(2008/07) July 2008

jsp
agree
thats what happen to me too.
i bought like 30 overs clothings from gaps and old navy alone loh.
i am so going to die liao

rayna
rachel is now on 210ml liao

morning we latch on. maybe abt 100ml nia.
then 11 - 210ml FM
then 2pm - 60ml FBM
4-5pm - porridge
6pm - 60ml FBM
8pm - 210ml FM
10pm - latch on, abt 100ml
basically that what happen during the weekdays.
more systematic. weekends is very messy.

JSP,
she's taking 135ml every 4 - 4.5 hrs lei. last mth was really bad. din't want to drink. only last week then started drinking again. sighz..don't know what to do with her also.

Megan's last feed is also either at 10pm or earlier. cos usually she's sleeping by 10pm. sometimes can sleep at 7plus. hehehe..but at nite will still wake up and ask for milk. feed finish, will go back to sleep. if i ignore her during the nite, like don't feed her, she will cry the whole house down.

Re sprees and BPs,

i also buying alot. till my hb says, every week u got something for Megan. hehehe..think later this week on leave will bring Megan go jalan jalan...

JSP, Qing

Baby Josh is still on 120 ml EBM.

6am latch on (one side)
8am 120 ml EBM
10am 120 ml EBM
11am 1 spoonful cereal
12am 120 ml EBM
2pm 120ml EBM
4pm 120ml EBM
6pm 120ml EBM
8pm latch on (one side)
9pm latch on (one side)
11pm latch on (one side)
2am latch on (one side)
4am latch on (one side)

So many times bb Josh drink a day and he only latch on one side every time. Sometimes he only finish EBM 100 ml. I only start him cereal for 2 weeks and he only can finish one spoonful.

rayna
ernest also dun wanna drink one lor... budden we realise tat he suay kuan one lor... muz wait until slpy then will drink one so now once he slp liao we quickly feed him lor... he'll drink super fast one lor... n nowadays, he slps at 7 plus... will not wake up for milk one so b4 i slp i'll feed him one time... then he'll slp thru till 5plus where i'll wake up to feed him... if not my mil says morning veri hard to feed one... maybe too hungry liao...

qing
wow... 30+ pcs??? serious huh??? me buy abit here n there budden some for myself one lor... budden mostly for ernest coz his mummy vain mah...

star.. wah your boy feeds so regularly?!? damn tiring leh.. doesnt he take long nap?

ethan feeds abour 3-4hrly, 4 times a day, 150-170ml of milk (on good days, else he only finishes 100-120ml). 5 tablespoon of cereal + whatever my MIL mixes to "beautify" his meal... twice a day. last feed at 930pm. sleep till 4-5am during which he drinks 50-90ml depending .

Star, did you try to stretch the in-between feed time? so that baby does not need to wake so many times? as they get older, they should take more in qty but less in frequency... then slowly replace a milk feed with solids eventually when they toddler i think...

btw, is it because he cry for feed every 2 hourly like alarm clock type?

star
your schedule so busy.
it is like almost every hour loh.
maybe you should let him so hungry for once.
must train every 4 to 5 hrs.

JSP
yes.
i still buy somemore for myself from F21.
i bought from the same person from her spree 1 to 5 loh. somemore USD drop.
aiyo.

and mostly her stuff.

and yes, go shopping or my parents house. the timing goes haywire liao.

rayna... my hb and i managed to wean off bb's mid-night feed when she was 3.5 month old. there wa one night she woke up but we only gave her water, she cried till the whole world shake. since then she will wake up after 5am. it may sound a bit cruel but it worked! :p

michelle... the 2nd baby bonus comes a few days before bb's 6 month birthday... me got it liao

smiggleprincess... hope u and Kayden get well soon

do1nk... same as u, my bb and myself also like nestle cereal... we have sweet tooth... kekeke

star... it must be tough for u to feed so frequently at night... i wake up once in midnight to pump already panda eyes at work liao

my bb's PD recommends 4 x 150ml of milk and 1-2 solid food per day, i make slight adjustment according to bb's appetite

5-6am 160ml BM
10am 160ml BM
12noon 3 tablespoon cereal + 1 tablespoon fruit
3pm 130ml BM
6pm 3 tablespoon cereal + 1 tablespoon fruit
930pm 130ml BM

since she started eating cereal, she doesn't drink much in afternoon and night... fuss if i force her to drink... i was very angry when she rejects my BM, but come to think about it, actually good for me as my ss very limited

Bluey,
The cookie is super cute leh.. looks yummy too. Is it butter cookie?

Doggiebb,
It's good that Talia is enjoying school a lot. My#1 started Pri 3 at a new school on 2 Jan. I'm a little nervous about it, but she didn't feel nervous at all.

Rayna,
Wah it's good that can feed bb without carrying. My bb has to be put on a sling everytime for feeding, if not she will fuss and none of us can hold properly without the sling.

Smiggle,
Hope both you and your son feel better soon! Hopefully no need to admit Kayden to hospital.

BB feeding
Bb emma's typical schedule is like this:
6 am between 90-120ml
9 am 180 ml
10.30 am Fruit puree, about 2 tablespoons
12 pm 180 ml
3 pm 180 ml
5 pm 2 tablespoons either barley or brown rice cereal
6.30 pm - 180 ml
9.30 pm - between 120-180 ml

However, she's not very consistent in finishing the 180ml during her last feed.

Internet shopping
Yep it's quite addictive leh.. but I didn't dare to buy so many, since bb is small and she will outgrown very fast. Somemore i didn't throw away my #1 bb clothes, which I bought like mad last time. Most turned yellowish, but after bleaching all became as good as new.

star,
you must be very tired! looking at bb josh's schedule, seems like u hardly have time to yourself... but u as mummy know his temperament the best. if he likes to feed in short spurts, then that's the way he is, and jst hafta work around it. bbs can be 'trained' to sm extent but dun suddenly spring it on them...slowly slowly does it. we adults also dun like it when our lunch/dinner is late and/or not enuf!

BB feeding
Bb Cedric's typical schedule is like this:
Anytime from 530am to 630am: Latch on
8-9am: 130ml EBM
10-10.30am: Brown rice cereal, abt 2 teaspoons mixed with my EBM (after his daily bath) followed by 100ml EBM
1pm: 120ml EBM
4-4.30pm: 120ml EBM
6.30-7pm: Either 60ml EBM or latch on, depends if I am home already
7.30pm: Latch on
9.30-10pm: Latch on

Cedric likes to eat frequently but not soooo much each time. Now looking at the other bbs' schedule, I might gradually increase his feed to 150ml per time and try to stretch his feeding freq out over the day.

oh, and he wakes up at least once more during the night... i dun look at the clock when he wakes, so dunno what time typically. if once onli, i think it is at 3am. if twice, then most prob 1-2am and then again at 4-5am....

THIS is the feed that I m trying to wean him off. But actually still can tahan, bcz I jst open my pjs and latch him lying down, and after that, mummy and bb happily go to sleep

any mummies here have used the scense mini washing machine to wash baby clothes before? thinking if it is good, i will use it when i shift in to my new house, and helper will not be around 24x7, can save me time from handwashing baby clothes?

So many posts to catch up!

Pasty poo
Yep, I guess solid food = solid poo. Now it's sticky and the smell also change a bit.

Cellow,
Not master lah, Jamie's sleep still goes bonker from time to time. Basically you need to put Cedric in his crib when he's sleepy but not yet fall asleep. If you are nursing him before bed, try to rouse him a bit if he falls asleep. When you put him in the crib, he may cry. Just go out of the room and wait. After 5 mins, go in and say few reassuring words to him then go out again. The idea is to let him know that mommy is around. Then wait for a longer period, say, 10 mins. If he's still crying, go in again and talk to him again. THe next waiting time is 15 mins. If his cry becomes softer or if he's only whining/whimpering, don't go in as you may cause him to cry louder when he sees you. That's basically the method. But I will suggest you to get the book because there are many other things as well in there.

But like bbp said, it involves crying. Even I still cry sometimes if Jamie cries and cries very loud. But our PD said we must train him now or else he may have sleep problem until he's 2 yo.

How long do you pump each time? I'm pumping a bit now to mix with Jamie's cereal and sometimes the output is so pathetic. Only 30-40ml per side. Wonder if I should pump longer or more often.

The photoshopped pic looks like real!

Thanks for the book recommendation. I'm also looking around for good books about this subject.

Michelle,
LOL ... you are comparing Ethan's hair with Gollum's hair? Jamie's hair also falling off now .. can see botak patches here and there *sigh*

lbt,
Rianne looks so happy! You teased her ah?

Straw81,
Same question I asked my PD. She said if allergic, the rash will come out including around bb mouth. From what I read, the reaction can appear only 24 hour later. That's why must wait 3-4 days before introducing new food.

Bluey,
Your cookies are so cute!! They look very yummy .. argh! now I feel like eating some cookies.

Rayna,
Heinz cereal has no added sugar in it. You can mix it with BM, FM, or fruit puree so it becomes a bit sweet. I avoid Nestle because it contains sugar.

Hanky
Joust bought 2 taggies for Jamie in the hope they become his transitional object. The result so far? He only took short look at them then go to other toys
Haiz .. possibly money down the drain.

Early waking
Just to share, my PD said if bb sleeps through from around 8pm, it's normal for him to wake up around 4am/5am for feed. Most will go back to sleep after this feed but if he doesn't, then it's also normal but too bad for the parents

Apple
Jamie hates apple! He made sour face the first time I gave him apple puree, and after few spoons he gave me want-to-vomit face. I wanted to laugh but feel sorry for him. Must be a whole new experience swallowing these purees after drinking only BM for 6 mth. So we mixed the puree with LOTS of cereal, then he's happy.

Thanks RHS! Pls share the full book title & author for the sleepeasy solution... Want Cedric to b self reliant and not still depend on me to latch him to sleep when he is 2 yo!

oh my. i am so totally lost. after more than 20 hours of air time, i am finally home. we got home about 3am this morning and i am very disoriented. poppy has been sleeping since 3pm so i better wake her up soon in case she wants to play all night :S

a quick question for everyone. if i did not mention earlier, i'm now a freelance writer for magazine that many of you would be familiar with. i'd like to get some mummy comments from some of you. please drop me a PM if you are interested and i can get in touch with you with the questions

don't reply through forum cos i may miss it. and btw, do tell your mummy friends cos i will need a healthy pool of mums (and dads sometimes) to get comments from!

hope i don't get banned from SMH for this sia!

I nursed Cedric till 10.18pm, put him down on our bed when he is still drowsy, reassured him, turned and WALKED OUT of the room... w my hp to track the time... and heard him whine and whimper. Shut my eyes till he piped down. Got HB to go in and check on him when we din hear any more noise. Only 10.22pm till he was silent... bt it felt like the longest 4 mins of my life.

I dunno whether to cry or laugh

Waiwai,
Megan wean off the midnight feed by herself when she was 1.5 mth. but fell sick at 2.5mth. after which the nite feed came back and never leave again. hahha...so now must wean her off again.
she's on the small side. so my mum always worry she do not have enough to fill her stomach if we wean off the midnite feed now plus she's not on cereal yet so she feel she might not be very full. =)

PB,

Welcome home!

morning mummies...

PB
u r back!!! got jet lag???

Rayna/Serene
wanna go shopping on the 16th?? on leave coz gg to do my nails... 23rd abit hard coz flying off to BKK on 24th morning...

batgirl, i'm still perservering on the nite pumps as that's the only time that i can hope to yield more milk as my last pump was probably at 5 plus in the evening. Coz after work, got to go fetch celeste from my mama's house. Then when home, ensure my boys are fed, cleaned & asleep. Then i'm totally konk out by then.

And i find no excuse not to do it also since the kiddos are asleep, and i dun have to be distracted by the day time activities.

Ya, must admit that it's really no joke to have 3 kiddos. Esp when one is awake, a high tendency the the other two will be awake. Then i jia lut liao leh. But then again, i really dun mind going thru all these coz one simple i love u mummy from the boys, or a lovely cuddle from them is enough to sweeten my day liao :0 And a simple smile only from any of them, is enough liao

Ok, mentioned that my #1 had fever on sun. Then now celeste also having fever since yesterday. Then.. now my #2 is also having fever, since this morning.... siao liao lah.. Still have to wake up to monitor their temperature cum the nite pumping. Ho ho ho.. Dun know how to work properly in office liao lah...

batgirl, wai wai, u both makes me feel that i'm very wei da leh, kekeke.. I've a P2 boy, a K1 boy, and a small bb gal.. all has different needs and are at different stages now. Character wise, all also different. Sometimes also dun know why the boys have so much to quarrel about. And my #2 is showing signs of being neglected. Must admit, no joke
I'm VERY qiao cui also lah, now no time to do spa liao leh. Cut hair also no time

Star, dun know my gal has high or low fever liao. My thermometer measures only ard 37.5 degrees. But at pd there yesterday nite it was 38.5.. Then after that when i measure at home, again around 37.5.. Confused. Maybe i shd get a new thermometer liao. Pd there asked me to get from them as theirs is better. She's too small to use the ear one. But $35 for an armpit one..

Star, if i were u, i'll wait till the cough gets worsen a bit then bring bb to pd. Maybe mother of 3 so not so gan cheong liao. Well, that's what the recep at the pd there commented yesterday. Got fever yet wait so long then bring there
I went at 835pm when the clinic was about to close

do1nk, haha i also often pump till doze off, almost drop the funnel kind. Got once really fell off from my lap then some milk came out. Immediately awaken man
Stress

JSP ya got jetlag major time. totally opposite time zone man. this morning woke up at 3am, cos poppy woke up. fed her, rocked her to sleep then i couldn't sleep liao. so i was sweeping floor and doing laundry in the wee hours of this morning!

poppy slept from 3pm to 3am!!!!! i woke her up to change diaper and feed twice. but she slept immediately after. wow.

rayna
huh??? like tat huh.... i'll also be on leave on the 12th & 13th... coz need to bring Ernest for his 3rd set of vaccination lor... so dunno if he'll be well enuff to go out anot lor... budden u veri shiok leh... on leave 1 whole week lor... heehee...

JSP,

like that huh. usually after Megan's jab i don't bring her out for 2 days. cos 1) she's cranky, 2) i scare she gets germs. hahaha always felt that after jab, they are quite weak. =) think better don't bring Ernest out after the jab lah.

Cos i clearing my ML mah. if i don't take these 5 days, the co is going to take away liao. cos Megan turning 6 mths on the 14th liao. so fast hor.

mummies, check with you all what washing detergent do you all use? I'm currently using Kokomo, but hor, my mum says it stinks. aiyo use 5 mths liao then she complain. she say got the milk smell very strong. then clothes don't smell so nice. my cousin intro a non-bio powder called fairy. very nice smelling, but super ex lei. 950g of powder cost me $12.75. so want to see what other brands smell nice but not so ex. any recommendation?

rayna
me using the ABD detergent powder from pureen... smells not too bad... plus i use the fabric softener from kodomo... both together the smell quite nice leh... i usually buy from the pureen shop at kkh... i think when got promo its 2 for $11... budden i think kiddy palace/JL/supermarket also got sell...

PB,
welcome back! Poppy must be very tired to sleep for so long!

Rayna,
I've tried using many - my favorite is Pigeon powder, but I felt it's a little harsh on the clothes. Have recently switched to combi concentrated liquid. Smells nice.

JSP,
I was just thinking abt ABD

Rayna,
ABD has a liquid detergent that has added softener. Very convenient cos it's a 2-in-1. Giant sells... can't remember how much though. :p

Rayna,
actually for the smell on hankie n clothes i would normally soak them for half an hour inside the washing machine first than startb to wash in fact it will get rid of the smell.

Shopping,
haha nxt wk than we can meet up liao lor.

morning all...

i'm so super lost.. will try to join in e chatting more often now tt i'm back at work.. haha.. no time to read thru all e posts..

star - my gal's feeding a bit like ur bb... drink in small spurts..

Thanks JSP, BBP and SD.

I saw ABD at kiddy palace before. =)

Serene,
my mum always soak Megan's clothes before washing. but it's the kokomo smells that have the milk smell that she don't like.
I'm ok for next Mon - Wed. but wed have to confirm again. must see what barang i need to bring cos will need to go back my mum's place on wed liao.

I'll go try pigeon after she finish the non-bio one. heard from my cousin Pigeon smell nice also.
that non-bio powder also damn difficult to find. i walk so many cold storage then found it. sighz.

bbp
i think ABD one of the more common n cheap detergent lor... budden i prefer the powder detergent leh... feels that clothes r cleaner n i prefer kodomo softener... smells nice... heehee...

rayna
for milk smell, i'll soak the hankies n clothes stained with milk with the detergent separately overnight n then put everything into the washing machine to wash... the soaking will help to remove the smell n also the stains lor...

Better pics this time from last nite baking ...

They are butter cookies. I brought some plain ones to office, and most of them dun "bear" to eat them as cookies are too cute.

Decorated
2052781.jpg

Plain
2052782.jpg

PB,
Welcome Back!!

Baking:
I have not been baking until recently.
Last year, I went to a class with my gal to do some baking. At the end of the class, I was "shock" n disappointed. I tot might as well I teach her at home. Cheaper and we have more to eat.
She brings the things she bake to school as snacks now.
I like kids to do such things .. they learn motor skills, sequence of doings things, build confidence & etc ...

JSP,

yes yes, i got soak. it removes the stain. but not the smell according to my mum. i find kokomo smells ok. but..according to my mum, it's because kokomo smells like milk. that's y wash already still got milk smell...aiyo older generations, as we know have their own thinking. so suit her lor. then i have 1 less problem. hehehe

bluey
cute cookies.. i wouldnt bear to eat them either!!! oh, u went for d mindef baking classes is it? saw something on baking thru oa mail the other day...

pb n poppy
welcome back!!!

so happy, gona go collect baby food cube from post office later.. missed it when postman delivered to my hse.. can make more food puree for cayden le.. he's eating brocolli with sweet potato now.. doesnt really smell appetising but he ate them all anyway..

any mummies noe when bbies can eat porridge cooked with ikan bilis stock?? my mil gave me a pack of ikan bilis to boil into soup n use d stock to cook porridge... scared too salty for bb ar..

btw, super kiasu mummy here...
if u have bbies below 1 year old (but able to sit on his own or have already started to walk), can bring him to go go bambini for playtime.. its free for both adults n bb if bb is less than 1 year old.. they haf 1 branch at leisure park (kallang) and another at dempsey road just beside ben & jerrys.. even haf nail spas, a small cafe and a small library area.. there's also a play area for slightly older kids.. think rates are quite affordable too.. nt too expensive.. hope this will be helpful for mummies..

Michelletan
My baby’s nap is quite short. 1 hour is the longest nap. I have tried to stretch out his feeding time, but he cry. Yes, he is the type of 2 hour feeding like alam clock. But sometimes his clock can be earlier. He can’t take much milk each feed. If he direct feed, only drink from one breast. I offer him another breast, he get angry, cry and bite my nipple. :eek:uch
What I can do maybe is try to feed more solid if later he can take more solid. Right now, he only eats 1 tablespoon cereal. I want to give him more, he cry.

JSP
I am used to his feeding schedule liao. Initially, very tired, now like cellow only lift up my tops and nurse. While nursing, both mother and baby is sleeping.

Qing, cellow
Yes, really busy. My helper is even busier to warm up milk every 2-hourly.

Hannahi
Josh was delivered earlier few days than Celeste, had fever on new year eve too. Josh seems not coughing anymore, will monitor again. I only ask my helper to rub vicks baby rub on his chest and back thrice a day.

Caitlyn
Glad to know that Josh is not alone in the ‘small spurts club.’

oh mummies
i must tell u this. last night, cedric woke up wailing and rejecting my nnp when i sleepily shoved it into his mouth. so i steeled myself, reassured him that mummy is still around, turned ard and walked out of the room... carry my hp to track the time. 1.41am walked out, by 1.44am he was silent already.....

HB told me I did well this morning.
Din go back into the room until Ced was asleep.

Yes his crying does tug on my heart, BUT this process respects his needs [reassurance that he belongs right here w us in the family, food] and my needs [private time before sleeping, sleeptime!] too

So today I can laugh
instead of

and that in tolerating and understanding her, it's your journey to heaven :p .

i keep this in mind every day, but it's still difficult living with in-laws. and i live in a big house y'know, but i still end up hiding in my room most of the time when in-laws are home. and then i feel bad towards pomfret coz its like, she doesn't even get to see the living room much.

basically recently i'm getting a lot of mil grief again coz it's starting to weigh so heavily in my reality that i'm stuck here for years to come. i don't even know how to begin to describe it, coz on all accounts i should consider myself fortunate but i'm just really really really really unhappy to be living with my mil. sigh.

baby solids
eh pomfret seems to dislike HT brown rice cereal very much. how? this is the first thing i've started her on, just to train her to eat from spoon and swallow. so i should try heinz? or other flavours? or introduce some vege puree into the brown rice cereal?

sleeping
i've been reading the 'no cry sleep solution' by elizabeth pantley. makes a lot of sense, with methods like michelle's hanky method etc. but like michelle said, really need patience and effort and time. and i'm not very good in that area :p

dustee
i tot u in gd terms wif ur ILs?? u had conflicts wif ur ILs??? i understand ur feelings as i'm also staying wif my ILs... sometimes i also feel the same way as u budden when i see how much they love us... i'll try to bear wif it... it really helps living wif ILs lor... felt it most strongly when i lost my dad recently n luckily my ILs were ard to take care of Ernest so that i can go settle my dad's things w/o worrying abt Enest lor... try to think on the bright side of things lor... dun hid in the room all the time lor... maybe u can go out or what lor...

baby solids
Ernest also dun really like his rice cereals budden he luvs his apple puree so i mix the 2 n he finishes everything n cry for more somemore lor... u can try adding some fruit puree to the cereals to make it taste more yummy lor... budden try to stick to the 4 day rule... i start mixing after trying the particular fruit for 4 days...

cheryl,

No lah ... I pick up the recipe from the websites and bake them myself. Nowadays, Mindef still have baking workshop ... so good.

Oh yes ... u remind me. My baby cubes would be here soon. Time to think what to make for my boy to eat. He is a glutton.

Whenever he see someone eating, he will give me that "mum mum" action by moving his mouth. If you put food in his mouth, he will give you that WIDE and contented smile.

I can now buy less of those heinz baby food.

PB, welcome home! Wow, back home and you land yourself a free-lance job! well done... catch up on your rests ok..

cellow, you starting to sleep train Cedric, and it only took him 3 mins to fall back to sleep! Woo Hoo.. Atta Boy!! looks like you are on your road to success very soon....

dustee... sayang... dunno what happened but I really wish you could just let it all out, take a deep breathe.. and then get ready to face your "living room" again... afterall, hiding in your own room is not a long term solution and like you said, not too good for darling pomfret? I know how it feels staying with In-Laws, imagine my relationship with my IL is so good and they are fantastic person, BUT I still grumble at the slightest thing and wish I could have my own space. hang in there gal.... hope the situation will turn better for you soon... somehow..

I am not sure if Ethan is teething (did not see any white spots on his gums). He has been losing sleep, losing appetite and losing weight too. He can stay awake the whole day, and then feel super tired by 730, then wake at 2am... how ah???