(2008/07) July 2008

CS, btw, you should hop around the agencies and talk to the maids (not to agents cos they will say everyone good), as many as you can so that you can compare, get the hang of interviewing, and also make sure you get one that you really comfortable with.. no obligation one! its very important you choose carefully loh.. I walked through the whole Katong mall and several others that time, and eventually found this agency maid quality the best (intro by a friend who had success in getting 4 good maids from them). It is only after I spoke to so many that I could tell the difference loh and din mind paying the super ex agency fee.. good luck in your maid search!

Cellow, could see your maid got initiative. that day during gathering she looked after Cedric well!

PB, how is your maid situation now har?

Bishan gathering

We have 5 bishan mummies i think

1. doggie
2. bluey
3. dor dor
4. youpi
5. RHS

rain and jsp, sure sure! if you all don't think it's too far and I think 5-6 in a gathering is the best size. Everyone can get to chat and is not too big a group.

dordor, youpi and RHS,

how how? are you all game? Likely to have the gathering on a saturday pm. How about 8th Nov? perhaps 1pm?

hannahi
I stay in whampoa. But will take ne line to work.
I doubt you saw me. I haven tried bring baby on train yet. When we are out with her it's always cab.

Gripe water BANNED?
we feed baby rachel everymorning with that lehz.

michelle

i am due to travel soon also and will be pumping milk overseas. the only way to bring milk back is to have it frozen and transported in a cooler bag with ice packs. Don't think hotel rooms have freezing facility though. In order not to suffer engorgement and to keep the milk supply going, you would have to pump and throw if you can't get your milk into a fridge somehow.

doggiebb
on lah... i tink its abt 10-15mins drive from my place lor... 8 Nov 1pm okie with me... confirm liao can PM me coz seldom go online during weekends... heehee...

re Gripe water
erm... i dun tink so leh... if banned will have news report n shops cannot sell liao rite?? budden i still saw in watsons n guardian last week leh... like Qing, my MIL n myself also feed bb ernest with it every morning leh...

july gathering
sobs.. din manage to join u mummies n babies in d end.. by d time i left my hse, pb msged me tt u mummies are leaving..
hais, hubby had to work on monday, n only managed to reach hm at 3pm.. wanted to go over on my own but cayden was making a fuss,
din let me put him in his sarong sling.. n i couldnt manage his stroller on my own.. so had to wait 4 hubby to be hm
to pick us up..

anyway, glad u mummies had so much fun!!! wah. photo taking session.. keke..

NE (open to non-NE too ) gathering
interested mummies:
1. hannahl
2. sherry
3. Waiwai
4. Delphine
5. JSP aka Nancy
6. Phyllis
7. cheryl

*interested!! ahha.. at least ne areas more accessible for me.. keke, can manage on my own w/o hubby's help.. cos can tk
nel mah..
am fine with 22nov!! potluck is good!

smiggleprincess
pm-ed my acct number.. sorry 4 d trouble..

gatherings
wah, more n more gatherings!! bishan also have! keke.. so fun...

bishan potluck gathering

8 Nov (sat) 1pm

1. doggie
2. bluey
3. JSP
4. dusty?

Gripe water
i think those with alcohol in it is banned. I have never fed my babies with it so I am not sure if the ones in singapore has alcohol in it or not.

It was really nice meeting everyone ... hee I haven't posted for a long time (super lazy ... just got time to read the posts only)

Super sianz ... going back to work this Friday. Totally no motivation ... HOW? HOW HOW? Somemore change in job scope ... Working hours expected to be till late night (10+).. even more sianz! Gg to office to negotiate with boss later ... wish me good luck. But now the market like gg into recession ... haiz. Scarly no job then worst!

(Sorry to make everyone read my grumbles ... just felt like grumbling grumbling grumbling ... super lousy mood)

P.S I love the playmat that smiggleprincess got. Gg to get it definitely!

oh huggies dry comfort is the one with tanga cut? cool! so sexy hehe. thanks michelle and bbp! i will ask hubby to buy later! LOL bbp, got one big DONG sound? hehe

smiggleprincess
gripe water is banned? how come?! glad kayden gave you a big smelly present!

CS
my helper is from philippines. haha ever since i told her about lai sah, she has worn her bra to sleep every night. honestly, when i tell her off, she seldom repeats her mistakes. seriously if you got someone at home all the time and don't need her to care for baby then she is very good. but yesterday when we went to vivo then i needed to try on clothes so she carried poppy and i took the diaper bag, she was ok with poppy. it's just me who is too possessive and everything want to be done my way la. sigh. i've grown to realise alot of things about her that i find fault with, is prob me la. bluey is right - if you like someone you are prepared to overlook their faults etc. if you don't, their mistakes will always be highlighted and shining at you. if you want, you can come to my place some day to keh keh visit me but can also 'interview' her

good idea bringing dani back! i think once your nanny 'mei you xin' anymore, it's a bit risky to leave dani with her...

bluey
your girl is super funny la, complaining and complaining to you. i overheard hehe

dustee
this works for us, hopefully you will find it useful too - he has his own account, i have my own account, we have a joint account. i take care of all the bills. we used to each put $X into it then i just use to pay bills and our shared stuff, like poppy's stuff and PD visits (and for my secret shopping LOL). then he spends from his own account, i spend from my own and we don't question each others spending. but now, like you, i am still living on my own salary, which thankfully includes the quarterly bonus this month so it will tahan me longer. but once that is gone, my friends in the same situation have all said that this is the best way to do it: ask your hub to give you an amount of money into your account every month. make it a point that he remembers so that you don't have to ask for it. that way you can spend it however you want and don't have to ask him for money and don't have to account for it. i think it makes sense. i cannot stretch out my hand to ask for money. this way is better or else i will steal from marketing pouch i think LOL

hannah
hmmm yesterday supply up and down. 3am it was back to 50ml again. i was like 'wei,nnp, what you doing?'. i dunno can take for how long. any mummies can advise? one pack got 30 la. 10 days supply. btw mothers milk tea did you buy in the end? i got one pack haven't open yet. you want? 16 tea bags inside. $9.90

accumulated tiredness
is there such a thing ah? cos poppy was very cranky 2 days ago at the gathering cos no nap, then yesterday also napped very little cos neighbour downstairs renovating then after that mummy dragged her out shopping then when got home, she latched on at 5pm, fell asleep about 5plus-6pm UNTIL THIS MORNING 545am lor! except for 930pm when we woke her up to change her and i forced my nnp into her mouth (which she took sleepily). then this morning woke up very hungry screaming for milk (like "HURRY HURRY I AM GOING TO FAINT ALREADY!" kind), i gave to her and now she's sleeping again!!

sh*t the reno work starting again.... poppy wake up liao. talk to you all later!

Jacelyn, I understand your feeling! when I first started work, also very sian.. ytday took urgent child care leave to stay home cos too sian to go to work even after a super long weekend... today also sian, but gotto drag my feet cos I really got to finish a paper by this week... tell yourself coming to work is like taking a short break so you can interact with adults and also find time to surf net, go shopping to buy many toys for your baby! I go popular bookstore almost every lunchtime and bring home a new book for Ethan almost everyday and that is my motivation to come to work!

Dor attending the Bishan gathering? if so, I am there to learn the pouch Wu Gong!

Michelle,

When I went hong kong for 4 days 3 nights, I will bring my pump out and just find a public toilet to pump and throw (super wasted but no choice). Then at night when I go back to the hotel, I will sterlise the pump and then put the milk into the milk bags. Requested for hotel to help me freeze.
I put them into the cooler bag with frozen cooler packs and these could last me about 6-7 hours. After I reached home, the milk was only a bit bit thawed. Most of them were still frozen. And I let bb drink all of them the following day.
Alot of hardwork just for a few mls of milk. haha

Yours should be better coz it is a shorter trip. If you dun mind, just pump and throw. Then you wun have the problem of storing the milk. Then just store the rest in your breasts. Come home immediately pump out or latch on! Hee that was what I did. Stored abt 8 hrs of milk then come home immediately pump. Almost burst! haha

Michelle, yah the worst thing is, my work place is super strict! Cannot surf net one.... =( cannot access to this forum!!! So no more reading up on posts...

When I first started here 2 yrs back, I spent about 6-9 months of:
10am start work, work work work non-stop ... lunch ... work work work ... dinner ... work work work ... 11pm off work ... sleep then wake up the next day work again. Scared to go back to this kind of life...
Sorry complaining again. Haiz!

PB, re domperidone, I read online and it says that it could be taken for 3 to 8 weeks. Not sure though coz so far I have only taken 2 weeks and not continuously. It was separated into 1 week, rest for 1 month +, then 1 more week. It worked for me so long as I take for abt 3 days continuously. Now can supply abt 600+ml a day ... hopefully one fine day can catch up (that is provided I don't give up!)

Doggiebb,
Can I join the bishan gathering? As long as it's between 1-3.30 pm on saturdays should be fine with me. 3.30 must go liao - my #1 has swimming lesson at 4 pm.

NE gathering:
I want to join also kekeke..Nov 22 is fine with me.

PB:
Wow your bb slept for so long!!! my bb normally sleep starting 11 pm to 7.30 am (she'll have her feed - only about 70-90ml, if lucky, can finish 120ml) after that she will sleep until 11 am.

Milk supply
Mine is really going down the drain.. hiks.. anyway, I plan to continue till bb is 4 months, which is around 6 Nov. After that, close factory liao.

sure SD! but i want to cap the group to max 7-8 mummies cos I have done HUGE bb gatherings at my place before and its like mayhem! can't really even talk properly! hehehe!

bishan potluck gathering

8 Nov (sat) 1pm

1. doggie
2. bluey
3. JSP
4. SDchick
5. dusty?

PB, Huggies, Ethan is wearing M size and it is getting a little tight at the stomach oredi... so for G size poppy, you may wanna buy L..... or Buy M and if does not fit, sell them to me loh..

Jacelyn,
Oops, think i din get around to you during the gathering... PM me and let me know which one was you and your bb?

Dun worry abt complaints - that's part of the purpose of this forum.

Michelle,
I have the Citystyle bag fm Medela which comes w a icepack thingee. http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/citystylebag.php But the bag containing the 4 bottles doesnt have the thermal insulation hor. Ok to lend to you for 5-7 Dec. Come over anytime (since we stay so near each other) and take a look la. See if suitable for your needs.

Bishan gathering
Doggiebb, I let you know later can? 8 Nov is my #1's b'day, I think we have plans but can't remember what time.

Dustee
We have the same financial arrangement as PB, and use the joint a/c for anything to do with the household or children.

Presents for bbs
I give books, usually.

Bb farts
I ate one bowl of curry at the gathering, and for the past one and a half nights, bb has been farting and letting out poop-lets all day and all night long! I changed 4 diapers on Sunday night, and 3 last night. No more curry for me!

Laughing bb
Mine always laughs when I am taking off his clothes. Dunno why, maybe he likes getting naked! ;P

Okie bb awake, got to go!

Bishan gathering:
1pm on Sat? Then I will be a bit late. Maybe 2pm.
Becoz my gal have gymnasium class which end @ 12pm. Then we will have to go for lunch. We dun wanna reach your house like "hungry ghosts".

Okie ... I bring sotong balls n nuggets.

Water:
My boy till now only drink milk, plain water and manuka(honey) water. Wanted to give gripe but tot that honey might be better.

Cereal:
My boy tried the healthy times cereal yesterday, I find that the cereal is very fine and smooth. Compared to the nestle ones I used to give my gal.
He also started on some bananas and apples. Not much just half teaspoon for a start.
He very "greedy" one ... he saw his sister drinking bubble tea and have snacks, he will "lick his mouth".

Phyllis,
I bot from Kiddy Palace. I will use the powder, put on my hand, then rub over his little body and those fold. Then always kena some on the bed, some on his changing mat and everywhere...

SDchick,
Ya. It will be lumpy cos all sweat ma. Clean away and reapply lor.

Bitting,
Is it becos they are at the stage of eating???? I already bot HealthyTime, will let him try out next week.

CS,
I was in the same situation too. Worst. First day already said cannot take care of my boy. Took leave and bring him back after lunch (lunch time went back to spotcheck).
Think it is better for family to take care. At least Dani stays with you, you can see all her development. Or if you still have unclear leave, you can take for just that week and look after her yourself.

Bishan gathering,
That sat I have dental appointment. U gals have fun.

oh bluey

bbs under the age of 1 year old cannot take honey hor! will have a risk of botulism. Infant botulism can cause muscle weakness, with signs like poor sucking, a weak cry, constipation, and an overall decreased muscle tone (floppiness).

ok! sotong balls and nuggets from bluey!

bishan potluck gathering

8 Nov (sat) 1pm

1. doggie
2. bluey - sotong balls and nuggets
3. JSP
4. SDchick
5. dusty?

bluey,
I tot infant cannot take honey. It should be written on the bottle, maybe you can take a look. Something to do with allegy. But if your baby has no bad reaction, then should be ok.

re bishan gathering
i'll let u gals knw wat i bringing nearer to the date hor... cannot tink of anything at the moment leh...

Jacelyn
this is the place for u to let out steam lor... feel free man... i tink all of us needs breathing space like here to complain, moan & groan lor...

Cereal
anyone tried the heinz ones?? healthy times cereal can find where huh?? tried PMing SY on the spree but she nvr reply leh... maybe she alrdy ordered liao... bluey,how old is ur boi?? u started giving him fruits also??

JSP

okie dokie! you let me know later! Healthy times can try to get at NTUC, but I have found myself with better luck when I try Cold Storages.

Rain,
my bb hates it if I poke poke her neck to remove the lumps. lols

Bishan gathering:
I will bring ham and cheese risoles (dunno what's the english name - rolls???) err everyone can eat pork/ham rite?

Oh can bring my helper along too? I'll be lost without her hahaha..

missy, how was your LC visit? lumps removed? dunno why today my left got the orh chnr feeling during pump and when i press... but no lumpy feeling... realise your boy suddenly disappear from group photo... only appeared in 1 when we were lining the boys up for shot.. where did he go?? :p

opps .. me bad mummy.

I din know abt honey... for my gal, I also like tat one.
Better reduce on his honey intake.
As long as it is natural food, I will let them try. I am only very cautious when it comes to eggs.

My boy is 3 and a half month now.
Me n my hubby dun have major allergies so I dun really take note on the food my kids eat. As long as they have balanced meals, I am ok.
my gal hor, tried ice cream @ 6 months, eat french fries @ 8 months.
Dun follow me ... just wanna share share what my boy had tried.

Diapers Promo
juz saw tat cold storage got promo for pampers active... M size per pkt 68pcs x 2 = $45.95, L size 60pcs per pkt x 2 = $45.95... cheap anot huh?? pampers active stages good anot huh???

working mummies,
MIL told me last eveg that Cedric's temper ystday might b due to me being away fm him whole day after 3 days of babying him during the deepavali long wkend. do ur bbs bahave like that on a typical monday??
... as if i dun feel guilty enuf already every morning... sighz

JSP,
pampers active stages is the best range. I'm using that one. For me it's good and didn't give rashes to my girl.

Yep2 it's cheap. I bought on promotion M size 44 packetsX2 for $29.90. so per piece around 34 cents. Yours also around 34 cents. So same lah..

Just read abt the honey, infant and infant botulism .... okie ... tat's it
My boy has to stop taking honey ... so scary!

cellow,
My baby when back at nanny place after deepavali long wkend, didn't sleep as long as before. Think he also miss his "friends" there
Nanny says, he can't stop talking

Healthy Times,
NTUC is $6.93. But the $0.03 round off, so same price. I got mine from NTUC. But if you buying more, quick pm SY. Get another $1.03 off.

Pinkbunny
No choice, have to be persistent if want to breastfeed. This is not the first time I kenna bite. My#1 also bit me when he was around 8 months old. My mom said I also bit her when I was a baby.
After kenna bite few times, now I am experienced. Once baby opens mouth, I quickly offer whole my breast not nipple only then baby can’t bite. Or if baby bite they will bite aerola which will not be too painful, if bite nipple woooh...the cut on the nipple is very painful. If got cut, every time you want to offer your breast, you will have cold sweat and breath in and out.

Dor dor
My#1 sprouted his first teeth at 4 months old. Hope that your baby is not teething.

Cellow
I shouted since it was too painful. Only can pray that baby Josh will not bite again.

JSP,

U can get healthy times cereal at NTUC under the organic section..

Re: Gripe water
My PD don't recommend gripe water to bb cos she said that it is too sweet for bb and will damage their gum..So, i never give my #1 or #2...

Rain,
I remember you said got the vick (for bb)? Izzit those normal type or have the mild version that specially for bb? Currently i used the normal one but find that a bit too strong the smell..

My boy can said recovering from running nose..now is my maid's turn..hai..passing the virus one by one..

Cellow, you pump 4 times in the office?? Whoa! I felt that twice was already so disruptive.. and felt bad about it, so trying to reduce to only once.. how long a duration do you pump for? I make up by pumping longer to try to get more milk too.. not sure if it will be able to meet my boy’s demand or not..will try out for a few days n see… if cannot, must revert to 4 pumps every 6 hours…

Fluctuating milk supply: tell me about it man, PB.. I also dun understand why my nnp yields different amounts at different times too…blocked? When I see not much squirting out, I will try to massage to encourage the nnp.. slightly better but will still be lesser than normal.. I used to have one performing nnp and the other weaker (and smaller) one.. but now both produces diff amounts at diff times I gave up tracking.. as long as both give me enough for my little baby will do haha

Jacelyn, what line are you in?

Youpi: haha… does curry give us wind? Coconut milk right? Didn’t notice much diff coz my boi farts a lot usually, which I thought was a good alternative since I can’t get him to burp all the time.. hehe.. by the way, at what age can we stop burping our babies?

Wah bluey.. your boy so fast started eating cereal and drinking other stuff liao?? Mine is still on 100% breastmilk! Was still thinking 6 months is still a long way to go so have not even done any research on bb food…

Simei outing: hey I didn’t get to meet sonic, missyz, Fiona, and serene .. can tell me what you girls were wearing and which were your little babies? Which momma does the following babies belong to:

1) stripey blue/green/white romper bb boi
2) white tee and denim jeans bb boi
each lying on each side of bluey’s bb boi

girls.. could only recognize sophie, poppy n pomfret… who were the other pretty little things?? Need to show my ah – boy see who he fancies.. can ask for hand in marriage next time hehehe

diapers: JSP, I find pampers active stages quite good but very ex leh…even wiv the discount you mentioned… $0.67 per piece compared to say nepia $0.31 per piece.. 2x the price

paging for 4D: can make a request or not.. to update dat fantastic list of mummies you had previously and put in the bb names too coz think some of the newer mummies not in that list? *grin* kam-xia!

do1nk
with the promo, its 68pcs/pkt cost 2 pkt for $45.95 for M size so per pc is $0.34/pc leh... anyway promo on until 5 Nov so me think will go early next week to grab 2 pkt lor... howz the cutting huh?? thinking maybe need to buy L size lor...

JSP
oh you so sweet, thanks!! okie dokie. confirm again some time next week ya? ;)

michelle
LOL: Bebelicious was supposed to be MY downfall. sekali you also kena! LOL!!!!! yup the dress is size M. i've only worn it once and washed it twice, once before and once after wearing la. up to you how much you want to pay me la! *don't say $10 hor, i tok your head*

my maid situation is ok. i've come to realise that it's just me who is very ngiao lor. i'd still like to ask her to leave before we go on canada trip (mid dec) cos i still don't feel comfortable with someone living in my home. hard to explain. so i would rather do all the housework and cooking myself. plus get a part time helper for weekend :D

cellow
wow you pump so many times!!! pei fu!!!! but yes pumping in office is very disruptive. when i did 3 times a day, plus the walking to the room and sterilising and cleaning up after, almost the whole day is gone haha. hardly any work done!

re pumping overseas
i guess if you want, you can ask the hotel to store in their freezer for you?...

cheryl
sorry huh. i couldn't find my phone (a bit of panic attack there!!). also didn't think about msging you till smiggleprincess brought it up that you would be late.

jacelyn
re domperidone. thanks! i will check it out. btw must take 15-30 mins before food for best effect

youpi
same! poppy also likes to be naked!! every time i take off her clothes for bath time she just smiles away!

re honey
girls, below 1 year don't give honey. or egg

my hubby said 'how come everybody knows poppy ah?' cos someone said 'oh here comes the famous poppy!'. LOL

who has gone to parentcraft at TMC before? sorry i forgot... how much did you pay? my bleb la. i really should go get it checked out.

pinkbunny
I pump twice a day at office. Never wash my pump at office. After pump, I put the flanges into the fridge and can be used for subsequent pumping. No need to rinse at all. My friend who is bmsg member taught me so.

PB
heehee... juz ju shou zhi lao oni lah... gotta be next week coz off tomolo n fri... if had known earlier would have bought afew to pass to ya today lor...

doggiebb, agree with the joke!!!

I also have a pouch which i do not know how to use.. dor dor, any tips? I can't even slot bb in, so tight

Michelle, can send me the link to ur fb?

Gathering
My boys have enrichment class at hougang at 7 pm, what time will the gathering most likely end? Can we have 1 sat slot, 1 sun slot? Then c which day is better for most of us?

bluey,can see that he's really trying very hard LOL

My helper is leaving after next tues, and i'm feeling very sad... She's been with me for 4 years, been through thick & thin together.. Although got conflicts, but.. I think i'll cry when we say our good-bye next week.. Though i know she'll be back in S'pore 1 mth later (she's found a new employer), but still..

jsp: really ah?? wah then ... mai thoo liao! I quite like it.. but find it ex.. think my boy still can fit into the S (only M & L on sale ah?) I find the cutting almost perfect.. not bulky, not tight at the thighs.. okie will go home and check my last piece n see..then dash to cold storage soonest possible, thanks!

okie, scanned thru the pics hubby took at the outing.. looks very similar to michelle's but here's one funny one:

1832204.jpg

Ethan: you two babies are not listening to me! come..let me pull your ears!

Thaddeus who overheard in the background: yikes! boy am I glad I'm not within reach hehehe!

star: wah your english very cheem.. what are flanges? dunnit to wash and sterilise before next pump? then won't be oily from the old milk meh? currently I'm soaking them in hot water before my 2nd pump session..