(2008/07) July 2008

missy, babyJ also start calling mama oredi?!? aiyo... i everyday nag at ethan, call mummy, call mummy, call mummy.. he just look back at me, blur. then start flapping his arms.. sigh..

Qing, you are mad with your hubby for going clubbing? or coming back late without telling you? or not responding to your call? (or all the above!). .. if it has been agreed that once a while he can go clubbing.. then just let him go and enjoy himself lah... BUT the ground rules must be, 1) be back at the time that he says he would, or if not, to call or SMS you to inform. 2) he must be contactable (but sometimes really cannot hear cos noisy right?). dun stay mad with him for too long lah.. k? oh, your MIL sounds like another Monster-in-law too... Hugs to you..

Re auto-hubby:
I'm glad to say that my hubby is auto most of the time, whether it's I wanna bathe or eat. But whether he succeed, that's another issue la. Like last night when he came back, I complained that Declan didn't want to sleep, and he said he will pat him to sleep. In the end, hubby sleep first.

Michelle,
Wah, at least he give you moral support la. Very good!

Qing,
Yah, Declan does alot of mamama-ing and papapa-ing, but I think it's just gibberish la. I'm quite certain he doesn't know to associate the words with us yet.
How to train? He LOVES hair. Sometimes I tell him he cannot have mine even though he got no hair.

missysz,
Nope, Declan said mama first before papa

do1nk,
Declan's waving sometimes ends up like doing hula dance lor. Instead of up-down motion, it's the round motion. My dad calls it indian dancing.

michelle,
same as bbp, i don't think babyJ know he is calling me as mama...he just makes the funny sound "ma......" haha..very funny but its once in a while, not like declan daily! haha..

copied herein for sharing.

Hi mummies, just wanna share something with you:

* Attempted child kidnap at Toa Payoh Central! *

Following is a post by a mum whose kid was nearly kidnapped.

Heard this story came out in Wanbao too.

Better be safe than sorry!

"When things don't happen to you, you won't feel anything.

Today, my dad and I brought my 2 kids to the Toa Payoh central. I went to
deposit money in the bank and my dad brought my children to play the "floor
stepping game". There were only 2 of them playing there and my dad was
standing about 1meter away watching them.

My dad told me that a aunty hold my girl hand and drag her away, saying
"come we go home liao". My dad didn't stop her immediately. He wanted to
see what she is going to do. When she dragged my girl about 4 steps, my dad
came and stopped her. This time she showed her true colors - she din know
my dad was my girl's grandfather. She told him " sorry I'm in a hurry, need
to go home" & kept dragging my girl. My dad stopped her again and told her
she was his grandchild.

Another woman came and pretended to scold the aunty who was dragging my
girl away & then went in to the NTUC supermarket.

Be careful as this might happen to any children. Always keep an eye on ur
children when u bring them out.

michelle
clubbing i know so not angry but the rest i super angry ah...
rules... sat so so many times liao but there is never once he dont break one.
he never help look after baby.
even when he is at home, he rather stick to the PC then us.

bbp
i scream 'pain' everything she does that.
now, seldom pull liao.
maybe she knows like that mummy will pain pain.
but she has since learn how to slap my face when i put her very near my face.

missysz
if for me, i wont even let my children left my side.
must be touching distance.

moreover, TP central very crowded one loh.
got crazy ppl also not strange.
i encounter 'crazy' ppl before also at TP Central.

talking about kidnapping, I myself almost got kidnapped when I was a little gal... at my old house in Taman Ho Swee (gangster town)... I went into the lift and the man was waiting inside.. i saw him and quickly turned to run, he dragged me a distance.. I screamed out loud, the dog on 4th fl heard my screaming and started barking but due to its stupid barking, nobody heard my screaming... luckily my neighbour came down the stairs while on his way to uni, gave that man a chase. I run home and stayed home for weeks dun dare to go out.. my mom was protective of me since then.... Up till today, I can still remember every scene and also that bespectacled man who tried to drag me away....

michelle
your neighbour is a hero! was that guy caught in the end? You must be tramautized.

healthy time cereal
any mommies organizing BP again? SY organised the last time, i got 2 boxes only. now left with barley. hehe

SY
wow that's a good one. how did you train your boy to ask you about food?

youpi
i can't wait to see this happening haircut! from what you describe, it seems very GI jane!

wasted poppy did not go for botak gathering. if not sure win wan. lol. thanks smiggle for thinking of poppy even though she wasn't there hehe

aiyah this girl ah. taking the flu med which is supposed to cause drowsiness but still eyes so big. it's mummy who is drowsy! but update: poppy can sit now! still a bit bu dao weng but getting more and more steady liao

qing
sayang sayang. maybe he feel he needs a break too? maybe baby business can be taxing on them too? but hor, if WE don't ask for break, i think they have to wait their turn la! your MIL visits your blog? oh my gosh! actually mine does too la hehe

do1nk
vapour rub. i bought snuffle babe. rub on upper chest and neck. not under nose. i hold a piece of tissue with the rub under her nose. i scared her face too sensitive mah. btw poppy also not crawling yet. dun worry, she and babyG can sit and relak one corner together ok?

michelle
wah your story is very scary! drag you some more! *shudder*

i also got 'kidnapping' story to share. i was walking home (was maybe 18 then... so maybe teennapping, not so much kidnapping) last one night then noticed an indian man following me. like very gui gui sui sui. i walk fast, he walk fast. i walk slow, he walk slow. so i smsed my father and he came downstairs to meet me at the lift lobby and confronted the man. i don't remember what he said but then the man said 'i live here too'. lol

healthy times BP - count me in if anyone is organising!

SY
if you don't want to organise again, maybe you share with me how to organise then i'll do it? then collection can be at my place the next time we have gathering la, ho bo, mummies?

do1nk,
my mum bought 1 for Megan before. it's call cherry chest rub. and rub it on bb's chest so that they feel better. not sure what's the brand. but she got it from those chinese medical halls.
Megan also not crawling yet. also can't sit by herself yet. flip only once or twice a day. not keen in it. so she lagi more lazy. hahaha

healthy times
me too.
i also want

PB
ya la...
afterall, he don even look after her.
just play with her for a couple of minutes.

anyone want to join for a lunch gathering?
cellow and me meeting up.
but havent finalise when and where and what time.
any ideas?

qing,
i ws just thinking abt it, but no time to post. next week friday possible for u? i feel like going back to red star to eat tim sum.

quick one as drowning in work. heard fm colleague!
Mother and Baby fair this weekend at Expo hall 6B. Fri and Sat 11am to 9pm, Sun 11am to 8pm.

cellow

when u were overseas, did u do webcam with your baby??
Where u all lunching??
Qing and i work near together.

Ya, goin expo next week buy huggies..

the baby fair, how much cheaper will the huggies be? now NTUC offer 2packs for $34.75. will it be much cheaper? dread going to Expo, the loooooonnnnnnngggg queue... unless it is super duper offer. any?

sigh. today kena 2 leaks from poppy's diaper - one is pee, one is not. so i have to wash bedsheets and mattress pads. 2 diff diapers leh. pureen and huggies. sigh. still fits her nicely so dun think it's cos she needs to upgrade to bigger size?

lunch ok! next week ok! but if fri can don't go dim sum please? cos i don't eat meat on fri la. so very bo hua to go dim sum!

missysz
Ember also started calling for me "Um Ma" when she wants me. But still I waiting for the real MAMA....haha

QIng
How ur mil know ur blog?? She got spy also aah??
But good ma let her know what you say lor since its all real and not madeup. Then she will be paisey.

dor dor
actually i change once liao.
then only give to hubby's cousin who is in canada.
she kapo give my mil.
sometime want to complain about her also cannot.
she wont ps one loh.

ok PB then dun lunch on friday. lunch nx Thu 26 Feb! hao bo? i m thinking of tim sum, so go back to red star - haha.

no occasion, i m just buying smthing fm qing, so we thot lunch tog la.

nopez, qing,
not fast, just v sian w the sheer amt of work.
u realise that my postings are v short now... sighz. ILs are a tough breed to deal w. do not on any account let them know abt this forum at all. o/wise later u cannot even talk abt them here.
oh dun cold war tooooo long w HB hor. not gd for your relationship

cellow
don wont have access.
i only do forum in office or on my ipod.

my room aka my 'house' have only one PC which my hubby is glue to it all the time.

Qing,

I believe PB is Catholic? Catholics dun take meat on Fridays.
PB, correct if I am wrong...:p

Red Star Dim Sum,

I can only confirm closer to the date. I work nearby too... can meet up for lunchie...

Healthy Times cereal,

Count me in if organising!

report on the sniffling/coughing baby: bbG seems to be in better spirits today.. still coughing though.. not sure if this PD is very pro-nebuliser or not.. but he says it's better to tackle it at an early stage instead of letting it go full-blown..so he's been 'nebulised' twice already! first time at 4 months old..thought exclusively breastfed bb's should be stronger

bought a tub of snufflebabe from guardian for him.. can't tell if it helps or not..applied some on his chest before bedtime

juz saw dat ember (dordor) can say papa mama liao too! congrats! bbG? his latest way of crying is now mamamammamama... calling me? or complaining to me or wat? i dunno haha

bbp: your hubby fell asleep patting declan to sleeP n bb was still awake instead? dats funny.. but I also find myself dozing off doing such things sometimes...

yikes..dat kidnapping story in TPyh so scary...michelle.. u must have been quite traumatised too huh?

LOL on all the lazy bb's who can't sit/crawl yet.. maybe we should have a lazy bb gathering next.. after the botak one..

bb fair: smiggle..how do you know wat brands r gonna be there n on sale? hubby's going for reservist so I probably gotto take the cab (my poor wallet) and sling bb along...

PB: r u catholic? abstain from meat on fri?

oh ya... poppy's using huggies dry huh? for nite too? so far so good? think i wanna consider huggies dry for day use.. coz at least got waist elastic..

watching wat you say here: hehehe eyes everywhere... *zip*

halo !!

aiyo so many posts so i just browsed through them.

hmm Rianne can sit on her own without support. Can tahan for as long as 10-15mins then I think she gets tired and falls back ! haah still not crawling yet though my mum puts her on the floor everyday and inspire her with toys.

think I read someone mentioned abt Cherie rubs ? I do have that too but my PD warned that we should not let the vapo vicks gets into contact with our babies/kids nose as this may cause heart attack in some children who are allergy to it. So be careful. If the kid is having blocked nose, what u can do is to apply the vicks on a hanky and place it near the kid.

eh u all going red star next Thurs ? I maybe able to make it ! keep me informed cos I dun chk the forum so often now.

do1nk,
Well, hubby hasn't fallen asleep patting declan to sleep cos I think he knows it's too dangerous especially with the boy moving about.

BUT... yesterday, he suggested we both pretend to be sleeping and see if declan will eventually fall asleep on his own. Guess what? Hubby's pretend-sleep turned into real sleep

re vapor rub
please do not use vicks on our kids. there was a report recently to say that instead of making them better, it makes their noses more congested. os must really buy those meant for kids only. anyway the report says that it is not proven that such rubs help.

bbp
your hb so funny..haha

PB
i was pretty strict with my boy since young and now that he is older i make it a point to tell him off if he accepts food without asking. esp from IL..haha

tess
my boy very care abt face one so when he is outside his behavior is good. at home he is messy! but i will tell maid off if they pick up too often after him.

re healthy times
not that i dun wan to do it but hb forbids me to do it!! haha...if anyone wnats to do it, i can pass the contact to her. but note that u need a min of $250 worth of orders. i think it works out to be roughly 30+ boxes.

re bb fair
yes it is next week. think i will pop by too!! anyone going on 27th??

re calling mama and papa
jx seems to call papa but she says baba. haven call mama yet...

so many of u are talking abt rice sacks. But mine juz weighs 6.9kg when she's at PD's clinic.. Is mine the champion for the lightest??

Michelle, i put chest rubs for her. Also put vapour on hanky coz i'm also having blocked nose. But the PD said better to use nose drops if has blocked nose as some bb are sensitive to vapours.. Ok point noted..

smiggle, read that ur helper is good. Did u choose an experienced one?

Qing, hope u r feeling better now. Hug hug..

do1nk, u r the one using avent duo right? Is the motor very noisy? Mine is, & imagine it's quite a new motor. Wonder if PIS also noisy?

missysz, thks for sharing on the child kidnap. I'd better warn hubby. Coz we used to leave #1 at toys section when shopping. So scary. I always feel nothing like this will happen here in s'pore.

woah! just saw NATAS fair also same weekend as the motherhood fair...will be packed packed packed at the EXPO! *faint* I hate crowded places..

Hannah,
don't worry. mine only 6.1kg. hahahaha

sighz, i think the weather is really not good. all everyone is sick. my father and sister are sick. i think my gal's turn soon. sianz..hopefully she don't get it.

Dor,
not i fast lah. after seeing your email i just pop by lor. hehehe

Qing,
think there's a BP doing the baby cubes now. you can go check it out

bbp: LOL.. pretend-sleep turned into real snores! but did it work? coz I know at times when bbG's awake, he'd play by himself in the cot or yao-lan, but the minute he sees me, he starts to cry.. duh!

hannah: about the motor being noisy...it's irregular.. it started out ok.. not sure if it was after my hubby whacked it off the table or wat but it was making loud sounds on top of the usual one for a while esp when I'm pumping at max suction...but now it's back to normal without the loud squeeks..so your new motor is starting to make loud noises too? I know my medela freestyle is not as noisy.. not sure about PIS though but should be the same? u considering getting another pump?

crowded expo: ya man.. that's one reason why I dun like sales.. way too crowded... n I may have to lug bb, diaper bag and diapers (if I'm buying) and face the crowd?? must prepare myself...

vapourubs and oils on bb: yikes.. read somewhere that it's not juz vapourubs, but also medicated oils like the ruyee dat we should use in moderation coz too much of these vapours n oils dat get into bb's system is harmful.. apparently some bb went into a coma after detection of too much 'oil' in his system

morning mummies...

re red star
i too can oni cfm nearer the date... me also work pretty near lor... at outram...

Qing
i tot i saw someone doing a BP on baby cubes lor... my advise is buy the 2oz one... felt tat the quality better...

re calling mama and papa

tess does the same thing cry n call sometime like ma...maaaaa and continue till i pick her up and when she playing,she will call dad dad....

but yesterday afternoon when i was playing with her half way, i walk away n she call ma..maaa not crying but only onces .
and at night she want to play with my water bottle n i refuse to give her and she start crying and call ma..maaa... and i told her 'No' and she change and call dad dad and i told her dad dad is not back from work yet and she seems like (only lah) to understand n stop crying .continue to play with her other toys .

bb fair
still thinking if it worth to go squeezing with ppl. will consider to go down on friday .

re bb fair
nestle usually has good offers on the rusk and cereal. i usually stock up on rusk.

diapers have good offer usually. nepia offer not bad

re red star
will confirm when nearer the date...

Rayna, but mine is a bigger bb, born on 29 June

talking abt ebm.. up till today, my mama still calls mine 'niu nai'.. Haiz..

Thank God.. my girl has recovered. I really dun know if it's the bm that is helping. She recovers pretty fast whenever she catches a cold. Abt 2 days ok liao. Alas.. want to give more but well drying up.. Sad.

Qing, i've the 2oz bb cubes bought from bp but not used. Do u want? PM me?

do1nk, not getting a new pump lah. No bm liao
My motor getting noisy. I pump 4 times per day. Not really heavy usage right? Eh the freestyle really gd har? I almost bought it during preggy days when bluey was talking abt it

ya, my PD also advise against applying ru yi oil. My boy had rashes coz had been applying on him everyday.

Wai wai, u sure can stock up on bb stuff with #2 coming along

Actually hor, if u bought so much till must take cab or drive home, then end up our stuff not so cheap after factoring the taxi fare and petrol right?

girls, how u find nepia diapers when wet. I find not so gd leh.