(2008/07) July 2008

Hannahl,

he told me avoid tummy area ... else I will have pain during massage. Tat y he advise me not to.
But tummy is the area I wanna tackle

I dry my boy bottom with a dry tissue and also a quick light blow with my mouth. Then use non-talc powder before putting his diaper on. This helps a lot to heals his diaper rashes.
My boy also can't wait for fan to dry one, he like to scream till he is out of voice. Very scary one.

PB,
Jia you! That's y we are given 3 months. Guys always tot like we are on holiday ... Actually I am more "free" when I am working.

bluey,

I totally agree! At least at work, people tell us exactly what they want. If there's some screw-up, at least we can put it down to miscommunication.
These little ones... absolutely NO communication. Don't know what they want! My patience is wearing thin...

bluey..u got esp ah? I was just going to ask when is taka sale..hehehe..yay, I am going to go tomorrow or friday..hmm, i wonder what's on sale! congrats on getting back to pre preggie weight..i soo envious! i think i still hv 4 kgs *SIGH*..does anyone know how much our boobs weight post preggie? *grin*

re aunties frowning at us : yeah. last week I went to tiong bahru mkt with CL and baby and this aunty asked if she's one mth, I said not yet and she shook her head at me like i committed BIG sin :p..dont care la..hehehe

cin bunny,

Wah, 4kg is already considered more or less there liao. I think additional boobs weight is most prob only 500g lor

Re aunties frowning at us: I'm actually more worried about bringing the young one out so early. Scared he get sick leh. Am I worrying too much? My hubby and MIL wanna bring my boy out tonight and tomorrow for a short while but I quite reluctant...

bluey,
my boy same as your #2.. wakes up every 2 hrs top then feed, then doze off, then 15 min later wakes again to feed... i pity the cl.. her panda eyes getting darker... see liao i scared coz after next week will be my turn! my aunt says, born in the year of the Rat.. they are more active at night! eeeks!

lbt,
my mil also complain to cl abt me wearing shorts... nag at me don't wash anything... etc etc etc... irritating lor!!! suan me some more say " sometimes cannot be so stubborn.." omg.. she more stubborn than me lor... so i replied her "ya lor!" hehehe :p

Re: Bringing bb out
now is 7th lunar month. i'm pantang coz heard colleague's personal experience. i'm not bringing bb anyway at night

Re shorts:
My own mom is more particular about me wearing long pants than my MIL. I was wearing long pants during the first 2 weeks, but can't tahan anymore liao. So now wearing shorts. But anytime my mom & aunt come to visit, must wear long pants to act act :p

Steph,
Can share your colleague's experience?

bbp

ehhe when my mil came, I also act act. But she is ok lah ... she is not the naggy type but I just dun wan anyone to start on the topic.

My mum is quite relaxed this time round. She's more anxious if I ate well and not bother by what I wear.

Steph

i have never heard of this '"myth" before but I think better take precaution hor.

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $45. Very good condition in box and used less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) MomsInMind baby sling @ $10 .Good condition

3) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Punggol MRT. Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1615924.jpg

Just finish feeding my son. Now pumping.
Qing,
Same here with the line. So horrible rite. If ur ms not enough, must top up wif FM. Initial I only feed EBM, then baby hungry = always crying N having high level of jaudice.

Bluey,
R u using any parttime helper w household? I'm lookin for 1. N I'm stayin at tpy area.

So tired...

Anyone knows if infant needs to pay when travel SIA? Any discount?

My MS is going down...maybe i am just too stressed up with the whole breastfeeding thing. Now supplementing with FM. half EBM, half FM.

Anybody got any miracle soup to increase the milk supply?

I also have a flabby, wrinkled ball with a thick dark line down the middle... so ugly.... but at least the tummy reduced from a small watermelon to small ball.....

Rain,

I am having a full time helper now. I used to have a part-time but she works in bishan area.

Children below 2yr old need not pay, if I remember correctly.

bb being bathed by CL now so got time to post....

Batgirl,
Hi-5! my tummy also reduced fm watermelon to ball sized. no mircale soup to share, but must rem to take in some liquids every hour.... water, milo, hot soup, anything. also i find that pumping in afternoon makes me v disillusioned w the amt of EBM. pump in the morning more volume collected. Everyone now chorus tog - MOOOOOO

PB,
Congrats on graduating fm confinement! No time for facial, manicure, pedicure (and i forgot what was the 4th thing you wanted to do aft confinement) yet, i reckon? :p

BBP,
Little ones' communcation w us is crying and crying, but I can distinguish the diff cries liao. Yours must have diff cries too? patz, patience w yourself okie.

Bluey,
No wonder nvr see you ard for past few days! hey get some rest, lie down when you can, gal.

Rain,
tink infant below 2yrs nids 2 pay an infant fare.. usu 100plus-200 if i m nt wrong..2-12yrs pay child fare..

Batgirl,
muz persevere eventho i moiself oso feel like giving up le.. feel like giving formula milk 2 make moi life easier.. cos kinda tired w de pumping liao..JIAYOU,k???

me oso hv de flabby wrinkled ball w de black line down de middle..plus a veri black belly button.. haiz.. yest sneak out 4 a while w hubbi den suddenli feel so inconfident.. wonder hw heavy i m now.. cos no weighing scale at home..

i gained 19.5kg fr pregnancy.. left hosp. shredding 5 kg.. last week at gynae realised lost another 5.5kg..so means i still hv 9kg.. SOB.. tat's alot...

wana ask those that popped, have your bb cord dropped ? mine last nite when i was changing her i realized gone !!! and then i cannot find it !!! hahaha (i think i'm such a blur mom) .. dono where lei
She was born on 28th july, is it too early ? it still looks abit raw lei the belly button, should i let her wear the tummy binder ?

I think I'm a lousy mommy... still can't tell the difference between his cries.

This morning, while changing his diaper, he peed all over the rubber mat, plus he kept kicking the pile of dirty diaper + dirty wet wipes. I lost my patience and slapped his leg a little. Luckily, my PIL have taken him out for a while. I need a time-out.

Cellow,
ya lor.. am awake quite a no of times at night to feed my girl. This morn worst, she wake up every hour, she cant sleep, eyes so big. guess she must be sleeping a lot during the day.
Hmm.. still looks like gambling family to me leh.. hehe..

Youpi,
sama sama ar.. think this is the syage where all of us become the models for MTM ad. whaha.. panda eyes.
yeap you are right, the only good things of CL is night feeds being taken care of, ready food.
All the remarks and nagging are really very irritating.

lbt,
yes both gals sleep in the same room.. wah, BTH, like you say, one cry and stop, the other starts and goes on and on.
My #1 very fussy when it comes to sleep. needs pple to pat and scratch her back before she can goes to sleep.
My mum working so if i put #1 with her scare she dun have enough sleep if #1 wakes up in the middle of the night(which she will to ask you to scratch her back).
Bo pian lor, endure the night and once reached morn like 6.30am-7am, i will pass denise to the maid and there is where i get my precious sleep.
Though not long cos #1 will wake up at 8am but powerful for me to last till noon nap.

Bluey,
yeah.. stupid hubby think we are on holiday but actually more busy with little ones lor, no time for ourselves...
I miss work when i am in confinement.. siao right??

delphine

i know how u feel ! but u v cham lah, like that how are u going to rest ?

I do miss work a bit too and I check my ofc emails everyday ! ahhaha I am not workaholic but just want to get connected to my colleagues.

catherine

u funny mum ! so how many days after birth now ? My #2 dropped after 2 whole weeks... took so long !

anyway it will still looks a bit wet after it dropped and may still have some spotting. Dont worry it will dry and close up by itself.

bbp

cool down cool down. they are still newborns so they dunno what they are doing ok ?

i can use up 3 diapers within one changing session for my Rianne. She poo, I changed then put her bed, then she poo again ! and this goes on .... haha and she still look at me innocently

i just talk to her while she poo and she will smile at me. At least I wont feel so pek chek lah.

cheer up ok !

bb fed, waiting for CL to cook lunch, and just after a home-made lemongrass-ginger-white wine spa... [spa sounds better than wipedown, dun u think so, girls?]

BBP,
rest rest rest, shut your eyes and blank your mind. dun b so hard on yourself, everyone needs a time out once in a while.
.... now HB is quoting 'i wanna throw u away ah' to me everytime he even slightly loses it. think all new parents are crazed already

Catherine,
re: bb cord dropping. My bb's dropped at 10days old, but it can be anything fm 1 week to 3 weeks, according to PD. So yours is not too soon!

Star_xin,
Haiya you, luckily dun have weighing scale at home, at this point still concerned abt wgt... the female hiao-ness of it - heh. my belly button still protuding and still black. this is the 1st time i have seen my belly button in years! i tell myself to enjoy the view while it lasts

lbt,
you chk offc emails everyday, wait till colleagues send u things to do or respond ah. haiyoh u, dun spoil mkt la, maternity leave is for rest and bonding w bb.

Delphine,
my CL doesnt nag me la (except when i snuck out w PILs' permission on Tues evening, and only made it to a void deck 4 blocks away - haha) so still bearable. your CL nags you and makes irritating comments? just give her a smaller ang pow when she leaves!

Cellow : Hi - 5!!
ok... will try taking in more liquids... really feel down when not enuff milk to feed my boy....He is drinking abt 120ml now.... He is 4.2kg for a 2.5 week old baby... hope he is not overweight.. *worry*

Star_Xin : My belly button also black black. but it is no longer protruding... regarding milk supply..i try to remain positive. but my boy is increasing his appetite. No choice.... I just fed him 100% FM just now... now he is sleeping... hopefully my supply can come in time for his next feed... tomorrow goign to see gynae, they have pill to make me a cow... hopefully it works...
wish me luck!

lbt : sama sama! I also miss work! Cos i am more able to handle office work than being a mummy cow... jia lat.... maybe when it is time for us to go back to work, we will miss our babies.... this is life! never contented with what we have.

me now onli playing w bb.. smtimes feed, change diapers.. but be on de job next week.. so... i will be going missing soon.. CL was saying juz nw bb pooed.. n while she's cleaning up de mess.. he was poo-ing again.. yikEs!! i told hubbi chances r if tat happens... i mite juz leave bb 1 side n let him cry... omg.. i m de WORSt mummi here...

batgirl

wow ur bb is overwt leh ! what was his birth wt ?

cellow

no lah, i read emails only. never respond. everyone knows I am on maternity leave mah. But I do msn a lot, else I will go crazy just taking care of my #1. She is in her terrible 2 stage now and everyday she is testing my patience. Want to vomit blood ....

Question, how do you all weigh your babies? I only know his weight when he goes to the PD for checkup. So I only know 3.5kg at 1st week. Now 3rd week liao.

i think if u have a digital weighing machine, u can minus ur own wt away when you weigh urself and bb together.

Analog ones are not so accurate. I also weigh my bb at the PD only.

I am seeing my PD tmr for Rianne 1 month old jab.

bbp and star_xin
I weigh my gers the same way lbt say...
using digital ones..
quite accruate.. hehe..
my friend told me this method.. hehe..

hi all..

CL: does ur CL do laundry? sweep/mop floor? seems like i m doing de laundry/changing bedsheets/washing milk pump/ sterilising bottles/washing toilets..hubbi sweeping n mopping de floor..

n juz nw.. bb was sleeping in de living rm.. i was resting in moi room n she was napping in her rm wifout telling me..n she convenientli slept thru when it is time 4 bb's feeding time.. SOB>> i painfulli hated her..

i dun mind if she sleeps on de sofa next 2 baby but not when in different rooms..n still left main door open..ANGRI!!!!!

star xin
u sound very tired.

why not engage those part time helpers ?

as for CL, just have to ren bah. But I agree she is at fault for ignoring your babY !! did u wake her up ?

just like cellow says, give her a small ang bao when she leaves.

lbt,
only for pang tang folks like me
cl also commented 7th month don't anyhow bring bb out esp at night. up to individual i guess.

batgirl,
dun stress! dun stress! you can pump enough for your son @ 120ml is a lot liao loh! the most i get is 100ml in the morning. thru out the day between 40 and 70ml only.

i just discovered, taking red bean soup kinda helps for me! you may wanna try. found out by chance when the other day cl made some for me, my pump level went up!

bbp,lbt,
my son poo after he's bathed, cleaned, dressed! haha.. dunno to cry or to laugh! so now, what we do is wait for him to poo more then change his diaper.

Re: Sleep
Mummies, how many hours your babies sleep in 1 day? my bb like sleep avg 1 hr then wakes up... like sleeping so little. getting kind of worried he not getting the amount of sleep he supposed to be getting.

My boy just went to sleep after two and a half hours of on/off latching and staring at things! Can peng-san already but still have the night feeds to look forward to *groan*

Some questions on massage and binding:
How do you do things when you have the binding on after massage? Isn't it very uncomfortable to breastfeed, pee, poop, etc? Do you leave it on until the next massage session?

Rain,
I think the infant fare is 10% of (actual) adult fare.

Bluey
Your boy is a big eater!

Is your ex-PT helper good? How does she charge and is she available? I have one but she is not meticulous enough for me and I am looking for another.

Star_xin
Re: CL duties - mine only does cooking for lunch and dinner, and laundry (using washing machine for all of us, including baby stuff). Nothing else. I TBF and co-sleep and latch baby on at night, so she has her beauty sleep while I am awake half the night. I also clean baby when he poops.

Yes, like lbt says, why not get a PT helper to clean the house instead of you and hb doing it? You'll be busy enough with baby!

Steph
Newborns should average about 20 hours of sleep per day. I think my boy has less than that too. Sleep two hours (or less), awake for two hours (or more)!

Cellow
I also don’t remember. Massage I think? Hehe. 1 brain cell times are here to stay I think

Bbp
My mother shared very good advice with me. It’s called tagged team parenting. If baby is giving a hard time, one parent takes care of it until he/she cannot tahan then pass over to other parent while first one rests and recuperates. Repeat if necessary. Ever since CL told me that babies will naturally cry and you just have to relax and take it as it is and accept that fact, then everything will be ok. If you panic/get angry, your baby can sense it one.

I still can’t really differentiate her cries. Sometimes I think ah, this one means hungry, then turn out she pangsai hehe. Kua kua kua.

Delphine
Haha I think you are not siao to miss work. You miss the routine and the structure la, not the actual work I think. Cos at home with the little one(s), everything is unpredictable mah.

Star xin
Yes my CL did all the housework. Cooking and laundry mainly. Only when got time then floors. During her last week even got wash toilet. Cos I was more involved in taking care of poppy mah. Give her a break and ‘see open’ ok? She also tired cos wake up every night like that is no joke wor

Updates!
Poppy is 4.5kg and 55cm now at 5 weeks. The receptionist said ‘that is in the 97% percentile’. We asked her what that means but no answer. Is Poppy a big baby or what? Anyway she and I are becoming quite good friends now. But today she very liam liam to me. Always want me to saying. Very manja! And not really sleeping well. Sleep for half an hour, wake up… maybe it means her routine also changing and she wants to sleep through the night as well? I’m dreaming already
but yesterday she was so knocked out that she slept from 10pm to 3am! At 3 I got up to pee and she was stirring and making small noises so I woke her up to breastfeed her . this morning I got up before her! That’s a first :D

Girls, for your reading pleasure: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1042408/Why-Im-proud-baby-gave-figure-needs-34-I-cup-bra-says-Ulrika-Jonsson.html

Sorry to interrupt.

For those who intend to breastfeed, I've Fenugreek for sale at $15 a bottle (incl postage)

- 100 cap
- 500 mg
- "NOW" brand
- expiry: 04/2011

Price nego if you intend to purchase more, let me know if you're interested.

1618118.jpg

youpi,
re: doing things after massage binding. i move abt v v carefully, bcz got that thing around my middle, find it restricts sideway movement, forward and backward still can. i tell myself it is good for me, gets rid of the blood clots and regain figure, so i always tahan till the nx morning then take out 1st layer, until bath time, the 2nd layer.

re: weighing bb
my PD said use a kitchen scale, but i dun have one! kua kua kua. just have to trust he is growing

re: missing work
PB, you are right, i miss the structure and predictability of work.

Star_xin,
my CL automatically swept/mopped the floor, take in the laundry for my PILs, and cook for PILs too. she quite chin chye, of course pull a bit of long face when told her all these during 1st days, but eventually she got around to it. need to adapt to my family situation mah.

Steph,
My little one sleeps nearly all the time. Other than the obv feed/bath, his playing and socialising time is abt 2 hrs per day - estimated.

Infant below 2 dun need pay airfare but need to pay TAX which is about $200-$300+.
Think depends on airline the charges have to call n check.

Delphine
Heng hor D dun wake when bb cries leh(hope I dun jinx myself). But sometimes morn got construction drilling sound he also can sleep through 1 lah....hehehe

youpi

my rianne has been sleeping alot these few days after I elevated her bed. Prior to that she is always awaken by the milk flowing out of her milk which stains her cloth nappy "pillow". She wakes up abt 3-4 a days in total so I guess she is getting her beauty sleep.

PB

wow poppy is growing very well ! 97 percentile means 97% of the babies of this age are of the same wt and ht as poppy. something like that lah...

hi lbt

can add me to msn?

re jabs - are u mummies doing 5-1 or 6-1? doc initially advsie to do 5-1 but since i still hv some help, i thot can do all at one shot..so scheduled a 6-1 when baby's 2 mths...

eh i doing 6-in-1. we checked yesterday about having fever and he said both also there's the chance of getting fever. and 5-in-1 got more shots to take. so because of that, we opted for the 6-in-1

pb
97 percentile means, like on a bell curve for babies' average weight, your poppy is there at the 97% mark. means one of the heaviest babies around lah. like if say, 50th percentile means most babies are that weight. not sure if my stats serve me correctly, means poppy belongs to top 3% of heavy babies.

3-7pm
i declare 3-7pm 'must-be-attached-to-mummy's-breast time' these 4 hours, baby pomfret will cry to suckle on breast, latch for 10mins, doze off for 5 mins, and start crying again.

i don't know if it's coz i haven't got enough milk in the evenings for her, or she's just super sticky then?

overwiped buttocks
don't know is it coz me and hubby use the pigeon wipes, then wipe baby's buttocks too roughly, i notice like got raw skin. so heartpain to see it so red. what should i do? apply calendula cream? or diaper rash cream? switch to cloth nappies?

what? i have a heavyweight champion on my hands? gulp.

wipes
maybe you can try cotton wool in cool boiled water? i do that sometimes. but if wipes, i think johnsons (the one in pink package, used by Mt A) is good. and she's on cloth nappies in day time

dustee,
I find that wipes are not wet enough to take off the poo so I use cotton pads with water. You can also wet the wipes with little bit of water but cotton is cheaper. Make sure the bum is dry before putting on the new diaper. As for the diaper rash cream, California Baby's one is quite good.

Re: sleeping
Any mommy whose baby must be carried all the time? Jamie can't sleep on his own *sob* and we don't quite like the cry-it-out method. I'm sooo sleep deprived now .. last night only managed to sleep 30 mins liao.

Re: weighing baby
Last time we went to the baby clinic near my house and asked if we could use the baby scale. They are very nice and allowed us to do so. So you can try if you don't have digital scale.

Re: tummy & body shape
I hate my tummy now! So ugly! Few days ago I was clearing my wardrobe and found that none of my pants fit me anymore. I'm only 1 kg away from pre-pregnancy weight but I feel that my body shape change after delivery. Anyone feel the same?

RHS
my baby is in same gang as your baby. she also wants to be carried all the time. even if she is super duperly sleepy, she still demands for us to carry her till she's in deep sleep. best part is - when we carry her, we are not allowed to sit and stand still, must walk around!! imagine during midnight, me carrying baby walking around the house for two hours while the rest are sleeping...
starting to have sng backache...

many advised that to use crying-it-out method too. but when my baby cries, she could bring the whole block down. my mum also commenting that shouldn't let bb cry for so long, wait hurt the throat and invites the winds in her tummy.

really don't know what to do. sigh.

Wow, the weighing bb method is so clever! How come I didn't think of it leh... somemore I'm an ex-science student somemore. Diao...

Pinkbunny,
How to tag-team parenting during the day when hubby is working? And I kinda help out during the night feeds also cos I scared he too tired during the day for work.

I feel like holing up in my parents' house and leave the baby here at my in-laws house...

sonic, by rite we shld quickly put bb to bed b4 she goes into deep sleep so she'll learn to sleep on her own. But it does not always work on my rianne, so i may offer pacifier or pat her. I am still training her . . .

sonic,
Hear hear! My back and shoulder ache a lot now. Even when he's in deep sleep, he knows when we put him to bed and he'll open his eyes and cries. So it's back to square one until his next feeding time. Feel very frustrated as sometimes nothing I do can calm him down
Except to let him comfort sucking of course ...