(2008/07) July 2008

Summert,
no problem... i think every 1st time mum all got the same problem.

Btw, i heard that there's a baby fair in Taka now is it? when is it ending?

Hi July Mummies,

Congratulations to successfully delivering your bundle of joy

I am from the Support Thread for Miscarriages and I'm hoping to compile a list of Successful Deliveries after Prior Miscarriages. If there's any mummy here who went through that, PLEASE help to motivate all of us by adding on the this list at the thread address below:
Nick - # of M/C - Month of Last M/C – # of Cycles (Pregnant Again) – Month of Delivery

Thanks a lot

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/22127.html?1218605645

summert

cheer up.

do u have a baby sling ? if have, try to sling your bb and do whatever u need to do (except shitting

actually my mum also ask if want to put Rianne to sleep on sarong cos bb can sleep better in it.

I am ok but I find it too early now. My Rachel slept in sarong only when she was 4-5 mths old. SO now rianne still sleeping on her cot.

Is ur bb too hot ? I put rianne to sleep on my bed sometimes cos she may not get the wind if she is in her playpen.

Does bb has wind ? try apply a bit of ru yi oil after bath.

summert
the massage lady is malay.
this is my first massage ever in my life so don know good or not. but hor, after the massage my calf and shoulder pain loh.
i think the pressure is too hard for me. and today only day 3 of massage. 3 more to go.
massge should be very enjoyable and relax but i seriously don't like it.

breastmilk
finally, my breast is producing 100ml of milk.
while doing massage, mil bottle-feed her and she finish all 100ml.
now, she refused to sleep.

lbt
thank you..
yes i have a bb sling, but wont bb feel hot? will discuss with my hb and see how. thanks for giving me this alternative.
not sure if bb wants the sling cos he is now so pampered wants to be rocked. n most of the time we got to rock him continuously for hrs till the next feed. i

we do apply ru yi oil after every bath. but i think i may kn y bb refused to drink milk just now, maybe he's not hungry and not bcos he feels hot since i fed him in my aircon rm.

as for sarung, is ur Rachel still sleeping on sarung now? if no, then how did u help her to kick off the habit? how many mths is she now?

Qing
i think ur massage lady exert too much pressure. maybe can tell her ur pain?

anyone else has any massage lady to recommend, esp for c-section mommies?

summer

some of the sling comes with satin material, i guess it shld be quite cooling then.

why does ur bb need to be rock continuously ?

my Rachel is 2 yrs old. She sleeps in the sarong in the day and on bed at nite. She is not addicted to sarong, she can still sleep when she is outside or at my MIL place.

Sometimes she even reject sarong but we feel it is easier to make her sleep and she can sleep longer in it.

Just rem dont rock the bb into deep sleep. Stop rocking and let bb go into deep sleep on their own.

I am starting my massage next week. I just got the green light from my gynae yest and he confirmed that my wound has healed.

My massage lady is call Mona. I used her during my 1st confinement too. But she is very popular so you have to call early to book her. Her hp is 90260085.

6-in-1 jab
my bb's PD charge $440 for 3 doses and consultation

summert... cheer up
at least got MIL helping u...i'm alone with bb during weekday day time, i cook n swallow lunch while carrying bb in one arm, go toilet also need to be fast. hang on there

wai wai

i was like u when I had #1 too. Then i go down to my mother's place everyday and come home at nite.

Why dun you go to ur mum or MIL hse then ?

massage after 1 month still have use or not?

I wanna massage but tot now already can go out, why not go outside and massage.

I am also looking for additional sling as backup.
Looking for the Sateen or silk material. Any1 here wanna let go cheap, tell me, hor.

we talked about baby drinking habits, anyone notice your baby poo-ing trend ? 1st week my baby was pooing as and when she wants.. but for past 3-4 days, she will only poo once a day in the late evening and the poo is really ALOT. can overflow out of the diaper type. really damn scary !! I checked with my PD today and he said nothing to worry it's ok. anyone experiencing the same thing ?

bluey

got massage better than none. but if u started on the 2nd week, it shld more effective.

eh I have the sateen sling, beige color one from MIM. U want ? I used it a few times only.

maybe we take this offline, u can PM me.

catherine

our bb will poo lesser as they are older now. my Rianne poo abt 2-3 times a day and she also do a massive poo once a day.

lbt
my bb sleeps in sarung during daytime too. when we put our bb in sarung, he will make noise if we stop rocking or even change hand to rock. he's never in deep sleep in the sarung. the most is half an hr where he sleeps in sarung without our rocking and without making noise. so my hb resort to buying electric sarung just now. at least with that we can do our own stuff.

so far we've not brought our boy out so not sure if he can sleep well without sarung. pray hard..

thks for the contact, will call her. but just to chk, im already in my 5th week le, still effective? and as wat bluey said since now we can go out, is outside cheaper?

bluey
u mean ur c-section wound still bleeds? think u better chk with ur gynae. cos mine was ok after 1st week.

waiwai
thanks, just now my mil and hb let me have undisturb sleep for 1.5hrs, feel better and not so upset.

have u thot of getting a sarung for ur bb?

oh ok. well i also still have bits of stain, my CL said some will last for 40days.. guess im one of those, so put panty liner everyday.. sian..

hi waiwai, may i know where is the clinic that u go for the 6-in-1 package? my PD is charging 160 per jab for 6-in-1...considered ex as compared to urs. thanks.

mona did my massage for me too. she was recommended by another gf..hee..i think her price is quite cheap

summert
hehe me not poor thing cos if I am online means I am 'eng' n my kids r sleeping.....hahaha
I dun wake my bb for milk. Maybe u dun let ur boy cry for long?? Cos normally at night I scared bb cry will wake #1 so once she makes abit of warning sound only I will latch her already.

cellow
Yah lor that's why i hate it when my fil comes n talk to me. Everytime back home I will complain to my hubby n ask him to ans his own father next time he ask these stupid qns.
Yest hubby kanna from his own dad the "How many times she wake at night??" I purposely left my hubby to ans the qns himself....hahaha
Until now my son 22 mths liao he still ask me stupid qns. Latest 1 was "He got dream 1 anot?". I feel like answering him "FEI HUA"

missysz
Dunno bout the price cos I go polyclinic in package n sure cheaper 1....hehe
Btw I think the price for the jab excludes consulation charges which u must pay as well. Better double check.

dor dor
wah if i were u, i will sleep when eng. hee.
hmm, yesterday night i waited for bb to make noise then i gave him EBM but i realised that he struggle alot. so since his timing is quite "zhun", after that i gave him milk just minutes before he will wake up and he drinks without much struggle n noise. though i also read that shd let bb sleep as long as he wants at nite, no choice leh. unless there's a better way?

eh ur fil very cute ask those qns. maybe he's trying to create conversation or get involve in ur kids' life.. hee

erh~

Can mix EBM from different express or not?
My boy eating 160 (big eater) at night, so each express not enough ler. Thinkin of mixing 2 into 1 bottle, then let him finish all.

rain
wah ur boy's intake is double mine! how many weeks liao?

i do mix EBM from different express, so long as they r not "expired".

was running a fever since tue.. i din noe confinement will oso fall sick one... then hor.. is the breastmilk safe for consumption by bb orh?

taking abt drinking milk..mine is going full-mth dis sun.. n his regularity has become irregular n now he is drinking lesser den b4.. used 2 be 100ml last week.. dis week smtimes 70ml smtimes 90ml.. is anithing wrong??

Summert,
Ya lor. He is taking more than I can supplied.
Now is his 7th week. Personally, I think he is eating too much but he seems to enjoy it.

Rain,
Is your bb puking the milk? If not, then I think the amount is ok. I can't give my bb more than 120ml per 2h, or else he will just merlion. So even if he does the "little-bird-searching-for-food" action, I still have to tap him to sleep or distract him. Can't afford to give him more milk or else it's just feed-puke-change.

lbt... my mum is working and mil is living very far away... anyway will be sending bb to mil house next month when i back to work. just tell myself endure for a while

catherine... my bb also the same... PD says it is normal for bb at 1-2 months old to hold their poo up to 7 days, then when poo comes it can overflow. i have "striked top prize" a few times - hands all dirty when poo fountain overflow!

summert... i worry bb's back not supported by sarong, think she likes me the human rocking sarong!

missysz... kid's clinic at sengkang rivervale mall. the PD Dr Lim is very good

Rain... i mix EBM from different express. my bb drinks 90 ml per feed, but i express about 100-120 ml each time, don't want to waste the extra

hi mummies who freeze BM... i read from book that thawed BM should be used within 24 hours. i put the frozen milk into fridge compartment to thaw, it takes almost 14 hours to become liquid. does it mean this milk must be consumed with 24-14=10 hours? pls advise!

waiwai,
re: thawed EBM. use your tongue, girl! taste the EBM. if not sour, then can still feed bb. wah your fridge v powderful take soooo long to thaw the liquid.

star_xin,
take care of yourself! the volume looks ok to me ah... plus/minus 20ml is not a big deal as long as bb is pooing and peeing regularly, up to 8-12x for pee and 2-3x for poo over 24 hrs.

bluey, summert,
re: staining. both CL and gynae say can be up to 40 days or even more... deps on how frequently and when the blood clots want to come out of the body gua. this is v dependent on each woman, so bluey, not to fret okie.

missysz,
my boy is exactly 21 days today - 3 week anniversary! born 24 jul, yours born 22 jul? (if i got my calculations correct
) he now drinks a grand total of *drum roll* 70ml per feed. so vios slightly upgraded 2 sports model...

cellow,
Welcome to the growth spurt week! According to more experienced mummies, 3rd week is when they either start to drink more or drink more frequently. My continental SUV did BOTH at the third week....

RE: menses

I think mine oledy finish..close to one month liao...

Re: Papaya soup
Normally, CL cook with fish bone. I take fish almost every neal..

RE: Defroze Breast milk
Normally i will take out say 5 bottle of frozen milk after my last pump ard 11pm n put them in the fridge. By morning, the milk is ready liao..

star_xin

you could be having engorgement fever. better make sure there is no more block ducts in your nehneh.

oh yes cellow

welcome to the SCARY 3rd week!

Does anybody know how long does the growth spurt lasts? My milk factory is under stress... my baby is 25 day old today... is that still under growth spurt week? He seems to be spurting since last week!

RE: Papaya soup

Does it have to be GREEN papaya? my papaya was originally green, but weather too hot, it turned orange in half a day.. can still cook soup?

pinkbunny,
We are all in this together. I crashed at 9plus pm last night after patting my fussy boy to sleep after close to 1h. Amazingly, he slept all the way till 3am before screaming for milk.

BTW, does anyone know how to get rid of those dry kinda-scabby looking areas on bb's face? Anything to help it go away faster?

bluey

i have staining until the 5th week, so you endure lah. btw I have emailed you

re:mixing EBM

you can only mix EBM express within the same 24 hrs. EBM can only store in the chiller for 48 hrs. If you bring the EBM from freezer to chiller, you have to consume it within 24 hrs. so the defroze timing is included as well.

So when I bring EBM to defroze, I will also note down the timing.

re:papaya soup

YEs only green papaya. You shld keep it in the fridge immediately so that it will not turn orange.

Rianne takes well to the bottle now and she drinks 80ML per feed. Guess that's normal for a 6week old bb.

starxin

have u see a doctor ? you shld still BF your bb when u r sick. Just wear a mask when u r close to him.

waiwai, PB

ENDURE !!!!

PB, are u getting PT helper to clean ur hse ?

waiwai,
so poor thing my girl cry until tremble. i think she's so uncomfortable. she like "gek sai" like that but only fart
see already so heart pain.

lbt,
I think you're right. I think it's cradle cap. I used to think cradle cap only occurs on the scalp, but Wikipedia tells me it occurs around the eyebrows too.. which is precisely where my boy has it. Ok, gotta leave it alone then.

Anyone have any idea how long cradle cap takes to go away?

Catherine,
Have you tried Ru Yi Oil? I sincerely think it works. I put in on my boy and it seems to make him better.

Catherine,

why dun you get the yu ren seng's bao yin tan.. it is very good jsut a little in mouth.. its very good .. i give my #1 and now #2 is taking it when he crys very badly..

bbp

my rianne has it on the eyebrows too, and so does my #1. I cant rem how long it took to disappear, but before you know it, they are gone

It just dont look good right ? ehhe and dont attempt to peel it !!

Waiwai
I was like you for #1 too. Did everything with him in one hand. Now with two to handle, I look back on those days fondly! ;p

Dordor
Which polyclinic do you go to for the jabs? Is there one near our area?

Btw, when do we bring the babys for jabs? First month for the 6-in-1, right?

Star_xin
Take care of yourself. Your baby's drinking volume looks okay. Maybe he's just passed the third week growth spurt and needs less now?

Cellow
Fellow baby-in-third-week mummy giving you a high 5!

lbt,
Yah lor, it just don't look good :p
Ok, will totally resist peeling it... although I did try it yesterday.. but lightly only!

star xin,
If got engorgement, best is to latch and get bb to clear. I suspect I had it yesterday and maybe the day before. No matter how I massaged and pumped, still got the hard hard feeling there. And for some reason, it seems that my milk supply also dropped at that particular side! Only managed to latch on last night and I feel so much better today

I am going to AMK polyclinic for jabs.
Just check out the price. (but lost the paper I wrote the price on ... confirm cheaper than PD)
$15 for hep B.
$300+ for 5-in-1 package. (till 18 months)
$400+ for 6-in-1 package.
Can make appt somemore.
Any1 need more info, call polyclinic, lor. 6355 3000

bbp,
my bb sometimes cries after 80 to 90ml like still want more. but when we carry him upright he burps and is happy. maybe you bb may have some air still trap and needs another burp.

yday i brought bb to PD for check coz was worried he may have reflux. luckily everything ok. PD recommended AR Enfalac. it's anti reflux formula, thicker and suppose to "sink into stomach" hence won't cause so much regurgitating. maybe you wanna check with your bb's doctor on this.

Re: BB feeding
my cl very weird... day time bb want more 1/2 hr after feed, she'll say just drank 90ml EBM! then can tell me at night she gave him 90ml FM and 1 hr later want to feed again, she gave him another 20ml FM! i told her maybe coz day time he didn't drink enough!? shouldn't he be drinking more during day time then night time drink lesser? *confused*

Re: Avent teats
my cl also commented the teat hole too small and bb taking long time to finish his milk. this is no good coz the longer he takes, the more air he takes in too and doze off before he can finish his usual 80-90ml. so she "enlarge" the teat hole using scissors liao.

dordor,
haha... no i'm not trying for another 1! i meant i will try the post natal blue scare on my hb if his mum continues to irritate me hehehe... :p

your FIL damn funny... old man lah... maybe he trying to find topic to chit chat. like my dad.. used to be stern and seldom chat with us. now old liao, always finding topics to chit chat, sometimes we find him loh soh also.. maybe next time and many times after, you start the conversation like asking him jiak pah buey? jiak si mi? toh loh jiak? hehehe :p

lbt,
when i saw your post, an image came to mind. shitting with bb in sling around our neck! hahaha... very funny!! hehehe

star_xin,
your bb how many weeks old? maybe he was experiencing growth spurt previously and thus drinking more?! next growth spurt is at 6 and 9 weeks.

Steph,

I use my finger to touch the sides of his mouth to gauge if he's hungry. And even after about 100ml, sometimes he wants more. There was this time where he drank about 100-120ml, and then another 60ml, and lo and behold, merlion.

Yah, agree with the burping. Sometimes sleep until halfway will fuss and cry, and we just try and burp him lor.

Will check out the formula in the stores, but then again, a bit hesitant to change formula just in case he doesn't adjust well aka diarrhoea to the new formula.

Regarding the day and night feeding, I think perhaps your CL wants your bb to sleep better through the night, so feed a little more FM. Better than bb crying the house down in the middle of the night right?