(2008/07) July 2008

Morning ladies

MIA so long liowz...busy with bb and my #1.

Re : Breastfeeding
My boy doesnt seem to like to latch on much...especially when i have letdown then he choke and then refuse to latch for that feed liowz...anyone experiencing this?

Re : PM Rally
I don't think they will backdate hor? Feel so sad when i watch the rally last nite....cos another 4 weeks flexible leave will be great for all of us here! But at least some consolation is the extra 4 days childcare leave bah.

Re : Pap smear
I also done mine at arnd 5 weeks after my delivery

re: pap smear
Mummies, can anyone tell me why must do pap smear again after delivery? I had one done in my 1st trimester, so not too keen to be poked again.

Celeste,
Me me! I have / had great problems with latching. But not bcz of letdown, bcz of bb habit of sticking his tongue everywhere else except at the bottom to maintain the latch.....

Dustee,
#2? just bcz of 4 weeks more maternity leave? u did your cost-benefit analysis liao?? (
occupational hazard)

re: burping
I figured that bb will just burp when he wants to, but yea, he will spit out a bit of milk if not burped and we just lie him down. No one ideal burping position or method lor.

Random silly thots (HB and me)
Mine - wat if Cedric has a food fixation and gets really obese bcz he cannot latch now, and remembers not being able to eat?
HB - wat if Cedric rems HB scolding him for not latching and develops a grudge agst daddy?
...... told u those were random silly parenthood thots.... think tis not the last of them popping into both our heads! anyone else experiencing this?

waiwai, summert,
we gave PILs $500 as allowance when they came fm Malaysia, budden hor, they gave us back $290 when they went to buy a stroller for the grandson. that was all the monetary transactions.

waiwai,
haiyar. my parents early this year asked for cost of living adjmt to their allowance ah.... o_O bemused

Celeste,
My bb also choked last night while latching. But hor, I think this only happened last night cos I was too lazy to wake up to pump so poor bb had close to 7h of milk in my breasts to contend with. Dunno why it was particularly difficult to latch on last night, but I perservered and success came eventually.

Mummies, does anyone face the same problem of difficulty of latching on when breasts are super full?

Re allowance:
I will need to rethink my allowance package to my parents liao. Used to be just $300 per month. But now, definitely need to increase cos asking my mom to quit her job to help me look after bb. But then hor... I got this possesive streak that is making me think of being a SAHM....

SY
i must really learn fr u on how to handle mil. i think i m also not so firm so she climb over my head. anyway hor, since yest episode we only talked less than 3 sentences. i also did all the washing at 5am. though shorter sleepg time but i feel gd not depending on her. gd thing is hb on child mc today can help me take care of bb when i pump, then dont need to depend on her today but not tmr leh. sian. oh just now i saw her wanting to help to keep bb's clothes but when she heard me opening the door, she put the clothes out again. wonder wat tt means.

waiwai, cellow
seems like my $300 like v pathetic to mil, but our meals r catered leh so no need to cook. but then again did ur mil/pil complain abt the housework like my mil? cos if we do give them money y do they still complain they doing all the work?? like tt i might as well get a maid.

cellow: You are accountant huh? heehee.... me too!

Re extended maternity leave : I doubt that it is backdated. it is to encourage more people to have babies. We have already been "encouraged"...too late liao.

Not sure about the increase in the baby bonus for first time mums... lets see lar

PM speech
i think we are not include in this loh. i rem signing a form for the ML. there only say 12 weeks.
but can always ask if boss willing to give the extra or not. as this will be bear by the company instead of gov le.
don't know the increased baby bonus got our share or not.
he very sickening one lehz, should have said it earlier ma then we all can benefit from it.

crying
last night baby Rachel was crying and screaming so loudly. don't know what happen. make us all so worried. wonder if it is colic.

Re: PM Rally
Everyone dun lao nua... cos i juz mention only... haven ask boss yet.Hopefully got good news.
ANyway, i juz read the Rally notes online then they say they will re-adjust the baby bonus as well on wednesday. Hope we get some extras...

bbp
when breast super full, it is harden.
then the aerola also, so make it difficult to latch.
baby rachel will try to suck a bit of the milk first . on and off couple of times before she finally latch on and drink

bbp
so if ur mum's salary is $900 then you will give $900 as allowance ah?

actually i m possessive too, pp say bb will be closer to mummy even though main caretaker is mil but i m still worried. i also thot of taking no pay leave for a year but hb says needs dual income to sustain. wat to do...

bbp

when breast is full, it is rounded hence bb is not able to grab the areola into mouth and latch properly.

re:$ for mum/mil

I still give my mum $500 allowance every mth and I gave her $1280 ang bao for doing my confinement.

I also cover her expenses if we go out shopping together.

re:extra 4 weeks of ML

i feel this is not a bonus to me. Some mothers are already penalised at work for going on 3 mths of ML and an additional ML may makes them more stress. I feel $ is still the root of prob.

But I like the idea of having more childcare centres, and maybe the cost of childcare will go down when there are more competition.

Most of the couples I know are having problems with finding nanny/childcare for their kid.

and I find it so disappointing that they din mention anything for the hubby.

as for childcare leave, it is definitely good cos we can take this leave w/o any reason. But for me, I can't even finish consuming my own leaves, let alone childcare leaves !! ahha

re PM rally
when are they going to announce the details? ie. got backdate or not?? hehe... still very optimistic..

i think they missed out one point, for those couples who hired a maid to take care of children, they don't benefit from CC subsidy mah, so there should be reduction of levy too.

and about the unpaid childcare leave, it's good as nothing cos afterall with or without this, we still can apply unpaid leave what.

hehe.. cellow, don't be so discouraged lah.. :p

the cost of having kids is huge as now we are all experiencing it, but the benefits hor.. abundant joys!!

sonic

PM says gotta wait for Minister Wong Kan Seng press conference later this week.

btw my massage lady also says I drank too much water and if I cont to do so, my current wt will stay. *shudder*

so now have to control fluid intake.
sad, cos I love plain water !

Thanks for sharing with me regarding pap smear. just thought why so early this time round(just dun like the feeling lah).

Summert,
childcare and infant care leave also applicable to daddies.

PM rally
We have lesser chance for the 4th month unless they really so generous.
Think Aug 08 mummies stands a better chance.
Lets just wait and see the package later this week.

Qing, lbt,
Thanks for the info on the latching difficulties when breasts are full.

Summert,
No la, I don't think I can afford to fully cover my mom's salary. I don't really know her salary also. Must discuss with my hb. Must get him to come out with some $$ since it's his kid also mah

Yah, I also don't wat my bb to be closer to anyone else except me (and maybe hb).

lbt,
If cannot drink water, then can drink what?

Summert
Which caterer do you use? Do they do lunch and dinner? I am looking for one.

Delphine
My gyane also asked me to go back for pap smear. Supposed to do it at one month, so mine is next week. But if still having staining, it can be postponed.

Wow 12 weeks to 16 weeks! When is it going to be effective? Anyhow, doesn't matter for me, since I'm a PR, only given 8 weeks. But it's good that child care leave is 6 days instead of 2 days. HOpe it will be effective this year.

Phyllis,
Thanks for the contact. Wah pain is it? my pain threshold is very low. wondering whether can tahan or not.

hi mommies, i hope we can enjoy the revised maternity package manz..if not, so lugi right? the additional 4th week ML will really help the working moms. ya, why no benefits for those with helpers..hehe..

youpi, i engaged neo garden for bb's full month. they have 15% discount for full mth package. u can visit their website for more info. http://www.neogarden.com.sg/promotions.cfm
my guests gave rave comments esp the chocolate eclairs which i didnt get to eat! ;p

youpi
my caterer is from neo garden, for my area they only do for dinner not lunch. u can chk out their website: http://www.neogarden.com.sg/menu_packetlunch.cfm

bbp
ok,my hb n me pay half each for mil allowance.

lbt
my masseue also says i must cut down on fluid. i also love plain water, can drink as much as one jug a day lor.. but for the sake of getting rid of our tummy, we must control.

re drinking water
thought we have to drink alot cos of bf? wah now i really feel very thirsty wor. but i also making the longan/red dates drink for myself occasionally so drinking that too.

and very hungry all the time also!!! but i guess that's a good sign, and it means that i'm doing it right? hehe

poppy now has good friend - pacifier! mummy's best friend :D and she's making the choop choop choop sound like maggie from the simpsons.

pap smear
i did mine liao. at 6 weeks. yuck. so uncomfortable. gynae said 'so, you feel like having sex already?'. alamak. but good also that he asked cos i didn't know how to ask him haha. he said can already but hubby and i both soooooooooo tired that we don't care! btw he gave me a contraceptive pill to take that is ok for BF

16 weeks ...
If I m really entitled and take it plus my leave plus public holiday, I think I will only be back office in 2009

Maybe my office will tell me might as well be SAHM.

I also use neo garden as caterer. My guest commented that the food is good.

My messy girl and my fussy boy
1649623.jpg

new baby incentives
according to the newspaper, wong kan sen is giving the press conference today, so maybe by tonight's news we'll have the details.

pacifier
i still can't get pomfret to take the pacifier leh. and pb, i listened to you and tried to hold it in her mouth (when not crying) but then she'd just start to cry if we don't let her push it out. i've tried pigeon and nuk pacifers already. sigh.

caterer
i also use neogarden as the full month caterer.
even my wedding also use them.
their food always get pretty nice feedbacks.
but hor, this time round, their vegetables are pretty salty.

summert
i order the full month cake tarts from melrose for my colleague. wonder if it is nice. i got them to deliver it there. so no idea nice or not.

water intake
huh... i have to drink plain water too.
and somemore, because heaty all the ulcer come out liao if also cannot drink water i will die.

pacifier
baby rachel also likes to suck her pacifier when she is about to sleep. and it is really our Best friend. she will also make sound when sucking it.
she will go " L L L L " so cute loh. i even video it down.
i am kinda crazy, i take video and photo of her everyday.

dun be sad and upset by the article in Today paper on "Come next year..."

I have emailed the paper and also the journalist and this is the reply from them:

"Hello,

"come next year" refers to the fact that the measures are expected to effect next year. DPM Wong will announce the full package and the details this week. I hope that clears it up?

Yanqin"

So cheer up wait for the details of the press conference by DPM Wong today.

re: water
actually i also thot must drink lots of water, milo etc if bf, even tmc nurse said take hot drinks before bf or pumping. but then again, where does our water go to?? our chubby face or elephant thighs or preggy lookalike tummy lor. actually from morng till now i tried to cut downon drinks even b4 pump to see if ms drop. but no leh still the same. but if hungry when pumping, my ms will drop. so instead of taking more fluid, probably eat a small bun or wat lor.

PB
me too me too! i go hungry all the time! b4 pump, after pump, and meals portion also double! i told myself cannot go on like this, cos when i weigh myself yest, i only shed 11kg, i'm still 8kg more than my pre-preg wt.

pacifier
this is indeed magical. at nite if my boy wakes up after 3hrs of sleep, i will put pacifier n he can continue sleeping for half an hr.

gals

i controlled my fluid intake today, after massage, Mona take my measurements and weight. And I indeed lost wt ! last Tue I was 60kg, now abt 58kg leh !!

though I feel thirsty, i take sips of water on and off.

PB, I also asked my massage lady, if no water how to have milk. But she says our body is make up of water. And indeed, today my milk output today is consistent leh. Let's see if this is true for the next few days.

bluey

ur gal is very pretty ! very lovely eyes.

eh now I think ur boy looks like ur hubby. ehehe

qing
melrose eggtarts is nice, i tried b4. so not to worry.

dustee
i've heard tt there's this "thumb" pacifier which is gd. not sure of the brand but if u say thumb the salesperson may know. maybe u want to try?

bluey
wah, 1 girl 1 boy, u have a "hao" liao. envious..

bluey,
I also envious. Your #1 girl and #2 boy is the perfect combi I wanted. But now, no chance liao.

Re water and MS,
but alot of pple told me must drink lotsa water cos milk is primarily water leh. And it does make sense what. Oh well...

ibt
thats great to know.
at least your massage lady is good. i didn't even lose weight.

summert
i also feel hungry after BF especially at night.
so i just have a small pack of biscuit before going back to sleep. but sinful ah.
and wow you shed 11 kg le. i only shed 9 kg.
i got another 9 kg to go to pre pregnant weight.
let's jia you together.
hopefully before i go back to work i can fit in those working clothes.
i think got another 3 weeks to go before ML ends.

good to know that the fruit tart (not egg tart ba) is nice.
i also want to try but hor, if just order back home to eat like a bit too much liao.
cant finish.

Thanks Phyllis.

Bluey, your girl is so pretty! lovely big eyes and her beautiful black hair. I'm sure your boy will grow up handsome too!!!

Somehow my bb sleeps better without aircon lei... she can sleep for a long time. in aircon room she'll be up every 1/2 hr. however during the day sometimes the weather very warm, she'll get heatrash. I'm already so glad her rashes and cradle cap were gone. I dun want her to get those again.

qing
ya, we must jiayou no matter wat. must bind tummy everyday then will reduce ler

ya, it's fruit tarts. too tired lar.. last nite only slept for few hrs then today whole day didnt nap at all.. now still gotto pump.. i think i cant even think straight now.. feel like sleeping when doing massage just now but didnt must talk talk...

summert
sometimes i will fall asleep while she massage. not very good. she tends to skip alot or just anyhow press press here and there.
so talking is really good.
you clever lehz

sonic
Tried that I normally keep bb upright lying on my chest for quite awhile cos scared she will merlion if put her down but only sometimes she will burp most times not. N since my #1 also dun burp much last time I jus leave it like that.
But sometimes jus sit her up or carry her only she will burp liao.....hahaha

pinkbunny
Wah ur bro really very young leh. I already tot my bro n my age diff(10yrs) is big liao urs is much bigger gap!!

SY
Agree with u. My #1 also sleep with us but suddenly he wanna sleep in bb cot. So we let him n now is still depending on his mood but I'm okie with it. Cos I feel once they bigger also cannot fit on our bed liao so can slowly talk them out of our beds.
Like now bb is so small can carry on 1 arm nia. Few mths time wanna carry also hard liao so I will jus cherish their small bb time now other things next time than think....hhaha

morning mummies.

Cedric hasnt latched for 24 hours liao. sob sob.

Oh dustee, jiayou and get sm rest while bb pomfret is sleeping...

re: sleeping in bed / cot
bb sleeps in cot, doesnt wanna sleep in our bed.... maybe the bb girls are more dey pau?

Bluey,
Think your gal looks like you leh, photocopy of mummy. Your boy looks contented in photo wat, why fussy leh?

Merlion
This morning, bb Cedric merlion abt 10ml out - for the first time. Luckily sm of u hv this experience, and shared on this forum, o/wise i kena kebot liao and rush to PD.

Water intake / retention
Tip fm CL - must sit down when drinking water or any other liquids, the theory is then the water will stop at the bladder, and not end up all over the place, causing water retention.
Works for me, Qing, u can try it out!

PB,
Like dordor, the age gap btwn me and the youngest is 10 yrs, i thot already got generation gap.... wah, you got generation gap w your bro or not??

batgirl,
yea! you guessed right! hi5!

cellow,
u mean ur bb has been doing this since he was born? Mine is every since born i try to latch him on twice a day cos lazy as when he is latching everytime got letdown he will choke and then refuse to latch end up i need to give him bottle with the ebm again

bbp,
mine is even worst...haha..even if i pump like 3 hrs ago then i go n latch him when kenna letdown he also choke....sometimes i wonder is it i pump until my breast spoil liowz...but i only pump 3-4x a day! *lol*
I wonder how to prevent letdown when latching bb on

bluey,
hehe...i also got put my ger and boy in this kind of pose
You got try letting ur ger carry her brother? I try before let her sit down and carry then she put her arms around didi...so cute and sweet

Qing,
Ya...whenever if my breast is like 6 hrs and above after pumping i wont latch bb on directly one...he sure cannot take it...cos the breast too full and then he very difficult to hold on to the nipple.

Re : PM Rally
I really do hope that they will backdate the additional 4 weeks of ML cos I feel so sad having to leave my boy to go back to work. And as my boy will be at infantcare and ger at childcare this 4 weeks will be great if they fall sick and I need to care for them at home *sigh*

Cellow, Celeste,
Don't give up latching. It will come eventually but must keep on trying. My colleague only had successful latching in the 2nd or 3rd month.. so jiayou!

Celeste,
Wah, sounds like you have lotsa milk! Good leh. But anyway, some people say to pump a bit first before latching to prevent the choking thingy.

bbp,
Ya lor...i keep telling myself dont give up latching. Even when sometimes if my boy can tahanz the letdown, he latch 10mins he fall asleep then no matter how i disturb him he refuse to wake up. So I just put him down and he will wake up screaming again in 30mins...headache *sigh*

Haha...now i giving my elder one my ebm most of the time also. I only store like 10 packs of around 150-200ml ebm in freezer. The rest everyday i give to both of my kids.

Yeah, i heard of the pumping some before latching before. Tried before liowz also...but not much use. My breast maybe spoilt liowz...ahaha...then can leak quite a few times a day one *lol*

summert
it took me some time b4 i can handle my mil. just learn to ignore her first n get hb on your side

dustee why du u wan your bb to take pacifier? isn't it bettter if bb dun wan? my #1 only got off the pacifier at 2 years +. he was biting them n spoiling them so fast.

Still trying to survive after the CL left (last sat). Luckily still got help from my mom to take care of my son at nite. Really tired. Next week my mom will back to msia..duno i can still survive or not. Very 'chun', after the Cl left, my ms drop drastically. Now only pump out 160ml per session (every 4-5 hrs). Damn pathetic. I guess my ms will continue to drop after next week since not enough rest and not drinking soup every meal..wat to do? Can just supplement with FM lol..

These few days really not enough rest. #2 cried at night will wake #1 up..and vice versa..I got to rush here and there..so tiring. By the time both of them sleep, i wanna rest..is the time for #2 feeding again..my god..!

Cellow
I emailed you the contacts already. Did you call any of them? Any help?

Summert

Celeste
My boy is also irked by my letdown. He will pull out and get milk all over his face. Then grab the boob again and suckle furiously, take too much milk again, and choke, pull out, and scream, looking at me with the "why can't you get it right you silly woman!" look, haha.

Re: hunger
I was always hungry with #1. Now with #2, I am suddenly not hungry at all. Dunno why. The CL keeps telling me about the other mummies she's worked for before, who eat six meals a day and who eat a lot. She keeps muttering about how I eat so little compared to them, how I don't even drink chicken essence, why I don't nap in the afternoon etc etc etc. Thank goodness this is the last week!

Re: water
I have to drink a lot of it 'cos I am heaty already. My lips are practically cracking.

Re: sleeping in cot/bed
Baby sleeps in bed with #1, hb, and me. The cot is 'bai sui' again. But I try to put him in there for naps during the day. Sometimes, he will sleep peacefully in it. But not now, he is in the sling.

Re: pacifier
I really don't like the idea of it but with #2, am so pek chek that I gave up and bought a set. Now I can't get him to take it. PB, I also tried what you said, to hold it in until he starts sucking, but cannot leh. He refuses and spits it out every time.

Selling My Breastfriend Pillow
Does anyone want one? I got it secondhand, the mummy used it for four months only, so it is in excellent condition. I used it twice, and realise that I am more comfortable balancing baby on my legs instead. Selling for $35. PM me if you want please. I can email pictures. It is blue with little pink fairies dancing around.

Xiaoyang
Re: "#2 cried at night will wake #1 up..and vice versa" - Sama sama! My two do the same thing the whole day so it is hard for #2 to take naps. He will nod off, then kor kor makes noise and tada! Eyes open again!

Last night they both disturbed each other and both ended up sleeping only at 8.45pm!

And my #1 still needs to hold my hand to sleep so I will be holding a breastfeeding #2 in one arm and giving my other one to #1. Cannot have more children already. Unless they want to hold on to my legs!