(2008/07) July 2008

RHS, Summert
Me too! Me too! I also sleep an average of 2-4 hours (broken into bits and pieces) per night. As long as I hit the three-four hour mark, I am okay. Less than that, and I will be cranky during the day 'cos I can't rest as I also have to keep #1 company and entertain him, and he does not nap anymore!

Lbt
Your Rianne is a very good sleeper!

Phyllis
2-7.30am!!!

PB
Robinsons? Got this from another forum: There is a shop in Holland Village that has UK sizes 14 to 26. It is on the second floor 02-27 in the main building. their name is Double Spring.

Things are definitely getting better, now that #1 and hb are both fully recovered. Thanks for the info on the jabs. I actually went to dig out #1's health book to check as well. Got confused 'cos the PD told us to go in at one month, and I don't recall #1 taking his so early. I think the one month jab is for the second Hep B dose.

My CL leaves next Sunday and I think things will get better then. It sounds strange to say that, I know, but having her in the house has been more tiring than helpful. My #1 loathes her, and refuses to let her sit on certain chairs, or stand in certain areas, or carry the baby! He'll say that she's not carrying the baby properly! She is also not allowed to look at him, or touch any of his toys or books. I want to laugh, but try not to in front of her ;P

summert,

Me too. I didn't do anything. So far I've tried both EBM and FM, and they both work to a certain extent. The only thing I didn't try is latching on, cos I feel my bb doesn't drink much when direct latching.

I kinda felt the same way last time. But worse, I felt that my MIL was taking over my bb. We didn't have to do housework and cook meals cos we have a maid. But as for feeding and all, it's like I became the person to warm up the EBM, and she's the one feeding. I didn't feel guilty, I felt unhappy, but hb thought I was over-reacting. I didn't say much cos she was going overseas soon so I figured I would have my bb all to myself.

But now... she may be coming back

thanks bbp, youpi and labbit

labbit
ya lor. sometiems i feel aiyah want to shower first or not before latching on. wait smelly smelly she don't want me. but they just want our smell la. smelly or not

summer
just take this time to rest now!!!!! that's your job now! rest while you can. why not latch baby on? then got mother-baby time
very nice one

sometimes poppy sleep from 7, 8 or 9pm until 2 or 3am! then i ask hubby 'eh you woke up to feed her ah?'. sometimes she play all day until tired la. some days she don't really sleep much in the day.

SY
8 packs is really alot.
i though mine is but can't fight with you. she finish 3 packs of 52 pieces pack mamy poko. lucky, those were leftover from a neighbour whom give birth one month before.
now, since we start buying pampers, i tell her. must save ar. cannot always poopoo and change then change liao poo immediately ar.

RHS
don worry so much.
i agree with bbp, they might just get lucky while carrying her.
sometimes it happen to me too.

sarong
my baby has been sleeping in the sarong more often now that she turn one month. but only in the afternoon. she is so afraid of heat. now, her whole face got rashes (pimple like all over) even her scalp also got. see liao heart ache ar. then also don know what to do except to on the air con earlier to cool her down.

bra extender
me using as pregnancy + breastfeeding give me free upsize! got nursing bra from prefect mum @suntec, they give some free extender. also can get from metro bra department

summert... during confinement i also did full time "night shift" so take a nap in afternoon, some more i would wake up from my nap if bb needs to makan. my MIL also took nap in afternoon, night time she woke up when bb cried for mlik and then woke me up to feed bb, then she went back to sleep. guess what, she went to tell FIL and grandma-IL that she took care of bb more than i did!! so pissed!!!
but i know i did my job!!! at least your MIL insist u shd rest, so nice of her, how i wish my MIL is so nice as yours. believe in yourself that u have done your part as a good mummy... mummy must rest well so can give more milk!!!

RHS... cheer up... this happens to me sometimes too.. they are just "heng heng"

Qing

oh so early ... so Rachel slept better in sarong ?

youpi

i do hope Rianne continues like that. I rem my Rachel was adjusting her sleeping schedule like Rianne, and shortly after, she slept thru the nite ! But Rianne seems to be faster on track. I do hope that she sleeps thru soon !!

argggggghhhhhhh nursing a sore throat and runny nose today !

pinkbunny,
how much is the ice pack at ikea? it is reusable? i am contemplating to get safe-to-go cooler bag (for 4 bottles) at taka baby fair. i think its about $36. the ice pack is $4 each and i think its reusable.

night feeds:-
according to my CL, my baby wakes up almost every hourly for milk but he drinks only 20-30ml then falls asleep then cries the next hr again. my gfs told me to 'bao zhong' when my CL goes off next fri..

any mommies have done rebonding or going to do rebonding when u are breastfeeding? i really need to do something to my unruly hair. lol

I have the following for sale, got it from the overseas spree.

1640710.jpg

5-Pack Lightweight Baby Bodysuits (Brand New)
Size: 9 - 12 months, Color: Blue
Letting go at $15. Thanks!

PB
tried latching in week 1 but got backache so bottle feedg better for my back. hmm yes lookg back i also fondly remember those time when bb suckle breathlessly. now comtemplating whether to latch on at nite n EBM during daytime.

Does any bb ever struggle when latch on?

taka bb fair
ends on 24 aug is it?

Pinkbunny, re clean mouth.
yes, dip the cloth in boiled warm water then clean the gum n tongue. usually bb will do the "throw out" action when clean the tongue so start by cleaning the tip of the tongue 1st then slowly move inwards. That's wat the PD taught us.
Yeah!2day my bb gal's eczema seems slightly better *phew* hope it continues.

missyz

u can get ice pack from daiso at $2 only. cheap n good !!

i used to own a fridge-to-go but it somehow doesnt work so well after a few mths. i bgt another cooling bag which is also avail in kiddy palace. it is much smaller n lighter than fridge to go. cost abt $27 n comes with an ice pack.

ibt
initially i don like the idea of sarong at such young age.
but then hor, i try to convince myself. as mil has been taking care of baby for so many years le. also put in sarong so early. all also no problems so should be ok one la. so long don rock her too vigorous can le.

summert, my boy refuses to latch on now too. haiz..he gets pek chek easily..maybe used to bottle teats already.

labbit, thanks. is the brand safe to go? i saw it at taka bb fair. the cooler bag for 6 bottles cost abt $36 come with one ice pack. is the ice pack at daiso reusable? can get at IMM Jurong East coz nearer to my home?

today i have to succumb to pacifier to stop bb from crying.

missysz
whenever i bottle feed it is always someone feeding her. i will never be near her.
so just she won't get confused.
now, sometime bottle feed or direct latch also got no problem

about sarong hor...

me and 2 two sisters were put into sarong very early and all three of us got spine problems. crooked spines. i am not sure if sarong is the main culprit but still i am a bit scared and don't think I will put my bbs into sarongs.

RHS
Think of it another way. Maybe bb can smell u so once U carry he wants to be latched on cos he knows its u ma. Ur mil n hubby carry they no BM smell so he no reaction.

Youpi
Ur son so cute like supervisor......hahaha

Dear all, I am new to this thread, but have been reading it since few months ago. My baby just turn 1mth this week. Been under a bit of stress lately as baby eat almost every hourly, sometimes less than that and my mom said she think I OVER FEED him cos his poo poo is smelly compare to other baby. according to her, should be baby did not digest well. But I THOUGHT baby should latch on when they cry for food right? And he has very bad rashes all over the face, neck & head. Don't know what should I apply to make him feel better. I feel like a lousy mom whenever he sound sleep, then half way suddenly scream, day or night is the same. I don;t know what happen. He is not hungry, diapers not soil. feel so helpless like cannot do anything.

bbp,
we stuff the pacifier into his mouth when he cries within the 1/2 hr after being fed 100ml. then carry him, sing and bluff him for another 1/2 hr or more till the next feed lor. very tiring but better then feed liao he merlion. abt the night feeding, think you're right!

your mil "took over" your bb? twice when my mil did that and feed my bb during the 1st week, i told hb that i feel that his mum is trying to become the bb's mother instead of grandmother. machiam like trying to make up for her lost opportunity to care for her son when he was a bb. he told his mum i'm very possessive and not happy that she "mother" my child. now she doesn't do that when i'm around. but when i'm in sleeping or pumping in my room, that's another story liao.

i let cl feed bb. if she's bz i'll feed. i won't let mil feed when i'm around. not even when he's crying. i prefer her to carry bb when he's full and settled. and i made it clear to cl of my preference. i think it's perfectly alright for us to feel protective and possessive over our own child. afterall, we did carry them in our tummy for 9 months! explain this to your hb. let him inform his mum.

bonnygal,
you're not a lousy mum! i'm 1st time mum too and dunno alot of things. but learnt alot in this forum. cheer up ok.. your bb will recover soon before you know it

Re: Driving
SY, bluey, you're brave! i started driving 1 month after my op to remove fibroids. within 2 weeks, i started to bleed non stop half way thru "Troy". was hospitalised for another few days. that's why this time round, think i'll rest another week or 2. but very very tempted to drive out. dunno can tahan how long

do1nk,
what a handsome boy you have there!

PB,
you can try Tanglin Shopping Mall. seems like the shops there cater to the expats community hence the clothes there all seem quite "big"

happymommy
Maybe U wanna bring ur bb to see a pd for his bad rash??
Then shun bian ask ur concerns lor. Better if ur mum around then ur pd can explain to her also so she cannot say anything ma....hehe

Wah so many posts!!!

Summert,
My daughter possets a lot, so I change diaper before her feed. I don't want to toss her around and make her posset the milk.

lbt, bbp,
My daughter too has cradle cap, and the head is covered with yellow crust, the ear, eyebrows and also below the nose. The cradle cap on the head is sticky. I've tried using baby oil, leave it for 10 minutes and then brushing the crust off. It helps a little. I used mustella's cradle cap cream, but not really working. in the end, I used baking soda, mix 3 teaspoon with 3 teaspoon of water and pour it over the head, massage for around 5-10 minutes, rinse with water. Within 3 days it's gone. I'm so happy!!!

Steph,
I'm using avent teat also, the flow is pretty fast. double check whether the bottle cap is turn too tightly or not, if too tight, the milk flow is slow. if you need to make it larger, maybe you want to buy teat hole enlarger, can be bought in baby store like kiddy palace, i've seen farlin as well as chicco brand, but should not use scissors to make it bigger (in my opinion - as the fast flow can choke your bb).

I'm also driving, starting at week 2, everyday to send and pick up my elder daughter to and from school.

do1nk
my wrist especially the left one is also very painful from holding bb. My bb also refuses to latch and will cry endlessly when I try to do so. Therefore, I feed her both FM and BM via bottle.

lbt,
my bb wears size S diapers already (she's 40 days old today) since I bought a lot of size S before, It's still a little big for her, but it's ok.

re: tongue cleaning
I asked PD before and he said no need to clean. but sometimes it's so thick, so I just clean using a gauze dipped in water. 2 weeks ago I used NUK oral wipes, she seems to like it. maybe it has taste? Lol. I only clean if it's looks a lot.

PB,
plus sized clothing: mark and spencer, dorothy perkins. OG got a lot too.

Sarong
I don't like to put her on sarong also, I also believe it's not good for the spine. Moreover those with electronic rocker, not good because you'll be rocking bb's brain.

happy mommy08,
Just leave the rashes, but clean it with water very often and air dry. My bb got bad rashes too plus cradle cap, so I cleanse her face often with water and put bb in aircon room. It clear up better. Now the rashes almost gone liao.

Dor dor,
That is what I think also, next week I am bringing my baby for 6in1 jab will ask my mom to go along w me. One week ago I already want to bring bb to PD but because during confinement me n bb had went out so many times. Catch a chill and milk duct blocked badly, went to see doctor but fever cannot bring down for a week, somemore high fever, doctor said if have infection need to go for operation. Then go to see chinese doctor, only one time all my blocked milk duct were cleared! So almost every week once or twice me n baby r outside.

Some of u r so lucky, have MIL to help. My hubby side no one helping, both parents not around. Don;t know if I can handle after I shift back to my own house as I will be alone at home.

Anyone of u experience pain inside the breast after latch on? Only one part not the whole breast.

lbt,
I sent you an email on the collection of the sling.

Went to the baby fair @ taka today.
Brought M pigeon teats for my boy as he always give me that frustrated look when he sucks the S teats.

Cradle cap,
I use CB cream, quite fast ... most of it gone.

SDchick
thanks. so if ur bb poo after feed must change again..

happymommy
though my mil is v nice n helps alot, i still prefer staying on my own n looking after bb in my own way, without restriction. i m sure u will know ur bb better n faster cos it's 24/7 with ur bb. so take it positively. jiayou!

latch
How long did ur bb latch on for each side? and if i only pump 40ml for each breast every session, does that mean that bb could only suckle 40ml or lesser? so if bb suckle only one side then will get hungry easily rite? btw, bb at 6 weeks.

taka fair
any nursing pillow on sale?

bottles
wats the difference between avent n pigeon bottle?

carry bb
wat do u do when bb still struggle n cry after u carry him n pat his buttocks?

missy
not sure leh. bought some time ago liao, earlier this year. sorry! but yes reusable kind. just keep freezing and re freezing cos the liquid is inside kind. me, i did rebonding. i asked if it was ok and the hairdresser said yes cos the chemicals do not go into blood stream. fair enough.

summer and missy
poppy also struggle initially when i tried to breastfeed her. very pekchek for the both of us. we only got a hang of things in week 3. maybe you can get a breastfriend pillow cos it helps. or use pillows to support. bring baby to breast, not breast to baby. when you get a hang of it, it's very comfy. can just sit there and watch tv while baby suckles
don't give up!!!

bonnygal
yup that's what i've been doing (re cleaning mouth). she doesn't like it hehe

happy mommy
welcome and sayang. according to my PD, if you overfeed, baby will throw up on his own. it won't go all the way through the whole process of coming out as poo one. poo is supposed to be smelly la! don't feel lousy. sometimes baby may be hot or cold or just want to be held, or sometimes he's tired but can't sleep so also frustraed

steph and SDchick
thanks i'll go check out tanglin mall

sleeping bags
mummies, know of any brands that sell babies sleeping bags? those kind they wear to sleep in aircon room? poppy has one but she already cannot fit the 0-6 months one. her legs long la! hehe. so now i'm letting her wear the 6-9 months one. want to get one more.

taka baby fair
know if they got prams?

updates
today went to see gynae and stiches all disappeared liao! yay! and he also gave green light for bedroom activities liao!

PB
i havent BF bb for a mth liao dont know if bb will reject...

sleeping bags
is it those swaddler? but if wear that at nite then wont it be troublesome to change diaper cos must take out the whole piece?

bb wayang
any of u experience this? my bb will sway both his hands n rub his face almost every 10mins when his hands r not wrap. worst at nite cos he'll be so distracted with the rubbing that it wakes him up at times. so in the end i got to use the cloth nappy to swaddle his hands inside which he will struggle at times.

Gals, thanks for the consolation! I keep wondering what is it that I do wrong until he doesn't want to stop crying. Haiz ... motherhood is really not easy.

summert,
My mom also do most of the housework and cooking and that makes me feel guilty as well coz I do almost nothing besides feeding bb. Now if she's holding Jamie (usualy after I cannot calm him down) I try to do the dishes or vacuum the house, at least do something useful.

Re: Bra extender
Me also use it during pregnancy as my bustline increased but cup size didn't change much. Very useful!

Re: struggle while latching
Jamie does that most of the time. Hungry yet his hands are pushing my chest. If he's really hungry, his head will bob everywhere looking for the nipple.

Dor dor,
I also think bb can smell milk coz when I carry him, he often starts rooting and sucks my arms, etc. But he also does this to my mom sometimes leh.

Happymommy,
Welcome! Perhaps your bb is having growth spurth and that's why he wants to feed very often. Mine too sometimes.

summert,
Usually I let Jamie suckle around 20 mins on each side coz he's a lazy sucker most of the time. If bb is sucking actively, can empty breast in about 10 - 15 mins. Bb removes milk more efficiently than sucking so if you pump 40ml, bb can actually drink more than that.

summert,
my bb seldom poo after feed nowadays. She pooed everytime she fed when she was 1-2 weeks. Therefore, I change before. But if she poos, no choice have to change lor.

Sometimes bb will struggle, esp when my bb is tired and wants to sleep. normally to stop her from crying I put her on my shoulder. then back to arms and quickly put the pacifier before she cries again.

My bb also rubs her face, but only when she's awake or half awake. once she sleeps, she will not rub anymore. But she doesn't like to be swaddled, so I didn't.

If I'm not mistaken I also saw some nursing pillows at Taka fair.

Avent and pigeon are different brands, all avent bottles are wide neck, and can only use avent brand teats. But it's quite versatile, as you can use the bottle for different functions, just change the top cap. For pigeon, it has both wide neck as well as normal sized neck. you can use most brands' teats on pigeon bottles.

PB,
Taka fair - of coz got prams! Nice nice ones.

I bought my bb sleeping bags at mothercare. they're really pretty and quite long! I bought 2, but now my bb seldom wears cuz she feels too hot, although I bought 0.5 tog.

RHS
thanks for the info.
ur mum is so good, does she take any nap in btn?
so u continue feedg bb even when he struggles while latching?

so i guess bb rubbing face is common. wonder why they like to do it..

ok i'm going to taka this sunday guess will be v crowded.

Summert,

How i envy u re: ur MIL. I'm still staying wif my mum even after my confinement now and guess wat? My MIL only comes 2x to visit! but anyway, i can't stand the way she handle my baby so it's kinda good not to see her. (So bad!) But anyway, staying wif my mum also is me handling everything of baby. I literally gotta do everything also...only when my mum comes back from work then she'll help me when the baby cries.

gosh, motherhood is. so. emotionally. draining.

Unsolicited advice
Ystday Cedric went for his BCG jab (only jabbed him now - our choice) at PD, then of cz yell and yell after that. Went to PD's nursing room and 2 other newborns were there contentedly sucking. Tried to latch Cedric again, he keeps trying then let go then cry (repeat for 20mins)... his tongue still at top of his mouth - haiz. Then hor, one of the other mummies told me 'eh, mayb he got wind, shd burp him 1st'. I told her v calmly that his tongue is in wrong position.. am amazed that so calm, bcz i feel like volcano inside and this poor lady was gonna get it if she dared make a 2nd comment. Luckily for me and her, she shut up after that.

More tears fm bb and mummy this morning, as we both try and try again to latch. In the end, HB syringe fed him.

Tired. And very Pek Chek.

Summert,
Your MIL is the toppest! cherish her and yes, rest while you can.

SDchick,
Eh, you bought 0.5 bb sleeping bags?? o_O

RHS,
It is not you, sometimes other pple just heng heng carry and bb Jamie may stop crying.

Youpi,
your #1 very funny, he doesnt like the CL?

Happymummy,
welcome! good that u din let the clogged milk duct go on for too long.

Massage
Hey my massage lady also clears my blocked milk ducts, wow she good man, go over my breasts very thoroughly. Before mummyhood, would be a strange idea 2 let a stranger touch my breasts, but now, got over it ever since the hosp LC poked me and made me yelp!

RHS/Summert:
dere r times tat when BB is crying.. n i coax him but he doesn't stop n he immediateli stopped when CL carries.. den i feel unhappy oso.. but then.. tink again.. i m sure there r times when bb actuali stop crying when u carry too.. so dun be 2 affected by it.. be proud of the times u made him smile when no one else does..

Latching on:
haiz..no more opportunities 4 me le.. tink bb rejects moi nipple le..dere r times when he is searching 4 moi nnp so i gave it 2 him..but he suckles.. den it starts leaking n he throws it out n cry n cry...so i end up w expressing all de time.. missed de closeness tat i used 2 share w him..

arms-swinging baby:
wonder if ani1 else has dis prob..moi bb tends 2 swing his arms in de arm in his sleep.. den scares himself up n starts crying non-stop..CL says maybe smthing or sm1 scare him in his sleep b4.. tat's y... we tried wrapping him but he will pull his arms out wifout fail.. nw i try letting him sleep on his tummi.. but dare nt do it when i m sleeping.. cos no 1 2 watch n ensure he does nt suffocate mah..

phyllis, cellow
cos my mil did so much i feel even more guilty. take nap also guilty. hmm, but i m still sceptical that one day she may just tell me that i should help with this and that. so i cannot be complacent now, thats y m trying to see any bits n pieces of work that i can do.

cellow
dont be too upset of ur bb not willing to latch. as long as he drinks from other sources, it is v good. at least he is drinking and not starving. there

star
thanks hopefully i can spend more time with bb after i stop pumping next mth.

latching
dont be sad, i m sure we have more opportunities getting close with our bb along the way. there will be different phases of fond memories along the way.

arm swinging
hi5! my bb same as urs! swing n swing then scared by it n cry in the middle of the nite. my CL taught us a technique to wrap which my bb cant pull out his arms no matter how hard he exert. that is, with the cloth nappy, fold a triangular shape on top of the nappy. then place bb on top such tt the top of the nappy is at his armpit level. then put his left arm down, wrap across to the right (hold tightly), put his right arm down and wrap nappy to the left. the extra cloth on the left tuck it in under his body.and bingo! at least i think my bb sleeps better (though with a bit of struggle at times). maybe u want to try.

sleeping on tummy
does it helps bb to sleep better? will bb struggle? but also no way for his to struggle right? will it cause bb to posset?

bluey

i did not rcv any email frm you. can send again ?

hey gals, cheer up ! and time to update us of your baby photos !!

here's Rianne this morning after bath:
1642494.jpg

summert,
Yes, my mom takes nap each day. But if Jamie cries very loudly she usually wakes up to check what's going on.

Even when Jamie is struggling, I will continue to latch him. Sometimes hubby helps by holding his hand while I tuck the other hand in my armpit. Lately he has the habit of biting and shaking his head with my nipple still in his mouth *ouch* Ppl say that's because the milk flow is not what he likes (too fast or too slow), or he could be gassy. My poor nipples are very sore now ...

cellow,
Not defending the other mommy but bb may repeatedly latch n let go if he's gassy so perhaps she just wanted to help. Pls dun be disheartened .. keep trying, okie?

star_xin,
I think your bb may release your nnp coz the flow is too fast for him? You said that they leaked. Maybe this link can help? http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/baby/fussy-while-nursing.html#forceful

Re: arm-swinging baby
Bb tends to do that when they are startled, e.g. by noise, etc. That's normal coz their nervous system is not very mature yet. He doesn't like to be swaddled either so if I'm watching Jamie sleeps, I'll hold his hand and leg so he won't wake up when he throws his arms/legs. Side lying also helps to reduce jerky movement but agree that we must be careful so he won't suffocate.

lbt
so cute n chubby!!! see the cheeks and arms. envious leh, how many weeks liao? aiyo mine so skinny.

i will try to take his pic tmr after bathe cos he's always in sarong.

re:latching

if bb tends to pull ur nnp with nnp in his mouth, means the milk is not enough and they are trying to get more milk from the breasts.

My rianne will always release her mouth once I have letdown cos it's too fast for her and she knows she'll choke. Then she will open her mouth again and cont to latch.

re:swaddling

the nurse at MT A told me to stop swaddle Rianne once she struggles to get out of it.

here's Rianne making a funny face:
1642514.jpg

rhs
maybe shd try bottle on ur bb? haiii anyway bb struggles even when bottle feed.. mine last nite like that lor, woke up at 5.15am n make noise, cry, struggle. simply refuse to drink. if only they can tell us why..

summert

most of the time, burping does relieve the bb. Rianne is like that. if she is awake, usually after a burp she goes back to sleep like nothing has happened.

lbt
oh is it, i always thought that only burp after feed. ok, thanks, wil try when it happens again. my bb only 1 week younger.. haiiii

summert

dont fret. every bb develops differently. My #1 was also very petite when she was a baby and always in the lower percentile. She is on par with the rest when she starts on solids food. cheer up !

summert

i pump for abt 15-20mins. Ya pump until last drop so that the body knows to produce this much of milk and ensure breast is empty.