(2008/07) July 2008

i can fit into my old clothes liao!! this time round really fast and i din even go for massage. when i had #1 it took me 6 months before i can fit into the old clothes.

wai wai
thikn if it's on and off spotting it won't be menses. the discharge will be for longer period of time if u r bf.

qing
cannot even visit your family? that's a bit too much. i know some old folks say dun go out too late as it is 7th month. maybe u can go earlier then?

SDchick... thanks for the info!

SY... there was no unusual discharge in the past 2 weeks, then suddenly got spotting from sunday nite till now... thought bf can save $$ to buy pads :p envy u can fit into your old clothes, me need to buy new clothes sobz

bb addicted to bed
so bb pomfret wouldn't stop crying until i bring her to my bed and breastfeed her lying down. so last night i've tried, carrying her upright when she's crying (didn't stop) , give her pacifier (she wouldn't suck more than 2 or 3 mins on it) ....

nothing worked, till 6am (yes i was trying to comfort her for 6 hours) i finally just succumbed and took her to the bed anyway. sigh.

dustee
my baby also has this prob... she won't sleep on her own bed at nite. She only wants my bed or my mum's. i guess too comfortable le. Any idea how to make them go back to their bed??

MIL
i rem telling you guys how great my mil was, helped looked aft bb practically fr morning 8am to 10plus pm. well, i dont kn y i got this feelings theses few days, that she's like mother to the bb, making all decisions and disregarding mine! for instance this morn we need to bring bb for jab so i got few nice new pieces of clothes out to see which fits bb most. but she rejected all and chose the one she bought, saying easier to let bb wear button shirt than rompers or neck shirt. then i told her if bb dun wear now when then can he wear? she said bb can wear those at home, today see doc wear with button shirt easier. but when at the clinic, doc didnt even remove his shirt or anything!

ok next, doc said bb got oral thrust. when we reach home mil wanted to apply. i told her better to apply after feed so tt the gel can stay in his tongue longer (tts wat written on the box), but she simply ignore.

yest i deliberately adjust my pumping time and took shorter time to pump so tt i can feed bb. but when i came out, she's already feedg bb, an hr earlier. ok fine bb drinks. then evening time, i saw the time 3hrs up, bb needs to drink, tell her im going to warm ebm, she said nm let bb sleep longer. u see!

then i felt tt i m like a maid. she will just sit on that seat, rock n feed bb, change diaper then go back to the sofa to rock bb. leaving the bottles and soiled diaper untouch. i dun mind clearing the mess for my bb, but i dun like the idea tt she is assuming the role of takg care of bb directly (feedg) while i do the backend job. so i was so pissed i didnt do the washing but went to bed to rest instead. then only i heard her getting up n cleaning the stuff!
all these wouldnt have happen if i dun waste time pumping!

y cant i feed my own bb? y cant i decide for my bb?

everything she does is correct and everything i say is worthless. i think that is precisely wat she's thinking.

SY
Wah really envy you, can fit to old clothes so fast!!! I can fit (only the top) but no hope for the bottom hehe..

Waiwai,
You're welcome! Hope it'll improve soon.

dustee/Phyllis,
I had that prob before, now when I carry her, I carry using blanket/my clothes. When she fell asleep, say on the bed, I'll slowly carry her to my arm (with the blanket), wait for her to continue sleep, then move slowly to her crib. when you put her down, stay as close as your body.. meaning your body lowered down also as you put bb down to crib, then slowly go back up. Once she gives indication of restlessness, I immediately put the pacifier in and hold it in her mouth until she suck.

Basically I did a lot of trial and error to keep her sleeping at her bed. Some babies will be easier to do the transitions, some not so easy. Jiayou!

Summert,
Actually not only your MIL, even my mum love the button ones, it's easier for them to put on to bb. I do agree with them, but then since I already bought them, might as well put them on rite!

Next time you just have to be faster than her in handling the bb. just approach her nicely and tell her that you want to feed bb once in a while. Appreciate she's helping you so much but you'd like to be close to bb too. before telling her, you must "rub rub" your MIL first. Like ask her for advice, etc, then do it according to what she told you. It works for my MIL. I know sometimes we don't have the patience to do that to MIL, but you just have to see her character to be able to get her to agree with you.

for that i m going to re-adjust my pumping time until after i feed bb. anyway after this time i will not pump so often since working in oct. i must make her know that I AM THE MOTHER OF THE BABY, NOT HER!

Phyllis
i dont kn, but i can forsee that even if i approach her nicely, after that she will deliberately not care abt bb, even when i m pumping or wat. she's that kind. will see how later cos i will delay my pumping n says will pump after feedg bb.

summert... maybe can tell your MIL, "thanks mum, let me do it"... maybe she would feel good if u show her your appreciation... adjust your pumping time so u can handle bb 1st.. cheer up

summert

do u still latch your baby ? if u do, then dont pump and tell MIL u need to latch him?

ya I think u have to tell her nicely u want to feed and learn as well. Cannot everything rely on her.

SY

Envy !!!! u must be v slim now. I am starting my massage with Mona at 3+ later .. hope I can see results esp on my hips and thighs.

re:sleeping on bed

i think becos bb can smell mummy's odour so refuse to sleep on bed. Try to let bb sleep on their bed and mummy to move out of the room first. Maybe let the daddy put the bb to sleep. Hopefully it helps.

Remember to kick this habit asap else mummy and daddy will suffer. I've heard of kids co-sleeping with parents till teenage years !!!!

re:spotting

i do have spotting on Fri and Sat too... find it funny cos my lochia has stopped. And then on Sun till now, it's clear. Wonder what was that ??

delphine

heeh so happy Rianne looks like me, cos Rachel is a replica of daddy. Tot how come she dont have my genes ? ehehhe

SY
so envy that you can fit into your pre pregnant clothing. i can't even squeeze them in.

then hor even i say we go & come back early also cannot loh... haiz...

massage
mummies, what do your massage lady do?
mine beside the normal whole body massage. she will use a boiled stone then press on my tummy for about 100 times... super hot loh...
after massage she apply some stuff then binder my tummy.
i very discipline loh. i put the binder on for 6 hours then when remove i apply the sliming cream she give then put on my own binder for the rest of the night.
but the result not very good lehz. tummy still very visible.
a bit disheartening.

summert
i think you should tell her husband about it loh.
let him know that you are not comfortable with what ur mil is doing. i always do that. after all, it's my baby. if she wants to make the decision ask her go 'shen' one herself.

for me hor, most of what my mil do i also don like.
sometime she can finish cleaning the floor then come and carry baby. i really don like loh. even if she wash hand. as you clean the floor sure perspire a lot one loh. then she even got the cheek to say she won't carry baby unless she bath liao. really say one thing then do another. maybe i just feel that she is trying too hard to be my mother and this make me very annoyed with the things she do. she can never replace my mother loh.

ibt
sleeping on bed
Rachel sleeps with me everynight on the bed lehz.
then her daddy sleep on another mattress beside.
hubby refuse to buy a cot say our room got no space.

hi mummies, for those doing TBF, how much does your 1 month old consume on the average?

suddenly this week my little one is consuming 150ml per feed every 3 hours. i feel that im being milked dry! not sure how long i can keep this up..

delphine
what #2? you siao or what?!!!

eh so cute, denise look at jiejiet so admiringly. like 'when i grow up, i want to be just like my jie jie!'

re burping
sometimes i try all ways and she still doens't want to burp so after about 15-20 min if don't have then give up. sometimes really no burp one. but the other day she was crying and crying and my hubby tried to burp her and walau, it was so big... sounded like dinosaur! no wonder she was uncomfortable!

sonic
eh good idea to put a piece of mummy's clothing with baby for the bawu! i never thought of that! but her beansprout pillow, i slept with it before she was born so that it would have my smell :D

dustee
i know it sounds mean but sometimes have to 'force' pacificer into the mouth. CL used to do that to poppy sometimes. like she will try to spit out but we block the pacifier to that it will stay in her mouth and she bo bian have to suck. but it only works when she has started to suck and is using her tongue to push out, not when she's crying la. that only muffles the sound hehe.

sometimes when cry too much is because they are tired and want to sleep. you try to 'dak dak' and talk gently to her?

waiwai
how about you tell your MIL 'never mind it's ok, i do it la, you are also tired, you go and rest'? :D

big smile from poppy to all her little friends!
1647129.jpg

Re Massage lady
my massage lady will do the normal "oily" massage then wan me to put the binder on overnite! the next morning then remove. She say tummy will reduce by 1 inch everyday... my tummy really is reduced... esp for the 1st day..very obvious! Plus the cloth that she uses to bind me wif... gets more and more space to bind me up everyday. Although my tummy is not totally flattened (already was flabby b4 pregnancy) but it look flatter than pre-pregnancy stage. dunno can maintain or reduce more after a few more months.. haahahah..

Summert,
u gotta act act in front of ur MIL lor although u really dislike wat she does. Maybe she's trying to tell u that u r inexperienced. tell her that if u dun practice and bond wif baby now, when u go back to work then no chance. then act act say need her to teach or show u lah. thats wat i told my mum even though i know wat to do. hahaahah...

phyllis
no use of the stone?
just cloth binder?
i also use that and had my own binder on overnight too but no reduction lehz.

ways of carrying baby:
erm..dese few days moi bb seems onli like 2 be carried on the shoulder.. n like wat all of u mentioned..it is reali more tiring dis way.. haiz..but where got choice..since he cries at
all other positions??

CL:she has finalli left..n i hv juz tidied up de kitchen except 4 de fridge..everything seems in order nw n MIL is here 2 help n cook nice food 4 me.. hEe.. i m a happier mOther 4 nw..

BB: BB is at 4kg now.. up fr the 2.8kg a mth ago.. happi happi...

Burping Positions: I hv difficulty burping baby.. smtimes take 30mins still no burp... but if put on shoulder n burp, isn't it difficult 2 look at him???

rotating body mth: do u mean rotate the top part of de body like hw we do head rotation??

Qing,
nope, no stone. juz pure massage. then during massages, she'll keep burping, saying we trf alot of "wind" to her. then say we're suppose to burp and fart alot thru out the day to rid the winds. Anyway, she told me my uterus already back to normal on the 4th or 5th day.

summert
actually unfortunately, my mum also gets 'possessive' of the baby when she comes visit. until my husband complained about it, and i had to ask my own mum not to come too often. sigh. coz if she's here, then when baby cry, she will rush to carry the baby, etc etc, then my husband not happy liao. he also feel 'i'm the parent, i should make the decisions, and i should spend more time with my baby'. so yeah, maybe you need to tell your husband about your unhappiness. see if maybe he can talk to his mother easier? coz i also feel, if it's my mil that does that to me, i wouldn't know how to hint or manage her.

sdchick
okay i try to make my shirt very smelly like me today then keep for the baby to use..... hahaha *fingers crossed* hope i can persevere, else maybe really when she's a teenager, still on my bed...gua gua gua.

pb
oh poppy so happy! so envious, my emo pomfret still not using facial muscles to smile. -_-

phyllis
mine never burp. nor did she tell me about my uterus.
haiz. i think i got myself a lousy massage lady. then still spend so much. waste of money. feel like being cheated.
as she did not do much on my tummy maybe about 5 mins of massage only the rest is the stone. for tummy area

re mil
thanks mommies for the suggestions. i just told my hb a bit abt mil but not yet on her taking over mothership yet. cos there's sthg more pressing that i wanted to tell him n u guys.

guess wat, she finally complain this afternoon. last nite i washed my bag saw few pieces of bb clothes in the pail thot she wants to soak overnite cos she always does tt when stain with urine, so i din wash). then this afternoon she said unhappyly to me tt i shd wash bb clothes too. i said got machine no need hand wash wah. then she said the clothes will expand blah blah. i said my sis oso use machine. wah biang she raised her voice n said dun keep saying ur sis says ur sis says. u wan to use machine u try lor see if the collar will expand n be prepared to buy more. i ignore her n walked off!

then the episode comes. i sat in the living room cos lookg aft bb in sarong. she was still in the kitchen washg dun kn wat utensils, pots and bang bang bang all the way! even when she went to the living rm to open the window cos stopped raining, she opened loudly! (cos usually we will all do our stuff gently in case bb got a shock).

then at bb feedg time she DELIBERATLY sat on the sofa and WATCH ME FEED!! siao! she think i feel threaten meh? ya few weeks ago yes but not anymore now. i completely ignore her presence. luckily bb guai, finish the milk. i think she wants to see how i manage when bb struggle.

mommies i wrote in my earlier posts just now, my mil sure purposely dun care abt bb rite. indeed lor, after feed usu she will follow me to clean bb but jus now she simply sat there. better still for me! too bad i got massage later n hb dun really feed bb, so got to depend on mil.

so pissed u know, initially i still feel guitly tt she's so kind n helpful n thot she is so gd a mil. see, now she complaining indirectly tt she's doing all the work.

how i wish she will go back to msia. i will survive without her. anyway i sms hb n told him abt mil liao i said i dun mind taking no pay leave in oct then next year send bb to infant care when i resume work, seems like hb got no objection. but that is provided tt mil willing to leave!

PB
poppy is so cute !! she looks so cheeky in that pic !

summert

poor u ... think u really need to have a good talk with MIL or at least get your hubby to convey your message to her. I feel this period is critical for the mother and bb to develop the bond. Once we are back to work, we only spend a few hours with them.

Cheer up, i'm sure your hubby will support you.

summert,
after u have simmered down.....
a wise lady visitor told me tdy that pple must always come b4 things. (she was commenting in the context of my CL, who jst opened the door 2 her, din even offer a drink and ask her to sit. I was asleep in the room w bb) so in your case... hmmmz, u need to decide what is best for you, bb, HB and also MIL. jiayou okie, and rem HB is stuck in the middle.. u also dun want HB to fall out w his mum hor.

SDchick, star_xin, SY,
haha, I also join the can fit into tops but cannot fit into bottoms club.

Dustee,
Good luck for later tonight! let us know how the unwashed clothes work.... haha, bb pomfret will be all grown up and a teenager b4 u know it, so on the flip side, cherish this time of togetherness.

Latching update
Cedric latched at 530pm. And that makes me feel like an Olympic gold medal winner, want to do victory lap around the stadium - whoa ho, yes yes yes!

star_xin,
re: carrying on shoulder. actually i find carrying on shoulder less tiring, bb chin on my shoulder (yes it has to be that high and no, he wont fall off!), face turned sideways, elbow beneath his bum, and other hand to support his back.

Phyllis,
Hi-5!
my stomach also flattened a lot after 1st massage. but but but it seems i care more abt my tummy / waist girth than HB, he is quite blind to the changed shape. so sweet.

cellow
even your tummy got obvious change.
haiz. should have ask you all on the massage lady recommendation before i book her.

summert
i agree with ibt that you really have to talk to your mil.
afterall, she is there to help you.

shoulder carrying
baby loves to be carry this way
but hubby scared this scared that. say like that carry not secure. head no support. don allow me to carry her this way.

today went for my 3rd check up with gynae and was asked to do pap smear.. anyone doing that as well?? thought only after 6 mths then do?

SY,
envy leh, you can fit into your pre-preggy clothes liao.. me ar all the bottoms cannot be pulled up.. sad sad.

Pink bunny,
haha.. joking nia la. we are now like panda liao, still got time for bed activities meh.
Poppy looks so cheeky in that pic.

Cellow,
Congrats on successfully in latching bb Cedric.

lbt,
like me lor.. haha #1 still sleep with us(both me and hubby) and now #2 also dun like to sleep in cot. So bo pian, now hubby sleep on the floor and me with 2 gals.
Hope it would be better when my own house is here next year.

Star_xin,
That is a good weight liao, congrats that bb D is growing well.

Summert,
have a word with your hb 1st.. and see what is his opinion. Both you and your hb are the parent of your bb, you all have the rights to how to bring up your bb. talk nicely to your mil and tell her what you are planing to do.

4Ds,
Yes I've also done pap smear and not seeing gynae anymore until next year. He didn't check the uterus, just check the stitches. hmmmm

Cellow,
I know how it feels like to be able to latch. I also did it 2 days ago and bb latch for about 1 hr, although mostly comfort sucking. Yesterday and today tried again but no luck. She's crying like mad!!!!

Phyllis/Cellow
Wah seems like your massage lady is good! Can share the number? I haven't done massages before so would like to try. I delivered by c-section, now at 6th week, should be ok to massage rite? BTW during the massage, is it done in the bedroom on the bed or on a mattress on a floor? My apt is really small and have lots of things, don't think it can be done in on the bed.

lbt, Qing, delphine
thank you mommies. i wont talk to mil abt it but asked my hb to convey msg to mil.he said he told mil not to nag at me n that i will do the chores and talked abt the bb clothes issue. mil defensively said that she didnt scold or raise her voice. i believe she said a lot more just that hb doesnt want to strain our r/ship further.

yes i understand tt hb in difficult position, he said so just now too. but bo bian either happy mil or happy wife, he got to choose. so he said will see if coming sept holi mil needs to go back to msia then can take the opportunity to say we can manage on our own. sigh, still got a mth leh.

btw mommies, i m considered a very gentle n guai DIL liao cos i nvr talk back n i always take her suggestions.

Re massage
just had my session. aiyo masseue said mine like 7mths preg then in the midst of our conversation then realised tt i drink too much water! tts y water retention. so now got to cut down on water n milo liao, really dont want to be like this when go back to work.

Phyllis, sdchick
hmm, actually prior to massage, right after birth i already give out a lot of wind liao. n i heard they say burping theory not true leh.. hmm dont kn la as long as tummy gon can liao

re: allowance
mommies, did u give allowance to ur mil or mum for taking care of ur bb and/or doing housework? can share how much u give?

Summert,
My mum has been living and helping out taking care of my first girl, as well as the baby and cook for our family. I do not give her allowances, but I took care of her expenses, including traveling, IDD calls, as well as her personal shopping.

Hopefully everything will work out for you and your MIL. Maybe your MIL feels a little tired and not in a good mood today. Sometimes a little explaining and maybe an apology will do wonders . After all, she's helping you. Moreover, your hubby will appreciate it if you do that and next time if you have a complaint, your hb will help you.

SDchick
The massage lady details...
Aisha Ariffin - 96322795
Juz to let u know... she has some attitudes one lah.. u know lah, malay experienced aunties somemore popular... (Sorry if i offended any malays here) Her charges is $50per session if in woodlands area. $60 per session if outside.
She will provide a 12yard clothes to bind u up OVERNITE... which costs another $20 but u get to keep in the end. She will do the massage on the floor. but get a mat or bedsheet and a pillow. cos she uses oil, so the whole area will be super oily. And ur undies... Pls wear disposable or something u gonna throw cos the cloth will stain ur undies.
If u nvr do massage b4, it might be painful. My fren cannot tolerate her massage as its her 1st time. In the end, she cancelled the massage after the 2nd session. But i find it ok.

Anyway, my hubby also not very concern wif my figure too. I was like... when can i remove the flabs, etc... cos now i still need a bit of space for my denims to fit in.

<u>PM rally</u>
- ML increase from 12 weeks to 16 weeks!!
(Guess we, Jul 08 mummies no chance liao hor).
- Childcare leave from 2 days to 6 days per year.
- Unpaid infant care leave, 1 week per year up till child turns 2.
- bigger bb bonus for 1st time mum.

SD chick,
me too next appt will be next year liao.

Re: PM Rally

Do u think we get a chance to get a bigger BB bonus since we r 1st time mums? hehheee...

I'm gg to ask my boss for the extra 4 weeks...anyway, we can get it within the year. So no need to get the 4 weeks immediately mah.

phyllis, sdchick
thanks for your suggestions. i guess i am still not able to get over it so m not going to say/do anything as yet.

sdchick
i thot old pp likes to keep cash with them so prefer alllowance. ur mummy is good, fortunate for you.
for me our mil ask for allowance to look after her grandson n help with housework. so we gave her $300 mthly. wonder y she still complain when she's paid.

PM rally
haiya i think not applicable to july mommies n how come didnt give more paternity leave too??

re: PM rally
Delphine, thanks for the info!
I only have one thing to say - yay!!!! and yes Phyllis, will ask my boss for the extra 4 weeks too.... mayb take in Nov/Dec

SDchick,
Hi5! bb Cedric just latched successfully again, this is twice in a 24 hr period liao... hope your little one latches again soon. v shiok feeling.

PB,
Nice pix of poppy!
but who is the boy in the backgrd? random stranger who was caught in the photo??

youpi
I'm also terrible at burping cos my #1 n #2 both dun burp most of the time. N when I tried really tried making her burp always endup she will merlion instead. So if she dun burp after few mins I leave it already n jus keep her a bit more upright on me. Normally if she's lying down n needs a burp she'll make noise.

quite exciting, the new changes announced by the prime minister.

but don't think we qualify for the new 4 month maternity though (think we *just* missed it)

quite tempted to retract my resignation and get pregnant with second bb now!!! haha.

re PM rally
hopefully they will back date the effective date of the new changes lor.. an extra of 4 weeks ML means a lot for us..

dustee, #2 one? jiayou.. hehe

youpi, dor dor,

try carrying baby upright, still stay there abd your baby will burp even you don't rub your baby's back... that works for me.

but remember to put a cloth nappy or something on your shoulder first to catch the spit out..

wow mummies
this morning wake up, hubby had CNA on and first thing i see is PM rally speech. walau eh!!

phyllis
really? the extra 4 weeks, we can get it within the year? *lao nua*

delphine
if got time for any bed activities, hubby and i both choose to sleep haha.

cellow
it's my kid bro in the background la!

dustee
#2? haha go for it!

sonic
yeah man hope they will backdate. but think unlikely??

dustee
wow sure or not..#2 now??

dor dor
i also quite lousy at burping. but #2 really got a lot of wind so no choice got to spend more time burping. unless when i put her down she dun struggle, then i wo't burp her and let her sleep

delphine
i doing my pap smear only in oct

yeah i surprise i can fit into my clothes faster. last time really took much longer...

qing
my bb also likes to be carried upright. in fact sometimes i use only one hand to carry her and her head wil rest on me. just got ot make sure she dun usddenly jerk backwards

summert
seems like u have mil problems! hang in there. just ignore her. i also learn to ignore my mil over time whenever she complains abt me or keeps nagging. our hb will know who to listen to. perharps i m also more straightforward towards my mil so she dun really dare to nag too much now. she knowsi won't listen. sometimes when she tries to make me do things her way, i will tel her kids now and kids last time are different (hinting to her that her way is outdated). 2 weeks ago she nag at me to use sarong and pacifier but i refused and told her i will not and dun mind having a harder time.

as long as your hb dun completely side with mil i think that's most impt.

re sleeping on bed
actually not to worry too much abt this. for my #1, he used to sleep on our bed instead of his own mattress. then suddenly one day, he decided that he only wants to sleep on his mattress and he climbed back down ot sleep. only nowadays becos of 32 he climbs back up to my bed once in a while. but my boy dun have problem sleeping anyway.

i think it's only cos the bb are so small now that it seems hard to train them to sleep on their own bed. but as long as they sleep now, i wd be happy!

delphine... i've done pap smear at 5th week after delivery. my next gynae checkup is next year

summert... we paid MIL $1k++ for my confinment, that excludes $ for food and tonics. then will be paying her $700 for babysitting when i back to work. on top of that got give pocket money too. so good, u only pay $300