(2008/07) July 2008

michelle, bbp - actually i tried and test so many methods, i dont even know what worked and did not :D..i did the whisperer method, i did the let her cry method, i did the feed her more on last feed method, i did the play more with her during the day so that by night she's tired method..the only method i did not really do is the nnp suckle to sleep one..:D

PB- lol on yr hairclip balancing photo :D

have you guys try the babywise method?

which essentially is to during the day, after feeding, baby must be kept awake for a little while to play, don't let him fall asleep right away

during the night, no play, let him sleep. then he will know when is day and when is night.

if you follow babywise strictly, it says let the baby cry it out.

i can't bear, so did the modified way of setting a limit for baby to cry.

my #1 slept thru at 8 weeks and my #2 slept thru at 7 weeks. the book says if you stick to their method, sure can sleep through one. well! i don't know! mine did sleep through early though!

thanks bluey but very hard to follow non movement instructions ler!!!

thanks CS, that would be very nice if you can find

No problem lah. Tonite I'll go rampage my drawers.. I can only burn this in office cos Ive a burner in office but not home and Im on leave from tmr til Fri, back on Mon meaning CD will reach you latest by Tuesday... eh sai boh ??

bbp
your scootbaby can only carry from the side.
but i will still explore both scootababy and bjorn.
bring her together on sat then try.
see which one better.

pb
mine is the same.
make me so pai seh outside.
but at least urs allow others to carry.

and what push present?
can request like that one ah?
i would have ask for one too.
but i think now a bit late to ask him liao.

super can imagine.
that time went for my friend house warming.
i hero did bring anything to support except my hands.
thought ppl house ma. can sit on the sofa and play.
end up she cry like nobody business,
i carry thru that 2 hours plus.
i feel that my hands are no longer there.
super sng loh.

ME loh.
she is so cute with that little clip.
but how you got it on her?
you really got me tempted liao.
i think cha-ing sound coming soon.
can't wait till the 25th (pay day)

CS
agree with PB that you should bring carrier.
for me, definitely carrier.
rachel doesnt liek stoller.
(but i haven try bring her out alone) Heehee.

bluey
YOU ARE SO FAST.

Qing

include the ergo in your options too. esp when bb is older and super heavy, very hard to carry in front. ergo can carry behind like a haversack like that. very useful!

airport
it has been so long since i last go there.
hubby sure don want to go one.
so far away

waiwai
same,
we also bring stroller although i sling her.
but we never use the stroller for her but our shopping stuff.
she will scream and cry everything we put her in.

pettygal
wow, so good got a coach from hubby.

PB
if CS cant find,
i can give you a copy of it.

doggiebb, bbp
i am so spoiled with the choices.

hi all...

MISS all of u around..been SO busy w work.. n nOw finalli sch hOls.. jUz m so GLAD to c familiar names still ard in this fOrUm.. MISS U ALL LOTS!! ani gathering coming up soon??

Hi all July Mummies...

I am suspecting that I am developing post-natal depression. It is especially after my business trip last week. Last week,I almost got robbed and non of my colleagues showed concern to me.

I feel so sad, useless and abandoned by my colleagues. I feel the whole world dislike me and I feel so lonely. I know I cannot give up as I had 2 kids. But I feel so trapped and my hubby dun understand or console me. He will say that I am sensitive.

At work, even my junior staff has got promoted except me. I dare to admit that my work is really good except my social skills. Somehow, I think my appearance lose out so thats why i didn't get promoted.

Whenever my colleagues need help, i go all the way to help them. But when I need them the most especially one of the girl who I helped her so much when her mum passed away. There she passed nasty comments like I dunno how to think, no pride and too sensitive.

At home, my hubby always ask me to pay for the meals despite I also need to settle my credit cards bills.
And my maid is always giving me problem cos my good old maid left already. And I dun get the chance to get a good one.
The most serious problem is my mum. She has never stopped complaining to me that my old maid stole her things even though so many times i told that it is already past. Furthermore, she has no evidence. To pacify her, I bought her a watch in hope to shut her mouth. But she never stop..everyday, she will tell me about the old maid and then complaining my baby dun want to sleep, my 3 yr old boy very naughty.

Sometime, I am so scared of going home. I fear of going home as I will start hearing nagging and complaint. My mum scolding my maid.. my dad scolding me for coming home late. Telling me off when I talked back to my mum. My hubby dun understand me. The only time he is gentle and attentive to me is when he wanted to make LXXX.

But yet I cannot stay in office as all my colleagues ignored me. I talked to them..they will pretend cannot hear.Today, I was joking as normal and one of my male colleague scolded me that I have big mouth. I cried on the spot...

I have nowhere to go..sometimes, I stand at the windows and stared. Now I understand how Leslie Cheung feel when he committed sucide. But the only thing is that I have my 2 kids to give me support. But I dunno how long I can pull myself to go through this rough patch in life. No one understand me.

I really dun think I am a bad person as I go all the way out to help friends. When my colleague mum passed away... I was almost due in few days.. I bought milo, essence chicken and asked my other colleague to pass to her. I bought so many things for my colleagues whenever they asked me something. I will help them buy and give it to them free. Sometime, I dun even dare to take back money from them when they forget. Why god treat me this way?

CS
Thanks! No hurry

Qing
Alamak. She lying down mah. So I just put the clip on her head lor. Then when she yio her head, it will fall, so I keep putting back lor haha.

Baby bjorn is good cos the weight is distributed across shoulders. But some mummies feel the baby is supported by the groin area so it’s not so good. Ergo apparently lets the baby ‘sit’. (doggiebb and Hannah, I pay attention hor?). but still, I think bjorn is better than sling cos after using sling, my one shoulder very pain. Unless I am doing it wrongly. For bjorn I paid $198 I think. Mine is the mid range one (there are 3). I think it is called “AIR”. Or “SYNERGY”. Sorry can’t remember liao! Bought at mothercare. They will let you try also if you want

Shu
It sounds like you have a lot on your mind. Do you think you can talk to your hubby about it? Take a day off from work and have a good talk. Don’t think about giving up! Like you said, you have 2 kids to care for. talk to friends. we always come in here and let off steam with each other. it helps. take care

fiona
yesterday i was filling up my shower foam and the packet said 400ML and i immediately LOL and thought about you!!!!

welcome back star xin! happy school hols!

cellow and dustee
i feel EXACTLY the same way!!!! on one hand, so flattered that poppy needs me to fall asleep. rather, my nnp. on the other hand, very worried that it will be like this every single night. like that how i go holiday? (planning to go BKK with gal pals in feb).

it's really a double edged sword hor? i add one more edge to make it a triangle sword - last time when feed with bottle, after last feed, just put her in the cot and she will talk talk talk to herself and fall asleep. now because i latch on, she has gotten the habit liao.

Ah ha ! Found it !

PB, will burn you a copy (think 2 copies safer lah huh.. hee hee) and you should be receiving it by next Tuesday

You PM me your addy can boh..

Qing, like what PB mentioned, Bjorn has 3 different model - Original, Carrier, Synergy. Synergy is the most exp as there is this extra back support that claims to take away or lessen back ache. But its a whopping $238 wor ! Material wise, same same as Air. Air is suppose to have this mesh material that airs?? Making bb and us not so warm I believe...

It is always very easy to recognise a Synergy cos it comes in white and black. Only this range has these 2 colors. Other range comes in mix colors. My Air is a mixture of white, grey material with red lines.

I think I'm getting the hang of the Scootababy!

PB,
Remember I told you that I didn't feel the strain in the shop but felt the strain afterwards? Felt less strain on Tue... but then again, maybe it's cos I sat alot... Oh well.

CS,
Introduce solids got no fixed rule one. Up to individual.

CS
yeah we got the exact same one. every time i remove poppy from it, her front is wet and so is mine. so i really wonder how the 'non airy' version is!

PMed you my addy liao! thanks!!

doggiebb,

hv u tried to rent more than 1 bulky toys? Will they give a discount?
I email 1 of the site of renting a Exersaucer and Dora kitchen, if he would give me an discount, never reply me leh.

For mommies with older kids who like Dora/Diego, here is 1 good outing at the zoo. My gal is one of them.
http://www.zoo.com.sg/whatsnew/kidzworld.htm

Solid food:
My bb boy loves fruits. Bananas, apples, oranges.

hihi star_xin,
welcome back!

Push present:
I can bet with my head that my hubby dun even know what is that.
If I ask from him, he will jus tell me those are retailers gimicks that make ppl to spend.
Better dun ask him, wait I hear his reply makes me more angry.
Then I will have to go for "food therapy".

CS
Poor Dani got rash aah. Maybe u gotta use a stronger diaper cream to get rid of the rash. Normally when Ember poo poo n get to her pee area or very long never change diaper I will use the CB diaper wash to spray spray then clean off to make sure its clean.

doggiebb
Alamak u make my envy. Talia got big doll house to play with.....hehehe

Latch to sleep - I try to pull Ember off my nnp once she seems to have fallen asleep. So as to try not to let her have the habit. Normally I will stuff the pacifier into her mouth to make her sleep. Unless I very tired then I will giveup n jus give her my nnp to make her sleep.....hehehe

PB
that is exactly what i face now.
my left shoulder super sng after slinging her for a while only loh.
and somemore hubby don want to sling.
say girly and don know how to use.
carrying her when we go out is my job.
but if go shopping the whole day i die loh.

phyllis
i suggest hat you don get one so soon.
it is better to let them learn how to crawl first then walk.

CS
i don really like the design of the synergy lehz.
the back too complicated.
and most of all, the most expensive.

ok, sat is here soon.
will go try all.
don;t know which one will i get.

and we planning to give bb rachel solid next week or so.
she is now 4months one week.
my cousin start solid only at 6months.
now 1year, don really like solid.
always keep the food in the mouth rather then chewing and swallowing.

bbp
i think you got it that day liao.
you look so pro when you try to put bb declan in.

bluey,
Haha. You so funny. Yah, you never know, maybe it really is a marketing gimmick by the slimming centers.

Re solids:
I think maybeI give at 6 months. Then give myself 2 more months to slack.

MOrning Mummies, Another sleep through for me! I strongly think it is the solids, Ethan has started on cereal since sunday and he has slept through since then! And he is waking up later and later, today he woke up for feed at 7am and went back to sleep! woo hoo... but the day naps are getting shorter lah... happy happy.. hope this stays...

bbp, yes T3 has got a nursery. It is located on the first floor, at the center of the Terminal. It has hot water, sink, changing table, and a room (with glass door) for nursing... I am a T3 kid lah.. hee hee..

Shu, are you a july mummy too? tell us about your baby.. anyway, dun worry too much about your colleague's acceptance.. they are not important except to provide company while you work.. at the end of the day, it is family that is more important.. so focus on your kids and your hubby.. talk to him about how you feel.. or come in here to vent, we have a lot of mummies here with BIG Listening ear... take care..

dor dor
I do use water and cotton balls to clean Dani's pee area whenever I change diaper or when she poos. Think its the size of the diaper that gather all her pee to 1 area instead of spreading it all round.
Sigh ~~~~

PB
Got your addy liao

Qing
True, I find Synergy's back support area very complicated. Super exp too !!

Alamak, I thot of introducing solids to Dani only after 6 months. My boss has been urging me to let her try it after her 4 months, said try giving her pure mashed carrots or pumpkin for a start.

Solids,

there are pros and cons in giving early.
Giving at 4mths can help baby to learn motor skills of chewin. Let them feel how its like to lick the spoon, the action of their tongues is diff from drinkin milk. In future easier for them to start eatin lumpy food and eventually chew and bite.
However, it might also introduce more allergies. You may discover at an earlier stage that your baby is allergic to maybe certain kinds of berries.
Be prepared for your child to refuse milk due to the taste of new food.
Also the nutrition as compared to milk, must ensure their solids have same nutrition as their milk such as calcium and carbohydrates. An alternative is to add milk ion their purees. Like mashed bananas/papayas, add milk to become thick purees.

Bbp
Agree with qing. You looked very pro with the scootababy!

Smiggleprincess
You are very naughty!!!! SIA us to go shopping!!!

I forgot who posted the link to ‘how much BM to add to mashed food’. Can post again please? Gam xia very much!!

Just now I put poppy in her cot and asked her to take a nap. Then left her there and went to sweep floor. Dunno why my house is so dusty even though every day – 2 days sweep. Anyway. She make noise, don’t want to sleep, for one hour. But I know she’s not hungry lor. She just want my nnp to sleep. So I very hen xin. Just left her there, once in a while go and put chup chup in her mouth. But after 2.5 hours I thought ok la, really time to drink milk liao. So I brought her to bed with me and true enough, suckle 5 mins only sleep liao. Alamak.

solids
i think her first real food will be mashed carrots. cos she's a bunny after all LOL

missy
cos you have not been a member for more than a year

sigh after all that fighting with poppy and holding my ground and finally giving in, she slept for 10 minutes. power nap girl.

last nite we tried to leave Ethan alone on the COT to sleep.. he was so quiet, playing with his hands on his own.. turning left, turning right.. zhup zhup zhup.. for a full half hour.. I happily do my pumping and watch him over the monitor... then he started turning to one side and stayed there.. i thought *whoa.. got chance got chance.. maybe he can fall asleep on his own! but after a while, his pacifier fell off... so daddy went to put it back in.. then he zhup zhup zhup.. pacifier fell off.. then daddy went to put it in again.. then I think he realised that action will catch our attention.. he started spitting out the pacifier... hahaha! So in the end, we let him lie on the bed without the pacifier... another good 15min.. still eyes big big playing with his hands.. hubby fell asleep.. I then carried him to finish his milk (he din finish earlier), he finished the last drop of the milk, closed his eyes and slept liao... I was soooo close to succeeding to letting him sleep on his own! oh man!

Oh btw, last nite while we did that, My hubby told me - ya hor.. this should be the way if we want to sleep train him loh.. silly me... aiyo.. ok lah.. I forgive him liao loh..

Aiya PB,

Its gonna be Xmas and CNY leh...
Plus our precious gonna start learn walking and crawlin..

I not like you SAHM, can stay at home play with Poppy.. So must buy for KAyden in replace of me playin with him lor...

Missyz
CAn you meet meet around Tanjong Pagar or Raffles Place for the calcium tablets?

More on the Exersaucer...

Can use from birth to 2yrs old. Baby can bounce and rock and turn around. There are musical activities for baby to learn and play. All of the toys can be used as teether or stroller toys.
If when baby is older, the exersaucer can become a table for him to continue playin!!

More on FP Bounce N Spin Zebra

Can be used from 12mths to 36mths.
Not only can it bounce, it also plays out music while it rocks..
Plus, it wont spoilt your floor tiles like conventional rocking horse.
THIS IS AN AWARD WINNING TOY LEH
You may read on the review and pdt description.
Fisher Price has come out with a new and more expensive version of the zebra, thus discontinuing it.
That is why i tot buy first..
Heee, i quite kiasu one...

smiggleprincess,
i dont work around that area too. do u mind to post me instead? i can pay u back the postage. if u are okay, i will PM u my address. sorry for the trouble and thanks again.

pb,
huh? havent joined for a year?! like tat can save $ lor but the spree is very tempting leh. 30% off on RL stuff. u gals can go see esp those with baby gals, their dresses are super duper nice. *poisoning u all again*

michelle
great to know you forgive him liao.
he knows his mistake.

smiggleprincess
the horse look like for older baby lehz.

missyz.
i am also placing order for the RL sale.
i placed once during the 15% few days ago loh.
then now got 30%.
haiz. should have wait.
anyway, you can always PM the spree organiser.
that is what i do everytime i want to order from the spree.
then they will help you post in their thread.
or you want to join me?

Ya, i also think the toys are expensive..
But can save for second baby or sell them off, then think quote worthwhile..

Plus, i think baby's development is dependent much on us as parents. We shld help them whenever we can. Cos we decide their future!
I am more kiasu perhaps due to the fact that Kayden was an extreme preemie..
I almost lost him and lost my life. Hence now i live my life around him.. Money should not be that important.. But then i must also work hard to earn $$$ for his toys la...

Missyz,
pm me your addy..

Just Pm the spree organiser lor.. I already bought RL for father and son last two mths ago..

If u track the sprees, u realise that every 2-3mths they have sale ones..

Qing,
Kayden gonna be one yr old actual next Apr

so i buy first..
Cos i feel that this zebra is better and cheaper than the newer version. And by next yr if no more zebra, i be forced to buy convetional rockin horse cos i dont like the new version.

Star,
U can buy jumperoo around $150 if on sale.
Or buy second hand.. Lots of ppl sellin on WTB.

The Megayard should be around $289 in Spore. Not v sure.. But shippin from US shld be abt 35-40% cheaper.

thanks smiggleprincess. PM u in a while.

btw, will it be very expensive to ship Exercauser and Jumperoo? its so big and bulky. just a thought.

michelle,
i tink ur hubby is very nice and sweet. dont angry anymore.

qing,
thanks dear! the organiser replied my email and said can order thr her directly. u think they will have more than 30% discount later? i scare next spree is 50% then i sure bang head! smiggleprincess, u v experienced in this area. can advise? TIA!

NE Gathering:

HB met with a car accident last night, so maybe not able to go if his body is still aching. Furthermore, no car (pampered lah)… will confirm again tomorrow

Pump:

My medela electric is going to die on me v v soon (the motor sound extremely weak), am thinking of getting a 2nd hand PIS or Swing (cos planning to bf Talon till at least next March). Any comments?

a) Is Swing durable? (I pump at least 4 times a day)
b) Is the suction painful for Swing?
c) Is it v bulky to bring PIS to office?

Thanks mummies in advance in answering my queries!!