(2008/07) July 2008

smiggleprincess,
My Adriena also has hiccups a few times a day. Usually i will juz let her sit up and it will go off after a while. If abit irritating to hear, i'll feed her wif some water. that will depend on mood lah. hahaha...

Dani gets hiccups very often too. I just carry her in her fav position and wait for it to go away. Read from somewhere thatwe can try to burp away the hiccups.

thanks Michelle and Cyndi for ur advice! read from net to wash the rashes with mild baby wash which i have been doing 2 days ago. will try out jin yin hua

re: flash cards
i got mine (patterns with the colours red, white and black) fr the goodie bag given by gynae. Think it's from Dumax.

re: hair
actually i dun intend to shave my baby's hair (he has very nice hair) but mil said to do so when he's 4 mths old so will grow more and nicer(not gteed ok!). She wanted to shave his eye brown too saying then wil grow even nicer (i find my baby's eye brown good enough already lor) Some babies after shaving hair grows patchy.. keep my fingers crossed. My colleague's baby has very little fine hair when borned. She shaved twice hoping baby's hair will grow more and thicker but sorry no lor. But as she grows older, eventually the hair grows longer now she's 5 yr-old and has long fine hair
think it really depends...

re: baby nails
i use baby manicure set. trim and file but still sharp le. at nite i let him wear mittens. So far so good as he seldom scratch his face except in the nite. dusty thing? is it bcos of the file? maybe try using another file?

re: hiccups

Evan also hiccups rather often when he was younger. now still but not that often though. Like wat cyndi said, can try to burp him. Read fr net it doesn't bother the baby juz we as adults are bothered by it. Can feed a bit of water. Advice from books and professionals is not to feed water cos BM already has and it may disrupt his feed. then fr my fren's experience is ok to feed a little otherwise when baby is older will refuse water.

lbt,
Rianne looks really demure leh. Her eyes big big v cute.
Lucien can wear some of his jie jie's clothes which she wore when she's 6 mths old, but he's not even 3 mths yet. He does seem bigger lor..

Smiggle,
U can leave hiccups alone, they r really harmless.

Michelle,
Juz wash your baby's hand right after u've filed the nails.

CS
ME ME isetan sale count me in. Mini gathering?? wahahaha

Flashcards - I got those big single alphabets for very cheap when my #1 was young n he really likes me to flash at him. Then I bought A5 cards n write on my own. But when he grew older he started grabbing the cards n lazy mummy has stopped.....hehehee
But gonna borrow the Baby can read VCD from his godma cos watch on TV he cannot grab ma. N trying only cos tried once when he was younger. totally not interested.

Hi hi, it has been soooooo long since i last wrote. Hasn't MIA, just can't catch up with the posts
Finally. finished reading all of the posts..

Caergiver:
I'm also in the process of cracking my head on the caregiver for my bb. And i'm VERY concern over the handle of my ebm when i'm not around. I'm afraid that they'll over heat it, or they didn't ensure that every precious drop has been fed to my celeste

Actually my plan is to bring bb to my mum's house together with my maid. But coz i dun hv a car, bring them to & fro can be quite tiring. Many of u should remember that i've 2 other older boys? Ok my elder in P1, am session. So every morning he'll take a school bus to school, then go to after school care in the afternoon.

My #2 goes to a cc every morning. So every morning i've to bring him to cc then bring bb & maid to mum's house which is abt half hr by bus (only ONE bus number). Can u imagine how troublesome this can be, and i've to bring them home in the afternoon together withy #1.

And my maid is new with zero experience, now still processing the docs in Indo.

So i decided to to ask an anutie who's my mum's very good friend to come to my house to be a day time bbsitter. She did day time confinement for me before. But she can't stay till i'm back from office with #2. She has to leave by 5 pm. How to make it on time everyday...

So i'm now cracking my head.. I know mum is the better choice. But can u imagine the hassle that i've to go thru everyday, and when sch hols are here, really headache coz i've now to also bring #1 to daycare.

Ai ya. sian, dun know whether i've explained myself here.

I've been working flexi hrs since 3 weeks ago. And very disruptive coz always can't finish my work on time.

Hannal
Peifu u leh ur determination so strong to read all the archive?? I normally 2 days never login already panting to catchup the posts.

Is it possibloe for ur mum to go over to ur hse instead then?? Or ask her to go ur place n bring them to her place??

dor dor,
hahaha... we can get up to 20% discount at the sale depending on the brands. This is especially good for me now that Dani is going over to the bbsitter's, so I'll need 2 sets of everything! My poor pocket~~~~

But before I can go, I need to think of how to settle Dani first. Bring her along or ask MIL look after for awhile? Dor if you're going, you'll being Ember there too ah?

dor dor & CS

Yes, my mum can come to my place, but she can't come in the early morning coz she has to take care of my nephew who is in the pm session. Then she can't stay till i'm home in the late evening coz she has to go home to cook, and do housework.

If she come & bring bb & maid to her house, i still have to rush over to her place after work which is also quite tiring and i can't reach the cc & day care centre by 7 pm to pick my 2 sons up.

And i could see that she's not keen to take care of bb, all these while she only carries my celeste when she's at my place. Hasn't fed her milk/bathe her yet. She said she'll take care if really no choice. And she always fall asleep when she tried to bottle feed her. Carry her also can fall asleep one leh. So i'm really bu fun xin to let her take care.

Oh ya, forget to share sonething. Remember i once asked if the avent iq duo is noisy? Coz my pump was a second hand one and i pai sei to ask the seller. No answer so far so i juz let it be. Then on Fri my pump really can't suck anymore and the motor like stuck. I dun know if the motor is spoilt or the parts need replacement so i went to the service centre to get it checked. Woa lucky me, the motor was proven spoilt and i got a BRAND new one to replace as they said they dun repair the motor if it's faulty. Can u imagine how happy was i? Got a brand new motor when the warranty supposed to expire next month? Heeee...

Oh dor dor, one of the reasons why i've the time to look thru now was partly because the motor is now very quiet so i can read the posts while pumping, even in the middle of the nite

Fiona

Same leh, my Rianne is already wearing her jie jie's clothes when she is not even 3 mths old. Her jie jie is really petite lah.

Hannah

congrats on getting a new motor ! i also got a new MEdela motor and new Avent steriliser within the warranty period.

hmm your problem is quite difficult to solve due to all the timing. But can I ask.. how is your hubby involved in shuffling the kids ? I thought maybe can leave ur boys to ur hubby while u take care of celeste ?

or find a bbsitter near to the childcare centre where your boys are attending?

re:isetan sale

hehe my friend also jio me. most likely i will go cos I dont have the card and gotta tongbang my friend.

hi mummies.. how's your weekend so far?

CS: is vista park the one wiv the playgrounds and the exercise area? opposite the new church?

hiccups: i read that it's due to baby having a very full stomach after milk, and it pushes against the diaphrem, hence the hiccups, but is harmless and will go away.. I don't do anything when Gordon gets them (which is very often)

flashcards: was at united square last nite, but couldn't find any nice ones..came home wiv 5 new books for him instead hehe lots of reading for him soon...

warranty: wonder if we are covered by the distributor in SG if we got our pump from overseas instead.. probably not?

isetan sale: hmm..thinking of going to buy more bb stuff but how to shop wiv bb.. still feeling very stressed and kan cheong whenever I go out wiv him.. can't really concentrate on shopping haha

do1nk
Yup, thats Viata Park. My parents live at Drive 16 too, got a place near theirs on purpose.

Which part of Drive 16 are you at then?

Isetan Sale
ya, like do1nk, Im still thinking how am going to shop with bb. Definitely got lots of ppl and long cashier queues. But I really want to go or rather I NEED to go get stuffs for Dani when at bbsitter's.

garfield,
Yup, Declan had mild fever after 6-in-1. We fed him the fever meds twice then ok liao. Umm, actually dunno if it's due to 6-in-1 or pneumococol, cos we gave him all 3 (including rotavirus) at 1 go.

do1nk, i haven check out yet.. wat do u wan buy??

jayden has hiccups all the time too.. i will feed him some water n he will stop after a while..

bbp.. ur baby got fever after the jab ah? so do we have to take any med from doc after the jab juz to stand by? jayden will b going for his jab in 2 weeks time.. n he's now having cough n so i am quite worried..

bbp, she took both 6-in-1 and rotavirus. but doc say rotavirus is oral so shld not cause fever ley.

we didn't give her med but sponge her whole nite. now seems subsided but keep takin her temp for precaution.

Angeline, best is take med. i did not n regret. cos my first son didn't have fever last time. however if yr child is sick, u cannot take jab until he is well.

o.. thanks for telling me garfield.. i shall monitor jayden cough.. if his cough still has not recover by then i will call n reschedule his jab appt..

Re. hiccups, I usually dont do anything coz PD said it does not bother bb. So I cant be bothered too ... since she also always hiccups when she was in my tummy and it will go away by itself :p ...

Re. Isetan Sale,
Yup gg for it! But definitely cannot bring bb la coz usually its very crowded ... so will be asking my mum to take care of bb while i sneak out for a couple of hours :p hee

Re: isetan sales

hmm how come i am not informed.. hehe.. i have isetan card too hehe... if this is so.. think i will wan go too.. so its on thurs rite??

Angeline,
Yup, take the fever meds from the doc to stand by. Always be prepared.

Re hiccups:
It seems to bother Declan though. Whenever he gets hiccups, he seems to be more pek chek leh.

lbt, before i forget, can u PM me with the list coz i just got a new maid who is coming next month?

My hubby is civil servant so not much flexibility as compared to me. He has to leave home by 8am so can't do anything. At home sad to say, he hardly take care of the kids, which really makes me very angry. I've to keep asking him to ask my son to eat faster, carry the bb when she cries... Haiz give up liao.

Dun think i'll look for a bb sitter coz to me, i also can't trust them unless it's recommended by someone, which i can't find any.

Last time when i had #2, when my medela pump was spoilt, they didn't replace the motor leh, they repaired it then spoilt again after a while. Maybe mine wasn't the PIS. Or they've changed their policy already.

But i just came to know from the avent staff that for purchases made before 15 Aug 2007, warranty is 15 mths. But for purchases after that it's 2 yrs coz last time was under Canon, now under Philips. And the purchase for my pump was 31 Jul 07! Quite sad but nvm lah, since i got a new motor already. Just hope that it'll not be spoilt again so soon

do1nk, if purchased in US, dun think it's covered in S'pore.

garfield, my bb had fever after the 6 in 1. I didn't give paracetamol though coz still within the acceptable range.

Angeline, the PD told me can only take the jabs after 1 week of taking medicine.

Isetan sales
Do they have good buys compared to the taka ones?

thanks hannahl.. i will take note of this.. will monitor my darling medicine n cough closely.. hopefully he will recover soon.. see him cough like very xin ku..

thanks bbp.. i will request some med from the PD

Garfield
YES! CATERPILLAR = PINKBUNNY!! Fever after 6-in-1 is normal. Above 37.5, give fever med. 38 go to doc IMMEDIATELY. Poppy had about 37.3 but we gave the med and she was ok quickly. But they might cry a lot in the 48 hours after jab for no reason.

Eh I also don’t know why cannot log in with PB ID. It says password invalid. But I checked with mods and they also say I never commit any crime. They said I should be able to log in leh. So I asked them to help me change password and no reply yet.

CS
Don’t shave dani la, so much hair, so sayang!!!

Re tummy time
No leh I never put poppy on tummy. I don’t know how to flip her

Summert
Yay congrats on getting a smiley photo! Eh his pillow looks very old school hor?

Labbit
Hubby made poppy do angry face la!

Smiggle
Poppy also hiccup after almost every feed. It’s ok one. Some books say can feed to get rid of it. But she hiccups after burping so I don’t want to feed again. I just carry her upright then it will go away after a while

Re water
Mummies who are not on TBF: do you give your babies water? Poppy doesn’t like leh. She won’t drink if I put it in bottle. I tried using medicine syringe but it’s very xiong. Sometimes I cup feed after giving gripe water in the morning

Hannah
Sayang sayang. Must be very siong on you… you seem yo be doing everything on your own… hubby leh? Make him share the load!

Re SAHM
I have decided liao. Tues when go back to work, I will tell my boss I want to resign. I like my job but it is not mother friendly and I buey bang sim anyone else to take care of poppy. Hubby and my logic is – money can earn any time. Poppy is more impt

Aiyah I cannot go isetan sale. Next week start amazing race liao. Morning drop poppy off at mum’s place then to work then reverse after work. In case anyone ask why not use that as permanent solution? Cos next month my nephew (now 3 weeks old) will stay there and my mum’s helper can only manage one. Mum is working

Missy
Sponge bath = ma shen

qing i think i bought the same $6 leggings as you. i got them from taka. like nylon/spandex one right? very cute
and poppy seems to like! so cheap some more i will buy more!!!

but of course not as great a deal as baby ember's $1.99 ones from ON hor? hehe

Don1k,

I got the bodysuits and towels.
Not bad quality.
If you are buying from there, tell me. I want to get more clothes from there.

Isetan sale,

I wan to go to isetan sale. But my gal having excursion on that day.
She wans either myself or the maid to go with her.
Means I have to go to the sale with my baby!

summert
my #1 loved your bb can read. i think it's pretty good. before he was 1, he cd do quite a lot of the actions for the songs.

qing
must really massage the lump towards the nipple. the best is to get bb rachel to latch and keep massaging on the lump. for me, since i keep getting clots, the most effective is to let jx latch. so now my night pumps are really hard cos she dun wake for milk...

lbt
my gal also super cho lor. fart very loud everyday, yawn super loud until i can hear her even with door closed in another room. the dad always say he wonder whether any guy will like her!

peppermitt
hee, when i had #1 i always tell him he must love mummy most! it's so natural to do that i think. cos we are not the main caregiver so tend to worry but dun worry, they will know who is mummy.

anyone helping your mil?

smiggle princess
hiccups is cos of wind. mine has it everyday too, but not much that i can do. just that when she has it i will latch her and after a while it will stop.

re manicure
guess what, my hb cut jx today when trimming her nails. she cried really badly. poor thing. can see the redness of the flesh. luckily they heal really fast.

re hair
my mil also wanted me to shave my bb's hair but both times i said no...so nice already why shave right?

do1nk
if the pump is overseas, it's not covered. for medela service centre, they charge different service fees for parallel imports and from authorised dealer. for parallel import it is 100.

re jab
my gal din have fever. just slept a lot more the next day. her highest temp was ard 37.5. i only standby medicine for her

PB
good that your hb supports your decision to resign. my hb not very supportive of my decision to take no pay leave. got a lot of nagging from him actually.

baby rashes
peppermitt
my god mil bought enough for 5 wash.
she bought about $2 per pack from chinese medicine hall.
yes, it is jin(1) yin(2) hua.

CS
we used it for 5 days.
during every morning bathing time.
true enough, it was reduced greatly.
if this wont solved the problem,
you might want to try mo li hua from any florist at the market can get liao.
those small little white flower.
direction: squeeze the flower and rub both the squeezed juice and flower on baby face.
my da gu teach one, didnt try it on rachel as she was ok liao after using jin yin hua.

PB
i think the brand of the legging is gold bug.
did you get any discount? i bought from robinson got 20% off. i bought the one with little pink flower all over then one base.
their plain colour ones are only 3.95 (i think), with lacy at the back is $4.95 (like the one ibt post here).

hiccups
i don't really care about it.
i read it somewhere that it is alright that baby hiccups, it don't really bother them as much as it bother us mummies.
sometimes i will latch her on too, but sometimes she will refuse loh.

jab
heard from the news just now that the Japanese has invented jab that are painless. heehee.

SY
i have been diligently massaging the affected breast. now, much better liao. i even got hubby to help out. don't really dare to add too much pressure on myself so got him to help. as he was also there, seeing the LC massage.

water
my bb depends on her mood, sometimes okie to drink water, sometimes give me the "wah lao eh" look and quarrel with me. but i notice if i give her warm water, she is more willing to take a sip

hiccups
sometimes i give water, sometimes i leave it if it is just a few min after a feed or about to feed

inconsiderate pple in MRT
we brought bb in pram out by mrt, when we were alighting, got one stupid woman rushed in without letting pple to go out 1st and blocked my pram with bb sleeping inside, i purposedly stopped hoping that she would give way, who knows she insisted to walk inside and knocked into the pram, and scolded "s***". luckily this didn't wake my bb up, else i think i will shout at her and embarrass her.. such rude and inconsiderate pple

chantelle
i am currently using medela swing.
it has 2 mode. i find it better than the mini pump from medela too. at least it is not so painful.

waiwai
what annoying ppl.
i feel angry for you too.
if not because bb in pram sleeping, i will sure use the pram to hit her hard hard. she is then the s*** loh. so angry!!!

I am from april'08 mummy thread.

I have a bumbo seat with tray to let go @ $50.

My boy does not like to sit in it therefore its still new..

Pls PM me if you are interested.

thxs gals for the jab feedback. my son didn't have fever last time so I expected my gal same but who knows she develop fever rgt after the jab...

but now it has subsided. yup whole afternoon she was v drowsy though we didn't give her fever med. temp keep hoverin around 37.5 range. then by mid afternoon it is 37.3 like tat n i wonder if it is fever so continue to sponge her.

at least now i know it is common for them to have mild fever.

thanks pb.

garfield, when u sponge ur bb, do u remove her clothes? and why do u have to continue sponge her? to reduce the temp? i will be bring my boy for his first 6 in 1 next week. stressed.

OMG Waiwai, that lady is super rude!! I agree with Qing, it's like, why should she said s***. tsk tsk.

Chantelle,
Heard that from many people, the best manual pump is Avent, as for the electric one, is probably medela, especially PIS. But it's very pricey though.

For those who loves leggings, I saw some nice ones at Fox baby too.

PB,
I rarely give my bb water. I tried before, and using spoon, she seemed to like the taste. I give very little and also very seldom.

BTW about the papaya soup, it doesn't make a difference. I drank 2 times a day for 4 days liao. still 50 ml per session, max is 60 ml and that's like after 8 hours.

Wow, you're going to become a sahm! I admire people who resign to take care of bb. I dun have the patience with bb, even to stay 1 whole day taking care of my 7 year-old can be very tiring to me.

Garfield,
My bb took 6-in-1 and rotavirus. Only mild fever, like 37.5-37.6. We didn't give medicine, but the doc gave a stand by paracetamol for bb if fever more than 37.5. She's a little cranky, that's all, and we put light clothing when she sleeps.
The next day ok liao.

SDchick
i agree that the medela PIS is great. also got varies mode. super fast too. can pump both breast together. tried it while saving my left breast at TMC.

leggings
saw it at fox too. but $13 each lehz.
and don know what size should i get so didnt buy any. the sizing a bit difficult to understand

Mummies, i want to get leggings for my celeste, after so much discussions here, but i dun know how to match them with her clothes leh, later makes her look so funny. Any advice? Got like what colour goes with what colour clothes or not? Coz i hardly see gals with leggings outside leh? Or i pa jiao?

Erm i think two mummies here mentioned that they bought the pupsik pouch. Who ah? Youpi? Any mummy can advise me? I bought the littlepods from another mummy then i dun know how to put her into it. Read that it's supposed to be tight. But my celeste very angry when i tried to slide her in leh. No space leh?

PB, you've finally made the decision! Is this gonna be long term or short term? If short term, what if #2 comes along next time?

U still getting a maid?

I was a sahm when i had my #2. I've a maid to help with the domestic matters. I must admit that financially really very tough coz i always must think twice when i want to get or do something
I went back to work when #2 was 18 mths. Left him with my maid, quite fun xin coz had observed her for quite some time already.

Didn't regret being a sahm that time. But i guess i won't do it again now coz very taxing with 3 children
And my boss has been very accommodating so far.

CS, lbt
I also dun have the card hahahha
I go confirm will be bringing my 2 kids 1 they r superglued to me. If u dun see them then is a miracle liao. Wahahaha

do1nk
U go out will be slinging him ma so he should be okie right?

PB
SAHM must look for good deals ma.....hahaha
So u madeup ur mind liao lah. So will see u shopping more often liao?? hehe

thread moving at greased ligyning speed

PB,
brave decision
congrats on being sahm

hannahl,
thks 4 sharing... smtimes when cedric v cranky i oso think wanna b sahm. hb said eh shdnt it b the oth way rd? he happy and easy then u wanna be w him.... Men! girls, u know wat i mean right... worried any1 else ll mistreat him when he s cranky

waiwai,
smack tt lady 4 u! worse when she made that tsk noise n said wat she did

weekend
spent whole sun at home nua

holdg bb in arms nw, yay he s fast aslp, i can oso go nap...

re isetan sale
me also wanna go... budden if bring bb sure super inconvenient one lor... i have the card and invite so can admit 1 more mommy who interested also...

dor dor/CS/lbt/bluey
so u gals bring bb along?? me would also be driving that day lor... anyone staying bishan/macperson area can also hitch a ride from me if interested lor... heehee

Isetan Sale

dor dor : Let me know if you want to piggy-back my card in, think I can managed to dig out 2 cards.. haha....

do1nk : me too, thinking how to bring Dani there cos have never bring her out before, except to PD. Maybe sling her or maybe longbang her at my office cos just above nia, shaw centre.. *lol*

hannahl : I prefer Isetan sale to Take's. U meant Taka's baby fair ya.

Sally : of cos not far la, we're neighbours too..haha ... sure will inform one..

JSP : If Im going then definitely bring bb along cos I dont have anyone to help me look after.

Angeline : ya, its this coming Thursday

So mummies, who's confirm going liao?...

Qing
Thanks for the advise. Ive used it for 4 days, twice daily but not as effective as you girls leh. How u use it? Use wet hankie to wipe during bathing time? Was wondering have I use it the wrong way thats way not effective.

PB
Maybe not have lo, just cut it short will do.

So you've made the big decision liao ah. Congrats on being a SAHM soon! Poppy so xin fu to be able to have mummy around 24/7.

Hi Hannah,
I bought the pupsik studio sling. It's okay for bb to sit down, but the lie down... well not so good. Cuz actually my bb likes to put one hand under my armpit so it's free, while the rest of her body facing me. With the sling, it's quite difficult to do that. The MOM sling no problem though. Maybe pupsik one can also, but it's just that I haven't found a way to do that yet. there's a lot of video in youtube on how to put on slings. just go to youtube and search for baby sling.

CS
count me in then... if u gals bringing bb then i'll also bring ernest lor... so anyone wanna tongpang my card to go in?? the isetan newsletter got cutout for guest one...