(2008/07) July 2008

Cellow... DON'T EVER SHAVE OFF THAT STYLO MYLO hairstyle off Cedric, I tell you.. mummies here will all gang up and knock your head!

as i was posting the photos, i was thinking - hey i had sm really serious questions on sleep to ask leh, wat if no one reads my posting and jst focuses on Cedric's hair (!!!)

drats, tis really happening now

Cellow,
Thank you! I knew I was probably worrying over nothing... but still.... needed affirmation from fellow mummies. Especially from mummies with big babies!
As for sleepeasy solution, must let your baby cry out one leh... you and hubby can tahan not? My hubby cannot, so end up always he go and pat Declan to sleep.
See? I never get distracted by Cedric's hair... But DON"T SHAVE HIS HAIR!!!!

bbp - erm, we keep strollers in the car..haha ;)

do1nk - i dont know about stokke la..we just bought the bugaboo bee..so hv not tried it out yet..still in box.

michelle - still no maid..hope to get one after CNY

thanks for all the well wishes..i hope sophie recovers asap..her nose dripping with wet mucus making it difficult was her to breathe and sleep..sigh.

cellow - little C is soo cute with mohawk hairstyle..dont cut off oki!! :D

smiggle,
today is a work day, cannot sleep even though i m working at home. actually... well... i can sleep la. jst wont sleep v well
oh the milk is still at my parents' place? ya ya take soon b4 kayden outgrows it!

cinbunny,
oh dear. then how does sophie sleep now w the mucus? u carry her upright?

good book
halfway reading a book called "Positive Discipline: the first 3 years" by Jane Nelsen. v good and common sense concepts. borrowed fm library, think will go get my own copy... on leave during christmas and new year, can resume my reading habit

excerpt from chapter 1 - positive discipline principles for your family

"There is a difference between wants and needs, and your little one's needs are simpler than you might think. All genuine needs shd be met. When you give in to all wants, however, you can create huge problems for you child and for yourself.
your young child has 4 basic needs
1. a sense of belonging and significance
2. perceptions of capability
3. personal power and autonomy
4. social and life skills"

do1nk
i also tried to feed rachel with pea baby food
she hate it.
spitting out most of it.
then i give it a try, it is so yucky.
so bland.

so be sad about the comment
they are just brainless creature.
of cos will feel hurt la.
for me, i sure very angry one.
but i am the type that will only nag at my hubby not directly at them.
i am a timid freak, angry yet don dare to speak up.

cellow
oh, it YOU.
anyway if mothercare not good.
then i got another lobang.
yesterday when john little saw a few from "kamy" (don know how to spell)
only $29.90, if storewide 20% apply, even cheaper.
it is cotton. confirm better quality than mothercare.
it is thicker.
and go see see.
they have button all the way one and button halfway ones.

ya, don shave la.
rachel hair used to be standing also.
but now, no more liao.
so cherish it before they start to go lazy.
heehee.

Hee... damn envy with all babies with so much hair.. my Ethan boy's hair is now like the Botak Cedric Pic.. but but but got few strands like much longer and dangling like smiggle in show Lord of the Rings...

My MIL just called to complain that Ethan has not yet taken any naps since this morning he woke.. Oh No... those days of long naps are GONE! I hope he starts to sleep through the night cos he still wakes at 4/5am for a feed. hmmm...

ya, mostly short and few long to be more precise.. hee....

This morning I woke with the weirdest feeling... suddenly started to reminisce preggie days and the entire birth process went through my mind.. then me and hubby started recounting the labour!

Dor dor
Oh I noticed too, that my cereal mixed with BM will becomes watery very soon that I need to add more cereal to thicken it, ends up I fed 1oz of BM with more than 15-20 teaspoon of cereal. she will be so full by then, no more space for milk until 2/3 hours later.

Cellow
I think hor.. your Cedric looks more 'innocent' with the botak look leh.. that kind of very 'guai guai zhai' look u know?? But nevertheless, DON'T shave him, he is so handsome with his outSTANDING hair..

And I realised hor, there are so many standing hair babies here.. Cedric, rachel, rianne, and fiona's lucien!... Anymore??

sonic,
mine has "standing hair" too.

cellow,
U r right!
I finally realised that I am baking to keep myself off the internet so that I will not spree.
That's also why I dun log in here so often now.

I am baking again! But hor, today I spend $ to buy hello kitty bakeware ... so I have failed to keep myself from spending.

Haizzzz

busy busy! my boy started sch today and he din need his afternoon nap!!! dunno why but he not tired instead...

re food
today gave jx pumpkin. think she dun quite fancy it but still ate it. qutie funny. but she really naughty. everytime when she knows i m going to finish feeding her, she will start to cry....

re sick bb
hope all the sick bb get well soon!

cin_bunny
did u get nose drops? my PD will usually give me otrivin. not bad. it helps to clear the nose.

bluey
what are u baking?? share share...

cellow - yes, carry her upright..she so ke lian la.

sy - yes, as i knew we were traveling to cold climate country, i went to PD and got jabs and nose drops..but no medicine for cough..she has a terrible cough too..

babies with hair - envy envy..i think sophie joins the ethan and declan club

Bluey
Hello kitty with blue nose?
I miss baking.
Used to do that before married
Now staying with il cook a meal also difficult liao
I want a house of my own
Then I cab so whatever I want whenever I want

Rayna
Wanna try other brands for Megan??
Cos I gave Ember Nestle cereal. At 1st I tot cos jus started she eat abit only. Then 1 week liao still like that. N I was abit concern about the sweetness of nestle cereal, so I changed to Healthy times. N can see the difference lor. Feeding her now is a breeze cos she slurps (got sound 1 lor) everything n even cry for more most of the time.

bluey
So nice the hello kitty 1. I bought afew of the disney cookie cutters until now also haven touch.
Still thinking whether to bake pineapple tarts anot.....hehehe

do1nk, your mil really very bad.. If anyone tells me that, i'll also feel very bad one. Now my ss really jia lut, abt 50-80ml nia.. But my gal dun drink that much so i'm less guilty. But still, sad that ss dipped despite my struggles to keep it going..

It's esp tough esp the nite pumps. I'm always knocked out after i ensure that all 3 kiddos are asleep. So sian to go pump after that. So juz sleep.. Then when i work up in the middle of the nite, got to wake up unwillingly to pump. If not, i'll not have enuf milk the next day, or may leak my precious bm, or worst, affect my ss further. Hai ya, really stress over bf.. Like juz now, really got to peel myself off bed. Extra tired coz had been awake to monitor temperature of #1 since 2 days ago..

Now my gal having slight fever. I dun know if she's teething coz it lingers around 37.5 degrees only. So i haven given her any medicine. Could this be due to teething, mummies? Then confused coz my #1 is having fever these 2 days. I'll continue to monitor tmw.

cin_bunny,

Poor sophie! Weather also quite jia lat. My ah boy just recovered from flu and cough. For cough, the PDs dun recommend cough supressants as the child may forget to breathe. They gave my boy "FLUMICIL" - to loosen phelgm and let the kid cough it out. It is like fybogel, granules form, mix with water and feed it to baby. However, the medicine causes my boy to cough more, and he will often throw up whatever is in his tummy. The vomitus is very sticky (it is the phelgm I think, cos he is always happy after vomitting, machiam cleared of irritants). But after a week, he is as good as new!
But during the one week very heartpain. He struggles when we syringe the medicine in, and see him keep vomitting his feeds...

hannahl,

wow, you are strong man, perserve with pumping at nite for so long! I think if it was me, I would have given up long ago! Kudos!

being mummy of 3 is really not easy... makes me apprehensive of having another kid....

cellow,

bb cedric is so cute! really a handsome boy! the mohawk hairstyle has attitude! you3 xing4 ge2!!

My ah boy is still botak.. possibly few longer strands of hair... can see it blowing in the gentle breeze.....hahaha

dor,
ya lor i think need to change the cereal brand also. cos my mum tried yesterday, also same. 4 small spoons then she don't want liao. and she very clever lor. those lumpy kind hor, she spit out. maybe shld make it more watery. will go get other brand to try.

so envy ur bbs got so much hair. Megan's hair only slowly growing back. so people always think she's a boy. cos she look quite boy lah. hehehe

ling's boy also got a lot of hair, but not standing kind. =)

do1nk... i can understand how u feel... coz my MIL also gave that comment before. just ignore her. they don't understand since they don't bf. a few days ago my MIL side relative asked her how come i look so "qiao2 cui4" (dunno she mean tired or haggard?)... midnight wake up to pump and settle bb when she cries of coz tired lah, that relative is also brainless

hannahi... salute to u! i can't imagine if i have another kid...

morning mummies...
rayna
i also heard from a colleague tat Nestle cereals r pretty sweet... try another brand... for ernest, he also dun really like the cereals budden as he loves apple puree, i add it to his cereals n he finishes it in no time lor...

re bb hair
i also envy all those bb wif lota hair lor... cedric for one is a handsome hunk lor... budden i think champion is still ling's boi lor... his hair really alot n black somemore lor...

Morning Mommies.

Bb Josh is also in 'standing hair' club.

Hannahi, low fever could be teething.

Bluey, I think you take the picture too near. Did you set to macro?

Ladies, do you give medicine to your baby if baby got slight coughing but the cough does not interrupt baby's sleep yet. I am lazy to bring him see pd, expensive and waste of time.

wah so many posts..

smiggleP: mine's a maxi schnauzer (kekeke big and round).. used to bring him for daily walks and dat's become weekly ones
he's been great wiv the BB so far though...

hahaha.. banana poo vs carrot poo? mine's still milky poo.. juz dat it's changed from Total BM poo to BM+FM poo which is really sticky starchy and stinky, and comes in one big explosion haha

am I the only one still having painful wrists? maybe I should really do something about it huh.. thanks fiona for the info, think will go check them out...

sleeping on their own: happenned again this morning! woke for his early morning feed, of which I'm slowly decreasing and now is giving him onli 30ml.. then he falls asleep in my arms.. the minute i put him down, he stirs n wakes n cries.. no amount of patting will make him fall alseep again and so I gotto pick him up.. and he's dead to the world again in my arms.. put him down n he stirs, shakes head violently n cries... repeat repeat repeat! i better not procrastinate in getting dat book to read now! made him hold his blankie but like not much diff so far..will give it a try a few more days n see...

hey cedric looks so different in that picture! his face has really grown rounder huh.. and he seems fairer??

rianne still got so much nice hair!! hehe my colleague's bb's hair is still very long and all standing straight and tall, she looks like a golliwog! haha

how often r u pumping now? my hubby accidentally whacked my avent few nites ago when he woke wiv a startle, sending it flying onto the floor,.. and now it's making loud noises when pumping and dunno if it's my imagination or what, but it seems weaker
hannah.. were u saying that philips said they no longer service the pumps huh?

cin_bunny: you mean you are driving your many strollers around in your car?? haha! we leave ours in the boot too but then we only have one hehe how's little sophie bunny now? do you have that nose aspirator that comes wiv a tube for you to suck mucus out? i got the one from pigeon.. very useful... the one dat sucks by you squeezing at one fat rounded tip is useles.. dun bother getting it...

long short funny hair: guess what we did.. it looked so awkward dat we trimmed the long strands to be the same length as the rest muahahhaha!

bugaboo bee: ya, that's the only model I noticed that would be the right fit, but have yet to read up about it and compare other models...

SY: JX so cute..she knows her meal is gonna end soon and feels sad..

bluey: wah! your hello kitty cookies are so cute.. those are cookie cutters you got?

hannah: you know i always fall asleep pumping,.. and jolted awake when i nearly fell off the edge of the bed haha.. lucky didn't spill any precious milk

do1nk, must persevere with the new routine, and like i emphasized, the result is very slow one... it may takes up to weeks for him to realise he needs the hanky to sleep.. it is not immediate so you gotto be patient.. its like training.. if you want it to be "cry-free", it takes a longer time.. else, go for the crying method, for some, in a week, gao dim liao.. but you must be able to tahan baby crying.. I can;t loh.. so I been very patient instead...

I am going to trim Ethan's long strands of hair too... still waiting patiently for the rest of the hair to grow..

hmm... I am really becoming a very patient person after giving birth! haha...

Bluey, I want to learn to make chicken pie. where should I go?

Star,
dunno leh ... my gal is "playing" around with it before that. Maybe she did something to the settings. Next time must check b4 taking the pics.

Don1k,
yup ... got the cookie cutter just yesterday so impatiently went to make some cookies together wih my gal as her school snack.
Actually I also got the kitty silicon cupcake bakeware ... so heehee, I might bake the kitty cupcakes soon.
Eager to try out.

Dordor,
U also have the disney cutters? I am looking for the Mickey and Pooh ones. Now only 1 only got Disney Chip n Dale ones. U dun wanna use, sell to me, lor.

Michelle,
I usually just get the recipes from book and website.
I got some of the ideas and recipes from this blog.
http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com/2007/11/chicken-pie.html

All of you so good ... still bfing. I feel bad sometimes ... Jia you to all the mommies who is still bfing.

JSP,

I tried the nestle one. it's sweet. i got it from my PD. so let her eat lor. but if she don't like, then i think i have to give away that tin liao.

Star,

then bring him to a normal gp near ur hse lah. don't self medicate for bbs.

do1nk,
have you tried feeding him lying down? That means don't carry him when u feed. i always place Megan on her cot and feed. this way, if she fall asleep half way, she's on her cot already.
is it ok to reduce the night feed? how much shld we reduce at a time? 1/2 oz or 10ml? I'm trying to wean Megan off nite feed also. but don't know how to do it. she wakes up once between 2am - 5am everyday for a feed. ok to reduce the amt? wouldn't they feel hungry if not given full amt?

do1nk,
Haha. We also wanted to trim Declan's hair so that they are the same length, but haven't got around to doing it yet. Actually hor, it's my hubby who finds it ugly. I can't really be bothered leh. Heh heh. Still my handsome boy no matter what kinda hair he's got :p *Super biased mommy*

rayna

make sure you feed your baby with her head slightly inclined up. cos there is a danger of milk back flowing and going into the ears when they drink milk lying down completely flat when they are so young. may cause infection if that happens.

do1nk

talia is enjoying school very much even though she is the second youngest baby there. i see her very well adjusted and enjoying the curriculum. Scrambles to play as soon as she enters the classroom and forgot about us. muahaha!

doggiebb,

don't worry.i always put her on a pillow before feeding her. day time, i'll put her on the rocker or bouncer. cos it's slightly inclined mah. i haven't been carrying her to feed for a long time. cos she don't like being carried. so since she was 2 1/2 mths old, we let her feed lying down on a pillow. =)

rayna
megan veri gd ger leh... if oni my bb ernest half as gd as her lor... he luvs to be carried lor... will stretch out both his hands once he sees us lor... want to be carried most of the time so can't do much wif him ard... will eh eh eh after leaving him on the playmat/exersaucer/walker/bouncer/cot for a while lor... super yang oh one lor... if dun carry him he'll cry till got big fat tears kind one lor...

had flash fever last nite... wasn't really up to anythin but no choice has to come in work...

Kayden's cough not really better.. spoke to his neonatologist and she advise me to bring him hospital. Bring him later and hopefully no need be admitted

smiggle,
sayang kayden and tk care of urself too

michelle,
from the baby bonus website, the payments seem to be on bb's 1st month, 6th month, 12 month and 18 month... although how the gahmen pple administer and track all the bbs, that is a big mystery to me!

hannahi,
imho it is better to be a well adjusted, less stressed mummy than to persevere in bf, and lose sleep over it. gal, consider how much more sleep you can lose ah.... u must also tk care of yourself to tk care of your 3 kids!

jsp,
bb ernest sounds v dey! tug at your heartstrings w his big fat tears sm more

bbp,
u r welcome

standing hair club bbs
wow, so many bbs are in the standing hair club. think as they grow older, their hair will become lazy [in qing's words - haha] and flop down.

bluey,
cool! baking is really fun ya... pity that i dun share the enthusiasm yet. mayb when cedric gets older, we will bake cookies tog... children seem to like baking cz can EAT the results

wah bluey.. you are good leh.. i onli know how to make one type of cookie: oatmeal cookies for my dog haha and even that.. I've not done for so long!

you know.. I've not driven for very very long too (ever since I got preggie) now very apprehensive when thinking of driving.. but better pick it up again before I turn into a kayu driver...

nestle cereal: confession.. I actually like to eat them hahaha.. they actually taste very sweet n nice.. so dun think will feed this to my bb unless i'm left wiv no other choice..

feeding milk when bb is still lying down in cot: my hubby actually did dat.. and i had to make sure he did lift him upwards so he doesn't choke.. is it very straining to the arms (wrists!)? maybe I should try huh..

JSP: haha my bb also learnt to stretch out his arms now when he wants us to carry him..

about nite feeds.. they are at the age where they no longer need to have nite feeds actually.. so I'm very sure my bb's not hungry..so been decreasing it by 10 ml.. now down to 30ml.. hope it will be an empty bottle soon and then pacifier then nothing at all.. keeping fingers crossed

doggiebb: good to hear that talia enjoys going to school and is not scared or crying
puts you more at ease too I guess..

do1nk
my god mil look after one hor.
now 7 years old liao still on night feed lehz.

cellow
and yes.
me too.
trying to control my hands.
i have spending too much lately on sprees.

and ya loh
my rachel hair not standing anymore.
so lazy liao.
miss those days. no need gel also can stand.

JSP,

Megan sometimes also will stretch out her arms and wants us to carry. but we will tell her no bao bao one. sit in the chair. hehehe...but of cos there are days where she needs to be carry all the time.
Rem that outing we had last mth? it was also because she was being carried for too long and no walking that's y she tired liao then scream so loud. hehehhe...once reach home, i put her down, happy like don't know what. can start sing song also. hehehe
Megan also like Ernest. sometimes cannot be left alone. must be in her sight, if not will cry till big fat tears come out.

Baking,
i like to bake, but had stopped since giving birth. Y?? cos
1) Hubby unplug my oven and shift it to the shelve. so lazy to move it out and plug it in again.
2) have to entertain Megan most of the time. so scare i bake half way, then she shout for me. hehehhe..so till now still don't dare to bake. think will try when hb is ard. at least he can help entertain Megan.

Do1nk,

since you like the nestle cereal, if i my gal really don't like, i give u my tin one or not? don't want to waste lah.

wow i think i shld start reducing also. this way then got hope no need to wake up at nite. hehehe..

Mummies, how much are your bbs drinking now? mine still stuck at 135ml. is it too much or too little?

smiggle
take care hor... sayang kayden... hope he gets well soon...

cellow
ya lor... he super dey n yang oh lor... abit not somfy also cannot one lor... so sometimes look at him dunno wanna laugh or cry lor... alwys use ku rou ji to make me give in one lor...

bluey
u really gd leh... still got time to bake lor... me slp also not enuff liao lor...

do1nk
veri cute when dey stretch out their hands widely n look at u longingly waiting to be carried hor...

re nite feeds
bb ernest dun seem to need his nite feeds liao budden when he woke up in the morning, he would fuss alot while drinking... budden i scared he hungry leh... coz sometimes his last feed is at 10pm or even earlier...

re sprees
think i'm also another one that needs to stop all these buying lor... getting a wee bit outa hand liao... budden in office veri bored so will itchy hand go see2look2 lor...