(2008/07) July 2008

So many mummies buying the taggies things yeah....

Lost of Sleep,
Lately i found myself cant sleep after i put kacey to sleep just dun noe YYY???
but the nxt day i dun feel tired at all

MIL Place,
everytime when my hubby tell me "Tomolo nite we going to my mum Place for DINNER" inside my mind i start to find excuse not to go over reason being everytime when we are there kacey dun like my PIL to carry her but my mil will force her way to carry her or say "Ah Ma carry u can??" Inside my heart I would say wat kind of stupid Q to ask kacey she wouldnt be able to ans u LAH ... Than kacey would be cranky the whole nite till we leave her place ......I really cant stand her........

Sometime I would think is my mil trying to take over my place in kacey heart ???????? How should I tell my hubby nicely that i dun wish my mil to force her way to carry kacey ???

Sorry for my nag nag

Hannah
i bought the mini one.
u acn see it in Kayden's blog one of his pix sittin at the armchair there.
www.liewlian.blogspot.com

Cot
really no $$$
spent $200 on plates

think Kayden must sleep on the floor first liao
wait for next paycheck

Serene
grandparents love to carry babies la..
like my dad, he carry Kayden like 90% of the time!
spoilt him only..

Jacelyn
I also born in of rooster

Serene,
I totally understand how you feel. But look at it this way.. you only see your PIL once in a while... so let them carry lor.
But if the problem is Kacey's crankiness, then once she starts getting cranky, just carry her from your MIL. After all, you do have a valid reason to carry her liao mah.

smiggleprincess,
i know grandparents loves to carry babies. the problem is that kacey dun like other ppl to caryy her only daddy n me can carry her.....
I will always rember my mil telling my hubby grandmum "Ethan n evan (my sil twins)loves me(My mil) to carry but kacey dun like ppl to carry her feel like ppl r stranger to her.

bbp,
last time we go over like once a wk for dinner but lately b coz of e remarks that she made, i have told myself dun go over unnecessary unless there function or so ......

Serene

personally, i dun mind grand parents to carry my kids. i dun mind relatives too ! eheh got someone to help me offload I will be very happy ! but I wont feel the same if it's my helper.

And I also felt that it is important that we dun let the kid stick to the parents too much. They have to learn to socialise and get along with other ppl. As long as they know we are the parents and be filial to us, I am ok with the rest.

dustee
You bought 1 too aah. Aiyah that time we should have bought together share the disc.....hahahaa
Ember also biting it.....hehe

youpi
OH REALLY??? So is it good??....hehe
I heard abit that its nice n supposely hard to get in so was thinking to put D on waiting list already for 2010....hehehe
So its not so hard huh.....hmmmmm

Hannahl
Maybe try to pump jus before you sleep then morn when you feed celeste you pump the other side lor. See if can get similar amt of milk, but if slightly lesser, at least you get ur sleep right.

Me too start buying after bb is born n now cannot stop. Dunno how many dresses she has now...hehehe
I bought the mini taggie bright pink on 1 side n black white on the other side. I think I got the last 1.....hehehe

lbt
Wah still willing to think of #3 now aah....hehehe

Serene
Let them carry liao n once Kacey cry take that as excuse to carry Kacey back lor. Anyway bb crying they sure won't be so biantai to let bb continue cry n not give back to u right.

btw, will celeste be too big for me to intro taggies? Shd i stick to 1 only or can have 2?

smiggle, thanks for the link. Woa u even brought the taggies to take studio pics? Is the big one too big to bring out?

SD, emma's sleep pattern is the same as celeste. She only naps for awhile each time so my mama is really busy in the day. And has to go thru lots of rocking & crying before she can fall asleep. And only on a rocker. If put on her cot, sure will wake up kind. That's why i've to try taggies. At least not a pacifier coz i really dun want to give her any.

smiggle, why dun u consider buying a second hand cot? Coz they won't sleep there for long. Unless u want to keep for #2.

SD, emma knows how to stick out her tongue!!! LOL

lbt, since u & hubby love children, juz go ahead & try for #3!!! Now has 4 mths ml very gd leh

Woo.. so many of u have given various suggestions on pumping
Problem is, i've been trying very hard to stay awake to pump. After my children are asleep, i'm like a dead log liao. Then i'll usually wake up in the wee hrs if i keep the bedside lamp on. Then i'll go wake up to pump milk.

It's juz that lately after my children fell sick one after another that makes pumping very tedious. Coz they had fever & i've to wake up after every 1-2 hrs to monitor their temperature. Can u imagine 3 having fever one after another?
And on & off they'll wake up & cry looking for mummy. And this happens since last Sat. Very siong part is when #2 cry, then wake up #3. Then i'm really very stress. And they dun want daddy!!!! And celeste has been fussing for the past 2 nites. Yesterday was slightly better already. And i still have to go to work which adds on to my sleep deprivation. Plus i'm a light sleeper. Once my children makes some noise, i'll be awake. So.. the nite pumps is still ok, barely surviving all these while.

It's the children falling sick part that's really straining.

Hannahl
Fussing at nights not necessarily mean teething. Just that for Dani's case, it is this way for now.

Ling
Okay lah. If I still dont bring her out, surely will dio banned by you guys. But then I will kena teased by Serene again cos kalang-kabok.. RIGHT SERENE! kekeke..

SD
Emma so cute with her new 'toy'! Dani's new love now - TV Remote... *shakes head*

lbt
Im also interested in giving Avocado but dont know how to go about it. Can advise some how-to boh?

CS ya bring dani out next time leh. and can let poppy touch her head? LOL

alamak fo sunny with the girls' new toys la!! poppy also one stage like the tv remote. then keep changing our channels lol

labbit
ya still jetlagged i think. i DO wake her up for milk! wake ehr up and play with her but still fall asleep. like very zek ark to not let ehr sleep wor.

now still waking up at 315am zun zune very night. but at least staying up less and less to play. in montreal also we just let her get accustomed to timing on her own. guess we'll continue doing that now. until she has decided that she wants to be the 315am baby for the rest of her babyhood :S

today going beach!

Hannah

ehhe the 4 mths maternity is not attractive to me .. I want more $$$$ ehhee

CS

oh it's easy lah. Just cut some part of the Avocado out (the yellow and green part) and mash it with a spoon. Then add warm EBM/FM and mix it to the consistency u want. Just like giving cereal.

I gave Rianne again this morning before her cereal.

But choosing a Avocado is not easy, at least to me. haha I agar agar one. When buying Avocado, slightly press on it. Dun buy one that is too ripe (feels soft) unless u want to give it to ur child that day. I buy one that is a bit hard, then I will put in my rice container so that it will becomes ripe during the weekend. ANyway i left it with the rice for abt 2 days then it is soft already, so i transfer to the fridge. And according to my Indo maid (Avocado is a popular food in Indo !) , she says u can attempt to shake the avocado. and if u hear the seed moving around, means the flesh is not attach to the seed, the fruit is consider still young so dun buy it.
eh ... that's all I know abt Avocado. Hope this helps

found something on the web
http://www.squidoo.com/easy_guacamole

PB

ya if she can wake up for milk better. and maybe during the day while she is sleeping, keep the room bright so she knows it's day time ? ahhaa i can imagine poppy blur abt the timing now ..

wah going beach ? nice weather !! enjoy ya !

oh talking abt hair .. my Rianne drops quite a lot of hair esp the two corners of her head. So I squeezed out some EBM and applied on her head before bath. I heard it's very effective for hair growth !

lbt... bb xuan pei also seems to lose interest in my milk...

serene... at least your MIL asks b4 she carries Kacey, mine just push my hands away and take my bb from me. since u dun see them everyday,just let them carry a while

waiwai

give more semi solid food lor, then we feel less pek chek since bb rejecting milk

today started Rianne on carrot porridge. Aiyo this gal ah .. very cautious with semi solid food one. Whenever the spoon is near her mouth, she will refuse to open her mouth and then start to examine her food first. After a few attempts of spoon touching her lips, she will open her small little mouth and taste it. If she likes, she will open her mouth BIG BIG for the next feed ! ahhaha so young got so many patterns. Hence I have difficulty feeding her medicine ! She zipped her mouth so tight the moment I put the syringe near her !

10 mins at the beach nia then rain liao

2068960.jpg

now that i hear you girls talk about it, it seems poppy is not so interested in milk these days too. she will finish it la but like not hungry as much. last time very zun every 3 hours scream for milk. now can tahan quite long, until i scared. so 3 hours i still give... shouldn't ah? maybe wait longer then give more? is it? cos i'm still giving about 150-180. sometimes she will ask for more then can go up to 210

oh btw mummies. where did you get your handheld blenders from?

PB,
Poppy so cute with the hat! What was she looking at?

I've got my blender from Braun - bought it 8 years ago. we used it almost daily to make juice, and now, back to preparing bb food.

Very good investment.

SDchick,

Which model did you buy? I also wanna buy a handheld blender. Think it is good for making bb food.

One question on puree: I noticed that apples are being steamed before making puree. Why? Wont it lose nutrients? Why cant we just give fresh apples (meshed up) to bb? WHy must cook ah?

I need some ideas on making bb food coz i think i am quite boring and bad at that. Any one can contribute?? :p thanks!!

For the first time last nite, Ethan tested my patience.. he simply refused to drink milk. imagine at 1815 he drank only 100ml, at 2200hrs he is still not hungry, but i fed anyway, and he only took 60ml. I really felt damn pek chek I have to force milk down his throat, i really feel like just let it be.. NOT hungry? Dun drink! I even went to buy brand new sets of Anti-colic bottles that costs me $70! cos the pigeon bottles let out a lot of air, and sometimes the teat gets "sucked" in.. so went to buy new ones thinking it will make drinking easier for him. but what happens? he still refuse milk.. and he just kept scratching his ear and eyes when i shove the teat into his mouth, whole body arch forward, backward, forward backward... WHAT CAN I DO?????????????? I am so upset.. feel like crying.. I HATE THIS KIND OF HELPLESS FEELING! Makes me feel like a lousy mummy..

HIs whole day feeding schedule ytday was like this

7am: 100ml
1030: 70ml
1130: 5 tablespoon of cereal with papaya
1330: 80ml
1630: 5 tablespoon of cereal (plain)
1815: 100ml
2200: 60ml

ARGH!!!!

Tell me, is 410ml a day of milk enough for a 6mth old growing baby???

WHen he is drinking milk, he likes to scratch his face and ear, until it is super red. Can somebody tell me is something wrong??

Should I send him off to a PD??? ear infection?? (no smell)...

I really wish I could know why rather than second guess... wonder if PD can do anything....

HELPLESS!

PB,
Poppy is so very cute! Wish Declan could wear such cute stuff to take photos. But since he can't, we end of taking photos such as this.
2069128.jpg

Jacelyn,
My cousin (who's a mother of 3) told me to steam the apple so it won't turn black while trying to feed our babies.

Michelle,
Maybe Ethan is teething? Dn't fret too much ok? It happens to all of us. Even right now I'm fighting with Declan to feed him his milk.

Hi Michelle,

I think 410ml is not that enough. Perhaps you really should go see a PD. I will be super worried too. U monitor today see how. Maybe it was just a passing phase yesterday (hope so). And if really cannot, then go see a doc. There must be a reason behind it. Instead of guessing, consult a professional.
I have a friend's bb that did not want milk at 4 months old! So they got no choice but to switch to cereals. And at 6 months, think she was only taking 1-2 milk feed a day. The rest were porridge or cereal. Not very good but better than not eating anything.

Oh yah michelle, i think bbp might be right. Teething! That could be the reason!

Oh steaming apples so it wun be 'black'? Hmmm but steam liaoz it will turn 'black' already?? My mum is against the idea of steaming the fruit coz scared nutrients will be lost.

Jacelyn,

Mine is a very old model, MR 440 baby Set, comes with the hand held blender, formula mixer, bottle and teat brush/cleaner,baby bottle, etc. pics here:http://www.ciao.co.uk/Braun_MR_440_HC_4185750__6711062
I think it's no longer sold in the market.

We need to steam/boil the apple to make it soft, if not, when you puree, it's very coarse and hard for bb to digest.

Michelle,
My bb was like that, minus the ear scratching. Turned out that she's teething so it's uncomfortable for her. but then now the teeth erupted, she's sometimes like that also. I changed from Pigeon wide neck - like you said, the teat not so good, to b-free bottles. Now she's fine. Sometimes depending on her mood she'll be like that again.
As a precaution, maybe can bring to pd to examine his ear, since he is scratching it so much. You gave him formula? which one? maybe he doesn't like it?

Don't worry too much, I have a friend who's baby never take more than 120 ml, even until he's 5 years old.

Bbp,
OMG Declan is drinking beer!!! Lols.

Michelle,
Thought of something else... seems to me that Ethan may be already full from his cereal? 5 tablespoons per meal seem to be quite a lot. As long as he's growing and PD has no concerns, should be fine I guess

Thanks all...

SD, I also changed to b-free bottles.. the teat is slightly different, so i thot it was the new bottle that he could not get used to.. last nite kept switching between bottles, and struggled so much, end up only drank 60ml.. wasted so much of the milk.. ya, now giving him formula, but he has been on the same formula for a long time, so don;t think it is the formula leh...

I don't mind if he is a small eater, but consistently take the same amount... he can stretch for 5-6 hours without any feed even tho the last feed he only took so little loh..

Hubby in ICT some more.. no shoulder to "Cry on".. boohoohoo...

Yar maybe because he ate a lot of cereal? my bb still eating only 2 tablespoons, I haven't tried giving more.

Aish sometimes babies are unpredictable lor.. A lot of trial and error for me. last time after the cereal, I thought Emma would be full, so I gave her milk 2 hrs later. She didn't really drink much for a few days, so i changed the timing for milk, 1 hr after cereal. She finished 190 ml straight away. So weird la.. now I always give milk 1 hr after cereal.

5 tables spoon is a lot? cos after mixing with 10-20ml of BM, the cereal like become very little leh... looks like only 1.5 tablespoon left only..

Michelle

ya i thnk bb too full ? semi solid food can be more fulling than milk cos our EBM is easier to digest.

i give Rianne 3 milk scoops of cereal and her next milk feed will be 5 Oz instead of 6 Oz.

and I think ur Ethan could be regulating his milk intake. As long as he has no fever and can sleep well, he is doing fine. If he cannot finish his milk, let him be. Feeding him more may makes him vomit and worse, he may vomit his whole feed, then waste more milk right ? ;)

PB, wow the poppy by the beach photo is very nicely taken.. angle very nice.. background for one bike strategically positioned to give an added "effect".. nice!!

bbp, LOL on Declan drinking beer... the chin up, the driving and now beer... you make him break all the law har! hee hee....

Serene, you dun see your MIL that often right?? I think it is ok for her to carry Kacey lah.. in fact, it is good for Kacey... Your MIL wont be able to steal kacey's heart with a 2-hr per week timeslot lah.. dun worry too much.. letting Kacey spend time with other family members will make her feel more loved and is good for her developmental... she will learn to bond and communicate better later... Kacey will still love mummy the most one lah.. K?

Michelle, SD,
Haha, yah, this is what happens to bored parents la... start to take funny photos. Hubby wanted me to take one of Declan riding motorbike the other day but my hp no batt so couldn't take. Heehee.

Ahhh I'm so bored. Ohh I visited Marks and Spencer Centrepoint - the children clothes are on sale.. Good materials and also quite reasonable, at $10-20. I bought a embroidered jumper plus long sleeve romper ( 1 set) for $25.

See Emma's teeth:
2069761.jpg

and her bandana!
2069762.jpg

Milk intake
Rachel also refuse to drink nowadays
She would rather go hungry.
Yesterday drank less than 100ml of formula loh
Morning & night still bm la but my supply super low loh
I think like what u mummies say she is more interested in solid
She had 6 tablespoons mix with plenty of water
She finished everything plus another 30ml of plain water

Ibt jacelyn
I also not sliming down anymore
Still got that stubborn 5 kg

Pb
Only manage to see ur email today still can submit?

michelle, i think 5 tbs of cereals quite alot leh. I read the recommended amt is usually 4.5 tbs? Ai ya, my gal got to struggle to finish 120ml leh. Maybe need 2-3 breaks kind :0 She's also fussing over semi-solids..

Ai ya, my gal has been fussing at nite. I'm terribly sleepy now leh. Plus my #2 still having high fever.. sian..

Cny all my children skinny skinny...

Oh
I am now at kkh waiting for our turn to see the pd
Have been waiting so long liao
Rachel already finish chewing her teether plus two round of crying, One bottle of fm and is now sleeping
Still no yet our turn

Hannahi,

Yes, Josh got 4 teeth already. I am really scared that he will bite while nursing. :eek:uch

Last week, I asked my helper to cook threadfin fish porridge and fed Josh, he likes it. Asked hubby to buy thredfin, he bought 4 pieces costed at S$ 18.00, so expensive. Talking about food, he is very scared that his kids not getting enough food, then he buy so much.

Hannah, i read off the HT BRC Box that max is 5 tablespoon mah.. so my MIL gave loh.. plus add some other things some more, like carrot, or potato, banana or papaya.. anyway, since now that he is drinking so little milk, perhaps taking more semi solids is better yah? aiya.. i also dunno ... today dun feel confident as a mummy.. so anything goes!

Qing... I remembered you said Rachel is drinking 210ml per feed wor... also reduced already? hmmm.. My PD said before that the milk intake will reduce after starting on solids, but I guess I am just uncomfortable that it reduced by so much so fast!

and the ear scratching.. aiyo...

Hannahl,
Yah, scared that he will pull the whoole beer mug towards himself. So you see there's a hand holding on to the base of the mug.

Star,
actually my bb milk intake stays the same, also 3 hourly, I just "insert" solid feeding session in between, once in the morning and the other in the evening. But sometimes she can't finish milk, then I'll just let her be. But still mixing the same amount of formula for her.

Michelle,
Read that some babies do scratch their ear, also for no apparent reason. My bb didn't scratch but she will wave her free hand when she sleeps. Just need to trim the nail very often then.

I never really keep track of how much solids.
except once or twice a day and i reduce his milk by half for that session.
cos he very greedy la.. and eats all over his face.

last week they weigh him at 8kg. but i think he is losin weight cos of the 2nd molar..

I wish he has two front or lower like the rest..
then i can see and take pix..

The jumperoo just came yseterday.
his legs like cannot touch the ground..
is it normal???
think jumperoo got less toys than exersaucer and cant interest him for long

PB... i just bought a hand-held blender Braun, quite good

Michelle... recently my bb also taking 500+ ml of milk only, she refuses to drink my milk and fuss!! wa~~ no choice but to throw away my own BM when she can't finish

i guess because our babies are filled by the cereal ba, i give 2 x 3 tablespoons and 1 tablespoon of fruit in a day

SD... Emma has teeth already! my bb still tooth-less

bbp... wah, Declan drinks beer ah?!