(2008/07) July 2008

smiggleprincess... i saw jumperoo at my friend's house, can adjust until bb is tip toe. my bb was happy in it for 5 min then want to come out liao

JSP,
Looking good already – dun diet anymore!
I will start trying for #2 when Ced turns 1. Need time to recover physically and also emotionally.

Bb girl names starting with C
Chelsea, Celine, Carina, Cheyenne [bbp, never heard of this name b4!], Celeste [hannahi, for obvious reasons..], Cillian, Colette, Cyan, Charlotte, Calista, Clarissa, Calliope [how do u even pronounce this, youpi??], Claudia, Chloe, Chernyce

Star,
Wah, bb Josh power, 4 teeth!

bbp, can trust your HB la... jst emphasise to him how impt it is that all food that crosses Declan's mouth is vetted ok by u, o/wise he will get hell fm you!

Bbp, batgirl,
Dunno how to choose the gender leh.
oh ya ha, likely to be tiger girl if start trying when Cedric is 1 yo. batgirl, you want a ox bb, then gotta start now!

cheryl,
oh my, veg diet ah... then confirm boy all the way liao.

rhs,
errrh. the brand of bb finger food... ur instructions v the not clear :D will go and look for it myself. bb Jamie sleeping ok these days? bb Cedric decided to get up and play at 3am last night. feed already still wanna play.
I openly [not secretly] wish that bb Cedric will not grow teeth yet.
Medela freestyle is supposedly good, but cannot be found in Singapore. I m thinking of ordering the Spectra 2 or Spectra 3 pump - the brand I use in office - which can use Medela accessories.

PB,
Love is multiplied, not divided. If you have #2, your heart grows to accommodate both. wah seh, sounds like motivational book sia - heheh.
post pix of poppy in cheongsam!

CS,
Dani really can make bb wig! When oh when will Cedric's hair grow?

dustee,
you really thinking VERY far ahead. 1 year old party! good holiday w pomfret?

delphine,
welcome back! where have u been??

smiggle,
Kayden has a SECOND molar?! wow he is fast.

hannahi,
but you ARE gut lut and wei da wat...

jacelyn,
re: weight. have the opposite problem... now i m 4kg lighter than pre-preg wgt, and still losing. like waiwai, everyone i meet says i m qiao cui... i think of willowy float-in-the-wind lightness when pple say qiao cui. i wish i were heavier.
haiz, i did force feeding cedric many many x before he grew soooo big. even though he spit up the last 10-20ml.

sdchick,
the image of bb emma hanging her tongue out... like cute little puppy
[dun smack me!]

serene,
re: dinner at MIL. put on 'show' for a few hours onli! hang in there, gal!

michelle,
Ethan is still happy and growing rite. Maybe you ARE worrying yourself too much.

121 w Boss
Yay! performance appraisal not affected by pregnancy - i thot it wouldnt, but it is a nice surprise to be sure

cellow

you forgot my Cadence..hehehe

and its not too early to start preparing cos you wanna think about the venue and then the theme. esp the decor, you can't find nice ones in sg, and have to order from overseas.

then you have to think about from where to order your cake, do you want cupcakes too? order from who? what party favours you wanna put in your goodie bag, are you buying your own mylar balloons and where to rent that helium tank! lotsa things to do!!!

Cellow,

I very pei fu you thinking of #2 already. I think of going through the whole process from pregnancy to childbirth to taking care of the child, and quarrels with hubby about PIL... sends shivers down my spine liao.

Cheyenne - got from some TV show many many years ago. Like the name alot and thought about giving it to my daughter... but alamak, come out boy. I had 2 girls names in mind lor... and none for boys.

Get hell from me? Hubby will probably say he gets it on a regular basis.. so no diff liao. Trust him ar? I told him the other day, make sure nobody feeds Declan funny stuff like bah gua. Then he say how to eat cos Declan no teeth mah. Then I said he can lick lor. Then then then... hubby's eyes lit up lor! You tell me, can trust not?

Cellow,
I asked my friend again, the brand of bb biscuit is Pigeon
Hahaha .. I know, my instruction like no help at all.
Jamie's sleep is on and off. On good days, he wakes up around 4pm then nurse until 6-ish, then hubby carry him. Then at 7 he nurses + sleeps again until 9. On bad days, he's wide awake at 4am and refused to sleep

Never heard of Spectra pump before. Where can I get it in Singapore?

hi mummies, hope this will cheer you all up! Have a great week ahead!

My mummy says it is perfectly fine if i binge on ice-creams
2071847.jpg

and chocolate
2071848.jpg

when I'm teething like this:
2071849.jpg

Jacelyn
I am also another one who did not lose weight easily despite totally breastfeeding my baby. I still have 6-8kg to go. Also, your menses may not return so early if you are bfg. When I was bfg my #1, I only got mine back almost two years later. You can still ovulate though.

SD
Emma looks so cute!
Thanks for the Lina contact number. I called, and I’ll probably go to AMK Hub to taste and buy. They’re at B2, outside NTUC. One tub of pineapple tarts is $25 for 36 pieces.

Star
FOUR teeth already? Wow!

Dor Dor
I heard good things about it too, and they don’t have things like spelling and worksheets etc (which is good to me ‘cos I don’t believe kids should start on these so early), that’s why can fang xin and put S there. I also heard that it’s not easy to get into ‘cos it’s quite popular. S is in the PM session; the AM session was totally full when we applied. Maybe it’s only hard if you want him to go in the morning.

CS
Beware, your mobile phone will be the next toy! :p
Erm, L also wants to touch Dani’s hair!

Solids & milk intake
Once bb starts taking solids, milk intake will decrease. What you can do is feed milk first, then solids, instead of the other way round.

Cellow
“Care-lee-o-peeeeeeeeeee” – means “beautiful voiced”. In Greek mythology she is the muse of heroic poetry.

Cheryl
Aiyoh, the picture with the teeth is priceless! :D

cellow,

I saw the medela freestlye at First Few YEars, but it is expensive, close to $1,000. Not sure if the price drop or not, saw it before giving birth.

The thought of "trying now" scares me. Like bbp, the thot of the whole process repeating (i dun mind the pregnancy part..hee) sends shivers down my spine. But then hubby say : "next time wuffy (nickname for my son) is all alone in the world when we leave the world" makes me want to have a sibling for him. -- Morbid but true.. Anyways, we leave it to fate lar...

Cheryl,

hahaha! I like the pacifier! Where did you get it?

Hannahl,

you put me to shame to even think of giving up pumping! But honestly, if I were you, I would have given up long time ago. As of now, I feel really tired already.... :p

PB,

poppy looks so...."poetic"... We went to East Coast on Sat, lovely weather... my boy got a tan... :p

bbp,

LOL!! another funny picture!!!!!! Declan is sure a macho macho man.. from pull ups, to driving car, to drinking beer!!! good start!

heehee ... I like the pacifier!!

Stupid me ... I was thinking so hard whether to buy a handheld blender to make puree for my boy since I got my babycubes already.
I open up my cupboard and there stood a food blender. Not those handheld type but with a tall container one.
For the next moment, I was thinking, when did I buy this thing? (anyway hubby dun buy these things one) ... getting forgetful.

Luckily never go and buy a handheld one.

So I steamed the carrot and sweet potato. Blend them till mashy in the blender. Kaisu abit, I put the mixture thru the sieve, just in case.
Happily put them in the babycubes. My greedy #1 came over to eat a spoonful and told me that it is nice.
Hope my boy like it.

My boy is having semi-solid 3 times a day. And he is now 9.6kg. I have a short video of him on FB.

Having #3 never cross my mind although hubby hint me to have every now and then.

Medela freestyle ... want to get it cheap, get it from US.

Cheryl
The teeth pacifier is cute.....hahaha
Bought from mini toons?? Cos I think I saw it there before.

youpi
Tell me abt it. I finally got the courage to weigh myself n realise I still have 10kg to go. Which means I didn't really lose anything after Ember turn 2 mths. Gosh!!! I was already less then pre preg weigh last time when my #1 turn 8mths. So sad now duno wat I can do to lose those extra weight.
I tot you went for exercise classes?? Doesn't help?

Hmmmmmm when did you go n apply for S?? Sigh...I really should get my lazy butt to walk over AND into the sch to check out....SOON....hehehe
Actually cos D's playgroup started n they changed new teachers which I'm not very satisfied with. So planning to withdraw him after the term finis so trying to find somewhere else I can bring him to 'socialise'....sigh

Bluey
The kindy at Zion lor. Very convinent for me ma jus duno the monthly fees will kill me anot....hehehe

btw tell you hor my brain really jialat I jus checked the cookie cutters. N I have 3 lor....hahaha
I didn't even know that all along tot I have 2 only.....hehe
Have the mickey n minnie, marie cat, Pooh n Tigger 1 I think(see hw bad my brain is) but not gonna sell cos looks so nice....hehe
But u want can borrow from me since I not using...yet....hehehe

Zion really convienent for U.

I have mickey n minnie, marie cat, and chip n dale and Hello Kitty. So now just looking around for Pooh. Me siao already.
They are just too cute. heehee
I tot that pooh might be good to make for boys if #1 have school party, since gals will take hello kitty.

If I need I will sms you. Now still just "playing" around with other cutters. Thanks!

Youpi,
If I'm not mistaken, at Bk Merah I purchase the tart at $23 for 48 pieces, put in a square box instead of tube.

batgirl,
yes yes... the reason I'm having no2 also so my#1 will have a sibling. We were close of doing IVF since we tried for almost 5 years to have #2. Thought it would be easy cuz we succeeded when trying for #1 right away.

Cheryl,
Love the pacifier. They're cute!!! hahahaa

Bluey,
Wah your bb 9.6 kg! Must be heavy to carry!

Dordor,
Aiya same about me la... weight already went down, then went up again.. Sighhhh. really need to diet and exercise.

michelle
don't worry. you are not a bad mummy. sometimes babies are like that, they choose not to drink. if ethan is hungry he will tell you ok? maybe he just wants to play. 5 tbsp cereal is it healthy times? i read on the box that that is a full feed already leh. maybe that's why he's full liao? don't worry ok?

lol i never even notice the bike in poppy's photo!!

jacelyn
ya poppy is also botak so must hide and protect her fuzz whenever we go out hehe

bbp
lol on declan's beer glass!!! i love doing nonsense like that to poppy too hehe

SDchick
emma is so pretty!!! smile until so big some more

oh mummies my jumperoo came over the weekend. poppy likes! at first a bit blur then when she realised she could jump, happy like anything. but after about 10 minutes sian already. lucky i rented, never buy. hehe.

smiggleprincess
can adjust the height one.

qing
sure, just email to me

JSP
you were asking me for lunch is it? tomorrow i cannot leh. meeting ex colleagues for lunch.

star
threadfin is what? ngor herr is it?

re foods
i'm going to make pumpkin puree for poppy today. then use the babycubes to freeze. so exciting
when she wake up, bringing her to PD for her 6-in-1

poppy likes to wave her arms around and scratch things (ie mummy). yesterday she scratched my inner lip until got blood lor!

she also likes to piak piak things. like use her hand and piak her thigh, her tummy, her diaper. so we like to put our hands in front of her and say ' gimme five!!!' then she will piak us. very cute.

cellow
hubby refused to let me let poppy wear the cheongsam. he said don't spoil the surprise. so now i cannot wait for cny hehe.you are 4kg lighter than pre preg??!!! walau! i think i still am + 2 or 3kg. i don't mind but the stomach still look pregnant
how to exercise? where got time? mop floor at home count or not? i want to go gym, hubby also want to go, so we must take turns lor. cannot bring poppy in stroller to gym, right?

cheryl
lol on cayden's 'teeth'!

batgirl
poetic? haha.

mummies, i don't think i mentioned before but the pacifiers that we used to use, the tollyjoy kind, non orthopedic kind, are banned in montreal. i don't know why but i hear that it's really bad for baby's teeth. so we have switched to NUK, the orthopedic. apparently it looks like mummy's nipples (so strange). poppy likes! with her new chup chup, she slept for 3 hours in the day! and today, she's been napping since 9am, and still going on strong!

i'm happy to announce that jetlag is going away. yesterday she slept a alot in the morning, bit in the afternoon and by 10pm, knocked out. woke up twice in the night to eh eh a bit but eh-ed herself back to sleep and got up for good at 6am. yay!!!

Youpi, Jacelyn, dor dor,
Despite of breastfeeding, I still have 4 kg to lose. I remember I only lose weight when #1 was about 1 year old. When our baby start to walk, we will be busier and lose weight. Last time, I was SAHM, can lose weight, really tired, no maid, now got maid, seems like difficult to lose weight.

Pinkbunny
Yep, Threadfin = ngor herr

Bluey
What do give to your baby? 3 semi solids? Any variety? I am thinking of giving porridge in the afternoon and cereal in the evening.

Josh wake up more frequent than usual, I think 4 times and cry at 4-5 am every morning. I am down with flu now, too tired.

hi mummies! how have u all been??

i'm drowning! totally swamped...can't catch up again!..

miss u all... got miss me or not...

some quickie updates from me first while I try to catch up... (still haven't gone for my speed reading course haha)

* my little one can finally sit unaided.. spurred by his new playroom wiv many toys all over which he wanna grab haha

* was cranky when drinking milk (which is very strange of him) and found out that he's teethin!! got two little lower incisors in his mouth now which he refuses to open for us to see haha

* attempted to feed him cereal for the very first time but made a mistake of doing it when he's hungry.. so he was crying lots and was grabbing at the milk bottle instead for his milk haha

will write more later... have a good week ahead!!!

One sick mummies reporting in ........having headache n vomitting non stop since sun nite ..ytd went c doctor given a jab, the doctor even joke w me r u pregnant ???

Kacey have been having small little spots on her body n faces it so ugly at first tot it was rashes but no leh iot wouldnt goes off ...

Michelle
ya, she used too.
but since sunday she refused to drink loh.

smiggleprincess
she placed a pillow below
so that she can bounce off the pillow.
like what waiwai say
you must adjust to the lowest. to no 1.
if can touch the ground then don need the pillow liao.
but with pillow can really bounce easier.

cheryl
he look so funny with that pacifier
think i was that pacifier at mini toons for less than $7??

and bb rachel is sick from the injection yesterday.

and her mummy "ME" got a Disaster perm last wednesday.
I LOOK SO AUNTY NOW.
HOW???

qing,
rachel is v active. i put my boy in his exersaucer and he just sat there stationary..hehe..

serene,
bring kacey to see PD?
u rest well and get well soon!

Yeah bring kacey c pd again later when her daddy came back, last wed we just went it only her back than her nose n forehead also have ...........

smiggleprincess
i put rachel in the exersaucer but hor she don really jump in it lehz.
does kayden jump in the exersaucer?

Re weight, think i gg to sign up for a gym membership then chiong to gym to work out during lunch.. but that means i got to drop away my lunch pumping session. Hmmmm ... Actually nowadays i kind of like my pumping session during lunch coz get some quiet "self" time. Will just pack a sandwich and eat as i pump.

Re Medela freestyle, i bought it together with jgal when she spree abt 2 months back. Its really cheap as compared to first few years. Cost me 519 SGD including shipping cost. Super worth it and its really handsfree! Now i will pump when i eat breakfast and lunch. So super save time. Hee.

Bluey, i also bought the cube. How many days can i store the puree for ah? My mum is against the idea of storing leh. She say not fresh ...

cheryl... wahaha, cayden looks so cute with the "big teeth"

PB... xuan pei also likes to scratch and piak piak things, e.g. my face. i'm going to be disfigured if i don't stop her :S
how long to steam/cook the pumpkin?

bluey... which type of sweet potato u use? got brown one and purple one

bluey
I bought long ago jus before they were available in sg n I think paid abt half the price only if I not wrong. Dun dare to buy all cos scared hubby scold....hahah
Else I think I would have bought all designs....hehehe
But than see the price they selling now......should have bought all designs hor....hehe

Star
Alamak I sahm n no maid leh. Run after them myself but but but......10kg.
Wah piang eeh I really dunno wat to do liao.

cubes
check with you all hor.
how to use the cubes?

prepare puree then place into cube
and freeze?
then how to thaw?

have been seeing the cubes thingy most of the time. you all sia me to buy one also.

JSP and i are meeting for lunch at tiong bahru on thursday (15 jan). who want to join us? 1230pm.

another date:
i'm thinking of bringing poppy to botanic gardens one afternoon for picnic. cos she so poor thing, last sunday's picnic at the beach was 10 minutes nia. how about next thursday? 22 jan.

qing
babycubes got instructions one. can thaw in microwave. but i think i will just do like EBM. take out and put in fridge overnight then put in warm water when want to feed.

puree cool down liao then put into cube then freeze

waiwai
sorry i didn't do the pumpkin today. cos lazy la hehe. tomorrow.

Batgirl
Your hb’s reason for having a second child is similar to mine. I wanted to have another so that the siblings can grow, play, learn, share, experience, and fight together. And yes, have each other to turn to when hb and I are no longer around. I think it’s a very valid reason. I hope my boys grow up to be the best of friends who can count on each other and be there for each other.

Dor Dor
Yes, I went for Pilates. But once a week, one hour each time, is not enough to banish my stubborn fats. And Pilates is not a cardio exercise, it is more for stretching, alignment of the body, and toning. So the fats don’t get burned off, unlike with running. Anyway, I have finished my package and I am not renewing ‘cos it is so hard for me to go. I have to get both babies settled first, and #1 will almost always scream and refuse to let me go. So it gets very stressful. I think I’ll just try to exercise at home… wait a minute, did I actually type that?! Hahahahahahaha...........

I enrolled S very late, in Dec last year, about three weeks before school started. You can call the school first, no need to go down. The fees are $540 per term. Do you bring D for informal home playgroups with other mummies and tots? I used to bring S to these to 'socialise'. But before age three, most tots don't really play with each other.

SD
I went to AMK Hub to check it out today. The covered tarts are like what you said, $23. I bought two boxes, but have not tried yet. Looking forward to it! *drool*

Star
I am SAHM with no maid. Very VERY tired, but still not losing weight leh

Qing
During #1’s time I would just pop the frozen cube of puree into the porridge and heat everything up together on the stove. If eating just the puree or puree with cereal, I would pop it into the Avent VIA cup and put it into the warmer to thaw. Once thawed and at room temperature, just add the cereal, and feed.

sweet potato ... I use the red ones ... I tot that might be sweeter.

my boys must eat 3 meals of semi-solid. Else he will be cranky.

As for the shelf life of the puree, I intend to keep it 1 week most. Longer than this, I think not fresh, leh.

dordor,
I will get more cookie cutters ... sometimes i dunno is for my gal or is I myself wans it.

Toking about sliming down, i think I am gaining weight. That "stupid" yoga course I enrolled is postponed till after CNY. Help!

PB, Thursday I gg to see diamonds... cannot join you gals... Diamonds not for me though, my banker want to buy for his gf, ask me to help him choose! hahaha...lucky girl! Come to think of it, I never dare to bring my son out alone to go shopping or anywhere. Must have somebody to accompany me. How u manage ah...

SDchick,

wah..try for 5 years ah! I tried more than 3 years (and after 2 miscarriages) before succeeding this time. It is mentally very taxing. I hope it will be easier this time, but will leave it to fate.

Youpi,

Indeed a very valid reason! Hence, will try to have #2, hope everything will go smoothly.

RE: baby food

Wah...all of you very creative with food. Mine is boring old HT cereals. Sometimes mash a bit of banana and scrap some apple for him. Nothing exciting. Maybe this weekend I go and buy pumpkin....boil and mash for him. Will start him on porridge after my genting trip....

On sweet potato, which type to buy, the yellow flesh one or the japanese purple one huh...

batgirl

use the japanese purple one, better.

bluey

eheh I remembered u r one of the weird one ! U always lose weight during pregnancy right ? haha

talking abt frozen puree.... my mum don't allow me to freeze anything. I can only make fresh food for Rianne else she'll complain. So I have taught my maid to make simple puree every morning.

Now Rianne is on morning cereal and evening porridge. She still latch on in the morning + 3 6Oz EBM when I am at work. Sometimes may still latch again at nite depending on when is her last feed of EBM.

bluey

eat too much cookie ? heheh

ho ho ho .. CNY coming ... everybody will gain wt .. soooo dont fret ! go on diet after cNY lah !

lbt
Wah, so easy arh! Thanks for the tips!

PB/bbp/youpi
Can lah, I only scared they touch liao scared cos so prickly.. LOL!

Michelle
Last Sunday, Dani only drunk 50ml-80ml each feed. She just refused to drink but willingly to eat cereal thou. I did try to make her drink more but she refused so I stop. Will wait til she's screaming for milk then give her again.

bbp
Bottoms up Declan darlin! kekeke..

Cheryl
Aiyoh the big teeth shot!

PB
I got my handheld blender from CK Tangs - Braun. Come with some other equipment, but havent had the time to open up and play with it.
My MIL also got Dani a cheongsam.. imagine her in it with that hair of hers?? So weird...

Pinic @ Botanic Gardens
PB, I'm on leave to clean the house for CNY but since you suggested this outing, now Im tempted lei. Maybe teh hubby into doing it all by himself then say cos I want to bring his girl out for fresh air? kekeke.. what time are you looking at? Pinic on the grass or going to the cafe or something? I know lah, I very suaku lah.. hehe

My bbsitter too, dont want to give Dani frozen purees, said purees are best when eaten fresh. So my cubes will become Dani's snack containers.. that is when hubby allows her to have some baby biscuits which is like going to be a loooooong time ~~

Cereal all over her face!
She keeps leaning forward for more - mouth open big and if you dont put spoon inside her mouth, she will go to the spoon instead. Thats why pix blurred, cos she keeps moving!
2076104.jpg

CS,
Maybe Dani can wear a cute hat with her cheongsam?

PB,
Won't be joining Tiong Bahru outing but quite interested in the Botanic Gardens outing. Only scared hot though. Declan & I perspire very easily nowadays.

Re sweet potatoes:
What a coincidence that we are talking about sweet potatoes cos thinking of starting Declan on sweet potatoes on Thu. Was just at Cold Storage wondering about orange and purple sweet potatoes.

youpi
I haven been to those informal home playgroups before. Cos mostly the 'timing' dun suit me leh.....hehehe
Cos my son doesn't take naps most of the time so he sleeps till late n when we r ready to play the other kids are tired.....hahaha
I was so desprate trying to find somewhere to exercise even tot of going mother n bb yoga. But prob is where to dump D.......sigh
But wait a min.....my dad is home most days now....hmmmm *evil grin*

bluey
So that hello kitty is cake aah??
So nice.....where you bought the mould aah?? Ex??
Me also leh like this kind of stuff.....jialat at least you using lor me now still....urrrrrr...hehehe

CS
Wah Dani very good ah eat so happily....heehe

bbp
You're right, should wear her a hat to cover her durian spikes.. kekeke

dor dor
Aiyoh, she loves to eat cereal arh! If I sit somewhere neat her will mixing, she'll look at the bowl so longingly! Walk away and she'll scream!

PB
yah yah, can we pick somewhere shady please, better for babies and us otherwise like we'll get hot and sticky lei.

I just remembered, you girls went to Marina Barrage already? Hubby brought us there last weekend and its super duper windy loh, so nice. Wind was so strong that it blew away Dani's hat, lucky didnt flew into the sea. Saw lots of babies there too..

BB food cube
I bought that too but then not really useful la.. haven't tried putting it in the warmer, cuz it was small. Like Youpi, I put the puree in avent Via Cup and just put it in the warmer. Last time I used tupperware, which comes in 2oz size - very useful, but they don't sell it anymore.But now I didn't freeze any, just told my helper to do everyday before feed - fresher that way.

Bluey,
Aish I'm also gaining weight leh.. CNY coming, have so much temptations - all those pineapple tarts, cookies and kue lapis.
Chomping your cookies!!! looks delicious!

Batgirl,
I'm going to use the japanese purple sweet potato to make puree.

CS,
It's good that Dani loves cereal! Lately Emma will zip her mouth tightly and spit the Cereal out.

Any mummies gave stage 2 formula now? I gave Emma Enfapro already.