(2008/07) July 2008

sonic
you can get "baby you can read" dvd from kiddy palace. But the one on display is just the casing, you got to ask the saleperson to get the actual set for you. It's in a set of 5, $99.

sonic
i didnt wake bb up when he sleeps thru. cos like wat my hb say, sleep more then will grow up faster. but probably if sleep for long hrs, the next feed can try to give more. but still depends on whether bb wants to drink.

Dani has no problem sleepin in her cot but if weather gets really warm then either I on a/c for her in her room or lets her sleeps in the rocker and become "ting zhang".

lbt, i've PM u

I'm still having difficulty sliding celeste into a lying down position and she dun seem to look comfy when inside, and it seems hot also. Mine is from littlepods so i wonder if there's any difference in terms of feel & material

CS, why is Isetan sales better?

SD, but now bb can't be in a sitting down position yet right?

Who is the bb's nanny? An outsider?

I supplement with enfalac A+. I gave Friso Gold once coz i got it as a sample. But coz i can't find the small can for Friso Gold, i chose Enfalac after that. Can't finish the big tin in 1 mth lah

Regarding bb u can read dvd, are we supposed to play on tv and let bb see? Thot bb can't watch tv yet?

summert
thanks..
WAH.. $99 is a bit ex leh. no wonder i often see people grab Similac when they got the promo of giving it out as free gifts.

CS
so far ernest pretty okie wif the milk... poos min once a day... no constipation... alot of pple also say if bb can drink muz let them drink S26 lor... if heaty then let them drink abit of water in between feeds lor...

Just want to share. I went to library to register my baby as a member. Who knows they gave me the pre-starter kit which is consist of baby journal, some reading materials. I also received a cloth bag.

gd morning

my little gal is 6.5kg at 9 weeks old. though she is more than doubled of her birth weight (2.62kg)PD sd she is not overweight, maybe big bone. BTW do any1 know of a gd PD at KKH?We fd the 1 who we seen is quite rough and we arent not comfortable with him though he is very senior and experienced.

Seeking for opinions, im hesitating if i shd get a baby carrier or sling when I hv to bring my little gal out by myself.Thk it shd quite handy and more convenient than bringing pram out. Wat do u thk? & baby carrier or sling is better?

I will be going to town later. If i have enough time maybe i will drop by the sales which u all had been talking about. I can help to check on the items which u might be interested. let me know soon.

sonic... i saw the "baby u can read" dvd at popular book shop, $99 also. during antenatal course, the consultant said night time let bb sleep, feed only if bb cries for milk in middle of night

star... i super kiasu, i got the baby kit when i was a few month pregnant :p

bonnygal... i'm using sling when bringing bb out.

For those who wants to buy CB, BP for Calif Baby by Ima started today.

http://www.thepinkcream.biz/cbbp.htm

Hannah,
My bb's neck is pretty strong, but of course I had to support her back and it's sorta 45 degrees lying down. My bb doesn't like to lie down if she's not sleepy. Nowadays, I put her lying down at a boppy pillow.

My nanny takes care of bb. This nanny has been with us for 8 years, taking care of my #1 since she's first born. My mum stays with us, so my mum supervises her, and helping me out with cooking and also taking care of both girls. She's still active and she doesn't like to do nothing. Guess I'm very lucky.

Library
Ahh yes yes... all new mummies can get New mom goodie bag from library. Got baby journal, Baby's first cd and height chart, etc. May need your child's birth cert. Wah Waiwai, we're both kiasu, cuz I also got it when I was still pregnant. Hahaha.

Bonnygal,
both are good, and it depends on which one you're more comfortable with. baby carrier is easier to use, cuz it's very straight forward. Baby sling - you need to adjust here and there and I guess you need to really get used to it. I'm not very good with sling, cuz it doesn't fit perfectly sometimes. If your hubby going to use, it's probably better to use baby carrier. I doubt guys want to use sling. I have both, bb carrier for me and hub, sling for my nanny.

hi momzies..

jabbing away with one hand again (many of us one-hand-typists around eh hehehe)

had a tough time pacifying bbG who was sleepy but cried his lungs out no matter how I carried him..
hope its a phase (like wat peppermintt mentioned) dat he'll grow out of soon.. its the inconsolable cries dat I hate most..

CS: I'm at the end closer to woodlands ave 6..where some pple go to fly remote control planes..

hey..was trying to look for some archives but are missing..

wanted to find out the uses of the calendula cream from CB.. works on baby acne too huh? I recall it's like a miracle cream dat works for almost everything.. hehe

CB regular users... lbt? dordor? any idea?

cin_bunny: not sure if anyone's replied but ya they are selling the tiger thermal food jar 0.9litre + thermal flask 0.8litre for $50 at the isetan sale! think this is what I got previously too.. ;) household dept

hi do1nk,

yep, I'm using calendula for bb face, esp when there's rashes on the face. It helps to reduce the inflammation, so the rashes doesn't appear so red. sometimes after the rashes is gone, the cheek is still rough, so I will apply it again.

I also use it as a night cream and my hb use it to soothe the razor cuts.

do1nk
me use it on bb ernest face during his heat rashes attack a mth ago lor... veri fast the rashes went off after applying for abt 2 days... so nowadays i apply it on his face every day lor... coz he like it and would smile happily everytime i apply for him after his bath... can also be used as a diaper cream from the seller... budden oni if the nappy rash is a mild one... heard that adult also can use... good for adult acne as well... hope tis helps...

Waiwai,SDchick
Fast action.

Calendula
Everywhere I read this product. Have anyone compare between CB and Desitin Original?
Normally I use Desitin Original as the creamy one do not work for my bb.
Since there is a spree for CB, my itchy hand also order 1 bottle.

re: CB Calendula Cream
me bought at $15 abt 3mths back lor but now selling at $17.75 lor... price increase so much lor... dunno wanna stock up anot coz quite good n dunno if price will increase again anot lor...

btw, anymore good pdts from CB??

Star,
I swear by CB Diaper rash cream. Very effective, yet very light, smell nice too. Desitin Original (purple packaging) - very sticky and I dun like the smell. Desitin creamy (blue packaging) is better than the original version. It's less sticky but still difficult to remove for me. CB - after you apply, it gets absorbed quickly. Next diaper change you can't see it anymore, unlike desitin.

Use calendula for diaper rash? hmmm it'll be super expensive lor. But you can use it for anything. My #1 also want to use on her face. hahaha.

JSP,
yes, I also bought at $15. now increased already. I used full range. from bb wash to lotion, diaper rash, massage oil, sun screen lotion for my elder girl. I even bought the diaper area wash - this one to bring around just in case bb poo when going out. But if you wanna buy, you can try the baby wash/bubble bath. Very lovely.

^5 do1nk! another 1 handed typist checking in... oh dear *sayang* abt the inconsolable cries.

waiwai, sdchick,
wah biang, u all really kiasu. i feel like hopping over to the library now to register cedric as library member heh.

summert,
where did u get the netted rocker (sarong)? and how much did u pay for it? these few days cedric has been spitting up milk after feed, so think better get one soon

Naps
Cedric normally naps for 2-3 hrs too, once up to 5 hrs in the daytime! that was when HB said cannot let him slp so much in daytime, sekali night time wanna get up and play.

BB noises
a lot of mummies have been saying the little ones now more communicative hor. Cedric too... makes ah geng eh eh eh sounds when he is happy. Now i feel less like a zookeeper (feed, shovel pee/poo) and more like a mummy of a little human

Losing temper w BB
CS, Cinbunny,
I dun think I can be SAHM too, bcz I lose my temper w bb. When I m making soothing noises, I am imagining myself hitting him on the thigh to shut him up. Those are the inconsolable cries la. Carry/sit, carry/stand, carry/rock also cannot kind. Makes this mummy wanna run away. That's when I get HB to take over.

peppermintt, CS,
m also on TBF, and cedric still poos several times a day, watery stools in daytime after (smtimes during) the feed

dustee,
long time no see.... how r u coping as new SAHM?

do1nk

yes I use calendula cream for everything.. rashes, diaper rash, moisturising bb skin everyday too.
It's very effective, even for cradle caps !

I am ordering more this time. Will try out other prducts like swimmer's defenses shampoo, repellant and sun screen. But it's quite ex now.

I bgt my calendula cream for $12.50 last time, and now it is $17+ !!

hi mummies... i want to buy this musical mobile toy with bears for bb, but can't find. kiddy palace sells the lamb one, the bear one they say don't have...

anyone has one like this (or similar) and wants to sell? pls PM me the price and where to collect. Thanks

1737021.jpg

SDchick
baby rachel also don like. she prefer sitting up or being carried in a way that she can see instead of cradle carry.

library
i think we discuss about this when we are still pregnant.
go library get the journal to record the little details.
but i didnt go in the end.

waiwai,
suggestion - ask the jan and feb mummies if they wanna sell?

Buying stuff
tdy HB is in JB for work, so i asked him to drop by at carrefour to buy 2 packs of S size mamy poko and 2 packs of M size mamy poko. Talk abt kiasu-ness..... slightly cheaper than going to NTUC fairprice to buy. BB cedric costing us a lot of $, as I m sure your bbs are costing you too! but wat joy and wonder they bring to our lives.

Calendula Cream
It works for baby acne too? If so, I believe its okay to be applied on face?

Girls, when you say rashes, what kind of rashes?

do1nk
your bb have baby acne too?

If you're the block facing directly at the "remote control planes field" then perhaps you're the same block as my parents. Think the block is in light apple green color now, used to be plum.... dio bo?

cellow
Your zookeeper really made me laughed out! Come to think of it, we are indeed like it. I always tell my friends Im a slave to Dani, shes my empress dowager - lau fo yeh ...

I've aready stopped BF ages ago, bb only on FM now.

Ive bought my netted rocker from kiddy palace. Theres 2 sizes. Ive bought the bigger one at $50. Think will have to get another one to put at bbsitter's.

1737068.jpg

neh, see ^^^

I use it when Dani is up for play and do not want to sleep. Will leave her in it while I do hse chores (Ive to be within her sight else she'll start screaming) then once done, shes back to her cot again.

Hannah
Re: bb u can read
There’ll be detailed instructions given from the dvd. Must follow step by step. First step is to let bb hear only but not watching from the tv.

Sonic
Ya, it’s exp but worth it.

Cellow
I got the sarong from one of the bb’s shop (Cherie) at sun plaza (cos stay at semb mah). The manual one costs $89. But if u want to buy electric, u got to pay additional $169. But I’m trying to cut down bb’s nap time in the sarong cos I heard if bb too used to falling asleep in sarong, next time we will have a hard time trying to get bb to sleep when go out. So if u have not started on sarong, then better don’t start. That’s my thots.

re:netter rocker

a PD once told me never leave bb on such rocker as it does not support the baby's back. I only let Rianne sit on the infant car seat cos the back is hard surface.

waiwai

some ppl also prefer not to hang such musical mobile for babies. their eye balls are not aligned yet hence it may affect the alignment. But not sure if this is true.

But my cousin's daughter has lazy eye that time and need to went for op. Then the doc say no such mobile for babies.

re:sleeping through

hehe I think my Rianne is sleeping through the nite. It started when she wakes up at abt 4+ to 5am daily after her nite feed at 9+/10+. So I told her to let mummy sleep a while more and ask her to wake up at 6am. Indeed.... she wake up at 6am today ! then fed and slept until 9am ! i feel so refreshed now !!

do1nk

aiyo.. gordon still very fussy ah ? sarong dont works for him ? Did you consult your PD ? cannot let him rely on sling or human arms else your MIL will suffer.

CS, cellow
erm, this netted rocker that u refer to is called bassinet, if i am not wrong. mine is the typical cradle type, so cellow not sure which one u referring to liao. i have the bassinet too, hand down from my sis, but bb frank only lie there for a while, not sleep. anyway i seldom use it also cos the rod below touches frank's buttocks.

how long can we put the expressed breastmilk (after warming) in normal room temperature? i just prepared a feed for bb but he doesnt want to drink. very sayang if throw away this 'liquid gold'. heh

missyz,
I think 1 hour. But I play cheat before, more than 1 hour I also feed. So far no problem, but of cos I try not to do it. So nowadays I will just wait until he hungry then I warm up.

CS,
Zookeeper is such a perfect term! I used to call myself slave, but I think zookeeper is a much better term.

CS
hee.. then mine is called "blueky". so ur bb Dani can sleep there on her own ah? so good. do u need to pat her or anything?

missysz
i think can up to 2hrs too. but like wat bbp said the best is to warm when bb is hungry. for me i gauge bb's hunger by his cries or when he keeps fidgeting cannot seem to be able to sleep.

Dani signs of being hungry is she'll eat her mittens profusely til all wet.. then her mouth will form an "O" shape as if really to suckle bottle teat.. and if any slower, she'll scream liao.

summert
blueky!! hahaha.... funny la u..

no need leh. I'll just leave her there then she'll entertain herself.. she'll talk and laugh by herself til she's tired then fall asleep

missyz

i discard anything that is after one hr. i rather play safe.

you can go by the bb usual feeding timing. if not, just wait until bb wail to confirm he is hungry.

missysz,
i was once left my warmed EBM at normal room temperature for more than 2 hrs.. cos i fell asleep while waiting for the milk to get warmed up (of cos bb also fell asleep) haha... then i still used it to feed bb after ensure the milk doens't smell funny.

re netted rocker/bouncer
when bb lies flat on the bouncer, it's supporting the whole body of bb mah, why it was said not supporting the back leh?
lbt, are you referring to sarong?

my #1 and now #2 sleep on this netted bouncer during day time as it's cooling. only at night then sleep in the cot.

re baby can read dvd
summert, wai wai,
ok ok, thanks.. will go find out at Kiddy Palace

re CB calendula cream
seems that it's OOS everywhere, better stocks up more mummies...

thanks for the advice, mommies! i called up BMSG and was advised that warmed EBM to be finished within 6-8 hrs. anyway, bb kept crying during feeding just now and only drank only 30ml from 90ml and i threw away liao. brought him to the PD for his first 6-in-1 and rotavirus this morning so maybe appetite not so good?

so can i say that u all dont go by the timing, i.e 2hrs interval feed. u all wait for signal from bb (crying)?

cs,
i can envisage dani looking v cute when she does the O-shape mouth. i hope my bb will start giving me signal coz now we will feed based on 2 hrs interval and sometime he will sleep halfway (hence the 1 hr feeding time) or drink and cry suddenly. sigh..

Hi, I have been having sleepless nites cos my boy is still making those groaning sounds from 1am to 7am and it makes me lose sleep!

EBM
oh dear, sometimes after i express out, i will leave the "fresh" milk at the warmer for up to 2-3 hours! cannot do that?? i thot compared to putting in the fridge, this is fresher loh...

baby can read
My hubby bought the Glenn Doman Baby can read kit, so we have started our boy with that kit..

I am going to stock up CB Calendula cream, aloe vera cream, calming wash etc... for myself too cos i also have eczema and am using the creams too...

napping
my boy normally naps for 2 hours in the day, up to 4 hours if i sleep with him. as he tend to sleep more soundly and longer on my bed, i let him do that.. nite time he will sleep in his own cot.

I am going to ISETAN sales too! but before that.. i am going to take a nap now...

playmat @ isetan sales

saw this playmat cut-out coupon selling at $59 during the private sale on thurs, hv any mummies used that or is the one from smallsmallwolrd better? any mummies know?

There was one time where I left the BM for 2hr+ too. I guess once in a while is fine. That time also similar to your situation. I thought she wanted to drink, but after I warmed it, she fell asleep and slept for more than 2 hrs. I don't have much milk, so I felt very sayang to throw it away.

My bb follows her own "internal clock" to drink milk every 3 hrs. 15 min before she will lick her lips and her tongue will go in and out hahaha.. so cute. That's like the initial sign lor. Then if I put my finger near her mouth, she would open her mouth. After if still no milk in 5 minutes, she will start to cry.

CS, bb won't slide down the netted rocker?
my bb always sleep on the bed, when she was smaller, she slept on top of a pillow, on the sofa. now don't dare to do that liao cuz she's more active.

dear all.. do u all have prob on stretch marks after giving birth?

mine is still seen now tat jayden is already going to b 3mths old.. it looks so ugly.. any1 noe how to get rid of stretch marks?? haiz.. i apply so much stretch marks creams when i am preg.. still it appears.. sianz...

I have MIA for v long liao coz so busy with my gal kacey as nw she need more attention fm me.She nw sitting on my lap while i'm typing with 1 hand.

PB
actually i support ur decision to resign as it always gd for us take care of them n c them grow.

SY
do u still have the first teeth coz lately think kacey gum seem to itchy she keep putting her hand in to rub against her gum.

hi hi, any mummies going isetan sale - can tumpang to help buy the tiger flask thingy at $50? it's a good thing to have right? only cardmembers can get at this price?

cin, the tiger flask with thermal food flask, think its a good price and will need it when baby start taking solids... but need the cut-out coupon to buy at $50 leh... but can confirm when i am there, you want to PM me your mobile so i can check out the price for you when there...

cin bunny
i tink the tiger flask is cut out coupon item n got limited qty on sale... oni card members that have the coupon can buy at that price... dunno got limit no. of pcs member can buy anot... can check for u tonite... u PM me ur contact n wher u staying huh??

Angeline
me also got abit of stretch marks thou preggie tat time got none lor... wat i know is stretch marks cannot be removed totally one lor... will oni lighten as time passes unless u go surgery... budden can apply creams to lighten it so that it won't be so obvious and ugly lor...

re playmat@isetan sales
tink the material different from the smallsmallworld ones... have not seen it thou...

re baby can read stuffs
i bought the flash cards instead lor... tat time dunno can let bb watch tv so thought the flash cards would be better so that i can interact with bb instead of letting bb watch tv lor... can't remember the price i paid thou... bought at taka bb dept...

re baby einstein DVD
there's a BP on for this series of bb educational DVD selling at $78.80... see if anyone interested coz its cheaper that the baby can read ones...

Bonnygal, 2mr will be bringing my boy to see a lady PD at KKH, for his 6-in-1 vaccine. will let you know after our first visit if she is any good, k?