(2008/07) July 2008

cheryl... i also just received my baby cubes... happy puree-ing!

cellow... cedric is a good boy, can fall back to sleep so fast!

dustee... initially my bb didn't like Heinz rice cereal, then change to Frisocream, she also didnt like, finally now she likes Nestle with milk... think gotta do some trial and error... maybe u try 2 more days and see her response

PB... welcome back.. rest well..

bluey... i love the cookies... but don't bear to eat them... too cute!!

bb xuan pei on cover of magazine... wahaha
2054963.jpg

JSp
Actually once you have given cereals n Ernest is okie with the cereal you dun have to wait 4 days before mixing a new food into cereal already. Cos if allergic def is the new food ma.
The 4 day rule is only for new food.

FYI i read before on some bbs having reaction even when they did not eat any new food. The cause was actually too much of a certain food. Something like cos the bb has been taking that particular food for very long so there is too much n the body sort of reacts. So jus have to stop that food for awhile.
Anyone read this before??

PB
Wah got freelance job n can even do at your own time kind. So nice!!

Dustee
If we meet I pass you the nestle n some of the HT oat cereals for pomfret to try want anot?

Re. inlaws
I'm jus glad I had a choice n made my stand VERY firmly to stay by ourselves. But I think having a kid changes me in a way.
I dun like my fil esp, BUT.... becos of my son. I tolerated him very well. We are sort of like 'acting' everytime we have to meet n I dun make polite talk I only reply short n firm replies if I have to. N since its been 2 yrs I think I've learnt to get used to it.
Becos to me, our kids learn from us. They won't understand WHY we dislike anyone becos that person loves them and is very good to them. If we treat the person badly or bad mouth them, it reflects badly on us to our kids.
So I am on the stand that I will let my kids judge for themselves. Who treats them well, who is unkind to them. Let them make their own judgement n not jus becos mummy and daddy dislike.
I am jus glad I dun have to do 'show' 24/7. So mummies who stay with inlaws hang in there okie n try to find a way that works for you.

dor dor
erm... ya... i tot tat was wat i meant... heehee... maybe me not clear lor... =P

i dun think i've read abt tat b4 budden one serving of apple a day not alot rite?? so far ernest okie then i think no prob hor...

Cellow,
The book title is Sleepeasy Solution by Jill Spivack and Jennifer Waldburger. Their website is http://www.sleepyplanet.com.
Frankly, whining for 3 to 4 mins is already considered very good in my book. I knoooow, when our babies are crying time seems to stop!! One minute feels linke one hour. Just now Jamie CRY for about 10 mins .. I was hopping in my living room, contemplating if I should go in and soothe him

PB,
Welcome back and congrats on your new job! That's really great, you can work from home rite? I don't mind answering some questions as long as I have the answer, keke .. Will send you PM also.
Wow, poppy must be really tired from the trip that she slept through. But good for mommy!

Rayna,
Enjoy your leave!!
We don't use special detergent for Jamie. Currently we are using Dynamo which smells quite nice.

Waiwai,
Nice pics!!

Hannah,
Hats off to you for caring 3 kids and still working. Motherhood is the only job in the world paid by lots of hugs, kisses, and i-love-yous eh?

Bluey,
I miss baking! Not that my cakes turned out well but I still like baking. Too bad my over broke down and with Jamie clinging to me, practically no time to bake.

Cheryl,
You bought the cubes from BP rite? Mine arrived yesterday! Already used some to store carrot puree

Dustee,
*hugs* It's not easy to live with in-laws

Did pomfret just started her solid? I made the cereal very runny on the first 2 days so it resembled BM. Slowly then I made it thicker. Maybe you can try to add more milk?

been a busy day..

Kayden saw his neonatologist yesterday.. lucky no need to be admitted and cost me only $35!!!!

He is startin to cough out phlegm.. choke until his whole face red.. cough so loud and long like an old ah pek..

Michelle
the mini washin machine not dryin one.. must take out and squeeze the water...

Welcome back PB
PM u liao...

Waiwai
How u get her on the mag cover??

Any mummies know where to buy nice new yr goodies??

Can u believe my new electrolux washin machine is spoilt???

Doggiebb, SD,
My #1 started nursery school today. He looked so cute in the school uniform, and I felt so proud of him because he behaved so well in class while some other children were screaming and crying.

Doink
Does bbG sleep in the cot? If not, maybe putting bbG to bed in the cot could help. For the past two nights, I’ve put L to sleep in the cot instead of on the bed with me and #1. He would sleep for 6-plus hours before waking for a feed. For instance, last night he fell asleep at 8pm, and woke for a feed at 2.45am. So from now on, he’s going to stay in the cot. I guess our movements must have disturbed him and woke him while he slept. Or perhaps this little princeling wants to have his own space instead of sharing with mummy and kor kor!

Michelle
I do the attachment object with a bolster. So we have a bolster boogie each time. He takes it, it goes up and down, left and right, in and out, then gets flung away. I give it back to him and the dance starts all over again. Most of the time, I myself cannot take it, and just lift him to my breast to get him to sleep so that I can go and do other stuff or take care of #1’s needs.

Baby bonus is in instalments of $750. You should receive the 2nd one when baby turns six months.

Batgirl
My boy is also mostly botak. His hair has only grown to about 2cm since birth. But at least there’s something lah. I just cover his head with a hat when we’re out in cooler places.

Star
Wow, baby Josh is feeding very often!

Baby feeding
Hmmm looks like I am the only one who has not started baby on any cereals or solids yet. He’s still on pure BM, and fed whenever. I don’t have any fixed feeding schedule.

RHS
I was very tempted to get the Taggies as well! So cute, right?

Cellow
My #1 was still bfg when he was two years old, but by then he did not need to be nursed to sleep anymore. And hey, Cedric only complained for THREE minutes. Wow!

PB
Welcome back! Heheh, so which one are you freelancing for?

Bluey
The cookies are very cute, especially the decorated ones, they look too good to eat.

Dustee
*Sayang* Like Dor Dor, I also made it very clear that we MUST stay on our own ‘cos I know I won’t be able to tolerate staying with my ILs. Maybe you could bring Pomfret to the garden, or the patio or balcony? Get fresh air, different perspectives…

Smiggle
*Hugs* Hope Kayden gets better soon.

CNY goodies: I like those from the Peranakan shop in Katong. Can't recall it's name at the moment... it also sells bak chang... hmmm, can any of the East-siders help?

smiggleprincess and RHS - did not get your pm leh. maybe you email me better? [email protected]

RHS - ya she sleep so long, it's good for me! but then wake up at 3am and want to play leh. hehe. but not so bad. however this afternoon *i* was sleepy at 2pm so i kind of had to force her to sleep so that i could. i only succeeded at 330pm :S

michelle - actually i've been doing this for a while liao
ya, can work from home. it's great :D

youpi - not the one that you are very familiar with
peranakan shop in katong... glory caterng?

dustee - poor you. it's getting worse huh. call me out when you need a break la. we can go gai gai with our little ones. stay at home too much (esp since you stay in ROOM) can get cabin fever one. and that would affect your mood with pomfret too

what is this new carry hanky to sleep technique? i just saw that part so when i put poppy to bed just now i just put a hanky in her hand. she must be wondering 'what is mummy up to now?' haha

oh it's so frustrating! you girls got this one? http://babycubes.com/ i just saw that i could have bought it in montreal!!!! some of the places even sound familiar to me, just that we didn't go there. argh. i looked around but couldn't find, and my MIL said she never heard of such a thing so i didn't really look much. argh!!!!

waiwai,
what a nice pic!! easy to make?

youpi,
my baby too is trained to sleep with a bolster.. (accompanied with some crying..)
i know what u mean by bolster dance cos mine also does the same, too excited when she get hold of the bolster. i'm waiting to see her bolster flying out from her cot becos of the fierce flung.. haha..

you might have already seen this before.. an expensive way to train bb sleep on her/his own.. haha...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2DJhHhaMhc

welcome back PB.. and congrats on your new job!

do1nk
wah u put the pump on ur bed???

I think if u drop the pump, gone case liao. My pump became noisy after my hubby dropped the bag with my pump in it. And after that the pump is no longer the same again.

Last time they dun service the pumps, after it's confirm faulty, they'll replace with a new motor if still under warranty. But the last time that i went, i was told that they'll service the pump first. If beyond repair/they dun have the spares to repair the pump then they'll replace with a brand new pump. Which i was not happy with. But my problem has since been settled.

i'm pumping only 4 times in 24hrs nia. U leh?

jsp, celeste also wants to be carried most of the time. Like that very tiring one leh
Ya, the big fat tears sounds familiar, ha ha ha..

sigh. up at 3am again. me, not poppy. so what to do, paying bills online lor. my husband just got up then i said 'eh, sign here'. for giro form. he also blur :D

babycubes - anyone still interested? one of the ladies who bought from BP has 4 extra to let go. i'm getting 2

walau been up since 3am lor. poppy just got to sleep. later sure very tired in the afternoon wan. jialat.

btw i have not checked but has everyone paid me for their TCC makan/drinks ah?

going to ikea alexandra tomorrow to get some stuff. anyone wants to join me? dustee?

cellow, had been planning to stop bf.. but since i've pulled thru with all the struggles along the way, now i dun know how to stop
I admit that the lack of sleep part is really giving me lotsa stress. I've been sleep deprived since my last trimester till now..

bluey, i juz can't find time to do cooking with my boys. Even outings also must plan ahead, not like last time, want to go zoo, wild wild wet, escape theme park juz last minute decide can go liao. So busy with 3 kiddos

keke, same as jsp.. sleep also not enuf

star, josh really can drink a lot. Thank God u have lots of milk!

SD, why your #1 goes to a new sch?

I dun mind letting bb cry till she falls asleep on her own. But she shares the same room with the brothers leh. So i can't possibly do that, esp my #1 sleeps early as he's in the am session. So how to train leh??

pb and poppy,
welcome back! post pics when u have the time yeah..

waiwai,
wow, xp on mag cover! how did u do this?

smiggleprincess,
what happened to ur new washer? shld be under warranty right?

morning mommies...
i've got the HT cereal from SY. planning to start next week or later when bbJ is closer to 6m.o. how to prepare the cereal with FM? need to cook or boil OR just add cereal in FM powder will do? for first trial, just start with one teaspoon or one tablespoon? how many scoops of FM to add then? sorry for my numerous questions! Thanks in advance.

youpi, are you refering to the True Blue Peranakan restaurant (closed down)? or Kim Zhu?

NOrmally, i will order by phone to Lina Confectionary, at Alexandra village. THeir pineapple tarts are delicious.. those closed types.. they have open tarts as well.. the pastry is very nice.. they only open for CNY one..
MIL will also order from a malay family staying somewhere in Telok Kurau.. home made type loh..

smiggle, so the mini washing machine, other no tumble dry, does it wash it clean? i mean.. the rinsing etc is good enough to make sure baby clothes are CLEAN, rite?

aiyo.. electrolux so unreliable?!? what happened! oh no.. my whole house appliance are all "sponsored by electrolux"...

Yippee, finally my house renovation can start and it shold be completed before CNY! I can slowly move in during CNY holiday!

2mr I am on leave, are you all going to Ikea tomorrow??? Cos I am going to Ikea Tampines!

morning mummies...

PB
u have my email rite???

Hannahl
ya lor... carry him until me here ache there ache lor... budden see his big fat tears my heart melt lor... so no choice...

smiggle
so fast spoilt liao??? still under warranty rite??

missysz
no need to boil one... juz add prepared FM/BM to the cereal... for Ernest 1st feed, i use 1 teaspoon and mix with FM until i get a runny texture... then slowly decrease the amt of FM added and increase the amt of cereal until i reach 11/2 tablespoon of cereal... the cereal Ernest takes now is more lumpy kind one... i dun really measure the amt of FM added one... juz add until i feel that the texture is okie lor... by gut feel one... heehee...

my mum decides not to feed Megan with nestle anymore. my girl got those like heat rash on her face. so mum thinks that it's too heaty.

so any mummy interested to take over mine tin? Onli eat abit nia. it's rice cereal. if any1 wants PM me in case i miss it here. then i pass to u ok. FOC of cos. hehehe

PB, Michelle
i'm going to Ikea Tampines tomorrow evening. hehehe...can't go earlier cos got a lunch appt with my Knitting kakis. =)

yipee ... today afternoon I am going to have fun making pineapple tarts at a class.
Instead of home-made, mine will be self-made. lol.

Compared Nestle and Healthy Times ... I really like the texture of HT. So fine. My boy loves it!!

Have fun at Ikea.

Waiwai,
Lovely cover! I like the vague magazine shot better kekeke..

Youpi,
Ahh it's good that your#1 behaved so good in class.

I also put bb in her cot now. Used to sleep in between me and hb, but I can't take it any longer cuz sleeping with bb gets me a aching back, as I dun dare to move to much. She can sleep on my bed, after 1/2 hr, I move her back to the cot.

Smiggle,
Depending on your budget, you can buy bb cot at many places. Ikea has some too, but I don't know whether it's good. I bought mine last time when I had #1 8 years ago, Pali brand. It's expensive (bought it at $600), but it last a long time. Now bb Emma sleeps in it and still looking good and strong. Pali is available at First Few Years, but I think the price is at $900+ now. Another one that's very pretty and nice is Micuna. Available in Aprisin. http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=18_51
also very pricey leh. Kiddy palace sells some as well. Oh there'll be a John Little Expo sale this weekend, maybe they'll have bb cot as well?

Dustee,
Take a breather.. go out and don't just stay at home. Sometimes we just need a little time out for ourselves.

PB,
I bought that, but the 1oz one. don't buy the 1Oz cube hor cuz it sucks! It doesn't close properly and totally different from the 2 oz ones. Not sure how good is the 2oz one. I'd rather buy tupperware. I bought from little jet plane but when I ordered the 1 oz, it showed my the 2oz pic was shown on the page, so I thought it looks like that. I opened the plastic packaging and found that it's not very good. Asked for an exchange, but the company refused.

Hannah,
we will be moving this year and the new place will be too far for her to travel to her old school at AMK. so we moved her to the school nearer to our new place.

BB sleeping
BB Emma's attachment for sleeping are her pacifier, bolster and a little taggies my mum made for her. Here's a pic:
2056998.jpg

It's actually super easy to do taggies! So I didn't bother to buy.

Bluey,
wah you are making pineapple tarts!!! Which pineapple tarts are good here. I tried bengawan solo ones - not nice leh.. I like those close type.

Alexandra Village. err.. cannot remember the blk and unit number, cos I know where mah.. so i just call to order like a month before, and then choose a date that you wish to collect.. perhaps you can call them for the exact address.

bluey
cayden is excited when he sees adults eating near him too.. he'll try to lean his body forward n open his mouth real wide.. so funny.. nex time i'll video it down n put on his blog.. keke

waiwai
wah, cover bb!!! so ke ai...

dordor
like your philosophy n how u bring up ur kids...

rhs
yeps.. bought from bp! wah, u so fast start to use liao ar? i'll prob only start to use it nex week for next batch of cooking..

cny clothing
any1 knows or have seen places selling baby boy clothes, those chinese mandarin collar de.. but not those silky red cheena looking kinda la.. tot of buying for cayden so he can wear when he visits his great grandma during cny..

btw,
SIA has travel offers now. promo from now till 12jan09... but travel period is till 31st may la.. go check it out!! prices quite attractive for sia flights.

www.singaporeair.com.sg
mummies wif mil prob, maybe wanna book a short trip to relax wif hubby n bb alone?
cheer up, things will always get better okay? hang in there mummies!

cellow, bbp
welcome.
nex time mk hubby come wif us to supervise bbies at play, then we go for nail spa, okay? *wink*

cheryl,

I brought mine from "ying"(babylife?) store in vivo. Very traditional looking but is actually made for F1 occasion. I like tat a lot ... very stylish.

After new year, still can wear.

I even got one similar one in gal style for my #1.

serene
me juz called them... can collect at amk hub/bt merah... closing date is on the 14th... plain ones $47 n prune ones $50... me ordered the plain ones...

JSP,
once u eat u will not stop ...hahaha

SDchick,
there another place sell close pineapple tarts the cake shop call mirana foodstuff ard 28 pcs for $13 75 pcs for $35 , i just try last wk quite nice not v sweet n the filling is quite a lot. U can call 6533 8302 raffles place or 6781 5009 simei branch

Thanks for the contact Serene.

Wah i called Lina - the lapis cake so expensive hor, twice the price if getting in Indon. Even the pineapple tarts also. Maybe I'll drop by to see the pineapple tarts this weekend. I'm used to the pineapple tarts from indon, so difficult to find the ones that have the similar taste here.

all this talk of CNY goodies is making me hungry... luckily i had lunch already.

quick qn - what is a good bb biscuit to start bb with? want smthing for Cedric to hold and feed himself with, now he is practising his fine motor skills of picking his toys up w 2 fingers instead of whole fist. but he doesnt always succeed la. time to start him on biscuits?

thanks jsp. hehe..dont know if my boy will like his cereal or not..he doesnt seem to show interest when we are eating and when i put my spoon near his mouth, he also never open.

missysz
initially Ernest also dun like his cereals budden he loves apple puree so i added apple puree to his cereals so now he will cry for more after he finish the cereals lor... gotta have alot of patience when feeding bb lor... if he dun like then change brand or try adding fruit puree that dey like lor...

Ya, lina kueh lapis is super nice.. I like the prunes one.. but is super Ex. normally lina will ask me want to order, i always say, dun want lah, so ex.. then on that day when i go down to collect, I see liao.. always end up buying one loh.. hee hee hee... their Kueh Bang Kit is nice too.. but dunno why, this year not avail for pre-order... any of you got recommendation for kueh bang kit?

cellow, gd question, are they too young to start on teething biscuit? cos I got the bellamy one (actually my sis bot lah) but dunno when they can start, scared they break it and swallow one big piece? how?????

eh my posting last night got cut off.

i meant to say, i need to correct myself, it wasn't my priest (i go to risen christ in toa payoh), but Brother Michael Broughton (he heads SJI) who was talking about how 'your mil would be your gateway to heaven' coz in understanding and tolerating her, we also remember that she is also loved by God, and thus we also 'train' our character and so will go to heaven :p

i don't argue with my in-laws or what, but my mil is super controlling (down to our toothbrushes even) so everything i do, she would question why i don't do it her way, and she's hovering around all the time.

so sometimes, like yesterday, i would really feel like i've reached my limit. then i get depressed for a while. but after that i will feel thankful that at least pomfret gets grandparents who love her. i mean our baby would have more love overall, it's really a good thing.

thanks mummies, it's really good to have all your support. =D

and probably coz of my back problem now, all the 'me' time i have, i have to spend it at the chiropractor's. and also meanwhile can't carry pomfret so well, so can't go out too much.

but this too will pass, coz i am surely getting better. =D

and you all know lah, we get the 'mummy guilt' all too often. baby don't sleep? maybe my fault? baby don't eat? maybe i fed something wrong? baby sneezed? did i pass flu bug to her? and on and on... heheheh

PB,
Haha. Like that can get your hubby to sign away his fortune liao. Haha.
Is IKEA like your favourite hang-out?

Sonic,
The video is super cute!

Cheryl,
Yeah, good idea about the spa. I know I need one...

another bad nite..

Kayden cant sleep the whole nite from bocked nose.. me and maid had to take turns carryin him upright for him to sleep.
early in the morning, he got a little warm..
finally managed to settle him down..
im so tired.. my sore throat like fire.. cant swalllow or talk...