(2008/07) July 2008

fiona
yup that was our reason also. with part time helper $50, 4 saturdays a month = $200. live in maid $350 a month, every day house clean. but ya lor. she comes in a package with all her nonsense lor.

but after taking many deep breaths i will see how long more i can tahan her. cos she really is quite automatic with housework and cooking. just her attitude ler. very one kind.

PB,
Guess it really up to individual tolerant's limits.If you feel you just cant stand her in your way, get her out.
For me, like bluey, so long she has taken care of both my gals and cook for my family as well. I am more than happy. Me myself cant do it if I am a SAHM, I will go crazy!! haha..

fiona
nowadays jx will cry when i walk away but she still loves daddy a lot! will scream loudly at him.

michelle
i wish i can sleep late but my kids dun sleep late. everyday i wake at 6+. dunno so early for what. my boy will say, mama wake up, in the day already...and force me to wake up!

serene
wow your bb can finish so much rice cereal already? how much milk is she taking now?

PB
i also dun like having a maid ard but i really can't cope. esp when i need one more pair of eyes. if no maid, i think i will be happier also. more in control of the house matters as well.

today my maid actually forgot to turn off the fire. she was going to heat up something and boil until no more water. lucky i saw it. sigh, really forgetful.

smiggleprincess
u got my transfer?

sy,
sorry for the late reply. i'd like to get 4 boxes of the milk bags. are u ordering on our behalf? how many boxes are u getting?

:: frozen breastmilk ::
i have some frozen breastmilk in my freezer but have yet to feed bb coz right now, the refrigerated ones are enough to meet his demand. i was thinking what to do with those frozen milkbags in my freezer. i am running out of space coz the milkbags are placed on a tray in the freezer to separate from the meat. my freezer is pretty small too. should i start giving bb the frozen milk and store the current milk? i'd like to continue to give him the refrigerated ones coz they taste and smell fresher but again, i feel so heartpain to throw away the frozen milk. Dilemmas ah! in fact, i've been throwing away all tis 'liquid gold'..sigh..i also don’t know I store so many milkbags for what if I keep throwing. Tonite have to ‘spring clean’ the freezer again to make space for new milk..any advice or experience to share pls?

SY,
kacey is drinking 150ml to 170ml 4 hourly....
u getting the healthy cereal ?? tot of getting e barley n brown rice let me know if u r getting ...

PB,

You dun have to pay maid levy, so special one?

The price of having a in-house maid is actually more than 2 times compared to having a part-time helper.
Plus, we still have to provide her daily needs.

SY,

I want the cereal! I want the mixed grain one. 2 boxes. Need to email you?//

In US, it is quite cheap too? U think it is worth to get from US?

missysz,
I store my frozen EBM everywhere (aunt's place, mum's place, any other relative that I can beg freezer space from). U sound like u need to get another freezer and fast! Thick skinned a bit la, ask around for freezer space.

Got 20+ milkbags now in various relatives' freezers.
Cedric drinks a lot during this week when I have at work. Have not been pumping out enuf for him, prev day's mlik (chilled / refrigerated) is not enuf. He draws down fm my frozen EBM milk bank, at least one frozen bag a day. .... My hb thinks I m stressing myself out unnecessarily, jst feed him formula lor...

u gals so fast getting cereal liao ah? my gf told me better to feed when bb turns 6 month leh.

cellow,
thanks for ur advice. i may have to ask my mom to spare her freezer liao. but do u put the milk bags together w the meat? i htink my mom;s freezer also not much space. my MIL one can forget about it - already filled to the brim! oh ya, how do u transport the milk from yr home to their home? put in fridge to go? will the milk turn bad?

SY,
re: Healthy times
1 mixed grain and 1 brown rice for me please! Do you want me to PM you?

oh ya... also I PMed you to share your recipes some time ago. No hurry la, respond when you have a moment ya
thanks thanks.

SY
re the healthy times, any idea what is the expiry date? cos i wont be feeding bb until 6mths old. Can we buy this from any stores locally? sorry abit sua-ku, actually also never heard of this brand b4... ;)

missy

it's for my #1. I also plan to give semi-solids at 6 mths.

cellow

you so cute! milk milk everywhere! which is good actually, anywhere bb cedric goes, he gets milk to drink!

oh about the healthy times, if i didn't remember wrongly, it's better to give rice cereal first, the mixed grain and others shld give later!

summert

yes you can get healthy times here! just that i have realised not all ntucs have it and they always run out!

Healthy times,
can our babies take the barley or oatmeal rice now? Cos its stated there for 6mths and above... Cos i m quite interested to get the oatmeal rice for Adriena but scare cannot take then gotta wait till she reaches 6mths.

i sua-ku. never heard of healthy times before leh. in fact i know zlich abt baby stuff lah. bad and lousy mommy. dont know whether bb tummy can take cereal now or not coz stheir tummy still so small. i read somewhere that if intro semi solid too early they may reject milk earlier too. dont know how true lah ..

i think i read someone said her bb turns 4 mth today. my boy is 3 month today. one mth differece. hehe

SY,
if you organising healthy times spree pls include me ok? i want barley and brown rice pls... i'll also only start feeding at 6 mths. Expiry long enough?

missysz,
I sprint w frozen milk bags! bwahahaha..
seriously.. pack into fridge-to-go - sure not big enuf one la - or just use 2 layers of newspapers to wrap, put into a bag. Go straight to the other freezer, [do not pass GO, do not collect $200, just straight fm freezer A to freezer B hor] and place the precious frozen EBM into freezer B.

Doggiebb,
Ya lor, everywhere Cedric goes without me (oh, how I long for that day smtimes!), he has milk to drink. Hehe. Reminds me of some nursery rhyme??
Otherwise, I m his milk bottle. Moo!

missysz,
Oh of course the EBM cannot put tog with the meat! Get a separate plastic container. That's why must lie the milk bags down to flat pack b4 they are frozen into funny fat shapes

My work is draining me!!! so many posts already.

SY
Count me in for the healthy times cereal. Will the expiry date be next year? if so, I want one barley and one brown rice. Thanks.

Yvonne,r u able to sell it per session or we have to get the full package from u? If can buy juz 1 session, i dun mind... cos i wanna let Adriena try out 1st b4 deciding on wat to get.Sianz... i have to go prepare to go work now. My last nite shift from this round.

doggiebb, SY
read from the healthy times websites that the FairPrice at my place here also sells. Hmm, must take a look when free, dont rem seeing this brand, maybe really being snapped up!

SY
oh no! forgot to turn off the fire? that's terrible! better keep reminding her to check.

missy
don't throw away la. if you really don't want it anymore, then give away lor. i have friends who buy separate freezers just to store milk. you might want to consider

serene
poppy is also drinking about that now!

bluey
ya la of course got levy la!

i also never hear about healthy times before.... thinking of just doing the normal mashed/pureed pumpkins, carrots etc....

oh gosh i just checked with hub. the other day he brought back one pack of cereal and i just went to check and it's..... HEALTHY TIMES!!! LOL. brown rice cereal. exp is aug 2010 and he doesn't really remember but he thinks he got it at $6.50

hey anyone wants to share GOON? i'm going to order soon. it is $15.80 per pack (S52, M44, L38, XL30). i think M is out of stock currently.

i stay at tiong bahru

such good weather now. i can imagine later when i wake up to pump, everyone else in my house asleep then me alone at the sofa with the rain falling outside and ko lian music playing in the background like chinese drama show LOL

talking abt GOON diapers, i started letting bb frank use it during daytime since yesterday and pampers at nite (cos v tan boon lor!), then today discovered rashes.. luckily my calendula cream arrived today so just applied for him. sigh, last time wanted to save $ so tried MP and he got rashes, now again for goon. seems like frank bottom v expensive!

GATHERING

Mummies, excited???

Pls note my address:

Blk 9 #06-01
Simei Green Condo
Simei Street 4
Function room (in front of swimmin pool)
Just walk in will do la... If not must sign registar.

It is abt 8-10min walk frm MRT.
Just follow the condos (Modena, Tropical Spring then Simei Green)
Bus- No 38 (Alight at second stop)

Cellow
Your milk is well-travelled!

Xiaoyang
My boy always wants to be carried too. LOL about your 'fainted' face. Mine will breastfeed until gong-gong, and lean back on my arm with eyes closed. But once he *feels* that he is going horizontal (ie. being lowered onto the bed), PING! the eyes open wide.

Dor Dor
Eh I stoopid, I don't understand leh. You added me to MSN and I was on already? You used my hotmail addy issit? I am a tech-imbecile, never used MSN on my mac before. I just downloaded it this morning after reading your post, but have not used it yet *blur*

Ember wakes up at noon? Wow! What time does she sleep? And does she sleep through all the way?

PB
I totally understand what you mean by not being able to tahan a stranger living in your home. That's what I felt with the CL. But you were fine with your CL right? Anyway, like what the other mummies say, if you really don't like her, best to let her go lah. Else you may start to resent her and give yourself more stress. Having a PT helper seems more expensive, but like Bluey said, you foot out a lot of unseen expenses for a fulltime helper so in the end it probably evens out. Re: cooking, how about tingkat? I do simple meals like steams, stews, and soups.

MIM cotton sling, $20
Anyone wants to buy mine? Only used twice as I prefer my cotton sateen and silk ones. It is white with thin green stripes. PM me and I will email the picture to you, as I don't know how to resize pix to post here. I can pass it to you if you are going to the gathering.

Summert
Don't think so... what size does bb Frank wear? Are you going to the gathering? I can bring a couple for you to try.

Delphine
I diff ma I not working u all gotta wakeup to prepare for work so bb also gotta wake.
Last time for D I jus keep hugging him back to sleep whenever he wakes until I am willing to wakeup....hehe
Then he sort of got used to the timing liao. This Ember hor she even best aah so long as I am on the bed with her she will sleep 1-2pm also sleep but once I leave her side that's it she auto wake liao. Maybe she also got built in motion detector....hahaha

PB
Yah my type paisey.....hehe
Think smaller gathering easier for me to manage too many ppl plus my very active #1 I will be chasing him all around.
Ehh ur song 2nd half leh??

ang ku kueh sio sio
ah ma jia liao tio beh pio!

re hubby
Poor u can understand how annoyed u are. I would feel very upset as well if I'm in ur shoes n same I do the silent treatment(I also very ti tar).....hehe
Tell ur hubby lah no matter wat he wants to give or tell the maid must do it INFRONT OF U. Warn him lah incase the maid accuses him of anything how then u cannot help him cos u dunno ma.

Mine hor used to clean his own room n toilet. But after we're married n have our own hse he seldom lift his finger on mopping. I guess he figured he gets a free maid with the ring.
But must praise him abit lah he hangs the laundry(I put them to wash), boil n change water, wash n sterilise milk bottles, clean n feed our pets, water the plants after he comes home at 1am. N leaves me peacefully on the computer cos he says that is "my time".....hehe
But those are the only things he will do willingly anything out of his scope he will make noise when he does them. Machiam I'm really the maid.

Serene
Ur hubby so nice to be willing to split so much hsework.

youpi
Ehh U dun have MSN messenger aah??
But I'm able to add u in leh. I used ur gmail...hmmmm
Actually I not so savy now too. Not very sure leh....hahaha

Ember got mood 1 sometimes she sleeps quite early at bout 10-11pm but if she's naughty she will keep asking for my attention will 1am. She will wake for milk at 3-4am n than again at 8am.

summert
Try huggies??? My #1 cannot use Momy Poko too his privates will be red in the morn. But he is fine with Nepia n huggies.

SY, celeste used to enjoy looking at out wedding portrait which is juz next to her changing table. She'll smile & even giggle sometimes. Coz there are 2 ppl smiling at her mah. Didn't occur to me to buy big posters for her till i saw jx's photo. I'm gonna go get it & place it next to her day-time sleeping playpen

doggiebb, i also ordered the hair clips liao. So lovely right? Good things must share. Hee..

dor dor, if ember sleeps till 12pm, then can she still sleep in the afternoon?

Mummies, has ur bb start to make very loud talking sound liao? Mine does, so i'll talk to her, pause, then let her talk back. Quite fun

xiaoyang, yah so funny abt the fainted face

PB, i know what u mean. My ah lao also like that, esp when i've lots of conflicts with my maid. I'm those dun keep things to myself one, so my ah lao always scared she'll do any harm to me / children. Give her hp without telling me, it was mine actually when i renewed my plan!! Then when his office gave a small portable tv with dvd compartment in it, gave her as well. All for me to find out later!! Pu huei or not, u tell me??? He said all these are small things but maybe to them very good liao. I said it's not that i dun want to give, but at least discuss & let me know, rather than for me to find out myself!! Even more pu huei when i say that small tv in her room with the antenna sticking out in her room. Watch tv???

Btw she can use ur washing machine to wash her own clothes? What abt the rest of the mummies?

Michelle, my mil also always secretly buy things for my maid, coffee & clothes, and ask her dun tell me!!! Wah biang!!!

Mine still no sign of turning..

Oh PB, have been wanting to ask u. How, any diff after drinking the mother's milk tea?

Oh check with u. Is it cheaper to call by phone card as compared to dialing 019?

smiggle, u getting transfer maids?

bluey, so will u be getting any bd present for her?

dor dor,
my #1 also behaves the same way...she'll sleep as long as i'm still sleeping. last time i took care of her full time can also sleep till noon the n wake up hehehe....but Lucien's not the same leh......

PB,
sayang sayang...

re: maid
haizzzz....today gave a long speech to mil before i left work. i observe that recently the maid has started to talk back at mil bcos mil always talk harshly to her...aiyo this is my 5th maid liao leh. if this one go as well then i bo chup liao. then i told her to talk to maid firmly but not harshly...dun understand why she got to get so "ji dong".

re: hubby
i also turned into a maid after marrying him. i told my hubby and mil straight in the face that i used to be a "xiao jie" leh, dun have to do any housework at all...but now my hubby very lucky lor got a FOC maid.

Dor Dor,
my hubby got no choice if he dun help me with the house chores than who will do ??? By the way his brothers all can do housework n take care of kids so i count myself lucky...

Gathering
Looking forward to the gathering .......

smiggleprincess
yes i transferred by atm

wat time is the gathering?

re healthy times
noted all orders. think the expiry shd be sufficient . have emailed tjhem to check.

hannahl
actually the poster is for my #1 when he was young. here's a pic of #1 studying it.

1819170.jpg

PB
it is good to give a bit of cereals cos it's nutrional all rounder. i do standby some in case they reject the foods that we prepared for them. for a start i will give cereals then add some pureed food into it for them to try.

misszy
i can order the milkbags if you wan.

Hannah,
When my helper first came, we asked her to hand wash her stuff, but then hor we found out that she included her clothes to ours! So we let her use the washing machine, for her clothes only, once a week, use the speedy mode. She's also welcomed to eat anything from the kitchen. But sometimes hor I also phek chek cuz she drank the orange juice a lot, by the time I want to drink - it's gone!! I complained to hb but he said small things dun need to make noise la, a bottle of OJ is nothing so she can take care of our children well. But then hor sometimes you must know your limit mah... sometimes they just dun care.
Oh.. definitely cheaper by phone cards - those you can buy at lucky plaza ones. I dun have IDD at home, all use cards, cuz cheaper.

Summert,
Hi-five - my bb bottom also v expensive, use pampers. we bought like 10 boxes of pampers during promotion at carrefour ( 1 box got 2 44 M size) for 29.50). I think now also have the same promotion at NTUC.

Dordor,
Hehehe I was also like you... when bb eh eh eh at night I just stuck the pacifier and she'll continue sleep. I guess that's how she sleeps through the night. BAD MOMMY!! Aiyo last nite hor my bb drank 160 ml at 11 pm, then this morning at 7 I tried to give her milk but she didn't want, so I tried again at 8. She only took 30 ml then continue sleep, totally KO. Maybe because yesterday she didn't have much nap? Nowadays, she only naps like 1/2 hour right after every feed. Seldom nap for long.
I'm going to chinatown to one of the trimming shop later. will let you know whether they got the plastic suspender clip.

Hairclip
I make the hairclip for my bb/daughter myself whenever I'm free. It's super easy and when we buy hor sometimes it's too expensive. Oh yeah there is this fashion jewelery shop at south bridge road - they're selling wholesale - lots of clips and they're very affordable. Some are nice, some are so so lar. I bought the basic clip there and decorate myself.

Doggiebb,
My helper wash bb clothes, but then it's not clean enough lor.. so in the end I use machine to wash.

morning all,
for my previous maid, when she came i asked her to take all her clothes out and dump into the washing machine. Wanted to ensure that her clothes are clean and free of bugs b4 she put them in the cupboard.
After that she will hand wash her own clothes.

Napping,
my ger is also not napping much. Partly i tink my mum's hse is too noisy le, with my boy (coming to 3)and my niece (coming to 2). Every day i go back, the hse like warzone like tat. Toys all over and screamin kids.. aiyo hw to nap!!

yeah, i am looking forward to the gathering. do we need to bring our bumbo seat?

sy,
ya, can help me to order the milkbags? TIA!

the weather is so good to snuggle under the duvet but i had to wake up at 5AM to pump milk!

missysz,
My sentiments exactly. So nice to sleep - all the way from late last night to this morning. Still nice to sleep now. But still had to pump milk before I could hit the bed. And all for a pathetic 140ml after 5h. Sometimes wonder if it's worth the pumping effort =(
But if don't pump, then the bed will be wet in the morning. Haiz..................