(2008/07) July 2008

massage:
tink in books, it is recommended tat massage for c-section onli advisable when gynae gives de green light usu at least 6 weeks after the process..

but moi massage lady says 10 days den can liao.. nt sure if it's her way of making more money.. but again depends on which u all find more safer 4 ur body.. beauty is 1 issue but safetyness n health is juz as impt...

long time didnt log in after CL left been looking after bb kacey everyday every hour how do u mummies find time to log in huh????
Manage to bring bb for a short shopping last weekend with hubby.

SY
i wanted to get ur contact no so that we can meet up coz we stay nearby mah ... can email ur contact no to me at [email protected]

Baby Fair
Taka having bb fair fm 7 aug to 24 aug at the autrium.

Jab for bb
my bb just took her 6 in 1 last sun at the PD cost $115 include consulation also eaten rota virus at PD at $90, is this price ex ??

Cellow,
Don't be too hard on yourself. I think sometimes we all just need to let off some steam. Happens to the best of us. I know many others and i too, face the same thing. HUGS!

SY
i logon and post when bb is sleeping and i am pumping :D

also need some time to myself lah, else will go crazy. i even manage to slot in 30min pockets of reading newspaper and playing computer games :D hahahahah (but also means i do those things at the expense of sleeping time lah)

cellow
yeah on one hand my pd seems a bit discouraging about breastfeeding, but i do think he has the baby's interest at heart. he keeps telling me 'feeding baby formula milk is not bad, it just buys you time for your milk ss to increase'

increased milk ss
managed to increase my milk ss a bit more these past few days (last week ave 80ml per pump, now about 120! yay!) not sure if it's becoz of the extra pumping sessions, or guzzling more water every hourly (as advised by jeanyard) or also drinking the Anmum milk for breastfeeding mums. but i feel very encouraged! so mummies, keep trying!

sparrows,
thanks for the support and hugs.

dustee,
all doctors have the patients (bb or us mummies) best interests at heart. tis just the way they express it, and whether their advice fits in w what we want for our little ones. smtimes can click then good, cannot click then no need to force, find another PD or gynae.

Off to sleep now..... zzzz.... sweet dreams to all bbs and mummies

whew, my CL left on sat and it's been a crazy exhausting 3 days..I think PinkBunny probably experiencing the same thing tt's why it's been all quiet at her end too :p

I finally took out the pacifier..unfortunately, sophie bunny rejects it..sigh..am going to buy different brands and hope she accepts one ;)

any mummies hv recommendation of what brands hv worked on your babies?

cin bunny
how was the full month celebration for your little bunny?

my friend told me, that for the pacifier, she dipped it in milk first before putting into bb's mouth. i haven't tried the milk-on-pacifier thing on my bb yet. she also rejected the pacifier the two times i have tried so far.

Cellow,

You're not the only one that feels like throwing their baby away. I feel it from time to time too. Except that I tell my hubby to tell his parents to bring the baby back to Beijing since his mom loves him so much.

hi dustee

full mth went well and sophie bunny was on her best behaviour, letting everyone carry her without even a whimper..BUT BUT post party, she wailed like non stop (over stimulated? and also CL leaving?) and my hubby and i had to take turns carrying her the whole night until our arms no more feeling..i also cried when CL left..CL used to joke with me that when she leaves, baby cry in her own room and mummy cry in her own room..:p

hi cellow

i also feel very frustrated with baby esp when she wails even after a good feed..have to force myself to take deep breathes and if hubby is home, i pass baby to him and basically shut myself in my room to rest or have a bath. it seems to work

Cin bunny,

Congrats on baby's first month! Mine is tomorrow.

About pacifier:
at first I do not want to use it, however, baby always cry and asking for us to carry her to sleep. Imagine doing that all the time. So I gave her the pacifier, rather than having her scream and cry since that can cause her to swallow air and have wind in her tummy. So far I bought avent (doesn't work for her - teat is too long). Bought pigeon - (teat is short, but difficult for bb to latch). I bought BIBI at mum & babes - the teat looks like NUK's and she likes it. So been using that.

hey

i stop chicken essence today but seems like Rianne still taking short naps. I concluded it's the wind in her tummy. I put a liiiitttle bit of RU YI oil on her tummy today. And I managed to bath her and trim her finger nails as well ! What an eventful day for me

massage after csect:
I have not started cos gynae needs to give me the green light to do it. Suppose to see him this thurs but am still spotting so change to next Thurs. hopefully I'll be able to start massage soon.

Sy
coping 2 kids alone ah ? ur boy dont go child care meh ?

cin_bunny

yeah I can see the two bunnies missing in action since your CLs left ! hehe
today my mum wasnt around and I was coping with a terrible 2 gal and a baby who dont sleep much ! Almost went crazy this morning. And I refused to let my maid carry the newborn ... I know she is an experienced mother but I prefer to keep newborn away from her, and plus the reason that she is having a slight cough lah.

Cin bunny,
good to hear fm you again...
full month sounds like a successful one. yep, that was wat i did last night, bb pass to CL and MIL, while i rant at HB (good thing is he kept quiet all the way till i finally ran out of things to say)

BBP - thanks! was a great shock to me as 1st time I felt like that during these 12 days. yes Cedric only 12 days old.

Din manage to sleep as bb woke up again due to wet pee nappy, and then feeding, and then poo nappy. Nappies can give to CL to change la (i will miss the extra help when she leaves too, but now taking it one day at a time la), feeding I peeled myself off the bed. 1st thot was feed at 130pm, still wake up at 3pm to feed (!!!!). Deep breaths, then remind myself better for him to flush all the jaundice-causing bilirubin [spelling?] out.

baby crying
i sometimes feel very frustrated too.
but hor, i will take a deep breathe and tell myself.
baby also don't want to cry too. (this help to calm myself down) then look at her again.
will try to console her, talk to her until she calm down too.
if you are frustrated baby can sense that too. she too became frustrated.

so mummies, RELAX.

pacifier
i too give pacifier to my baby.
sometimes when she cries, i don know if she wan milk or pacifier.
i actually don like the idea of pacifier but since she starts to vomit (maybe due to overeatting) i give her pacifier to prevent her from crying too much or eatting too much.

it really scare me to death whenever she vomit all her milk milk loh.

tummy
i also hate to see my tummy.
it is dark and flabby.
with the dark black line in the middle, it is even worse.
when will it go away? or will it go away?

milk supply
my milk supply don't seem to increase lehz.
i fear i don't have enough for her.
but very lazy to pump every 3 hours. and afraid that after i pump she want more how? no milk for her...

i m oso using Pigeon.. so far so good.. espy when baby nids smthing 2 suck 4 comfort..

i m dying 2 hv moi CL leave.. (tat's de diff btw a good CL n bad CL)so tat i can establish moi own routine.. she's basicalli pissing me off n messing up de things i hv neatli arranged 4 moi bb..

Regarding massage, my gynae said can do anytime so long as juz massage the tummy but avoid the c-section area. I did mine when i was 2.5 weeks post delivery.

hannah
wah so fast ah ! hai I am still waiting ..

Qing

it will go away but VERY SLOWLY lor .. maybe U r preggy with 2nd one by then ehehhe just like me !!

My gal is finally into deep sleep. I elevated her mattress and gave her pacifier. I guess she can sleep better this way.

I am new member and a first time mum, can anyone give me some advice on breast feeding, friends told me that the supply will grow when demand is high, i pump say every 2 hours, will be better than pumping every 4 hrs.
batgirl: i think you are doing a better job than me, at least you can pump 200ml, i am only at 50ml now.

Baby finally fell asleep after on/off latching and nodding off/on the early afternoon. And I took the opportunity to grab a short nap myself too!

Re: pacificer
I tried Nuk for #1. Some people say Nuk imitates mummy's nipples better so the babies don't get nipple confusion. He rejected it at first, but would accept at times. We probably used it less than 10 times; the last time was when he was 7 months old and we were at the Peak in Hong Kong, and he was too over-stimulated over dinner to fall asleep. I popped it into his mouth and he knocked out. I remember this particular incident as we never used it again after that.

Cellow
Now I'm just sunning baby before 10am and latching on often, that's all. You're probably doing the same for Cedric
Aiyoh could not tahan the bilibed! The recommedation was to keep him there for 8 hours a day, We averaged half or less than that 'cos we could not take his cries! Re: #1's long bout of jaundice: it's quite common, I think, if you TBF.

cinbunny
I'm using the pigeon 1 step 1 its a bit smaller used that for my #1 as well last time. But at 1st they not used to pacifier it will keep dropping out. So I only try once in a while when I know bb is not hungry n jus wana carry. But jus nw she actually slept with the pacifier on for awhile.

cin bunny

you cried when your CL left? hehe! fren fren wor! I cried when she left when I had my #1, I am quite sure I am going to cry again when she leaves in 2 weeks time!

flabby tummy

It's really ugly looking and I still look 5 mths pregnant and the gigantic portions of food that I have been eating is not helping much either!

pacifier

I did not use that at all for my Talia and don't think I will be using that for Thaddeus also. So far he has been a good boy. Latches well and will sleep at least 2 hrs before that next feeding. I suspect it's because my milk isn't sufficient when he wakes up 1hr after feeding. This is because I overslept my nap once and my neh neh was so full of milk that he slept for 3.5 hrs after feeding.

milk milk

still yielding 80ml every 3hrs only. haizz

dor dor

hehe the pic is cute !! i am using Pigeon #1 for my Rianne now. So far so good. I scared if I use bigger ones then her mouth will be bigger too ?

doggiebb

80ML is quite good what !

eh ur appetite very good ah ? I dun look preggy but just had that flabby tummy. Think must do lotsa tummy exercise to get rid of it, but but but I had csect, how to do !!!

lbt

my CL's food aiyoo! so yummy! so i really am eating a lot, the last confinement I also ate like that, then after was as strong as a bull! muahahaha! and hardly fall sick. I was told cannot diet during confinement wor!

Exercise

yeah! Cannot exercise now! gotta wait at least 3 mths i was told. no choice I guess! gotta work extra hard when I get back to work!

doggiebb

last confinement after natural birth, my appetite was v good too and I felt healthier after that. Seldom fall sick like u.

this time round after csect, appetite went down. Probably traumatised by the emergency csect hahah so my mum said I din put on any wt this time round. But I am still fat lah .. haven lose all the pregnancy fats.

breastmilk
doggiebb
80ml good wat.
so far i am only 75ml at most.
most of the milk leak to the breastpad.

and it is good that your CL's cooking is yummy.
my ah ma cooking is yummy too but hor, everyday eat the same thing. yummy can become boring...

ibt
then die liao loh.
the black line is really very ugly lehz.
just arrange for my massage lady to come next week. i can't stand the flabbyness of my tummy.

somemore this sat and sun is baby full month celebration liao. sure got some idiot ppl to comment on my weight. haiz....

pacifier
whenever i give her pacifier, i will tell her.
baby this is 'tu-tu' not milk milk huh.
just in case she confuse. initially i was really very afraid that she might get nipples confusion and i refused to go near her when she is on tu-tu.
but now, ok liao.

EBM volume
girls, 1st time i will be expressing b milk tmr morning.... fingers crossed, wish me luck and plenty of milk

doggiebb,
like u, my CL cooks v good food! so i eating and eating and eating now. agree cannot diet during confinement!

re: flabby tummy
massage lady's other appmt cancelled today, so managed to squeeze me in
had a good snooze as well during massage. now wearing binder - 2 layers - the external layer takes a lot of kung fu to put on. no tummy at all now.... when the binder is on la!

Qing,
ignore idiot pple and wgt comments. or smile and say you seem to have 'prospered' since the last time i saw u too. no no, dun say that, JOKING only :p feels good to think it leh - haha

dordor, so cute the pix. and your caption too!

lbt, yah, very fast. For my #1, i think i also did like 2 weeks after c-section
But this time i only did for 4 days as my tummy has rashes from the binding. I've already been doing on alternate days. I buay tahan so dun want to continue. Plus dun like the oily feeling. Then now feel like doing again, hee..

lbt... bb sneeze and cough... got phlegm too... so poor thing

sparrows... i use sling... coz i took cab to clinic, also very difficult to carry the pram when i'm bringing bb out alone, sometimes she refuse to sit in the pram and wants pple to carry

Sad to say my milk ss has dropped to 60ml. hopefully i can increase back to 80ml by drinking more water and soup.
My CL has left on monday and my sleepless night has begin yesterday which i wake up 3-4 times for both my gals. Guess have to go through this phase. Looking forward to bb denise sleeping through the night...

i am using pigeon which the little one rejects..i guess i will try NUK next

re CL - cried cos yeah, developed some kind of bond in the 1 month together..

hi delphine - 3-4 times a night is tough! hang in there!

morning mummies

delphine,
wow you are awake at 230am. hey take any chance to rest okie. take care.
.... you changed your nick to 4Ds!
still think it looks like gambling??

re: CL
crying over her leaving. hmmz, i dun think i will cry bcz there is a bond lor (unlike cin bunny) but more no extra pair of hands to do housework

Milk update
First thing in e morning, i woke up and pumped. Managed to express 85ml out - yay!

Waiwai,
Hope your little one gets used to the pram soon. but agree that sling is more convenient la. how is she this morning? did u get some rest during the night?

@rgH......... oNe wOrd tO dEscriBe mOi CL... sTOopiD!!!

other den being de supervisor ard oways instructing me.. she cun even follow simple instructions..

rem i asked once on wat 2 apply 4 ant/mosquito/insect bites? ended up we told her cun use J&J's one cos onli for 6mths n abv.. so last fri we went 2 buy cream 4 baby n told her 2 use it 3 times a day..

today i spotted marks n asked if she applied n she says smtimes.. den when i take de cream out, it was nt even opened yet.. pissed.. den she says she use J&J on moi bb.. angri!!!!!!!!!

Baby's jaundice
It's going down, yay!
I can see the whites of his eyes becoming whiter, instead of yellow. He's still getting a suntan in the morning, and lots of mummy's milk throughout the day and night, so much so that he poos a lot, up to 10 times a day!

Re: CL
No crying for me too. In fact, I will be happy, 'cos am not used to a stranger living in the house with us, and I hate not being able to walk freely wearing anything (read: as little as possible). Like Cellow, what I will miss is the extra pair of hands for household help, and the ready-cooked meals.

Delphine
I'm awake with you at night! ;p

Qing

ignore other ppl comments lah ! what they expect from us ? 1 mth only leh .. tot we like those celebrity, got so much $$ to go for slimming course ?

aiyo hannah, u make me so tempted to call my massage lady !!! hai never mind I shall wait for another week. At least i need to establish my pumping schedule so my mum can feed rianne in case she cries for milk during my massage.
I haven't start to pump !! heehhe

delphine

your 2 gals slept in the same room ?
initially i kept my #1 in the same room but after 1 night, me and my hubby gave up. One cry and the other one wake up and this goes on non stop.

So I shift #1 to sleep with my mum and maid in the next room. at least she has uninterrupted sleep. BUT BUT i am still the one who pat her to sleep, then i carry her over.

I wake up 3-4 times per nite also. Aiyah got used to it liao .. will usually take a short nap in the afternoon.

btw rgd sleeping thru the nite ... I used to "nag" at my #1 before I go back to work, tell her mummy is working v soon so ask her to sleep thru the nite. This goes on and on for weeks and she really sleep thru the nite on the 2nd week I was back at work. dunno is it coincidence or that method really works ??? anyway the general guideline is that bb may sleep thru the nite once they double their birth weight as they dont need nite feeds anymore. HOWEVER, it does not applies to all babies lor.

Really panda eyes now.
#2 is so different from #1.
#1 can sleep from 1am till 6am but for #2...
Need to feed every 2 hours at night although feed him with formula. But every feed, he will take abt 1 hr, so I left with 1 hr sleep each interval
U know what he always do from 5am to 8am, smile and "talk" to me. faint.
By 9am, I will pass him to my maid and I will go for my deprived rest.
MS dropping ... no time to pump. haiz.

I m back to pre-preggie size, but maybe I am not very slim to start off with either. But got 1 small "spare tyre" (flabby tummy).
Wanna start my yoga, but doctor dun advise it.
Wanna go for massage, doctor say must avoid tummy.
HOw?!
When down a few time to J8, kenna caught by some aunties. They would always comment, aiyo! confinement still walk around.

Early release from confinement on National day
We will celebrate his full month on that day.

My #2 have bad diaper rash, CB stuffs does helps a lot. Just order abt $100 worth of CB products from BP. heart pain($$)

oh, as for pacifier, I use avent ones.

bluey

wah ur boy is a big eater then !

my Rianne is finally taking a long nap today. She is sleeping on her elevated mattress and I skipped chicken essence today again. Seems to be working.

btw I was caught my aunties even when I go downstairs to open letter box. They commented on the same thing then ask why I am not wearing long pants ? faint ! on such a hot weather ??????

did u air dry ur #2 bottoms after each diaper change ?

cellow... thanks. bb still coughs and sneezes today... i managed to get a few hours sleep last nite as she knocked out after taking medicine, but she still woke up once at 3+am for "supper" as usual.

pacifier
my bb uses NUK one. but the shape of pacifier always leave a mark on her cheeks

waiwai

ya I know NUK pacifier has this prob and if your bb is very chubby, the mark will be deeper hence I dont like.

Ya... I also have the small comment. "Confinement still wear short skirt?? Must wear long sleeves and long pants."
I stood there and was thinking like "huh?? In such a weather? " Dunno how to response.

My boy always sleep better in the afternoon. At night, he will keep smiling and talking to me.

I wonder braun thermometer will have offer during taka fair ??
Anyone knows?
Wanna buy one braun thermometer now but dunno where is the cheapest.

Extracted from website:

Event Date Time
Baby Fair
7 Aug to 24 Aug
(Thu to Sun) 10.00am - 9.30pm
Calling all mums, get the best deals on all baby necessities from diapers to strollers to baby clothings and toys for all mums and mums-to-be. What’s more you can stand a chance to be one of the lucky winners in our Baby Fair Lucky Draw!

Bluey, sounds tough..

Did Paul say must avoid tummy? He told me can massage tummy, just avoid the c-section area?

Take care

lbt, thot u hv finished ur confinement? I also met ppl along the way when i was out during confinement. Then say this, say that

I didn't air the bottom during diaper change coz she'll scream till we put back the diaper for her

hannah

yup my confinement is over

oh ya I was saying i went downstairs weeks ago lah

i will use a manual fan to fan my gal's bottom till it's very dry then i put on her diaper.

WAH BIANG after CL left i was like siao char bor on my own! i also cried when she left. cos no matter wat, 1 month together sure got feeling one la. and i sure miss the princess treatment! she always asked me to go rest and lie down and did al the cooking, cleaning, washing... now everything ownself do. i still got laundry in washing machine. jialat.

the only reason i can write now is cos poppy is stuck on my nnp

good luck to everyone with their little ones!!!!