we decided to bake and then share it in office.

http://azcookbook.wordpress.com/2008/02/15/zebra-cake/

lalalala 430pm liaoz ... counting down to off work ... 1.5hrs more only! hee hee
*sorry ah I siao liaoz .. just cant wait for weekend to come man!*

Bluey, that crispy ikan bilis sounds nice. So you mean u grind until powder like then put into porridge? Hmm just wondering if it will lose its nutrients after baking? But it indeed sounds nice.
2 gatherings
both on tues 10 Mar
1) Raffles place for Kolomee
2) Rena's place

Rayna,
So our babies all have the same birth dates? Cool! Where was your delivery? Ours at TMC.

do1nk,
I see~ Sunday mornings sound good (roughly what time?). May drop by from our home at Woodlands this coming Sunday but how will we be able to recognise you and family?