(2008/07) July 2008

after feeding cereal, do you give babies milk too? i usually make 120ml of milk, use some of it to stir with cereal, then give poppy the remainder of the milk.

so far she has also had half bottle or carrot (she loves!), apple (she likes) and banana (she don`t like). will try sweet potato next.

check with you all, the cereal that you all give your bbs, is it watery or thick kind? The nestle cereal says to put 50ml of milk with every tablespoon. looks a bit thick. and like lumpy lumpy. our bb know how to swallow the lumpy thing meh? or must i stir more or put in more milk?

dor dor, no lah, what i was asking is, should the feet be tip-toed so they can jump better. Coz feet can touch the ground flat like can't really jump leh

doggie.. damn funny lah u
For me ah, whenever she sees me in the house, she'll eh eh eh, makes some noise to catch my attention. Then give that pathetic look. Even if she dun see me, will cry, make noise till i carry her. Like that also jia lut leh
So can u imagine every nite, no matter how i siam also no use LOL

And mummies.. she still need to comfort suck at nite before she sleeps.. how ah how ah???? And i find that she can't sleep on her own. We have to rock & rock, she cry & cry, then she can sleep in the day. If i put her on my breasts she can sleep faster. How ah, how ah...

Last time i dun mind her comfort sucking coz she has refused my breasts. And the only time that i could latch her on was only at nite, hence the comfort sucking. Then now how leh?

batgirl
right now i'm seeing advanced chiropractic at their toa payoh branch. my dr is female, but she's leaving end of jan, so i might look for somewhere else too
my friend recommended a dr sara at raffles place. you want the contact?

hannah
eeeks, my baby also wants to latch before she sleeps. without latching it's a half hour crying session before she sleeps (for day time only, night time impossible). i'm also feeling a bit helpless about this. sigh.

sterilizing
eh, so for the bowls and spoons we feed baby solids with, do we need to sterilize also?

solids
if feeding cereals and fruits, then do we need to feed baby water too?

morning mummies... HAPPY NEW YEAR to all!!! Have a wonderful New Year ahead...

serene/rayna
i'll definitely bring stroller if go shopping lor... won't have back ache mah n can shop with hands free... heehee...

CS
i also wondering how heavy Ernest is now lor... juz measured his length yesterday n he's abt 70cm long liao lor... since birth, he's been gaining 1kg /mth so should be abt 9kg now liao... almost the weight of a bag of rice liao lor...

re sale
went to vivo yesterday n found sale everywhere lor... grab 2 shirts for Ernest at 50% off... cant find any bottoms lor... didnt manage to go zara coz crowded... maybe can see if can go today lunch anot lor...

PB/Wai Wai/SY/michelle
hope u gals feeling better liao...

wai wai
for apples, i used pacific rose apples... tasted pretty sweet n smells gd too... Ernest luvs his apple puree lor... i also tried gala budden found it abit sourish so switch... i think new zealand apples r generally quite sweet one...

rayna
initially when feeding cereal, i'll mix it with more milk until quite watery n decrease the amt of milk added slowly day by day... by the 7th day, the cereal that i feed baby is of a thick consistency... as for the amt of milk added, i aga aga one... will add till i find it okie...

Im nursin a cough for weeks.
Kayen also coughin, like got wet lungs..
think need to bring him see pd.

Apples
ya, also wonderin wat apples to buy for him..
bought pear and he didnt really like it..

doggiebb, LOL on you creeping around the house at night... like a thief.. muahaha...

Ethan's cereal texture are thick types... he will drink some milk about an hour after the cereal feed... and he drinks a lot of water....

food allergy
My MIL fed Ethan with Pumpkin, and half hour later, there was a patch of rashes on his right side of the face.. she insisted it was heat rash, BUT i told her NO, it is food allergy. So asked her to stop pumpkin... then soon some parts of his body also have rashes. Upon further queries, I found out she put pumpkin into chicken soup to boil and use the soup with pumpkin to mix with cereal!!! alamak! so now is he allergic to pumpkin or chicken??!!?? so angry loh, cos I have reminded her many many times never to introduce multiple food at one time, and to always start out with small qty... I dun understand why can't Ethan just eat plain cereal? why must she chu so many pattern for his food? he is just a baby!!! but of course, i din say it out loud lah... just reinforced to her again the correct method. Luckily the rashes went away in a day, and we will never find out if it is the pumpkin or the chicken that gave the rashes, cos I told her NOT to feed any of those two liao...

mummies, be careful what you feed your baby.. they are afterall, still very young and perhaps not too ready to try out fanciful food yet...

Michelletan (michelletan),
it too early to start bb with chicken.

batgirl (batgirl).,
My #1 did not have chickenpox, I took her to take the jab when I am preggy 5mths old cos I have chicken pox before and doc said it is okay.

happy new year to all mummies n loved ones..

smiggle n waiwai
i tried nz royal gala, not too bad. quite sweet.. or u can also try granny smith.

dustee
re: drinking water
can start training bb to drink more water now le.. cos cereals abit dry so bb will tend to get more thirsty easily... besides, if bb startin on fm phase 2, easier to be constipated due to nutrient level. so best to feed them with more water now

nestle rice cereals
nt sure if its happened to other mummies using this brand but i realised that d longer and more i stir d cereal after adding milk, the thicker d consistency... so now once i achieve d texture i want, i'll try to stop stirring so much le, if not got to add more milk into it.

pb
yeps, i'm doing same method as u.. but i feed cayden 1/2 bottle 1st, then cont with cereal and finish off with remaining milk

welcome HJ!
care to share more about u n bb? when's ur bb born? mine's on 19th june.. early popper.. supposed to be out on 4th july but overexcited so came out earlier to meet d world.

1st time
yeah, so happy, tnk i can finally start to train hubby to stay hm wif bb alone while i have some time-out for myself le.. yesterday had to work pm shift n my parents not free to look after cayden, so me n hubby brought him to mil's hse.. but she wasnt hm.. asked hubby if he told his mum tt we were going over n he said he did.. but waited for 2 hrs she still haven return hm.. keep pestering hubby to call his mum cos i dun feel safe leaving dad n bb alone at home.. 1st time leh! but no choice as i had to go off to work le..
in d end, when i got home from work at night, mil told me tt she din know we were going over till ard 3pm.. means hubby n cayden were alone for an hr ar.. heng, hubby managed to rock cayden to sleep n he din mk any fuss till my mil went back.. keke, nt too bad for a start, nex time can leave father n son alone at hm liao.. tell him its dad-son bonding time... i wont disturb them. *hiaks*

teething
yeah, saw a tiny white spot on cayden's lower gum...

michelle
which one u rentin from??

i wanted to rent a rainforest jumperoo but none of them carry..
only got the deluxe one.. dunno nice anot..
any mummies wanna rent me???

CS
really zara baby?
how much %%%?

batgirl
we also still put the cushion when rachel sit in the jumperoo.
just more bouncing

pumping
i have kept all my pumps liao.
now, only doing morning and night feeding. and thats it,
until no more supply.

waiwai
rachel give that sour face too when we feed her puree from heinz.
then i tried a bit super sour loh.
but she still finish it.
anyway we changed to healthy times puree instead.
sweeter.

PB
after feeding semi,
usually give water nia.
will only give ur milk when she crys again.
normally it abt 2hrs later.

Batgirl

Thanks. Bb Josh is recovering.

Michelletan

I will be returning the exersaucer from rentthattoy on monday. They have a few types of exersaucer. Which one do you wait list? I rent the one cost $42/month at the last page.

My bb likes to play inside the exersaucer now. Initially, he cried when we put in. Maybe he need to warm up.

Fruits
Any mommies here let your bb try to eat Kiwi? Josh can't poo poo, so I asked my helper to feed him a bit Kiwi. But he seems dislike it. He doesn't like cereal too. He seems like my hubby, quite a choosy eater.

batgirl... so if apple not sweet, your bb doesn't eat?

rayna, cheryl... i also find nestle cereal becomes thicker and thicker if u keep stirring... rayna, i use spoon to squash the lumps, though my bb seems to be able to swallow... play safe

dusty... i feed bb water after every few spoonful of food... she doesn't like to drink water so must "bluff" her to drink when her mouth still got taste haha

JSP... where to buy pacific rose apples? me sua ku keke

michelle... glad that ethan is ok... i also worry, dunno what MIL feeds my bb when i'm at work...

now my bb doesn't fuss when she eats cereal... but now she fuss when drinks milk, which never happen before she started eating solid!!! she drinks a bit, plays, looks around, then fuss... i tried to use the same teat one day, sometimes she is ok, sometimes she fuss, so it shd not be the teat's problem ba... faintz... waste my privated limited BM

today bb xuan pei is 6 months old! happy 6 months birthday to rianne, poppy, sophie and twins!!!

hmmm ... I rented 2 exersaucer from rentatoy ... Both of them are brand new. My boy is the first "user".

The one on the photo I just posted is the ABC exersaucer I just rented this month.

hi mummies, me firstday of work today after resting since my delivery.. cant get use to it

re: renting toys
hmm, arent u mummies scared of HFMD eventhough we sterilise it before use?

smiggle
cannot cfm now coz will be taking the week of CNY off liao... will join if i taking more days off hor... thanks...

star
according to the baby food website n book hor, i think kiwi can oni be introduced after bb is 10 mths old leh... i think 1 of the reason is its acidic leh...

wai wai
i bought from tiong bahru mkt near my workplace... usually go there for lunch... i think supermarket also got sell leh... gg to cold storage n update u if have hor...

Mummies, wanna gather at my place??
Location (Jalan Membina, Tiong Bahru)

Gathering on 3rd Feb (Tues)
1)

If not my place, then we can go somewhere outside??

I rented the mega exersaucer from rentthattoy. I saw it is "new" on the website.. anyway as I was typing, the lady called me to say it will be delivered later at 3pm! Yippee! very happy!!

Gathering, cannot confirm on weekday cos depend on whether can take leave or not.. weekend no good?

of course at your place.. wanna see your newly renovated house leh...

so it will be potluck or?

Star,

Yeah. Shouldn't give bb kiwi at this age..should avoid instead.

Apple or pear is very good to ease constipation.

My boy don't really like cereal leh...he always eat half bowl onli when prepare using 1 spoonful of cereal. Duno y..He always kua kua jiao when eating cereal..he prefers to eat the toys on the walker...

Gathering

Weekends im fine also..
but think its family day for most so maybe not alot of mummies wanna come...

anyway u all decide and tell me lor...

I be away gentin from 29 Jan to 1st Feb, on leave till 4th Feb

yeah, the exersaucer is here! It is very new! but now my helper is cleaning it over and over again... Ethan ethan.. hurry wake up and play your new toy!!!

xiaoyang
u try mixing some fruit puree into the cereal... my boi also fuss when eating cereal budden i tried adding some apple puree into the cereal n he finish 1 whole bowl w/o making a single noise lor... no harm trying lor...

hi mummies..

my little bb's almost 6 months old now and my wrists are still hurting badly
wonder when will it ever go away..or will it go away at all? sob

poor little ethan.. did the rashes bother him?

bluey.. your boy looks so happy in the exersaucer..

wah everyone in queue to rent this hehe..wah michelle u got some MEGA exersaucer? mummy or ehtan more excited? let us know how ethan like it ok? ;)

r u all taking long leave for CNY? will be back at work on 3rd Feb so prob can't make it for the outing

smiggleP: where do you stay? TB or Simei?

solids: okok so we start wiv cereal first right? and onli one type til how long before we intro next one? how soon before we can intro fruit puree? apple & pear the safest fruit to start wiv? it's juz one meal per day huh? and starts wiv 2 teaspoonsfull of it? sheesh..think i got lots of reading up to do...

<font color="0000ff">JSP

Oh..no..my helper has given Kiwi to my baby. Hope he is okay since it is only one spoonful and Golden Kiwi...quite sweet.

Xiaoyang

Apple will make the poo harden. I read it somewhere.

Exersaucer

I want to buy exersaucer. Any info where got good deals for exersaucer? Got few model of exersaucer, which one is more interesting?

Feeding water for breastfed babies

After starting solid, how much water do you give your baby? My baby fall sick, I guess the cereal is too heaty for him.</font>

star
erm... juz dun feed him tat anymore lor... for my boi, i dun monitor his water intake amt... he'll drink some water in b/t feeds n roughly abt 20ml oni... whole day think he drink abt 100ml of water budden it depends one lor...

do1nk
u can either start with cereals or fruits... there is no hard rule which to start wif... there is a 4 day rule for the introduction of new food... so 1 type of food should be continously fed for 4 days b4 introducing another food... i've alrdy started my boi on fruit puree since he was 5mths 2 weeks old... from the books, apples n pears are safe for bb budden muz be cooked... i start wif 1 cereal feed a day at ard noon abt 2 hrs after his feed... then after tat would resume his normal feed... then will feed him his puree at abt 3pm... hope this helps... =P

someone looking for nursing pyjamas right?
i saw some at mothercare selling at $29.90 each.
very nice cotton material.
can buy.

weikuan
Oh dear ur #2 got chxpox aah. I think might be your #1 carry the virus home n pass to #2. Cos ur #1 got vaccinated, immunue to it but ur #2 not ma.

waiwai
My bb also give the super sour look with apple n prune. I stop giving the nestle cereal with milk cos its VERY sweet. U tried it before? Heng my girl dun really like it cos now I change to healthy times n she loves it.

dustee
You can jus rinse the bowl n spoons with hot water before feeding. Cos not all can be sterilised.
Now I try to feed Ember water everyday to get her used to drinking water from bottle. She doesn't really want to drink most of the time lah but I jus try lor. My #1 also dun drink alot of water last time but when he was older he started drinking then now still drinks lot of water.

Star
Now that jsp mention I think kiwi like strawberry leh alot of seeds 1, high allergen fruits not supposed to try so early.
You can try apple juice for constipation. Works for my bb.

jsp
Ember makes alot of noise when esting cereals cos she very gan chiong!!....hahaha
She eats so fast sometimes n find her mama slow liao.

Qing
Mothercare pj material not that good. Very thin. My mil help me handwash 1 piece only i see so many holes liao.

JSP... thanks... now then i realise choosing apple is also not that easy keke :p

dor dor... Xuan Pei is eating nestle cereal with milk, as she doesn't like heinz and frisocream... it is quite sweet, i also like :p Xuan Pei also eats cereal super fast and "scolds" me if i'm too slow keke. What fruit u feeding Ember now?

smiggleprincess... my PIL's house is near your house! u move house liao? would like to attend the gathering but weekday i can't leh...

Exersaucer
i was reading the book "what to expect in the first year"... just to share... it says that overusing exesaucer may cause bb to be frustrated as it moves round circle only, also says bb cannot see their legs and may lead to delay in walking... but anyway, it seems to suggest that exersaucer is still better than walker

Feeding water
How much and how often do you feed your bb water in a day?

I've just recently intro water to my bb who was on 100% mama's milk (now no longer 100%, therefore intro water)… BUT she doesn't like!!! How to 'bluff' bb to drink water? Headache...

Happy New Year to all July Mummies! Wah so many posts!

Wishing all mummies who're under the weather a speedy recovery!

Apple puree
My bb also doesn't really like it, a little bit sour for her taste, although it's sweet for me. But after a few tries She eat them anyway. I bought Japan Fuji apple. So ex but super sweet leh, even after steaming, it didn't turn brown quickly.

So far I've given bb Apple, red anjou pear, avocado (she loves), papaya and carrot. Normally give in the morning, evening feed will give either barley or brown rice. Next one to try is sweet potato.

The puree consistency is a little thick now and I give water in between to help her swallow.

Michelle,
I think it might be that your Ethan is allergic because of the chicken soup, not the pumpkin. Introduce meat only when bb is 9 months. Remind your MIL also not to feed bb eggs.

Bluey,
Both your children looks super happy! They're very cute!

Star,
When my #1 got constipated, I actually gave her diluted prune juice.

My PD gave me some general food guideline from Nestle:
1. Foods which are least likely to cause allergic reaction (can be introduced after the 6th month):rice, pear, prune, carrot, apple, pork (really?!!!)

2. Foods which are well tolerated, but occasionally cause allergic reactions: (can be introduced after the 6th month): barley, apricot, beef, wheat, plum, spinach, cabbage, oat, banana, chicken, peach, lamb, broccoli, turnip, potato, cherry, corn and corn oil. Hmm I dunno about giving beef, chicken or lamb leh.. doesn't sound right to me.

3. Foods which are most likely to cause allergic reactions: (can be introduced from 9 months): strawberry, cow's milk, legumes, fish, egg yolk.

4. Foods which are highly allergenic: (can be introduced after 12 months): Seafood, peanut, tree nuts, bird nest, egg white.

5. Foods which may cause oral allergy syndrome: (can be introduced after 12 months): orange, kiwifruit, mango, grape, pineapple.

Water
Now my bb loves water. I gave her after during cereal time, afterwards, and in between feed or sometimes after she wakes up from nap. She will suck a few times, didn't really take that much, but I guess it's okay just to quench a little thirst. I didn't really monitor how much water, just give a little in a bottle.

At first bb also didn't like water, but I dun care, just keep shoveling the teat with water to her. After 2-3 days, she's okay already.

Happy New Year to all!!

Sonic,
Maybe you can give thinner/diluted FM, then slowly reduce the amount of FM until it's only water. Gives time for your bb to adapt to the taste (or rather, tasteless water).

Do1nk,
Oh dear .. what did your chiro say?
First fruits are usually apple, pear, avocado, banana, papaya, peach. Veggies usually are carrot, sweet potato, pumpkin, butternut squash, pea, spinach.

Have started giving rice cereal to Jamie since Monday. Will start giving him fruits &amp; veggies on Monday. So far so good, he's very eager to open his mouth big, but still ended up with rice cereal all over the place.

Waiwai
So far only giving apples when my #1 eats.....hehe
Tried prune when she didn't poo for days but she keeps spitting out n makes the super sour face. Actually she makes the face for apple too but she still eat....hehe

alamak..what is oral allergy syndrome? I let my baby suck grapes and orange before leh... jia lat.. bad mummy!

Wai Wai, if apple sour, my boy will "pui" it out.. kekeke..quite funny to see him do that!

Smiggle,

You going Genting too? Me too! but rite after you... so I cannot make it for the gathering liao..

BTW, mummy who travel with baby... Do you bring the baby's bathtub? I sort of dunno how to bathe baby without the bath tub.... :p

SD Chick
thanks for sharin the tips!!!

do1nk

i stayin simei now, movin to TB...

Mummies who wanna gatherin at my place on weekend also can..

7 or 8 FEB?

dor dor

My maid gave the part which do not have seeds. But I don't dare to give again, my baby pooed for 3 times today. All the toxin in his body has been flushed out, no more fever. If baby reach 1 year old, can't poo, must remember give Kiwi fruit. The first idea of giving Kiwi to baby is due to #1. My#1 likes Kiwi and I only stock up Kiwi in the fridge.

SD Chick

Thanks for sharing for the food guideline. Pork is okay to give after 6 months. In fact, my sister fed her baby pork porridge when her bb was 4 months old.

Beef is quite nutritious, but may cause constipation. Lamb? I will not give to bb. Too heaty. I myself can't tolerate to eat lamb.

batgirl
You know they sell those inflatable bb tub??
You can buy that to bring traveling if you dun mind.

star
I dun mean which part but if I remember correctly. My ex pd told me when my #1 was still very young, all fruits with alot of seeds cannot give so soon.

Rayna
Today bbsitter just taught me how to blend the correct consistency for cereal. She did not stir like mad which I did and made it too soft til so watery then became so hard to feed. Auntie left it wee-bit lumpy, she said dont worry abt the lumps cos it'll swell up further which makes the cereal turn even gup gup as we feed.
Auntie mixed 2 slightly heap scoop of milk powder to 6 scoops of cereal (she says Dani loves Oatmeal the best!).

Dustee
My bbsitter do give Dani water after cereal, said to rinse her mouth as well as quench her thirst cos normally after cereal will be a bit thirsty as its not so liquid-ly like milk.

JSP
So where did you found your 50% off at? hee hee..

Qing
I did asked for Serene but Zara staff just answered not sure, until it ends. What an answer, say like didnt say.