(2008/07) July 2008

RE: brown rice..

last time my no.1 never take brown rice with 4 sen .. coz he dun like and i end up throwing them away coz expired..i usually give HT...

i think i was more hard working with no.1 now with no.2 i became lazy..

rayna,
ya ya. same here.
she loves to chew on the milkbox and the strawberry. now she loves the white clip part.
aiyo, should have bought this one also the other time. then will entitle to the the free postage liao.
wasted again.
going to buy one more of the bottle holder one.

Rena,
Standing - Yup, your little sumo needs stronger muscles to stand... so definitely will take a little more time

Drinking water - And my little one doesn't like to drink water too. The only time I can get him to drink water is after solids when I use the same bowl to feed him water from so the water still has taste.

Hannah,
Swim trunks - Haha, Declan's daddy will be very happy cos he was the one who chose and bought the swim trunks. The first time I saw it, I went "Woh! So bright!"
Butternut squash - Yup yup, butternut squash is just like pumpkin. Can steam/boil. Umm, ripe or not ar? I dunno leh. I just assumed it was :p
Clothes - Wah, you buy so many clothes! Luckily I have a boy. I've bought probably 5 new rompers for him recently which he can probably wear until 1 year old. After that, I stopped going to the BPs already.
BBfair - Bo bian la, cos Expo is really far away from my house (west). If I make a special trip there, don't think the fair will be that cheap when I add the petrol cost to it
So best way is to go on Sunday. I think I'm mostly aiming for diapers and detergent so should still have. Cos last year I also went on Sunday. Should I still stock up on baby wipes ah? I think I still have 10 packs... :p

PB,
Poppy will stand when she wants to... just like her sitting. Then when she starts to stand, she will keep wanting to stand ALL the time! Declan keeps pulling himself up in the playpen and cot and even attempts sofas and dining chairs.

Michelle,
Ethan will learn when you're not there to catch him lor :p
Unfortunately, it's really the only way. Cos Declan used to hit the sides of the cot very often when we first put him in. But now seldom liao.
High chair throwing - give him a softer toy to save your floor

sleepin thru the nite: congrats, michelle, on ethan boi sleeping longer hours at nite.. cedric, jiayou... my boy...dunno why recently started waking twice at nite to cry.. sometimes have to even pick him up and turn on the lights for a while..

n my weighing scale must be going bonkers.. but bbG seems to be losing and losing weight.. last nite he was 7.5kg only??

ethan's so cute.. he's playing 'mummy catch me when i fall' wiv you! bbG can sit very long and well but he still hates being on his tummy and will 'complain' when he can't crawl towards his toy dat lazy boy!

glenn doman: do you mummies know details of what this is? can explain a bit?

smiggle: how does kayden like the buggy bouncer? does it bounce around like it looks in the pic? me gonna rent the triple fun exersaucer for bbg!

rena: pigmentation on face.. mine was like a redder darker shade of my skin beneath my mouth, making me look like a teddy bear,..but it's gone now... your skin not back to normal yet? it shoudl go away right...

hannah: r u back from the fair? how how how? who else is going today?

high chair toy: I bought the ones dat has suction cups to KEEP IT ON THE CHAIR and not land up on the floor hahahaha

bbp, do1nk, as tho ethan allow me to put any toy on the high chair wor... He only want that particular toy , i gave to him cos previously when he din know how to "throw", he can play with it for a long time. so now i try to give him something softer, he will cry for that toy. that toy is now like a permanent object "stuck" to the high chair liao...

eh, after reading all my posts today, it sounds like my Ethan boy is becoming a spoilt brat! gosh, i better go dig out any discipline books liao....

rena: yours are spots huh? go see skin doctor and ask for advice? many obvious spots?

michelle: aiyo my boy also can complain and cry really loudly without tears... sometimes I show him a stern face and a loud serious voice but he doesn't seem to be able to tell the diff duh! haha

some info I got on the bbfair:

i see e usual promo for nestle and huggies. I bot huggies swimmers n pull up. Buy 3 packs, free little tikes fishing toys. Avent stuffs are 20% off so I bot some new bottles n teat. .. And free gifts for purchase over 100d. Saw some bb wear promo, pureen, strollers n cots etc, but i din really go n see the px. Saw bum wear and drypers booth oso.

youpi, haven go supermkt to look for butternut squash yet lah

I went bb fair liao. Wanted to get huggies. But they only selling pull-ups, and newborn & size S only.

I only bought lots of medela products, babysafe pillows & bumper. And i bought the yellow bear mat at $135. Is it the usual bp price?

Oh, i subscribed to the magazine also. But the better gifts already fully redeemed. And i was there at 1+ pm nia..

sms update fm serene on bb fair bargains
this yr not so good, no good bargains....

hannahi,
see the small small world BP thread for the prices. the basic yellow bear that i got 1850 by 1250 cost $119... but i know there are some other more complicated and fancier yellow bear designs.

Do1nk
Are the Huggies diapers cheaper, or is it just a buy three and get little tikes fishing toy offer?

Is Pigeon there as well?

Hannahl
Wow, sounds like it must have been crowded, if all the good gifts were gone by 1+pm. The fair only started at 11am right? Anyway, is the Bumwear swim diaper like the normal Bumwear diapers? How does it work? Do you use the same liners in it? Can let me know please. I only have the normal Bumwear, didn't realise that they have a swimming one as well.

The clothes that you got for Celeste sound like a good bargain

Michelle
Ethan loves playing with his mummy!

Re: GD - can pass me the contact please? Thanks! I am not overly keen on it as I know I can make them myself. Just lazy to do so, that's why I'm thinking of buying instead.

Bbp
The vid of Declan eating avocado is hilarious! I love his expressions!

Jacelyn
Your twins are adorable

totally agree that bb fair is lousy. din have the nestle rusk and gerber puff! actually wanted to buy those.

wanted to buy books for #1 but so ex...so think twice...

youpi
u keen to buy GD cards? i m thinking of selling off mine actually. too lazy to do.

sy: haha.. they r exhausted fm the bb shopping trip? u went wiv your helper?

bbfair: not so fantastic huh? wonder if I should give it a miss then..

bbG's cough seems to have taken a turn for the worse cos he sounds like he's trying to force something out wiv a loud aackkkk towards the end of each cough... n he's running a fever now..
do we take their temperature every hour to make sure it doesn't go too high? n when b4 we need to bring them to the pd? feel so lousy to see our little one not well...

hannah: sounds like you made your trip to the expo worthwhile wiv all that purchases u made
u mentioned the mag good gifts were fully redeemed liao? still giving out the 3 packs of huggies ultra or not? dat would be the onli reason I'd sign up for leh

youpi: i dunno abt the huggies leh... someone who went posted dat..hannah mentioned they onli had pull-up's, nb n s?

Was at the Babyfair about 3pm and it was quite crowded already. Personally felt that this year not so gd lei...Nestle cereals & milk powder got offer...Gerber bb jar food only left with apple & blueberry...Quite gd deals on babysafe products (bought pillow, casing etc), bought a Combi newspaper for bb Dora to bite, Mother & baby magazine only left with the not-so-gd gifts - 3 options left, pureen products got offer but super long queue, bought some teats & training cup from Avent cos got 20%.

I strongly encourage mummies to go EARLY tomorrow or sunday, cos really lotsa of people, hard to move around with baby.

Exhausted from going to both the bb & Natas fair....no choice cos SIL wants to go lor.

mapleaf

i was there at 11.15 and the store that sell leapfrog already packed with ppl.

i manage to buy some 1st year product. and was still thinking should i get the training cup teat and use back the milk bottle.

bb fair
lousy lah, only 3 diaper brand. i still thinking of tstock up sealer. but was not there.
yes ,huggies ONLY GOT SIZE pullup/s/nb and swimming .
bumwear ,thinking of buying but stand there for so long ,no one entertain me,angry n walk away.

serene

sry did not saw ur email.

SY
i think i saw u Q for toilet ? but cannot confirm so did not call u.

tess mummy
i got plenty of bumwear inserts and covers. you want? can sell you some. i was over zealous in buying i think. as always. haha.

oh my gosh. at 1115 packed already? wah. maciam like got free gift like that

thanks to serene for calling me to tell me not to go to the babyfair!!! *hugs*. could hear kacey 'talking' in the background hehe

mummies who went, did you see SEALER?

do1nk
poppy also had that before! the sound is like someone struggling to lift a heavy object? i think just go check with the PD la. don't care whether or not you are seen as overly kanchiong. it's your son, you have a right to be!

tess,
U should ask went up n ask is it SY ?? Coz we meet ard 2pm i was with her, she brought her boy to toilet .......

PB,
yeah kacey wan join in our conversation as well ..hehe nwdays when i on the phone she will "talk" n join in ....

This yr only Huggies / Drypers / drypantz .....as i mention only pull up / little swimmers / huggies ultra but only Newborn n S size .......me so sad but hor just nw i found a gd deal at cold storage Friso 2 1.8kg selling at $43 usual price $51 offer till this sun (i think so)

Hannah,I just bought the yellow bear mat last week and was delivered to my house. At 128. Tat was for my church. Last time I bought from her the Thomas train is at 110 only.

Girls, i feel like crying now...

I said i've subscribed to the magazine when i went to the fair right? Only now when i was going thru the stuff then i realised that i did not take home my lego gift hamper!!! I was busy choosing the size & design of the shirt. Then i was rushing off with my big load of stuff. Is there anyone here who is going there early tmw? Can help me go to the gift redemption counter to ask if someone has left the lego hamper there. I chose the yellow t shirt. Juz trying my luck, though i think my chance is slim. How will they remember, or bother to? I really think i didn't take coz i dun remember keeping the cutlery set also. I'm really angry with myself now. So blur, can't even remember if i've took it.

I purposely went there early coz i know good stuff sure gets chop very fast. And i was still quite happy with the gift though it was not my 1st choice. Worth $50.30...

And tmw is my birthday actually. Now i'm so sad till all my mood is gone..

PM me for my contact if u can help?

Rena, bang my head on the wall liao. U got the yellow bear at $128 only...

Oh what a day... Shouldn't have taken any leave...

Ok, take deep breath, let me go thru the posts now..

Qing, bumwear has reusable swim diaper. I find the huggies one dun really look nice lah. Ok, juz look like wearing diaper lor

SY, dor, both my boys are using the pillow now. Gd leh. Dor, my boys still snor when on the pillow
Erm, if u only want to get the kids pillow & dun want to beat the crowd at expo, i can sell u one coz i have 3 altogether now.

Oh cellow, u r giving Cedric fm already?

Jacelyn, ya i also think the clothes are a good bargain liao. Quite good condition also. Anyway i'm not that fussy. And quite easy to get stains on their clothes. So second hand ones dirty also not so sim tia. And they out grow the clothes so fast. Those ppl that commented got both mothers & singles lah..

prettygal, i also have the same question, ur twins bath at 6am? Not cold?

Michelle, Ethan is so cute, can fall backwards & play with u. He must have lotsa trust in u to catch him on time!!

cellow, really very fortunate that u can find such a good job with so much freedom & flexibility. And wonderful nursing facility there!!

Rena, i only put 1-1 1/2 tbs of brown rice for each meal only

do1nk, what brand is the triple fun exersaucer?

cellow, got different types of yellow bear ones??? Ai yo so i didn't get a gd bargain. And i took a cab home...

youpi, no pigeon. But i dun find it that crowded at that time leh. Maybe they dun have much stock for the better gifts. The bumwear swim diaper dun have buttons like the normal bumwear. No inserts as well. Juz the inside is similar, the fury part i mean. Otherwise, it's like a swim diaper loh. U get what i mean?

Oh, so many of u think i got a good bargain for celeste?

do1nk, guess it'll be good if u can bring bbG to the pd soon. At least can rest assured that all is well. When my kiddos have fever, i can check every 10 minutes one

no more huggies ultra liao lah. At 1+pm, the huggies, growing fun, palmers and the skincare trial set no more liao loh.

PB, actually how many bumwear diapers & inserts will poppy use each day? I bought 2 diapers, 2 training pants as it's cheaper to buy as a package there. Now with 2 diapers enough or not? That means only one diaper each day as the other one will be washed & waiting to be dried. I thot if not enuf i can use the training pants as a backup

PB, no sealer.

Ok, now that i've simmer down, i know why i'm so mang zhang liao.

My maid has been giving me lotsa problems with her forgetfulness and irrational excuses. All these while i've been trying to ren coz i really dun have the time to transfer her then get another maid.

As i'm on leave today, i plan to bring my boys to my mum's house then go home together with celeste.

As it was a last minute decision, i called her at 1215pm to ask her to pick up my boy when his sch bus arrives at 4pm. Then i called no one picked up the phone. I thot ok, maybe go buy lunch. Then i called & called. From 1215pm till almost 2pm. Furious man!! Dun know she went out or sleeping.

Then at 2pm she called me. Said she saw her cousin (who is married here) so she talked to her till now. Wah piang she know that she's here working for me or not?? She want to talk, talk 10-15mins already ok liao mah. Talk for 2hrs?? And she didn't even bother to call my hp to ask for permission. Juz sian zhan hou zhou!! And where got so qiao.. And i always expect her to buy food from downstairs. And she told me she went to a coffee shop that is 1-2 bus stops away to buy food!!

Ok, scolded her lah! Then at 345pm, i still called to remind her to go fetch my boy, she said yes maarm..

Then at 4pm the bus driver called me, asked why no one is there. I was puzzled, then thot, shit, did she go to the day care centre instead. And i called there, indeed she's sitting there, waiting for my son...

Wah piang i was really mad liao loh!!

So as i was so angry, and whole afternoon kept calling home to see if she picks up the phone, then with the hiccups on fetching my boy, i can't recall if i really did take the gift or has drop it somewhere. I'm really very sad lah!!

youpi
I have LOTS of blank A5 size cards if you need. Really ALOT few hundreds bought them since D's time.....hahaha

Hannahl
Aiyo your maid really hor..........

U didn't bring Celest to take photo aah?? I wanted to take photo of my #1 n #2 but then my #1 suddenly refuse to take photo.......sigh
Bought the pillow at the fair liao thanx......hehe
Try to enjoy ur bday lah K.

And forgot who asked to see the Avent sippy cup pix. I attach the link from drugstore cos lazy to save the pix.....hehe
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=69143&catid=26965&aid=337953&aparam=philips_avent_non_spill_&CAWELAID=61283470

Hannah,
You really have a terrible maid. I never allow my maid to go out of the house unless for special reason. Coz my area a lot of maid at coffee drink coffee and gather. You also must becareful of your things at home too.

hannah
if im u,the maid will be scold till 'smelly head(in dialet)' .
ok HAPPY BIRTHDAY
don think of the unhappy things liao.
sry cant help but hope whoever going down help her to ask .

handprint johnson
anyone try that,tess did n it didnt turn out nicely but she just wondering was the thing that was put on her palm.
but at least she did not resist to it.

serene
aiya,me with my dad. also worry wrong person. nvm

hannahl,
Happy Happy Happy Birthday!!!
Today is your special day so dun think of the unhappy stuff that happened yesterday okie. As for your maid, possible to change one asap?

tess_mummy,
Agree wif you tat bbfair not gd rite...only 3 brands of diapers there & not the full range somemore...Can buy the soft spouts for the training cup then can save some $ instead of buying a new cup.

pb,
Bumwear got sell swimwear? Guess me blur, didn't see that at their United Sq outlet. Only bought the diapers wif inserts the last round.
Didn't see Sealer at the bbfair, dun think have.

rena,
You bought the LG or parklon playmat for less than $150?! Cheaper than the bp here...gd deal lei. You still have the contact person or no. for the mat?

dor, i didn't know can take photos leh. Anyway, i went there alone lah
so end up only ember took photo?

Rena, but she needs to buy lunch for herself leh, how not to let her go out? Anyway, i dun want to complain abt her here. making me real mad again later.

tess_mummy, mapleaf, i've scolded her till she's immuned liao. Only sorry maarm, yes, maarm now, and also can sian zhan hou zhou coz she already can foresee i'll scold her only. Which is true. How else can i do?? I've been looking for another maid. Called all the way to philippines to tell them of the job scope. All tell me let them consider, call them another day then give me the answer wor.. Wah nowadays the maids machiam like big bosses man. I bothered to call & ask them coz i dun want they later tell me they can't manage. Then i got to start looking for another maid again.

Now my whole mind is occupied with how to get a new maid to replace her.. My hubby worked till this morning then come home lah, so unlikely can enjoy much loh
He's sleeping VERY soundly.

And still gotta go maid agency to hunt for a maid.

What a day......

Hannah, happy birthday. Dun thhink too much.
Can you buy food for her to cook?

Mat

I bought paklon.
I think good enough. I did not choose design just SMS her wht
Stock she has if price good I buy if not I will pre order lor. You can pm me you contact I sent to you .

Hannahl
Wah breathe, breathe, girl... Happy Birthday!

Thanks for the explanation on Bumwear swimmers.
Get a new helper!

Dor Dor
Haha, I also bought A LOT of white cards a long time ago ;p

do1nk,
bbG cries without tears? Mine cries with lotsa tears...

youpi,
Haha, yup, that's the reason I video-ed it. Imagine he had already gone through a couple of spoonfuls before I decided to video it.

Hmm, I think maybe not going to the fair after all. Seems like I only need to buy baby detergent and no point to go just for that.

hannah
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!
oh no, what a day! poor you. sayang. i hope you get your lego hamper back. but like you said, chances are slim la. eh your maid is very jialat leh. good that you have decided to change. how to trust her with your sons! from what you describe, she really talks like she bo dua bo sueh

yes, you had a good deal for celeste's clothes! about bumwear, i kept them aside cos her poo was still very watery. you've reminded me, i should bring them out soon
i only put her on diapers in the day at home, and only if i'm not lazy la haha. so she wears maybe 5-7 a day?

Rena, i asked her to buy downstairs coz i thot easier that way mah. Cook she still has to prepare the food & stuff. So ma fun mah to juz cook for herself. Then i also wanted to save on the water & gas & electricity lah. So i shd ask her to cook at home? But she still can go out leh. She has to fetch #2 from downstairs & also bring the clothes for my #1 at the day care centre once a week. This maid.. My hubby still ask me dun keep scolding her. But does he know how pek chek i am? He basically dun bother abt household matters, all leave to me. How to choose the right maid man???

Girls, for the new helper right, shd i still get a fresh one or ex Sing better? My current one is new, no experience one. I thot new one more ting hua and experience one also have problems. But at least dun really need to train much? How ah?

Anyway, my maid already can tell that i'm gonna transfer her out. Even when i asked her does she still want to work here, she gave that very wei qu look, say asked me to transfer her out.. Fond of crying until i got so mad. Told her swallow her tears, dun cry in front of me anymore!!

PB, i mean how many bumwear diapers are nec for 1 day? I know need to change the inserts every 3-4hrs. Wonder if 1 diaper ok liao. Oh, so u have not used the bumwear diapers on poppy yet?

All these while i've only been using disposable diapers leh. First time using washable ones. Dun know if i'll find it leh chey..

Seems like no one is going expo to help me ask.. And i dun want to go all the way there juz to try my luck also.. Ai ya, juz a sad day for me. No mood to enjoy..

hannah, todate I have change ten maids. At first I tot it's me tat is the problem then p tell me tat it's not and few friends also change a lot too. I really have super long story about maids. If you have time call me . I give you some reference website on maids. Thank god this current maid is good.

do1nk
how high is the temp? did u give fever med? if it doesn't go down, suggest u see PD. when they are young, i dun really wait very long. but once older, if fever dun show signs of trending down after 2 days or if fever is higher than 38.5 i will see immediately.

think not much at bb fair lah.

tess mummy
yes i was queuing for toilet cos my boy wanted to go...

jx also did the handprint. quite funny. she was giving a scrunched up look as the person put the paint.

hannah
happy birthday!

your maid is terrible. i dun allow my maid to go out. i wd rather she cook simple meals like noodles or something like that. usually they dun cook very troublesome stuff if they eat alone.

Hannahl,
best dun get ex-sing maid .. but get those who have work in other countries before. There are some who are maid in their own countries.
At least they know how to "behave" and expect of being a maid. Ex-sing have too many "frenz" in singapore, might be a problem.

OMG rena, 10 maids??!!

hannah
poppy has used bumwear but her poo was very watery last time cos only drink milk mah. so i decided not to use bumwear till older. i think it was doggiebb who advised.

anyway, think of it as nappy + nappy cover. same logic. when nappy wet, got to change. but if nappy wet and nappy cover not wet, then don't need to change cover. but still must put the liner to collect poo. but i do feel that whenever the insert is wet, the cover is also wet leh.

agree with bluey. ex sing sure got friends one. some people were saying myanmar maids are good?

Hi hannahl,

Happy birthday!!!

I might go to the fair tomorrow morning (cos thinking of popping by NATAS as well). I help you ask... try my luck. Lego gift set consist of what huh? just the T shirt?

Ur maid quite jia lat. Actually I would send her back immediately. cope without maid first. Cos if she knows you going to sack her, she might run away or do funny things.

I changed 6 maids in 4 years... hmm doesn't sound too bad liao..:p Maid depends a lot on luck. I tried Myanmar, I had very bad experience with them. So I stuck to Indonesian. I have not yet tried phillipines cos heard horror stories abt their behaviors.

If you dun mind Indonesian, can try ex-Malaysian. The one that I had was ex-Malaysian, very good, unfortunately she did not want to renew my contract as she missed her 2 children terribly. The one I have now is new, work wise not as good as my previous one, but at least she has a kind heart and loves my son very much... so open one eye, close one eye lar.

do1nk,

Wu Feng also cries without tears! haha..I call them "crocodile" tears. Just cry for attention, complaining etc...

Dim Sum dollies,

So what is the latest update on this huh? it is happening next Tues is it? I also got something to pass to Cellow.. probably will join you guys..

batgirl, the lego set comes with a feeding set with plates, bowls, cutlery, and t-shirt. I chose a yellow colour one, biggest size. There was a young man & young lady who were attending the booth on Fri morning. The lady was attending to me. She shd remember me coz i keep comparing the sizes & design. But after attending to so many ppl & with a lapse of 2 days, think maybe can't remember me liao lah
Supposed to come with a hat but i dun remember seeing it. Thanks for the offer to help
They have pics there lah

Celeste will have big drops of tears when she cried. Oh yesterday she cried non stop for almost 1 hr at abt 1+ am. Kept crying & i was dead tired.. I passed to hubby but she's still crying. I took over then gave her a bottle of milk. She must have cried too much. When settled, her body still shakey..

If i've the luxury, i really dun mind keep changing maids. But i'm the bao ga liao in the office. Not easy to take leave kind, that's why i've been procrastnating.

Yesterday went to maid agency. Ai ya can't find any suitable ones.

The reason why i wanted to choose ex Sing ones is becoz of the English barrier lah. If Indos that have only worked in other countries, then their English shd be quite bad? I feel this is impt as i've young children. My boys picked up broken English with funny slang with all the 'r' sound from my previous maid.

Thanks, for all the birthday wishes. At least can feel some warmth here

Delphine, my maid has been giving me lotsa problems. Like when i said no hp, she secretly met with her cousin one weekday when i'm at work to get the hp from her. Sian zhan hou zhou right?? Later she told my hubby abt it, juz to inform only.. Fond of reporting stuff to my hubby instead of coming direct to me as she knows she'll sure get a scolding from me. And when there's a hi card in her phone, she said a maid next block lent it to her. Her friends are so kind? She must have mixed until know them very well.. My neighbour asked why i get her, said she looks gui gui shui shui.. Ai ya, many stories lah this maid.. And very, very forgetful.. Dun want to say her liao lah

I got a sony handycam as a bd pressie from hubby.

Remember i once shared i've no video recordings for my celeste as hubby hasn't been keen to video her? I didn't video myself coz i dun know how to convert into dvd? No pt take videos then no one to download for me right?

So he gave one with direct recording into dvd for me. But i was not happy loh. Coz we already have a videocam at home. So why buy another one juz so i can take the video myself? And recently i know can go photo shops to convert from cassstte to dvd. Downside is no editing only.

I feel it's a waste of $. So the one at home throw away ah??

He said he bought coz i kept asking for one that can auto record so no need to download. Ai ya, i was saying qi hua only. Coz only #1 has all the dvd recordings. Come to #2 & #3, no videos at all as he said he's busy & not interested. So i feel sad that my kids have no recordings & i kept seeing the babies here have so many.

I asked him to teach me so i do myself then he dun want.

Ai ya, nvm lor, since bought liao, now i can start videoing my kiddos. So next time got stuff to show them loh

Am i reaching menopause.. why suddenly so many things to complain & rant...