(2008/07) July 2008

Huggies Ultra price seems okie to me cos now NTUC normally sale already $14+ liao. But if cannot send individually abit troublesome.

Cos hard to order 5 cartons at 1 go as I already have 2 cartons of fitti comfort at home......hahaha

dordor,
i will take the alarm clock and throw at HB's head if he still doesnt wake up after half an hour. u are v patient!

... ya, you can tell him that one of your fellow mummy frens said that, and to appreciate that you dun do that *wink*
makes u look good in comparison
bwahahahaha.

ok i m going cuckoo. back to work.

michelle
chope i know someone said before so i paisay to ask again..... you wash the BEE first then grind? must dry first? same with ikan bilis? (10 mins later) oh you answer liao. walau eh do siong!!!!!!!!!!

huggies
ntuc now selling $16.50. the red pack. ck also

dustee
haha in the end i went to jurong point one. walau eh you bought so many diapers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! power, you! IARRRR!!! how is ergo? you like?

who working raffles place area. i meeting do1nk on tues 10 mar for luncjh. who want to join? KOLO MEE!!!!!!! doggiebb is also welcomed even tho she satisfied MY craving...

eh, PB, I dun grind the rice first then cook wor... I cook first, then grind the pork/fish/vege all together, the texture is pasty.. only to prepare ikan bilis got to do all those siong steps loh... rgding the ikan bilis, it was a collaborative effort - my mom bot and washed the ikan bili, my helper chopped the head and cleaned the stomach (this one most siong), my MIL dry fry... have not grind yet cos cook with porridge then grind together. Uhm, as to how much to mix, i told you my MIL put in a lot of ingredients one (made the taste really strong). I normally cook half cup of rice for a full day, with a piece of fish/pork and a few flowers of Brocolli, then grind all together, can feed twice for the day loh...

Michelle,
i'm not v sure abt it i have email her abt the correct price n pc in each pkt than i let u guys know hor .....

Isetan Private Sale
12 march is for members ........

girls,
my supply dipped to 250ml today. WEH!

so little, only 2 feeds - barely.
Today I really feed like stopping. *mentally take a deep breath*
I S.h.a.l.l continue for one more day.
Maybe stress at work + not enuf sleep is affecting supply.

qing, LOL on your jia milk.

smiggle, u r funny! really got #2, then so be it lor.

Just got hold of a blueberry muffin recipe from my mum. Remembered one mummy asking for it, but cannot recall who. Anyway, any mummies interested, do pm me okie. My mum made delicious muffins using this fairly simple method.

michelle
just to make sure - you cook the porridge then grind it together with the ingredients? or cook porridge then add grinded ingredients.... sorry ah...

walau i really did not know ikan bilis must remove stomach lor. i never even realised they had stomachs

cellow
don't stress don't stress! stress will reduce supply one! just relak jack and ommmmmmmmm. drink loads of fluids!

mapleaf
ok i want!

lobang
jshoppers.com is having a free shipping promotion till 31 mar!
*put on armour b4 i get piaked*

unfortunately i got nthg to buy...

ok, like cook our porridge like that. Boil the bee, then soft like porridge liao, put in pork (cut small cubes), keep stirring until pork cooked, put in vege. Normally i put in fish last. Keep stirring under small fire until everything become soft and breaks, let it cool a bit, put in grinder and grind. Normally still got the porridge water to grind lah, thats why need to keep stirring so that it doesnt dry up so soon. Got it?

Serene, thanks 4 checking! Taka baby fair, isetan private sale, woo hoo!

Michelle,
My sil was a nutritionist.. Mention if porridge under direct fire many good vitamins will be gone . That is why i use the double boil method and porridge will be soft and 10 mins before eating then add veg..

mapleleaf
pm u already

rena
wll let u know whether i going to your house

re swim gathering
think will push it back cos raining everyday! let me know who want to come

michelle
JX can hi 5 with E. she fell asleep while bathing. i was wondering why she kept leaning forward when bathing. she hd faling sleep

think best not to make the porridge too nice. my fren;s gal rejects milk cos porridge too tasty.

rena
i use the tiger jar to cook the porridge. will that affect the vitamins? boil like 5-10 min then put inide the jar to cook

PB
killiney road has KOLO mee. one of my fav food when i was working there.

re isetan sale/taka bb fair
any mummies wan to chiong for both?

do1nk,
Declan swings his legs when he gets the opportunity, even when feeding! So while nursing him, I will hear his feet hitting the bed. &thud thud thud*

dor dor,
Yes, I would like to see live demo please! Can't wait!
Hubby & alarm - The purpose of my hubby's alarm is to wake me up, so that I can wake him up.

bluey
nice what! so stylo

girls,
not sure if i have shared before but i suddenly remembered. in the recipe book i bought 'first foods', it's written by dieticians and apparently they did a study. porridge cooked this way is more nutritious:

cook porridge plain (using water or stock) and then adding separately cooked ingredients last. instead of cooking together.

not sure about taste though

cellow
I kick hubby each time his alarm starts ringing n harder if he doesn't stir. I'm not that patient but he is the dead to the world kind. The kind that wakes every morn n assume his kids do not need night feeds cos he does not get awaken by them at all!!

bbp
So technically u are his alarm....hehehe

bluey
Nice......aiyo u very bad leh show me cake nw. I gotta find something for my itchy mouth liao.

N SY i want the oatmeal cookie receipe please n mapleaf blueberry muffins too!! Thanx

WOAH!! this is a lot of posts!!! *pant pant*

Cellow, no..unfortunately it is not day trip. Just finished meeting...now pumping... damn tired..tomorrow catching first flight back - gotta wake up at 5am...to pump.... *-*

And no lar...your eye bags not that noticeable leh.... dun worry lar...

Dustee, Rena,

Thanks for the contact.. will surf tomorrow ba..today too shack liao... Dustee, I meant got any shopping centre sell..i can go and try..hehehe..dun want to bother you lar... but really good for you back huh..

bbp,

Mine likes to swing his legs! left leg first, then right leg, then both legs.... he enjoys it i think. When we scold him, he will stare at us and yes, swing his legs, as if asking "What did i do wrong?"..

bluey,
Eh,cannot post pics of food at night one la. If make me hungry how? Where to find food at night plus it's thunderstorming leh....

Re nutritious porridge:
I am one lazy mommy & probably a bad one at that. But who else feels "What's wrong with porridge cooked the normal way????"

dor dor,
Wah, your hubby really dead to the world leh. Mine still not so bad. But dunno why must need human alarm one.

Batgirl,
I don't think Wu Feng knows that it's wrong to shake legs la. Too young me thinks. I wonder if it's a boy thing. Declan, Gordon, Wu Feng. No girls yet leh.

bbp
Maybe ur hubby feels happier every morn got his wife to wake him ma......hehehe
Or he jus wants company to make sure he's not the only 1 up.....hahaha
My hubby really dead 1 lah. Even when I go bath n leave him incharge of the sleeping kids(he confirm will sleep 1), I have to open the door n scream at him to attend to them when I hear the kids cry. But that's why I am the sahm n not him right....hahaha

PB
Ur ergo sport collected liao??

batgirl
I think they(mummy'smilk) allow you to try if u bother to travel all the way there.....hehehe
But really lor if u have used normal carriers u would feel the difference once u buckle the ergo on. Bb machiam no weight 1.....hehehe

batgirl, only 6 mths to clear ML?? Ai yo!! I act blur loh
Btw my boss already claimed the 3 mths ML pay from the govt at 3 mths exactly. Ya.. my ML is fully recoverable...

Yes, i'll JIA YOU!!!

Oh dear, u going BKK.. Sure will miss Wufeng... When will u be back? U gonna pump milk there then throw away?

cellow, true, if i've enuf ss, i'll surely be like u, bm all the way. But.. problem is i dun have.. Ur 300ml is pump how often, each time how much? So u r into the 2 hrly pump session again? Wanted to draw up the schedule, juz too lazy lah.. Ok, will try to do it soon!!

Cedric only on 1 time semi-solids?

Wakes at 5am is quite ok already, i think, coz he slept at 930pm.

Ya, cinbunny, what happened to the bbsitter? So now who os looking after sophie?

do1nk. guess the appetite won't be gd if he's still unwell. For me, i add in egg yolk. Lazy to prepare food lah since it has all the good stuff in it. Most importantly, juz boil the egg nia. But i buy those more expensive ones lah, although dun know if there is a difference. But celeste dun really like so i mix with pumpkin

Ya, I pump at my desk with a nursing cover, from obuba. Very spacious & thick. But will be very hot if there is no air con. My client once asked if i'm feeling very cold when he saw me all covered with it!! Haha!! No room in my office loh so bo bian. Plus pump there then i can do my work so not so disruptive. Later my boss make noise

Initially i walked all the way to nursing room at plaza sing. To & fro already half an hr which i think it's pure madness. And i dun want to pump in the toilet also. Then my avent pump no battery operated mah. Manual will take me a century to finish also.

I'll nvr manage with hand expressing!! So u have to supplement fm? How much u yielding, since u only express twice daily? Why wounded since u r hand expressing? The pump causing your breasts to get wounded?

Hope u get well soon!!

bbp, what's so bad abt swinging the legs?

Qing, me of course tired.. But how else if i dun wake up? My ss very low leh.. So usually i'll sleep after celeste is asleep, then wake up again loh. Like what i'm doing now
I woke at 3am!!

doggiebb, wow your fz a big eater (drinker?) also!!

dustee, it's a blessing to be able to stay at home with pomfret without having to worry over the financial part. Guess maybe it's the staying with ILs that is the problem?

I bought the mag mag from pigeon. Celeste chew chew with her toothless gum, then she knows how to suck!!!
Btw anyone knows why there are 2 types of mag mag, one more ex then the other?? I bought both, but only opened the cheaper one.

And she knows how to clap her hands when told to!! Smart girl!! My mum taught one lah ;)

Better go and sleep now. Tmw has a meeting

woah hannah! U wake up so early!!!yea..coming back today... now pumping milk..but i think they are still sleeping - No Milk. probably cos i pumped close to midnite lar..haven't refill yet. :p

bbp, oh i did not mean that swinging legs is a bad thing. Got story - There was one occasion when Wufeng was sitting on the bumbo on the dining table. He reached out, grabbed my sister's newspaper and started tearing it. My sister scolded him, he cried. My sister complained to my parents, my parents also go, "Wu Feng you cannot tear the newspapers!", he promptly stopped crying, stared at my parents innocently and started swinging his legs......and started tearing the papers again... *faint*

Can't remember who mentioned that there are no spoilt babies.... are you sure there are no spoilt babies? but i think they definitely know who they can "bully" :p

HT cereals,

Oh! They are here liao ah! Yippee! Crystal, I probably pick it up from you on Sunday evening.

mapleaf
have pm u for the mapleaf

re swim gathering
me!! me!! but i cant make it on wed. so hoping that it will not be that day ....hehee

re isetan sale/taka bb fair
only going for the taka fair ,wan to use my voucher

bluey
it does looks tasty....feel like having a bite of it.

dor dor
lol on kicking hubby

Re nutritious porridge
me too a lazy mummy ,just dump all in a bowl and stream the food...wrong way huh?

bbp/dor dor
me too is my hubby human alarm clock. he will tell me before night wat time to wake up n ask me to wake him up.like setting up the alarm...

hannah
the egg yolk is for bb ? not sure ur bb how old liao but my PD told me to give egg yolk to tess when she 9mths and slowly increase till 1 yrs old to have the whole egg.

human alarm clock
bah! tessmummy, bbp and dordor, you are just tooo nice.

nuritious porridge
PB,
i hv the same book and their way of cooking porridge is recommended if wanna preserve the nutrients. but but but v lay chey leh.

tessmummy,
u PM mapleaf for the mapleaf?? heh. [of cz i know perfectly well that u pm mapleaf for blueberry muffin recipe]

bluey,
wow. lucky i din see this pix last night. sure hungry one.

spoilt bbs > 1 yr
batgirl,
definitely cedric knows who to bully - helper! bcz mummy and daddy will just put him down to yell his frustration out. he usually stops after a min or so.

hannahi,
ystday bz at work and also fretting abt something else (see later section). so din manage to pump as often in offc - only 10am (100ml), 1pm (80ml), 330pm (70ml), came to a total of 250ml. Looking at my work schedule today... think can only do 4 pumps today in offc.
everyday, cedric draws on my frozen milk bank. i had 20+ frozen packs pre-jakarta; this morning, i counted, only 8 packs left. *sob*

bluey, cake not nice? it sure looks yummy!

Batgirl, BBP, HI 5 to leg shaking. Ethan shakes leg once he is on his high chair.. shake non-stop... on his bed, he slam his foot.. that is how we know he is awake.. while drinking milk, he also kick his legs.. *thud thud thud*... it is normal i guess... babies active mah... cannot sleep still i guess.. some parts gotto move.. but it din occur to me that cannot let them shake leh.. i thought it was pretty cute leh...

nutritious porridge
My mom just bot me a small slow cooker, ask me to cook the porridge inside.. i guess i will start doing that tomorrow... more nutritious this way?

wow.. you BF mummies *kudos!*. Jia Milk Jia Milk! cellow.. dun stress over your reserves.. it will come naturally... GO FOR SPA!

Oh, forgot to info youpi, I went to the Spa outlet in City Hall.. last minute walk in type, costs about $58 for an hour asian oil full body massage. Shiok Shiok!

pb, yeah, i pump at my work station, no partition, no curtain, nothing. My desk is in a corner so still not so bad. When ppl walk in can c me lah but got one low partition in front of my desk. In fact my desk is juz in front of my boss' room. He walks in/out can see me
Sometimes he sees me pouring out the milk even. Sometimes when he wants to be funny he'll ask what are the 2 funnels doing on my table
Everyone in office knows i'm pumping milk when i put on the nursing cover. Plus now my motor got sound liao. But can't see thru the nursing cover coz it's big, thick & spacious. Only thing is i need to turn off the power if i need to be discreet when clients come in coz got sound coming out lah. Sometimes the clients might be wondering why i didn't stand up to talk to them. Juz talk sitting down, nvr even shake their hands. Heck lah
When the clients left then i turn on the motor again loh. Then occasionally when it's after 6 or my colleagues r not in, and he needs a short talk with me, he'll juz open his door & we talk at our own table. I juz turn & look at him nia. Hah!! Intercom can't see my face mah
When colleagues need to discuss work with me & it's pumping time, we also talk with me pumping away! No choice coz lotsa work to do in office.

The spinach can blend also?? End up like what huh? Easy to swallow?

smiggle, LOL on what happened...

PB, if meet at raffles pl, i may be able to join in, for a while only lah.

Ethan loves to play peek-a-boo now.. hide behind newspaper, or cloth or wall or chair... he will tilt his head to look out for you.. then when you appear, he chuckles out loud...

oh oh, last nite, he finally lifted his butt and move backwards.. that is the initial signs of crawling, rite? hee hee.....

hannah.. wah you are champion! making your work environment adapt to your pumping! Great job! solid lah you!!!

can lah.. spinach cook until soft, put everything in grinder to grind... it forms part of the paste loh.. then the porridge will turn a little green loh...

Hey, maybe next gathering I bring baby food! hee hee...

Does your baby whine a lot? Ethan is a little whiner.. he whines when we leave him alone, he whines when he drops things intentionally and we dun pick it up for him, he whines when we dun give him things he wants to reach.. he whines about everything! but only at home.. when he is out.. he is super guai.. can sit in the stroller all the time the whole day.. eat, sleep, drink milk.. brought him out from 2-7, he is in stroller from 2-7! but at home he is a different character! why the difference?

will post the recipe once i can put down naughty gal

her upper teeth is out. no wonder feverish

re cooking porridge
hmm i guess three will be some nutrients no matter how we cook it. for me i try to add the ingredients laast

re bb food
been experimenting withdiff combi. found tat she likes her porridge when i add peas

Michelle, bb xun is also like that. She whines when we dun give her attention and esp when we walk pass and dun carry her up but when she is outside, she is very guai. I guess its because we are always pushing them and they are distracted by things outside so not so bored thats why never whine. It seems like the bbs do know that they are not at home!

SY, I realise that bb tends to get feverish when upper teeth is coming out? Not so much for the lower teeth hor? Is it because the upper teeth is bigger and hence create more impact to them?

Hannahl, I pei fu u! Dun think i can feel at ease pumping at my seat and maybe my boss wun allow also la. they might complain me of harassment in office (dun ask me why but my office got some weird policy ... which i am pretty sure that will be considered harassment ...)
Lucky for me office got a nice nursing room ... errm which I dun use now. COme to think of it, makes me guilty.. I salute to u and cellow! JIA MILK!!!! Not to forget bbp and pb (did i miss out anyone??)! All nursing mums, jia you!!
*give yourself a pat at the back for going such a long way le!!*

Sorry ah so many broken posts. Just wanna share some tots.
I remember when I was partial BF-ing, I was wishing I got more milk and that my supply will > demand then wun be so stress that bb dun have enough milk. But now, I realise that each got its own set of problems.

My cousin in law got lots of milk which created alot of problem! Blocked ducts, infection coz cannot drag too long interval for pumping, die die must pump at 3-4 hrs interval everyday, sleep also must wake up to pump otherwise will get blocked ducts again. Wanna stop also cannot stop naturally coz will get blocked ducts so must take medicine to stop. After BFing for abt 3 months, she has been to KKH emergency for 3-4 times coz of blocked ducts, engorgement, lumps etc!
Wow seriously I think I was better. At least partial breastfeeding means can drag pumping time longer, not so easily engorged, wun be so prone to lumps or blocked ducts. At most supplement with FM and bb can still eat to her fill. I managed to last till 7 months coz I had an easier time breastfeeding.

Morale of story: too much or too little also no good. Just nice better. U see others good, they got their own set of problems too! Jia jia you ben nan yan de jing (every family got their own problems)!

Michelletan,

Like our baby, Ethan was probably enjoying watching the everchanging scenery and people walking around while in his stroller, whereas at home, our babies get lesser stimulation and gets bored easier. ^^

Sorry I'm new to this thread, though our son Darius was born in July 2008 too. I see that there is a gathering on next Wednesday, but noticed it's in the afternoon? Taking half-day leave from work or most of you are SAHMs?

dug out the 1st swimming photos .. hee...

This one shows his solid shark swim costume (with all the float and neck ring) which he does not like.. notice his botak?

2223073.jpg

This one shows he cry non-stop. notice he still bogay?

2223074.jpg

This one after swim, he finally satisfied not in cold water oredi... (which he also KO shortly after while changing him)

2223075.jpg

Michelle,

Thanks for sharing the photos; Ethan sure looks adorable in his swimsuit. ^^

I dug out some photos here to share too:

We bought Darius a tub and neck float and let him swim in it when he was like 5 months old.

2223145.jpg

We then brought him to a swimming pool when he was 6-month old.

2223146.jpg

Pb,cellow,
Yes ,even the double boil method is about same. I usually put the bee and the meat(bak tao), to cook and also huai San for about an hour then 5to 10 mins before eat I but in the veg..
More nutrient lock in....

Sy,
The veg should be cut smaller and put in raw then pour the hot cook poridge so your veg will not be over cook..

Michelle
Ethan is not botak what. He has hair sticking out at least an inch long. L has about three strands sticking out only.

Dustee
Your arm muscles must be very strong to be able to Ergo pomfret and carry four (or five) packs of diapers! Have you moved out of ILs house?

Mapleaf
I want the recipe too. Thanks!

SmiggleP
LOL on not being sure whether you created #2 last night.

Read properly later, got to go!

wavesurfer.. welcome to the thread.. wow, darius seem to enjoy both his swimming experience! so cool... which reminds me.. i also got a neck float.. why din i think of using that.. hmmm...

eh.. you shaved baby darius? he can join the botak club too! hee..

youpi, ethan not botak meh? ya.. he got a few strands now can sway in the wind liao.. but from the top, it is very sparse leh... probably compared with CS's Dani thats why keep thinking he botak loh.. LOL..

just now brought poppy out to go marketing. (and two aunties said "pretty GIRL"!!! GIRL!!!!!!!!) she was already rather sleepy when we left the house (it's her usual nap time) so i thought she would sleep on the way. but she didn't. so when we got home, i badly needed to go to the toilet. i left her in her cot with some water, and i thought since she's quiet, i'll take a quick shower. when i got out, she was SLEEPING!!!!!!!!! woohoo!!!!!!!!!!!

dordor
do1nk kindly offered to collect my ergo for me
really? don't feel the weight at all? my shoulders are getting very happy hearing that!!!

isetan and taka
actually now we don't really need to buy anything hor? those who go, can update on what's good? i only remember seeing isetan got avent bottle exchange- 30% off

hannah
hehe would be funny if client were to ask 'what's that lawnmower sound?' lol

spinach just boil the leaves only. then blend very fast one. all will come out to be like a paste.

crawling
michelle, poppy also has similar movements. she will be on all fours then wriggle her butt hehe

michelle
ethan's hair so chang chang! so cute!!!

welcome wavesurfer
darius sure looks like he's enjoying the soak! like jacuzzi!

where is CS ah?

raffles place lunch on tuesday
do1nk
pinkbunny

mummies, remember when you met poppy on tuesday some of you mentioned her hair has grown? i think maybe i know why. but don't laugh at me ah. remember last time my CL said put breastmilk then i said don't want la, so lang fei? well when i latch her on, sometimes the other nipple will drip right? or when she delatch then the nnp she was on will drip too right? i just 'collect' with my cupped hand and rub on her head lor. like that not wasted what! LOL

Isetan private sale
Hubby was telling me last nite, got that tiger food jar at $49.. the food jar i got at the last sale was really good.. i can put hot water at the bottom, then put porridge at the top, the steam from hot water can keep the porridge hot. so when i go out the whole day, i can bring hot water for milk AND porridge (kept warm) in a single flask! how good is that!?! mummies who dun have this yet, its a good buy!

last time was a flask and food jar at $50 based on cut out coupons...

PB, congrats! poppy went to sleep on her own.. eh... but she already goes to sleep on her own and sleep through the nite oredi, no?

sigh.. last nite ethan did it again. 2am, 4am.. 5am Hum Bin.. cried so loud... could he be teething? why why why?

Wavesufer,

The neck ring looks good but duno my heavy boy can float or not..

Dustee,

These days I am suffering from back pain and hand pain... Imat need to see a doc.. Do you have good contacts? I am worried for my back leh.. Now Ezekiel is getting heavier... 12kg the last time we weigh him and I think it's going up!!! Elijah was only 11kg at 12 months leh...

Michelle,
Is the swim suit comfortable?your kid is is not botak lah..

raffles place lunch on tuesday
do1nk
pinkbunny
Jacelyn
doggiebb (wearing a helmet)hehehe!

oh wavesurfer *wave wave*

this is thaddeus' mum from the upperroom! nice to see you here!

Michelle,
Thanks for the welcome. Yes we shaved Darius when he was 4-month old. His hair growth is slow and limited so he still look quite botak even now. ^^|
The neck pillow is very useful even when in swimming pools as it keeps him mobile yet safe.

pinkbunny,
Thanks for welcoming too. Darius did appear to be enjoying himself, though he didn't kick much then.

Rena,
There should be different sizes available for babies of different age groups, so you should be able to find a suitable one for your boy. We bought ours at Hwa Xia during Darius' trial session there.